Manhattan GMAT GMAT Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [261]      Average Rating:       (4.8/5)
Courses
Find by:  
    
    
    
    
    
 
Manhattan GMAT
Manhattan GMAT provides students with the skills and strategies essential for success. There are higher standards for what defines a competitive GMAT score today. We have no magic formula, no silver bullet, no empty guarantees. Instead, we have three basic principles that separate us from other test prep: the best teachers, the most advanced learning approach, and a focus solely placed on the GMAT. Save $250-350 on Manhattan GMAT courses with GMAT Club

  Reviews
Sort by:   date of publication  most helpful
9-week course
October 06 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: April 28, 2012 | 18 | 3 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   San Antonio, TX USA | Taught by:  Brett Kimball
The course focused more on verbal which I would have preferred Verbal since I feel that Quantitative is easier to teach oneself and I struggle in verbal. We did cover Sentence Correction in full detail. I wish more time was spent on CR and RC.

The instructor did a great job at being available before class to answer questions that I had. He also would respond to my questions by e-mail very quickly and even has followed up after the class. My favorite part of the class was the powerpoint slides with different problems as each one would be completely different and we'd learn how to approach them.

Overall, I feel that the class sometimes moved too slow. It may have been that no one completed the homework assignments so the instructor had to go over things that they should have read so class went by really slowly as students would ask questions pertaining to that. My score did not go up at all even though I completed all of my homework assignments, read all of the chapters, and did more than the expected practice CAT exams. I'm not sure what went wrong as I did everything to get a score increase.

I would recommend Brett as an instructor.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Solid instruction and great materials
October 15 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By alphacat joined: June 16, 2012 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 50 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
I took this class in the spring at their flagship location. My goal with taking the course was to structure my studying and break it up into manageable parts rather than going it alone and not having a sense of what I needed to cover and stagnating.

My effort in studying for the GMAT consisted of two parts. The first, where I attended all 9 sessions and completed all basic and advanced homework. And the second, the end of the course and month afterwards before the exam, where I did additional studying using the Official Guide and Manhattan GMAT practice exams.

In the first segment, I think the course was really key for me in the way I mentioned above - it provided the structure to get me through all the material and broke my studying down into pieces.

Specifically:

-The 9 live classes: For me, this was necessary to move myself along the process.

The instruction was helpful - Steven taught both Manhattan GMAT methods as well as personal tips and insights. The instruction on Quant was very helpful. On Verbal, I found the MGMAT methodologies less useful and I think Steven did as well because he didn't strongly recommend that we use them and his deviation from some of the materials was actually very helpful. I appreciated this flexibility. All in all, I felt, throughout the whole process, that my instructor was an expert and knew the material backwards and forwards.

The materials provided - the subject area books are great - they provide both depth and breadth and achieve the right level of detail and complexity. They served really well as the place to 'learn' the material. Later, when practicing and reinforcing, I primarily used the Official Guide, coming back to the subject area books as needed.

In the second part of my studying, towards the end of the classes and afterwards, I really focused on practicing problems and taking exams. For this, I found the Manhattan GMAT practice exams and the ability to go to their center to take them, especially crucial. For several weeks, I would go to the center every Saturday and take a full exam. Not only are MGMAT's exams very good quality, simulating the actual test day experience is key and was one of the main value adds of the course to me.

If I have any criticisms of the course, I would say that for me personally, I probably could have use a more custom experience. Although historically a stronger quantitative test taker, for the GMAT I found that I put 95% of my effort into Quant and that Verbal came easier. As a result, I probably would have benefited from a Quant focused course. I think that a lot of native/fluent English speakers find themselves in this situation and as such, I think Manhattan GMAT would do well by creating this kind of class. I also found the Quant section on their practice exams to be a little bit too difficult, and not in a way that was beneficial. The practice exams you get from the actual GMAC are more representative.

Overall, however, I am extremely satisfied with my experience and would definitely a. do it the same way if i had to do it again and b. recommend Manhattan GMAT to others. I have not taken any other company's courses but based on what I've heard, I feel comfortable saying this is one of, if not the, best prep companies out there.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Manhattan GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
I truly believe I should be the MGMAT spokesperson
October 18 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By nobility3 joined: October 18, 2012 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 200 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   New York (Manhattan), NY USA | Taught by:  Tommy Wallach
I've been struggling with the GMAT since I started in 2007. I took Kaplan paid over $5000, got a private tutor and did the whole course. The result on the official test was a 480 in 2008. Discouraged I gave up trying to take the GMAT. I hated the damn thing.

But about 1.5 years later I realized I needed to ask the GMAT out on another date. So I signed up for MGMAT. Again same story my diagnostic showed me scoring around 490, so I was kind of hoping for a miracle from my instructor and course. I worked really hard, did everything I could possibly do to get my goal of 660 or higher. I finally take the test and this time score lower than my first test, receiving a score of 470.

Now you can imagine how I felt. I just wasn't good at the GMAT. So discouraged again I contemplated giving up on going to business school. A month later without studying I took a practice cat exam at got a 530. So I'm thinking to myself, okay maybe their is hope. This motivates me to retake MGMAT, but this time online from 9:30-11:30. I work really hard and on my 5th session I'm like what the heck I got $250 to blow let me take the GMAT. So the weekend before Fourth of July, I take the test and get a 570. I'm like wow, I'm amazing.

So I finish the remaining of my course and decide in a few months I might try to retake it again or just apply to a dungeon business school. I continue to work hard and start reviewing my material over and over again. I decide that my score wasn't good enough to go to a top business school, so i promised my self i would take GMAT one last time. I schedule my test for sept 29th, which gave me a month to tweak my skills. I take practice test after practice test and I'm no where I need to be. I can't even break 600. The last practice GMAT prep test I take gets me a score of 530. This is one week going into the exam. But I told myself I worked too hard to not break a 660. So the day of my test, I tell myself to put it all on the line. I take the quant and it’s very difficult, I'm like great here comes another 500. I take the verbal and I feel better. Than it comes down to accepting my score. I hit yes and than the score appears. The score was kind of blurry because I had tears in my eyes. Here I am a grown adult tearing on my score. I got a 680, with a 50 on my quant. I'm like are u kidding me. I still feel like my official score will come back and say “sorry we made a mistake". It's just a relief to have closure. The scary part is I got in the 64% in verbal, a few more questions correct on that section I could of broken 700.

I promise I'm not thinking of taking the test again. But I can tell you with experience if I can go from a 470- 680, than anyone can be taught the GMAT. The structure that MGMAT has is not like no other. Everything you need to obtain a 800 is in the MGMAT curriculum. From the CAT Tests, detailed workbooks and forums, MGMAT does wonders. It just requires sacrifice and dedication.

If anyone needs any guidance please contact me, I want to pay it forward to anyone that wants hope. I'm sure some of you might think that my story is impossible. I'm just like you guys, seeing is believing. So i've attached a picture of my latest score report. Again, i'm more than happy to help anyone.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
620 to 750
October 19 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By mport1 joined: June 3, 2012 | 11 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 130 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   Chicago-N. LaSalle, IL USA | Taught by:  Chris Brusznicki
Manhattan GMAT was an excellent course and I highly recommend it to everyone. Their instructors are very strong in teaching both Verbal and Quant. Chris Brusznicki in particular was excellent. I was able to increase my score from 620 to 750 with their help.

Their materials are also by far the best I've found out of all the other GMAT prep companies. In addition, their online tools such as their companion to the Official Guide were extremely helpful in my preparation. I really think the course is definitely worth the money, and I think it is the best you can find out there.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Manhattan GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
MGMAT Self-Study
October 21 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: October 21, 2012 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 100 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  MGMAT Guided Self Study Plus | Location:   Online |
The self-study course helped me improve my GMAT score by more than 100 points. The coursework and syllabus provide a very structured approach to learning the necessary material. I appreciated that the coursework is very easily adapted to best meet individual needs. Specifically Manhattan GMAT has created a problem tracking tool, OG Archer, that provides students with a very qualitative overview of performance over time, broken down by subject matter, difficulty, etc. In addition, the detailed problem explanations, labs, question banks, and CAT exams were all helpful.

If you are planning to use the self-directed program, I STRONGLY recommend that you get the package that includes access to recorded lectures. The lectures provide invaluable insights about how to use study time effectively, approach challenging problems, deal with test day stresses, and much more. My recorded lectures were led by Emily Sledge and Stephanie Moyerman, both of which were fantastic.

For those of you interested in the numbers:

I scored a 760 on test day, a 100 point improvement from my initial CAT (660)

Cat 1 - 42Q / 38V - 660 (7/14/12)
Cat 2 - 45Q / 45V - 730 (8/26/12)
GMAT Prep - 47Q / 38V - 690 (9/15/12)
GMAT Prep - 45Q / 45V - 730 (9/18/12)
Cat 3 - 45Q / 45V - 730 (10/10/12)
Test Day - 48Q / 47V - 760 (10/11/12)
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
99% but a GMAT ain't one
October 23 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: October 23, 2012 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 80 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
By far, hands down, the best GMAT prep course around. Interestingly, I heard about the course from a friend in Korea. My friend in KOREA had heard about Manhattan GMAT! So I tried the course and rocked the GMAT.

I took the 9-class course in the summer and studied with the Manhattan GMAT prep books. About a month after the class, I took the exam. The course is demanding, requiring solid 5 to 10 hours of studying a week, but it is definitely worth it. (Though, frankly, the course is made so that you can still keep up with the class if you hadn't done much outside studying... You will just feel really stupid in class).

Great teachers, great books and great on-site test simulation center.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Manhattan GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Manhattan GMAT Experience
November 05 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By mulli7777 joined: November 5, 2012 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 120 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  MGMAT Live Online | Location:   Online |
I started the Manhattan GMAT online course in the last week of August and scheduled my test for the last weekend in October. This gave me exactly 9 weeks to finish the class and take the exam following the Manhattan course syllabus.

My first test score was a 610. My second test score the next weekend was a 590. I had a lot of work to do.

The Manhattan course intuitively presented the course material and challenge problems in an effective and efficient manner. Over the course of the next 8 weeks I devoted over 200 hours to class and study time. Most of this time was doing problems on Manhattan's OG Archer software and watching their video solutions.

I used the Manhattan course books to refresh math concepts and learn strategies to tackle verbal problems. I then followed the OG / GMAC books on a subject by subject basis. This was my instructor Avi's suggestion. He suggested that I identify a weakness and strengthen it by doing large sets of just that concept or subject. I liked this strategy a lot and started to see big improvements. I took another test at the halfway point and scored a 670.

During the last two weeks of prep I scored 700, 710, 710 and 710 on practice exams so felt ready for test day.

I felt good on test day and scored a 730. I felt I could have done even better but got flustered during the math section by a problem that completely stumped me.

I would highly recommend the Manhattan program to anyone who is looking for study material for the GMAT. I also bought the Kaplan online program and did not find it as helpful. Kaplan's tests were quality but I didn't find their recorded classes to be effective. Make sure to ask for Avi and Liz. They are the real deal.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Very Good
November 13 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: November 13, 2012 | 5 | 5 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 90 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  MGMAT Guided Self Study Plus | Location:   Online |
Highly recommend this package. MGMAT self study plus was very useful for me since it let me pace my gmat preparation in my own way as it provides the previously recorded sessions.

Each one is unique. I chose this product as I can pace my own prep schedule. I rushed through the 9-session course in a month or so(about 5 weeks) and spent another 5 weeks on focussed preparation and then gave my gmat. I was good in quants and really went for this prep course to focus on my verbal skills.

I was consistently getting 640-680 score in MGMAT practicve test. I was hoping to cross atleast 700. Luckily, I got 730 on the real gmat and i'm excited about it. I took gmat for the first time about 8 months ago and had scored 640.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Manhattan GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Manhattan GMAT Tutor
November 14 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: November 14, 2012 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 80 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  MGMAT Guided Self Study Plus | Location:   Online | Taught by:  Gregg Lachow
I took the GMAT for the first time in July after studying on my own with materials I purchased online. I got a 620 and was unhappy. Though my verbal was quite strong, my math score was way below where I thought it could be. I decided to sign up for individual tutoring sessions at Manhattan GMAT in NYC.

I met with a tutor on a one-on-one basis approximately every week for about 2 months. We reviewed the fundamental aspects of the quantitative portion of the test, established a plan for studying and practicing on my own using the Manhattan GMAT materials and website, and developed a test-taking strategy to ensure I completed all the questions on test day and wasn't rushed. Ultimately my math score improved considerably and I was able to reach my overall score goal of 700.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Fantastic Experience
November 15 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By llapin joined: November 15, 2012 | 13 | 3 | native speaker
Improvement: 80 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
I decided to enroll in Manhattan GMAT after reading positive online reviews when I was doing course research, and I'm so glad I did. The instructors are dynamic, approachable, and somehow manage to make GMAT material interesting. You can tell that they have a real passion for the subject matter, which helps to inspire enthusiasm among the students even when they're fighting feelings of stress and discouragement.

I also appreciate how easy the process of taking make-up classes was, because it's very unlikely that someone can attend the same 3-hour class 9 weeks in a row without having some sort of conflict.

I definitely recommend MGMAT to anyone willing to put in the time and effort to stay on top of the material.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Manhattan GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community


Manhattan GMAT Course Rankings
Overall Score Improvement
103 points
International Student Score Improvement
91 points
Verbal
100%
Quant
100%
Save $350
on Manhattan GMAT
+$100 discount
+$250 bonus
Get Manhattan GMAT Promo Code