Washington, DC USA GMAT Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [23]      Average Rating:      
    Also: Online Course Reviews
Good Course
November 18 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By matthewryanbrown joined: November 18, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  150 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   Washington, DC USA  | Taught by:  Pedro Ledesma
This course got me focused on studying and provided structure I needed to succeed. The syllabus and books they provide were perhaps the greatest attribute.

My score increased exponentially as I was completely unprepared to do math that quickly. From around a 550 to a 700.

I do not think I studied as much as many other people but in crunch time I was able to go back over the syllabus and the books and hammer out my weaknesses.

Pedro was a very good instructor. I enjoyed his personality and style of teaching. This course gives you every opportunity to succeed if you put in the time and stay on course. Read the introduction books and then stay on track with the syllabus. 15 weeks will get you over a 700.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Worth it.
October 21 | 2013

0 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: October 21, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  70 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   Washington, DC USA  | Taught by:  Anthony Ritz
About the Teacher:
A good man. The teacher was amusing and definitely knew what he was talking about. A bit socially awkward, but that's what made him funny.

The course:
The pace of the course is obviously fast paced, covering 12 full books in 6 weeks. I took a practice test in week 5 and my score jumped 70 points, and I hadn't even warmed up with a little review session beforehand. After researching, I found Veritas to be more fully equipped with a plethora of information, how-to videos, practice tests, and online live sessions 7-10pm. They have formatted it where you have easier problems before class, then you get the lesson with more problems in class, and then you have harder homework problems after class.

Long story short, they teach you how to think like the testmaker so you can recognize traps, and even to recognize the answers without having to do the problem.

If you want fundamentals taught to you, don't take this course. Take the online version instead.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
560 to 710: Thanks Manhattan GMAT
October 01 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By apeltzer joined: October 1, 2013 | 0 | 5 | native speaker
Improvement:  150 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   Washington, DC USA  | Taught by:  David Chong
I signed up for a 9 week Manhattan GMAT course after trying to study on my own. I realized that I needed to sign up for a course and I learn better in person (it also ensures that you go to class and don't procrastinate watching videos online). I started with a practice score of 560.

David was a great instructor and the course really provided me with the tools to understand the test and the tactics I needed to vastly improve my test score to 710 and also feel much more confident going into the test. On top of the great in-person instruction, it was a great resource to be able to review sessions online. There are also a ton of other resources and study aids on their site. I probably only accessed about a quarter of them!

I can't recommend Manhattan GMAT and David enough!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Highly Recommend
August 22 | 2013

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: August 22, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  60 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   Washington, DC USA  | Taught by:  Anthony Ritz
I was very pleased with the Veritas Prep Full Course. The lessons were well organized, comprehensive, and very useful. The instructor covered all sections thoroughly and was very open to homework questions outside of class. Anthony was friendly and used easy to understand language throughout the course. The course can be challenging due to the amount of homework and class time required; but the whole experience was definitely worth it. The class location was very convenient and provided a comfortable learning environment. The online resources, particularly practice tests, were very useful. I recommend this course to all users of this website.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Great instructor made GMAT class as painless as possible
July 01 | 2013

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By marjo333 joined: July 1, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  30 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   Washington, DC USA  | Taught by:  Josh Yardley
I would recommend this 9-week course to anyone who is looking to get a 700+ score. I was very impressed with the instruction-- Josh is very good at explaining both verbal and quant problems, and he is completely non-judgmental, which makes students feel comfortable asking questions, raising points, and defending their answers. He also kept the class on track, and I never left class feeling as though it was unproductive. I made a 30-point gain on my initial score, reaching 740-- while it was not a monumental gain, I now feel much more comfortable with my GMAT score going into the application season, and I even feel as though I learned some useful math and critical thinking skills. Not bad for a test prep course...
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Great Course!
June 26 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: June 26, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  170 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   Washington, DC USA  | Taught by:  Pedro Ledesma
Happy to recommend the Manhattan GMAT course. I just took the GMAT and scored a 770 (49Q/48V), and I couldn't have done that without the course. I went into the course never having taken a GMAT. On my first practice test (admittedly, I didn't know what I was doing), I got a 600. So, pretty substantial improvement.

Three things about the class really stand out: the instructor, the presentations, and the materials.

Pedro was a great instructor. He made the class engaging and fun, and he really knew his stuff. Going into the class, I expected someone who was really good at test-taking, but not well-versed in the substance. Boy was I wrong. Where necessary, Pedro went into the weeds of grammar and mathematics, and it was clear that he knows this stuff inside and out. I don't know or care what a participle is, but it's nice to know my GMAT instructor does.

Pedro was also really cool about staying after class to go over specific problems and challenges. He also was really quick to respond to questions over email. He definitely went above and beyond.

I really appreciated that the course was organized around GMAT problems, not around "tricks" for "beating" the test. Pedro would put a problem on the screen, we would do it individually, then talk about different ways to solve it. Any "tricks" that we learned were in the context finding shortcuts to solve specific problems. I found this approach refreshing, straightforward, and respectful of the students' intelligence.

The materials were first-rate. The course comes with a book on each major GMAT topic, and they do a good job laying out what you need to know. There are lots of online "labs" and practice sheets that I found useful. There is a great online system for inputting your answers to practice problems. It includes lots of data viz tools to help you see where you need to get better/speed up. And there are lots of practice tests, and solid tools for analyzing your results.

Bottom line, I went into the test feeling prepared.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Great Course Taught By Amazing Professors
June 18 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By rab415 joined: June 18, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  70 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   Washington, DC USA  | Taught by:  Andrew Mara
Manhattan GMAT Professors are easily approachable and they break down the exam in an easy to understand way. Each week, I was exposed to a number of different approaches to solve problem types. I had an opportunity to really tailor the exam with approaches that worked for me. The professor was adaptable to any approach that fit my skills. I strongly recommend. I saw a 70 point improvement in my score, and I broke 700.

I have tried other test programs before, but Manhattan stands out because of their online content and world class professors. Their exams are the most challenging, but they are accompanied by detailed explanations that really bring lessons home. As far as the professor, he left me feeling that he genuinely cared about my performance. He was more than willing to stay before and after class to answer questions and help out. I'm extremely thankful to Manhattan.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Veritas Prep GMAT Review (Washington DC, Anthony Ritz)
April 22 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By LewisJR23 joined: April 22, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   Washington, DC USA  | Taught by:  Anthony Ritz
I just finished my Veritas GMAT Course and am very very pleased with what I paid for. The Veritas Course was extremely comprehensive and did an amazing job at breaking down each skill that was required for the test and reviewing each problem type that could possibly be tested. I was in a class that met every Saturday from 10AM to 5PM in Washington DC. The Saturday meeting time was perfect and it gave me ample time to work through the required Homework during the week.

Each lesson is basically set up in 3 sections, the skillbuilder, the lesson, and the homework. To me, the Skillbuilder is a key differentiator for Veritas. The Skillbuilder is done prior to class and basically reviews all the raw skills that are required for that days lesson. I spent a lot of time on each skillbuilder, and in doing so, I was able to take advantage of the class time more effectively and really grasp the high level concepts that my instructor was teaching. The homework also was really helpful as it was specific to the days lesson and provided more than enough GMAT problems to test your ability to implement the skills you had learned that day.

The lessons were amazing. I cannot say enough good things about the format of each lesson and the way my instructor delivered the material. If you spend a good bit of time becoming familiar with the skillbuilder concepts, the lesson will really do a good job in preparing you for advanced problems and implementing all the skills you have learned.

My instructor, Anthony Ritz, was absolutely amazing. He is very knowledgeable on the test material and takes pride in making sure each class member understands each problem type. He has an endless book of tricks that he is able to articulate in a very easy to remember way. I emailed and instant messaged him many times during the week, outside of class, and he was always quick to respond with multiple ways to look at problems that were confusing me. He always went above and beyond to ensure that everyone was clear on what was going to be tested. He always offered to stay late to review any additional problems that may be confusing.

The resources that were available through Veritas are also absolutely amazing. The books they provide breakdown all of the concepts to fine detail, and you can re-watch any of the classes on their internet which you have access to for a year. I often would re-watch parts of the lesson when I got stumped on the homework and would immediately remember the concepts that were taught. The online resources also have 10 practice tests and more questions that you could imagine broken down by each problem type and sub-type. They have a homework hotline for any additional questions that a student may have and they offer 10 practice tests and each question that is missed on the practice test has a very detailed explanation that refers back to parts of the lessons. Amazing!

I give Veritas and my instructor, Anthony Ritz, my highest possible recommendation and look forward to seeing how I perform on my exam. I feel very confident in answering all question type and am very satisfied with the service I paid for.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Good but not great
March 15 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: March 15, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  100 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   Washington, DC USA  | Taught by:  Marcus Hedahl
I found the Manhattan GMAT resources to be extremely useful throughout the study process. Their syllabus, combined with MGMAT handing you all of the resources you needed, made the potentially overwhelming process of studying feel more manageable.

I didn't love the class, though. My instructor was Marcus and though he was clearly smart and and a decent teacher, I found his jokes to be distracting and take up too much time. It sometimes seemed as though he was jumping all over the place in terms of content. It was probably the most useful in terms of familiarizing me with the content.

In the end, I found studying on my own to be the most useful. Taking practice tests and going over exam questions taught me a lot more than the class or other studying. My first practice test was a 630, and my actual GMAT was a 730 (68% quant, 99% verbal).
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Personal Recommendation for Eric Maltzer
January 14 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By ZNSpencer joined: December 30, 2012 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  90 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   Washington, DC USA  | Taught by:  Eric Maltzer
Let me start off by saying that I would definitely recommend the Veritas program. The study materials, web-interface and abundance of practice tests were extremely helpful, but the larger point I want to make is how great of an instructor Eric Maltzer is.

I have not taken any other prep courses, but I have to believe that Eric is a bit of a rogue instructor; he doesn't believe in teaching the Veritas curriculum verbatim, instead he uses the curriculum as a foundation on which to build. Eric adds his own experiences and strategies to his lessons, which makes his class invaluable. He also does a great job of instilling confidence in his students so that they can succeed on the exam. Additionally, Eric was really good about responding to emails quickly...regardless of the time of day. For example, I emailed Eric two weeks before I took the exam for some last minute advice, and within two hours Eric responded via email and scheduled a time for me to call him the next night, even though he was away on a business trip. Great guy. I felt totally prepared (albeit a little anxious) going into the exam.

One of Eric's maxims is "the GMAT is a test of confidence and poise...nothing more" and I really think there's a lot of truth to that. I took approximately 10 practice tests before the exam, and when I got my lowest score (550) it shook my confidence. But I then made the conscious effort to "buy-in" to the Eric Maltzer system, and ended up surpassing my target score (700).

Now let me give Eric an "out" just in case someone takes his course and doesn't have similar results... regardless of the instructor, you (the student) have to put in the effort. As an avid college football fan, I missed pretty much this entire season, and had to turn off numerous games halfway through, so I could study. In order to succeed you're going to have to make some sacrifices, but if you're willing to buy-in to his system, Eric Maltzer won't lead you astray.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!


Share your thoughts with other customers:


Save BIG
MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Get the savings