Magoosh GMAT Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [108]      Average Rating:       (4.7/5)
Courses
Find by:  
    
    
 
Magoosh Promo Code
Magoosh provides online test preparation with hundreds of video lessons and practice questions that cover every topic tested on the GMAT.  You can study anytime, anywhere on your laptop, smartphone, or iPad. Learn by watching short video tutorials that are tailored to you based on your performance.

Special deal for GMAT Club members is available...

  Reviews
Sort by:   date of publication  most helpful
Great for supplementing your prep
December 21 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By ae71386ae joined: September 11, 2012 | 16 | 9 | native speaker
Improvement: 50 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Magoosh Premium | Location:   Online |
Magoosh is a great way to review GMAT material on-the-go or under-the-radar while at work. The platform lends itself well to putting 10 minutes aside and doing 5 questions in the middle of the workday. I can't think of any other platforms where one is able to do this so it's a no-brainer to sign up. It's also very inexpensive compared to other products. The instructional videos that they offer are also quite helpful though I wouldn't depend on them exclusively. Magoosh is best used as a supplement to Manhattan GMAT (the most thorough prep available in my opinion).

My only complaint about Magoosh is that their higher level quant is not very difficult. They could used more questions in the 720+ range. Otherwise I highly recommend signing up for Magoosh.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Great & Affordable Product
December 21 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: May 4, 2014 | 0 | 5 | native speaker
Improvement: 50 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Magoosh Premium | Location:   Online |
The Magoosh GMAT study program has been an amazing resource in preparing for the GMAT's. I have already increased my practice score by 50 points and hope to raise it another 30-50 before my exam. The video based learning system is brilliant as it really allows visually based learners to excel. I would wholeheartedly recommend Magoosh to anyone studying for any standardized tests. Magoosh tutors also provide answers to any questions that may nor be clear as you prepare. The 3-Month study guide has also been invaluable in setting up a schedule that is manageable. Before Magoosh, I was enrolled in Manhattan GMAT. I must say that their program is much more expensive and not as engaging as Magoosh's. Manhattan GMAT offers a very traditional base of learning where as I feel that the Magoosh process really provides a fun/ interactive & memorable learning experience. You will have to put in time and practice, but this program has changed my approach to and understanding of the GMAT drastically!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Magoosh Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
gmat review
December 20 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: October 22, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Magoosh Premium | Location:   Online |
overall magoosh is very helpful, as there are tons of online resources, and tips.
havent dont the gmat yet, however planning for 2015.

I shopped around before selecting my GMAT course and I am glad I finally selected magoosh. If you are disciplined, fairly smart and capable of putting into practice what these guys teach you then you will get a great score. Attending the course doesn't circumvent any of the hard work you must put in (in your own time) but it does mean the work you do will the efficient. The online resources they provide are great, but attending the course in tandem really helps the key concepts anchor in you mind.


thanks magoosh
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Solid Questions + Good Text + Good Video Solutions = 5*'s
December 19 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By GMATHEW joined: June 23, 2014 | 6 | 5 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Magoosh Premium | Location:   Online |
I still have a good amount of questions to take, but of the 10% I've done (I would guess) so far has been great for all 5 types of Q's.

I find myself rarely, or now that I think of it never (again so far) seeing Cr or RC questions for example and, even after getting the answer not quite agree with the reasoning (or find it's almost 'subjective'...).

For Q's I've been wrong on, I find myself saying "aha" after the explanation, instead of "that is nonsense".

Another item that MAGSH's Q-Bank avoids is the "Hey...this would never be on a REAL GMAT or an OG-question.

*Couple suggestions I would say re: what can easily be improved for better customization - First, I feel that the practice customized sets should let one create a set with however many questions they want in however many minutes, vs. only options for 5, 10, 20, 30, 37, 41 Q's in 5, 10, 15, 20, 30, 45, 60, or 75 min

The second, tiny addition I would make if I could would be adding an Easy / Med / Hard filter for practice sets although most Magsh q's are med or hard anyway...).

BOTTOM LINE - GREAT MATERIAL, GREAT QUESTIONS (QUANTITY & QUALITY) & EXPLANATIONS i.e. AMAZING VISUAL AIDS - & IF UNABLE TO ACCESS - GOOD TEXT AIDS AS WELL
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Magoosh Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
One of the best
December 19 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Haghooli joined: October 14, 2014 | 1 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 100 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Magoosh Premium | Location:   Online |
My first GMAT degree was 500. For that exam I studied for more than 4 months. I read OG book more than two times and solved all its problems but I always was feeling that something is missed in that book. Something that tells all the categories I need to know for Quantitative part or all the tricks. One week before my first exam I noticed that all I was looking for I could find in Magoosh but it was too late for me. After the exam the first thing I've done was to invest my money in Magoosh. When I was watching the lessons in Magoosh I had a feeling that I found the key that I was looking for more than 4 months. I have my next exam in 3 weeks. I hope I can use what I learned from Magoosh.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Magoosh has been splendid
December 18 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Silverification joined: June 11, 2011 | 4 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 30 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Magoosh Premium | Location:   Online |
I am writing this review for Magoosh. Have been using it to get myself on track in Verbal. The difficulty rating with the explanations provided is really amazing. Their 'Very Hard' questions need definitely eye for detail and helps you develop that instinct to answer the tough GMAT questions. The timer and customizable practice quizzes helps one develop accuracy with speed. Admist all the work and loss of questions, I definitely look to Magoosh to keep me engaged and on track in Verbal and Quant sections. Nonetheless, having said all the cherry stuff, I do believe that Magoosh can make the Quant section a bit tougher. I have tried other company's questions for Maths and they seemed more tougher and tuned to Gmatprep practices tests. Nevertheless, this is certainly a must have for all GMAT takers.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Magoosh Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Excellent - Please read
December 17 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By amanthapar joined: October 24, 2013 | 8 | 5 | native speaker
Improvement: 40 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Magoosh Premium | Location:   Online |
This is an excellent course for Math - clear, easy to understand videos that will help anyone in the 500 or 600 level.

Verbal has a great section of videos as well.

Their strong point is Quant and the question bank is one of the best I have seen. For $99 this is a great value for money. Do yourself a favor - don't spend $1000 on gmat courses. This is actually a great companion to the MGMAT books. See their study plans. You can get a good gmat score (700+) if you study hard.

The question bank for verbal is okay - use it to master fundamental s then move on to official questions.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Great Course, Loved the Videos
December 17 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By nate9213 joined: January 8, 2014 | 0 | 5 | native speaker
Improvement: 50 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Magoosh Premium | Location:   Online |
I don't think you can beat this course, especially for the price! My package came with both the Verbal and Quant.

My top 2 favorite things are:

1) Video lessons: I was able to speed up, skip, and replay lessons. The videos were quick and to the point (MGMAT videos are extremely long and winded) and greatly helped in my preparation.

2) Question bank: I love that Magoosh has their own set of questions (all web based) and that the questions provide instant feedback. Each question has a video answer, which are amazing!

I personally used Magoosh as my main form of study and used MGMAT as a supplement. I had ~30 days to study and Magoosh was great for that timeframe.

I would highly recommend Magoosh to anyone, especially for those who are just starting out and even more so for those who do not do well just learning by reading a book. It is probably not best for those looking to score a 720+.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Magoosh Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Very helpful for my test preparation
December 17 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By salieri joined: April 12, 2014 | 8 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Magoosh Premium | Location:   Online |
Magoosh was very helpful for my GMAT preparation. I have yet to give the official test but I have already experienced a significant score increase. Starting out with a 450 before my preparation, I achieved a 110 score increase so far and I am not planning on stopping yet. I have been following the 3-month schedule for beginners and I can particularly recommend the daily consumption of the lesson videos that give you an in-depth view on the theory necessary for the different quant and verbal sections.
Magoosh also comes with countless practice exercises with answer explanations for every single exercise.
I found the quant difficulty level to be comparable to the quant section of the GMATPrep test. The Sentence Correction exercises however seemed a little easier.
Keeping this in mind, Magoosh is an invaluable method for boosting your GMAT score for an unbeatable price.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
GMAT Verbal Improvement
December 17 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By govind440 joined: August 9, 2009 | 15 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 20 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Magoosh Premium | Location:   Online |
The video lessons are helpful specially for sentence correction. examples are similar to GMAT ones so exposure is always useful. I improved my timing whenever i compared with others.
I can create my own notes for the video so i can go back any time i want. Magoosh also has an app so it helped too.

Magoosh is playing an important role in my GMAT preparation, so I would recommend this course. I did not use quant app much yet since i am good at quant, however i heard that quant is also useful. For non native speakers, it is really useful and it is not that expensive also.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Magoosh Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community


Magoosh Course Rankings
Overall Score Improvement
75 points
International Student Score Improvement
88 points
Verbal
80%
Quant
100%
Save $325
on Magoosh Courses
+$300 discount
+$25 bonus
Get Magoosh Promo Code