Manhattan GMAT GMAT Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [245]      Average Rating:       (4.8/5)
Courses
Find by:  
    
    
    
    
    
 
Manhattan GMAT
Manhattan GMAT provides students with the skills and strategies essential for success. There are higher standards for what defines a competitive GMAT score today. We have no magic formula, no silver bullet, no empty guarantees. Instead, we have three basic principles that separate us from other test prep: the best teachers, the most advanced learning approach, and a focus solely placed on the GMAT. Save $250-350 on Manhattan GMAT courses with GMAT Club

  Reviews
Sort by:   date of publication  most helpful
Manhattan GMAT is the best.
June 04 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: June 4, 2012 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 110 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   DC Area, DC USA | Taught by:  Mark Porath
I definitely think this course was worth the money because of the teaching quality and sheer amount of resources that are provided to students.

They give you a mountain of books and expect you to review a lot of content each week, but I never felt overwhelmed. The in-person classes were the best option for me because it made me stick to a formal study plan versus preparing on my own. The recently added "video explanations" on the website were extremely helpful as well.

Overall, I would definitely recommend Manhattan GMAT to anyone who is serious about putting in some significant time and effort and seeing results.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Hands-down most thorough prep course
June 07 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: June 7, 2012 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 110 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   San Dimas (LA), CA USA | Taught by:  Leah Hoyer
Manhattan GMAT is the most thorough GMAT preparation course out there.

When you sign up, you receive a dozen books that cover each intricate section of both the math and verbal sections in depth. The homework can be overwhelming at times, but if you find a schedule and stick to it and get it all done. Be sure to use all the resources they provide you -- office hours, AWA essay tools, online question banks, etc.

I improved over 100 points from my first practice test until the real GMAT and I was thrilled! All thanks to Manhattan GMAT, their homework, and my instructor!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Manhattan GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Excellent course.
June 11 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By ROHEETSHAH joined: June 11, 2012 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  MGMAT Live Online | Location:   Online | Taught by:  Tim Sanders
The course was nothing short of excellent. I found the analytic approach to tracking your progress really helpful. The one-on-one office hour sessions were also really very helpful to understand concepts that I was not understanding completely.

The biggest thing that I valued was the post-course assessment one-on-one session with an instructor to develop a strategy for internalizing everything and preparing for my test. After my course, I was getting a 630 score on the practice tests, but following the advice from this post-course assessment helped me raise my scores tremendously. When I took the test I ended up getting a 710.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Effective, Fun, Best Available
June 19 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: August 2, 2011 | 15 | 1 | native speaker
Improvement: 50 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   Boston (Back Bay), MA USA | Taught by:  Tom Rose
Great teacher, kept the course entertaining and fun. From what I've heard many of the instructors are similar in that way.

Beyond teacher specific things, the structure of the course is great and is particularly useful if you're the kind of person that does well in a structured environment. The class does not require anyone to do any of the readings, but it's still a great way to be somewhat held accountable and have a study plan laid out for you.

The computer adaptive tests were quite accurate in my case and a great way to keep track of your progress. The analytics behind MGMAT is one of the true differentiators, as it allows you to really dig in to your problem areas.

All in all, the course is top notch. It's pricey, but you might be able to get your company to pay for as part of an educational stipend.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Manhattan GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
If you put in effort, Manhattan GMAT will pay off BIG TIME.
June 21 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By dcapplicant1454 joined: June 15, 2012 | 1 | 1 | native speaker
Improvement: 110 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   Washington, DC USA | Taught by:  Joseph Martin
Manhattan GMAT is not for the faint of heart. The syllabus reads like a text book, as do the actual guides. But, if you are willing to put in the effort, and do the assigned homework consistently, this course will pay off big time.

Beyond the quality of the content and materials, my instructor was very easy going and actually found a way to make a 3-hour, after-work course fun and interesting. Instead of focusing on tips and tricks, he taught us the underlying math and verbal concepts, which, paired with hundreds of Official Guide practice problems and drill sets, made taking the actual exam feel easy.

Manhattan GMAT also provides some amazing online tools, the best of which is OG Archer. The tool allows you to input your answers from Official Guide problems, and then see your aggregated progress and performance, broken down by problem type and subject area. This tool made it easy to stay on top of the homework and see progress throughout the course. During self-review in the last few weeks before the actual exam, the OG Archer reports were critical to reviewing only what I needed to. Also, the free one-on-one session was helpful in overcoming some difficult concepts.

Manhattan GMAT is not the easiest course, nor is it the cheapest. But if you are looking to break 700 or even 750, and are willing to put in the hard work and time, this is the course for you.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Highly recommended
June 23 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: June 23, 2012 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 70 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   DC Area, DC USA | Taught by:  Marcus Hedahl
This course gives you all the tools to excel on the GMAT, and I would strongly recommend this course to anyone who wants to get a 700+.

Marcus was an amazing instructor and kept the class lively for the students (which is hard to do for a 3-hour period after a long day at work). He is also incredibly smart and really knows his GMAT. I was consistently impressed with his teaching ability. The material was extensive so I felt like Manhattan GMAT gave me all the resources I could ask for in preparation for the test.

However, you can't expect to just go to class and then get a great score on the GMAT. You also have to put in a lot of work outside of the class, which Manhattan GMAT readily admits. After I took the course, I took the test for the first time and did poorly (640) although I was scoring a 700 on my practice tests. I was really upset. However, as instructed by Marcus, I set up my post-course assessment with Manhattan GMAT, which is a 45 minute phone call with a special instructor to talk about how to improve your score the next go-around. I received wonderful instruction that included a concrete study plan in preparation for the second try. One month later, I got a 720!!!

THANK YOU, MANHATTAN GMAT!


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Manhattan GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
MGMAT improved my score by 40 crucial points.
July 15 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By cwolohan joined: July 15, 2012 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 40 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  MGMAT Live Online | Location:   Online |
With no previous experience in studying for the GMAT, I decided to take Manhattan's 9-week online course. I found the class sessions to be somewhat helpful, the self-study materials to be more helpful, and the practice CAT exams to be most helpful.

Prior to the course (or any preparation)- my first practice exam - February 2012 - I scored a 720 (95% Verbal, 81% Quant)

By my third practice exam - March 2012 - I scored a 740.

By my fifth practice exam (on mba.com) - April 2012 - I scored a 750.

On test day - April 2012 - I scored a 760 (99% Verbal, 85% Quant

In addition to the 3-hour weekly course, I probably averaged about 8-10 hours per week (+4 more hours whenever I took a practice CAT). About three months elapsed between my first look at any GMAT materials and my test-day, so FAST IMPROVEMENT IS POSSIBLE.

I found some of the math materials to be helpful in teaching shortcuts that are useful for common problems (Prime Trees, Probabilities, etc).

I believe that it is easiest for a course to improve one's sentence correction skills, as this is the most objective verbal category. And Manhattan definitely succeeded here. My improved speed and accuracy in sentence correction accounted for much of my improved score, and I owe this entirely to the MGMAT materials.

Finally - the CAT exams. I believe MGMAT's CATs are a very accurate portrayal of the real exam, and the ability to review incorrect (and correct) answers was very useful in understanding my weaknesses. It was not until the 5th exam that the CAT question bank had exhausted 700-level questions. This is better than most (all?) other GMAT preparation services.

In short - I would definitely recommend Manhattan. I found the materials to be extensive, the program to be customizable to my own needs, and the practice exams to be better than the competition's. If you can afford Manhattan's class, you won't be disappointed.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Manhattan GMAT Prep Course
July 16 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By dmt2012 joined: July 16, 2012 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 200 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   New York (Manhattan), NY USA | Taught by:  Jonathan Schneider
The Manhattan 9-week GMAT prep course is exceptional, as are all the proprietary on-line and off-line materials associated with the course. My teacher, Jonathan S. was excellent - not only in class, but also outside, making himself available by email and through outside sessions.

They whole program went above and beyond. My score increased ~200 points. The class is highly customizable based on goals and performance throughout the program. The books are a provide a very good platform for your review and the on-line materials are extremely comprehensive. The data-driven approach makes you feel confident that your time is being spent efficiently.

I highly recommend the course.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Manhattan GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Great Instructor, Lots of Homework, The studying is still in your hands
July 09 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By burgundy2015 joined: June 28, 2012 | 119 | 28 | native speaker
Improvement: 150 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   New York (Manhattan), NY USA | Taught by:  Steven Jupiter
I chose Manhattan prep because I read very positive reviews on their prep books and I knew I wanted hands-on instruction and a structured course to force me to study (I'm a pro at procrastination). I started studying before the beginning of my course, just reading through a GMAT official guide coursebook. I took the pre-first class practice test and got a 590. My goal is to attend a top 10 school, so I knew I had a long way to go.

Throughout the course I did all of the prescribed prep work. They estimate it will take about 15 hours (outside of the three hour class) per week. I think it could be a little less than that but... I definitely dedicated one entire weekend day to studying and a few hours a few days a week to studying. I took another practice test during the course resulting in a 50 pt rise. My final GMAT score (which I took a week and a half after my final class) was 150pts higher than my initial test.

When I did contact my instructor outside of class, he responded very quickly. He was always willing to chat after class about test strategy or specific questions. Manhattan GMAT is very attentive to its students- a service that is reflected in the high price. It is very easy to reschedule a course if you need to miss.

Both Quant and Verbal review were incredibly helpful. I think the Quant instruction in the classroom is invaluable- multiple ways to solve the problems + how to NOT solve the problems + how to guess the answer if you can't figure it out? This incredibly thorough type of instruction is SO worth the money. Also, there is a wealth of information and a wealth of extra practice material on the website. The CAT tests are awesome, too.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Fantastic Course
July 11 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By markrhays joined: July 11, 2012 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 110 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   Washington, DC USA | Taught by:  Marcus Hedahl
I would recommend the Manhattan GMAT course to anyone.

My score went up over 100 points during the class. I actually had the benefit of having a number of professors, since my main teacher, Marcus Hedard couldn't make it to half of the sessions. They were upfront immediately about the situation, telling all of us that we could receive a refund or switch into a different class if we didn't want multiple teachers. They also gave us a free "700 and up online course" pass, which is usually a couple hundred dollars, for our trouble. It turned out to be completely fine, all of the teachers are equally competant and were all excellent teachers.

From what I've heard about competing classes, Manhattan GMAT definitely seems to be the bset.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Manhattan GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community


Manhattan GMAT Course Rankings
Overall Score Improvement
103 points
International Student Score Improvement
90 points
Verbal
100%
Quant
100%
Save $350
on Manhattan GMAT
+$100 discount
+$250 bonus
Get Manhattan GMAT Promo Code