Manhattan GMAT GMAT Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [229]      Average Rating:       (4.8/5)
Courses
Find by:  
    
    
    
    
    
 
Manhattan GMAT
Manhattan GMAT provides students with the skills and strategies essential for success. There are higher standards for what defines a competitive GMAT score today. We have no magic formula, no silver bullet, no empty guarantees. Instead, we have three basic principles that separate us from other test prep: the best teachers, the most advanced learning approach, and a focus solely placed on the GMAT. Save $250-350 on Manhattan GMAT courses with GMAT Club

  Reviews
Sort by:   date of publication  most helpful
Excellent Course
April 04 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By jstrauss6 joined: April 4, 2012 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 60 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   New York (Manhattan), NY USA | Taught by:  David Braslow
The Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course drastically improved my test score and helped me achieve my goals for the GMAT. The course gave me excellent structure for studying for the test, the proper tools to study and critical strategies for solving all of the problems on the test. My instructor was smart and engaged the class well in discussions, providing simple and effective explanations for all of our work while teaching us to think about how to handle the problems.

The volume of information in the class and textbooks means that taking this course is a serious commitment. I spent at least 5 hours a week studying and reading the materials for the week's classes. With thousands of pages in review content, there is plenty of material to cover. The course will not teach you everything you need to know in the classroom. You will absolutely need to put in the time and effort to study.

The instructor that taught my course was fantastic and did a great job engaging with the class and working through problems thoroughly. He helped teach us multiple ways to attack and solve all of the different types of quantitative and verbal problems, which helped us understand the different ways to approach problems. He focused on helping us understand how to approach problems and identify methods to solve them instead of focusing on the different individual steps. While the work was sometimes tedious (I lost track of how many times I wrote AD BCE to begin working on Data Sufficiency problems), the detailed reviews and analysis of real GMAT questions helped me to quickly identify how to approach each problem. After reviewing the material on my own and doing many practice exams and questions, I was very comfortable taking the test on the day of my exam.

I found that putting in the effort yielded a significant improvement in my score. The course provided me with the tools and strategies that I needed to succeed on the GMAT. However, I did need to put in a lot of time and effort on my own to supplement the classroom work. If you are looking for a course where you can sit in a room, be spoon-fed content and then take the test immediately after, this is not the right course for you. If you are a highly-motivated self-starter who will put in the time and effort to study and want smart, engaging teachers who will help take you from a great score to an outstanding score, Manhattan GMAT is the place to go. My score rose from below the average grade of accepted students at the top business schools to above it thanks to this course.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Excellent
April 04 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By dws joined: April 4, 2012 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 90 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  MGMAT Live Online | Location:   Online | Taught by:  Gilad Edelman
I enrolled in the Live Online course in December with plans of taking the GMAT in March and, if necessary, retaking it in April. My experience with Manhattan GMAT was excellent. My teachers (Gilad Edelman and Marc Fienberg) were great. They had a thorough understanding of the material presented in the course and were great at answering questions asked by students. The course is a lot of work, but it is well worth it if you are shooting for a top score.

What really made Manhattan GMAT great was not only the quality of the instructors, but also the extensive amount of materials provided to help you succeed. The study guides are very thorough and are great at explaining the concepts. Especially with the quant, these books were fantastic. The OG Archer they provide is also extremely helpful. It allows students to time themselves on official guide questions and records answers. Based off this data the system identifies strengths and weaknesses and allows one to study accordingly. It also provides answer explanations for all the math questions. My one issue with the Archer is that the questions in the supplemental verbal and quant guides do not have answer explanations in the Archer. This would have been very helpful as the answer explanations in the official guide are not particularly helpful.

All in all, I had a great experience with the course and would recommend it to anyone. In the end, I improved 90 points above my initial diagnostic test. If you are serious about getting a top score and are willing to put in the necessary effort to master the material, Manhattan GMAT should be at the top of your list for GMAT prep courses.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Manhattan GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Methodical Cirriculmn + Excellent Teaching = Results
April 22 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By rchin7724 joined: April 6, 2012 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 110 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
I decided to sign up for MGMAT because I wanted to score in the 700+ range. Studying on my own was not yeilding the results I wanted, because I noticed that I was getting the same types of problems incorrect, without being able to truly analyze my weaknesses and create a systematic approach to improve. I was still able to recollect my basic quantitative and verbal skills, but MGMAT instruction and cirriculmn helped me improve my test taking strategy and timing for each problem. The MGMAT curriculum accurately categorizes the types of of quantitative problems into several topics, and by studying thoroughly each topic through the GMAT books, and the syllabus recommended problems, I was able to recognize the types of quant. problems immediately during the exam. This allowed me to quickly devise a strategy thus saving time spent on setting up the solution approach for each problem. The in class instruction was especially helpful for the more difficult problems because our instructor was able to extrapolate a simpler problem into a 700+ problem and explain the similarities and differences. This helped me understand how more challenging problems are phrased, and how to translate these problems into math. One particular example is for combinations/permutations & probability. I was never able to fundamentally grasp this topic until our MGMAT instructor gave us a hands - on example during class. After that, any such problem was easy!

I highly recommend MGMAT to those who are serious about their GMAT scores. There is a lot of homework during the course, and additional study time required prior to the exam, but I saw the results and was able to monitor how my score increased with each subsequent practice exam.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
An Organization That Cares About
April 10 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By UvaChip joined: April 10, 2012 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 80 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   New York (Manhattan), NY USA | Taught by:  Tommy Wallach
Manhattan GMAT is really a first-class organization from top to bottom. A little bit about my history with the organization and then some of the highlights: I took a course back in summer of 2011 and took the GMAT once after the course and got a 660. I was disappointed in the result, but decided to step away and return to the GMAT in early 2012, when I signed up for a discounted 9-week course as a second-time student. Took the test 4 days ago and got a 740. Needless to say, I am pleased with the outcome.

A few highlights about the organization:

* Customer Service is Incredible: Every time I call this Company, someone very nice answers and helps me through whatever issue I have. I've almost never experienced such consistency with another Company.

* Online Platform: The whole OG Archer online question bank, Eluminate platform, and general "onlinenness" of the business is first-rate. I loved doing questions on the Archer so I could track progress and time, and I utilized a lot of the Thursdays with Ron.

* Charismatic and Nice Teachers: Really sets them apart, the fact that they screen teachers so heavily to get ones that are charismatic, that are smart, that are genuinely nice, and that really care how you do.

* Plethora of Prep Programs outside of the 9-week Course: I took advantage of everything I could. Thursdays with Ron. The Quest for 750 Workshops. I thought the fact that I had all of this at my fingertips was great, and as a 9-week student I got discounts.

* Overall Just Caring How You Do: I felt like the "discounted" nature of my second course showed they cared about MY outcome. They cared what I got. Plus, they have so many 1-on-1 assessments to really prep you for test day.

Overall, I am glad I never have to take the GMAT again (it's been a long 4 months), but if I had to do it all over again there is no doubt I would use Manhattan GMAT. I have already referred multiple friends. Hope this Helps and Good Luck!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Manhattan GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
review
April 10 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By erica joined: April 10, 2012 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 100 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   San Francisco, CA USA | Taught by:  Ron Purewal
I took the Manhattan 9 week course w/ Ron. Great teacher. I front loaded all of the reading so didn't have to do much homework during the class. I'd highly recommend doing that - it really improves your ability to process and participate in class. The class is not separated by advanced vs non so you may find that it lags you if you are already testing well after your first diagnostic. However, the strategy I learned in the class was critical to my test taking abilities and was 110% worth it. 9 weeks was a good amount of time to let the material sink in since I was working full time and unable to focus much during the week. I thought the 8 course books provided great material - better than I've seen elsewhere. However, I did check out some add'l problem sets from other programs just to give myself more exposure.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Live Course Differences
April 12 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: April 12, 2012 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 50 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   Chicago-N. LaSalle, IL USA | Taught by:  Keith Blume
Overall, I was very pleased with the quality of the MGMAT material, instructor, and class environment. I highly recommend the system and methodology of MGMAT as I found the review material and study guides to be very helpful.

I would like to focus on the couple areas of constructive criticism I would have for the program-- only because I think MGMAT did a great job. There honestly isn't much I would change, but if I had to, I'd make the following 2 recommendations:

1. Test Readiness: I felt amply prepared for all portions of the test. The few areas where I wish the class spent more time were on the FDPs, Number Properties, and Probabilities sections. I found these to be the problems most represented on the exam. I would have appreciated having some more refresher material for me to review closer to the date of the exam with key FDP and NP concepts. I realize that part of this criticism is my own inability to go out and find representative problems.

2. Online vs. live class: I've always considered myself to be an in-person learner. While I still think this is true, and this is the reason I chose to participate in the in-person class, I would recommend that everyone that this class online. In the classroom, it is much easier to get off-track and distracted. I've heard that online classroom experiences minimize the amount of time spent entertaining individual's questions (when they may not be particularly helpful for the group), and in turn, maximizes the material covered.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Manhattan GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Positive Experience with MGMAT!
April 14 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By ZFreeman joined: February 8, 2010 | 1 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 50 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   Chicago-N. LaSalle, IL USA |
I had a very positive experience with Manhattan GMAT here in Chicago. The instructor was attentive, responsive to email, and helpful. The materials were also very helpful, and allowed me to be efficient in my self study. The curriculum was well constructed, and allowed me to progress in an ordered manner. I was someone who didn't need a ton of help in verbal, but did in quant. MGMAT provided just what I needed. Additionally, I had to reschedule my class several times at the last minute, and MGMAT was more than willing to do so. Lastly, the location was a bit noisy, which was unfortunate.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Amazing Program, Great Value
April 16 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By jordanc89 joined: April 16, 2012 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 110 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   New York (Manhattan), NY USA | Taught by:  Jonathan Schneider
When I first took my diagnostic test, I scored a 600. After attending all 9 sections, and relearning all the math I forgot in high school, I was able to raise my score 100+ points. Not only did my instructor explain the content in an easy to understand manner, he provided key insights into the test itself based on his personal experience. I would say the greatest score boosters came in the form of analyzing critical reasoning questions on verbal and learning how to effectively structure word translation problems on the math.

Even though I exceeded my target score of 700+, I plan on taking the test again in May to see if I can crack 750. It's an ambitious goal, I know, but if I can boost my quant score to the level of my verbal score, I think that will do it.

Jonathan is a brilliant mind and talented educator. Great course. Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Manhattan GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Recommend to all -- incredible instruction
April 16 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By connor7688 joined: April 16, 2012 | 2 | 5 | native speaker
Improvement: 70 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   Atlanta (South), GA USA | Taught by:  Chris Gentry
Manhattan GMAT's content is spot on if you want a top score, and its instructors share the material effectively.

Manhattan GMAT offers all of the standard content-based materials (e.g., numbers properties, algebra, etc), which is very helpful. However, the company specializes in frameworks for solving questions. Some of these are tips and tricks; others are actual constructs; still others are logical positioning. Further, my instructor provided his own method for approaching questions if he found one that worked better for him than the Manhattan approach. Visualizing multiple strategies helped me see what actually clicked for me.

Finally, the coursework is rigorous. I mean this in two ways: volume and difficulty. To keep up in class (and receive the benefit of your dollar!), you've got to put in time. The course structures your time for you to optimize how you're spending it. Secondly, the course is actually more difficult than the GMAT itself; as a result, you're prepared to ace the challenging ones quickly.

Recommend this to everyone. Cannot say enough good things.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Checks all the boxes!
April 19 | 2012

       By pawan82 joined: November 4, 2006 | 132 | 6 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 40 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  MGMAT Guided Self Study | Location:   Online |
I agree with the general belief prevalent among GMAT community members that Manhattan is a very good material for GMAT preparation.

I bought 12 book set from Manhattan GMAT about a year back and was amazed by the level of detail in both the verbal and quant segment. The level of detailed analysis presented and the comprehensive explanation is great. Even the quant supplementary material which has a fantastic set of advanced quant questions. This is supplemented with easy to use tips and strategies.

I found the tests that were offered by Manhattan GMAT to be a good indicator of scores. The MGMAT tests are pretty close to what the actual tests were.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Manhattan GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community


Manhattan GMAT Course Rankings
Overall Score Improvement
102 points
International Student Score Improvement
90 points
Verbal
100%
Quant
100%
Save $350
on Manhattan GMAT
+$100 discount
+$250 bonus
Get Manhattan GMAT Promo Code