Manhattan GMAT GMAT Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [214]      Average Rating:       (4.8/5)
Courses
Find by:  
    
    
    
    
    
 
Manhattan GMAT
Manhattan GMAT provides students with the skills and strategies essential for success. There are higher standards for what defines a competitive GMAT score today. We have no magic formula, no silver bullet, no empty guarantees. Instead, we have three basic principles that separate us from other test prep: the best teachers, the most advanced learning approach, and a focus solely placed on the GMAT. Save $250-350 on Manhattan GMAT courses with GMAT Club

  Reviews
Sort by:   date of publication  most helpful
Manhattan GMAT Course Review
May 24 | 2012

3 out of 3 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: May 22, 2012 | 3 | 5 | native speaker
Improvement: 140 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   San Jose (Milpitas), CA USA | Taught by:  Ron Purewal
I took the class a year ago with Ron Purewal. He is an amazing instructor, drilling down the essential "don'ts" for the GMAT. I had issues with timing, and it was essential that I dont brood over every question and focus on getting everything right. Ron along with the practice tests made me really take a step back and set my approach right.

The course keeps you on track with the self-study and homework sessions. The material is great as well. I actually took the test a year after going for the course so I had to come back to my class notes and the material. I gained ~140 point from when I took my first test before I started and ultimately got a score of 740.

I would highly recommend this course and Ron as an instructor.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
MGMAT rocks
April 02 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By GForce21 joined: April 2, 2012 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 80 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   San Jose (Milpitas), CA USA | Taught by:  Ron Purewal
I am very very happy with what MGMAT offers. I just got a 710
and I am satisfied with my score.

My fundamentals were strengthened after taking Ron Purewal's 9 week training, and I then went from 640 to 710 because of
1. the advanced DS + advanced SC workshops from Daniel Patinkin and Emily Sledge,
2. Ron's "Thu with Ron" which they give away for free !!

My confidence got a real boost after the advanced workshops because they teach you how to tackle hard problems and that makes the 600 level questions look easy.

MGMAT offers a complete package and I never looked at any other material - the strategy guides are excellent for strengthening your fundamentals, the instructors are top class, and the customer service is awesome. They really take care of students. I am also glad I got two 180 day extensions for online resources. I took the training months before and wasn't able to take the test immediately, so I had to delay taking the test and those extensions were very valuable.

Trust me ... If you really want to crack that 700 barrier you have to go with MGMAT.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Manhattan GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
highly recommended
April 02 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: April 2, 2012 | 3 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 150 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   San Jose (Milpitas), CA USA | Taught by:  Ron Purewal
I have been out of school for quite a few years so I needed to come up to speed pretty quick on the material. Initially, I tried studying on my own with a couple of the Manhattan GMAT books but wasn't progressing as fast as I liked.

Taking the class quickly turned that around. It forced me to stop making excuses for not studying and if you don't put in the work, you'll quickly fall behind.

I took my in-person class with Ron Purewal, who I believed scored 800 on the test. He was an excellent instructor. He would give us tips that were not in the Manhattan books but that help us solve the problems quicker. For example, he emphasized multiplying numbers a certain way to save time.

He was just fanatic about helping us ace the test. He answered pretty much every test question on the forums and showed the quickest way to derive the answers. On top of that, his Thursdays with Ron were very insightful.

I initially scored in the mid to upper 500’s on the Manhattan’s online test and ended up getting lower 700’s on both the Manhattan version and the real GMAT test. The biggest benefit of taking the Manhattan online tests for me was to get the timing down.

Your score is still up to you and how much effort you put into it but these guys can definitely save you time and help you get there. I highly recommend taking their classes, especially with Ron.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course Review
May 03 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By mercury283 joined: May 3, 2012 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 200 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   San Jose (Milpitas), CA USA | Taught by:  Ron Purewal
After having MGMAT recommended to me by several friends and family members who were accepted to top business schools, when the time came, I naturally chose MGMAT myself, and registered for a 9-Session course in Silicon Valley. Although I have a solid academic record and did my undergraduate studies at a top university, I've always been weak at standardized tests, especially computer adaptive ones (I've also taken the GRE) and especially on the quantitative sections. To cut to the case, I started with a diagnostic test score of only 510, but scored a 740 on the actual GMAT I took one week after the course ended. That's an increase of 230 points. The course materials are very thorough. In fact a lot of the advanced sections are not really needed if your goal is only to achieve a 700+ score (as opposed to a 750+). My instructor was very intelligent and knew the material extremely well. A MGMAT course is not cheap, but once you start the course you quickly realize you really are getting your money's worth, in terms of the quality of the course materials (i.e. the strategy guides and class lecture content) and the quality of the instructors (mine had multiple perfect 800 scores under his belt). The online tools are also top-notch. I found the O.G. Archer tool and the study organizer spreadsheet to be very useful. MGMAT also offers 6 high-quality practice CATs. I actually found the two free practice CATs from the GMAC's GMATPrep software to be too a bit too easy compared to the actual exam, and the MGMAT CAT to be closer in difficulty to the real thing. In fact on the most recent MGMAT practice CAT I took before taking the real exam, I got a Q47/V45/740. On the real exam I scored a Q46/V46/740, so it was a very good predictor of my real score. The course is fairly intense (there is a lot of homework and lots of supplemental material if you have time for it), but if you put in the time and effort, in my opinion MGMAT is probably the best GMAT prep company you can choose to help you reach your score goals. I haven't taken a GMAT prep course with a competing company, but I did take a GRE prep course several years ago with Princeton Review, and in my opinion the quality of MGMAT is higher in all respects. Anyway, much thanks again to Manhattan GMAT and to Ron for helping me get a great score.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Manhattan GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Stick With It!
August 28 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: May 18, 2013 | 6 | 16 | native speaker
Improvement: 150 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   San Jose (Milpitas), CA USA | Taught by:  Ron Purewal
I took a GMAT review class with Manhattan GMAT's instructor, Ron. First let me say, he is a total genius! Because of that fact, if you're like me, you are likely to feel a little bit inadequate in his classes as he moves through the problems with ease. Don't let this get you down though. You want the best there is, and you've got him. Ron is amazing at providing different avenues for solving tough problems, which ultimately will make all the difference in increasing your confidence level (and your score) come test day. For me personally, I more or less figured out verbal from the beginning, but I really struggled with quant after not doing things like geometry for many years. Ron helped me to realize that the GMAT is like having a really busy but successful day at work - you are stressed, but on top of it. I went into the test remembering that and I walked out with a 740! I actually drove all the way from San Francisco to Santa Clara to take his class on a friend's recommendation, and I have not regretted the travel once. As my friend is starting at a top 10 b-school and I am starting to fill out my applications, I know that Ron gave us both a solid GMAT foundation to start from. Thanks Ron!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Highly recommend MGMAT + Ron Purewal
September 03 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By meghanadhar joined: June 15, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 160 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   San Jose (Milpitas), CA USA | Taught by:  Ron Purewal
MGMAT is fantastic -- lessons and instructors are excellent. I found the online resources (+ Thursdays w/ Ron) to be essential to my prep process.

Most of all, Ron Purewal is simply phenomenal, but you already knew that.

Highly recommend!

edit: wondering why the review form mandates 100 words when business schools seek concise and to-the-point writing, and presumably, writers of these reviews plan to attend business school one day. Feels like I just identified a structural problem in the process. And now I'm going to write a few more words so that I can get to the required minimum word count.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Manhattan GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Excellent prep course, great instructors !!
September 03 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By cvk84 joined: May 23, 2013 | 9 | 1 | native speaker
Improvement: 90 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   San Jose (Milpitas), CA USA | Taught by:  Ron Purewal
I've seen the MGMAT books before but I wanted to learn some actual test strategies to hit the 99th percentile. I'm very glad I took the 9-week course under an amazing instructor, Ron Purewal. My score on the GMAT after this course was 760, from an initial mock test score of 670.

Quant: I'm a techie, so I'm used to writing complex equations, doing in-the-air math and spending long hours on tough problems. Unlearning these habits for the GMAT was the most helpful part of this course. After some initial resistance and disastrous mock tests, I understood Ron's emphasis on finding alternate techniques and using common sense in Quant. In every class, once a problem's time was up, Ron would stress stopping work on the problem and actually putting the pen down. This is probably the hardest part for techies - accepting that the problem just beat you. But with Ron enforcing this strategy in every class, I acquired this habit and my quant scores started going up in my mock tests. Ron also teaches several alternatives to algebra to unblock you, these come extremely handy on the actual test.

Verbal: I was terrified of CR questions, I always seemed to get these wrong. Again, Ron's techniques of summarizing the arguments and real-world thinking helped enormously here. After a while, CR became all about common sense and real-world reasoning. Sentence Correction gets easier as you go through the 9 weeks, tougher topics like Modifiers come up later in the course. But it's enough to just practice the topics covered in each class and focus on SC strategy and timing. My only concern was RC, which gets only two classes in the course. While passage-reading techniques, timing and question types were covered, I had to rely on some external resources, like blogs, to recognize the question types and eliminate bad answers.

Mock tests: Very very useful in getting used to the test format. I took 8 MGMAT + 2 GMATPrep tests, one each weekend. The assessment summaries tell you where you're getting better, and where you need to improve. Definitely do the AWA and IR sections to build stamina, the Verbal is a lot tougher then since you're sapped by then (just like the real GMAT).

Takeaways: Rely on Ron to teach you the right techniques for all the problem types, interact as much as you can in his class. Break the bad habits and apply Ron's techniques to practice problems. The strategy guides (especially SC) give you all the necessary content. But the practice is really up to you. Apart from the official OG and guides, I used the MGMAT Question banks, the 494 additional questions from GMATPrep. Also, watch "Thursdays with Ron" for the tough topics. Above all, enjoy the GMAT prep and the test becomes a lot easier.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.


Manhattan GMAT Course Rankings
Overall Score Improvement
100 points
International Student Score Improvement
92 points
Verbal
100%
Quant
100%
Save $350
on Manhattan GMAT
+$100 discount
+$250 bonus
Get Manhattan GMAT Promo Code