Manhattan GMAT GMAT Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [261]      Average Rating:       (4.8/5)
Courses
Find by:  
    
    
    
    
    
 
Manhattan GMAT
Manhattan GMAT provides students with the skills and strategies essential for success. There are higher standards for what defines a competitive GMAT score today. We have no magic formula, no silver bullet, no empty guarantees. Instead, we have three basic principles that separate us from other test prep: the best teachers, the most advanced learning approach, and a focus solely placed on the GMAT. Save $250-350 on Manhattan GMAT courses with GMAT Club

  Reviews
Sort by:   date of publication  most helpful
Key to 700+ Score
December 16 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: July 23, 2014 | 0 | 5 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   New York (Lower Manhattan), NY USA | Taught by:  David Mahler
Manhattan GMAT is the best decision that I made during my business school application process. In 4 months, I went from a 520 on my first practice test (20% in Quant) to a 710 (76% in Quant) on the actual test. It was my first and only time taking the test. Manhattan GMAT breaks down the content and builds on the material it a way that makes studying manageable and even enjoyable at times. I attended class in person in NYC, which I found very helpful for staying on track. My instructor was top notch and helpful out of class as well. They also provide an NYC testing center to take practice tests in a test day environment, which helped ease test day stress. I benefited the most from the endless online materials and instructional videos. I am convinced that if you go to class, do the homework, and take the practice tests, that Manhattan GMAT is all you need to get a great score on the GMAT. Totally worth it.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Kim is amazing!
December 01 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: December 1, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 50 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT Private Tutoring | Location:   New York (Manhattan), NY USA | Taught by:  Kim Cabot
I am writing to express my sincere gratitude and raving appreciation for your teacher and tutor Kimberly Cabot. I took the online Interact Manhattan GMAT course and, after 4 months of studying, was actually seeing my score get lower and lower. Three days before I was supposed to take the GMAT I scheduled a last minute tutoring session (30 mins) and was lucky enough to get Kimberly as my instructor.

In 30 minutes (which she was patient enough to begin 10 minutes late because of technical difficulties on my end) she completely turned around my approach to the GMAT and, as a result, my score. I received a 700 after scoring no higher than a 660 on any practice exam (the last practice exam I did took before the tutoring session gave me a 620). During our session she quickly and effectively pinpointed what I needed to work on, rephrased my approach to and strategy for the questions, gave me a solid game plan to practice in the few remaining days, and even followed up with a summary file of what we had discussed.

In short, Kimberly effectively and completely turned around my GMAT strategy and my score. I would highly recommend her to any prospective business school applicants, and I am so very grateful!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Manhattan GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Avi Gutman
November 25 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: November 25, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   Toronto, Canada | Taught by:  Avi Gutman
I took the 9 week prep course with Avi in May 2014. Avi's ability to breakdown seemingly complex quant problems is extremely helpful if you are new to the types of questions on the GMAT. I think what helped me the most was the multi-approach that Avi employed to solve every quant problem that we discussed in class. Only when you see how a quant problem can be solved in multiple ways, will you step out of your comfort zone and approach these problems in a more strategic way under a time-restricted environment such as the GMAT.

I strongly recommend Avi to any student new to the GMAT.

thanks Avi!

Q49/ V38 -> 710
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Excellent program!
October 31 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: October 31, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 110 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   New York (Manhattan), NY USA | Taught by:  Ceilidh Erickson
Manhattan GMAT's program is excellent and was a huge factor in my success taking the test.

First of all, the quality of the teaching is fantastic. I took a course with Ceilidh and she was awesome. She rightfully focused on ensuring we approached problems and topics in a logical and determined way, and did a great job of pushing students not get hung up on extremely difficult or tricky topics. The trick with the GMAT is knowing when to move on, and not being stubborn. That's the best lesson Ceilidh taught us.

I started off the class getting a 660 in the first CAT (practice test) after our first lesson. While that was an encouraging sign for my starting level, I did not realize how difficult it is to improve one's score without a systematic and structured approach. The course, along with the excellent materials, website, and online supplemental information (such as the Interact lessons), did a great job of honing me in on such an approach.

The one thing I would say is that if you are strong in quant, it is important that you realize that some extra work is necessary to get prepared to face the toughest questions (given the test's adaptive nature). The good news is that Manhattan GMAT has great tools to guide your study towards difficult topics. The Advanced Quant e-book is a definite must, and I would also suggest going through the OG Navigator to create a study schedule build around all the "Harder" and "Devilish" questions in the materials. If you still feel like you need some practice, the "Quest for 750" advanced workshops are helpful (but not absolutely necessary - take them if you need new tips and materials and don't mind spending a bit more).

I ended up getting a 770 on my first try - about 3 months from after the course started. I can't recommend Manhattan GMAT, and in particular my instructor Ceilidh Erickson, enough.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Manhattan GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Wonderful effort from Manhattan
October 29 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: September 15, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 30 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   Hyderabad, India |
Manhattan GMAT is doing a great job in helping students ace GMAT. The techniques they use are exceptional. Especially the verbal part. For non natives, I think it would be good to say that, Every one must must first get the concepts cleared with Manhattan
for verbal preparation. Manhattan GMAT is doing a great job in helping students ace GMAT. The techniques they use are exceptional. Especially the verbal part. For non natives, I think it would be good to say that, Every one must must first get the concepts cleared with Manhattan
for verbal preparation. Thank You so much Manhattan


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
MGMAT live online
October 27 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: May 13, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  MGMAT Live Online | Location:   Online |
The Manhattan GMAT online classes were great in the fact that each class was recorded. I rarely have 3 hours at night to sit in front of a computer so I was able to watch the classes on my own time. Also, a HUGE advantage is that once you open up the recorded class on your computer, it will play all 3 hours even if you're not connected to the internet. I watched most of the classes on plane rides to/from clients.

I had studied and taken the GMAT once before the class so most of what the class taught I already learned. But, there is a lot of information presented in the classes and I like the way the study plan gives you a guide for your studies.

Also, I emailed J.R. Tomkinson once to ask him a question about the pre-test scores and he never got back to me, ever! I figured it would take him a few days to respond - afterall we are all busy- but he never got back to me, not even after the class ended. I was pretty disappointed about that considering the massive amount of money these classes cost.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Manhattan GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
MGMAT Review (Q49/V40/IR8)
October 23 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By japnasethi joined: January 9, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 120 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   San Jose (Milpitas), CA USA | Taught by:  Ron Purewal
I studied the GMAT starting in Feb/March; enrolled in the course starting in April and finished in June. Took the GMAT once in August after 1.5 months of intense self-studying and improvement. I didn't do as well on the CATs through MGMAT but I was within 10 points. I took a class because I just needed a routine schedule to get into the mode of studying while at work and I also like being able to contact an instructor for any questions. Ron was pretty laid back although he had some quirks about him. But the material was pretty useful. I found that the examples used in class weren't as hard as ones in the practice CATs. I am an engineer so i thought the MGMAT math wasn't so bad but I found MGMAT's math CATs to be harder than what they made you practice during the course. When I took the actual GMAT, I thought the math was extremely easy, so I guess its good to have a training course thats harder than the actual test. On the other hand, I did pretty well on Verbal portion of MGMAT's practice CATs, but I found the actual GMAT to be much harder, in both SC and CR, so that was a throw-off and I didn't get as good of score as I was getting on my practice tests. Lastly, the IR section was insanely easy on the real GMAT compared to the MGMAT practice IR. Markedly large difference. All in all, my score is pretty good and much better than when I started studying in the beginning so using the MGMAT materials definitely boosted my score and understanding of the test.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Marc Feinberg GMAT Tutoring
October 22 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By annmontgomery joined: December 13, 2012 | 0 | 5 | native speaker
Improvement: 80 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT Private Tutoring | Location:   Dallas, TX USA | Taught by:  Marc Fienberg
Marc was an amazing GMAT tutor. I had struggled with this test for months, and had even completed a course only to still be scoring in the middle 600's. Marc gave me the confidence and the skills to know that I could earn a top score. For me, so much of the battle was mental, particularly with the Quant section, and Marc's positive teaching style was perfect to ease my lack of confidence. Marc also worked really hard to understand the root cause of why I was missing certain types of problems, helping me to better identify and tackle them in the future. I only wish I hadn't paid for a course and had studied on my own before spending the bulk of my funds on simply tutoring with Marc -- the extra time with individualized attention could have gotten me an even higher score!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Manhattan GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Worth It
October 13 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: October 13, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 120 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   New York (Manhattan), NY USA | Taught by:  Jonathan Schneider
I took Manhattan GMAT because I'd heard primarily through word of mouth that it is the best GMAT course out there, and I was definitely satisfied with both the course and my resulting GMAT score (740). The course was laid out very well, and I felt like I always knew exactly how and what to study. There was more material to work with and study than I could process, which I thought was a good thing. I was fortunate enough to achieve my target score on my first attempt, and I honestly do not think I would have been able to do that without the structure and the materials that came along with the Manhattan GMAT Course. Also, Jonathan was a great instructor. He was very insightful and had an answer to every question asked throughout the 9 week course. Most importantly, he was very engaging and approachable. I would definitely recommend this course.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Great Course to Add Structure to Studying
October 13 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: October 13, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 110 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   New York (Manhattan), NY USA | Taught by:  Jonathan Schneider
I decided to take the GMAT pretty late in the game, so I figured I needed a course to keep my attention focused. Manhattan was highly recommended and I have to agree.

I started at a 590 on my first practice, I and got a 700 on my first real exam. The key for me was just diving into the types of problems I was missing and learning everything I could about those topics in particular. This is generally how we were taught to study.

I wish I had done a better job of keeping up with the homework and structure set by the course, as I think it definitely helps to learn the same things at home as in class


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Manhattan GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community


Manhattan GMAT Course Rankings
Overall Score Improvement
103 points
International Student Score Improvement
91 points
Verbal
100%
Quant
100%
Save $350
on Manhattan GMAT
+$100 discount
+$250 bonus
Get Manhattan GMAT Promo Code