Manhattan GMAT GMAT Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [240]      Average Rating:       (4.8/5)
Courses
Find by:  
    
    
    
    
    
 
Manhattan GMAT
Manhattan GMAT provides students with the skills and strategies essential for success. There are higher standards for what defines a competitive GMAT score today. We have no magic formula, no silver bullet, no empty guarantees. Instead, we have three basic principles that separate us from other test prep: the best teachers, the most advanced learning approach, and a focus solely placed on the GMAT. Save $250-350 on Manhattan GMAT courses with GMAT Club

  Reviews
Sort by:   date of publication  most helpful
The course for a strong GMAT score!
February 13 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: March 13, 2009 | 3 | 1 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 70 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  MGMAT Guided Self Study | Location:   Online | Taught by:  Kevin Shen
I would like to highly recommend the Manhattan GMAT preparatory material as well as Kevin Shen for individual tutoring sessions to people looking to achieve a top GMAT score!

I was looking for a course because I wanted to improve my score as I was aiming to get a place in a top 10 business school. Initially I used another supplier so after an extensive research, I decided to go with the Manhattan GMAT self-guided study.

MGMAT provided me with extensive material on Quant and Verbal that helped me build a strong knowledge base for the exam.

Furthermore I cannot stress enough the value Kevin Shen, my instructor, provided in helping me achieve my target score. His help was critical in helping me improve my score in the range I was aiming for. Kevin has the ability to identify your areas of improvement not only in terms of knowledge but in terms of test-taking strategies. This in my opinion is very important for success in the GMAT!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
MGmat
February 09 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By sivarangan joined: March 18, 2011 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   Greenwood Village, CO USA |
I have been using the Manhattan GMAT for all my preparation and practice. I am highly impressed with the course content and even more with their practice tests. I think they are definitely one of the top notch practice tests you can get. I am yet to take the GMAT and plan to do that in the next couple of months but wanted to share my review for folks who are just getting started. I also happened to take their live class here in Denver and I must say that the course instructor was very impressive. She had herself attended and ivy league school so that perspective was most certainly welcome. Further their instructors are all supposed to have scored in excess of 750 so you get some really smart people teaching you the ropes. I must say I haven't tried other preparatory course out there but going through course material never really felt i was lacking something. Good luck to everyone in their preparation.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Manhattan GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Great Structure and Support
February 19 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By Shko1 joined: August 21, 2011 | 27 | 7 | native speaker
Improvement: 200 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   New York (Manhattan), NY USA | Taught by:  Ceilidh Erickson
I currently work at an Investment Bank so trying to study for the GMAT has been difficult. In addition to achive a successful score, you have to not just worry about studying and understanding the material but having strategies along the way. Manhattan GMAT provides great structure that has been proven in addition to the support and resources. They understand what is key asnd how you should look at the questions and test. This is important for a test taker looking to get a high score.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Manhattan GMAT is actually fun
February 22 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: February 21, 2012 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 170 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   San Francisco, CA USA | Taught by:  Kim Cabot
I highly recommend Kim Cabot's class. She manages to make studying for the test fun - and I could go on about how much I despise the GMAT. Kim is a highly entertaining teacher and extremely intelligent.

Manhattan GMAT is very well organized and the handouts and online resources give its students a huge advantage over a student just studying from the Official Guide.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Manhattan GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
great GMAT prep
February 28 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: February 28, 2012 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 50 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   New York (Manhattan), NY USA | Taught by:  Josh Braslow
I was very pleased with my final score and the improvement I'd made on the score I got at the beginning of the course. Classes were always fun. My instructor was very engaging and energetic. The materials were thorough and to the point. There are definitely no short cuts; you have to put in the time. But I actually enjoyed taking the 9 week prep class and studying for the exam. It was less daunting to prep as part of the course rather than solo.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
The best GMAT prep course/materials out there - but not for the faint of heart!
February 29 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By L789 joined: February 29, 2012 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 180 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  MGMAT Live Online | Location:   Online | Taught by:  Tim Sanders
Disclaimer: Before I write my review, I'd like to say that I am in no way affiliated with Manhattan GMAT Prep.

In the fall of 2011, I signed up for the 9-week, live online MGMAT course after several recommendations from friends who had previously taken the course and used the MGMAT materials. Although I had scored pretty well on the SATs back in high school, I knew that the GMATs were a completely different beast. Thus, I knew it was crucial for me to commit to rigorous preparation for the GMAT exam - and Manhattan GMAT prep provided just that.

In my opinion, MGMAT is truly the best GMAT prep source out there. I was incredibly pleased with how comprehensive the course is and how great the test prep materials are. I was particularly impressed by the following:

1) The strategy guides: these are super helpful, especially Sentence Correction (treat this guide as your bible - memorize it from cover to cover), Word Translations and Number Properties. The best thing about these guides is that they really drill GMAT concepts into your head, so that your understanding of such topics as prime numbers and permutations is rock solid. For example, I went into my preparation thinking, "I know my perfect squares!" but MGMAT materials really teach you how to tackle various problems in a very systematic and strategic way (i.e. perfect squares have an odd number of factors, whereas other integers have an even number of factors).

2) Official Guide Tracker - the OG tracker tracks all of the different problems one has completed in the Official Guide and categorizes the problems based on problem type, correct/incorrect and the amount of time one has spent on each respective problem. This is especially useful to gauge one's strengths and weaknesses. Using this application, I was really able to hone in on my problem areas and work at them so that I could succeed on the exam.

3) MGMAT CAT exams - I cannot emphasize how important these CAT exams are. One of the biggest challenges of the GMAT is staying physically and mentally alert throughout the entire ~4 hour marathon (during my first two CAT exams, I started to zone out around 30 minutes into the Quant section). These CAT exams are not only incredibly similar to the actual thing, but are also great for building up one's stamina for dealing with the long battle known as the GMAT. My only issue with these exams is that they tend to focus pretty heavily on combinatorics and probability-type questions; however, on the real thing (I took the GMAT twice) I have -at most- encountered 1 to 2 combinatorics/probability type questions. So don't stress out if you're bad at these aforementioned problem types!

4) General strategies/study methods taught in class - one of the best parts about the MGMAT course is the strategy taught by the (super helpful!) instructors in class. For example, I was advised to go through all of my practice problems -both the ones that I did correctly and the ones I did incorrectly- so that I could really grasp concepts and figure out quicker ways to do the problems I had already done correctly.

After my dismal diagnostic score of 590, I was almost convinced that I was never going to score above a 700. However, after going through tons and tons of timed practice problems, reviewing the MGMAT strategy guides from cover to cover (multiple times!), and stimulating real test-day conditions with the MGMAT CAT exams, I was shocked to find a score that was 180 points above my diagnostic (you do the math). I think that MGMAT was crucial to my GMAT success; however, one must also devote a good amount of time to really study the MGMAT material in order to succeed on the GMAT.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Manhattan GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
I felt soooo rushed!
March 05 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: October 6, 2011 | 165 | 57 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 50 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   New York (Manhattan), NY USA | Taught by:  David Braslow
I believe that the content of this course is incredible. However, throughout the 9 weeks I constantly felt like I was drowning in the material. Homework took over 20 hours week after week (sometimes even 30 hours or more). Having said that, if you take homework seriously you should see a great score increase. In my case the increase was 50 points from CAT1 to CAT3.


My instructor was not stellar, he knew the material but it was apparent that he was new and has not found his groove for teaching the class. I took a make up class with another instructor and it was a night and day difference. So I decided to use up all of my make up classes with this man. I think I saw a huge improvement in my quant score because of this instructor. He was INCREDIBLE!

Couple of areas of improvement:
1) bring back office hours! students should have time to ask specific questions. the classroom is not a good platform for that as time is stretched there as is.
2) Have us take one CAT exam during week 5. Currently as is we end up taking 2 CATs within 2 weeks... kind of silly if you ask me.
3) Consider giving an extra week for students to catch up.

Some great things about the class:
1) It is very structured... the content is great and if you follow their study plan you will do great.
2) The Online Labs are priceless... make sure you take the time to do them
3) DS strategy has helped me a great deal.
4) Some instructors are truly gifted when it comes to teaching
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Smart instructor & well-structured program
March 15 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: March 15, 2012 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 100 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   London, United Kingdom | Taught by:  Robert Wilburn
I completed the ManhattanGMAT program in London. After taking test classes with both Kaplan and ManhattanGMAT, I would MGMAT to have not only better educated and more engaging instructors, but also a more serious and advanced group of other students. The classroom courses were a good mix of lecture and examples and - at three hours - passed quite quickly. The online materials, particularly the practice tests, were incredibly valuable, as were the books that you received on each individual topic covered in the tests. After a couple additional months of study following the course, I scored above my target score on the first time taking the test, thanks in large part to the quality of the manhattan GMAT program. I would highly recommend it.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Manhattan GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
MGMAT rocks
April 02 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By GForce21 joined: April 2, 2012 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 80 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   San Jose (Milpitas), CA USA | Taught by:  Ron Purewal
I am very very happy with what MGMAT offers. I just got a 710
and I am satisfied with my score.

My fundamentals were strengthened after taking Ron Purewal's 9 week training, and I then went from 640 to 710 because of
1. the advanced DS + advanced SC workshops from Daniel Patinkin and Emily Sledge,
2. Ron's "Thu with Ron" which they give away for free !!

My confidence got a real boost after the advanced workshops because they teach you how to tackle hard problems and that makes the 600 level questions look easy.

MGMAT offers a complete package and I never looked at any other material - the strategy guides are excellent for strengthening your fundamentals, the instructors are top class, and the customer service is awesome. They really take care of students. I am also glad I got two 180 day extensions for online resources. I took the training months before and wasn't able to take the test immediately, so I had to delay taking the test and those extensions were very valuable.

Trust me ... If you really want to crack that 700 barrier you have to go with MGMAT.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Great Resource For SC
April 06 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: August 27, 2008 | 12 | 5 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  MGMAT Guided Self Study | Location:   Online |
The MGMAT self study and single topic focused books are great. My biggest weakness has always been the SC & RC. With the help of the resources I was able to turn a 32-38 average verbal score to a 36-44 range on my practice tests. Unfortunately I underperformed during the actual test due to heavy construction on the roof of the building making it hard to concentrate, but the books were great and definitely helped. I would go as far to say the SC book is a must have for any one that is not in the top %ile for verbal. My only complaint would be the online question banks that you receive access to should be larger.
Was this review helpful to you?
   
[1]
Get a Special Discount
on Manhattan GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community


Manhattan GMAT Course Rankings
Overall Score Improvement
103 points
International Student Score Improvement
90 points
Verbal
100%
Quant
100%
Save $350
on Manhattan GMAT
+$100 discount
+$250 bonus
Get Manhattan GMAT Promo Code