Washington, DC USA GMAT Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [34]      Average Rating:      
    Also: Online Course Reviews
great course, great material
June 18 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: June 18, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  60 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Weekend Course | Location:   Washington, DC USA  | Taught by:  Anthony Ritz
The Veritas Prep course is the best in the business. I was so impressed the first day my course material showed up in a giant box with 12 books! The content was great and organized very methodically. The course itself was fantastic. Anthony was a great instructor and was focused on feeling confident that his students each felt accomplished and understood the material. The course is oriented about helping you understand how to take the test rather than the material itself, as the material is pretty basic.
In the end, I was shooting for a 100pt increase in score through the course. I was practice testing at that level, but couldn't match it in reality. So I think in general the course was absolutely worth it, but I wouldn't set my expectations at the 100 mark again. In reality, that's too big a jump.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Veritas - GREAT program
April 13 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By malhotrashawn joined: April 13, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   Washington, DC USA  | Taught by:  Anthony Ritz
I have just completed my Veritas program (March - April), instructed by Anthony Ritz, and found this program INCREDIBLY helpful.

I found out about Veritas through a friend who previously took the program (who scored a 740). He told me how this program was exactly what he needed to make him get the score that he did eventual receive. I of course was skeptical, and a little intimidated, however, now that the class is complete, I can say with utter confidence that I feel significantly more prepared for the test - and ultimately agree with my friend. I have my test scheduled for later this year and feel much more prepared for the test.

1.) The resources - Veritas has done a great job of providing everyone with all the tools they could ever want to prep for the test. Between a video catalog covering all pre-class work/classes/homework, to the weekly classes, you can never feel lost through the work.

2.) The instructors - As said earlier, my instructor was Anthony Ritz, who keep the class engaging and informative, while keeping everything professional and tailored to what the students needed.

3.) The discipline - While having a 9-to-5 job, it is initially intimidating to consider how you can keep up with the work. But, if you are serious about the test - the discipline is something you need to have, and the Veritas program supports you throughout the development.

I recommend this program to anyone who is serious about the GMAT and getting into a top B-school.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Excellent Course
March 24 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: February 18, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  50 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   Washington, DC USA  |
The Veritas course is able to break down the GMAT into clear components that logically build on each other throughout the course. These building blocks helped me understand the GMAT in a way that I would not have been able if I had approached these topics on my own.

Anthony, my instructor, was both knowledgably and funny. Six hour days in class are long, but he kept everyone engaged and made the time fly. My only complaint is that we didn’t have quite enough time. The course should add another day so that important material is not rushed. That said, I’m confident that this course contributed in a big way to my success.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Veritas is excellent!
March 20 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: March 20, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   Washington, DC USA  | Taught by:  Anthony Ritz
Try to get Anthony, he is very knowledgable and a great instructor that makes complex problems easy to understand. I took the course in Washington DC and was in the Hilton. The context is a heavy workload on top of work, but I am in the process of taking the test in the next 3 weeks after finishing the course 3 weeks ago. I am not a good test taker and I think this course will be very beneficial when I take the test in a couple weeks. You learn a lot of the "tricks" that the test makers use. I highly recommend this course and if you're in DC get Anthony.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Manhattan GMAT
March 19 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: February 10, 2012 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  130 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   Washington, DC USA  | Taught by:  Mark Porath
I took the Manhattan GMAT class starting in the Fall of 2011. I definitely recommend this class.

In the class sessions, you’ll learn strategies for answering every type of problem on the GMAT. This kind of information is hard to learn via self-study, and I see some of my peers struggling with the GMAT because they didn’t take the class.

Manhattan provides everything you need to learn the concepts. It is up to you to make sure you master every problem type.

The secret to acing the GMAT is to MASTER every problem in the GMAC Official Guide. Manhattan has the OG Archer, which breaks down the Official Guide by question and sub-question type. Going over every single problem and then re-reviewing the ones that you missed was the secret to my success. Also, you have to take every practice test available – 6 Manhattan tests and 2 official GMAC tests. Review each test thoroughly, even the problems you answered correctly.

My practice test scores went as follows:

610 (Manhattan)
640 (Manhattan)
650 (Manhattan)
650 (Manhattan)
650 (Manhattan)
690 (Official GMAC)
720 (Manhattan)
700 (Official GMAC)

Official Score: 740

My practice scores shot up once I had mastered most of the OG material. Taking regular practices tests is also crucial so that you get a feel for your testing strategy. If I had been able to get to the OG quant and verbal supplements, I think I could have done even better.

Good luck to you all.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Great course
February 28 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: February 28, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   Washington, DC USA  | Taught by:  Anthony Ritz
I enjoyed the course a lot and hope that it will help me to improve my score. I decided to go with Veritas because it is well known for the high quality of its teachers and I can definitely confirm that this is very true.
I already took the GMAT a year ago but without any course preparation. The Books and the class have helped me to have a much more structured study approach and I feel much better prepared than last year. It has also motivated me to study even harder.
I recommend to go through the skillbuilder before each class and to be disciplined with the homework so as to get the best out of it.
Good luck!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Excellent GMAT prep course
December 18 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: July 7, 2012 | 8 | 8 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   Washington, DC USA  | Taught by:  Anthony Ritz
I took Veritas classes twice (2nd time was free) and was very happy with the course. I highly recommend my instructor Anthony who is absolutely brilliant and really cares about the progress of all the students in class. It's amazing how he always knows about your individual progress and is always ready to stay back a few minutes after class to help. He is very comfortable with the GMAT content and very patient when it comes to teaching, he does not mind repeating an explanation even 4 times if you don't get it. I would swap my brains with his for the GMAT if I could!

I retook the classes to go over the problem areas I had identified and I feel much more confident about the GMAT. The online tests and question banks are a great resource and I like the fact that Veritas keeps updating their web content. The classes taught me to look at GMAT problems with a completely different outlook and regardless of how my next test goes I think Veritas and Anthony have done a brilliant job with the course and the teaching methodology.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Worth it
December 16 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By godfrekc joined: November 25, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   Washington, DC USA  | Taught by:  Anthony Ritz
Definitely worth the money. I learned a lot during the course. The teacher was great at sharing tips and strategies for the questions. He had useful tips for both math and verbal and was adept at explaining those to the class. The flow of the class made sense. Starting with more basic subject matter, we were able to keep learning and building upon standard knowledge. By the end of the course we were getting great tips and advice on the hardest parts of the test.

Be warned that there is a ton of homework. The homework is crucial to your understanding and homework must be competed before class each week. If you do not have the outside time to dedicate to the course, then wait until you do.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Manhattan GMAT Washington, DC Review
December 14 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By danielspiller joined: December 14, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  70 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   Washington, DC USA  | Taught by:  Pedro Ledesma
I ended up taking the Manhattan GMAT course twice -- the first time online and second time in person with Pedro in DC. When I originally signed up, I was okay with the fact that Manhattan wasn't one of the companies that reimbursed you if your score went up. After all, they're not the ones taking the test and the books are probably more important than the work.

The online course was alright, but not my preferred method of instruction. One of the teachers (Stacy Koprince) was really good and the other was just alright, but I wasn't as serious about the GMAT I needed to be and I'm not sure how much the online course helped. The problem-based course format got me some practice but I didn't leave lessons feeling like I learned strategies for problems I hadn't seen before. They demonstrated how to answer the questions in front of us, but there was little discussion of how to translate that to new problems in the times required by the GMAT.

My score stayed even with my diagnostic of 640 (.

The in-person course was a different experience. I really liked Pedro who was engaging and sarcastic, which fits with my learning style. He was excellent at answering questions from the class and there was more discussion about the mindset for tackling new problems in the time allotted by the GMAT. Just as importantly, the talent level of the class was high and I learned from them as well! The class was still problem-focused, but more engaging and helpful overall.

In the end, I got a 710 (40Q, 47V) with 5.5 on AWA and 7/8 on IR.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Really Satisfied (720 V44 Q45)
December 06 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By eric1 joined: December 6, 2013 | 7 | 8 | native speaker
Improvement:  100 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   Washington, DC USA  |
I took the full course and followed it to a tee (I even paid GMAC $50 to postpone my test so that I'd take the test a month after the course as MGMAT recommends). Well, it paid off. While my score is definitely skewed towards verbal, I'm very happy with it.

MGMAT offers tons of resources and my instructor (Joe Lucero) was awesome. Really friendly, engaging, and willing to communicate outside of class. My instructor and the MGMAT resources taught how to tackle problems from several different angles.

The class is pricey. So iif you don't apply yourself in class, do the homework, and study intensely, it's definitely not worth it. On the other hand, if you are serious about getting a high score, MGMAT will give you the tools to do so.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!


Share your thoughts with other customers:


Save BIG
MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Get the savings