Manhattan GMAT GMAT Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [214]      Average Rating:       (4.8/5)
Courses
Find by:  
    
    
    
    
    
 
Manhattan GMAT
Manhattan GMAT provides students with the skills and strategies essential for success. There are higher standards for what defines a competitive GMAT score today. We have no magic formula, no silver bullet, no empty guarantees. Instead, we have three basic principles that separate us from other test prep: the best teachers, the most advanced learning approach, and a focus solely placed on the GMAT. Save $250-350 on Manhattan GMAT courses with GMAT Club

  Reviews
Sort by:   date of publication  most helpful
Review for Advanced Quant Workshop
April 17 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: April 16, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 40 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  MGMAT Live Online | Location:   Online |
Note: I did not provide a verbal score because the workshop was for quant only. My raw score improved 3 points in Quant--leaving me with a 740 overall. My quant percentile was not great, but was always going to be the weaker element for me.

I took this course about a week before taking the GMAT for the second time. Manhattan recommends allowing more lead time--and I think I could have benefited even more with more time--but it was still worth it. The class was great. It gave me a great framework for difficult problems that test number theory. We also worked on shortcuts to simplify long equations. We moved through content quickly but with adequate explanation to make sure all participants understood. The software was easy to use. I had studied on my own and wished I had taken this class sooner - definitely worth the money.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
GMAT Self Study
March 20 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: February 19, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 100 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  MGMAT Guided Self Study | Location:   Online |
The MGMAT foundational books and strategy guides are excellent resources for anyone who would like to go at their own pace and prefers to teach themselves the GMAT material.

Personally, I needed foundations books for both Math and English in order to be in a position to start the study guides. The OG Archer and MGMAT CATs are also excellent to review your strengths and weaknesses. One area I feel MGMAT could significantly improve is their website functionality. The ability to view right/wrong answers with explanations, in aggregate should be a basic function of the website. I've used other study programs for financial designations, that were well ahead of MGMAT's site. That said, their answer video explanations on the OG Archer are priceless and for the price, it's a steal.

I would recommend the self study, OG Archer, and CATs to any friend.

Good luck!

Jon
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Manhattan GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Manhattan GMAT
March 19 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: February 10, 2012 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 130 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   Washington, DC USA | Taught by:  Mark Porath
I took the Manhattan GMAT class starting in the Fall of 2011. I definitely recommend this class.

In the class sessions, you’ll learn strategies for answering every type of problem on the GMAT. This kind of information is hard to learn via self-study, and I see some of my peers struggling with the GMAT because they didn’t take the class.

Manhattan provides everything you need to learn the concepts. It is up to you to make sure you master every problem type.

The secret to acing the GMAT is to MASTER every problem in the GMAC Official Guide. Manhattan has the OG Archer, which breaks down the Official Guide by question and sub-question type. Going over every single problem and then re-reviewing the ones that you missed was the secret to my success. Also, you have to take every practice test available – 6 Manhattan tests and 2 official GMAC tests. Review each test thoroughly, even the problems you answered correctly.

My practice test scores went as follows:

610 (Manhattan)
640 (Manhattan)
650 (Manhattan)
650 (Manhattan)
650 (Manhattan)
690 (Official GMAC)
720 (Manhattan)
700 (Official GMAC)

Official Score: 740

My practice scores shot up once I had mastered most of the OG material. Taking regular practices tests is also crucial so that you get a feel for your testing strategy. If I had been able to get to the OG quant and verbal supplements, I think I could have done even better.

Good luck to you all.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Jon Schneider & Manhattan GMAT: A+!
March 11 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Shoot2Skor joined: March 11, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 80 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   New York (Manhattan), NY USA | Taught by:  Jonathan Schneider
Jon was a terrific instructor and the Manhattan GMAT platform was extremely helpful in my test preparation! The online, time practice tests are a great resource to get as many reps as you need.

Consider pros/cons of small/large classes. Popular class times are good, but large classes can move slowly due to student questions of varying levels.

Overall, it was a terrific experience. Very nurturing environment and Jon gave terrific guidance along the way. I missed several classes and was able to make them up at other times at my convenience. Finally, the set of preparation books were comprehensive and, together with the course syllabus, provided a structured test preparation schedule.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Manhattan GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Professionalism
February 18 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By RamonaLohan joined: January 26, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 60 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT Private Tutoring | Location:   Johannesburg, South Africa |
If you really want to beat GMAT, I wholeheartedly recommend you Manhattan GMAT. The company is very serious, their books are fantastic (algebra, geometry, fractions, number properties, etc - all of them are awesome). Very clear and simple to understand, before reading them and solving the problems in each chapter I had many question marks. They really helped me to understand topics that seemed hard up to that point.

Then, if you need a private tutor, I fully recommend you to ask for Sarah Ryan. I know she is very busy, but maybe you will have the luck I had and get some hours with her. She is fantastic: very serious, punctual, responds to all your emails and questions very promptly, she is very professional. She taught me the best strategies that one needs in order to ace the GMAT. Before working with her, I had another private tutor - from another company - and it was a total disaster! He would never reply when I asked for the problem's solutions, he didn't teach me any strategy rgd timing or guessing etc. Unfortunately I wasn't aware of this until someone asked me if my tutor taught me how to guess...Then I realized what happened but it was too late. My first GMAT score reflected this - it was much below the score I aimed at. With Sarah it was different from the first meeting - she shared with me all the important things that one needs for a 700 score: how to look at challenging problems, how to guess, how to prepare to be efficient, what's the psychology of the test. Actually, not only did she teach me so many things, but she also helped me to rebuild my self-confidence that was pretty shaken after my previous tutoring experience. She is very smart, open, it is a real pleasure to talk to her. You really feel you have a professional tutor next to you. She adapts her style to each student and shows you how to solve problems in different ways, which is very helpful. She gives you homework and challenges you. She tells you what you have to improve, helps you with clear explanation and directs you toward the tools needed to do this. She is very good.

I know that private tutoring is pretty expensive, but now, when I receive invitations to the interviews from some of the best schools in the world, I am happy I made this investment. So don't hesitate if it's about money! It pays back!

In conclusion: if you want to prepare for GMAT using a company, go for Manhattan GMAT - don't take the risk with cheaper offers that could disappoint you and finally make you pay more! I am sure MGMAT has the right product for you, so have a look. Furthermore, they have the best customer service ever - you will see.
And if you want a very good private tutor, ask for Sarah Ryan.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Manhattan GMAT and Stacey Koprince at MGMAT = Excellent Resources for the GMAT
February 17 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By mkaddaha joined: April 8, 2013 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 30 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT Private Tutoring | Location:   Montreal, Canada | Taught by:  Stacey Koprince
Hi,

As I benefited from other users' reviews, I would like to pay the favour forward and write my own review of the GMAT Prep companies that I used and specifically of Manhattan GMAT.

First, the Manhattan GMAT (MGMAT) Strategy guides are the best resources to study from, regardless of your preparation level and of your knowledge. These books have provided me with the foundations for all of the concepts tested on the GMAT. The material is comprehensive and covers everything. The end of chapter problems in the strategy guides not only allow you to practice what you have learned but also provide you with the confidence that you need in your studies. I went over these guides many times until I understood all of the concepts well.

Second, the MGMAT CATs are the most accurate tests and the most representative of the actual GMAT compared to the other available resources. I have done practice tests from Veritas, Knewton, and GMAT Prep. The Math is harder on the MGMAT CATs than on the actual GMAT. For the Verbal section, I read a lot online that MGMAT CAT Verbal part is easier than the actual GMAT Verbal part. I do not agree with this assessment. The actual GMAT Verbal may seem harder due to the additional stress associated with the actual test experience. I definitely recommend the MGMAT CATs as practice to anyone who is aiming for high 600s or 700s score.

Third, Stacey Koprince at MGMAT is an excellent teacher and a great motivator. When Stacey stresses in online forums and to her personal clients to do ALL parts of the GMAT CAT when practising at home, she is spot on. One of the main things that I changed and that as a result helped me improve my score by 30 points (670 to 700) was the stamina that I built by doing the AWA and IR sections every time I did a practice test. Furthermore, Stacey is excellent at identifying the weaknesses of students. Each one of us knows what his/her weaknesses are but we sometimes attribute greater weight to improving certain weaknesses while completely ignoring other weaknesses. For example, I was always keen on practising Math question in order to improve my Math knowledge. However, to do well on the GMAT is to learn when to skip a question that tests an acknowledged weakness of yours in order to save time and preserve your mental energy for the questions when the GMAT actually tests your stronger areas. Stacey drilled this point in me and she was right in doing so. For example, I am much stronger in Verbal (hitting 90% plus in practice tests) than in Math. On the actual GMAT, I got this crazy combinatorics problem. I remembered Stacey's advice at that point and simply guessed on the question. This in turn helped me focus my mental energy and my time on the remaining Math questions and on the Verbal part.

Finally, my greatest improvement had been in Sentence Correction (SC). I feel like once you have a good grasp on the rules tested, it actually becomes fun to solve SC questions on the GMAT. As is widely agreed on the GMAT online forums, MGMAT SC guide is an amazing tool to use to improve your SC performance. The book organizes the information in a very elegant way and the end of chapter problems are really good practice. However, Knewton's SC lessons are very very good as well. If you study SC from MGMAT and Knewton then you'll for sure be hitting over 90% in Verbal provided that your CR and RC are decent (70% to 80%).

I owe Stacey Koprince and Manhattan GMAT a lot. They were tremendously helpful and really aim on developing personable relationships with their clients. I asked Stacey to call me for a few minutes before I started the GMAT and hearing her confidence-instilling words really helped me focus my attention on doing well in the test.

Thanks Stacey and Thanks Manhattan GMAT!

Good luck to Everyone!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Manhattan GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Manhattan GMAT and Dimitry Farber
February 04 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By sanazfotoohi joined: February 3, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 70 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT Private Tutoring | Location:   Victoria, Canada | Taught by:  Dmitry Farber
The first time I took the GMAT, I scored 630(50Q, 25V).
I was scheduled to rewrite the test in 4 weeks. I needed a score of 700+. I contacted Manhattan GMAT.

I worked with Dimitry Farber, my private tutor, for 7 sessions, and we revamped my reading skills for RC, as well as my CR and SC skills. On the exam day I scored a 700(50Q, 35V).

Manhattan GMAT is simply the best study guide. The tutors (specifically Dimitry) are educated and well prepared. Dimitry taught me how to read RC passages, get the big picture, and identify the author's voice. He also taught me to find the answers to CR questions through MOE and to identify premises and their roles with respect to the conclusion, to find a gap in assumption questions, and to find 'a' conclusion for inference questions. Manhattan GMAT SC guide is very thorough and one can never go wrong using it. Dimitry and Manhattan GMAT also taught me about Timing Strategies and Strategic Guessing through out the exam.

A good understanding of verbal really helps with business education. Invest in understanding GMAT via Manhattan GMAT and it will serve you well in the long run.

Cheers :)
Sanaz
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Outstanding Course
January 13 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By cgoods joined: January 13, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 150 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   Chicago-N. LaSalle, IL USA | Taught by:  Keith Blume
Manhattan GMAT is an outstanding course for people that are dedicated to working hard enough to get their desired score. The course teaches the fundamentals of solving all problems, and the extra resources provided ensure that all students have access to upper level questions and an opportunity to score in the 700+ range. Prior to taking Manhattan GMAT, I was scoring in the 500-600 range. Afterward, I was consistently in the 700-760 range. They drill timing and analysis of problems, which allows students to tackle even the hardest of problems. I would recommend the course to anyone that is looking to score high enough on the GMAT to get into top 10 business schools.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Manhattan GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Excellent.
January 12 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: December 29, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   San Francisco, CA USA | Taught by:  Kim Cabot
Manhattan GMAT's reputation precedes itself. After hearing about it from all my college friends, I decided to sign up for a formal class with them. What I found was an extremely talented and engaging professor, and extremely well developed teaching methodology, and tons of GMAT experience. All in all, it'd pretty hard to go wrong with the 9 session Manhattan GMAT course, especially since it includes all of the books you need to succeed on the exam, as well as $300 retake course in case you need a refresher later on. What's more, the courses attract many other talented students who want to succeed, so you can organize study groups, or at least be motivated to study hard to succeed in the class as well as on the final exam itself. I highly recommend this class, and hope you find it as helpful as I did.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Manhattan GMAT FTW
January 12 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By CardinalSaint joined: January 12, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 120 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   Philadelphia, PA USA | Taught by:  Abby Berry
MGMAT is great class and I would recommend it to anyone. Before picking a class, I asked around and the general consensus was on MGMAT. I had previously tried to study on my own, but was overwhelmed by all the material that needed to be covered. MGMAT broke the material down into manageable steps and really helped me hone in on my problem areas.

The in-person class was more than I could have hoped for and I would and have recommended Abby’s class to anyone that listens. Like many perfectionist, I struggled with skipping problems, but Abby really helped me get over my ego and do what was best for my score. She was also able to teach the class in a manner that worked for people that were all at different levels and never did I feel like we were going too slowly.

Overall the course was great and helped me improve my score from a 640 on my original diagnostic to a 760 on test day.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Manhattan GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community


Manhattan GMAT Course Rankings
Overall Score Improvement
100 points
International Student Score Improvement
92 points
Verbal
100%
Quant
100%
Save $350
on Manhattan GMAT
+$100 discount
+$250 bonus
Get Manhattan GMAT Promo Code