Manhattan GMAT GMAT Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [261]      Average Rating:       (4.8/5)
Courses
Find by:  
    
    
    
    
    
 
Manhattan GMAT
Manhattan GMAT provides students with the skills and strategies essential for success. There are higher standards for what defines a competitive GMAT score today. We have no magic formula, no silver bullet, no empty guarantees. Instead, we have three basic principles that separate us from other test prep: the best teachers, the most advanced learning approach, and a focus solely placed on the GMAT. Save $250-350 on Manhattan GMAT courses with GMAT Club

  Reviews
Sort by:   date of publication  most helpful
Excellent preparation
May 10 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: May 10, 2012 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
Manhattan GMAT's 9-week live online course was incredibly helpful in orienting me to the GMAT's structure, giving me solid strategies, and preparing me fully for test day. I really liked the instructors' approach of going through a couple problems in-depth - rather than try to cover tons of problems each time - in order to illustrate the most effective strategies. I found their quantitative strategies particularly helpful - they help you quickly eliminate options and hone in on the two or three answer options that remain.

I also found the instructors very personable and the format of the class fun. It's very participatory and engaging - and I felt like I got to know a couple other students' personalities and marvel at how they approached problems in different ways.

I scored a 680 on my first practice test. After taking several Manhattan GMAT simulations (their prep materials are EXCELLENT), I was getting 780s - the score I eventually ended up with. I was very satisfied!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
High Recommended - Excellent instructors + tools
May 11 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: May 10, 2012 | 0 | 5 | native speaker
Improvement: 100 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
I took the Manhattan GMAT 9 course in-person class towards the middle of 2011. Overall excellent instructors, books, online tools (lots of analytics to help you pinpoint where your weaknesses are, etc.)

Overall great program and highly responsive instructors. Note there is quite a bit of outside the classroom work, but overall the class truly teaches you the core fundamentals on how to score well on the GMAT.

One thing I also liked is the ability to view archived classes online in case you need a refresher (I believe this is valid for up to 1 year after you're done with your classes) - this is huge in case you want to re-review what was taught in class or missed a class.

The class is on the expensive side, but paying a small premium to achieve your target score was well worth it for me.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Manhattan GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
MGMAT have Sentence Correction down to a science
May 14 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By MilindK joined: May 14, 2012 | 1 | 5 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 80 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   Chicago-N. LaSalle, IL USA | Taught by:  Keith Blume
I took the 9 week course in downtown Chicago from Jan through March. I took the exam on May 11, 2012 and scored 760 (Q49, V 44). Before the 2nd class, I took the MGMAT online CAT and scored 680. I would attribute most of the 80 point increase to the Sentence Correction concepts covered by Keith in the class and the MGMAT Sentence Correction Strategy Guide.

Another great aspect of the course was the online CAT diagnostic report and the OG Archer - these help you zero in on your weak areas and help improve your time management skills.

I would certainly recommend the course/ prep books to anyone looking to do well on the test.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Manhattan GMAT Prep (plus your effort) is all you need.
May 15 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By mba20155 joined: February 21, 2012 | 70 | 10 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 110 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   Pasadena, CA USA | Taught by:  Jonathan Winamer
I am very satisfied with Manhattan GMAT prep. I did the online class that meets every Saturdays for 3 hours. My instructor was Jonathan Winamer who explained the concepts very well.

My first CAT score was 620 without any prep, and on the real exam I scored a 730. The strategy guides are very effective and you definitely learn a lot just by reading through the guides. Only drawback to the online classes was that the usefulness of the class depends on your classmates. If another classmate asks a question to which you already know the answer, you are missing out on those 5 minutes. But since this is true for any type of class, I guess it is inevitable. However, the instructor was very helpful and if a student asked a question that most people knew the answer to, he would stay after class to explain that question to the student and save the actual "class time" for something that can benefit the majority of the class.

In summary, if you purchase Manhattan GMAT prep course and materials and work extremely hard, you will definitely score 700+. I definitely recommend Manhattan GMAT to anyone who wants to score high on the GMAT.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Manhattan GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Thanks manhattan gmat
May 17 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By eriginal joined: May 12, 2012 | 31 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 170 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  MGMAT Live Online | Location:   Online | Taught by:  Daniel Patinkin
I REALLY feel like I got my moneys worth out of this class offered by Manhattan GMAT. When I took my first practice test (Manhattan CAT) I was stunned when I received a 560, how could this be, I'm an intelligent person. After the initial shock I realized that this is not an intelligence test, but a standardized test.

Manhattan taught me everything about the test and more. I felt more and more confident as my scores climbed from a dismal 560, to a 640, to a 700, and finally a 730 on my actual test day. I am proof that the material on the GMAT can be taught and that Manhattan offers the best prep program around.

Although $1000 may seem expensive, most would invest that in a heartbeat if they new they could boost their score up to a 730. Although I did invest 100 hours into studying, it was made much more tolerable through this course and the amazing instruction - highly recommended!


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Great tool to keep you on track
May 23 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By sirpeterh joined: May 22, 2012 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 100 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   Chicago-N. LaSalle, IL USA | Taught by:  Keith Blume
I found the 9 session GMAT prep course very helpful for a few reasons. The primary reason was to motivate me to stay on track with weekly assignments and a structured review plan. I think that some people would be fine to buy the books and work through them on his/her own and at his/her own pace. With my busy work and social schedule, I found the structure to be incredibly helpful.

Another reason that I thought the class was helpful was for the little tricks of the trade that the instructor provided. At some points I felt the classes were a waste of time, but every once in a while we would learn something that could save me 20 seconds on a quant problem and would make it all worth while.

I did not find the verbal review to be very helpful. On the actual test I ended up using only 1-2 things that I learned in the classes. My improvements in verbal came really as a result of simply doing a lot of practice problems.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Manhattan GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
560 practice to 730 GMAT in 69 days
May 17 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By eriginal joined: May 12, 2012 | 31 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 170 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  MGMAT Live Online | Location:   Online |
I REALLY feel like I got my moneys worth out of this class offered by Manhattan GMAT. When I took my first practice test (Manhattan CAT) I was stunned when I received a 560, how could this be, I'm an intelligent person. After the initial shock I realized that this is not an intelligence test, but a standardized test.

Manhattan taught me everything about the test and more. I felt more and more confident as my scores climbed from a dismal 560, to a 640, to a 700, and finally a 730 on my actual test day. I am proof that the material on the GMAT can be taught and that Manhattan offers the best prep program around.

Although $1000 may seem expensive, most would invest that in a heartbeat if they knew they could boost their score up to a 730. Although I did invest 100 hours into studying, it was made much more tolerable through this course and the amazing instruction - highly recommended!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Went from 690 to 770 with Manhattan GMAT Course
May 20 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By caseybar joined: May 20, 2012 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 80 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   Philadelphia, PA USA | Taught by:  Abby Berry
The Manhattan GMAT 9-session course kept me accountable for studying and provided me a study plan to get the 99th percentile score I was shooting for.

My instructor, Abby, did a phenomenal job laying out the foundations of both verbal and quant, and emphasizing the importance of mastering the skills that you need to crack the GMAT.

I was very impressed with Abby's ability to cater to the specific needs of my small class- I think this really helped us focus collectively on what we needed to work on. Similarly, I thought she did a great job explaining all of the concepts in a clear way, and giving us usable frameworks to attack all of the hardest problems.

I was also quite pleased with the online MGMAT system, which included a way to track individual progress on different types of problems. I think this is a program that will help anyone improve their Nicole significantly if they are willing to put in the time and effort required to complete the assigned work.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Manhattan GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Excellent course
May 31 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By kpluswax joined: May 31, 2012 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 70 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   New York (Manhattan), NY USA | Taught by:  Kate McKeon
I thought MGMAT did an excellent job providing all the tools that it takes to do well on the GMAT. From day 1, my instructor Kate stressed that "relearning" the fundamentals of both verbal and quant would be largely up to students during the week in between class meetings. This means doing ALL of your homework from the materials that MGMAT provides and doing ALL of the practice problems. This is not easy, but absolutely essential to being up to speed for weekly meetings.

During class, we reviewed several types of questions and talked through various strategies for solving each of them. I felt this was the biggest value add of MGMAT- the strategy portion for each different type of question- both verbal and quant. Once you are armed with a systematic approach to every question, all you have to do is practice, practice, practice. Reviewing strategy greatly reduced anxiety on test day, because I had a "game plan" for each type of problem.

Overall, excellent structure and I would highly recommend.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
MGMAT Has The BEST Online Prep Course!
June 01 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By mg8806 joined: April 23, 2012 | 2 | 5 | native speaker
Improvement: 90 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  MGMAT Live Online | Location:   Online | Taught by:  Gilad Edelman
Some background info about me and the GMAT- I took the GMAT 2 years ago using the Kaplan self study program and got a 610. After deciding to retake the exam, I decided to switch up my prep materials.

MGMAT is a great prep company - the instructors are very helpful, the customer service team is friendly, and MGMAT gives great instruction on how to target weaknesses. If you are really looking to improve, this is an investment that will definitely pay off.

I decided to go with the online course because I felt it provided the perfect amount of structure that I needed to succeed. I decided to go with MGMAT because I was told by a friend that they were the best, he was right.

All in all I couldn’t have been happier with my experience. I felt that MGMAT truly cared about how well I did even after I paid them.

I took the GMAT twice; the first time I got a 680 (my target was a 700+). After I missed my target score, MGMAT offered a free 45min consultation one-on-one with an instructor to debrief my exam and outline a plan to help me reach my goal during my next exam. MGMAT recommends taking the exam twice, but I decided I only wanted to take it once if I could get my target score. Turns out MGMAT was right, I needed to take the exam twice. On my 2nd attempt I hit my target of a 700! I don’t think I could have done it without MGMAT!!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Manhattan GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community


Manhattan GMAT Course Rankings
Overall Score Improvement
103 points
International Student Score Improvement
91 points
Verbal
100%
Quant
100%
Save $350
on Manhattan GMAT
+$100 discount
+$250 bonus
Get Manhattan GMAT Promo Code