Manhattan GMAT GMAT Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [253]      Average Rating:       (4.8/5)
Courses
Find by:  
    
    
    
    
    
 
Manhattan GMAT
Manhattan GMAT provides students with the skills and strategies essential for success. There are higher standards for what defines a competitive GMAT score today. We have no magic formula, no silver bullet, no empty guarantees. Instead, we have three basic principles that separate us from other test prep: the best teachers, the most advanced learning approach, and a focus solely placed on the GMAT. Save $250-350 on Manhattan GMAT courses with GMAT Club

  Reviews
Sort by:   date of publication  most helpful
Great Course For Those With Busy Schedules
January 11 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: July 15, 2012 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 80 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  MGMAT Live Online | Location:   Online |
Finished with my course about 4 months ago and took the GMAT in November, finally getting around to leaving a review.

The course was great, the main benefit of the sessions is the guidance they give in test taking strategies. This applies to both general things such as how to manage your time and what to bring to the test as well as strategies for all the individual types of questions (IR, SC, DS, etc.).

In addition, for those who can't make it to all the live sessions, Manhattan also has recorded sessions so you can make up anything you miss. This was huge for me because I missed 3 sessions during the 9 session course and was able to watch the videos later on.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
From 590 to 740!
January 15 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: January 15, 2013 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 150 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
After the 9-Session Prep Course, I reviewed for a week before taking the official exam. I sat down confidently that day, believing that I would score at least a 680. However, soon after accepting my scores, I realized that my official score was a disappointing 590.

I took a three day break and re-planned my schedule again. I simply went over the whole set of books again. I wrote every piece of detail I did not know or understand on a note card. I reviewed the note cards at the end of each week and meticulously solved every problem on the OG13 and Quant and Verbal books. By the end of the ninth week, I had around 350 note cards of which I started discarding slowly. When taking the Practice Exams, I also realized that I did relatively well throughout most of the exam. My only problem was that I lost stamina in the second half of the Verbal section. I would get about 80 to 90% of the questions right on the first 20 questions but then nearly 50% of the questions correct in the second half of the questions.

These two changes in my strategy helped me reach a goal well above my expectation: a 740 (Q49/V41).
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Manhattan GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Manhattan GMAT
January 23 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: January 13, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 50 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   San Francisco, CA USA | Taught by:  Rey Fernandez
I took the Manhattan GMAT class in fall 2011 and had a great instructor, Rey Fernandez. We spent more class time on the math, and what was most helpful was his focus on pointing out common mistakes and strategies to remember concepts.

After my first time taking the test, I was disappointed with my verbal score and completed a post-test evaluation with MGMAT. The team was more than available and after a 30 minute call, we talked through my struggles and developed a game plan to get the score I was aiming for. This was incredibly helpful, and using only the books and materials provided by MGMAT, I was able to raise my score by 50 points.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Awesome experience with online course
January 31 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: January 31, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 100 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  MGMAT Live Online | Location:   Online |
I live in a city that doesn't offer many in-person Manhattan GMAT courses but was told by friends it is the best course to help prep for the test. So I signed up, a little warily, for the online course.

It was fantastic! It was super convenient to just log in from my home computer once a week, and I had an especially engaging instructor. He made it fun and the course content kept you paying attention and on your toes - constant problem-solving, with easy tools for class participation in the online platform.

The syllabus was really user-friendly and outlined clearly what I should prepare for each week's course, and what I should study on my own if I needed more practice or harder questions in any area. The OG Archer tool was incredibly helpful - it was an analysis I could review at any point showing how I was doing on different question types and difficulty levels. It helped me understand where I was fine and where I should focus my studying efforts (I work full time so I had to use my studying time as efficiently as possible).

Though the GMAT math is supposed to be stuff you've learned in high school, I hadn't really done that kind of math for a while, and I'd also never learned some things like factorials. My instructor was great at walking us through concepts and the Manhattan workbooks and other resources also gave me great practice. I especially liked the easy online format for question practice, where I could set a timer for individual questions or a whole question set to practice budgeting my time per question (this was an issue for me at first - spending way too much time on some questions).

The Manhattan course consistently offers tips and reinforces the most important, like accepting that you won't answer every question correctly, not wasting energy studying for the essay and IR portions of the test, since schools don't look as critically at those as long as you are at a certain level, etc.

Manhattan also has partnerships with other organizations like MBAMission and you can look at free stuff like b-school guides for your top choices, to help you prepare for your actual applications. I also viewed a recorded webinar with essay writing tips that ended up being really helpful when I got down to the actual applications. Great set of resources all around.

I wasn't always set on business school, so I had to do a lot of research in a short period of time to get a handle on the process. Manhattan GMAT resources were a huge help.

Highly recommend the program!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Manhattan GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Manhattan GMAT Course
February 01 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: February 1, 2013 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 140 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   Montreal, Canada | Taught by:  Stacey Koprince
I was looking for a GMAT course and I chose Manhattan GMAT after reading good reviews online. I couldn’t be happier with my choice. Working long hours in finance, I really had to maximize my studying in order to get a good score.

My teacher was Stacey Koprince. She is dedicated, communicates the material very well and makes the entire experience enjoyable. I had difficulties managing my time properly during CAT exams and Stacey gave me several good tips on the matter. Also, she helped me a lot on how to approach +700 questions within 2 minutes.

Manhattan GMAT books are very good. They cover the material efficiently and will provide you with great insight about the exam. Also, the CAT exams are great at spotting your weaknesses and working on your timing.

Overall, I had a great experience with Manhattan GMAT and Stacey is a Fantastic teacher. Thanks to them, I improved my score and got 700 on the GMAT!!!!


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Manhattan GMAT: Worth the Investment
February 03 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: February 3, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 100 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   Chicago-N. LaSalle, IL USA | Taught by:  Dan Bartz
Fantastic course. Although time intensive, the preparation was great (and a good prep for actually applying to a part-time MBA program). I took the test once on my own without enough preparation and did not get the score I wanted. I took the Manhattan course and retook the test about 2 weeks after the class was over -- and my score improved by 100 points. I decided on the in-class sessions to force some discipline upon myself.

The instructor was the highlight. He was so patient in class and followed up with emails each week. The class taught so many techniques to solve both the quant and verbal sections. On the verbal section topics, I was most impressed with how the course broke down Critical Reasoning. You learned how to truly read and answer the question. For the quant, the class opened my eyes to the various ways to think about the problems. It's a well designed course with more resources than you could ever utilize; but the options ensure every student will be able to get what they need.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Manhattan GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Excellent instructor and materials - highly recommend Manhattan GMAT
February 05 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By rsears1983 joined: February 5, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 160 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   New York (Manhattan), NY USA | Taught by:  Jonathan Schneider
I would highly recommend Manhattan GMAT because of the high quality instruction and materials.

I took the 9-week Manhattan GMAT in-person class in Manhattan, and my instructor was Jonathan Schneider. I was extremely impressed by Jonathan as an instructor, and I would recommend Manhattan GMAT because I would advise other students to take his class. Jonathan was enjoyable and engaging in class, and he clearly had a mastery of the material and cared about student success. I felt extremely lucky that I had such an effective teacher, and even though Manhattan GMAT came well reviewed, Jonathan exceeded my expectations as a teacher. Jonathan was responsive via email, was willing to meet with students before and after class, and even let me tag along with him during his lunch break right before my test to talk me through a difficult subject matter I had missed in class.

The materials were also excellent. It had been 10 full years since I had done any serious math, and my quant score increased by 20 percentiles.

My only complaint is admittedly selfish - I wish we could have spent even more time on the quantitative section. I walked in significantly stronger on the verbal section, however, the techniques taught in the class helped me a great deal even with the verbal section. I got a 700 overall score on the test, but that was largely on my verbal skills being even better than my math skills. I was glad that my verbal score increased significantly as well, but I wish there could be even more of the math materials taught in the class. That said, the course was excellent, and I was very satisfied with my experience.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
MGMAT Review
February 07 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By mquinn18 joined: February 7, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
Prior to taking the GMAT I was unsure if I should sign up for a course to help me prepare, thinking that I would be able to do well just by studying on my own. After hearing the opinions of some of my friends, however, it became clear that the best course of action would be to enroll in a prep course and that Manhattan GMAT was the most highly recommended.

After taking the 9-week course I cannot agree enough. The course helps you prepare for all sections of the test and every possible topic you could see. This was helpful, but the biggest thing for me was that the course provides you with a syllabus that outlines a study plan for you, telling you where to find certain problems in the books and which topics to study when. This, along with the great instructor and course plan, was a huge contributor to getting a 700+ score.

After taking the course I will definitely recommend it to anyone who plans on taking the GMAT.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Manhattan GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
GMAT Tutoring
February 14 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: February 14, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 100 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  MGMAT Guided Self Study Plus | Location:   Online | Taught by:  David Chong
David was an excellent tutor and helped provide the feedback I needed. He broke down the concepts and provided tips that were very helpful during the test. He was very available to answer questions and was able to really hone in on my weak points, specifically probabilities and combinatorics. He also made the GMAT less of a mystery by explaining how the scoring process worked and what the best strategy was for time management, difficult problems, and boosting your final score. In my case, I knew that I wanted to boost my quant as much as possible so we focused on that. He gave me hundreds of problems to do and in the end it paid off.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Excellent GMAT Prep Course!
February 28 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: February 28, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 120 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   San Francisco, CA USA | Taught by:  Ron Purewal
Manhattan GMAT was recommended to me by friends who have gone to the top business schools in the country. Everyone pushed me to get a 700-720+ on the GMAT as a baseline score and told me to enroll in this class. They were absolutely right.

It's impressive how different prep programs can be - I've taken Kaplan and Princeton in the past but Manhattan GMAT is well-designed and well-executed. The course increased my practice exam scores +120 points and got me above the baselines suggested above. Great experience and great value for a process that can otherwise be very unpleasant (I don't know of anyone who loved prepping for and taking the GMAT). Thanks Manhattan GMAT! I would recommend this to anyone I know that is looking to prep.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Manhattan GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community


Manhattan GMAT Course Rankings
Overall Score Improvement
104 points
International Student Score Improvement
92 points
Verbal
100%
Quant
100%
Save $350
on Manhattan GMAT
+$100 discount
+$250 bonus
Get Manhattan GMAT Promo Code