Magoosh GMAT Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [86]      Average Rating:       (4.7/5)
Courses
Find by:  
    
    
 
Magoosh Promo Code
Magoosh provides online test preparation with hundreds of video lessons and practice questions that cover every topic tested on the GMAT.  You can study anytime, anywhere on your laptop, smartphone, or iPad. Learn by watching short video tutorials that are tailored to you based on your performance.

Special deal for GMAT Club members is available...

  Reviews
Sort by:   date of publication  most helpful
From 580 to 680 - thanks to Magoosh
February 03 | 2012

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By shurti4you joined: February 2, 2012 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 100 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Magoosh Premium | Location:   Online |
I was devastated when I gave first time gmat and scored poorly i.e. 580 and I was on the verge of leaving my dream of MBA behind. But one day, I say this course and I thought of giving it a try. It was very much affordable at that time! SO I signed up for it. I practiced almost for 4 months on this course and I got my scored improved from 580 to 680.

I would say it's quant part is very much tough. You will get many 700+ question but it doesn't mean that it don't have low level questions. It is perfectly designed for the people who love learning from the videos.

Verbal part is also good but my verbal was already at the normal level but it definitely helped me to brush up my basics.

Most of the the service center replied within 2 - 4hours and I loved that help. I would recommend this course to everyone.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Very very impressive!
February 06 | 2012

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By harpreetsingh9020 joined: February 3, 2012 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 150 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Magoosh Premium | Location:   Online |
I am non native speaker and my verbal was very poor. I joined Magoosh keeping in mind that it would improve my score and I was RIGHT.

I improved my score by 150 marks after joining this course. The course is beautifully designed to give you all the ingredient of success. You can ask questions in help section at any time and customer care really cares for the users.

With more than 700 questions you have more than enough questions to practice and recently they have added chapters also to review. I would suggest this course to anyone who lacks quant skills. For verbal section you need more practice than listen to the answers. Go for it if you wanna succeed in GMAT.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Magoosh Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Magoosh Premium
February 09 | 2012

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By hmccullo joined: November 29, 2011 | 0 | 5 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Magoosh Premium | Location:   Online |
Magoosh does a really good job of giving you hundreds of practice questions that you can tailor to your needs (only get hard questions, only get questions on a specific subject,etc) Which is really nice if you already know your weaknesses. It also keeps track of everything for you, so you can filter through and see what percent you are getting correct based on subject or difficulty. I really enjoyed it as a practice tool, but the lessons they had were not as interactive as Kaplan or Knewton online lessons.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Great resource to refine certain weaknesses
February 24 | 2012

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By shawndx joined: October 13, 2011 | 17 | 7 | native speaker
Improvement: 30 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Magoosh Premium | Location:   Online |
Magoosh's video resources are amazing... All topics covered on the GMAT are also covered in the videos and broken down into categories. From Data sufficiency to sentence correction there is a huge database of videos to help! Moreover, Magoosh has a test bank that is one of the best I have seen. Not only does it gauge your performance, it compares you to other people who have also done the same question... It will give information on your time compared to other users as well. What is more, each and every question comes with a text and video explanation! This is a great starting resource for anyone interested in taking the GMAT!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Magoosh Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
GMAT Course Review
February 27 | 2012

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By hasnainlakhani joined: February 22, 2012 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Magoosh Premium | Location:   Online |
Recently, I purchased the Magoosh online Premium course. I cannot spend ample time in reading the books and main intension was to get the videos instead reading all the content from the books. I did lot research in analyzing the courses and I found Magoosh to be very reasonable in all the factors like Price, topics covered and practice questions.

Till now, I found the videos very useful and more or less it covers all the topics which are there in MGMAT books.

I cut down a single rating because I think they still can improve on their practice questions.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Through and very user-friendly
May 02 | 2012

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: March 1, 2012 | 0 | 5 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Magoosh Premium | Location:   Online |
I had an idea of what the GMAT would be like. I remember distinctly taking the GRE (with minimal prep) for my previous masters program and I did NOT want to be that unprepared! I signed up for a GMAT prep course at the local university that included access to Magoosh. It worked out well, because I had used a trial of Magoosh and had already planned to extend my subscription.

The videos were great! They were broken down enough that I didn't feel overwhelmed. I was able to review specific areas without having to go through things I didn't need. The questions were helpful, especially the explanations. I loved the overall layout of the website. It was very user-friendly.

I wish I had utilized it more, but I didn't give myself enough time before I took the GMAT (only 2 months and working full-time); however, Magoosh supplemented my other study materials and course perfectly and further clarified some of the trickier problems. I scored a 680, which I know could have been higher with additional prep, but I'm happy with that and recommend Magoosh to anyone wanting to acheive their goal score.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Magoosh Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Magoosh GMAT Review is the Perfect Choice
June 20 | 2012

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Evans joined: May 25, 2012 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 200 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Magoosh Premium | Location:   Online |
After first attempting the GMAT last year and receiving a score of 530 with especially weak math, I knew that I had to change my study plan. I had been using study guides and question banks but it evidently was not helping. I discovered Magoosh by looking for a GMAT preparatory site that had difficulty rankings for each question so that I could see where my strengths were.

As I had missed my choice school’s MBA application deadline I did not use Magoosh for several months. This was not an issue as Magoosh extended my access for a year at no extra charge.

The Magoosh lessons are extremely informative and provide examples for every situation you may encounter on the GMAT. They also provide tips and tricks to tackle every question that can arise on test day. The questions are of high quality and I found some of them to be harder than anything I faced when I wrote my test. Having a range of easy, medium, and tough questions allows Magoosh to be beneficial to anyone, no matter what their target score is.

Everything on their site is very intuitive, and you can make custom study plans from any mix of question types (data sufficiency, critical reasoning, etc). You can also limit the questions being given to you to either a random selection, adaptive questions, questions you previously got incorrect, or questions you flagged the last time you saw them. The site also allows users to set time limits, question limits, and the ability to see detailed solutions at the end of every question or at the end of a study period.

To prepare I studied the lessons and went through all of the quantitative questions. I flagged any questions I could not answer easily, and kept reviewing them until I could answer them all with relative ease. This helped develop my skills and improved my confidence and time management.

I cannot recommend Magoosh highly enough. I previously studied using well-known guides and failed, but with the resources provided by Magoosh and hard work I have been able to achieve my final score of 730.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Good value, but didn't work great for me
August 21 | 2012

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By chains1910 joined: May 28, 2012 | 130 | 45 | native speaker
Improvement: 30 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Magoosh Premium | Location:   Online |
Admittedly, I went into the GMAT prep process a little cocky. As a former SAT/ACT tutor who coasted to great scores on pre-college tests, I didn't feel I needed comprehensive prep, especially considering that I am strong in verbal (which held true on the real test). So I went with Magoosh due to the price and my enjoyment of the videos in the demo.

Turns out I did need comprehensive math prep, and I honestly didn’t get it from Magoosh. (Honest disclosure: I bought the premium program, but I mainly used the math so this review reflects that usage.)

There are some excellent aspects of the program. The practice questions are good and the answer screen that reviews each is phenomenal. There is a video breakdown, text breakdown and links to instructional videos relevant to that problem. It also is easy to create custom practice sections and target broad question categories.

My only issue with the practice questions is that I ran out of difficult questions fairly quickly, so as the test approached I had to look elsewhere (I used GMAT Club questions which came free with this).

The instructional videos, however, were a bit lacking. The tab to view them is called “lessons” but really it’s just a long list of videos loosely organized by overarching principles. There was really no progression to follow through the course, and my biggest gripe was that after you watched a video, there was no way to ensure you could try practice questions testing that topic. You really need to be the kind of learner who can watch videos at length and benefit.

Further the functionality of skipping forward through videos is poor. I would frequently click multiple places on the progress bar to land at exactly the same spot. They do load quickly though.

All things considered if you need a solid bank of practice questions with great reviews and a bit of direction of what to study, this is a good buy. If you need a comprehensive prep course or a lot of work in one subject, I would spend more elsewhere. I'm going to after the fact. It's a great value at $200 but you get what you pay for.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Magoosh Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Drastically improved my SC
September 24 | 2012

1 out of 3 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: April 19, 2012 | 0 | 5 | native speaker
Improvement: 60 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Magoosh Premium | Location:   Online |
I initially signed up for Magoosh for the 50 point guarantee to break the 700s. I was using Manhattan GMAT prior to that, but needed help with my verbal.

I found the sentence correction videos to be very helpful and pretty straightforward. All the videos are fairly short (3-12 minutes) and the instructors have a nice approach to things. The critical reasoning was good, but I would recommend complementing your studies with PowerScore (I did not use PowerScore but I've heard great things about it). The only drawback that I noticed was the Reading Comprehension. The passages in the problem set were wayyy too long and would never show up on the GMAT. The Problem Solving and Data Sufficiency questions and videos I thought were both great and they had a lot of difficult problems. I really liked the adaptiveness of the problem sets too. The biggest drawback would be that they don't have practice exams!

Overall, still a good course and I would recommend it for people who are taking the GMAT for a second (or third) time but also use other materials as this alone may not be enough.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Magoosh helped me cross 700 in my 5th attempt
April 03 | 2013

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By gmatprepab joined: August 8, 2011 | 48 | 9 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 50 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Magoosh Premium | Location:   Online |
I had given GMAT 4 times, scoring 650, and my preparation was at a phase in which I have exhausted pretty much all the official & other reliable materials available in the market. I have tried a couple of video websites such as e-gmat, gmatpill and grockit which were of no use either. Then, I came across Magoosh and decided to try it for 7 days since I had nothing to lose in this deal (Magoosh offers 7 day no questions return policy).

Magoosh is pretty straight forward and deeply honest test prep company. It allows a student to practice all of its content (400 Verbal and almost 450+ Quant questions) in the test mode (75 minutes for each section with 37 and 41 questions in the jumbled manner). That was the best part of this content. I used to do 2 Full length tests from Magoosh in a row and that strengthened my mental muscles for this test. I no longer felt fatigue during the Verbal section and I knew if I can do 2 in a row at home, I can easily do 1 on the test day.

Magoosh's video explanation's are short and specific, which is good for someone studying for a while and does not waste time in rambling unimportant things, unlike most of the other test prep companies. I thank Magoosh for offering their content at such an affordable price and a 7-day money back guarantee if one doesn't like their product. Though, its highly unlikely that you will need to ask for this guarantee but it just shows that these guys don't want to run away with your money. They are genuinely interested in helping you for the GMAT.

Try Magoosh and you will fall in love with the voice of gentleman who takes SC and CR video explanations. As a teacher, he has the best voice I have ever heard of.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Magoosh Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community


Magoosh Course Rankings
Overall Score Improvement
77 points
International Student Score Improvement
88 points
Verbal
80%
Quant
100%
Save $325
on Magoosh Courses
+$300 discount
+$25 bonus
Get Magoosh Promo Code