Manhattan GMAT GMAT Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [229]      Average Rating:       (4.8/5)
Courses
Find by:  
    
    
    
    
    
 
Manhattan GMAT
Manhattan GMAT provides students with the skills and strategies essential for success. There are higher standards for what defines a competitive GMAT score today. We have no magic formula, no silver bullet, no empty guarantees. Instead, we have three basic principles that separate us from other test prep: the best teachers, the most advanced learning approach, and a focus solely placed on the GMAT. Save $250-350 on Manhattan GMAT courses with GMAT Club

  Reviews
Sort by:   date of publication  most helpful
Amazing Prep for the GMAT!
July 31 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By California33 joined: July 23, 2012 | 12 | 1 | native speaker
Improvement: 80 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   Philadelphia, PA USA | Taught by:  Abby Pelcyger
I started this prep course having never opened a GMAT prep book, and improved my score 80 points from my initial practice test to test day. I went into the GMAT feeling prepared and ready to take on the test, and I was able to achieve my goal score on my first actual GMAT.

Abby provided a clear overview of how the course and the process would work. In class, she was patient and did a great job explaining strategy and reviewing practice problems. She challenged us to ALWAYS answer, even if it's a guess, which was great prep for the test. She encouraged group discussion when we disagreed about answers, and forced us to use the proven strategies when approaching problems. She was always available via email when we had questions, and created a non-threatening environment for a prep process that could potentially be viewed as highly competitive, given how the GMAT works.

Overall, I can't say enough nice things about Manhattan GMAT. The homework seems daunting at times, but you need that level of work and practice to go into test day feeling ready. I qualified for the post course assessment, and I was so glad I did! I had a half hour phone conversation two weeks before my test date that gave me a clear gameplan for what exactly I needed to focus on leading up to my test.

I highly recommend this course. It's expensive, but in the long run, given what you will pay for an MBA program, it is so well worth the investment! You do need to be ready to commit 5-10 extra hours a week to homework, so make sure you do the course during a time period when you have that time available,


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
I took Mgmat and veritas and I recommend Manhattan wholeheartedly
July 30 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: July 30, 2012 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 110 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
If you're on the fence about taking a course, here are a few reasons why I would take the Mgmat course:

1. Manhattan GMAT's course offers you a comprehensive review of all topics on the test so you know you've seen a little bit of everything and are covering your bases.

2. Even if you're good at self study, the course is worth it. I am the type of person that sets aside time, but taking the course really helped me focus three solid hours at a faster pace that I normally would by myself. The class pushes you and offers you an insight into how other students analyze a problem. This helps you learn multiple techniques to solve the problems faster.

3. Mgmat teachers are incredible. Jonathan Schneider was my instructor and he was great at explaining problems in various ways and telling us which ones to prioritize since they came up less frequently on the GMAT. He takes the GMAT various times throughout the year so can also comment on variations on the problem that he has seen. Importantly, I emailed him several times after the course was done and he sent me long emails with tips around how to work on my timing and study strategy. He also reviewed my practice exam results and told me what topics to focus on and which ones not to work on any longer. This extra support is valuable and what you pay for. Also, Jonathan was great because he was able to insert a lot of humor and connect GMAT problems with real world problems which really helped me remember the content.

4. If you already took the course once, taking it again only costs $300. Do it. I took the course twice (first time was two years ago so I needed a refresher) and got a lot out of the second time. Its the same material, but with a deeper understanding of the test, you can really master the basic material.

5. If I had to compare Mgmat to Vertas, I think the material is largely the same, but in my situation, I found that the GMAT instructor was more comprehensive, used the time more wisely, and was more entertaining. With Vertias, I felt as though there were some topics that weren't covered and that we sometimes spent too much time on solving practice problems instead of teaching important content. A good mix of both is what I was looking for.

Overall, I achieved a 710, 44 V / 44Q / 6 AWA and my first practice test score after taking the course was probably closer to a 600.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Manhattan GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Private Tutor Session with Keith
August 02 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By kpark joined: August 2, 2012 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 50 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   Chicago-N. LaSalle, IL USA | Taught by:  Keith Blume
I only had 5 hours of private tutor time with Keith of Manhattan GMAT Chicago, and I improved my score by 50 points (from 650 to 700). I had spent about 3 months of self-study (including 2 online math fundamentals courses from Manhattan GMAT) and scored a 650. I had scored in the 50th percentile for math and 91st percentile for verbal. Needless to say, my quant needed work!

I studied for another 6 weeks on my own and did worse (620 overall with only a slight improvement in my quant and obviously worse on verbal). Needless to say, I was frustrated and defeated. I chose to meet with a private tutor vs. a prep class because I didn't want to invest another 9 weeks into studying.

I met with Keith for 5 hours total and focused solely on quant. From the first meeting, he diagnosed my issues (apparently I was studying TOO much) and taught me a few concepts that I kept getting tripped up on. I actually took the next 5 weeks very easy. I did one practice test, met two additional times with Keith and studied about 3 hours the week of the test. My score improved to 700 (71st percentile quant; 88th percentile verbal). Perhaps just not studying was really the key for me, but I wouldn't have felt comfortable enough to stop studying without Keith's belief in my ability.

I will also say though that at least 4-5 concepts we covered appeared on my quant section on test day - so that definitely did help! Both Keith's knowledge and encouragement were crucial to my success.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course
August 06 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: August 6, 2012 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 90 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   New York (Manhattan), NY USA | Taught by:  Patrick Tyrrell
The course was really fantastic. Patrick is a terrific teacher. I took this class in Santa Monica, CA (although that option was not listed). The nights really do fly by even though it's a long class (3 hours). Patrick makes it a lot more fun than it should be, and he'll even give you a bit of extra time - he's not someone looking at his clock for the course to end. It's definitely a lot of work, but it's all on you. The more you put in, the more you get out of it.

Also be sure to take advantage of the free private sessions. Best way to get the most out of those is to prepare questions in advance, or ask the instructor to look at previous practice tests.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Manhattan GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Not Impressed
August 13 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: April 11, 2011 | 5 | 8 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   Houston (North), TX USA |
Overall, I was not impressed with the "in-person" course. Would have preferred to simply buy the materials and study on my own. Instructor gave majority of focus to quant. This was my weaker subject so I preferred this imbalance. However, his quant focus began at a high level and was often difficult to follow. He showed "his" methods which were very interested and "speedy" but were difficult to apply to many problems aside from the examples used in class. He was VERY smart, though.

Very disappointed with the course. Obviously I would not recommend it. I wish that the course had been more helpful. The course skipped so many fundamentals and focused on problem specific tactics that I did not find it very beneficial on test day. I really benefited form the text materials and from the practice tests that MGMAT has online. I spent approx 15 hrs per week studying.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Manhattan GMAT 9 course review
August 14 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: July 10, 2012 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 100 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   Chicago-N. LaSalle, IL USA | Taught by:  Viren Tellis
Overall, I think Manhattan GMAT is a great program dedicated to helping students obtain their personal best scores.

I took the 9 week in person class at the Chicago-Evanston location. While the time commitment and work load were demanding, I think it really helped me stay on top of my studies and focus. Being in a classroom helped me focus during class; other than that though, I am not really sure if the in person class is significantly better than the online class, since the instructors and work load are the same. Looking back, I probably could have benefitted the same amount from the online course. But like I said, being in an actual classroom helped me zero in on the material being presented and not get easily distracted.

What stands out to me, however, is not necessarily the course itself but the course materials. They literally provide you with EVERYTHING you will need to study. From study guides which explain topics in detail to an online practice question tracking system to 6 online exams-- this course really covers it all. I never felt as if I didn't have the materials to succeed- it was just a matter of me utilizing them often. Even purchasing the materials alone will drastically help you improve your score.

After the 9 week course, I waited 3 weeks and then took my GMAT exam. This exam did not go as according to my plan. I had been consistently scoring upper 600s on my practice tests, and then scored significantly lower on my actual exam (640). Needless to say, I was a bit upset. However, Manhattan GMAT did not abandon me once my course was over. They offer a free post-exam assessment for individuals who feel they did not perform to their best ability on the exam. In this one hour session, an instructor who had previously reviewed all my practice tests and exam scores helped me identify the specific areas I needed to improve upon, as well as practical things I could do to improve my score. For the next 30 days, I really buckled down and focused on the areas I was weak in, as opposed to just covering ALL the material again. This ended up paying off!

I was very pleased with my score in the end-- it was my target score all along and I reached it. I know I couldn't have gotten there without the guided help from Manhattan GMAT.

Tips-- be sure to use the OG Archer tracking system from Manhattan GMAT; also, before you take the test make sure to download the free GMAC material and practice exams since those are exactly the same format as the test so you can get familiar.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Manhattan GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Immense Value @ MGMAT
August 15 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By yamenalhajjar joined: October 15, 2010 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 160 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   New York (Manhattan), NY USA | Taught by:  Josh Braslow
The smartest decision I ever made. The bootcamp was a challenge because it was a lot of material in a tight period, but worked best for me as I invested my summer vacation into completing it, and there was a lot of work offline, but it paid off.

Going from a 500 range score to a 700 range score was exactly what I needed to supplement my profile. And as an international student it helped a lot with getting into the right mentality to play the GMAT game and not just "memorize and ace" exams as we were typically taught, but learning how the components work and the strategy to throw questions that just don't work to invest time on others was a big takeaway. The analytics were also impeccable at focusing on weaknesses and observing my own trends with time and questions to build an internal awareness of how "I" functioned in a test.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
720!! Improved 90 Points
August 16 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: August 16, 2012 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 90 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   Boston (Back Bay), MA USA | Taught by:  Faruk Bursal
Great course! My instructor was hilarious and made the class engaging and fun. Because I travel during the week for work, I initially wasn't too excited about taking a weekend class - I was already very busy! However, taking this class turned out to be a very rewarding experience. The instructors are intelligent, personable and funny. It was a very comfortable environment in the classroom.

Heading into this class I wasn't too confident that I could leave with the score I wanted, but by the end, I was ready to just take the exam because I had done so much prep. The prep does a great job preparing you for the actual exam.

I'm not a natural standardized test taker, but this class made taking the GMAT manageable and even fun! :)
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Manhattan GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
From 690 to 740
August 17 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By jense688 joined: July 6, 2011 | 2 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 50 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  MGMAT Live Online | Location:   Online |
The Manhattan GMAT Online Live course helped increase my performance on the GMAT by 50 points. I initially began my preparation for the GMAT in the summer of 2011, and ended up taking the test two times last fall -- each time I scored a 690.

I knew that my GMAT score would need to increase by at least 20 points to be truly competitive at top-tier schools and I didn't know the best way to approach my studies for 2012.

The Manhattan GMAT course helped me reach my target score of 740 for a number of reasons:

The Syllabus
The course includes a weekly syllabus with recommended study activities. This proved to be very helpful for me; as an individual studying without direction I was never sure that I could stop studying. Before the course I found myself studying for hours on end and, in retrospect, this practice didn't yield the greatest result. The MGMAT course allowed me to complete the recommended activities and feel good about my study efforts each week.

The Books
I've utilized materials from Kaplan, GMAC, Veritas Prep and Manhattan GMAT, and the MGMAT materials are, without a doubt, the best. While it is important to supplement with the GMAC official materials, the MGMAT books provide better insight into each topic.

The Instructors
In addition to mastery of GMAT strategies, content and best practices, the instructors truly care about student goals and performance on test day. Jamie Nelson is an exceptional instructor; she should be commended on her ability to convey information clearly and to increase student mastery of math and verbal topics.

The Volume of Materials
Manhattan GMAT has assembled a plethora of study materials including Online Labs, Question Banks, Topic Books, Practice Tests and much more. The variety of materials makes it possible for each students to understand difficult concepts regardless of her preferred learning style.

I would recommend a Manhattan GMAT (online or live) preparatory course to all folks hoping to achieve a great score on test day.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Best path to succesful score
August 19 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: June 6, 2012 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 160 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   Philadelphia, PA USA | Taught by:  Abby Pelcyger
Working with a Manhattan GMAT tutor was fantastic. I had access to the full series of Manhattan GMAT courses as well as one-on-one sessions with a tutor. Manhattan GMAT teaches the methodology needed to master the GMAT and its instructors are patient, knowledgeable, and capable of explaining both material and approach.

Manhattan GMAT books are very good at breaking down all of the material in particular types of questions. The books give sample questions to practice with and MGMAT even has detailed explanations for the "real GMAT" questions from the MBA official guide books. For those answers alone the company is worth using.

If you are serious about the GMAT, Manhattan GMAT will give you the tools and support to succeed. I definitely recommend Manhattan GMAT!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Manhattan GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community


Manhattan GMAT Course Rankings
Overall Score Improvement
102 points
International Student Score Improvement
90 points
Verbal
100%
Quant
100%
Save $350
on Manhattan GMAT
+$100 discount
+$250 bonus
Get Manhattan GMAT Promo Code