Manhattan GMAT GMAT Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [245]      Average Rating:       (4.8/5)
Courses
Find by:  
    
    
    
    
    
 
Manhattan GMAT
Manhattan GMAT provides students with the skills and strategies essential for success. There are higher standards for what defines a competitive GMAT score today. We have no magic formula, no silver bullet, no empty guarantees. Instead, we have three basic principles that separate us from other test prep: the best teachers, the most advanced learning approach, and a focus solely placed on the GMAT. Save $250-350 on Manhattan GMAT courses with GMAT Club

  Reviews
Sort by:   date of publication  most helpful
MGMAT Online - Systematic Approach
January 11 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By mba2gb joined: September 27, 2005 | 23 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  MGMAT Live Online | Location:   Online |
I think the perceptions will vary from one person to another in choosing a course - live online course, classroom teaching ..etc. On the other hand, there are quite a few who will NOT prefer a course at all.

I took the Manhattan live online course (don't ask me why -:)). So my comments

1. You must have already heard this - Some of the Manhattan study guides are exceptional - Sentence Correction, Number properties, Word translations Equations, Inequalities & VICs. Even if you don't take the course, you may need these guides (if you weak in certain areas such as Sentence Correction).

2. The main purpose of any online course or classroom coaching in general is to make any person preparing for the GMAT systematic. There is some homework given, you know what you need to do each week. Manhattan mainly focuses on completing the official guide. Study Guides
separate question types of OG according to each topic, which makes it easy to understand our weakness, clear, our basics etc.

3. There are other things given along with the course.
Math Challenge set
Official Guide general, OG Verbal, OG math,
Labs
Practice exams - Cambridge review - 3, Manhattan GMAT - 3

4. Instructors are good, polite and patient.

I think I have said more than required -:). Any course is another good helper aid in getting us closer to our target score. Bottom-line, it depends a lot on how you prepare and how much you practice if you want to reach a score of 700+ or 750+.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
MGMAT -- Good if you like the way they teach
January 11 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By akuma joined: December 15, 2009 | 21 | 4 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  MGMAT Live Online | Location:   Online |
I'm currently enrolled in the full in-person 9-week MGMAT course and all I can say is that the course is very demanding. As you may already know, your GMAT score will inevitably reflect what you put in.

As far as the two courses go, I feel as if Knewton and MGMAT use different teaching methodologies; albeit, both are highly structured ways of prepping. MGMAT is more old-school: here's 10 books, study organizer, stopwatch, now it's up to you. Knewton claims of it's "smarter and revolutionary" way of prepping: adaptive without any traditional resources i.e. books)

So it's ultimately up to what your study habits are. If you're like me who find it hard to self-motivate and self-study, then either prep is ideal. I would suggest that if you're going to spend $1000 then you should aim to get the best of both worlds. Get all the Manhattan guides, OG, OG Quant, OG Verbal (they offer the package on the MGMAT site for like $280?) and also sign up for Knewton $690. Yes, there will be a lot of overlap but I think it's a smart way to reinforce concepts :-D
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Manhattan GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
MGMAT Online -- Excellent
January 11 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By jmcd2127 joined: May 26, 2010 | 13 | 3 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  MGMAT Live Online | Location:   Online | Taught by:  Emily Sledge
I took the Manhattan GMAT online course (instructors Emily Sledge and Keith Blume) and used the tests/forum here as a supplement. Overall, I studied for about 3 months and I spent about 2-3 hrs (on avg) per day studying, it was a lot of work, but worth the time I think.

I thought that the Manhattan course was excellent and both Keith and Emily were great. I haven't taken any other courses, but I can't imagine an online course being any better than the one that I took. Keith and Emily were engaging and kept it interesting. The Manhattan verbal material was excellent. The quant material was also excellent, but the questions (on their prep tests) were too calculation intensive when comparing it to the real GMAT. That was my only problem with the material. The Manhattan quant section is a GREAT section for fundamentals. As long as you recognize that and practice those fundamentals with the GMAT prep Questions.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
MGMAT Online -- very pleased, will recommend to anyone
January 11 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By kahalani joined: December 7, 2008 | 6 | 9 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  MGMAT Live Online | Location:   Online | Taught by:  Tom Rose
I took the GMAT for the first time two weeks ago. I took the Manhattan GMAT course with Tom Rose and Mike Kim. The course was great, and MGMAT was my main (basically my only) source of study material and practice exams.

I completed the exam on June 14th and received 750 - 98% overall (47V - 99%, 47Q - 78%), 5.5 writing. I gained about 5 points in my verbal score and 25 points in quant compared to the early practice exams (not only MGMATs). I took an online course beginning in January (with Tom Rose and Mike Kim), and the Live Online Advanced Workshop more recently. I worked through the MGMAT math books extensively, and that made all the difference.

In the MGMAT course, Tom and Mike were able to thoroughly explain every question we faced. What I loved about MGMAT was that they taught us the actual concepts, in a simple, easy-to-digest manner. No tricks to "beat the exam". I am now much more capable of doing basic math in my head. I can do quick calculations and estimations with no calculator, and I've found that helpful in other area of life as well. The online format is great and easy to get used to. I really liked that I could ask question to one instructor via text and not hold up the rest of the class. I was definitely more willing to ask "stupid" questions, and this ensured I didn't miss anything.

The test went pretty well. I got a bit nervous and made some timing mistakes. I could have used an extra minute for my second essay, and mistakenly thought I had one quant question left when I actually had two. I took too long on the second to last one and ended up completely missing the last. I didn't even have time to put in a random guess. I think that is what made me miss the 80% percentile in quant. Rookie mistake. Verbal was fine, though a bit harder than MGMAT practice exams. I remember very clearly more questions where I was stuck on one of two choices, than I do with most MGMAT exams. This is especially true for the questions regarding the purpose of a passage. Usually I finish the verbal section with 15 minutes to spare, and this time I had only 3 or 4 minutes.

Day of the exam I felt really well prepared. The questions I faced were extremely similar to the MGMAT practice exams. Much more so than the Knewton or Kaplan tests (both of which I tried once). My scores were even closer by MGMAT then by GMAT Prep, which is the official practice exam; however, I think this is partially because I was getting nervous the two days before my exam, when I took the GMAP Prep tests. My course ended in March, but I wasn't able to study from then until after May, due to work and finishing school. Access to all the online materials closes after three months, but I emailed MGMAT, and they extended it for free. I then spent the first two weeks of June in focused prep, every night. Ended up working for me, though I probably could have done better timing-wise (and with much less stress) if I did the work as MGMAT recommended.

All in all, great course. Worth every penny.

Now let's see about getting into a decent business school...

MGMAT - thanks for everything. I will certainly be recommending you guys in the future.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Manhattan GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
MGMAT Guided Self Study -- Hugely Beneficial
January 11 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By RuggedIdealist joined: August 24, 2010 | 29 | 7 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  MGMAT Guided Self Study | Location:   Online |
I used the Manhattan GMAT Self-Study Guide (purchased from MGMAT for $480) and followed their curriculum. This approach was hugely beneficial for me. This Study Plan came with a detailed day-by-day study guide -- which chapters to read each day, which problems to do each day -- which kept me on track. The plan is designed for 9 weeks of study. I condensed it down to 6 weeks. What this meant was that I would do two days worth of studying for each day. On top of working a 9-5 job. On weekends, I was logging in 6 hours each day (to make up any of the problems I didn’t get to during the week). (And in case you were wondering, yes, I wasn’t much fun to be around this last month. And yes, I ate crappy food all the time. )

I'd like to backtrack for a moment and say that once I got my MGMAT materials, I took an initial MGMAT CAT exam to see how I'd do. At this point, I was only vaguely familiar with the GMAT content, and just needed to know where I stood. I scored a 580—I am horrible at math.

Anyways, one of the nice things about the MGMAT Self Study approach is that throughout the 9 (or 6 weeks), you end up doing most of the OG problems in the book. And, included an OG tracker in Excel, so I was able to track my answers, timing, and get a detailed analysis of my weak spots. It really broke it down for me -- I can't say enough about how helpful it is.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Manhattan GMAT class review
January 19 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: February 1, 2011 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 50 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
I felt this course was not very helpful in terms of math. They did not provide adequate enough math problems to help solve the Advanced Math problems. It was not until recently that Manhattan GMAT provided the Advanced Math coursebook that I felt was more in line with actual math problems I saw on the real exam. Also, the Number Properties course was very useful.

Generally speaking, I believe each in-class course that is taught my Manhattan GMAT depends on who the instructor is, and what strengths the instructor has. I did not like my initial instructor bc he was very poor at explaining verbal explanations and so I switched into a different course and like my teacher MUCH better.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Manhattan GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
9 Session Prep course
January 24 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: July 18, 2011 | 0 | 5 | non-native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   Chicago-Wacker, IL USA | Taught by:  Keith Blume
The 9 session prep course is a very useful course if you are a person who needs a class atmosphere to study and need a robust study plan. The instructor i have is really knowledgeable. He move at a pace in which everyone can understand and tries to make the class interesting. You are free to ask any kind of questions and the best part is that if you answer right he will really appreciate you but even if you give the most wrong answer possible he will still find a way to appreciate you. More than that their 8 guide are really informative especially the Number properties, word problems and Sentence correction guides. You also get to pick one insider information of the college you wish to apply. They also have a post test review to see how well you performed and if you are happy with it. One the whole its the best class and worth every buck.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
MGMAT Self-Study Prep!
January 24 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By nutsngum joined: November 9, 2011 | 47 | 5 | native speaker
Improvement: 160 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  MGMAT Guided Self Study | Location:   Online |
This is a great refresher course for people who have learned the basics of Math/Verbal techniques but need a good brush up.

MGMAT does an excellent job of summarizing key concepts that you'll need, then applying them to how you will see them on the GMAT. It covers enough topics to be comprehensive without going into too much detail you'll never need to know.

The best part about this program in my opinion are the CAT exams that MGMAT provides. The explanations that they provide to debrief your exam are outstanding, and really help ingrain the reasons as to why you got the question wrong, or how you could have approached it more efficiently.

I would highly recommend this program to those who are diligent with self-study and would like to work on their own schedules.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Manhattan GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Broad Coverage - in depth
January 25 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: December 5, 2011 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 120 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  MGMAT Live Online | Location:   Online | Taught by:  Avi Gutman
I used the MGMAT course to start studying for the GMAT. I found their guides and live classes to be extremely helpful. Their written guides cover each topic individually, while the classes go into OG specific problems related to that weeks topic.

The instructors are charismatic and engaging. I would highly recommend this course. If you don't want to take classes I would then suggest you at least get the guides from MGMAT.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Excellent
February 08 | 2012

       By Anonymous joined: February 8, 2012 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 100 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   New York (Midtown Manhattan), NY USA | Taught by:  Gregg Lachow
Manhattan GMAT's program was extremely extensive and thorough. The program covers every question on the test that you could be asked. My instructor was extremely helpful and not only prepared me with the material, but also gave us additional study, test-taking and application tips. I would refer no other program but this one. Manhattan's customer service is also exceptional.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Manhattan GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community


Manhattan GMAT Course Rankings
Overall Score Improvement
103 points
International Student Score Improvement
90 points
Verbal
100%
Quant
100%
Save $350
on Manhattan GMAT
+$100 discount
+$250 bonus
Get Manhattan GMAT Promo Code