Washington, DC USA GMAT Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [31]      Average Rating:      
    Also: Online Course Reviews
Veritas is excellent!
March 20 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: March 20, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   Washington, DC USA  | Taught by:  Anthony Ritz
Try to get Anthony, he is very knowledgable and a great instructor that makes complex problems easy to understand. I took the course in Washington DC and was in the Hilton. The context is a heavy workload on top of work, but I am in the process of taking the test in the next 3 weeks after finishing the course 3 weeks ago. I am not a good test taker and I think this course will be very beneficial when I take the test in a couple weeks. You learn a lot of the "tricks" that the test makers use. I highly recommend this course and if you're in DC get Anthony.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Manhattan GMAT
March 19 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: February 10, 2012 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  130 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   Washington, DC USA  | Taught by:  Mark Porath
I took the Manhattan GMAT class starting in the Fall of 2011. I definitely recommend this class.

In the class sessions, you’ll learn strategies for answering every type of problem on the GMAT. This kind of information is hard to learn via self-study, and I see some of my peers struggling with the GMAT because they didn’t take the class.

Manhattan provides everything you need to learn the concepts. It is up to you to make sure you master every problem type.

The secret to acing the GMAT is to MASTER every problem in the GMAC Official Guide. Manhattan has the OG Archer, which breaks down the Official Guide by question and sub-question type. Going over every single problem and then re-reviewing the ones that you missed was the secret to my success. Also, you have to take every practice test available – 6 Manhattan tests and 2 official GMAC tests. Review each test thoroughly, even the problems you answered correctly.

My practice test scores went as follows:

610 (Manhattan)
640 (Manhattan)
650 (Manhattan)
650 (Manhattan)
650 (Manhattan)
690 (Official GMAC)
720 (Manhattan)
700 (Official GMAC)

Official Score: 740

My practice scores shot up once I had mastered most of the OG material. Taking regular practices tests is also crucial so that you get a feel for your testing strategy. If I had been able to get to the OG quant and verbal supplements, I think I could have done even better.

Good luck to you all.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Great course
February 28 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: February 28, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   Washington, DC USA  | Taught by:  Anthony Ritz
I enjoyed the course a lot and hope that it will help me to improve my score. I decided to go with Veritas because it is well known for the high quality of its teachers and I can definitely confirm that this is very true.
I already took the GMAT a year ago but without any course preparation. The Books and the class have helped me to have a much more structured study approach and I feel much better prepared than last year. It has also motivated me to study even harder.
I recommend to go through the skillbuilder before each class and to be disciplined with the homework so as to get the best out of it.
Good luck!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Excellent GMAT prep course
December 18 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: July 7, 2012 | 6 | 6 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   Washington, DC USA  | Taught by:  Anthony Ritz
I took Veritas classes twice (2nd time was free) and was very happy with the course. I highly recommend my instructor Anthony who is absolutely brilliant and really cares about the progress of all the students in class. It's amazing how he always knows about your individual progress and is always ready to stay back a few minutes after class to help. He is very comfortable with the GMAT content and very patient when it comes to teaching, he does not mind repeating an explanation even 4 times if you don't get it. I would swap my brains with his for the GMAT if I could!

I retook the classes to go over the problem areas I had identified and I feel much more confident about the GMAT. The online tests and question banks are a great resource and I like the fact that Veritas keeps updating their web content. The classes taught me to look at GMAT problems with a completely different outlook and regardless of how my next test goes I think Veritas and Anthony have done a brilliant job with the course and the teaching methodology.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Worth it
December 16 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By godfrekc joined: November 25, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   Washington, DC USA  | Taught by:  Anthony Ritz
Definitely worth the money. I learned a lot during the course. The teacher was great at sharing tips and strategies for the questions. He had useful tips for both math and verbal and was adept at explaining those to the class. The flow of the class made sense. Starting with more basic subject matter, we were able to keep learning and building upon standard knowledge. By the end of the course we were getting great tips and advice on the hardest parts of the test.

Be warned that there is a ton of homework. The homework is crucial to your understanding and homework must be competed before class each week. If you do not have the outside time to dedicate to the course, then wait until you do.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Manhattan GMAT Washington, DC Review
December 14 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By danielspiller joined: December 14, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  70 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   Washington, DC USA  | Taught by:  Pedro Ledesma
I ended up taking the Manhattan GMAT course twice -- the first time online and second time in person with Pedro in DC. When I originally signed up, I was okay with the fact that Manhattan wasn't one of the companies that reimbursed you if your score went up. After all, they're not the ones taking the test and the books are probably more important than the work.

The online course was alright, but not my preferred method of instruction. One of the teachers (Stacy Koprince) was really good and the other was just alright, but I wasn't as serious about the GMAT I needed to be and I'm not sure how much the online course helped. The problem-based course format got me some practice but I didn't leave lessons feeling like I learned strategies for problems I hadn't seen before. They demonstrated how to answer the questions in front of us, but there was little discussion of how to translate that to new problems in the times required by the GMAT.

My score stayed even with my diagnostic of 640 (.

The in-person course was a different experience. I really liked Pedro who was engaging and sarcastic, which fits with my learning style. He was excellent at answering questions from the class and there was more discussion about the mindset for tackling new problems in the time allotted by the GMAT. Just as importantly, the talent level of the class was high and I learned from them as well! The class was still problem-focused, but more engaging and helpful overall.

In the end, I got a 710 (40Q, 47V) with 5.5 on AWA and 7/8 on IR.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Really Satisfied (720 V44 Q45)
December 06 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By eric1 joined: December 6, 2013 | 7 | 8 | native speaker
Improvement:  100 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   Washington, DC USA  |
I took the full course and followed it to a tee (I even paid GMAC $50 to postpone my test so that I'd take the test a month after the course as MGMAT recommends). Well, it paid off. While my score is definitely skewed towards verbal, I'm very happy with it.

MGMAT offers tons of resources and my instructor (Joe Lucero) was awesome. Really friendly, engaging, and willing to communicate outside of class. My instructor and the MGMAT resources taught how to tackle problems from several different angles.

The class is pricey. So iif you don't apply yourself in class, do the homework, and study intensely, it's definitely not worth it. On the other hand, if you are serious about getting a high score, MGMAT will give you the tools to do so.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Veritas GMAT Prep is the best prep course in town! You will not be disappointed!
December 04 | 2013

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: December 4, 2013 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   Washington, DC USA  |
I highly recommend Veritas Prep GMAT course. There are 12 books in total and all of them are very well structured. You can also practice on-line. During the certain hours, you will have an access to tutor who will gladly help you out with your math problems.

Out GMAT teacher made sure we understood the structure of the exam and that we are familiar with the various GMAT tricks. In overall, I recommend Veritas Prep to anyone who is for a GMAT challenge! You definitely will not be disappointed.

Also, Veritas Prep offers a free make-up course, which is great! Many other prep schools do not offer this option, so take advantage of the great resources Veritas Prep offers.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Good Course
November 18 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By matthewryanbrown joined: November 18, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  150 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   Washington, DC USA  | Taught by:  Pedro Ledesma
This course got me focused on studying and provided structure I needed to succeed. The syllabus and books they provide were perhaps the greatest attribute.

My score increased exponentially as I was completely unprepared to do math that quickly. From around a 550 to a 700.

I do not think I studied as much as many other people but in crunch time I was able to go back over the syllabus and the books and hammer out my weaknesses.

Pedro was a very good instructor. I enjoyed his personality and style of teaching. This course gives you every opportunity to succeed if you put in the time and stay on course. Read the introduction books and then stay on track with the syllabus. 15 weeks will get you over a 700.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Worth it.
October 21 | 2013

0 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: October 21, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  70 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   Washington, DC USA  | Taught by:  Anthony Ritz
About the Teacher:
A good man. The teacher was amusing and definitely knew what he was talking about. A bit socially awkward, but that's what made him funny.

The course:
The pace of the course is obviously fast paced, covering 12 full books in 6 weeks. I took a practice test in week 5 and my score jumped 70 points, and I hadn't even warmed up with a little review session beforehand. After researching, I found Veritas to be more fully equipped with a plethora of information, how-to videos, practice tests, and online live sessions 7-10pm. They have formatted it where you have easier problems before class, then you get the lesson with more problems in class, and then you have harder homework problems after class.

Long story short, they teach you how to think like the testmaker so you can recognize traps, and even to recognize the answers without having to do the problem.

If you want fundamentals taught to you, don't take this course. Take the online version instead.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!


Share your thoughts with other customers:


Save BIG
MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Get the savings