Manhattan GMAT GMAT Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [229]      Average Rating:       (4.8/5)
Courses
Find by:  
    
    
    
    
    
 
Manhattan GMAT
Manhattan GMAT provides students with the skills and strategies essential for success. There are higher standards for what defines a competitive GMAT score today. We have no magic formula, no silver bullet, no empty guarantees. Instead, we have three basic principles that separate us from other test prep: the best teachers, the most advanced learning approach, and a focus solely placed on the GMAT. Save $250-350 on Manhattan GMAT courses with GMAT Club

  Reviews
Sort by:   date of publication  most helpful
Verbal was bomb but Quant didn't connect the dots well enough
July 21 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: March 26, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 150 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   Boston (Back Bay), MA USA | Taught by:  Josh Yardley
Admittedly, I'm someone who hasn't practiced math in a really long time and for full disclosure, my studies focused much more on the books post-course. But, I thought the verbal books were amazing, straight-forward, were very comprehensive. My verbal score literally doubled after spending minimal time reviewing the verbal books, but, to be fair, I think verbal was always going to be my strength. The math, for me, felt like it offered a lot of "rules" but wasn't helpful in terms of implementing the rules in a way that was effective for the adaptive/logic-over-math skills nature of the test. The practice questions after each section weren't in any way geared toward the test, so if you dedicatedly do them, it's just not going to help that much. I just feel like MGMAT's approach to quant isn't holistic enough. It was much more about trying to strengthen your math foundation rather than strongly coupling that with a strong foundation for approaching this adaptive test, a test which I think few of us have encountered before. My suggestion: definitely buy the verbal books. Pass on the math. Course was fine but I probably would have done another (and have since).


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Manhattan GMAT - Best Decision for GMAT Takers
July 14 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By neiljain21 joined: July 14, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 100 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   Toronto, Canada | Taught by:  Avi Gutman
I took the Manhattan GMAT in-person class with Avi as well as some private tutoring in Toronto and would recommend him to anyone looking to improve their GMAT score. Avi's command of the material is unbelievable, but it is method of teaching that truly separates him from any other teacher I have ever had. In no time, he was able to identify my areas of weakness, shorten the time I spent on each question and improve my overall confidence going into the exam.

With Avi's help, I was able to score a 730 on the official GMAT test. He is continuously willing to help you with any questions, even after your class has ended. Overall, Avi is a great person and a fantastic teacher who truly makes the concepts interesting. I guarantee he will improve the score of anyone willing to put the effort into their preparation.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Manhattan GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Great Results from Manhattan GMAT Live Online
July 14 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: July 14, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 180 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  MGMAT Live Online | Location:   Online | Taught by:  Joseph Martin
I took the Manhattan GMAT Live Online 9-session course and was extremely satisfied with the results--a nearly 200 point improvement from my diagnostic score. I have a full-time job and live in an area not very close to an in-person Manhattan GMAT course, so the live online course was a great option for me and fit well into my schedule. I also found that no quality was lost in taking the course online (rather than in-person). The instruction quality was great, the instructors were engaging and required participation, we were able to ask questions in real time, and practiced getting in an answer in the right time frame. The only improvements I can think of for the course would be a bit more time focused on strategic and effective guessing (when necessary) and the Integrated Reasoning section. But overall, I thought the course was excellent and highly recommend!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Manhattan GMAT Review
July 14 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By ericweiss17 joined: July 14, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 120 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   New York (Manhattan), NY USA | Taught by:  Jonathan Schneider
I enrolled in the 10 week evening prep course knowing that I would find it nearly impossible to dedicate the time required to do well on the GMAT without some kind of driving force. Manhattan GMAT was the perfect solution. Our teacher, Jonathan Schneider, was knowledgeable, approachable and incredibly engaging. The in-course syllabus set the groundwork for success, and the post-course practice delivered the results I needed. Overall, my score increased 120 points from the diagnostic

Manhattan GMAT properly stresses the most important and most difficult aspects of the exam without neglecting the "little things" than can mean the difference between a 690 and 700. The practice exams are also great, and, while harder than the actual test (in my opinion), allow you to get a feel for what test day will feel like


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Manhattan GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Excellent!
July 12 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By ericheidt joined: July 12, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 180 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  MGMAT Guided Self Study Plus | Location:   Online | Taught by:  Tim Sanders
You can buy the Manhattan Prep Study Guides on Amazon or in your local B&N. The books are great and should be reviewed consistently as you will understand more of the content each time. This review is not about the solid study material. Manhattan Prep's online tools (especially the Archer tool) are essential. The office hours (phone conferences with instructors) were invaluable. Understanding what to do to get past certain plateaus was only possible for me after quick chats with the instructors. I used the Online Self Study program over a 2 month period and scored a 720, 180 points above my diagnostic test.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Manhattan GMAT -- got me to a 740
July 11 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By gconway joined: July 11, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 100 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   Philadelphia, PA USA | Taught by:  Abby Berry
I took a 9-week course in Spring 2014. The materials provided by Manhattan GMAT are invaluable. I found the set of math books to be extremely helpful -- the books are separated into various topics, such as Fractions/Decimals/Percents or Word Problems, and provide easy-to-follow steps and quick tricks to solve these problems. I had a very limited understanding of these basic math concepts (I hadn't taken a math class in a few years) before taking this course and the books quickly brought me up to competitive levels. The Quant problems are very difficult which also helped prepare me for test day. There are also plenty of practice problems provided both by Manhattan and MBA.com's Official Guide of problems. I found the online resources unrivaled with any other program. The online resources provide a platform for you to time yourself and plug in the answers to problems from the Official Guide and then synthesize all of the data to highlight weak and strong points. The online practice tests have similar tools, such as showing areas where you move too fast or too slowly, or where you need the most work. I found that incredibly helpful as I was able to focus on my problem areas for most of the course and then honed in on my strengths in the days before the exam. The IR sections are incredibly difficult on Manhattan GMAT, but again, they prepared me for test day and I received a score of 8. My instructor for the course (Abby Berry) was professional, energetic and had a genuine interest in each student. She tailored the course to fit the class's needs rather than following a rigid and generic structure which I found very helpful. Manhattan GMAT helped me bring my score to levels competitive with the averages of the top five business schools and I am very satisfied with my outcome. I would highly recommend this course.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Manhattan GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Manhattan GMAT Online Course
July 11 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: July 11, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 160 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  MGMAT Live Online | Location:   Online | Taught by:  Josh Braslow
The Manhattan GMAT online course was a fabulous experience. I am not a natural standardized test taker and this course improved my score tremendously. Over the course, my practice scores improved drastically over the previous score and I ended up getting a great score overall. To put it in perspective, I scored a 570 on my first practice test and scored well over 700 on the actual test. The course really breaks down each part of the test and makes it easy to track and attack performance on each section. It would be very hard to study "smart" without taking the course. The Manhattan resources allow you to customize studying and break it down into manageable chunks. I would recommend this course to anyone interested.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Well designed, precise and easy to grasp
July 10 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By mauryamodi joined: July 10, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 20 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  MGMAT Live Online | Location:   Online |
I was hitting a wall at around 700 when I started watching Manhattan lecture videos. Manhattan's lecture videos are very well organized and is very precise and is designed in such a way, that you would easily grasp what they try to convey.

The best part I liked was that I could pause the videos, replay those areas which I needed to review and take my own time to take good notes.

I loved spending every hour on this and I was able to bump up my score to 720. I would recommend everyone to watch these videos as soon as they start preparing for GMAT so that they can build a solid fundamental base.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Manhattan GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
The Best for a Reason!
July 09 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: July 8, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 90 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   New York (Lower Manhattan), NY USA | Taught by:  David Mahler
Boy am I glad I signed up to take this course. Without a doubt, Manhattan GMAT is the best in the biz. Yea, it's pricey, but for a reason. Their instructors and curriculum are bar none the best. The best parts of the courses are the extremely detailed syllabus which was really helpful for me to review after the course along with a list of more challenging questions to tackle for those looking for an even higher score (700+). In addition, the material on their website is phenomenal. You get a whole suite of study materials including printable flashcards, workshops, "Archer" which keeps track of the problems you attempt in the Official GMAT Guide, and more! My only comment is that the practice tests seemed to be a little too difficult - I scored about 50 points lower on them than other practice tests I took, but then again I guess making it harder helped me get a great score on the actual test.

My instructor Dave Mahler, was excellent at keeping the class on track and was able to answer a myriad of questions I threw at him.

I highly recommend these guys if you're a high scorer looking to get into the top 20 b-schools!


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Awesome experience
July 07 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By alexhendricks joined: July 7, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 100 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   New York (Lower Manhattan), NY USA | Taught by:  David Mahler
I was initially pretty hesitant to sign up for a GMAT prep class, since I tend to prefer one-on-one tutoring, but I felt like it was worth a try and if I wanted to supplement it with one-on-one, I could do that. I ended up not needing the additional prep since the class was so helpful.

The class is split pretty evenly between Verbal and Quant, but Reading Comp is only taught touched on during one class, so that's something to do more of on your own time. My instructor, Dave, was particularly helpful for Quant, providing tips on how to set up a problem properly to maximize time.

Given that the class is only 3 hours each week, the majority of work has to be done outside of class, so it's up to each individual to put in the work. The HW syllabus is great in that it builds on itself and the GMAT online Navigator provide really thorough explanations and difficulty scale for each of the problems. There are additional resources and drill sets that were great for the days leading up to the test to stay fresh without over-exerting.

I would recommend Dave as he was always available by email and after class for additional questions and therapy sessions (since a breakdown is almost inevitable in this process). He moved quickly but was always willing to go back and ensure the class got the basics.

In my personal experience, the practice tests are helpful for timing purposes but the problems are a bit harder than the actual GMAT (particularly the IR and Verbal sections).

Overall, great experience.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Manhattan GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community


Manhattan GMAT Course Rankings
Overall Score Improvement
102 points
International Student Score Improvement
90 points
Verbal
100%
Quant
100%
Save $350
on Manhattan GMAT
+$100 discount
+$250 bonus
Get Manhattan GMAT Promo Code