Manhattan GMAT GMAT Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [256]      Average Rating:       (4.8/5)
Courses
Find by:  
    
    
    
    
    
 
Manhattan GMAT
Manhattan GMAT provides students with the skills and strategies essential for success. There are higher standards for what defines a competitive GMAT score today. We have no magic formula, no silver bullet, no empty guarantees. Instead, we have three basic principles that separate us from other test prep: the best teachers, the most advanced learning approach, and a focus solely placed on the GMAT. Save $250-350 on Manhattan GMAT courses with GMAT Club

  Reviews
Sort by:   date of publication  most helpful
ManhattanGMAT is Wonderful!
February 22 | 2013

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: February 22, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 200 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   New York (Lower Manhattan), NY USA | Taught by:  Dan Lerman
I enrolled in a Manhattan GMAT course after my college recommended it. My instructor was extremely knowledgeable and made the three hour class very pleasant. The study guides Manhattan GMAT publishes were also very helpful.

One thing I would note is that it is very important to keep up with the homework between each class. I definitely would not have achieved a 740 without doing all the practice problems each week. Also, it is a good idea to give yourself a few weeks to study after you complete the course (I took 3 weeks) before you take the exam so you can really focus on areas you have trouble with.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
I took Mgmat and veritas and I recommend Manhattan wholeheartedly
July 30 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: July 30, 2012 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 110 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
If you're on the fence about taking a course, here are a few reasons why I would take the Mgmat course:

1. Manhattan GMAT's course offers you a comprehensive review of all topics on the test so you know you've seen a little bit of everything and are covering your bases.

2. Even if you're good at self study, the course is worth it. I am the type of person that sets aside time, but taking the course really helped me focus three solid hours at a faster pace that I normally would by myself. The class pushes you and offers you an insight into how other students analyze a problem. This helps you learn multiple techniques to solve the problems faster.

3. Mgmat teachers are incredible. Jonathan Schneider was my instructor and he was great at explaining problems in various ways and telling us which ones to prioritize since they came up less frequently on the GMAT. He takes the GMAT various times throughout the year so can also comment on variations on the problem that he has seen. Importantly, I emailed him several times after the course was done and he sent me long emails with tips around how to work on my timing and study strategy. He also reviewed my practice exam results and told me what topics to focus on and which ones not to work on any longer. This extra support is valuable and what you pay for. Also, Jonathan was great because he was able to insert a lot of humor and connect GMAT problems with real world problems which really helped me remember the content.

4. If you already took the course once, taking it again only costs $300. Do it. I took the course twice (first time was two years ago so I needed a refresher) and got a lot out of the second time. Its the same material, but with a deeper understanding of the test, you can really master the basic material.

5. If I had to compare Mgmat to Vertas, I think the material is largely the same, but in my situation, I found that the GMAT instructor was more comprehensive, used the time more wisely, and was more entertaining. With Vertias, I felt as though there were some topics that weren't covered and that we sometimes spent too much time on solving practice problems instead of teaching important content. A good mix of both is what I was looking for.

Overall, I achieved a 710, 44 V / 44Q / 6 AWA and my first practice test score after taking the course was probably closer to a 600.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Manhattan GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Excellent course for serious GMAT aspirants
September 20 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By tprakash joined: September 11, 2012 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 130 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
I took my diagnostic in June and scored a 600. I was ambitious about a good score, and I had to do it in about 2 months amidst a very heavy workload. I needed a good coach and that's when I enrolled in the Manhattan GMAT 9 session course.

First of all, this is a very detailed and demanding course. From the first look at its curriculum it was pretty clear to me that this company knew the art and science of turning a novice into a master on this exam. The material is exhaustive and intuitive - it really captures the naunces of the varied thought processes that different people follow while solving a problem, and then tells you how to hone your unique way of thinking. I found that particularly helpful as most people have a particular style of doing things, and some approaches resonate with that style while some don’t.

The classroom course does not take the traditional theory-to-questions approach. Mind it that you would be expected to do the formal studying yourself. The classroom sessions explore the theoretical aspects of the course mainly through carefully chosen questions that well-exemplify the concepts involved.
Personally, I liked this approach as concepts are presented and learned un-detached from the contexts and situations where they'll be applied to, and are thus easier to remember.

The course is ultimately about honing your intuitions to razor-sharpness and set you up with a viable plan on how you're going to attempt your exam. The best thing - there's always a plenty of help available around for whatever you might need it.

My instructor was not only a master of the subject but also very involved with my success. He gave me some very good advice with some unique problems that was keeping my score low in the exam while I was coming out with flying colours while attempting practice problems. I finally took the exam on 8th of September and scored a 730.

I would highly recommended score for anyone seeking to score a 700+. And lastly, there's a lot of free stuff that'll come along with the any course - classroom or self study. They conduct a lot of free sessions, not just on GMAT but the whole application process. It's expensive, but totally worth the money!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Fantastic Experience
November 15 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By llapin joined: November 15, 2012 | 13 | 3 | native speaker
Improvement: 80 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
I decided to enroll in Manhattan GMAT after reading positive online reviews when I was doing course research, and I'm so glad I did. The instructors are dynamic, approachable, and somehow manage to make GMAT material interesting. You can tell that they have a real passion for the subject matter, which helps to inspire enthusiasm among the students even when they're fighting feelings of stress and discouragement.

I also appreciate how easy the process of taking make-up classes was, because it's very unlikely that someone can attend the same 3-hour class 9 weeks in a row without having some sort of conflict.

I definitely recommend MGMAT to anyone willing to put in the time and effort to stay on top of the material.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Manhattan GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
MGMAT Review
May 07 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By JRW92486 joined: April 17, 2013 | 2 | 5 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
Overall I would strongly recommend purchasing the MGMAT 9 Session Course. It was well worth the money. I actually did the online course because I travel for work and the platform was great. I did not feel like anything was lost not phsyically being in class. What the MGMAT does so well is teach you HOW to study and also guide you and guage your progress as you go.

They provide in class sessions that go over problems and teach important principles in both quant and verbal. The sentence correction work was extremely useful. The guide they give details exactly what problems you should be working on each week and is really helpful to keep you following a path and not becoming inconsistent with studying. This is vital.

Whenever I had questions or concerns my instructors answered them promptly and even helped with a post-9 class session study road map to keep me in my study habits up until test day.

In total:
Overall: 750
Quant: 48
Verbal: 44
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Broke 700- They know what they're doing!
May 30 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: May 30, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 70 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
The path to success on the GMAT is time and preparation; and the Manhattan GMAT course sets up its students to do just that. The syllabus is one of the best tools they provide, to guide and focus studying early on when it would be easy to slack off. The value of time in the classroom varies on the teacher, but working through each question timed is crucial.

Timing was my main problem, and in my post course assessment review, I had the most helpful workshop with a woman who had analyzed all my practice tests to date and we came up with a strategy based on that for test day to conquer the timing issue.

Maybe this was not the intention of MGMAT and I'm giving them too much credit, but for whatever reason, my practice tests through their site (and GMAC as well), didn't yield as near a high a score as I got on test day.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Manhattan GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Best Comprehensive Review Course Available
August 01 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Kmarkley joined: November 26, 2012 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 80 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
The Manhattan GMAT Review Course gave me the confidence I needed to improve my score, and provided me with the tools to create my own personalized test strategy. From studying to reviewing and then actually preparing for test day, the instructors and materials were clear, concise, and helped me to streamline my approach. I recommend this course for anyone prepared to take an intensive approach to studying for the test, and found it was particularly useful for people working full time as I would have struggled to study on my own without a plan. The MGMAT class and instructors helped me to surpass my GMAT goal, and helped me stay upbeat and focused throughout the entire process. If you want to see real results, and are willing to put in the time on your end, this is the most efficient way to do so!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Awesome experience
July 07 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By alexhendricks joined: July 7, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 100 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   New York (Lower Manhattan), NY USA | Taught by:  David Mahler
I was initially pretty hesitant to sign up for a GMAT prep class, since I tend to prefer one-on-one tutoring, but I felt like it was worth a try and if I wanted to supplement it with one-on-one, I could do that. I ended up not needing the additional prep since the class was so helpful.

The class is split pretty evenly between Verbal and Quant, but Reading Comp is only taught touched on during one class, so that's something to do more of on your own time. My instructor, Dave, was particularly helpful for Quant, providing tips on how to set up a problem properly to maximize time.

Given that the class is only 3 hours each week, the majority of work has to be done outside of class, so it's up to each individual to put in the work. The HW syllabus is great in that it builds on itself and the GMAT online Navigator provide really thorough explanations and difficulty scale for each of the problems. There are additional resources and drill sets that were great for the days leading up to the test to stay fresh without over-exerting.

I would recommend Dave as he was always available by email and after class for additional questions and therapy sessions (since a breakdown is almost inevitable in this process). He moved quickly but was always willing to go back and ensure the class got the basics.

In my personal experience, the practice tests are helpful for timing purposes but the problems are a bit harder than the actual GMAT (particularly the IR and Verbal sections).

Overall, great experience.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Manhattan GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
The Best for a Reason!
July 09 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: July 8, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 90 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   New York (Lower Manhattan), NY USA | Taught by:  David Mahler
Boy am I glad I signed up to take this course. Without a doubt, Manhattan GMAT is the best in the biz. Yea, it's pricey, but for a reason. Their instructors and curriculum are bar none the best. The best parts of the courses are the extremely detailed syllabus which was really helpful for me to review after the course along with a list of more challenging questions to tackle for those looking for an even higher score (700+). In addition, the material on their website is phenomenal. You get a whole suite of study materials including printable flashcards, workshops, "Archer" which keeps track of the problems you attempt in the Official GMAT Guide, and more! My only comment is that the practice tests seemed to be a little too difficult - I scored about 50 points lower on them than other practice tests I took, but then again I guess making it harder helped me get a great score on the actual test.

My instructor Dave Mahler, was excellent at keeping the class on track and was able to answer a myriad of questions I threw at him.

I highly recommend these guys if you're a high scorer looking to get into the top 20 b-schools!


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.


Manhattan GMAT Course Rankings
Overall Score Improvement
104 points
International Student Score Improvement
90 points
Verbal
100%
Quant
100%
Save $350
on Manhattan GMAT
+$100 discount
+$250 bonus
Get Manhattan GMAT Promo Code