Manhattan GMAT GMAT Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [240]      Average Rating:       (4.8/5)
Courses
Find by:  
    
    
    
    
    
 
Manhattan GMAT
Manhattan GMAT provides students with the skills and strategies essential for success. There are higher standards for what defines a competitive GMAT score today. We have no magic formula, no silver bullet, no empty guarantees. Instead, we have three basic principles that separate us from other test prep: the best teachers, the most advanced learning approach, and a focus solely placed on the GMAT. Save $250-350 on Manhattan GMAT courses with GMAT Club

  Reviews
Sort by:   date of publication  most helpful
Low 500 to 750!
August 19 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By PeterHAllen joined: November 8, 2013 | 16 | 34 | native speaker
Improvement: 200 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   New York (Manhattan), NY USA | Taught by:  Gregg Lachow
I went from a low 500 GMAT score to a 750. If your goal is to get a top GMAT score than you have to use Manhattan GMAT. Just google it, every site you find will tell you that Manhattan GMAT is the best. I took the in person course with Gregg Lachow in NYC. He was fantastic, super smart guy who knew how to explain things in a way for all to understand. What separates Manhattan GMAT from other test prep companies is that they do not just teach tips and tricks but instead teach how to confidently solve each type of problem. They seem to fully grasp how the test makers think and teach the material in a way that guarantees success. I could not have done it without them. If you are serious about the GMAT then go for Manhattan GMAT.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Great experience with the exception of CAT exams
August 19 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By rss92 joined: July 13, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 130 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  MGMAT Live Online | Location:   Online | Taught by:  Brett Kimball
Overall I had a great experience with Manhattan GMAT. I took a 9-week, online class with Brett Kimball, and actually enjoyed attending class sessions. He did a great job tailoring the class material to our level. I was very nervous about the "online" nature of the class beforehand, because I've never been great at learning off of a computer. However, the software MGMAT uses for the online sessions is truly fantastic, and I had no trouble remaining engaged in the course.

The course materials were incredibly comprehensive. I've heard of other people studying for the GMAT mix and matching materials from a variety of test prep companies, but I felt that I was 100% prepared with the materials that Manhattan GMAT made available.

One of the most worthwhile features of Manhattan GMAT, for me, were all the materials on the website. GMAT Navigator is a great program for answering prep questions, and the tools to analyze results/progress are really helpful. In addition, the online workshops are great for a deeper dive into a concept at your own pace. I especially liked the one for the Integrated Reasoning section. The question banks were also really helpful, as I was able to really ascertain what my mistakes were in regards to specific topics, and I was able to note what to make sure not to do when I saw those types of questions again. Finally, I found the online forum to be really helpful, especially since the instructors are very active in answering questions.

However, I feel that MGMAT could definitely improve its CAT exam experience, specifically with the Quant section. I found MGMAT's CAT exams' Quant section to be much harder than the real thing, and I ended up having a severe confidence issue with the test because of it. I probably ended up studying much harder and for the wrong topics because of the difficulty gap. I also wasn't able to practice timing properly as I was struggling so much with the difficulty level. I would have really appreciated if MGMAT would have been more upfront about the difficulty level of their exams, especially since I have heard of many people feeling the same way about their CAT Exams as I did. Otherwise, if MGMAT does not want to let its students know that its CAT exams aren't fully accurate, then they should fix the types of questions generated to make them more representative of the actual test. As a testament to this difficulty gap, my best score on a MGMAT CAT was a 720, but on the real thing I scored a 770 (which was comparable to my GMATPrep scores).

Overall, I wouldn't have been able to score as well as I did without the class and resources Manhattan GMAT provided. However, I do feel the inaccurate difficulty of Manhattan GMAT's CAT exams did hurt me in some way. Regardless, I do highly recommend Manhattan GMAT, but advise that when doing their CAT exams you keep in mind this point about difficulty.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Manhattan GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
100% Recommend
August 19 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: August 19, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 120 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   Atlanta (North), GA USA |
100% recommend the complete course. It brought consistency and structure to not only individual problems but my study strategy as a whole, and James makes the class as enjoyable as it can be. A lot of the course quant material especially is more difficult than the actual GMAT, which in the end is nice because you feel more comfortable during the actual exam. The online tools, especially Navigator and solution video reviews, are really valuable. Most importantly, the class works. Some people are worried about MGMAT not having a guaranteed point improvement, but I would be willing to bet the average point improvement with Manhattan, especially for students who work through the entire syllabus, is significantly higher than anywhere else.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Rock Solid Program
August 16 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: August 16, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 100 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   San Francisco, CA USA |
I had Ryan Jacobs in SF - awesome guy and great instructor. the materials themselves were helpful, but the way of thinking about the test was the most important for me in going ~+100 points in score. Key things that he had us focusing on included the timing around the test as well as thinking strategically about skipping problems to increase speed and overall score.

The lightening rounds were also very helpful as they really put the time pressure on and forced us to think of the faster method to solving problems versus just trying to brute force them.

Ryan has also been a great resource after the course, helping answer follow up questions I had and staying in touch.
Thanks for all the help Ryan!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Manhattan GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
640 CAT to 770 on first attempt
August 12 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: August 7, 2014 | 0 | 5 | native speaker
Improvement: 130 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   Boston (Back Bay), MA USA |
Josh was both personable and smart, as well as a good instructor. The course covered all the necessary content, as well as timing, guessing, and study strategies. I made sure to work the entire quant foundations before the first class, and about half the verbal foundations (my verbal was high so I was not as worried).

Throughout the course I kept up with the syllabus, although I had to balance a full-time job. I did all of the problems after each class, and recorder all my answers for OG problems in the archer, which has been rebranded the GMAT Navigator.

I didn't stray from the syllabus and took the CATs as instructed:

MGMAT CAT 1: 630 (Q37, V38) before session 1
MGMAT CAT 2: 700 (Q45, V40, IR 3.8) before session 6
MGMAT CAT 3: 680 (Q46, V37, IR 3.1) before session 8

On my first MGMAT CAT I was correctly answering 700 level problems, but I was spending 3-5 minutes, so I left about 9 problems unanswered. Alongside learning how to solve problems efficiently, the course drilled timing and guessing strategies, and I reinforced those in my homework and self-study sessions. Every problem was done timed (and this was the answer than I plugged into the Navigator), but then I would continue to work towards the right solution, and in the end I would compare my solution to the Manhattan solution to look for mistakes or inefficient techniques.

After the course, I worked all the quant problems in OG13, the 2nd edition quant supplement, and all the problems in OG12 that were removed from OG13. And then I did all the problems in OG13 again, although I ran into my deadline (T-minus 1 week) and stopped working problems at this point.
I followed the recommended study plan and these were my post-course results:

MGMAT CAT 4: 730 (Q45, V45, IR 3.8) 2.5 weeks before GMAT
GMATPrep CAT 1: 750 (Q49, V42, IR 8) 1.5 weeks before GMAT

Leading up to my first official GMAT score:
GMAT 773 (Q49, V48, IR 8)

The Manhattan course provided an excellent structure to my studying, and I believe the Manhattan CATs are "harder" in a way that is very useful. The problems Manhattan wrote were not any trickier than official problems, but they often required more steps, or more calculations. This forced me to learn to solve problems efficiently; I was constantly timing my problems and practicing guessing or choice-elimination strategies.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Great Program
August 09 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By chrblan joined: August 9, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 120 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   Washington, DC USA | Taught by:  Pedro Ledesma
I had not taken a standardized test in ten years, nor had I really done any quantitative work since my freshman year of college. My first practice GMAT reflected that; I didn't finish the quantitative portion at all and scored a 640 overall. By the end of the Manhattan GMAT class, I was scoring mid to high 700s on my practice tests, and scored a 760 the second time I took the actual test. I had a rough week the first time I took the test, just a few days after the end of the class) and was not satisfied with my score, so I retook it after studying the class materials for another month, focusing in on my weak points. It is a very comprehensive, well-structured, and effective program. If you need a thorough review, take this class, do the recommended homework assignments, and use the practice tests to identify specific types of problems where you are weak.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Manhattan GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Go with Manhattan GMAT
August 08 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By aliyasaigol joined: August 7, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 90 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   Philadelphia, PA USA | Taught by:  Abby Berry
I would absolutely recommend the Manhattan GMAT course to anyone considering taking the GMAT. I took the 9-week course on UPenn's campus with instructor Abby Berry. Manhattan GMAT provides you with access to more resources than you could ever need to help you prepare for the test (books, practice exams, one-on-one instructor office hours, and their own set of detailed solutions to old GMAT questions). Not only that, the in-class sessions teach amazing test-taking tips and strategies that ultimately helped me score in the 99th percentile on the GMAT. Manhattan GMAT is truly the way to go if you want to score above 700.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Manhattan GMAT - 5 Stars!
August 07 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By chnster888 joined: August 7, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 110 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   San Francisco, CA USA | Taught by:  Kim Cabot
I took Manhattan GMAT's in person complete course and had a great experience. Kim, my teacher, was awesome - she was passionate about the subject and was excellent at both explaining the concepts needed for the exam and presenting strategies for dealing with difficult problems. The course materials were great as well – the practice exams were a good simulation of the real thing, the homework was helpful in learning/reviewing the necessary concepts, and the extra problems excellent at providing additional practice. Overall my score improved 110 points from the first diagnostic test that I took, and I ended up scoring in the 99th percentile on the real test.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Manhattan GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Manhattan GMAT was great
August 06 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: June 11, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 70 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   San Francisco, CA USA | Taught by:  Kim Cabot
The Manhattan GMAT was everything that I needed to prepare for the GMAT. My instructor, Kim, was extremely helpful and guided the small class step by step through challenging problems. The classes are very small, which fosters an interactive experience and allows individuals to ask specific questions. I was able to reach out to my instructor even after the course was over and she was extremely helpful. The online resources were extremely helpful in allowing me to identify my strengths and focus on my weaknesses. I would highly recommend the GMAT class to any students seeking a fun, efficient and effective way to perform well on the GMAT.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Exceeded Expectations
August 06 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: August 6, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   Los Angeles, CA USA |
I had GMAT study books sitting on my bookshelf for two years before I finally bit the bullet and signed up for a prep class to keep me motivated and hold me accountable. I carefully vetted my options and chose MGMAT based on the quirky attitude of the program and its focus on perfecting GMAT instruction. I went to an introduction at the New York office but didn't enroll until I was living and working in Los Angeles. I found a course offered at Pepperdine University in the evenings after work. The facility was gorgeous, and I was in a class with just two other students.

My instructor, Chris Peckover, was funny, engaging, and brilliant. I always enjoyed class even after a full day of work. I did the assignments, tuned in during class, and studied a bit for a few weeks after the course concluded. MGMAT provided the flexibility I needed to make-up classes and review material in a variety of formats outside of class.

With MGMAT techniques, the first (and hopefully last) time I took the real exam, I scored a 750 with perfect writing and integrated reasoning scores!


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Manhattan GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community


Manhattan GMAT Course Rankings
Overall Score Improvement
103 points
International Student Score Improvement
90 points
Verbal
100%
Quant
100%
Save $350
on Manhattan GMAT
+$100 discount
+$250 bonus
Get Manhattan GMAT Promo Code