Manhattan GMAT GMAT Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [255]      Average Rating:       (4.8/5)
Courses
Find by:  
    
    
    
    
    
 
Manhattan GMAT
Manhattan GMAT provides students with the skills and strategies essential for success. There are higher standards for what defines a competitive GMAT score today. We have no magic formula, no silver bullet, no empty guarantees. Instead, we have three basic principles that separate us from other test prep: the best teachers, the most advanced learning approach, and a focus solely placed on the GMAT. Save $250-350 on Manhattan GMAT courses with GMAT Club

  Reviews
Sort by:   date of publication  most helpful
Great instructor made GMAT class as painless as possible
July 01 | 2013

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By marjo333 joined: July 1, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 30 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   Washington, DC USA | Taught by:  Josh Yardley
I would recommend this 9-week course to anyone who is looking to get a 700+ score. I was very impressed with the instruction-- Josh is very good at explaining both verbal and quant problems, and he is completely non-judgmental, which makes students feel comfortable asking questions, raising points, and defending their answers. He also kept the class on track, and I never left class feeling as though it was unproductive. I made a 30-point gain on my initial score, reaching 740-- while it was not a monumental gain, I now feel much more comfortable with my GMAT score going into the application season, and I even feel as though I learned some useful math and critical thinking skills. Not bad for a test prep course...
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
If you put in effort, Manhattan GMAT will pay off BIG TIME.
June 21 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By dcapplicant1454 joined: June 15, 2012 | 1 | 1 | native speaker
Improvement: 110 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   Washington, DC USA | Taught by:  Joseph Martin
Manhattan GMAT is not for the faint of heart. The syllabus reads like a text book, as do the actual guides. But, if you are willing to put in the effort, and do the assigned homework consistently, this course will pay off big time.

Beyond the quality of the content and materials, my instructor was very easy going and actually found a way to make a 3-hour, after-work course fun and interesting. Instead of focusing on tips and tricks, he taught us the underlying math and verbal concepts, which, paired with hundreds of Official Guide practice problems and drill sets, made taking the actual exam feel easy.

Manhattan GMAT also provides some amazing online tools, the best of which is OG Archer. The tool allows you to input your answers from Official Guide problems, and then see your aggregated progress and performance, broken down by problem type and subject area. This tool made it easy to stay on top of the homework and see progress throughout the course. During self-review in the last few weeks before the actual exam, the OG Archer reports were critical to reviewing only what I needed to. Also, the free one-on-one session was helpful in overcoming some difficult concepts.

Manhattan GMAT is not the easiest course, nor is it the cheapest. But if you are looking to break 700 or even 750, and are willing to put in the hard work and time, this is the course for you.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Manhattan GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Fantastic Course
July 11 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By markrhays joined: July 11, 2012 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 110 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   Washington, DC USA | Taught by:  Marcus Hedahl
I would recommend the Manhattan GMAT course to anyone.

My score went up over 100 points during the class. I actually had the benefit of having a number of professors, since my main teacher, Marcus Hedard couldn't make it to half of the sessions. They were upfront immediately about the situation, telling all of us that we could receive a refund or switch into a different class if we didn't want multiple teachers. They also gave us a free "700 and up online course" pass, which is usually a couple hundred dollars, for our trouble. It turned out to be completely fine, all of the teachers are equally competant and were all excellent teachers.

From what I've heard about competing classes, Manhattan GMAT definitely seems to be the bset.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Good but not great
March 15 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: March 15, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 100 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   Washington, DC USA | Taught by:  Marcus Hedahl
I found the Manhattan GMAT resources to be extremely useful throughout the study process. Their syllabus, combined with MGMAT handing you all of the resources you needed, made the potentially overwhelming process of studying feel more manageable.

I didn't love the class, though. My instructor was Marcus and though he was clearly smart and and a decent teacher, I found his jokes to be distracting and take up too much time. It sometimes seemed as though he was jumping all over the place in terms of content. It was probably the most useful in terms of familiarizing me with the content.

In the end, I found studying on my own to be the most useful. Taking practice tests and going over exam questions taught me a lot more than the class or other studying. My first practice test was a 630, and my actual GMAT was a 730 (68% quant, 99% verbal).
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Manhattan GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Great Course Taught By Amazing Professors
June 18 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By rab415 joined: June 18, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 70 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   Washington, DC USA | Taught by:  Andrew Mara
Manhattan GMAT Professors are easily approachable and they break down the exam in an easy to understand way. Each week, I was exposed to a number of different approaches to solve problem types. I had an opportunity to really tailor the exam with approaches that worked for me. The professor was adaptable to any approach that fit my skills. I strongly recommend. I saw a 70 point improvement in my score, and I broke 700.

I have tried other test programs before, but Manhattan stands out because of their online content and world class professors. Their exams are the most challenging, but they are accompanied by detailed explanations that really bring lessons home. As far as the professor, he left me feeling that he genuinely cared about my performance. He was more than willing to stay before and after class to answer questions and help out. I'm extremely thankful to Manhattan.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Great Course!
June 26 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: June 26, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 170 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   Washington, DC USA | Taught by:  Pedro Ledesma
Happy to recommend the Manhattan GMAT course. I just took the GMAT and scored a 770 (49Q/48V), and I couldn't have done that without the course. I went into the course never having taken a GMAT. On my first practice test (admittedly, I didn't know what I was doing), I got a 600. So, pretty substantial improvement.

Three things about the class really stand out: the instructor, the presentations, and the materials.

Pedro was a great instructor. He made the class engaging and fun, and he really knew his stuff. Going into the class, I expected someone who was really good at test-taking, but not well-versed in the substance. Boy was I wrong. Where necessary, Pedro went into the weeds of grammar and mathematics, and it was clear that he knows this stuff inside and out. I don't know or care what a participle is, but it's nice to know my GMAT instructor does.

Pedro was also really cool about staying after class to go over specific problems and challenges. He also was really quick to respond to questions over email. He definitely went above and beyond.

I really appreciated that the course was organized around GMAT problems, not around "tricks" for "beating" the test. Pedro would put a problem on the screen, we would do it individually, then talk about different ways to solve it. Any "tricks" that we learned were in the context finding shortcuts to solve specific problems. I found this approach refreshing, straightforward, and respectful of the students' intelligence.

The materials were first-rate. The course comes with a book on each major GMAT topic, and they do a good job laying out what you need to know. There are lots of online "labs" and practice sheets that I found useful. There is a great online system for inputting your answers to practice problems. It includes lots of data viz tools to help you see where you need to get better/speed up. And there are lots of practice tests, and solid tools for analyzing your results.

Bottom line, I went into the test feeling prepared.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Manhattan GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
560 to 710: Thanks Manhattan GMAT
October 01 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By apeltzer joined: October 1, 2013 | 0 | 5 | native speaker
Improvement: 150 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   Washington, DC USA | Taught by:  David Chong
I signed up for a 9 week Manhattan GMAT course after trying to study on my own. I realized that I needed to sign up for a course and I learn better in person (it also ensures that you go to class and don't procrastinate watching videos online). I started with a practice score of 560.

David was a great instructor and the course really provided me with the tools to understand the test and the tactics I needed to vastly improve my test score to 710 and also feel much more confident going into the test. On top of the great in-person instruction, it was a great resource to be able to review sessions online. There are also a ton of other resources and study aids on their site. I probably only accessed about a quarter of them!

I can't recommend Manhattan GMAT and David enough!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Good Course
November 18 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By matthewryanbrown joined: November 18, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 150 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   Washington, DC USA | Taught by:  Pedro Ledesma
This course got me focused on studying and provided structure I needed to succeed. The syllabus and books they provide were perhaps the greatest attribute.

My score increased exponentially as I was completely unprepared to do math that quickly. From around a 550 to a 700.

I do not think I studied as much as many other people but in crunch time I was able to go back over the syllabus and the books and hammer out my weaknesses.

Pedro was a very good instructor. I enjoyed his personality and style of teaching. This course gives you every opportunity to succeed if you put in the time and stay on course. Read the introduction books and then stay on track with the syllabus. 15 weeks will get you over a 700.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Manhattan GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Really Satisfied (720 V44 Q45)
December 06 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By eric1 joined: December 6, 2013 | 7 | 8 | native speaker
Improvement: 100 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   Washington, DC USA |
I took the full course and followed it to a tee (I even paid GMAC $50 to postpone my test so that I'd take the test a month after the course as MGMAT recommends). Well, it paid off. While my score is definitely skewed towards verbal, I'm very happy with it.

MGMAT offers tons of resources and my instructor (Joe Lucero) was awesome. Really friendly, engaging, and willing to communicate outside of class. My instructor and the MGMAT resources taught how to tackle problems from several different angles.

The class is pricey. So iif you don't apply yourself in class, do the homework, and study intensely, it's definitely not worth it. On the other hand, if you are serious about getting a high score, MGMAT will give you the tools to do so.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Manhattan GMAT Washington, DC Review
December 14 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By danielspiller joined: December 14, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 70 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   Washington, DC USA | Taught by:  Pedro Ledesma
I ended up taking the Manhattan GMAT course twice -- the first time online and second time in person with Pedro in DC. When I originally signed up, I was okay with the fact that Manhattan wasn't one of the companies that reimbursed you if your score went up. After all, they're not the ones taking the test and the books are probably more important than the work.

The online course was alright, but not my preferred method of instruction. One of the teachers (Stacy Koprince) was really good and the other was just alright, but I wasn't as serious about the GMAT I needed to be and I'm not sure how much the online course helped. The problem-based course format got me some practice but I didn't leave lessons feeling like I learned strategies for problems I hadn't seen before. They demonstrated how to answer the questions in front of us, but there was little discussion of how to translate that to new problems in the times required by the GMAT.

My score stayed even with my diagnostic of 640 (.

The in-person course was a different experience. I really liked Pedro who was engaging and sarcastic, which fits with my learning style. He was excellent at answering questions from the class and there was more discussion about the mindset for tackling new problems in the time allotted by the GMAT. Just as importantly, the talent level of the class was high and I learned from them as well! The class was still problem-focused, but more engaging and helpful overall.

In the end, I got a 710 (40Q, 47V) with 5.5 on AWA and 7/8 on IR.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Manhattan GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community


Manhattan GMAT Course Rankings
Overall Score Improvement
103 points
International Student Score Improvement
90 points
Verbal
100%
Quant
100%
Save $350
on Manhattan GMAT
+$100 discount
+$250 bonus
Get Manhattan GMAT Promo Code