Manhattan GMAT GMAT Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [253]      Average Rating:       (4.8/5)
Courses
Find by:  
    
    
    
    
    
 
Manhattan GMAT
Manhattan GMAT provides students with the skills and strategies essential for success. There are higher standards for what defines a competitive GMAT score today. We have no magic formula, no silver bullet, no empty guarantees. Instead, we have three basic principles that separate us from other test prep: the best teachers, the most advanced learning approach, and a focus solely placed on the GMAT. Save $250-350 on Manhattan GMAT courses with GMAT Club

  Reviews
Sort by:   date of publication  most helpful
Best path to succesful score
August 19 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: June 6, 2012 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 160 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   Philadelphia, PA USA | Taught by:  Abby Pelcyger
Working with a Manhattan GMAT tutor was fantastic. I had access to the full series of Manhattan GMAT courses as well as one-on-one sessions with a tutor. Manhattan GMAT teaches the methodology needed to master the GMAT and its instructors are patient, knowledgeable, and capable of explaining both material and approach.

Manhattan GMAT books are very good at breaking down all of the material in particular types of questions. The books give sample questions to practice with and MGMAT even has detailed explanations for the "real GMAT" questions from the MBA official guide books. For those answers alone the company is worth using.

If you are serious about the GMAT, Manhattan GMAT will give you the tools and support to succeed. I definitely recommend Manhattan GMAT!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Excellent Course - Highly Recommend Manhattan GMAT
August 25 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: August 25, 2012 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 160 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   New York (Manhattan), NY USA | Taught by:  Kate McKeon
I highly recommend the Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course for anyone studying for the GMAT. The course provides a comprehensive overview of the all content on the GMAT, focusing specifically on the content and test-taking strategies that I believe are the difference between a mediocre and a great test score. Moreover, and perhaps most importantly, the Manhattan GMAT course instills in you the confidence that is so important for success on the day of the actual test.

I am a lawyer and have not had much math in my daily life since high school. Of course quant was a big concern of mine. Manhattan GMAT's content-based approach and repetitive drilling helped me tremendously. My instructor Kate McKeon was also a huge help in this regard. She made the class fun and kept the atmosphere light, all the while challenging us to master a combination of the most tested and difficult content. In addition to helping me nail down the content, she taught me not to sweat the small stuff and what areas to focus on for test day. This relaxed approach kept everything in perspective as I prepared for the real test.

After scoring a 560 on my first practice test, I ended up scoring a 720 on the real thing and was thrilled. I am certain that without Manhattan GMAT I would not have achieved such a satisfactory result.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Manhattan GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
MGMAT Review
September 01 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By samhandler joined: August 30, 2012 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   New York (Manhattan), NY USA | Taught by:  J.P. Park
Hi eveyrone,

I recently used Manhattan GMAT and had a great experience. The company's material is very applicable to the test, and the OG Archer is a great way to identify area where you need to improve.

My instructor, Jihae, was very good. She was engaging and did a great job connecting with the students despite the class starting after a full work day.

The most valuable asset, for me at least, was the FREE MGMAT post exam assessment. My test scores were as follows:

MGMAT Diag: 630

MGMAT 1: 730

MGMAT 2: 670

MGMAT 3: 690

MGMAT 4: 680

MBA.com 1: 720

MBA.com 2: 730

My goal was a 700, but I scored only a 620 when I took the test in July. After the test, I used Manhattan GMAT's post exam assessment. I spoke to Eric, and, after reviewing my file, he identified areas he felt I should focus and pointed out that I may have burnt myself out or that I perhaps rushed through problems on test day.

After speaking with Eric, I took a week off, relaxed and refocused for my exam in three weeks.

I scored a 710 (47Q, 40V) and am pleased with my performace.

Thank you Manhattan GMAT!

Sam
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
A serious course that's worth the cash
September 05 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By carholland joined: August 29, 2012 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 70 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   New York (Manhattan), NY USA | Taught by:  Steven Jupiter
I was not excited about ponying up the cash but I am so glad I did. I was dragging my feet on the GMAT and this course a) got my butt in gear, b) made me familiar with each topic, c) broke down the importance of each area and d) made me familiar with test taking strategies. I took the class with Steven Jupiter who was fantastic and very no-nonsense (good approach to have for the GMAT!).

Steven was good for both topics but my main weakness was in verbal (Reading comp and critical reasoning) and he totally nailed it for me. I don’t know how else to explain it except that I went to his class, did some practice sets, and that was that.

Regarding Manhattan GMAT in general: I appreciated that they had simulated testing rooms, too, and a seemingly unlimited amount of resources. My only advice would be to grab the "road to the GMAT" at the very beginning of the course - it can assist in providing study tips. Again, can't say how much this was worth it - I went from a 680 to 750.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Manhattan GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Manhattan GMAT Live Online
November 01 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: July 28, 2012 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 100 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  MGMAT Live Online | Location:   Online | Taught by:  Ryan Wessel
The Manhattan GMAT Live Online course was excellent. Ryan Wessel and David Chong were really good instructors. I raised my GMAT score by 100 points (from 620 to 720) by taking the class. The class was given once a week for 9 weeks.
The most helpful lectures were on the subjects of:
- Sentence correction
- Data sufficiency
- Reading comprehension
The recorded labs offered had some of the most insightful tips and shortcuts I learned throughout all my time studying for the course. The information given in the labs was extremely relevant for test day; the labs taught things such as timing strategy, shortcuts to data sufficiency questions, etc.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
9-session & private tutoring success
September 08 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By nedlipes joined: September 8, 2012 | 2 | 7 | native speaker
Improvement: 120 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   New York (Manhattan), NY USA | Taught by:  David Braslow
My pre-class scores were below 600, so needless to say I had a lot of work ahead of me. My goal was to clear 700. The course with David Braslow was great for reviewing and re-learning a lot of the concepts (math in particular), but make sure you're willing to practice, as the amount of material can be overwhelming.

If you're like me and really need to go through all of the strategy guides to re-learn the math, practice problems are the best way to burn those concepts into your memory (something I failed to do the first time around). I tried learning as much as I could in the 9 week session, but I don't think I practiced enough, and I was still prone to making careless mistakes. My first test scored a 640, I was disappointed. I started private tutoring sessions with Kate McKeon to refine my skills, learn my weaknesses, and give me areas for focus. After a few sessions with Kate, I was back up above 700 on my practice tests, and I ended up with a 760 on my 2nd official attempt.

Highly recommend the instructors at Manhattan GMAT, especially for personalized sessions. They won't tell you what you want to hear. If you're weak in a particular area, they'll let you know! Better to have that honest feedback upfront than to be disillusioned by a few successful practice tests.

Rather than familiarity with concepts, try to master what you can before you even step into the test room.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Manhattan GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Excellent Course
September 12 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: September 12, 2012 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 70 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  MGMAT Live Online | Location:   Online |
I have had an excellent experience with Manhattan GMAT. I took the course in May 2012 and am very happy with my decision.

To begin with, the staff at Manhattan GMAT is excellent. Everyone whom I spoke to before and during the class was knowledgeable and very helpful.
The class itself was excellent. The instructors were great and the sessions were engaging. I had tried studying for GMAT on my own before, but I was not doing all that great. But the GMAT approach is unique and it really suited me.

The instructors focused on fundamentals and, whenever necessary, on shortcuts to save time. The approach with which they solved problems was the key differentiator for me.

Apart from the instructors being excellent, the syllabus was properly divided into 9 sessions. I felt that by the end of the class I was prepared for the real test. I was crossing 700 in my practice tests. Eventually, I landed up scoring 720.

The resources that MGMAT makes available to all students is worth a mention. The various question banks and labs, the OG Archer, Thursdays with Ron, Challenge Problems, Post course evaluation etc. make a strong impact on ones preparation. I really liked the post course/post exam evaluation.

All in all, great course. Highly recommend it.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Excellent course for serious GMAT aspirants
September 20 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By tprakash joined: September 11, 2012 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 130 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
I took my diagnostic in June and scored a 600. I was ambitious about a good score, and I had to do it in about 2 months amidst a very heavy workload. I needed a good coach and that's when I enrolled in the Manhattan GMAT 9 session course.

First of all, this is a very detailed and demanding course. From the first look at its curriculum it was pretty clear to me that this company knew the art and science of turning a novice into a master on this exam. The material is exhaustive and intuitive - it really captures the naunces of the varied thought processes that different people follow while solving a problem, and then tells you how to hone your unique way of thinking. I found that particularly helpful as most people have a particular style of doing things, and some approaches resonate with that style while some don’t.

The classroom course does not take the traditional theory-to-questions approach. Mind it that you would be expected to do the formal studying yourself. The classroom sessions explore the theoretical aspects of the course mainly through carefully chosen questions that well-exemplify the concepts involved.
Personally, I liked this approach as concepts are presented and learned un-detached from the contexts and situations where they'll be applied to, and are thus easier to remember.

The course is ultimately about honing your intuitions to razor-sharpness and set you up with a viable plan on how you're going to attempt your exam. The best thing - there's always a plenty of help available around for whatever you might need it.

My instructor was not only a master of the subject but also very involved with my success. He gave me some very good advice with some unique problems that was keeping my score low in the exam while I was coming out with flying colours while attempting practice problems. I finally took the exam on 8th of September and scored a 730.

I would highly recommended score for anyone seeking to score a 700+. And lastly, there's a lot of free stuff that'll come along with the any course - classroom or self study. They conduct a lot of free sessions, not just on GMAT but the whole application process. It's expensive, but totally worth the money!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Manhattan GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Private Tutoring
October 02 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: April 28, 2012 | 18 | 3 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  MGMAT Guided Self Study Plus | Location:   Online | Taught by:  Liz Moliski
This was my worst tutor I've had in my life. My parents told me to keep giving her a chance since I had already moved to the city where she was located for her tutoring services so I continued with her and trusted her as she instructed me to do.

After every tutoring session, I didn't feel any better about anything that she tried to teach me. Maybe because she went over problems that she already had me do and I told her I had already figured them out? If I had to choose what she was better at, I would say Verbal but she chooses to do Quant no matter what you want to do.

Not only did she not teach me the material, my score continued to drop and then she blamed me for the drop and said it was stress even though I felt calm during the exams. She did not focus on my weaknesses which is what I wanted to do. She also lowered my self-esteem during tutoring sessions, something that should never be done by a tutor.

I would not recommend this tutor to a friend OR stranger. This was not worth $1500.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
9-week course
October 06 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: April 28, 2012 | 18 | 3 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   San Antonio, TX USA | Taught by:  Brett Kimball
The course focused more on verbal which I would have preferred Verbal since I feel that Quantitative is easier to teach oneself and I struggle in verbal. We did cover Sentence Correction in full detail. I wish more time was spent on CR and RC.

The instructor did a great job at being available before class to answer questions that I had. He also would respond to my questions by e-mail very quickly and even has followed up after the class. My favorite part of the class was the powerpoint slides with different problems as each one would be completely different and we'd learn how to approach them.

Overall, I feel that the class sometimes moved too slow. It may have been that no one completed the homework assignments so the instructor had to go over things that they should have read so class went by really slowly as students would ask questions pertaining to that. My score did not go up at all even though I completed all of my homework assignments, read all of the chapters, and did more than the expected practice CAT exams. I'm not sure what went wrong as I did everything to get a score increase.

I would recommend Brett as an instructor.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Manhattan GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community


Manhattan GMAT Course Rankings
Overall Score Improvement
104 points
International Student Score Improvement
92 points
Verbal
100%
Quant
100%
Save $350
on Manhattan GMAT
+$100 discount
+$250 bonus
Get Manhattan GMAT Promo Code