Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [176]      Average Rating:       (4.8/5)
 
Manhattan GMAT
There are higher standards for what defines a competitive GMAT score today. We have no magic formula, no silver bullet, no empty guarantees. Instead, we have three basic principles that separate us from other test prep: the best teachers, the most advanced learning approach, and a focus solely placed on the GMAT. Save $75 on Manhattan GMAT courses with GMAT Club

Key to 700+ Score
December 16 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: July 23, 2014 | 0 | 5 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:  New York (Lower Manhattan), NY USA | Taught by:  David Mahler
Manhattan GMAT is the best decision that I made during my business school application process. In 4 months, I went from a 520 on my first practice test (20% in Quant) to a 710 (76% in Quant) on the actual test. It was my first and only time taking the test. Manhattan GMAT breaks down the content and builds on the material it a way that makes studying manageable and even enjoyable at times. I attended class in person in NYC, which I found very helpful for staying on track. My instructor was top notch and helpful out of class as well. They also provide an NYC testing center to take practice tests in a test day environment, which helped ease test day stress. I benefited the most from the endless online materials and instructional videos. I am convinced that if you go to class, do the homework, and take the practice tests, that Manhattan GMAT is all you need to get a great score on the GMAT. Totally worth it.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Avi Gutman
November 25 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: November 25, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:  Toronto, Canada | Taught by:  Avi Gutman
I took the 9 week prep course with Avi in May 2014. Avi's ability to breakdown seemingly complex quant problems is extremely helpful if you are new to the types of questions on the GMAT. I think what helped me the most was the multi-approach that Avi employed to solve every quant problem that we discussed in class. Only when you see how a quant problem can be solved in multiple ways, will you step out of your comfort zone and approach these problems in a more strategic way under a time-restricted environment such as the GMAT.

I strongly recommend Avi to any student new to the GMAT.

thanks Avi!

Q49/ V38 -> 710
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Manhattan GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Excellent program!
October 31 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: October 31, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 110 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:  New York (Manhattan), NY USA | Taught by:  Ceilidh Erickson
Manhattan GMAT's program is excellent and was a huge factor in my success taking the test.

First of all, the quality of the teaching is fantastic. I took a course with Ceilidh and she was awesome. She rightfully focused on ensuring we approached problems and topics in a logical and determined way, and did a great job of pushing students not get hung up on extremely difficult or tricky topics. The trick with the GMAT is knowing when to move on, and not being stubborn. That's the best lesson Ceilidh taught us.

I started off the class getting a 660 in the first CAT (practice test) after our first lesson. While that was an encouraging sign for my starting level, I did not realize how difficult it is to improve one's score without a systematic and structured approach. The course, along with the excellent materials, website, and online supplemental information (such as the Interact lessons), did a great job of honing me in on such an approach.

The one thing I would say is that if you are strong in quant, it is important that you realize that some extra work is necessary to get prepared to face the toughest questions (given the test's adaptive nature). The good news is that Manhattan GMAT has great tools to guide your study towards difficult topics. The Advanced Quant e-book is a definite must, and I would also suggest going through the OG Navigator to create a study schedule build around all the "Harder" and "Devilish" questions in the materials. If you still feel like you need some practice, the "Quest for 750" advanced workshops are helpful (but not absolutely necessary - take them if you need new tips and materials and don't mind spending a bit more).

I ended up getting a 770 on my first try - about 3 months from after the course started. I can't recommend Manhattan GMAT, and in particular my instructor Ceilidh Erickson, enough.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Wonderful effort from Manhattan
October 29 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: September 15, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 30 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:  Hyderabad, India |
Manhattan GMAT is doing a great job in helping students ace GMAT. The techniques they use are exceptional. Especially the verbal part. For non natives, I think it would be good to say that, Every one must must first get the concepts cleared with Manhattan
for verbal preparation. Manhattan GMAT is doing a great job in helping students ace GMAT. The techniques they use are exceptional. Especially the verbal part. For non natives, I think it would be good to say that, Every one must must first get the concepts cleared with Manhattan
for verbal preparation. Thank You so much Manhattan


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Manhattan GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
MGMAT Review (Q49/V40/IR8)
October 23 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By japnasethi joined: January 9, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 120 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:  San Jose (Milpitas), CA USA | Taught by:  Ron Purewal
I studied the GMAT starting in Feb/March; enrolled in the course starting in April and finished in June. Took the GMAT once in August after 1.5 months of intense self-studying and improvement. I didn't do as well on the CATs through MGMAT but I was within 10 points. I took a class because I just needed a routine schedule to get into the mode of studying while at work and I also like being able to contact an instructor for any questions. Ron was pretty laid back although he had some quirks about him. But the material was pretty useful. I found that the examples used in class weren't as hard as ones in the practice CATs. I am an engineer so i thought the MGMAT math wasn't so bad but I found MGMAT's math CATs to be harder than what they made you practice during the course. When I took the actual GMAT, I thought the math was extremely easy, so I guess its good to have a training course thats harder than the actual test. On the other hand, I did pretty well on Verbal portion of MGMAT's practice CATs, but I found the actual GMAT to be much harder, in both SC and CR, so that was a throw-off and I didn't get as good of score as I was getting on my practice tests. Lastly, the IR section was insanely easy on the real GMAT compared to the MGMAT practice IR. Markedly large difference. All in all, my score is pretty good and much better than when I started studying in the beginning so using the MGMAT materials definitely boosted my score and understanding of the test.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Worth It
October 13 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: October 13, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 120 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:  New York (Manhattan), NY USA | Taught by:  Jonathan Schneider
I took Manhattan GMAT because I'd heard primarily through word of mouth that it is the best GMAT course out there, and I was definitely satisfied with both the course and my resulting GMAT score (740). The course was laid out very well, and I felt like I always knew exactly how and what to study. There was more material to work with and study than I could process, which I thought was a good thing. I was fortunate enough to achieve my target score on my first attempt, and I honestly do not think I would have been able to do that without the structure and the materials that came along with the Manhattan GMAT Course. Also, Jonathan was a great instructor. He was very insightful and had an answer to every question asked throughout the 9 week course. Most importantly, he was very engaging and approachable. I would definitely recommend this course.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Manhattan GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Great Course to Add Structure to Studying
October 13 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: October 13, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 110 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:  New York (Manhattan), NY USA | Taught by:  Jonathan Schneider
I decided to take the GMAT pretty late in the game, so I figured I needed a course to keep my attention focused. Manhattan was highly recommended and I have to agree.

I started at a 590 on my first practice, I and got a 700 on my first real exam. The key for me was just diving into the types of problems I was missing and learning everything I could about those topics in particular. This is generally how we were taught to study.

I wish I had done a better job of keeping up with the homework and structure set by the course, as I think it definitely helps to learn the same things at home as in class


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Highly Recommend the Course
October 11 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: October 11, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 100 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
Manhattan GMAT is the company to sign up with if you're aiming for a 700+ score. I signed up for the in-person class option and had Jonathan as an instructor (who I would highly recommend). The course does a fantastic job keeping you on pace and provides many insightful pointers to help maximize your likelihood of success on test day (many of which you won't find using just the books). Jonathan in particular did a great job helping keep the class engaged with what most would consider pretty dry subject matter. The practice tests are also extremely helpful given the structure of the test will be new for most. I definitely felt like it was worth the cost and that it had a positive impact on my score (scored 740).
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Manhattan GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Excellent Manhattan GMAT Prep Course
October 09 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: October 9, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 140 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:  San Francisco, CA USA |
The Manhattan GMAT course was an excellent choice! I was deciding between a number of options, including Kaplan, Princeton, and private tutoring with a 790 scorer. The cost of the Manhattan GMAT course was in between the other two options, and I was convinced by the fact that they have only 99% instructors and by the excellent reviews they had on every review website I looked at. The decision was a very good one. There was a good variety of course times in San Francisco to fit my schedule. The instructor I chose ended up being an excellent teacher. He was very knowledgable about the GMAT, including key tips and tricks about timing, educated guessing techniques, etc. Plus, he was very patient and adept involving everyone in the learning process, and keeping the style and content with a good mix to get the most out of the content. Outside of the classroom, Manhattan provides some awesome prep resources online, available with the course. I used almost every resource, including recorded tutoring sessions, live tutoring sessions, free MBA consultation through MBA Mission, all of the practice exams and practice problems, and the useful diagnostics tools for the both the exams and the official GMAT practice problems (Official GMAT 13th Edition). Great experience, and got a 740 out of it, improved from 600 at the beginning of the course!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Great Prep
October 09 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: October 9, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 160 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
I decided to sign up for Manhattan GMAT because my sister used this program and had great results.

I took the 9-week session and the depth that Ron Purewal explains each question helped me understand the core fundamental of each problem and alternative ways to solve a problem. The prep material that Manhattan provided was also very complete and had tons of practice problems for review.

After the 9-week course, I signed up for private tutoring with Jake Nicholson. He helped me develop a systematic approach to each problem, which allowed me to avoid careless mistakes and to logically think through each problem, no matter how complex it was.

My 1st practice test score from not knowing anything about GMAT was in the mid-500's. From my 1st official GMAT to my 2nd, I improved my score from 680 to 720. I am very happy with my score and highly recommend Manhattan GMAT for anyone who is preparing for the GMAT!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Manhattan GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community


Manhattan GMAT Course Rankings
Overall Score Improvement
105 points
International Student Score Improvement
105 points
Verbal
100%
Quant
100%
Best Manhattan GMAT GMAT Instructors
Josh Braslow [New York (Manhattan), USA]
    
Keith Blume [Chicago-Wacker, USA]
    
Gregg Lachow [New York (Midtown Manhattan), USA]
    
Save $350
on Manhattan GMAT
+$100 discount
+$250 bonus
Get Manhattan GMAT Promo Code