Magoosh GMAT Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [88]      Average Rating:       (4.6/5)
Courses
Find by:  
    
    
 
Magoosh Promo Code
Magoosh provides online test preparation with hundreds of video lessons and practice questions that cover every topic tested on the GMAT.  You can study anytime, anywhere on your laptop, smartphone, or iPad. Learn by watching short video tutorials that are tailored to you based on your performance.

Special deal for GMAT Club members is available...

  Reviews
Sort by:   date of publication  most helpful
GMAT-720
May 09 | 2012

7 out of 7 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By rijul007 joined: October 12, 2011 | 20 | 18 | non-native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Magoosh Premium | Location:   Online |
The video lessons were very helpful. All the GMAT topics were covered wonderfully! Also the OG video solution for maths came in handy.
The practice questions helped me a lot in finding out my weak areas. At the end of each session, it also suggested me some video lessons that helped me improving specific areas.
Another thing that really impressed me was their prompt response to my queries, be it related to specific questions or GMAT as a whole.
Magoosh played a very important role in my GMAT preparation.
I would certainly recommend this course to everyone, not just GMAT, but also for GRE.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Hidden Gem of the GMAT prep world
June 13 | 2012

5 out of 5 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By mirfan2 joined: December 22, 2009 | 108 | 12 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 100 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Magoosh Premium | Location:   Online |
Magoosh offers a unique product, unique content at a unique price. Given that it is one of the smaller shops in the GMAT prep world some of you may have apprehensions and rightly so, because it is more or less an obscure GMAT prep company.

Thanks to GMATCLUB Magoosh will one day cease to be obscure as the content provided has been designed by accredited experts.

Most of the content videos (SC, CR, IR, RC and Quant) have been created by Brent Hanneson who is well known GMAT guru in Canada. Brent scored a 770 and he used to be an instructor at Veritas and now does private tutoring and a conducts a GMAT class at UBC. All the Math Questions video explanations are narrated by Brent. The Math questions have been inspired by old OG questions and not even a single explanation will leave you hanging.

Now for the not so great part, most of verbal questions are very good, but there are few out there that deserve to be done away with. Verbal questions have been created by Dave Scalise and are narrated by 'Verbal Lady' (well they don't reveal her identity). Unfortunately the Verbal lady is quite monotone and likes to rush through the explanations, but overall the Verbal content is solid. The RC passages are among the best out there at par with RC99, Veritas and MGMAT.

What really differentiates Magoosh is their customer service. Their response time for emails is almost none, if you email Bhavin Parikh he'll get back to you within 10-15 minutes. If you have any issues with the content you'll find that the Magoosh team has a real west coast work ethic. As they're easy to deal with and ready to roll-up their sleeves to help you out.

Overall, Magoosh offers an excellent product at a very decent price. I wish, I had found their website before I paid 1300$ for a prep course with a major test prep company.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Magoosh Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Big fan of Magoosh
March 26 | 2012

4 out of 5 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By juliacollege11 joined: March 26, 2012 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Magoosh Premium | Location:   Online |
A friend of mine who was studying for the GRE recommended Magoosh, and I couldn't be happier with their service. The reason I found Magoosh so helpful is that the GMAT is all about tips and tricks: without Magoosh, I would never have felt as comfortable with the format of the test and the themes of the questions. The GMAT is unlike any test I have taken before. I just graduated college, so although I will be taking the GMAT again with more math training, Magoosh helped give me a lot of confidence because of the strategies the lessons taught me. Magoosh helped me focus on what was important so I spent more time studying the right areas, and calmed me down so that I spent less time worrying and more time studying.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Increased 12 points in Quant
July 27 | 2013

3 out of 3 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: December 13, 2012 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 120 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Magoosh Math | Location:   Online |
First time I sat for the GMAT I scored 590 (35-35 split). While I did use a variety of sources during my prep, I credit Magoosh with the increase in quant. I felt pretty confident with the verbal all the time, so I didn't spend too much time on it; but it was clear for me that I was not even near the score I wanted in Math. I liked Magoosh not only because of the amount of tricks offered to help you conquer the timing constraints, but also for the variety of ways to attack the questions bank: You can select your questions based on the degree of difficulty, the area tested, you can go back and retry the incorrect ones, you can write notes, you can flag for review, etc. I ended up scoring a 710 on my second GMAT (47 quant, 41 verbal), more than I actually scored in the mock tests.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Magoosh Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Great GMAT Prep
April 03 | 2012

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By qc9244 joined: February 26, 2012 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Magoosh Premium | Location:   Online |
I have been using a combination of study materials, but out of all of them I have to say the Magoosh Premium is the best of them all. the pros of this amazing prep course I've seen include the following:


-ability to use the software anywhere, whether it be on a PC, Mac, tablet, smartphone, or any other device with internet connection
- breakdown of the topics in the tutorial section
- ability to filter specific topics to work on in the practice section
-being able to track problems answered incorrectly, correctly, and track progress
-the option to flag specific problems in order to take another look at it later
-tutorial videos that were related to the problem after you complete each problem if you feel you need another lesson on that specific topic. tip of advice for watching video; right click on lesson video below the explanation of how to solve the problem and choose option to open in new tab.I found this to be very helpful.
-good stimulator of the real GMAT through the practice portion
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Incredibly Helpful
April 09 | 2013

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: April 9, 2013 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Magoosh Premium | Location:   Online |
Magoosh is definitely an amazing service. The course material is neatly organized and relevant for the GMAT prep. The amount of practice problems for all of the GMAT sections is more than enough.

But to be honest, the main strength of Magoosh is how they deliver the quality content - the instructional videos with tips and strategy are value for dollar on their own. When you take the incredibly helpful and friendly staff which is on call to help you with any difficulties that you encounter along the way, you are certain you cannot find a better deal around.

I took a live prep class which was like any other - it focused on teaching you math and making you practice verbal which is useful for repetition, but it has nothing to do with GMAT. Magoosh puts you in the right state of mind and explains the logic behind the exam. It teaches you how to do well with the right way of thinking, which I can tell for a fact is the most important part of taking the GMAT, since I scored decently high by seeing problems that need solutions rather than tasks that need to be solved.

All in all, 11/10.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Magoosh Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Magoosh Premium Review
January 04 | 2014

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By AP13 joined: September 17, 2013 | 2 | 1 | native speaker
Improvement: 10 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Magoosh Premium | Location:   Online |
I took the Magoosh Premium Course in preparation for a GMAT retake. I definitely chose Magoosh because of the price ($99 special) and the score guarantee (50+ pts). Even though I did not improve much, I did appreciate the Magoosh course and would easily choose it again.

Overall, I think the course is great for those aiming to score in the high 600s. But the lecture videos (particularly verbal) does not cover advanced level 700-plus concepts sufficiently. The math section was great and comprehensive, especially as it really simplified difficult concepts such as permutations and combinations. However, I was surprised by the breadth of videos available for math, while the verbal videos were less dense.

For me, the practice questions and dashboard review had the most value, as I could focus on very hard problems and accurately access my strengths and weaknesses. Another critical aspect of the course is the note taking function provided at the end of lecture videos and question explanations. Instead of re-watching videos, I could simply look at notes I took to recall key problem types.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
From 540 to 710
January 27 | 2012

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: October 19, 2011 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 170 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Magoosh Premium | Location:   Online |
In my opinion, this is a must-have for anyone studying for the GMAT. I used a combination of tools but I credit Magoosh with much of my progress because of the detailed, easy-to-follow explanations and the ease of use. There are a lot of services that offer practice questions but Magoosh helped me clearly understand what I was doing wrong and taught me strategies for how to work faster and smarter. Also, the ability to customize practice sessions by category and difficulty level was incredibly helpful when I needed to zero in on problem areas. It's really easy to log-in even for a quick 15 minutes when you have it - every minute counts.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Magoosh Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
One of the best courses
January 27 | 2012

1 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: November 7, 2010 | 188 | 13 | non-native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Magoosh Premium | Location:   Online |
I choose this course because I love studying via videos. Almost all the important lessons on Verbal and Math are covered in quick videos. It makes easy to learn while watching videos.

Apart from 150 videos on lessons there are more than 700 questions on Math and Verbal section making this course worth money and time.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Magoosh Premium
February 02 | 2012

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By hitgmathard joined: February 1, 2012 | 27 | 4 | non-native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Magoosh Premium | Location:   Online |
Magoosh Premium course is good if you are at 600 level and want to push your score above 700. It comes handy when you have to practice in the restricted time.

One can't expect so many videos at one place for studying and after watching those videos I could understand many concepts those were once alien to me. I can't expect more than that at such a take away price!

Math videos are really good and if your weakest area is math then go for it, it will help you greatly.

One thing I liked about the Magoosh is that customer care center is really helping and answers you very promptly.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Magoosh Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community


Magoosh Course Rankings
Overall Score Improvement
77 points
International Student Score Improvement
88 points
Verbal
80%
Quant
100%
Save $325
on Magoosh Courses
+$300 discount
+$25 bonus
Get Magoosh Promo Code