Manhattan GMAT GMAT Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [241]      Average Rating:       (4.8/5)
Courses
Find by:  
    
    
    
    
    
 
Manhattan GMAT
Manhattan GMAT provides students with the skills and strategies essential for success. There are higher standards for what defines a competitive GMAT score today. We have no magic formula, no silver bullet, no empty guarantees. Instead, we have three basic principles that separate us from other test prep: the best teachers, the most advanced learning approach, and a focus solely placed on the GMAT. Save $250-350 on Manhattan GMAT courses with GMAT Club

  Reviews
Sort by:   date of publication  most helpful
Manhattan GMAT - 5 Stars!
August 07 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By chnster888 joined: August 7, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 110 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   San Francisco, CA USA | Taught by:  Kim Cabot
I took Manhattan GMAT's in person complete course and had a great experience. Kim, my teacher, was awesome - she was passionate about the subject and was excellent at both explaining the concepts needed for the exam and presenting strategies for dealing with difficult problems. The course materials were great as well – the practice exams were a good simulation of the real thing, the homework was helpful in learning/reviewing the necessary concepts, and the extra problems excellent at providing additional practice. Overall my score improved 110 points from the first diagnostic test that I took, and I ended up scoring in the 99th percentile on the real test.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Manhattan GMAT is actually fun
February 22 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: February 21, 2012 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 170 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   San Francisco, CA USA | Taught by:  Kim Cabot
I highly recommend Kim Cabot's class. She manages to make studying for the test fun - and I could go on about how much I despise the GMAT. Kim is a highly entertaining teacher and extremely intelligent.

Manhattan GMAT is very well organized and the handouts and online resources give its students a huge advantage over a student just studying from the Official Guide.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Manhattan GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
review
April 10 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By erica joined: April 10, 2012 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 100 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   San Francisco, CA USA | Taught by:  Ron Purewal
I took the Manhattan 9 week course w/ Ron. Great teacher. I front loaded all of the reading so didn't have to do much homework during the class. I'd highly recommend doing that - it really improves your ability to process and participate in class. The class is not separated by advanced vs non so you may find that it lags you if you are already testing well after your first diagnostic. However, the strategy I learned in the class was critical to my test taking abilities and was 110% worth it. 9 weeks was a good amount of time to let the material sink in since I was working full time and unable to focus much during the week. I thought the 8 course books provided great material - better than I've seen elsewhere. However, I did check out some add'l problem sets from other programs just to give myself more exposure.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Manhattan GMAT was great
August 06 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: June 11, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 70 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   San Francisco, CA USA | Taught by:  Kim Cabot
The Manhattan GMAT was everything that I needed to prepare for the GMAT. My instructor, Kim, was extremely helpful and guided the small class step by step through challenging problems. The classes are very small, which fosters an interactive experience and allows individuals to ask specific questions. I was able to reach out to my instructor even after the course was over and she was extremely helpful. The online resources were extremely helpful in allowing me to identify my strengths and focus on my weaknesses. I would highly recommend the GMAT class to any students seeking a fun, efficient and effective way to perform well on the GMAT.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Manhattan GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Manhattan GMAT
January 23 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: January 13, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 50 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   San Francisco, CA USA | Taught by:  Rey Fernandez
I took the Manhattan GMAT class in fall 2011 and had a great instructor, Rey Fernandez. We spent more class time on the math, and what was most helpful was his focus on pointing out common mistakes and strategies to remember concepts.

After my first time taking the test, I was disappointed with my verbal score and completed a post-test evaluation with MGMAT. The team was more than available and after a 30 minute call, we talked through my struggles and developed a game plan to get the score I was aiming for. This was incredibly helpful, and using only the books and materials provided by MGMAT, I was able to raise my score by 50 points.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Excellent GMAT Prep Course!
February 28 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: February 28, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 120 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   San Francisco, CA USA | Taught by:  Ron Purewal
Manhattan GMAT was recommended to me by friends who have gone to the top business schools in the country. Everyone pushed me to get a 700-720+ on the GMAT as a baseline score and told me to enroll in this class. They were absolutely right.

It's impressive how different prep programs can be - I've taken Kaplan and Princeton in the past but Manhattan GMAT is well-designed and well-executed. The course increased my practice exam scores +120 points and got me above the baselines suggested above. Great experience and great value for a process that can otherwise be very unpleasant (I don't know of anyone who loved prepping for and taking the GMAT). Thanks Manhattan GMAT! I would recommend this to anyone I know that is looking to prep.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Manhattan GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Excellent experience with Ron P!
September 16 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By lisacuesta joined: May 25, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 60 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   San Francisco, CA USA | Taught by:  Ron Purewal
I had a great experience with MGMAT. My instructor, Ron, was great at teaching a class with people with different needs and at different levels. He focused on the strategies needed to conquer the test and left it to us to work on the content that gave us difficulty outside of the classroom. Ron teaches in a uniquely memorable way. While you are taking the test, you will actually hear him asking you "the three questions" to determine whether or not you should stop working on a problem and move on. I would absolutely recommend MGMAT to a friend taking the exam.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Excellent.
January 12 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: December 29, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   San Francisco, CA USA | Taught by:  Kim Cabot
Manhattan GMAT's reputation precedes itself. After hearing about it from all my college friends, I decided to sign up for a formal class with them. What I found was an extremely talented and engaging professor, and extremely well developed teaching methodology, and tons of GMAT experience. All in all, it'd pretty hard to go wrong with the 9 session Manhattan GMAT course, especially since it includes all of the books you need to succeed on the exam, as well as $300 retake course in case you need a refresher later on. What's more, the courses attract many other talented students who want to succeed, so you can organize study groups, or at least be motivated to study hard to succeed in the class as well as on the final exam itself. I highly recommend this class, and hope you find it as helpful as I did.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Manhattan GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Rock Solid Program
August 16 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: August 16, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 100 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   San Francisco, CA USA |
I had Ryan Jacobs in SF - awesome guy and great instructor. the materials themselves were helpful, but the way of thinking about the test was the most important for me in going ~+100 points in score. Key things that he had us focusing on included the timing around the test as well as thinking strategically about skipping problems to increase speed and overall score.

The lightening rounds were also very helpful as they really put the time pressure on and forced us to think of the faster method to solving problems versus just trying to brute force them.

Ryan has also been a great resource after the course, helping answer follow up questions I had and staying in touch.
Thanks for all the help Ryan!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Loved Manhatttan Prep
August 23 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: August 23, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 70 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   San Francisco, CA USA | Taught by:  Kim Cabot
Manhattan Prep helped me achieve a score I never thought was possible. The instructor and course materials were great!

In fact, I think the course over-prepared me. I had 10 minutes left over on both sections on the actual exam. Also, I did not even do the last question because I was not paying attention and still scored better than I expected.

Definitely take Manhattan Prep if you can! It will boost your score.

Also, on a side note, if you are just graduating college, take the GMAT that summer. You will be much more relieved to get it out of the way and it is good for 5 years!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Manhattan GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community


Manhattan GMAT Course Rankings
Overall Score Improvement
103 points
International Student Score Improvement
90 points
Verbal
100%
Quant
100%
Save $350
on Manhattan GMAT
+$100 discount
+$250 bonus
Get Manhattan GMAT Promo Code