Magoosh GMAT Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [75]      Average Rating:       (4.7/5)
Courses
Find by:  
    
    
 
Magoosh Promo Code
Magoosh provides online test preparation with hundreds of video lessons and practice questions that cover every topic tested on the GMAT.  You can study anytime, anywhere on your laptop, smartphone, or iPad. Learn by watching short video tutorials that are tailored to you based on your performance.

Special deal for GMAT Club members is available...

  Reviews
Sort by:   date of publication  most helpful
Crispt Explanations and good practise for timed sets.
July 09 | 2013

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By jainpiyushjain joined: December 11, 2012 | 73 | 41 | non-native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Magoosh Premium | Location:   Online |
Great set of video explanations and lessons for each topic both in verbal and quant. The explanations are clear and to the point. I was able to do timed sets with adaptive difficulty similar to the real GMAT. For advance test takers, they have a number of high level questions, which will challenge your understanding. Each question is complemented with its explanations and related subject video to bridge the gap in the knowledge. Total they have over 600 questions of varying difficulty complemented with video and written explanations. Their support team is very helpful and the instructors reply to your query within 24 hours only.

Really gained a lot from it and highly recommend Magoosh.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Magoosh GMAT videos
July 17 | 2013

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By karthiks25 joined: June 28, 2013 | 0 | 5 | non-native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Magoosh Premium | Location:   Online |
The videos are very helpful especially when you are traveling to work etc , you can just listen on your phone. Helps lay a strong foundation.

The practice questions are also good. However, I found Magoosh useful to build only my basics and get 600+ on practice tests. Magoosh alone was not enough for advanced quant.

After Magoosh I had to use MGMAT to further strengthen my quant. Of course since I had already gone through all the Magoosh videos studying MGMAT was much easier.

I definitely recommend Magoosh to help with the basics and also the ease of use is very appealing. However, Magoosh alone is not enough if you want to cross 700
If they can add more advanced lessons it will be much more helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Magoosh Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Great value!
August 14 | 2013

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By mykelefty joined: March 31, 2013 | 1 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Magoosh Premium | Location:   Online |
For $99, the Magoosh website is by far the best value out there. The instructors are very clear, the videos are great, and the website is designed very nicely. My only real issue with Magoosh is that sometimes it felt a bit unprofessional due to spelling and/or punctuation errors. This was rare, but very obvious when I found them. Overall though, I found the service to be very helpful for my needs in studying. Some people may prefer to spend more money on a classroom program and that would make sense to me, but as far as online-only classes go, Magoosh is king. Thanks Magoosh!


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Magoosh premium
September 02 | 2013

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: December 17, 2012 | 27 | 7 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Magoosh Premium | Location:   Online |
I have been preparing for GMAT for a couple of months already now. I started my preparation with MGMAT strategy guides.

However there was something missing and I signed up for Magoosh. So far it has been an amazing refresher. The videos are amazing and the UI is neat.

The practice questions are top notch. I would recommend everyone try Magoosh and then decide whether it is fit for them.

My only advice for Magoosh is to include more practice questions and explanations. There are ton of nice questions in GMAT Club, which must be discussed by Magoosh.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Magoosh Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Great in Quant, Good in Verbal
October 08 | 2013

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By nb2987 joined: January 2, 2008 | 21 | 6 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 150 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Magoosh Premium | Location:   Online |
I had finished up the OG13 and was looking for fresh questions. I had taken Magoosh GRE and found it pretty good so decided to go for Magoosh Premium (99 for both quanty and verbal). I think I'm happy with the content. I got a 750 on my GMAT and I can definitely attribute some of this sucess to the Magoosh software.
Magoosh QUANT- The quality of quant questions are pretty good. At one point I found myself addicted to
them. One area where I think Magoosh has an edge is the online platform to practice questions. The video lessons were excellent, especially the ones on Probability and Counting (permutation/combination). There are plenty of DS questions so people having trouble with DS questions should definitely benifit with this section. I finished all practice questions in Math.

Magoosh Verbal- Also good. The SC questions are especially of good quality and their video explanations are good too. I wont score their RC sections too high. I found a good number of their answers as arbitary, OG answers made sense and related to the paragraphs. But it could be because I lacked an understanding of the passages. I finished about 60% of the questions. I liked the fact that the SC questions specifically tackle some of the oftern tested concepts and idioms on GMAT.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Magoosh helped me go from 640 to 720!
November 05 | 2013

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By ei2138 joined: July 28, 2013 | 1 | 5 | native speaker
Improvement: 80 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Magoosh Premium | Location:   Online |
I decided to go with Magoosh because I needed a low cost GMAT prep option (I had barely any money to spend on GMAT prep). I had tried self study for a few months with no discernible progress, so I knew it was time to take another route. I signed up for Magoosh premium after a friend suggested the program to me and I began my study using 2 of the three month study plans offered by Magoosh. I did a combo of the 'Version B: Math Focused' plan and the 'Version D: For Advanced Students' plan. The Advanced study plan called for use of the MGMAT complete set of strategy books and the OG 13, so I used those as well. Between these three resources, I spent a grand total of roughly $275 on my GMAT prep.

Overall, I found Magoosh to be an awesome investment. For $99, I got a full year's access to a whole tome of videos on all the subject matter covered by the GMAT, all the way down from the most basic frameworks up to the 700+ level concepts and strategies. For me this was priceless, since I came to my study very rusty on Quant and needed a refresher bootcamp type of prep. I was already very strong on Verbal, having previously taken the LSAT (basically GMAT Verbal on steriods), so I didn't use that part of the Magoosh offering too much.

In any case, to improve on Quant, I watched all of the math videos, per the Magoosh study plan, and was able to re-acquaint myself with these math concepts that I have not seen since high school. Magoosh was helpful for me personally as someone with a short attention span and a busy schedule because the videos are short and to the point. No long drawn out explanations; instead, the material is practical and concise. Just the way I need it. What is more, Magoosh has an iPad app. This allowed me to conveniently study on the go. No need to lug heavy books around all the time; I could just use my iPad on the train or whenever I had a quick moment (the other advantage of having short videos).

I must say, I spent a lot of time studying, usually about 4 hours per day for about 8 weeks, over 200 hours total. This was in part because I was using two study plans at once. It was a lot of work but it was what I needed to excel. Magoosh was great because, again, the material is super digestible, so I rarely felt lost (which was one of my concerns when deciding whether to do an online course--what if I have question or get lost, who will answer my concerns?) Even if I did get lost or fail to understand something, the Magoosh response team is AMAZING. They reply straight away, usually within a few hours of submitting a question and they answer in a way that really makes sense. Most of the time when I had a question, even if it was a complex inquiry, someone from the Magoosh team would respond in a way where I didn't need to do a lot of back and forth follow up to understand the response provided.

If you are like me, someone who does not have thousands to spend on GMAT prep, but who is motivated to achieve a 700+ score, I would definitely recommend the Magoosh offering. It is HIGHLY ECONOMICAL (1 year access for $99!!!) and user friendly. Simply put, it is well worth the investment.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Magoosh Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Great tool for people who have a month or so to prepare
November 25 | 2013

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By sekhar2888 joined: August 12, 2013 | 8 | 1 | non-native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Magoosh Premium | Location:   Online |
Magoosh is a big part in my GMAT journey. The video lectures are optimally designed so that i could save time in learning concepts and practice more. I prepared for one month (more than 200 hours) and improved from a 580 in CAT from MGMAT to 700 in actual GMAT.

Magoosh premium is also a good value for money. As to my research i couldn't find any comprehensive course that costs only $99 for 1 year subscription. The responses from instructors in case of any doubt is fast and the Magoosh blog too helps a lot in prepearation

However, one needs to look for other sources when it comes to IR sections. Magoosh material is not good enough to get a decent score in IR.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Amazing support from Magoosh :)
November 27 | 2013

1 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: September 19, 2013 | 2 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Magoosh Premium | Location:   Online |
I have been enrolled for the Magoosh Premium online for the last 2 months. It has been a great support from then.

Though being an Engineer by profession , had forgotten the 10th Grade Mathematics. But, Magoosh has helped me revisit and also enjoy the same. Especially, few topics like probability, which were once a nightmare. Now, I am pretty confident with the help of Magoosh.

The topics start right from the scratch , which enables any student understand the same irrespective of a math or non-math background.

Yet to explore the whole set. Would continue to have fun learning at Magoosh.

Thank you once again.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Magoosh Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Magoosh Rocks
January 08 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: June 9, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 70 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Magoosh Premium | Location:   Online |
Magoosh is a great website for someone starting from absolute scratch. If you are rusty on math and verbal, this is a good website to brush up on and get the basics back. Magoosh's website is definitely the most clean and user friendly. Each lesson is categorized by topic and subtopic, making it easy to navigate and focus on areas of weakness. Each section then has a quiz after to test your understanding.

The lessons are easy to grasp, extremely clear, and short - so you can really go at your own pace. Also, Magoosh covers every topic on the GMAT - including AWA and the essay. You can personalize your practice, from a pool of over 1000 questions, EACH of which have a video and text explanation. Overall, I was really happy with this site. It's organized, has great resources, and even has different study plans you can choose from. The staff is always there to help and answers emails right away. The blog is also an excellent source. Magoosh rocks!


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Magoosh really helped my GRE score and now using for GMAT
January 20 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By EAG2MyBiQ joined: December 10, 2013 | 2 | 5 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Magoosh Premium | Location:   Online |
I really like Magoosh. Definitely the best bang for the buck I found in terms of test prep. I have not taken the GMAT yet, but Magoosh GRE took my Quant from 65-pct to 75pct and my Verbal from 87-pct to 97-pct.

I am looking forward to a similar improvement on the GMAT.

I highly recommend Magoosh. Compared to other test prep software I purchased, Magoosh provided the greatest improvement per dollar cost. The videos are very helpful the quizzes are highly customizable for your specific needs, and the simulated tests do a very nice job of imitating the actual test feeling. Try Magoosh!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Magoosh Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community


Magoosh Course Rankings
Overall Score Improvement
81 points
International Student Score Improvement
95 points
Verbal
80%
Quant
100%
Save $325
on Magoosh Courses
+$300 discount
+$25 bonus
Get Magoosh Promo Code