Washington, DC USA GMAT Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [37]      Average Rating:      
    Also: Online Course Reviews
Great Program
August 09 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By chrblan joined: August 9, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  120 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   Washington, DC USA  | Taught by:  Pedro Ledesma
I had not taken a standardized test in ten years, nor had I really done any quantitative work since my freshman year of college. My first practice GMAT reflected that; I didn't finish the quantitative portion at all and scored a 640 overall. By the end of the Manhattan GMAT class, I was scoring mid to high 700s on my practice tests, and scored a 760 the second time I took the actual test. I had a rough week the first time I took the test, just a few days after the end of the class) and was not satisfied with my score, so I retook it after studying the class materials for another month, focusing in on my weak points. It is a very comprehensive, well-structured, and effective program. If you need a thorough review, take this class, do the recommended homework assignments, and use the practice tests to identify specific types of problems where you are weak.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Massive Score Improvement!
July 02 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By msharma550 joined: February 21, 2014 | 1 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  200 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   Washington, DC USA  | Taught by:  Marcus Hedahl
Washington DC - In Person Class Winter 2014 The GMAT is daunting, no one can deny this. One of the first things MGMAT does is make things manageable and segment the various areas of study. Once you know every possible area you can (and will) be tested on, it becomes easier to find your weaknesses and do targeted studying. 1000 hours of studying is not the same as 100 hours of very targeted prep. I had Marcus Hedahl as my teacher who was an excellent instructor and absolutely hilarious. I will say that I did not love the cold calling but suppose it did keep me engaged throughout a rather long three hour class (after work). The content was there but what was most beneficial to me is the information you cannot get from solo studying but only from someone who lives the GMAT. Marcus at one point told us his ridiculous score and the number of questions wrong he was able to get to still attain this score. Furthermore, he hammered in the point that it's not about getting every question correct but more so about getting those easy/med questions write and getting some (very few) of the harder ones. Against all odds I did well on the test. Not because I am some genius but because I strictly followed the syllabus, stayed focused in class, and dedicated a ton of time outside of class. If I took this class and did well there is no reason why someone else cannot do the same. Highly recommend it.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Private Tutoring Helpful!
June 28 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By sdemashkieh joined: June 28, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  110 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Manhattan GMAT Private Tutoring | Location:   Washington, DC USA  |
I had a great experience with Manhattan GMAT. I just did one session with a private tutor (after having used all the Manhattan study materials to get ready for the test via self-study). He was really supportive and gave me great advice for what content areas I should focus on going forward. We only focused on the quant section (as that is the section that was really bringing my score down). Using his study methods, my score went from a 650 to a 760 in just 5 weeks. It was really worth the money. Would definitely recommend using Manhattan GMAT study guides as well as getting a private tutoring session if you want guidance on the best study methods.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
great course, great material
June 18 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: June 18, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  60 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Weekend Course | Location:   Washington, DC USA  | Taught by:  Anthony Ritz
The Veritas Prep course is the best in the business. I was so impressed the first day my course material showed up in a giant box with 12 books! The content was great and organized very methodically. The course itself was fantastic. Anthony was a great instructor and was focused on feeling confident that his students each felt accomplished and understood the material. The course is oriented about helping you understand how to take the test rather than the material itself, as the material is pretty basic.
In the end, I was shooting for a 100pt increase in score through the course. I was practice testing at that level, but couldn't match it in reality. So I think in general the course was absolutely worth it, but I wouldn't set my expectations at the 100 mark again. In reality, that's too big a jump.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Veritas - GREAT program
April 13 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By malhotrashawn joined: April 13, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   Washington, DC USA  | Taught by:  Anthony Ritz
I have just completed my Veritas program (March - April), instructed by Anthony Ritz, and found this program INCREDIBLY helpful.

I found out about Veritas through a friend who previously took the program (who scored a 740). He told me how this program was exactly what he needed to make him get the score that he did eventual receive. I of course was skeptical, and a little intimidated, however, now that the class is complete, I can say with utter confidence that I feel significantly more prepared for the test - and ultimately agree with my friend. I have my test scheduled for later this year and feel much more prepared for the test.

1.) The resources - Veritas has done a great job of providing everyone with all the tools they could ever want to prep for the test. Between a video catalog covering all pre-class work/classes/homework, to the weekly classes, you can never feel lost through the work.

2.) The instructors - As said earlier, my instructor was Anthony Ritz, who keep the class engaging and informative, while keeping everything professional and tailored to what the students needed.

3.) The discipline - While having a 9-to-5 job, it is initially intimidating to consider how you can keep up with the work. But, if you are serious about the test - the discipline is something you need to have, and the Veritas program supports you throughout the development.

I recommend this program to anyone who is serious about the GMAT and getting into a top B-school.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Excellent Course
March 24 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: February 18, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  50 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   Washington, DC USA  |
The Veritas course is able to break down the GMAT into clear components that logically build on each other throughout the course. These building blocks helped me understand the GMAT in a way that I would not have been able if I had approached these topics on my own.

Anthony, my instructor, was both knowledgably and funny. Six hour days in class are long, but he kept everyone engaged and made the time fly. My only complaint is that we didn’t have quite enough time. The course should add another day so that important material is not rushed. That said, I’m confident that this course contributed in a big way to my success.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Veritas is excellent!
March 20 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: March 20, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   Washington, DC USA  | Taught by:  Anthony Ritz
Try to get Anthony, he is very knowledgable and a great instructor that makes complex problems easy to understand. I took the course in Washington DC and was in the Hilton. The context is a heavy workload on top of work, but I am in the process of taking the test in the next 3 weeks after finishing the course 3 weeks ago. I am not a good test taker and I think this course will be very beneficial when I take the test in a couple weeks. You learn a lot of the "tricks" that the test makers use. I highly recommend this course and if you're in DC get Anthony.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Manhattan GMAT
March 19 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: February 10, 2012 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  130 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   Washington, DC USA  | Taught by:  Mark Porath
I took the Manhattan GMAT class starting in the Fall of 2011. I definitely recommend this class.

In the class sessions, you’ll learn strategies for answering every type of problem on the GMAT. This kind of information is hard to learn via self-study, and I see some of my peers struggling with the GMAT because they didn’t take the class.

Manhattan provides everything you need to learn the concepts. It is up to you to make sure you master every problem type.

The secret to acing the GMAT is to MASTER every problem in the GMAC Official Guide. Manhattan has the OG Archer, which breaks down the Official Guide by question and sub-question type. Going over every single problem and then re-reviewing the ones that you missed was the secret to my success. Also, you have to take every practice test available – 6 Manhattan tests and 2 official GMAC tests. Review each test thoroughly, even the problems you answered correctly.

My practice test scores went as follows:

610 (Manhattan)
640 (Manhattan)
650 (Manhattan)
650 (Manhattan)
650 (Manhattan)
690 (Official GMAC)
720 (Manhattan)
700 (Official GMAC)

Official Score: 740

My practice scores shot up once I had mastered most of the OG material. Taking regular practices tests is also crucial so that you get a feel for your testing strategy. If I had been able to get to the OG quant and verbal supplements, I think I could have done even better.

Good luck to you all.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Great course
February 28 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: February 28, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   Washington, DC USA  | Taught by:  Anthony Ritz
I enjoyed the course a lot and hope that it will help me to improve my score. I decided to go with Veritas because it is well known for the high quality of its teachers and I can definitely confirm that this is very true.
I already took the GMAT a year ago but without any course preparation. The Books and the class have helped me to have a much more structured study approach and I feel much better prepared than last year. It has also motivated me to study even harder.
I recommend to go through the skillbuilder before each class and to be disciplined with the homework so as to get the best out of it.
Good luck!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Excellent GMAT prep course
December 18 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: July 7, 2012 | 9 | 8 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   Washington, DC USA  | Taught by:  Anthony Ritz
I took Veritas classes twice (2nd time was free) and was very happy with the course. I highly recommend my instructor Anthony who is absolutely brilliant and really cares about the progress of all the students in class. It's amazing how he always knows about your individual progress and is always ready to stay back a few minutes after class to help. He is very comfortable with the GMAT content and very patient when it comes to teaching, he does not mind repeating an explanation even 4 times if you don't get it. I would swap my brains with his for the GMAT if I could!

I retook the classes to go over the problem areas I had identified and I feel much more confident about the GMAT. The online tests and question banks are a great resource and I like the fact that Veritas keeps updating their web content. The classes taught me to look at GMAT problems with a completely different outlook and regardless of how my next test goes I think Veritas and Anthony have done a brilliant job with the course and the teaching methodology.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!


Share your thoughts with other customers:


Save BIG
MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Get the savings