Manhattan GMAT GMAT Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [245]      Average Rating:       (4.8/5)
Courses
Find by:  
    
    
    
    
    
 
Manhattan GMAT
Manhattan GMAT provides students with the skills and strategies essential for success. There are higher standards for what defines a competitive GMAT score today. We have no magic formula, no silver bullet, no empty guarantees. Instead, we have three basic principles that separate us from other test prep: the best teachers, the most advanced learning approach, and a focus solely placed on the GMAT. Save $250-350 on Manhattan GMAT courses with GMAT Club

  Reviews
Sort by:   date of publication  most helpful
If you're going to do the GMAT, do it the right way!
November 25 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: May 27, 2012 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 100 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   Toronto, Canada | Taught by:  Avi Gutman
I tried to study for the GMAT on my own because I thought the course was way too expensive and not worth it. But I ended wasting my time and money, because I didn't even write the exam the first time. I was hovering around 580 and I couldn't get my score any higher. I postponed the exam for 6 months. I sucked it up and enrolled with MGMAT after thoroughly researching several prep courses and attending each of their trial classes.

I had Avi as my instructor and he was absolutely amazing! He was such a dynamic instructor, he was able to make the course material interesting and fun(?). He was able to explain concepts in multiple ways so that if you are stuck on one method, he could save you with another. Not only was he available after class to answer questions, he also responded to emails during the week within an hour! I thought was true dedication of an instructor that cared about my success!

In the end, I am really glad I enrolled with MGMAT. They helped me improve my score by 100 points! If you are serious about going to business school, which is $100k in tuition, then another few thousand bucks is nothing compared to the gains that you will reap in at the end.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Manhattan GMAT - Great Source!
November 25 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By bryguy2190 joined: October 8, 2012 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 80 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  MGMAT Live Online | Location:   Online |
I recently took the 9 week online class training and found it extremely useful. When entering the class, i scored a 660 on my first practice CAT exam, and by the end i was consistantly scoring betwene 710 and 740 on the practice tests. I just took the GMAT a week ago and got a 740!

The teachers were both extremely helpful, and the collaborative approach helped teach students the topic matter as well as tricks and GMAT strategies, which were equally as important as the topics for me. The quantitative section was my focus and Manhattan GMAT really helped me improve here. I never really had a problem with the verbal sections, however after taking the formal GMAT it appears as though the training and CAT provided by Manhattan GMAT both were accurate in preparing me for the exam.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Manhattan GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Getting 700+
November 30 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: November 30, 2012 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 70 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  MGMAT Guided Self Study Plus | Location:   Online | Taught by:  Liz Moliski
I studied for the GMAT for a year before taking my first official exam. I spent the first ten months reviewing Manhattan GMAT's two Foundation supplements and eight Strategy guides. I did every problem in these books and in all three official GMAC guides. In addition, I spent time re-learning grammar (always good to know). I spent 1-2 hours a day on this material.

I spent the last two months taking the six Manhattan GMAT exams as well as the two free official GMAC practice exams. Sometime during the content learning stage, I took the official diagnostic exam. I was scoring above average on all but one category. I never actually took a full practice exam from start to finish. One day I would do the essays and math sections of the exam and then do verbal practice and review. The next day I would do 1-2 hours of math problems and then take the verbal exam. After completely finishing the exam, I would review all the problems, an effort taking several hours.

My first practice exam was horrible -- 9th percentile or so -- because I didn't finish on time. That was an extremely important lesson to always finish the exam. My other CAT exam scores ranged from 650 to 740, but most were above 700. My official practice exam results were in the high 600s and low 700s. On the official exam, I got a 650; I scored very high on each section except for math. I thought I had done pretty well on math timing and that I was dropping the hard problems. Further, I thought my math score was a fluke, so I quickly decided to sign up for a second official exam the next month. However, I decided to use another math strategy. Since I had often spent more time on the first half of the math section and rushed the last third but had done well during those practice exams, I thought I would stick to this other approach that I was more used to. My study strategy was to buy the recently released 13th edition of the official guide and complete all 800 practice questions. This took a lot of time.

In addition to this, I completed the Manhattan GMAT Advanced Quant guide. I took two official exams again, achieving the same results as before. On the actual exam, my scored dropped. My math score was identical. I quickly reasoned that I must have been fooling my self somewhere and that I would need help to identify and fix the problem(s). So the first thing I did when I got back home was set up a 20-minute appointment with a tutor. I'm glad I did and I'm glad that my request made its way to Liz Moliski. I just wished I had worked with her sooner.

Liz realized that I was studying too much and did not have a real timing strategy for math. Important for my confidence, she repeatedly told me that I was good at math. She advised me to study fewer hours and practice timing sets. The "watertight" timing set strategy is laid out in Manhattan GMAT Roadmap (Guide 0). Two to three times a week, I did 15 tough math problems in 30 minutes, making sure I was sticking to the 5 problems/10 minutes intervals. The point of this exercise was to learn to drop problems that I couldn't do quickly. This was also a way to practice guessing, which I was not good at. Once I got the timing down, the next step was to make sure that I focused on correctly solving the easy and medium problems and quickly dropping the hard problems that I probably could not do within two and a half minutes. I stayed warm on the verbal by doing a couple sets of 12 hard problems each week. I took two GMAT Focus quant exams and took one official practice test, which I did from start to finish. A few weeks before taking the third official exam, I began to make flashcards (about 40 in total by the end) using the example from Roadmap of problem types that appear often or had a useful "trick" -- an insight that unlocked the problem. I wish I had done this earlier.

The week and day before the exam, I didn't over study. I did spend several hours the day before reviewing my flash cards and some problems, but I made sure I didn't study in the evening. On test day, I got over 700!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Great course, definitely recommend
January 04 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: December 19, 2012 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 130 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  MGMAT Live Online | Location:   Online | Taught by:  Emily Sledge
I had never taken the GMAT before I took the Live Online course from Manhattan GMAT but my score from my practice test went to my actual GMAT went up 130 points.

The course provides great structure each week with a ton of problems/strategy guides to work through. There is a lot of homework each week but I don't really see how you could do well on the GMAT without doing a lot of problems and taking the time to really learn the math concepts. You will never run out of material from Manhattan to do, there are tons of problems provided and CAT practice tests. The problems provided all seem pretty similar to the actual questions on the test. The strategy guides are great at explaining concepts, especially sentence correction and quant.

One of the best things about the course is OG Archer which lets you track every OG problem you do. This makes it so easy to verify strengths and weaknesses so you can use your study time better. The CAT exams also have great stats on how you did and you can aggregate your data for multiple exams to get a good understanding of where you stand.

The classes themselves were basically just going through the material you did for homework and providing a few extra tips and strategy clarifications. I felt it mostly just keep me honest about getting all the homework done and served as reassurance each week that I was on the right track. The instructors were great and I assume all Manhattan's instructors probably are. They were always available outside of class to answer any extra questions.

Would definitely recommend this course. Great structure for your GMAT studying and provides all the materials/books you could possibly need.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Manhattan GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Great Prep Course and Quant for Beginners
December 19 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By katey joined: December 19, 2012 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 100 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   Chicago-Wacker, IL USA | Taught by:  Avi Gutman
If you are a beginner in quant like I was, go for Manhattan GMAT - their strategy books are hugely helpful and give you a roadmap to learn what you need to knew. The online CAT assessments helped me identify my target areas. When I had a case of text anxiety and didn't do as well on my first exam, they did a one hour session with me to reset my study plan for the next exam. This really helped me zone in on why I didn't perform as well as I expected to on test day. They recommended I start taking tests in less comfortable atmospheres since test day would be a new environment and it really worked! I was very happy with my final score - 690 - which was my target score.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Manhattan good for SC and math but lacking in other verbal sections
December 31 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: September 23, 2012 | 4 | 1 | native speaker
Improvement: 80 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   Los Angeles, CA USA | Taught by:  Patrick Tyrrell
I took the 9 week course and studied very intensely for a month after the course. I got a 540 on the actual GMAT exam because I scored well in the math with a 44. I started with a 37 on practice tests in math so I believe that Manhattan had good math strategy. However, Manhattan really lacks in the verbal section so I am going to look for another company before I retake the GMAT.

My verbal score on their exams really fluctuated with the highest being a 37 and on the actual exam I got a 21. Their SC section was good but just knowing that is not enough to bring up your verbal score.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Manhattan GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Manhattan GMAT was great
August 06 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: June 11, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 70 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   San Francisco, CA USA | Taught by:  Kim Cabot
The Manhattan GMAT was everything that I needed to prepare for the GMAT. My instructor, Kim, was extremely helpful and guided the small class step by step through challenging problems. The classes are very small, which fosters an interactive experience and allows individuals to ask specific questions. I was able to reach out to my instructor even after the course was over and she was extremely helpful. The online resources were extremely helpful in allowing me to identify my strengths and focus on my weaknesses. I would highly recommend the GMAT class to any students seeking a fun, efficient and effective way to perform well on the GMAT.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
720 - excellent!
January 08 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By esdykes joined: August 23, 2012 | 84 | 67 | native speaker
Improvement: 120 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   New York (Manhattan), NY USA | Taught by:  David Mahler
I chose to use a prep course because I only had one shot at the GMAT before applying R1. I needed the rigor of a study schedule and accountability of classes (and money!) to force me to study.

My instructor was engaging and had been with MGMAT for awhile meaning he was excellent at addressing questions and leveraging different thought processes in the class to help us all learn. Example - I have a strong quant background (engineer) and he would call on me to answer a question when he knew I didn't have the right answer. This forced me to think through my process out-loud and learn where I went wrong.

Verbal prep helped me significantly with Reading Comprehension - my weakest area. I needed to speed up and the structure of how to read and answer questions was invaluable.

The online tools were probably the most helpful for me. Being able to track specific types of questions I was getting right and wrong along with time was key in my final week of self-guided study before the test.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Manhattan GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Don't look back...
January 10 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By NeilA joined: July 10, 2012 | 1 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  MGMAT Live Online | Location:   Online |
I recently took my GMAT for the first time, and was very pleased to have received what I consider a very good score(770). Although I have no prior experience taking the GMAT, and therefore no real "benchmark" to compare to, I am certain that the instruction I received from Manhattan GMAT was instrumental in allowing me to achieve such a result.

I think the bulk of Manhattan GMAT's success stems from their uncompromising focus on teaching. Indeed, it is very well advertised that ALL of Manhattan GMAT's instructors have scored in the 99th percentile of the GMAT. Less touted, however, is the rigorous selection and training process, all of which further refines the class of potential instructors. The result is a very concentrated group of uniquely qualified, extremely capable teachers. My course was no exception, and, despite a class with a diversity of scores, I feel that the whole class was able to receive the resources and instruction necessary to improve dramatically.

While teaching is, in my opinion, the most important aspect of the Manhattan GMAT experience, it is certainly not the only advantage offered to students. In particular, the depth of available resources is a HUGE part of--as would be said in the business world--the "value proposition" that is offered to customers. Manhattan GMAT has truly applied itself to deconstructing and dissecting the GMAT content and structure and, as a student, this seemingly unlimited set of information is made fully available. This is ironically both overwhelming and comforting at the same time; the depth and breadth of resources are initially very daunting, but it is refreshing to know that the team at Manhattan GMAT has exhaustively investigated and optimized every facet of the GMAT.

Finally, there are a few intangibles that I believe make Manhattan GMAT a very worthwhile experience. Firstly, students are provided with a definite approach--a "roadmap" as it is termed by Manhattan GMAT--that is pretty much guaranteed to ensure score maximization. In addition, I really appreciated the extra "office hours" and after class sessions with instructors. Moreover, included in the class are tools that helped me to develop a personal GMAT "gameplan," which really helped me approach the test in a very methodical way. The one-on-one 30-minute review of my personal testing history, included with the class, was also VERY helpful. With regard to the online class, the environment was very similar to, if not better than, an in-person, location based classroom approach. Having TWO instructors really is a bonus!

All in all, I am thrilled with my Manhattan GMAT experience. As others have mentioned, there are some small things that I would like to see improved(i.e the CAT is not as accurate as I thought it would be), but it is hard to argue that Manhattan GMAT is not extremely effective at its core purpose: to maximize students' GMAT scores. Like anything worth fighting for in life, mastering the GMAT will likely take dedication, hard work, and the right approach. I trusted Manhattan GMAT to guide my approach, and, fortunately, I haven't had to look back since.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Definitely MGMAT
January 10 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Pinarkekec joined: October 26, 2012 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 100 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  MGMAT Live Online | Location:   Online |
First of all, MGMAT is the course you want to take when studying for GMAT. I have taken GMAT before I took the course from MGMAT and I scored 620. After taking MGMAT and of course following their instructions, I increased my score to 720.

Both instructors I had were very helpful and were very willing to help. Any question we had, they always answered with clear and specific answers. They never left us with unclear responses. Additionally, they always showed us different routes we could take to solve the questions in quant section and gave us very helpful tips and encouraged us to solve the questions in different ways, which helped me very much.

The course structure itself was very clear and it was administered in the most entertaining way possible so that we were not bored or we lost focus.

Personally, when I needed help, I emailed either of the instructors and always had a very good response. They did not hesitate to go out of their way to help.

So for those of you out there looking for a good GMAT course, I highly suggest MGMAT because it definitely offers value for the price you are paying. It is worth every penny.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Manhattan GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community


Manhattan GMAT Course Rankings
Overall Score Improvement
103 points
International Student Score Improvement
90 points
Verbal
100%
Quant
100%
Save $350
on Manhattan GMAT
+$100 discount
+$250 bonus
Get Manhattan GMAT Promo Code