Magoosh GMAT Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [146]      Average Rating:       (4.6/5)
Courses
Find by:  
    
    
 
Magoosh Promo Code
Magoosh provides online test preparation with hundreds of video lessons and practice questions that cover every topic tested on the GMAT.  You can study anytime, anywhere on your laptop, smartphone, or iPad. Learn by watching short video tutorials that are tailored to you based on your performance.

Special deal for GMAT Club members is available...

  Reviews
Sort by:   date of publication  most helpful
Good value prep, but not the best around
March 31 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By alexau joined: November 12, 2014 | 76 | 39 | native speaker
Improvement: 50 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Magoosh Premium | Location:   Online |
Overall the course was good for the amount paid. $99 is not a ton to spend on test prep and if you are looking to prep for the GMAT on a budget I would definitely recommend Magoosh.

The video explanations to every question were a nice feature that I had not seen from other test prep companies.

The Verbal questions from Magoosh can be very difficult (more difficult than the actual exam). Some of the RC passages were way too long but overall I think it prepped me a decent amount.

Quant questions were about average. Probably at the level of difficulty one could expect to see on the actual exam.

IR had a horrible format, would avoid these on Magoosh and use GMATPrep for IR stuff.

The score predictor and adaptive setting on Magoosh is way off. This is probably the area where most improvement is needed. The one practice test is just a combination of questions from their question bank and I felt that the adaptive algorithm wasn't very accurate. Score predictor gave me a predicted score well below all of my other practice exams and actual score.

Overall, good product for $99. There are better prep companies out there, but be prepared to spend way more money.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Great Quant, good verbal
March 25 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By Although joined: July 2, 2014 | 1 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 40 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Magoosh Premium | Location:   Online |
For the quant section, Magoosh is great. It has a huge question bank with video explanations for each question, tons of video lessons, and great customer service. The course is cheaper than most other courses and really helps you improve.

The verbal section is not bad but by itself not enough in my opinion. It should be combined with other services such as Powerscore's CR bible and MGMAT SC Correction. I got a 40 points score improvement after studying for 1 month.

My biggest problem was time management and I ran out on time in both sections forced to guess the last 5 or 6 questions. Thus, I believe that I'm able to get a higher score than I received on my most recent test.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Magoosh Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Great Program! Amazing Price!
March 24 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By mba2018 joined: October 21, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 50 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Magoosh Premium | Location:   Online |
I loved Magoosh due to the on demand lessons. I was able to watch them on my computer and on my phone. It made studying a lot better. Each lesson had some practice problems in it where you pause the video and work out the problem then resume. These were very helpful.

In addition to the lesson app, there is a math flashcards app and an idiom flashcards app.

Each lesson page has the transcript available so you read it as well. This was helpful when I wanted to review and read fast instead of having to listen. You can click on text and it takes you right to the prior sentence on the video.

Each practice questions comes with a video and text explanation and reference to lessons.

The only negative I feel is that there were only about 50 very very hard questions on the quant. I wish they would have had more, but you can get these elsewhere as well. I used the OG and other GMAT club resources.

I wanted a 50 point improvement and I got it! I am very happy.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Quant & SC Good, Verbal Not so Good
March 19 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By HamzaSyed joined: February 8, 2015 | 3 | 2 | non-native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Magoosh Premium | Location:   Online |
Quant:

Great. Explanations come in two forms: video, text. FOR ALL questions. So you can learn while feeling relaxed and not putting strain on eye (reading). Explanations are good and corresponding video lessons are attached!!!

SC:

Good. Points out and explains every split and thing and again, corresponding videos are attached with EVERY QUESTION...JUST LIKE IT IS IN QUANT!!!

RC:

I found the passages to be way too long, convoluted, rich with weird words and dates. Couldn't learn much.

CR:

Could not learn much here. Very boring and frustrating. Explanations are not well enough. Wrong answer types are not explained.

(CR and RC also have very limited video lessons as compared to SC and Quant. My rough guess is that they together account for arround 10% of total video lessons. This is also because of nature of these two sections.)

Practice Review: Very well detailed and customizable. You can look into and compare results based on question type, topic/subject, average timing taken to solve the questions, when the question was taken, flagged, etc. Very good.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Magoosh Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Very good teaching
March 18 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: March 18, 2015 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Magoosh Premium | Location:   Online |
Hi All,
I recently purchased magoosh after a lot of online research about which course is the best. I check a lot of them like Kaplan, veritas, gmat pill etc. Magoosh is the best one that i have seen till date.
The best part is, after each question there is a video about the solution.In the solution video the instructor solves it in real time in front of us, this not only helps us to find the solution but also helps us on how to approach the problem in a super fast manner.

One More thing that they have are the filters after every test that you take. Lot of filters. You can find flagged questions, incorrect questions, questions in which you took more time and a lot of other stuff.

All of this only @ $99. This is the cheapest by far.

Great Work from Magoosh
Thanks
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Much better than expected.
March 18 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By Milind joined: November 8, 2009 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 10 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Magoosh Premium | Location:   Online |
Positives -
1. Video explanations for each and every concept really helps to understand the concept in detail.
2. Great content - besides the subject related videos, the strategy videos in relevant sections are literally the game changer.
3. Practice questions - powered by some great practice questions.
4. Dashboard provides great insight of your preparation.
5. Another great feature is the timer for each question, that compares your average time with the general average. So you get to know, how much one needs to improve.
Not so positive -
1. Probably, there could be more than one full length practice.
By 5-6 practice tests the entire package will become at par (if not better) than the best in the business.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Magoosh Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Cheap is good
March 18 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By clapo93 joined: February 8, 2015 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 100 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Magoosh Premium | Location:   Online |
I've heard about magoosh on this forum and at the beginning I was a bit diffident because of the so little price, but I have only two month to prepare and it seems to me the quickest online course.
Now that I've tried magoosh and I've done the GMAT I have to say that it has been a very powerful tool in my preparation.
The best part is the quantitative one very detailed and well explained with a clear voice.
Also verbal part is good but maybe designed for native speaker.
The only negative thing to underline are the CATs that in my opinion are not very similar to the official ones.
Thus I really suggest this course to people who have little time and don't want to spend much money.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
good course @ decent price
March 14 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By joshi04 joined: June 2, 2014 | 7 | 1 | non-native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Magoosh Premium | Location:   Online |
Magoosh provided a very structured and comprehensive study plan. The video explanations are one of the best in the market.
The best part is that one can select the questions as per the difficulty level and subject. The questions can be done in set of 25, 30, 41 question etc.. This not only helps in building the stamina but also in handling the timing issues.
The support from magoosh instructors are extensive. One can expect the replies, feedbacks or suggestions in a day or two.
Though, I could not get the expected score, I would definitely recommend the Magoosh premium course for the planned and comprehensive preparation for GMAT.

One more thing to add, since I bought magoosh only for verbal, but unfortunately the score dropped. i got the full amount refunded, even though I did not watch all quant videos.

And yes, I am going to retake the test and that too with Magoosh.

All the best for preparations...
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Magoosh Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Great test prep, very affordable - try this first before paying big money for prep
March 14 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By adraybuck joined: December 30, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 90 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Magoosh Premium | Location:   Online |
Start with Magoosh first, before you spend big money on test prep.
I regret shelling out $1,200 last year, as I found Magoosh to be a superior test prep company, with much more affordable pricing (I got the sale price of $99, full price is still great at $299).

I really like Magoosh's approach - the focus is building a rock solid foundation of Math and English skills, and THEN learning how to apply these skills to GMAT strategy. I have tested highly with Verbal from the start, but Quant was a real struggle for me before Magoosh.

There are several unique components of Magoosh test prep that blew my previous $1,200 test prep out of the water: video explanation of EVERY Quant and Verbal question in their database; Quant and Verbal flashcard apps (to break up the monotony of studying); blog posts (again, helps break up monotony of studying and provides further insight into specific question topics).

Highly recommend. I started on the lower end (450), and I have tested at 540 after 1.5 months of study. I intend to continue studying with Magoosh, with a goal of 650-700 by the end of this summer.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Great Learning tool. Great Quant shortcuts & tricks. Light on Verbal.
March 09 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: May 7, 2012 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Magoosh Premium | Location:   Online |
I started preparing for the Gmat a few months back. Time is a big constraint for me. With a full-time job and with a kid at home finding time to study was/is tough. I found that the best way for me to study was studying/reviewing in short bursts of time.

Magoosh was recommended to me by my colleague who recently gave his exam and was really happy with his 7XX score.
I started with the trial version and then was really impressed with the way the material is presented and allows you to gain somethings in a short duration. I could get some videos done at work and then some during lunch time at work.

I am really impressed with their Quant material. The way it is presented and some of the tricks they have really help on saving time. 5 + stars for Quant.

For the Verbal , I would say their material is a bit light. It does a good overview of all the grammar basics and some other stuff but for SC and CR I would still recommend reading the MGMAT books.

Overall Magoosh is totally worth it. It has so many practice questions. You can configure your practice in number of ways. Do only hard ones , hard ones from a topic that you find tough etc etc.
The course is helping me a lot in preparing and getting me ready for the exam. Without it and all the time constraints , I think I would be lost.
Now time to schedule the exam and nail that beast :)
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Magoosh Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community


Magoosh Course Rankings
Overall Score Improvement
71 points
International Student Score Improvement
78 points
Verbal
80%
Quant
100%
Save $325
on Magoosh Courses
+$300 discount
+$25 bonus
Get Magoosh Promo Code