Manhattan GMAT GMAT Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [255]      Average Rating:       (4.8/5)
Courses
Find by:  
    
    
    
    
    
 
Manhattan GMAT
Manhattan GMAT provides students with the skills and strategies essential for success. There are higher standards for what defines a competitive GMAT score today. We have no magic formula, no silver bullet, no empty guarantees. Instead, we have three basic principles that separate us from other test prep: the best teachers, the most advanced learning approach, and a focus solely placed on the GMAT. Save $250-350 on Manhattan GMAT courses with GMAT Club

  Reviews
Sort by:   date of publication  most helpful
Amazing Program, Great Value
April 16 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By jordanc89 joined: April 16, 2012 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 110 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   New York (Manhattan), NY USA | Taught by:  Jonathan Schneider
When I first took my diagnostic test, I scored a 600. After attending all 9 sections, and relearning all the math I forgot in high school, I was able to raise my score 100+ points. Not only did my instructor explain the content in an easy to understand manner, he provided key insights into the test itself based on his personal experience. I would say the greatest score boosters came in the form of analyzing critical reasoning questions on verbal and learning how to effectively structure word translation problems on the math.

Even though I exceeded my target score of 700+, I plan on taking the test again in May to see if I can crack 750. It's an ambitious goal, I know, but if I can boost my quant score to the level of my verbal score, I think that will do it.

Jonathan is a brilliant mind and talented educator. Great course. Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Recommend to all -- incredible instruction
April 16 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By connor7688 joined: April 16, 2012 | 2 | 5 | native speaker
Improvement: 70 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   Atlanta (South), GA USA | Taught by:  Chris Gentry
Manhattan GMAT's content is spot on if you want a top score, and its instructors share the material effectively.

Manhattan GMAT offers all of the standard content-based materials (e.g., numbers properties, algebra, etc), which is very helpful. However, the company specializes in frameworks for solving questions. Some of these are tips and tricks; others are actual constructs; still others are logical positioning. Further, my instructor provided his own method for approaching questions if he found one that worked better for him than the Manhattan approach. Visualizing multiple strategies helped me see what actually clicked for me.

Finally, the coursework is rigorous. I mean this in two ways: volume and difficulty. To keep up in class (and receive the benefit of your dollar!), you've got to put in time. The course structures your time for you to optimize how you're spending it. Secondly, the course is actually more difficult than the GMAT itself; as a result, you're prepared to ace the challenging ones quickly.

Recommend this to everyone. Cannot say enough good things.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Manhattan GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Checks all the boxes!
April 19 | 2012

       By pawan82 joined: November 4, 2006 | 132 | 12 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 40 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  MGMAT Guided Self Study | Location:   Online |
I agree with the general belief prevalent among GMAT community members that Manhattan is a very good material for GMAT preparation.

I bought 12 book set from Manhattan GMAT about a year back and was amazed by the level of detail in both the verbal and quant segment. The level of detailed analysis presented and the comprehensive explanation is great. Even the quant supplementary material which has a fantastic set of advanced quant questions. This is supplemented with easy to use tips and strategies.

I found the tests that were offered by Manhattan GMAT to be a good indicator of scores. The MGMAT tests are pretty close to what the actual tests were.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
GMAT Course
April 24 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: April 24, 2012 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 70 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   New York (Manhattan), NY USA | Taught by:  Jonathan Schneider
I think the Manhattan GMAT course was extremely helpful in preparing me for the test. The instructor calls on everyone in the class to be sure no one person takes over the course and others don't fall behind.

I think the course structure was logically organized. I found the online content to be extremely helpful in terms of studying independently, improving your weak areas, or catching up on a missed class. I just wish I knew about all the resources earlier!

You should definitely use the office hours each week. While sometimes they can be challenging to schedule, they are very helpful to get the most out of your homework as the classes are already packed with content. Additionally, you can save the work from the office hours and review it later. You can also send the questions you want to go over in order to get the most out of the office hours and fit more in.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Manhattan GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
It's what you make of it
April 26 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By moez03 joined: April 19, 2012 | 0 | 5 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  MGMAT Guided Self Study Plus | Location:   Online | Taught by:  Ian Jorgeson
All the material is there but I didn't use it to the full potential. I do think MGMAT should look to design a specific course for students that are looking to break a 700. I didn't notice a lot of the advanced material until very late. I was unsatisfied with my score but I will be retaking the exam and will use MGMAT again as I think they are the best.

I felt the class recordings were somewhat remedial but I did find the labs to add great value. They teach you tricks on strategy and how to think through a problem. Having access to 6 CAT exams was great and they give very thorough details and explanations, however I did notice some of the questions being repeated which inflated my score.

All in all, I think MGMAT has everything you need as long as you stay committed and focused- especially if you take the self study route!


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Excellent Course
April 26 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: November 29, 2011 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 60 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
Manhattan GMAT instructors are definitely amongst the smartest out there. Each instructor's style varies, but one can attend a different session, or see online videos from a different instructor if one is comfortable with that. The classes are very interactive and cover all the different types of problems one could see on the test. However, one definitely needs to practice from the OG.

I do think that the course material is geared towards getting students to the 700-730 range. If one is aiming higher, one should supplement the MGMAT coursework with the Kaplan 800 book.

Finally, MGMAT has 6 online CATs which give a real-world GMAT experience. The questions are on the tougher side, which one can't complain about if one comes out better prepared. Further, MGMAT course also allows you to practice a couple of essays on the e-grader which will provide half the score for your essays.

All said and done, MGMAT helped increase my verbal score significantly. The quality of instructors, and quality of teaching material definitely helped up my game.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Manhattan GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Manhattan GMAT Course
June 22 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By bbig11 joined: February 7, 2012 | 4 | 5 | native speaker
Improvement: 100 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   DC Area, DC USA | Taught by:  Joseph Martin
The 9 week class is a very very good class. It is a great way to get started studying. You cover all of the basics and really entrench yourself in the studying process. The structure provided by the class set me up to continue studying for the test 5+ weeks after the class ended as you get in the happen of studying a certain amount everyday/several times a week.

One thing I will say is that when I did take the 2 free GMAT prep tests and then the actual GMAT (in addition to the 6 Manhattan practices), I did notice a pretty big difference between the two (Manhattan vs. Gmat prep).

Manhattan Quant is much more difficult and calculation driven than Gmat prep and actual gmat. This is a good thing. If you can get to a point where you are doing well on your manhattan quant sections, you will be fine on the gmat, because I found it much theory based (number properties etc.) than the manhattan tests.

On the Manhattan Verbals, I was having no problems at all (44-45s on all practices) as I got into Gmat prep and the actual gmat, my verbal score dropped 2-4 points. I'm not sure of the reason why. I did notice that some of the critical reasoning questions are structured differently in the GMAT prep/GMAT tests than in Manhattan. I think that the Manhattan tests were much more blatant about what kind of CR question you were tackling.

Ultimately between my first Manhattan practice and my last GMAT prep practice i had a 140 point difference. On test day, I screwed up verbal and ended up with a 80 point improvement.

scores:
manhattan 1: 630
manhattan 2: 690
manhattan 3: 750 (don't have breakouts now, but was getting significantly higher on verbal than math on all of these tests. Got 2 45V and 1 44).
manhattan 4: 700
manhattan 5: 720
manhattan 6: 740
gmat prep 1: 720
gmat prep 2: 750 (50Q, 42V)
Actual Gmat: 710 (46Q, 40V)
*Update Gmat 2: 730 (46Q, 44V)

(i have the breakouts of the other tests at home and can update them later)

Overall, I think Manhattan is a great course and will prepare you for the gmat, specifically the quant section.

Update: I retook the GMAT a month later and improved my verbal 4 points to get the 730 i was looking for.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Very helpful course
May 04 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: May 4, 2012 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 100 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
I found the Manhattan GMAT course very helpful. The instructor was great at coming up with strategies to study for the exam. The books were also great and studying practice problems and explaining the solutions to the questions.

I also liked that you could go to the center and take a practice exam in an exam room setting. MGMAT also allows you to reactivate your practice exams twice after the course is over, in case you decide to retake the GMAT. I found the practice tests at the center a bit more challenging than the tests you would find on www.mba.com. All in all a very helpful and friendly experience.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Manhattan GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course Review
May 03 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By mercury283 joined: May 3, 2012 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 200 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   San Jose (Milpitas), CA USA | Taught by:  Ron Purewal
After having MGMAT recommended to me by several friends and family members who were accepted to top business schools, when the time came, I naturally chose MGMAT myself, and registered for a 9-Session course in Silicon Valley. Although I have a solid academic record and did my undergraduate studies at a top university, I've always been weak at standardized tests, especially computer adaptive ones (I've also taken the GRE) and especially on the quantitative sections. To cut to the case, I started with a diagnostic test score of only 510, but scored a 740 on the actual GMAT I took one week after the course ended. That's an increase of 230 points. The course materials are very thorough. In fact a lot of the advanced sections are not really needed if your goal is only to achieve a 700+ score (as opposed to a 750+). My instructor was very intelligent and knew the material extremely well. A MGMAT course is not cheap, but once you start the course you quickly realize you really are getting your money's worth, in terms of the quality of the course materials (i.e. the strategy guides and class lecture content) and the quality of the instructors (mine had multiple perfect 800 scores under his belt). The online tools are also top-notch. I found the O.G. Archer tool and the study organizer spreadsheet to be very useful. MGMAT also offers 6 high-quality practice CATs. I actually found the two free practice CATs from the GMAC's GMATPrep software to be too a bit too easy compared to the actual exam, and the MGMAT CAT to be closer in difficulty to the real thing. In fact on the most recent MGMAT practice CAT I took before taking the real exam, I got a Q47/V45/740. On the real exam I scored a Q46/V46/740, so it was a very good predictor of my real score. The course is fairly intense (there is a lot of homework and lots of supplemental material if you have time for it), but if you put in the time and effort, in my opinion MGMAT is probably the best GMAT prep company you can choose to help you reach your score goals. I haven't taken a GMAT prep course with a competing company, but I did take a GRE prep course several years ago with Princeton Review, and in my opinion the quality of MGMAT is higher in all respects. Anyway, much thanks again to Manhattan GMAT and to Ron for helping me get a great score.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Excellent preparation
May 10 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: May 10, 2012 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
Manhattan GMAT's 9-week live online course was incredibly helpful in orienting me to the GMAT's structure, giving me solid strategies, and preparing me fully for test day. I really liked the instructors' approach of going through a couple problems in-depth - rather than try to cover tons of problems each time - in order to illustrate the most effective strategies. I found their quantitative strategies particularly helpful - they help you quickly eliminate options and hone in on the two or three answer options that remain.

I also found the instructors very personable and the format of the class fun. It's very participatory and engaging - and I felt like I got to know a couple other students' personalities and marvel at how they approached problems in different ways.

I scored a 680 on my first practice test. After taking several Manhattan GMAT simulations (their prep materials are EXCELLENT), I was getting 780s - the score I eventually ended up with. I was very satisfied!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Manhattan GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community


Manhattan GMAT Course Rankings
Overall Score Improvement
103 points
International Student Score Improvement
90 points
Verbal
100%
Quant
100%
Save $350
on Manhattan GMAT
+$100 discount
+$250 bonus
Get Manhattan GMAT Promo Code