Manhattan GMAT GMAT Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [214]      Average Rating:       (4.8/5)
Courses
Find by:  
    
    
    
    
    
 
Manhattan GMAT
Manhattan GMAT provides students with the skills and strategies essential for success. There are higher standards for what defines a competitive GMAT score today. We have no magic formula, no silver bullet, no empty guarantees. Instead, we have three basic principles that separate us from other test prep: the best teachers, the most advanced learning approach, and a focus solely placed on the GMAT. Save $250-350 on Manhattan GMAT courses with GMAT Club

  Reviews
Sort by:   date of publication  most helpful
Manhattan GMAT lives up to the hype
August 14 | 2012

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By BigRedMBA joined: August 14, 2012 | 14 | 20 | native speaker
Improvement: 100 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
I first found out about Manhattan GMAT from a co-worker/friend of mine who had just gotten a full ride to Columbia Business School. She told me it was hands down the best course around, and that was all the proof I needed (the fact that she got a 730 helped too).

I actually took the course twice. the first time I was pretty swamped at work and didn't have time to keep up with the pretty demanding workload of the course (about 8-12 hours of work a week). Before I knew it 8 weeks had passed and the course was over. I didn't even bother to take any more practice tests because i knew I hadn't taken the course seriously. This course is great but you only get out of it, what you put in.

Fast forward a year later, and I hear that the GMAT is changing in June, so I take the plunge, sign up to take the course again and register to take the GMAT the last week in May (about a week after my final Manhattan GMAT class). This time around i buckled down, stopped going out on weekends, and kept up with the course curriculum. Needless to say, this dedication paid dividends! I ended up getting 10 points above my target score and got a 730 on the GMAT.

The course is great because of how thorough the materials are and how charismatic the teachers are. They take something that should be boring and mundane, and make it fairly enjoyable. The math section of their practice test is a little more difficult than the actual GMAT, and I think this is due to the difficulty level increasing much more quickly on the Manhattan GMAT exams then on the real GMAT. This could be considered a good thing though, because it forces you to really work on your time management, an essential skill for getting a good score on the GMAT.

Regardless, I definitely recommend Manhattan GMAT to anyone really looking to get a good score on the exam. Just remember that there are no tricks or shortcuts, the more you put into the course, the more you'll get out of it!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
750 GMAT (49Q,44V)
August 05 | 2013

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By mgg234 joined: May 20, 2013 | 453 | 174 | native speaker
Improvement: 70 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
I highly recommend Manhattan GMAT, and it helped me get to my target score. The professor was awesome, and it's certainly the best product out there.

A few areas I think it could improve:

1) Advanced courses - The one frustrating thing about the course is that you are with people at all different levels of quant and verbal proficiency. Therefore, even if you are ready to move on, the instructor would be stuck explaining concepts for a long time to someone else. It would be great if they added advanced courses (perhaps requiring 650 or so on a CAT to sign-up), that went at a faster pace and spent more time on 700+ questions.

2) Area of Focus. For whatever reason, I was naturally very good at Verbal, and wanted to focus on Math. The classes in general seemed to be tilted slightly towards Verbal. It would've been cool if I could've had a class that tilted a little more towards Math. I feel like, for the upper level math questions, I had to learn a lot of the tricks on my own through their advanced quant guide.

Overall the course was great though. I got a 680 when I took it 4 years ago, so I'm pretty happy with a 70-point jump (especially since my math skills had degraded since then). I guess it's really hard to tell how much the course helped on its merits, versus how much it just forced me to study a lot - but who cares, I got the score I wanted, and I probably would've studied less if not forced to do HW and Classes.

Definitely recommend taking Eric Caballero. He is really funny, smart, and explains concepts very well.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Manhattan GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Excellent
February 08 | 2012

       By Anonymous joined: February 8, 2012 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 100 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   New York (Midtown Manhattan), NY USA | Taught by:  Gregg Lachow
Manhattan GMAT's program was extremely extensive and thorough. The program covers every question on the test that you could be asked. My instructor was extremely helpful and not only prepared me with the material, but also gave us additional study, test-taking and application tips. I would refer no other program but this one. Manhattan's customer service is also exceptional.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Methodical Cirriculmn + Excellent Teaching = Results
April 22 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By rchin7724 joined: April 6, 2012 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 110 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
I decided to sign up for MGMAT because I wanted to score in the 700+ range. Studying on my own was not yeilding the results I wanted, because I noticed that I was getting the same types of problems incorrect, without being able to truly analyze my weaknesses and create a systematic approach to improve. I was still able to recollect my basic quantitative and verbal skills, but MGMAT instruction and cirriculmn helped me improve my test taking strategy and timing for each problem. The MGMAT curriculum accurately categorizes the types of of quantitative problems into several topics, and by studying thoroughly each topic through the GMAT books, and the syllabus recommended problems, I was able to recognize the types of quant. problems immediately during the exam. This allowed me to quickly devise a strategy thus saving time spent on setting up the solution approach for each problem. The in class instruction was especially helpful for the more difficult problems because our instructor was able to extrapolate a simpler problem into a 700+ problem and explain the similarities and differences. This helped me understand how more challenging problems are phrased, and how to translate these problems into math. One particular example is for combinations/permutations & probability. I was never able to fundamentally grasp this topic until our MGMAT instructor gave us a hands - on example during class. After that, any such problem was easy!

I highly recommend MGMAT to those who are serious about their GMAT scores. There is a lot of homework during the course, and additional study time required prior to the exam, but I saw the results and was able to monitor how my score increased with each subsequent practice exam.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Manhattan GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
High Recommended - Excellent instructors + tools
May 11 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: May 10, 2012 | 0 | 5 | native speaker
Improvement: 100 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
I took the Manhattan GMAT 9 course in-person class towards the middle of 2011. Overall excellent instructors, books, online tools (lots of analytics to help you pinpoint where your weaknesses are, etc.)

Overall great program and highly responsive instructors. Note there is quite a bit of outside the classroom work, but overall the class truly teaches you the core fundamentals on how to score well on the GMAT.

One thing I also liked is the ability to view archived classes online in case you need a refresher (I believe this is valid for up to 1 year after you're done with your classes) - this is huge in case you want to re-review what was taught in class or missed a class.

The class is on the expensive side, but paying a small premium to achieve your target score was well worth it for me.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Great Prep Program
June 03 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: June 3, 2012 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 90 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
Manhattan GMAT is incredibly thorough and covers everything you'll need to improve your score on the GMAT. I took it once and exceeded my original goal score by 20 points. The books are well written and the classes are well taught and incredibly well structured.

I opted to take a prep course because I wanted the structure to study every day and know how to get the most out of my study time. There were activities for every single day of the nine-week course. You have to commit.

I recommend this course to anyone who is willing to put in the time and who really wants to do well.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Manhattan GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Solid instruction and great materials
October 15 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By alphacat joined: June 16, 2012 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 50 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
I took this class in the spring at their flagship location. My goal with taking the course was to structure my studying and break it up into manageable parts rather than going it alone and not having a sense of what I needed to cover and stagnating.

My effort in studying for the GMAT consisted of two parts. The first, where I attended all 9 sessions and completed all basic and advanced homework. And the second, the end of the course and month afterwards before the exam, where I did additional studying using the Official Guide and Manhattan GMAT practice exams.

In the first segment, I think the course was really key for me in the way I mentioned above - it provided the structure to get me through all the material and broke my studying down into pieces.

Specifically:

-The 9 live classes: For me, this was necessary to move myself along the process.

The instruction was helpful - Steven taught both Manhattan GMAT methods as well as personal tips and insights. The instruction on Quant was very helpful. On Verbal, I found the MGMAT methodologies less useful and I think Steven did as well because he didn't strongly recommend that we use them and his deviation from some of the materials was actually very helpful. I appreciated this flexibility. All in all, I felt, throughout the whole process, that my instructor was an expert and knew the material backwards and forwards.

The materials provided - the subject area books are great - they provide both depth and breadth and achieve the right level of detail and complexity. They served really well as the place to 'learn' the material. Later, when practicing and reinforcing, I primarily used the Official Guide, coming back to the subject area books as needed.

In the second part of my studying, towards the end of the classes and afterwards, I really focused on practicing problems and taking exams. For this, I found the Manhattan GMAT practice exams and the ability to go to their center to take them, especially crucial. For several weeks, I would go to the center every Saturday and take a full exam. Not only are MGMAT's exams very good quality, simulating the actual test day experience is key and was one of the main value adds of the course to me.

If I have any criticisms of the course, I would say that for me personally, I probably could have use a more custom experience. Although historically a stronger quantitative test taker, for the GMAT I found that I put 95% of my effort into Quant and that Verbal came easier. As a result, I probably would have benefited from a Quant focused course. I think that a lot of native/fluent English speakers find themselves in this situation and as such, I think Manhattan GMAT would do well by creating this kind of class. I also found the Quant section on their practice exams to be a little bit too difficult, and not in a way that was beneficial. The practice exams you get from the actual GMAC are more representative.

Overall, however, I am extremely satisfied with my experience and would definitely a. do it the same way if i had to do it again and b. recommend Manhattan GMAT to others. I have not taken any other company's courses but based on what I've heard, I feel comfortable saying this is one of, if not the, best prep companies out there.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
99% but a GMAT ain't one
October 23 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: October 23, 2012 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 80 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
By far, hands down, the best GMAT prep course around. Interestingly, I heard about the course from a friend in Korea. My friend in KOREA had heard about Manhattan GMAT! So I tried the course and rocked the GMAT.

I took the 9-class course in the summer and studied with the Manhattan GMAT prep books. About a month after the class, I took the exam. The course is demanding, requiring solid 5 to 10 hours of studying a week, but it is definitely worth it. (Though, frankly, the course is made so that you can still keep up with the class if you hadn't done much outside studying... You will just feel really stupid in class).

Great teachers, great books and great on-site test simulation center.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Manhattan GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
MGMAT Review
February 07 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By mquinn18 joined: February 7, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
Prior to taking the GMAT I was unsure if I should sign up for a course to help me prepare, thinking that I would be able to do well just by studying on my own. After hearing the opinions of some of my friends, however, it became clear that the best course of action would be to enroll in a prep course and that Manhattan GMAT was the most highly recommended.

After taking the 9-week course I cannot agree enough. The course helps you prepare for all sections of the test and every possible topic you could see. This was helpful, but the biggest thing for me was that the course provides you with a syllabus that outlines a study plan for you, telling you where to find certain problems in the books and which topics to study when. This, along with the great instructor and course plan, was a huge contributor to getting a 700+ score.

After taking the course I will definitely recommend it to anyone who plans on taking the GMAT.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
100+ point improvement
June 06 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By akhullar13 joined: December 27, 2012 | 4 | 6 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 110 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   New York (Midtown Manhattan), NY USA | Taught by:  Gregg Lachow
When I signed up to take the GMAT I enrolled in a Kaplan online course and went through and did all the class sessions and homework. But by test day, I had only improved about 30-40 points. Needless to say, I did not feel nearly prepared enough to take the GMAT. So I pushed my test date back by 4 months and enrolled in a MGMAT course. Luckily, I live fairly close to their Manhattan location.

The course was great. The strategy guides were very instructive and really taught me how to do the problems rather than just tips and shortcuts. It was presented in an easy-to-understand manner and I felt like I was making real progress. The class sessions were also very helpful. They helped to cement what I was learning through my homework, and I learned additional strategies and time management techniques. I feel like the Kaplan course was good for the basics, but the MGMAT course really helped to solidify the concepts and take my problem solving abilities to the next level. The online resources were also pretty useful, especially the practice tests. They seem to be fairly representative of the actual test, and my practice test scores were very close to what I ended up actually scoring.

I would definitely recommend this course for anyone looking to see a huge bump in their score. Even if you can't attend a live class, the full set of books is definitely a score improvement guarantee.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Manhattan GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community


Manhattan GMAT Course Rankings
Overall Score Improvement
100 points
International Student Score Improvement
92 points
Verbal
100%
Quant
100%
Save $350
on Manhattan GMAT
+$100 discount
+$250 bonus
Get Manhattan GMAT Promo Code