Washington, DC USA GMAT Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [26]      Average Rating:      
    Also: Online Course Reviews
Manhattan GMAT Washington, DC Review
December 14 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By danielspiller joined: December 14, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  70 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   Washington, DC USA  | Taught by:  Pedro Ledesma
I ended up taking the Manhattan GMAT course twice -- the first time online and second time in person with Pedro in DC. When I originally signed up, I was okay with the fact that Manhattan wasn't one of the companies that reimbursed you if your score went up. After all, they're not the ones taking the test and the books are probably more important than the work.

The online course was alright, but not my preferred method of instruction. One of the teachers (Stacy Koprince) was really good and the other was just alright, but I wasn't as serious about the GMAT I needed to be and I'm not sure how much the online course helped. The problem-based course format got me some practice but I didn't leave lessons feeling like I learned strategies for problems I hadn't seen before. They demonstrated how to answer the questions in front of us, but there was little discussion of how to translate that to new problems in the times required by the GMAT.

My score stayed even with my diagnostic of 640 (.

The in-person course was a different experience. I really liked Pedro who was engaging and sarcastic, which fits with my learning style. He was excellent at answering questions from the class and there was more discussion about the mindset for tackling new problems in the time allotted by the GMAT. Just as importantly, the talent level of the class was high and I learned from them as well! The class was still problem-focused, but more engaging and helpful overall.

In the end, I got a 710 (40Q, 47V) with 5.5 on AWA and 7/8 on IR.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Really Satisfied (720 V44 Q45)
December 06 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By eric1 joined: December 6, 2013 | 7 | 8 | native speaker
Improvement:  100 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   Washington, DC USA  |
I took the full course and followed it to a tee (I even paid GMAC $50 to postpone my test so that I'd take the test a month after the course as MGMAT recommends). Well, it paid off. While my score is definitely skewed towards verbal, I'm very happy with it.

MGMAT offers tons of resources and my instructor (Joe Lucero) was awesome. Really friendly, engaging, and willing to communicate outside of class. My instructor and the MGMAT resources taught how to tackle problems from several different angles.

The class is pricey. So iif you don't apply yourself in class, do the homework, and study intensely, it's definitely not worth it. On the other hand, if you are serious about getting a high score, MGMAT will give you the tools to do so.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Veritas GMAT Prep is the best prep course in town! You will not be disappointed!
December 04 | 2013

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: December 4, 2013 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   Washington, DC USA  |
I highly recommend Veritas Prep GMAT course. There are 12 books in total and all of them are very well structured. You can also practice on-line. During the certain hours, you will have an access to tutor who will gladly help you out with your math problems.

Out GMAT teacher made sure we understood the structure of the exam and that we are familiar with the various GMAT tricks. In overall, I recommend Veritas Prep to anyone who is for a GMAT challenge! You definitely will not be disappointed.

Also, Veritas Prep offers a free make-up course, which is great! Many other prep schools do not offer this option, so take advantage of the great resources Veritas Prep offers.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Good Course
November 18 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By matthewryanbrown joined: November 18, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  150 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   Washington, DC USA  | Taught by:  Pedro Ledesma
This course got me focused on studying and provided structure I needed to succeed. The syllabus and books they provide were perhaps the greatest attribute.

My score increased exponentially as I was completely unprepared to do math that quickly. From around a 550 to a 700.

I do not think I studied as much as many other people but in crunch time I was able to go back over the syllabus and the books and hammer out my weaknesses.

Pedro was a very good instructor. I enjoyed his personality and style of teaching. This course gives you every opportunity to succeed if you put in the time and stay on course. Read the introduction books and then stay on track with the syllabus. 15 weeks will get you over a 700.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Worth it.
October 21 | 2013

0 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: October 21, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  70 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   Washington, DC USA  | Taught by:  Anthony Ritz
About the Teacher:
A good man. The teacher was amusing and definitely knew what he was talking about. A bit socially awkward, but that's what made him funny.

The course:
The pace of the course is obviously fast paced, covering 12 full books in 6 weeks. I took a practice test in week 5 and my score jumped 70 points, and I hadn't even warmed up with a little review session beforehand. After researching, I found Veritas to be more fully equipped with a plethora of information, how-to videos, practice tests, and online live sessions 7-10pm. They have formatted it where you have easier problems before class, then you get the lesson with more problems in class, and then you have harder homework problems after class.

Long story short, they teach you how to think like the testmaker so you can recognize traps, and even to recognize the answers without having to do the problem.

If you want fundamentals taught to you, don't take this course. Take the online version instead.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
560 to 710: Thanks Manhattan GMAT
October 01 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By apeltzer joined: October 1, 2013 | 0 | 5 | native speaker
Improvement:  150 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   Washington, DC USA  | Taught by:  David Chong
I signed up for a 9 week Manhattan GMAT course after trying to study on my own. I realized that I needed to sign up for a course and I learn better in person (it also ensures that you go to class and don't procrastinate watching videos online). I started with a practice score of 560.

David was a great instructor and the course really provided me with the tools to understand the test and the tactics I needed to vastly improve my test score to 710 and also feel much more confident going into the test. On top of the great in-person instruction, it was a great resource to be able to review sessions online. There are also a ton of other resources and study aids on their site. I probably only accessed about a quarter of them!

I can't recommend Manhattan GMAT and David enough!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Highly Recommend
August 22 | 2013

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: August 22, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  60 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   Washington, DC USA  | Taught by:  Anthony Ritz
I was very pleased with the Veritas Prep Full Course. The lessons were well organized, comprehensive, and very useful. The instructor covered all sections thoroughly and was very open to homework questions outside of class. Anthony was friendly and used easy to understand language throughout the course. The course can be challenging due to the amount of homework and class time required; but the whole experience was definitely worth it. The class location was very convenient and provided a comfortable learning environment. The online resources, particularly practice tests, were very useful. I recommend this course to all users of this website.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Great instructor made GMAT class as painless as possible
July 01 | 2013

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By marjo333 joined: July 1, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  30 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   Washington, DC USA  | Taught by:  Josh Yardley
I would recommend this 9-week course to anyone who is looking to get a 700+ score. I was very impressed with the instruction-- Josh is very good at explaining both verbal and quant problems, and he is completely non-judgmental, which makes students feel comfortable asking questions, raising points, and defending their answers. He also kept the class on track, and I never left class feeling as though it was unproductive. I made a 30-point gain on my initial score, reaching 740-- while it was not a monumental gain, I now feel much more comfortable with my GMAT score going into the application season, and I even feel as though I learned some useful math and critical thinking skills. Not bad for a test prep course...
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Great Course!
June 26 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: June 26, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  170 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   Washington, DC USA  | Taught by:  Pedro Ledesma
Happy to recommend the Manhattan GMAT course. I just took the GMAT and scored a 770 (49Q/48V), and I couldn't have done that without the course. I went into the course never having taken a GMAT. On my first practice test (admittedly, I didn't know what I was doing), I got a 600. So, pretty substantial improvement.

Three things about the class really stand out: the instructor, the presentations, and the materials.

Pedro was a great instructor. He made the class engaging and fun, and he really knew his stuff. Going into the class, I expected someone who was really good at test-taking, but not well-versed in the substance. Boy was I wrong. Where necessary, Pedro went into the weeds of grammar and mathematics, and it was clear that he knows this stuff inside and out. I don't know or care what a participle is, but it's nice to know my GMAT instructor does.

Pedro was also really cool about staying after class to go over specific problems and challenges. He also was really quick to respond to questions over email. He definitely went above and beyond.

I really appreciated that the course was organized around GMAT problems, not around "tricks" for "beating" the test. Pedro would put a problem on the screen, we would do it individually, then talk about different ways to solve it. Any "tricks" that we learned were in the context finding shortcuts to solve specific problems. I found this approach refreshing, straightforward, and respectful of the students' intelligence.

The materials were first-rate. The course comes with a book on each major GMAT topic, and they do a good job laying out what you need to know. There are lots of online "labs" and practice sheets that I found useful. There is a great online system for inputting your answers to practice problems. It includes lots of data viz tools to help you see where you need to get better/speed up. And there are lots of practice tests, and solid tools for analyzing your results.

Bottom line, I went into the test feeling prepared.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Great Course Taught By Amazing Professors
June 18 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By rab415 joined: June 18, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  70 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   Washington, DC USA  | Taught by:  Andrew Mara
Manhattan GMAT Professors are easily approachable and they break down the exam in an easy to understand way. Each week, I was exposed to a number of different approaches to solve problem types. I had an opportunity to really tailor the exam with approaches that worked for me. The professor was adaptable to any approach that fit my skills. I strongly recommend. I saw a 70 point improvement in my score, and I broke 700.

I have tried other test programs before, but Manhattan stands out because of their online content and world class professors. Their exams are the most challenging, but they are accompanied by detailed explanations that really bring lessons home. As far as the professor, he left me feeling that he genuinely cared about my performance. He was more than willing to stay before and after class to answer questions and help out. I'm extremely thankful to Manhattan.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!


Share your thoughts with other customers:


Save BIG
MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Get the savings