Magoosh GMAT Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [77]      Average Rating:       (4.7/5)
Courses
Find by:  
    
    
 
Magoosh Promo Code
Magoosh provides online test preparation with hundreds of video lessons and practice questions that cover every topic tested on the GMAT.  You can study anytime, anywhere on your laptop, smartphone, or iPad. Learn by watching short video tutorials that are tailored to you based on your performance.

Special deal for GMAT Club members is available...

  Reviews
Sort by:   date of publication  most helpful
Magoosh Review
August 03 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By JV All Star joined: July 23, 2014 | 1 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 80 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Magoosh Premium | Location:   Online |
I've also done knewton, Grockit and Princeton Review, and I feel that Grokit it is extremely fun, but the videos by Magoosh are the most helpful.

I thought t was one of the better online practice tools. They were running a good price promotion at the time and I bought the GMAT Premium package, though I really only used the math.

I found Magoosh math practice to be good because you can select those kind of problems you need more work on, or set the difficulty level, or just set it to randomize. Also, the timing feature is good. It keeps track of your overall time, time per problem, and the average time taken by all students for the same problems. So you can benchmark yourself. Finally, I found the Magoosh hard problems to be slightly harder than the real thing. So the test was a breeze.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Good Value, Quality Material, Great CS
July 31 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By m3equals333 joined: December 20, 2013 | 129 | 16 | native speaker
Improvement: 10 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Magoosh Premium | Location:   Online |
After taking the GMAT and signing up for another test in a month, I was looking for new material/CATs that was representative and challenging. Having read Mike McGarry's verbal blog and forum posts, I decided to try out the Magoosh premium package. The material is solid and the quant explanations all have both a print and video version.

In terms of volume, overall there is a lot, maybe can use a bit more of the Very Hard level questions...these were extremely challenging, but excellent practice.

I only used a few lessons, mainly IR, but was impressed and satisfied with the content and execution. Also, my questions were always responded to in a timely manner and very detailed/helpful.

Ended up scoring 720 q49 v40


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Magoosh Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Good value for practice in an online format
June 16 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: November 15, 2010 | 3 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Magoosh Premium | Location:   Online |
Hello

I have joined the Magoosh GMAT premium course quite a long time back 2010 and just wanted to drop in a note about what I liked and did not like about the course.

Pros:
Very engaging videos especially the Quant practice questions
Explanations are very lucid and easy to understand
the structure and layout of the lessons in the dashboard is very handy and helpful to track about the progress status
around 500 quant question and around 383 Verbal questions

Cons:
The verbal lessons are not at a GMAT level.
The quant lessons could have been better. I felt that we need to include the MGMAT books along with Magoosh course to learn the complete GMAT tested content


Overall I would recommend Magoosh course as the video lessons and especially the practice questions explanations are very engaging especially after a long hard day at work when reading from books is a chore.

I would like to state here that I have appeared for the official GMAT and have scored 690 ( QA:49 VA: 36). Maybe I could have done better in Verbal but sadly this is what I got :(
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Great Math Tricks
June 04 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: July 14, 2013 | 24 | 9 | non-native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Magoosh Premium | Location:   Online |
I signed up for Magoosh Course because of several reasons. I have taken GMATs before and had scored in 650-680 range. I knew that if I improve my Quant score by some margin, it would push me over the 700 limit and Magoosh offers a 50 point guarantee or your money back. I liked this fact and so I signed up for it.

I have gone through half the course work, and must say that the Math is solid. They teach you some neat tricks, especially if you are not good at math. I feel like most companies focus a lot on material but magoosh focuses on fundamentals and how to apply them to solve a problem is 2 minute. Their approach is pragmatic. I like it. The Verbal is weak in Magoosh, I feel like the answer explanations are sometimes not as detailed as Math.

Overall, take the course for Math. Its cheap and has money back guarantee. Verbal content is just above average but nothing great. The customer service is very prompt. Will post back once I re-take my gmats.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Magoosh Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Concise Math Review
April 26 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By ankitas87 joined: March 18, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 60 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Magoosh Premium | Location:   Online |
I've began studying for the GMAT not too long ago and I come from a zero math background. I began with the Manhattan materials, along with Veritas, and I found that I was in vast sea of information ... wondering around aimlessly. Magoosh helped me narrow down on the topics I absolutely needed to master to Ace the GMAT. The easy to understand lesson videos and the quick after every section provided me with a structure to my learning process.
However, I did think much of the math topics were overly simplified. I felt that topics such as Inequalities, absolute values, word problems lacked focus.
Hence, if I would not recommend Magoosh to be a student's one and only source to learn the basics from and jump into the OG questions. I would highly recommed for Magoosh to provide additional videos for people who lack a Mathematical background on certain topics.
Was this review helpful to you?
   
[1]
Insightful experience with Magoosh
April 21 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By nirajshirali joined: October 3, 2013 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Magoosh Premium | Location:   Online |
Hi,
Magoosh has help me tremendously in preparing for the GMAT, prior signing up with Magoosh, I tried preparing myself and with the help of a local tutor, but my scores in the real GMAT was a disaster. After having signed up with Magoosh, and having gone through a pool of videos, a lot of doubts have been cleared ever since. Many practise questions to prepare from. I am confident to get a decent score this time when I attempt for the 2nd test.
I would strongly recommend everyone to try and see for yourself with the premium account.
Best of Luck
Sincerely,
Niraj
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Magoosh Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Highly recommended!
April 13 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By tarsai joined: September 9, 2013 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Magoosh Premium | Location:   Online |
The feature that sets Magoosh apart from its competitors is the availability of video lessons. These lessons are short, informative and have a section to take down notes. Even though I had gone through Kaplan verbal foundations, I still found the video lessons immensely useful. After taking a test or answering questions, I found myself coming back to these lessons. Also, I would rather watch videos than read a book after a long day's work.
I found the practice questions very useful too. Also, Magoosh has a score predictor, which predicts your score based on your answering pattern. My final score fell within the prediction interval.
Finally, Magoosh has a youtube channel which has answers to OG questions. I found this very helpful too.

Their website is very nicely done too. Very intuitive UI and very responsive.

Overall, I had a very positive experience with Magoosh and I highly recommend it.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
From 420 to 600 in two months. Magoosh
March 14 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: December 13, 2013 | 11 | 8 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 180 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Magoosh Premium | Location:   Online |
I am here to rate magoosh, because I think this course really deserve a great raking. I’m not an English native speaker, and I don’t have a traditional math career, actually I am graphic designer. Besides from some geometry and statistics, which I do with excel I haven’t use general math in 15 years, so you can imagine how bad it was.

420 17Q-28V 15/12/2013 Official software (No study at all)
03/01/2014 Started studying with Magoosh and OG
490 29Q-28V 29/01 Official software
490 26Q-32V 09/02 Magoosh
580 42Q-31V 09/02 Kaplan
580 32Q-38V 12/02 Magoosh
630 39Q-37V 14/02 Manhattan
570 31Q-37V 24/02 OG software
650 47Q-34V 05/03 Princetown
600 37Q-35V 08/03 Real GMAT

First, I would like to talk about the variety of resources: videos for every OG question, blog, schedules, etc. And they keep growing, every week I received an email with something new. One time there were flashcards and the last time was a nice surprise: They sent me 100 free video lessons for the TOEFL, because I wrote in my profile that I am going to take it.

Second, the great customer service, each time I had a question, I got a response in one day with the perfect explanation or the link to the video answer.

Third, the clear schedule which helps you stays focus. I did the schedule for “one month study program”. It was a lot of work with the Magoosh website and the OG 13th. The second moth, after I finish the program and did all the PS and SC I had in Magoosh and the OG 13 (my weak points), I did all the SC in the OG verbal review, the free trial Economics Tutor and went through half the Manhattan Word Problems book.

At the end I landed 600, I got greedy in math... things got harder and longer and didn't have a lot of time at the end. Right now, I'm taking some days off while I study for the TOEFL and decide if I'm retaking it or not (I don't need a 700's score). And if I do retake it, I need to think how to gain those 50 points I want. I think I have the potential and the tools to improve but I only have until april 30th, so we’ll see. I started looking at some videos at the Magoosh website and I see them with new eyes.

Finally, I just want to say thanks to Magoosh for making this quality Prep at an affordable price. I can picture myself all alone, trying to understand the quant explanations in the OG while looking up the concepts in Wikipedia, and it’s a sad picture.

Good luck and remember we need to practice a lot but the most important part is the quality. Magoosh have a video explanation not only for the OG problems, but also for every exercise in its website. I saw every single explanation video in Magoosh even if I did the problem right, that's how I learned so fast.

Conclusion: I will encourage everyone, to at least take the free trial, and see if it fits them.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Magoosh Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Very helpful!
March 09 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By tchandok joined: February 11, 2014 | 1 | 5 | native speaker
Improvement: 50 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Magoosh Premium | Location:   Online |
I've been using Magoosh for about 3 weeks now. I enjoy learning by watching videos, as opposed to just reading. The video lessons are great. I've been on the 1 month study schedule and it has been a very rigorous, all encompassing experience. I've already recommended this product to my friends who are taking the GMAT and the GRE. I will be taking the GMAT in 1 week. I feel quite confident since I have had the opportunity to thoroughly review every section of the Quant and Verbal section through the online videos provided. It is easy to take notes while watching the videos, and this helps me go over topics that I find challenging. Great stuff!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
The best!
February 27 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By vaibhavi2904 joined: December 27, 2013 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 70 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Magoosh Premium | Location:   Online |
Magoosh has amazing video lessons that help brush up on the things we learnt in high school. Even the explanation of the questions are in videos.. unlike that of other courses. Magoosh really spoiled me in that sense!

The app was also wonderful! I would see the videos while on the move too!

Helpful, friendly, interactive.. these are just a few of the adjectives to describe those who work at Magoosh! Their prompt replies to my queries made me feel like it was personal tutoring.

I strongly recommend Magoosh to anyone who plans on taking the GMAT. They are coming up with new features like the flash cards and also TOEFL!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Magoosh Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community


Magoosh Course Rankings
Overall Score Improvement
79 points
International Student Score Improvement
95 points
Verbal
80%
Quant
100%
Save $325
on Magoosh Courses
+$300 discount
+$25 bonus
Get Magoosh Promo Code