Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [142]      Average Rating:       (4.9/5)
 
Manhattan GMAT
There are higher standards for what defines a competitive GMAT score today. We have no magic formula, no silver bullet, no empty guarantees. Instead, we have three basic principles that separate us from other test prep: the best teachers, the most advanced learning approach, and a focus solely placed on the GMAT. Save $75 on Manhattan GMAT courses with GMAT Club

Manhattan GMAT
March 19 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: February 10, 2012 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 130 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:  Washington, DC USA | Taught by:  Mark Porath
I took the Manhattan GMAT class starting in the Fall of 2011. I definitely recommend this class.

In the class sessions, you’ll learn strategies for answering every type of problem on the GMAT. This kind of information is hard to learn via self-study, and I see some of my peers struggling with the GMAT because they didn’t take the class.

Manhattan provides everything you need to learn the concepts. It is up to you to make sure you master every problem type.

The secret to acing the GMAT is to MASTER every problem in the GMAC Official Guide. Manhattan has the OG Archer, which breaks down the Official Guide by question and sub-question type. Going over every single problem and then re-reviewing the ones that you missed was the secret to my success. Also, you have to take every practice test available – 6 Manhattan tests and 2 official GMAC tests. Review each test thoroughly, even the problems you answered correctly.

My practice test scores went as follows:

610 (Manhattan)
640 (Manhattan)
650 (Manhattan)
650 (Manhattan)
650 (Manhattan)
690 (Official GMAC)
720 (Manhattan)
700 (Official GMAC)

Official Score: 740

My practice scores shot up once I had mastered most of the OG material. Taking regular practices tests is also crucial so that you get a feel for your testing strategy. If I had been able to get to the OG quant and verbal supplements, I think I could have done even better.

Good luck to you all.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Jon Schneider & Manhattan GMAT: A+!
March 11 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Shoot2Skor joined: March 11, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 80 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:  New York (Manhattan), NY USA | Taught by:  Jonathan Schneider
Jon was a terrific instructor and the Manhattan GMAT platform was extremely helpful in my test preparation! The online, time practice tests are a great resource to get as many reps as you need.

Consider pros/cons of small/large classes. Popular class times are good, but large classes can move slowly due to student questions of varying levels.

Overall, it was a terrific experience. Very nurturing environment and Jon gave terrific guidance along the way. I missed several classes and was able to make them up at other times at my convenience. Finally, the set of preparation books were comprehensive and, together with the course syllabus, provided a structured test preparation schedule.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Manhattan GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Outstanding Course
January 13 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By cgoods joined: January 13, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 150 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:  Chicago-N. LaSalle, IL USA | Taught by:  Keith Blume
Manhattan GMAT is an outstanding course for people that are dedicated to working hard enough to get their desired score. The course teaches the fundamentals of solving all problems, and the extra resources provided ensure that all students have access to upper level questions and an opportunity to score in the 700+ range. Prior to taking Manhattan GMAT, I was scoring in the 500-600 range. Afterward, I was consistently in the 700-760 range. They drill timing and analysis of problems, which allows students to tackle even the hardest of problems. I would recommend the course to anyone that is looking to score high enough on the GMAT to get into top 10 business schools.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Excellent.
January 12 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: December 29, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:  San Francisco, CA USA | Taught by:  Kim Cabot
Manhattan GMAT's reputation precedes itself. After hearing about it from all my college friends, I decided to sign up for a formal class with them. What I found was an extremely talented and engaging professor, and extremely well developed teaching methodology, and tons of GMAT experience. All in all, it'd pretty hard to go wrong with the 9 session Manhattan GMAT course, especially since it includes all of the books you need to succeed on the exam, as well as $300 retake course in case you need a refresher later on. What's more, the courses attract many other talented students who want to succeed, so you can organize study groups, or at least be motivated to study hard to succeed in the class as well as on the final exam itself. I highly recommend this class, and hope you find it as helpful as I did.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Manhattan GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Manhattan GMAT FTW
January 12 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By CardinalSaint joined: January 12, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 120 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:  Philadelphia, PA USA | Taught by:  Abby Berry
MGMAT is great class and I would recommend it to anyone. Before picking a class, I asked around and the general consensus was on MGMAT. I had previously tried to study on my own, but was overwhelmed by all the material that needed to be covered. MGMAT broke the material down into manageable steps and really helped me hone in on my problem areas.

The in-person class was more than I could have hoped for and I would and have recommended Abby’s class to anyone that listens. Like many perfectionist, I struggled with skipping problems, but Abby really helped me get over my ego and do what was best for my score. She was also able to teach the class in a manner that worked for people that were all at different levels and never did I feel like we were going too slowly.

Overall the course was great and helped me improve my score from a 640 on my original diagnostic to a 760 on test day.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Best thing I could've done
January 03 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By anisak joined: January 3, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 200 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:  Los Angeles, CA USA | Taught by:  Ryan Starr
The first practice test I took, before I started classes at Manhattan Review, I got a 430. I went to a good university for undergrad and I've always done pretty well in school. So it wasn't the best feeling when I scored that low, especially since my goal was to get at least a 700.

The classes and the books from Manhattan were priceless. My instructor, Ryan Starr (who teaches in Orange County), was exceptional. He's exceptionally patient and very knowledgeable about the content he teaches and about the course itself. Also, the set of Manhattan books became my bible(s) for a couple months - I lived and breathed those books for a couple months.

Needless to say, I received a 710 on my first try. I wouldn't have been able to get that score with out the help of Manhattan Review.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Manhattan GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Tremendous Instructors
December 23 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: December 23, 2013 | 0 | 5 | native speaker
Improvement: 70 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:  Princeton, NJ USA | Taught by:  Dmitry Farber
I took the 9-Week Live Online Manhattan GMAT course last winter with JR Tomkinson and Tommy Wallach. I really did not know much, if anything, about the GMAT prior to signing up for the course, and needless to say, they cover just about everything that you will see on the test.

I did, however, drop the ball and did not take the GMAT again until the middle of November. I used all of the class materials, notes, CATs, OG Archer (their official guide explanations, also keeps track of your timing, etc.), books, etc. -- pretty much everything they had in the Student Center.

I did not do as well on the Quant as I would have liked the first time around (November 2013), so I signed for 10 hours of online tutoring with Dmitry Farber. Dmitry was able to hone in on some thematic issues I was having on the Quant and gave me several different approaches to use with a variety of Quant problems. With his help, I was able to bump both my Quant and Verbal scores up, with my Quant going up significantly, in just the 32 or so days between tests.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Manhattan GMAT Washington, DC Review
December 14 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By danielspiller joined: December 14, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 70 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:  Washington, DC USA | Taught by:  Pedro Ledesma
I ended up taking the Manhattan GMAT course twice -- the first time online and second time in person with Pedro in DC. When I originally signed up, I was okay with the fact that Manhattan wasn't one of the companies that reimbursed you if your score went up. After all, they're not the ones taking the test and the books are probably more important than the work.

The online course was alright, but not my preferred method of instruction. One of the teachers (Stacy Koprince) was really good and the other was just alright, but I wasn't as serious about the GMAT I needed to be and I'm not sure how much the online course helped. The problem-based course format got me some practice but I didn't leave lessons feeling like I learned strategies for problems I hadn't seen before. They demonstrated how to answer the questions in front of us, but there was little discussion of how to translate that to new problems in the times required by the GMAT.

My score stayed even with my diagnostic of 640 (.

The in-person course was a different experience. I really liked Pedro who was engaging and sarcastic, which fits with my learning style. He was excellent at answering questions from the class and there was more discussion about the mindset for tackling new problems in the time allotted by the GMAT. Just as importantly, the talent level of the class was high and I learned from them as well! The class was still problem-focused, but more engaging and helpful overall.

In the end, I got a 710 (40Q, 47V) with 5.5 on AWA and 7/8 on IR.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Manhattan GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Amazing resources and great knowledge (David Mahler FTW)
December 08 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: December 8, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 80 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:  New York (Manhattan), NY USA | Taught by:  David Mahler
Manhattan GMAT's course was really really helpful. In addition to well thought out curriculum that helps you go through all the 10+ books efficiently, they have tons of resources available online. There are labs (video guides on specific topics), interactive integrated reasoning materials and practice software.

OG Acher is another great resource, it let's you practice questions, records the time spent and generates reports so you can track your progress. It also has video explanations for many of the official guide questions.

Now, on the instructor, Dave is really amazing, you can tell he knows how the test works. He is able to keep the 3 hours interesting, stress important points and explain concepts efficiently!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Really Satisfied (720 V44 Q45)
December 06 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By eric1 joined: December 6, 2013 | 7 | 8 | native speaker
Improvement: 100 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:  Washington, DC USA |
I took the full course and followed it to a tee (I even paid GMAC $50 to postpone my test so that I'd take the test a month after the course as MGMAT recommends). Well, it paid off. While my score is definitely skewed towards verbal, I'm very happy with it.

MGMAT offers tons of resources and my instructor (Joe Lucero) was awesome. Really friendly, engaging, and willing to communicate outside of class. My instructor and the MGMAT resources taught how to tackle problems from several different angles.

The class is pricey. So iif you don't apply yourself in class, do the homework, and study intensely, it's definitely not worth it. On the other hand, if you are serious about getting a high score, MGMAT will give you the tools to do so.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Manhattan GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community


Manhattan GMAT Course Rankings
Overall Score Improvement
102 points
International Student Score Improvement
106 points
Verbal
100%
Quant
100%
Best Manhattan GMAT GMAT Instructors
Josh Braslow [New York (Manhattan), USA]
    
Keith Blume [Chicago-Wacker, USA]
    
Gregg Lachow [New York (Midtown Manhattan), USA]
    
Save $350
on Manhattan GMAT
+$100 discount
+$250 bonus
Get Manhattan GMAT Promo Code