Manhattan GMAT GMAT Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [245]      Average Rating:       (4.8/5)
Courses
Find by:  
    
    
    
    
    
 
Manhattan GMAT
Manhattan GMAT provides students with the skills and strategies essential for success. There are higher standards for what defines a competitive GMAT score today. We have no magic formula, no silver bullet, no empty guarantees. Instead, we have three basic principles that separate us from other test prep: the best teachers, the most advanced learning approach, and a focus solely placed on the GMAT. Save $250-350 on Manhattan GMAT courses with GMAT Club

  Reviews
Sort by:   date of publication  most helpful
Manhattan GMAT Course Review
September 16 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By hermest joined: September 16, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 130 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   Chicago-N. LaSalle, IL USA | Taught by:  Dan Bartz
I was very nervous going into my GMAT studying - not knowing if I had the ability to score very well and not knowing if I could even get back into intense studying after being out of college for five years. After scoring a 570 on the initial practice test, I knew I had my work cut out for me, but Manhattan GMAT was such a helpful program. My in-class instructor, Dan Bartz, was so knowledgeable about all of the topics we covered. He was so great at teaching us what we needed to know to be able to do well on the GMAT, and he also did a great job preparing us mentally for the test. He was very good at engaging everyone in the classroom, and I often times was surprised when class was over, as it seemed time had flown by! The materials provided by Manhattan were also fantastic. All of the books explained each subject area so thoroughly, but in an easy-to-understand, not-too-technical manner. The online materials were just as helpful, as well. What I also really appreciated was the post-exam assessment I had with Haakon Brown (a long discussion following my first attempt at the official GMAT). Having an MGMAT instructor break down my weak and strong areas and provide me with a study plan for my next attempt at the test was great, but what I found most helpful was the way Haakon was able to help me get in the proper mental state - since I found the GMAT to be such a psychological grind (both while studying and while actually taking the test), it really gave me the confidence I needed! I ultimately scored a 700 on my second attempt at the GMAT, and I know I would not have come close to that without having taken Manhattan's GMAT review course, and I can't thank the company - and the instructors who helped me - enough!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Gotta Put In The Work
September 15 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By wwnegley joined: September 15, 2014 | 0 | 5 | native speaker
Improvement: 140 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   Washington, DC USA | Taught by:  David Chong
I started the MGMAT 9-session course in September 2013 and took the exam in August 2014. To be frank, I didn't really start studying until ~July 2014. The punch-line is this: you MUST do the homework. While I will say I benefited from the class, I did myself a huge disservice to not put in the hours WHILE I was taking the class. That said, the MGMAT books and web system are so strong that I was able to refresh much of what was taught in the class, and advance beyond. Wait until you're in a position to truly dedicate several months, then take the course, and plan on taking the exam a few weeks later. Good luck.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Manhattan GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Excellent Experience
September 10 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By matthewposluszny joined: September 10, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 80 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   Boston (Back Bay), MA USA | Taught by:  David Braslow
I had a great experience with the Manhattan GMAT review class. They paced me very well and the recommended homework was incredibly helpful. They have a method and it works if you put the time in. The class built a solid foundation. Then it was up to me to put in the time and practice to get the score I wanted. David Braslow is very smart and very elegant in communicating ideas. His explanations for walking the class through answers was thorough and his patience for questions seemingly infinite. I would definitely recommend him as a teacher, and I recommend the books to anyone who asks.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Incredible resources available
September 02 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: September 2, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 100 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   Philadelphia, PA USA | Taught by:  Abby Berry
MGMAT instructors are properly vetted (99%ile) and prepped, the course has been developed and refined over years and years, and the amount of resources are so vast they're simply unusable. The course is expensive, but will doubtless help you to organize your study habits and provide you the resources to effectively target your weaknesses. I came in with strong test content knowledge, but I was impressed with how logically and comprehensively the necessary concepts were taught. As with anything, you'll take out of this class what you put into it - but with MGMAT, there's no ceiling to how much you can put in. From homework, to class sessions, to practice tests, each problem you do provides a data point for attacking your weaknesses. If you're willing to do the work, you can't be disappointed with the resources MGMAT puts at your disposal.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Manhattan GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Loved Manhatttan Prep
August 23 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: August 23, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 70 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   San Francisco, CA USA | Taught by:  Kim Cabot
Manhattan Prep helped me achieve a score I never thought was possible. The instructor and course materials were great!

In fact, I think the course over-prepared me. I had 10 minutes left over on both sections on the actual exam. Also, I did not even do the last question because I was not paying attention and still scored better than I expected.

Definitely take Manhattan Prep if you can! It will boost your score.

Also, on a side note, if you are just graduating college, take the GMAT that summer. You will be much more relieved to get it out of the way and it is good for 5 years!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Low 500 to 750!
August 19 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By PeterHAllen joined: November 8, 2013 | 24 | 127 | native speaker
Improvement: 200 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   New York (Manhattan), NY USA | Taught by:  Gregg Lachow
I went from a low 500 GMAT score to a 750. If your goal is to get a top GMAT score than you have to use Manhattan GMAT. Just google it, every site you find will tell you that Manhattan GMAT is the best. I took the in person course with Gregg Lachow in NYC. He was fantastic, super smart guy who knew how to explain things in a way for all to understand. What separates Manhattan GMAT from other test prep companies is that they do not just teach tips and tricks but instead teach how to confidently solve each type of problem. They seem to fully grasp how the test makers think and teach the material in a way that guarantees success. I could not have done it without them. If you are serious about the GMAT then go for Manhattan GMAT.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Manhattan GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Great experience with the exception of CAT exams
August 19 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By rss92 joined: July 13, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 130 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  MGMAT Live Online | Location:   Online | Taught by:  Brett Kimball
Overall I had a great experience with Manhattan GMAT. I took a 9-week, online class with Brett Kimball, and actually enjoyed attending class sessions. He did a great job tailoring the class material to our level. I was very nervous about the "online" nature of the class beforehand, because I've never been great at learning off of a computer. However, the software MGMAT uses for the online sessions is truly fantastic, and I had no trouble remaining engaged in the course.

The course materials were incredibly comprehensive. I've heard of other people studying for the GMAT mix and matching materials from a variety of test prep companies, but I felt that I was 100% prepared with the materials that Manhattan GMAT made available.

One of the most worthwhile features of Manhattan GMAT, for me, were all the materials on the website. GMAT Navigator is a great program for answering prep questions, and the tools to analyze results/progress are really helpful. In addition, the online workshops are great for a deeper dive into a concept at your own pace. I especially liked the one for the Integrated Reasoning section. The question banks were also really helpful, as I was able to really ascertain what my mistakes were in regards to specific topics, and I was able to note what to make sure not to do when I saw those types of questions again. Finally, I found the online forum to be really helpful, especially since the instructors are very active in answering questions.

However, I feel that MGMAT could definitely improve its CAT exam experience, specifically with the Quant section. I found MGMAT's CAT exams' Quant section to be much harder than the real thing, and I ended up having a severe confidence issue with the test because of it. I probably ended up studying much harder and for the wrong topics because of the difficulty gap. I also wasn't able to practice timing properly as I was struggling so much with the difficulty level. I would have really appreciated if MGMAT would have been more upfront about the difficulty level of their exams, especially since I have heard of many people feeling the same way about their CAT Exams as I did. Otherwise, if MGMAT does not want to let its students know that its CAT exams aren't fully accurate, then they should fix the types of questions generated to make them more representative of the actual test. As a testament to this difficulty gap, my best score on a MGMAT CAT was a 720, but on the real thing I scored a 770 (which was comparable to my GMATPrep scores).

Overall, I wouldn't have been able to score as well as I did without the class and resources Manhattan GMAT provided. However, I do feel the inaccurate difficulty of Manhattan GMAT's CAT exams did hurt me in some way. Regardless, I do highly recommend Manhattan GMAT, but advise that when doing their CAT exams you keep in mind this point about difficulty.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
100% Recommend
August 19 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: August 19, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 120 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   Atlanta (North), GA USA |
100% recommend the complete course. It brought consistency and structure to not only individual problems but my study strategy as a whole, and James makes the class as enjoyable as it can be. A lot of the course quant material especially is more difficult than the actual GMAT, which in the end is nice because you feel more comfortable during the actual exam. The online tools, especially Navigator and solution video reviews, are really valuable. Most importantly, the class works. Some people are worried about MGMAT not having a guaranteed point improvement, but I would be willing to bet the average point improvement with Manhattan, especially for students who work through the entire syllabus, is significantly higher than anywhere else.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Manhattan GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Rock Solid Program
August 16 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: August 16, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 100 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   San Francisco, CA USA |
I had Ryan Jacobs in SF - awesome guy and great instructor. the materials themselves were helpful, but the way of thinking about the test was the most important for me in going ~+100 points in score. Key things that he had us focusing on included the timing around the test as well as thinking strategically about skipping problems to increase speed and overall score.

The lightening rounds were also very helpful as they really put the time pressure on and forced us to think of the faster method to solving problems versus just trying to brute force them.

Ryan has also been a great resource after the course, helping answer follow up questions I had and staying in touch.
Thanks for all the help Ryan!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
640 CAT to 770 on first attempt
August 12 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: August 7, 2014 | 0 | 5 | native speaker
Improvement: 130 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   Boston (Back Bay), MA USA |
Josh was both personable and smart, as well as a good instructor. The course covered all the necessary content, as well as timing, guessing, and study strategies. I made sure to work the entire quant foundations before the first class, and about half the verbal foundations (my verbal was high so I was not as worried).

Throughout the course I kept up with the syllabus, although I had to balance a full-time job. I did all of the problems after each class, and recorder all my answers for OG problems in the archer, which has been rebranded the GMAT Navigator.

I didn't stray from the syllabus and took the CATs as instructed:

MGMAT CAT 1: 630 (Q37, V38) before session 1
MGMAT CAT 2: 700 (Q45, V40, IR 3.8) before session 6
MGMAT CAT 3: 680 (Q46, V37, IR 3.1) before session 8

On my first MGMAT CAT I was correctly answering 700 level problems, but I was spending 3-5 minutes, so I left about 9 problems unanswered. Alongside learning how to solve problems efficiently, the course drilled timing and guessing strategies, and I reinforced those in my homework and self-study sessions. Every problem was done timed (and this was the answer than I plugged into the Navigator), but then I would continue to work towards the right solution, and in the end I would compare my solution to the Manhattan solution to look for mistakes or inefficient techniques.

After the course, I worked all the quant problems in OG13, the 2nd edition quant supplement, and all the problems in OG12 that were removed from OG13. And then I did all the problems in OG13 again, although I ran into my deadline (T-minus 1 week) and stopped working problems at this point.
I followed the recommended study plan and these were my post-course results:

MGMAT CAT 4: 730 (Q45, V45, IR 3.8) 2.5 weeks before GMAT
GMATPrep CAT 1: 750 (Q49, V42, IR 8) 1.5 weeks before GMAT

Leading up to my first official GMAT score:
GMAT 773 (Q49, V48, IR 8)

The Manhattan course provided an excellent structure to my studying, and I believe the Manhattan CATs are "harder" in a way that is very useful. The problems Manhattan wrote were not any trickier than official problems, but they often required more steps, or more calculations. This forced me to learn to solve problems efficiently; I was constantly timing my problems and practicing guessing or choice-elimination strategies.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Manhattan GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community


Manhattan GMAT Course Rankings
Overall Score Improvement
103 points
International Student Score Improvement
90 points
Verbal
100%
Quant
100%
Save $350
on Manhattan GMAT
+$100 discount
+$250 bonus
Get Manhattan GMAT Promo Code