Magoosh GMAT Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [81]      Average Rating:       (4.7/5)
Courses
Find by:  
    
    
 
Magoosh Promo Code
Magoosh provides online test preparation with hundreds of video lessons and practice questions that cover every topic tested on the GMAT.  You can study anytime, anywhere on your laptop, smartphone, or iPad. Learn by watching short video tutorials that are tailored to you based on your performance.

Special deal for GMAT Club members is available...

  Reviews
Sort by:   date of publication  most helpful
Great Course, Amazing Price!
September 25 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By asr913 joined: August 31, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Magoosh Premium | Location:   Online |
Magoosh provides an extensive amount of content at an amazing price. I needed a lot of review and was not sure where to start. Luckily, Magoosh covers all topics that you need to prepare for the GMAT in a very accessible manner. The detailed video explanations of all of their practice questions certainly helped as well.

Magoosh's math preparation is its strongest asset. I hadn't taken a math course in over 10 years, and Magoosh offered everything I needed to know. Their math questions are typically harder than those on the GMAT itself, which is both good and bad. Good as it allows you to understand the difficult concepts needed to get a top score, and bad as it can be a little discouraging and difficult to pinpoint your weaknesses.

Magoosh's verbal review is quite strong as well. Though not as comprehensive as the math, which seems to be the case with most GMAT prep courses, it provides you with enough content to prepare well for the test.

Overall, I was highly satisfied with Magoosh: it offers an impressive amount of content for the price.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Magoosh Premium Review
September 25 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: July 29, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 50 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Magoosh Premium | Location:   Online |
Very good course if you can carve out the time to watch all the videos and make notes for each one. It really helps to boost your fundamental skills and basic knowledge for the GMAT but might be lacking for those looking to push into the 700s. I started my GMAT study with an initial score of 630 (GMAC) and got an actual score of 680 on the GMAT. My quantitative scores were relatively unchanged throughout all my practice tests but my verbal scores improved considerably by using Magoosh PREP. It is important to note that I studied for the GMAT for only about a month's time but I did not have any other commitments either.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Magoosh Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Magoosh GMAT Prep (Premium Subscription)
September 10 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By danayerace joined: July 22, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Magoosh Premium | Location:   Online |
I tried the free trial of Magoosh when I joined the GMAT Club in preparation of my upcoming GMAT exam. I found the videos extremely helpful, short and sweet, each one about 10 minutes in length. The lessons are laid out very logically and the flow is easy to follow. Quizzes are at the ends of the groups of lessons and are a great way to gauge how much information you are absorbing. I particularly like the ability to take notes in each of the lessons, practice lots of varied questions, complete flash cards (great app for your phone is available), and log onto Magoosh from anywhere and it is all saved. I'd recommend using this software to help review major topics, practice questions and get 2 more practice exams.

You can even use this link to sign up yourself and I'll get a referral bonus!
--> http://gmat.magoosh.com/invite/U7SHSD

Hope this was helpful :)
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Magoosh review
August 24 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: November 10, 2013 | 5 | 1 | non-native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Magoosh Premium | Location:   Online |
I had already used Magoosh for my GRE Prep and was very satisfied with the product scope so I decided to use it for my GMAT Prep again.

I come from Germany and I am confident about my quant skills so the Verbal section was of special importance to me.

The video lectures were extremely helpful and supported me in adjusting my feeling for English grammar to the GMAT standards. I improved a lot and scored frequently high on the mock exams.

Unfortunately, I was not able to convey these to the full extent to the real exam and scored 39. Still I am satisfied with the score which I achieved with the great Magoosh lessons.

Thank you guys!


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Magoosh Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Magoosh Review
August 03 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By JV All Star joined: July 23, 2014 | 1 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 80 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Magoosh Premium | Location:   Online |
I've also done knewton, Grockit and Princeton Review, and I feel that Grokit it is extremely fun, but the videos by Magoosh are the most helpful.

I thought t was one of the better online practice tools. They were running a good price promotion at the time and I bought the GMAT Premium package, though I really only used the math.

I found Magoosh math practice to be good because you can select those kind of problems you need more work on, or set the difficulty level, or just set it to randomize. Also, the timing feature is good. It keeps track of your overall time, time per problem, and the average time taken by all students for the same problems. So you can benchmark yourself. Finally, I found the Magoosh hard problems to be slightly harder than the real thing. So the test was a breeze.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Good Value, Quality Material, Great CS
July 31 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By m3equals333 joined: December 20, 2013 | 149 | 19 | native speaker
Improvement: 10 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Magoosh Premium | Location:   Online |
After taking the GMAT and signing up for another test in a month, I was looking for new material/CATs that was representative and challenging. Having read Mike McGarry's verbal blog and forum posts, I decided to try out the Magoosh premium package. The material is solid and the quant explanations all have both a print and video version.

In terms of volume, overall there is a lot, maybe can use a bit more of the Very Hard level questions...these were extremely challenging, but excellent practice.

I only used a few lessons, mainly IR, but was impressed and satisfied with the content and execution. Also, my questions were always responded to in a timely manner and very detailed/helpful.

Ended up scoring 720 q49 v40


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Magoosh Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Good value for practice in an online format
June 16 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: November 15, 2010 | 3 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Magoosh Premium | Location:   Online |
Hello

I have joined the Magoosh GMAT premium course quite a long time back 2010 and just wanted to drop in a note about what I liked and did not like about the course.

Pros:
Very engaging videos especially the Quant practice questions
Explanations are very lucid and easy to understand
the structure and layout of the lessons in the dashboard is very handy and helpful to track about the progress status
around 500 quant question and around 383 Verbal questions

Cons:
The verbal lessons are not at a GMAT level.
The quant lessons could have been better. I felt that we need to include the MGMAT books along with Magoosh course to learn the complete GMAT tested content


Overall I would recommend Magoosh course as the video lessons and especially the practice questions explanations are very engaging especially after a long hard day at work when reading from books is a chore.

I would like to state here that I have appeared for the official GMAT and have scored 690 ( QA:49 VA: 36). Maybe I could have done better in Verbal but sadly this is what I got :(
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Great Math Tricks
June 04 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: July 14, 2013 | 24 | 10 | non-native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Magoosh Premium | Location:   Online |
I signed up for Magoosh Course because of several reasons. I have taken GMATs before and had scored in 650-680 range. I knew that if I improve my Quant score by some margin, it would push me over the 700 limit and Magoosh offers a 50 point guarantee or your money back. I liked this fact and so I signed up for it.

I have gone through half the course work, and must say that the Math is solid. They teach you some neat tricks, especially if you are not good at math. I feel like most companies focus a lot on material but magoosh focuses on fundamentals and how to apply them to solve a problem is 2 minute. Their approach is pragmatic. I like it. The Verbal is weak in Magoosh, I feel like the answer explanations are sometimes not as detailed as Math.

Overall, take the course for Math. Its cheap and has money back guarantee. Verbal content is just above average but nothing great. The customer service is very prompt. Will post back once I re-take my gmats.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Magoosh Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Concise Math Review
April 26 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By ankitas87 joined: March 18, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 60 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Magoosh Premium | Location:   Online |
I've began studying for the GMAT not too long ago and I come from a zero math background. I began with the Manhattan materials, along with Veritas, and I found that I was in vast sea of information ... wondering around aimlessly. Magoosh helped me narrow down on the topics I absolutely needed to master to Ace the GMAT. The easy to understand lesson videos and the quick after every section provided me with a structure to my learning process.
However, I did think much of the math topics were overly simplified. I felt that topics such as Inequalities, absolute values, word problems lacked focus.
Hence, if I would not recommend Magoosh to be a student's one and only source to learn the basics from and jump into the OG questions. I would highly recommed for Magoosh to provide additional videos for people who lack a Mathematical background on certain topics.
Was this review helpful to you?
   
[1]
Insightful experience with Magoosh
April 21 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By nirajshirali joined: October 3, 2013 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Magoosh Premium | Location:   Online |
Hi,
Magoosh has help me tremendously in preparing for the GMAT, prior signing up with Magoosh, I tried preparing myself and with the help of a local tutor, but my scores in the real GMAT was a disaster. After having signed up with Magoosh, and having gone through a pool of videos, a lot of doubts have been cleared ever since. Many practise questions to prepare from. I am confident to get a decent score this time when I attempt for the 2nd test.
I would strongly recommend everyone to try and see for yourself with the premium account.
Best of Luck
Sincerely,
Niraj
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Magoosh Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community


Magoosh Course Rankings
Overall Score Improvement
79 points
International Student Score Improvement
95 points
Verbal
80%
Quant
100%
Save $325
on Magoosh Courses
+$300 discount
+$25 bonus
Get Magoosh Promo Code