Manhattan GMAT GMAT Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [271]      Average Rating:       (4.8/5)
Courses
Find by:  
    
    
    
    
    
 
Manhattan GMAT
Manhattan GMAT provides students with the skills and strategies essential for success. There are higher standards for what defines a competitive GMAT score today. We have no magic formula, no silver bullet, no empty guarantees. Instead, we have three basic principles that separate us from other test prep: the best teachers, the most advanced learning approach, and a focus solely placed on the GMAT. Save $250-350 on Manhattan GMAT courses with GMAT Club

  Reviews
Sort by:   date of publication  most helpful
Probably the best GMAT preparation company out there
January 19 | 2012

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By udvranto joined: August 17, 2011 | 130 | 73 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 50 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   Chicago-Wacker, IL USA |
I took the Fall 2011 nine week MGMAT class in Evanston, IL. A room booked in the Hotel Orrignton, Evanston, IL was used for the class. Our tutor was Viren Tellis, a Kellogg JD-MBA student. He was smart, with a good sense of humor.

Who am I?
I am a mechanical engineer, working in the software development area in an US company. I have a Masters from an US university. I obtained 550 in my first GMAT and currently preparing for my second GMAT. Although I believe the review has nothing to do with my score, I wanted to disclose my score before you spend your time reading the review.

Why MGMAT?
I choose the MGMAT because all the online review for the MGMAT courses and books were excellent!

When I went to take the sample Kaplan course, I was informed that shooting for 700 is not necessary! Be practical and shoot for 650+. On the contrary MGMAT did not limit the target, rather focused on content. The feedback I got from GMAT Club forum resonated with my findings.

Although I did not research much about Veritas, I felt two study sessions per week would be too much for me. I prefer studying on my own rather than sitting in a classroom.

How did the course go?
Once the class started, it went fast! I was having hard time to keep up with the home work. There was a scheduling conflict for room and we got an one week of break. I was able to finish all the homework up to that point and started working on the foundation of verbal book. When the course ended, I had about 90% content covered.

We were instructed to take an exam three weeks after the course. I did so. But I took a different route during my practice after the course. The rest is history.

Debrief

How was the Instructor?
The instructor Viren Tellis was energetic, smart and funny. He would not move on to the next topic until everyone in the class understood it. He used make funny mnemonics to help us remember rules, tricks etc.

What did I like about MGMAT?
+ Content based learning

+ Access to great books, both online and offline, online video labs, online recordings of class

+ Access to online tools: OG Archer, Online Exam and assessment, question bank, forum, online classroom, weekly half hour of personalized phone help

+ Great tutors: covers a good amount of material and questions in class

+ Post exam evaluation was very good to identify my problems and get going accordingly

What could be improved?
Although I listed a ton of issues, these are just suggestions for improvement. If I researched correctly, the MGMAT content, tools and methods are superior than any other test company out there. I would strongly recommend MGMAT to the future GMAT test takers.

- MGMAT says that the course requires about 15 hours of reading every week. I spent about 20 hrs/week, but had hard time finishing it. Specially if you are working full time, it is more so.

I was creating notes during my reading, slowing me down. However, I would argue that note taking is good for you.

One class was rescheduled due to the availability of the room. This provided a great break to catch up with the home work. I wish there were one more break! This kind of break should be included in the course.

- The course is not tailored to fit a particular need. I am pretty solid at Math. But I was just sitting there doing the simple drills that did not help me much.

To solve the problem MGMAT can introduce three variants of the course: a) Math Emphasized b) Verbal Emphasized c) Same weight on both (i.e. current offering). A pre-assessment can be done online to categorize and suggest the student with better offering customized for him/her.

- The CAT assessment could be enhanced by using the graphical tool available for OG Archer. The textual representation is hard to read and categorize.

The article on practice test evaluation points out five areas to focus on during the analysis.
http://www.manhattangmat.com/blog/index.php/2011/05/23/evaluating-your-practice-tests/
I. 50+%, Correct timing
II. 50-%, Correct timing
III. 50-%, Fast
IV. 50+%, Slow
V. 50-%, Slow

These areas can be presented in a graph as shown below:
[img]http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7148/6636247727_e417b896f9.jpg[/img]

It would be helpful to have the OG Archer like graphical representation for the practice tests.

[img]http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7165/6636247805_0c996aaf58.jpg[/img]

- The OG Archer graphical tool is great but not available for OG 11, OG 10 etc.

Moreover, the OG archer does not show the difficulty level on the chart. It would be better if the Y-axis showed the difficulty from 200 to 800 and the size of the bubble as the %right.

- No audio material is available. This could be helpful for commuters.

- The online interface is not very user friendly. It took me a lot of time to get used to it.

Any other advice for prospective students?
- Do you research. Take the sample classes offered by different companies. Read reviews. Seek for help in GMAT Club. Find out what’s best for you before you decide.

- Take notes and do it with your own hand. The notes created by other people don’t help you much. Notes that you wrote yourself recalls the memory much better than any other notes.

- If you choose MGMAT, make room for at least 20 hrs of time per week for the home work.

- Finish the foundation book(s) BEFORE the courses begin. You won’t have time to read it during the course. If your foundation is not brushed up, the course content will be a waste.

- Take the time to familiarize yourself with the online resources. They have great resources but poorly organized.

- Replace the CR book with the PowerScore CR bible. Although the MGMAT CR book is good, PowerScore CR is much better. Please note that the course is synchronized with the book so it may cause a bit of disorientation. Rest of the materials are of excellent quality.

- Do not look for any other materials/books out there. I have tried plenty. Stick to MGMAT, stick to OG and you will be almost there.

- Use the half an hour phone session offered every week. I did not use it much. But realized it could be helpful.


Good luck!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Good for the 600-700 Range or 700+ with extra effort
April 04 | 2012

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By hello1234 joined: May 8, 2010 | 15 | 10 | native speaker
Improvement: 200 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  MGMAT Guided Self Study Plus | Location:   Online |
The MGMAT recorded courses are great if you want to score between 600-700, which may be all you need. However, in order to get 700+ the courses themselves don't really cut it.

On the other hand, the books, online tests, and other materials are GREAT! Paired with Google it's all you need to drag you up from a 500 to a 770 ;)

The yellow pad and pen are a great addition to the pack - it eases you into the simulating the tests. The online tests the MGMAT has are a bit more challenging in the math department than the real test but the pressure that creates to learn the shortcuts of the math problems will help you out. SC was what tripped me up the most, but the MGMAT SC book paired with the Official Guide (included in the package) dragged me through that kicking and screaming.

And of course, since it is a pricey course, after you're all done you can sell the books on ebay for a few hundred too. If I were to do it again I'd skip the 9 online courses and just get all the books + online practice exams.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Manhattan GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Live Online Course
May 03 | 2012

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By bpeyster joined: January 16, 2012 | 17 | 13 | native speaker
Improvement: 70 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  MGMAT Live Online | Location:   Online | Taught by:  Mark Sullivan
The Live Online course was very solid, especially for consultants who never know where they'll be or when they'll be there until.

Pros: Provides an excellent framework for how to approach studying. Breaks it down into manageable weekly segments that require a lot of work, but are thought out and doable if you put in the time. The syllabus and the books are the most invaluable part of this course.

On that note, I cannot recommend the MGMAT books enough. They are the best material out there, especially for those of us who struggle with concepts like number properties. The CAT's are also the best non-Official tests you can take, and give a very accurate representation of your score. I would estimate that the Quant on MGMAT CAT's is more difficult and time consuming than on the real thing, but that prepares you well for time management.

The instructors were very good, especially the lead instructor for our course. Cold calling was definitely appreciated, since it motivates you to do your work.

Also, the best part of Manhattan is that they are a no fluff company. I read a lot of tricks and secrets and other things from certain providers, but Manhattan emphasizes hard work and learning the underlying concepts, which in my opinion, are the key to doing well on the test.

Cons: I thought the class moved a bit too slowly. If you're a higher level test taker and really putting in hours to study, you will probably rise above the course material and find class a little slow. That being said, it was still a good review of things and a good confidence builder.

Overall: Solid 9/10. I would recommend it to anyone, especially if you need the spark to study like I did, and the weekly check points to make sure you do your work. You also get free office hours that I wish I had used, and would have been really valuable for certain sticky areas. The CAT's and the books are an easy 10/10. I was happy with my score.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Manhattan GMAT is great
May 14 | 2012

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: May 14, 2012 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 140 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   DC Area, DC USA | Taught by:  Joseph Martin
In researching GMAT courses to take, I read many reviews and talked to a few people. Most people said Manhattan GMAT was the best, and the reviews were certainly excellent. I signed up, hoping it was worth the price.

It was. MGMAT's 9-week live course isn't cheap, but it is excellent. I highly recommend it if you are serious about getting a top score (I got a 740). The written strategy guides are good, the OG Archer is a must-have resource (the other online resources are pretty good, too), and my instructor was excellent. He was funny, enthusiastic, very smart, and very able to break down complex problems into bite sized chunks.

Ultimately, your score really depends on the work you put into studying for the test. With discipline, focus, and a few months of your life dedicated to studying, you can do very well on the GMAT. But having a top notch instructor and a solid curriculum really help too. If you're serious about getting an excellent score, I highly recommend Manhattan GMAT.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Manhattan GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Manhattan GMAT: best GMAT prep materials
June 29 | 2012

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By luongthevinh joined: June 11, 2012 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  MGMAT Guided Self Study | Location:   Online |
To prepare for my GMAT, I used a variety of prep materials from GMAC, Manhattan Prep and other prep companies. I like the Manhattan GMAT series a lot for its focus on concepts. The explanations have sufficient substance to help learners grasp the concepts behind the questions. Other companies seem to lean towards elimination tricks, which work well for questions up to the 700 level but not beyond.

I have also found that the Manhattan GMAT series does not contain any serious typological mistakes, while than some books by other companies repeatedly contain frustrating typos. This is a small matter that can cause a lot of confusion to learners, especially in a timed testing environment. Manhattan GMAT's attention to detail makes a difference.

I attended two very workshops in Singapore conducted by Robert Wilburn. Those workshops helped me consolidate and further enhance things I had learned by that point.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Two thumbs up - Great Program
July 17 | 2012

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: July 17, 2012 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 130 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   New York (Manhattan), NY USA | Taught by:  Hemanth Venkataraman
My time with Manhattan GMAT was well spent. When I started the course I was completely unprepared, not to mention I hadn't done much math between my senior year of high school and now. Not only did MGMAT prepare me with detailed books and plenty of coursework, but they have a number of resources available to students, and they are very generous with their time/practice center.

My instructor was excellent--he was clear, practical and held my attention for the whole class. In addition to strong instruction, the books were easy to read and kept me very busy.

The practice center was a helpful tool. I get anxious when it comes to test taking. Not only was I able to practice in "test-like" environments, but I was able to use the center for regular practice and homework as well. Having a quiet work space is key, and while I know it wasn't policy to have some classrooms open, every now and then when I needed to do timed drills after work, they let me use an empty classroom.

As someone else in another post mentioned, if you start to test at the top of the range and continue to take the adaptive tests, you start to run into some repeat questions, which does inflate your score. This only happens if you go through all six tests and then reset them (although it looks like they've also added a bunch of new questions along with the integrated reasoning practice.)

Overall, I had a great experience with Manhattan GMAT. I did take it twice, but I am very happy with my score. It is a high quality experience and I highly recommend the program.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Manhattan GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Manhattan GMAT lives up to the hype
August 14 | 2012

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By BigRedMBA joined: August 14, 2012 | 14 | 20 | native speaker
Improvement: 100 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
I first found out about Manhattan GMAT from a co-worker/friend of mine who had just gotten a full ride to Columbia Business School. She told me it was hands down the best course around, and that was all the proof I needed (the fact that she got a 730 helped too).

I actually took the course twice. the first time I was pretty swamped at work and didn't have time to keep up with the pretty demanding workload of the course (about 8-12 hours of work a week). Before I knew it 8 weeks had passed and the course was over. I didn't even bother to take any more practice tests because i knew I hadn't taken the course seriously. This course is great but you only get out of it, what you put in.

Fast forward a year later, and I hear that the GMAT is changing in June, so I take the plunge, sign up to take the course again and register to take the GMAT the last week in May (about a week after my final Manhattan GMAT class). This time around i buckled down, stopped going out on weekends, and kept up with the course curriculum. Needless to say, this dedication paid dividends! I ended up getting 10 points above my target score and got a 730 on the GMAT.

The course is great because of how thorough the materials are and how charismatic the teachers are. They take something that should be boring and mundane, and make it fairly enjoyable. The math section of their practice test is a little more difficult than the actual GMAT, and I think this is due to the difficulty level increasing much more quickly on the Manhattan GMAT exams then on the real GMAT. This could be considered a good thing though, because it forces you to really work on your time management, an essential skill for getting a good score on the GMAT.

Regardless, I definitely recommend Manhattan GMAT to anyone really looking to get a good score on the exam. Just remember that there are no tricks or shortcuts, the more you put into the course, the more you'll get out of it!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Manhattan GMAT - 5 Stars!
August 07 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By chnster888 joined: August 7, 2014 | 1 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 110 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   San Francisco, CA USA | Taught by:  Kim Cabot
I took Manhattan GMAT's in person complete course and had a great experience. Kim, my teacher, was awesome - she was passionate about the subject and was excellent at both explaining the concepts needed for the exam and presenting strategies for dealing with difficult problems. The course materials were great as well – the practice exams were a good simulation of the real thing, the homework was helpful in learning/reviewing the necessary concepts, and the extra problems excellent at providing additional practice. Overall my score improved 110 points from the first diagnostic test that I took, and I ended up scoring in the 99th percentile on the real test.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Manhattan GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
740 - (Q48,V42)
January 11 | 2013

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: November 21, 2012 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 90 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  MGMAT Guided Self Study | Location:   Online |
I went to Manhattan GMAT because I had taken the GMAT twice and scored 650 both times with good verbal (95%) but poor quant (50%). I had one last shot at the GMAT before the admission deadline.

For my first 650 I had done quite a lot of preparation but on the day I misjudged the quant timing so I was not hugely surprised when I got this score. However, the second time I took the test I had worked very hard to learn all the mathematical principles, do hundreds of OG practice questions and focus on my timing. I was very disheartened to get a score of 650 again.

I called up MGMAT who put me in touch with Sarah. We booked a session right away. In all, I had three sessions with Sarah, two face to face and one online, and we focussed solely on quant.

I talked her through my approach and immediately she identified that I should modify my study technique so that I placed much more emphasis on reviewing in detail every question which I practiced. Previously, I had only reviewed the questions which I answered incorrectly. I had also not really understood that a good review involves understanding the principles of each question and critically thinking 'how could they have made this question harder?', 'what have I learnt from this?'. After my first session with Sarah, I reviewed every question whether I had answered rightly or wrongly.

Between our lessons I noticed the difference immediately. My review process became more sophisticated and I began to 'see' how to rephrase questions very quickly and understand the potential traps that each question presented.

Sarah also showed me that certain concepts such as prime factorisation could be used across whole ranges of questions. This seemed to unlock a lot of questions which I had been unable to do previously in the 2 minute time limit per question.

One critical point that Sarah taught me was the importance of strategic guessing. I had done very little of this in my previous attempts because it felt so unnatural to approach a question knowing that you were going to have to strategically guess. This really unlocked the quant section for me. In each question after 45 seconds if I was not certain that I could get to the answer in time then I would put all my energy into making the most intelligent guess possible. At first, I felt very uncomfortable doing this but after a while it made a significant difference to my practice test scores.

The day of my final test came and I incorporated everything that Sarah had taught me as well as all the principles that I had learnt in my practice reviews. I had to guess quite a few of the questions in the test but unlike before I actively narrowed down the potential answer choices. The final few questions of the test were quite challenging so I felt cautiously optimistic that the section had gone well.

Then came the moment of truth and 740 appeared on the screen. All the work had paid off.

I wouldn't have been able to do this without sessions with Sarah. She never promised that I would get over 700 or sell me something that she couldn't deliver on. Instead she gave me lots of encouragement and was very patient when I had any difficulties. Although I still had to do lots of work she made sure that I did the right type of work which would actually benefit my score. I'd recommend personal tuition even for a few hours to anyone who feels stuck with the gmat like I did. Now on to the next stage!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
630 --> 730!
January 11 | 2013

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By DB90 joined: January 11, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 100 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  MGMAT Guided Self Study | Location:   Online | Taught by:  Chris Gentry
I spent about 4 months using the MGMAT books and self study method prepping for the GMAT. I scored a 630. During just a few hours with Chris over the course of the last 4 months, I was able to improve my score to a 730. I whole heartedly believe that his tutoring made breaking 700 possible. He had an excellent knowledge of the material, worked well with me specifically, was easily accessible, and was an excellent teacher / communicator. Without him, I remain convinced that I would have been struggling to break 650 and subsequently fighting to get into a my target grad schools. Thanks Chris and MGMAT.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Manhattan GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community


Manhattan GMAT Course Rankings
Overall Score Improvement
103 points
International Student Score Improvement
91 points
Verbal
100%
Quant
100%
Save $350
on Manhattan GMAT
+$100 discount
+$250 bonus
Get Manhattan GMAT Promo Code