Manhattan GMAT GMAT Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [258]      Average Rating:       (4.8/5)
Courses
Find by:  
    
    
    
    
    
 
Manhattan GMAT
Manhattan GMAT provides students with the skills and strategies essential for success. There are higher standards for what defines a competitive GMAT score today. We have no magic formula, no silver bullet, no empty guarantees. Instead, we have three basic principles that separate us from other test prep: the best teachers, the most advanced learning approach, and a focus solely placed on the GMAT. Save $250-350 on Manhattan GMAT courses with GMAT Club

  Reviews
Sort by:   date of publication  most helpful
Went from 690 to 770 with Manhattan GMAT Course
May 20 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By caseybar joined: May 20, 2012 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 80 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   Philadelphia, PA USA | Taught by:  Abby Berry
The Manhattan GMAT 9-session course kept me accountable for studying and provided me a study plan to get the 99th percentile score I was shooting for.

My instructor, Abby, did a phenomenal job laying out the foundations of both verbal and quant, and emphasizing the importance of mastering the skills that you need to crack the GMAT.

I was very impressed with Abby's ability to cater to the specific needs of my small class- I think this really helped us focus collectively on what we needed to work on. Similarly, I thought she did a great job explaining all of the concepts in a clear way, and giving us usable frameworks to attack all of the hardest problems.

I was also quite pleased with the online MGMAT system, which included a way to track individual progress on different types of problems. I think this is a program that will help anyone improve their Nicole significantly if they are willing to put in the time and effort required to complete the assigned work.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Amazing Prep for the GMAT!
July 31 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By California33 joined: July 23, 2012 | 12 | 1 | native speaker
Improvement: 80 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   Philadelphia, PA USA | Taught by:  Abby Pelcyger
I started this prep course having never opened a GMAT prep book, and improved my score 80 points from my initial practice test to test day. I went into the GMAT feeling prepared and ready to take on the test, and I was able to achieve my goal score on my first actual GMAT.

Abby provided a clear overview of how the course and the process would work. In class, she was patient and did a great job explaining strategy and reviewing practice problems. She challenged us to ALWAYS answer, even if it's a guess, which was great prep for the test. She encouraged group discussion when we disagreed about answers, and forced us to use the proven strategies when approaching problems. She was always available via email when we had questions, and created a non-threatening environment for a prep process that could potentially be viewed as highly competitive, given how the GMAT works.

Overall, I can't say enough nice things about Manhattan GMAT. The homework seems daunting at times, but you need that level of work and practice to go into test day feeling ready. I qualified for the post course assessment, and I was so glad I did! I had a half hour phone conversation two weeks before my test date that gave me a clear gameplan for what exactly I needed to focus on leading up to my test.

I highly recommend this course. It's expensive, but in the long run, given what you will pay for an MBA program, it is so well worth the investment! You do need to be ready to commit 5-10 extra hours a week to homework, so make sure you do the course during a time period when you have that time available,


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Manhattan GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Best path to succesful score
August 19 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: June 6, 2012 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 160 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   Philadelphia, PA USA | Taught by:  Abby Pelcyger
Working with a Manhattan GMAT tutor was fantastic. I had access to the full series of Manhattan GMAT courses as well as one-on-one sessions with a tutor. Manhattan GMAT teaches the methodology needed to master the GMAT and its instructors are patient, knowledgeable, and capable of explaining both material and approach.

Manhattan GMAT books are very good at breaking down all of the material in particular types of questions. The books give sample questions to practice with and MGMAT even has detailed explanations for the "real GMAT" questions from the MBA official guide books. For those answers alone the company is worth using.

If you are serious about the GMAT, Manhattan GMAT will give you the tools and support to succeed. I definitely recommend Manhattan GMAT!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Go with Manhattan GMAT
August 08 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By aliyasaigol joined: August 7, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 90 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   Philadelphia, PA USA | Taught by:  Abby Berry
I would absolutely recommend the Manhattan GMAT course to anyone considering taking the GMAT. I took the 9-week course on UPenn's campus with instructor Abby Berry. Manhattan GMAT provides you with access to more resources than you could ever need to help you prepare for the test (books, practice exams, one-on-one instructor office hours, and their own set of detailed solutions to old GMAT questions). Not only that, the in-class sessions teach amazing test-taking tips and strategies that ultimately helped me score in the 99th percentile on the GMAT. Manhattan GMAT is truly the way to go if you want to score above 700.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Manhattan GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
All You Need for 99th Percentile
August 02 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By sberesford joined: August 2, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 70 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   Philadelphia, PA USA | Taught by:  Abby Berry
I enrolled with MGMAT specifically to ensure that I achieved a 99th percentile score on test day, and I am glad that I did!

The course provides you with a comprehensive study syllabus and a zillion extra materials to help you practice. Having our instructor, Abby Berry, structure and review everything each week was a huge help in navigating the slew of material. Abby explained everything patiently and thoroughly and helped us all work towards our personal study goals. In the penultimate session, Abby reviewed my CAT exams and gave me some extra study advice, which I believe is what bumped me from a 720 on practice tests to a 770 on test day!

If you are ready to study and have the time to keep up with the MGMAT 9-week syllabus, I recommend it without blinking an eye. The material is all you need to achieve a coveted 99th percentile score.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Manhattan GMAT FTW
January 12 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By CardinalSaint joined: January 12, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 120 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   Philadelphia, PA USA | Taught by:  Abby Berry
MGMAT is great class and I would recommend it to anyone. Before picking a class, I asked around and the general consensus was on MGMAT. I had previously tried to study on my own, but was overwhelmed by all the material that needed to be covered. MGMAT broke the material down into manageable steps and really helped me hone in on my problem areas.

The in-person class was more than I could have hoped for and I would and have recommended Abby’s class to anyone that listens. Like many perfectionist, I struggled with skipping problems, but Abby really helped me get over my ego and do what was best for my score. She was also able to teach the class in a manner that worked for people that were all at different levels and never did I feel like we were going too slowly.

Overall the course was great and helped me improve my score from a 640 on my original diagnostic to a 760 on test day.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Manhattan GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Manhattan GMAT -- got me to a 740
July 11 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By gconway joined: July 11, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 100 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   Philadelphia, PA USA | Taught by:  Abby Berry
I took a 9-week course in Spring 2014. The materials provided by Manhattan GMAT are invaluable. I found the set of math books to be extremely helpful -- the books are separated into various topics, such as Fractions/Decimals/Percents or Word Problems, and provide easy-to-follow steps and quick tricks to solve these problems. I had a very limited understanding of these basic math concepts (I hadn't taken a math class in a few years) before taking this course and the books quickly brought me up to competitive levels. The Quant problems are very difficult which also helped prepare me for test day. There are also plenty of practice problems provided both by Manhattan and MBA.com's Official Guide of problems. I found the online resources unrivaled with any other program. The online resources provide a platform for you to time yourself and plug in the answers to problems from the Official Guide and then synthesize all of the data to highlight weak and strong points. The online practice tests have similar tools, such as showing areas where you move too fast or too slowly, or where you need the most work. I found that incredibly helpful as I was able to focus on my problem areas for most of the course and then honed in on my strengths in the days before the exam. The IR sections are incredibly difficult on Manhattan GMAT, but again, they prepared me for test day and I received a score of 8. My instructor for the course (Abby Berry) was professional, energetic and had a genuine interest in each student. She tailored the course to fit the class's needs rather than following a rigid and generic structure which I found very helpful. Manhattan GMAT helped me bring my score to levels competitive with the averages of the top five business schools and I am very satisfied with my outcome. I would highly recommend this course.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Incredible resources available
September 02 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: September 2, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 100 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   Philadelphia, PA USA | Taught by:  Abby Berry
MGMAT instructors are properly vetted (99%ile) and prepped, the course has been developed and refined over years and years, and the amount of resources are so vast they're simply unusable. The course is expensive, but will doubtless help you to organize your study habits and provide you the resources to effectively target your weaknesses. I came in with strong test content knowledge, but I was impressed with how logically and comprehensively the necessary concepts were taught. As with anything, you'll take out of this class what you put into it - but with MGMAT, there's no ceiling to how much you can put in. From homework, to class sessions, to practice tests, each problem you do provides a data point for attacking your weaknesses. If you're willing to do the work, you can't be disappointed with the resources MGMAT puts at your disposal.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Manhattan GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community


Manhattan GMAT Course Rankings
Overall Score Improvement
104 points
International Student Score Improvement
91 points
Verbal
100%
Quant
100%
Save $350
on Manhattan GMAT
+$100 discount
+$250 bonus
Get Manhattan GMAT Promo Code