Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [151]      Average Rating:       (4.8/5)
 
Manhattan GMAT
There are higher standards for what defines a competitive GMAT score today. We have no magic formula, no silver bullet, no empty guarantees. Instead, we have three basic principles that separate us from other test prep: the best teachers, the most advanced learning approach, and a focus solely placed on the GMAT. Save $75 on Manhattan GMAT courses with GMAT Club

Verbal was bomb but Quant didn't connect the dots well enough
July 21 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: March 26, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 150 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:  Boston (Back Bay), MA USA | Taught by:  Josh Yardley
Admittedly, I'm someone who hasn't practiced math in a really long time and for full disclosure, my studies focused much more on the books post-course. But, I thought the verbal books were amazing, straight-forward, were very comprehensive. My verbal score literally doubled after spending minimal time reviewing the verbal books, but, to be fair, I think verbal was always going to be my strength. The math, for me, felt like it offered a lot of "rules" but wasn't helpful in terms of implementing the rules in a way that was effective for the adaptive/logic-over-math skills nature of the test. The practice questions after each section weren't in any way geared toward the test, so if you dedicatedly do them, it's just not going to help that much. I just feel like MGMAT's approach to quant isn't holistic enough. It was much more about trying to strengthen your math foundation rather than strongly coupling that with a strong foundation for approaching this adaptive test, a test which I think few of us have encountered before. My suggestion: definitely buy the verbal books. Pass on the math. Course was fine but I probably would have done another (and have since).


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Manhattan GMAT - Best Decision for GMAT Takers
July 14 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By neiljain21 joined: July 14, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 100 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:  Toronto, Canada | Taught by:  Avi Gutman
I took the Manhattan GMAT in-person class with Avi as well as some private tutoring in Toronto and would recommend him to anyone looking to improve their GMAT score. Avi's command of the material is unbelievable, but it is method of teaching that truly separates him from any other teacher I have ever had. In no time, he was able to identify my areas of weakness, shorten the time I spent on each question and improve my overall confidence going into the exam.

With Avi's help, I was able to score a 730 on the official GMAT test. He is continuously willing to help you with any questions, even after your class has ended. Overall, Avi is a great person and a fantastic teacher who truly makes the concepts interesting. I guarantee he will improve the score of anyone willing to put the effort into their preparation.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Manhattan GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Manhattan GMAT Review
July 14 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By ericweiss17 joined: July 14, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 120 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:  New York (Manhattan), NY USA | Taught by:  Jonathan Schneider
I enrolled in the 10 week evening prep course knowing that I would find it nearly impossible to dedicate the time required to do well on the GMAT without some kind of driving force. Manhattan GMAT was the perfect solution. Our teacher, Jonathan Schneider, was knowledgeable, approachable and incredibly engaging. The in-course syllabus set the groundwork for success, and the post-course practice delivered the results I needed. Overall, my score increased 120 points from the diagnostic

Manhattan GMAT properly stresses the most important and most difficult aspects of the exam without neglecting the "little things" than can mean the difference between a 690 and 700. The practice exams are also great, and, while harder than the actual test (in my opinion), allow you to get a feel for what test day will feel like


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Manhattan GMAT -- got me to a 740
July 11 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By gconway joined: July 11, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 100 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:  Philadelphia, PA USA | Taught by:  Abby Berry
I took a 9-week course in Spring 2014. The materials provided by Manhattan GMAT are invaluable. I found the set of math books to be extremely helpful -- the books are separated into various topics, such as Fractions/Decimals/Percents or Word Problems, and provide easy-to-follow steps and quick tricks to solve these problems. I had a very limited understanding of these basic math concepts (I hadn't taken a math class in a few years) before taking this course and the books quickly brought me up to competitive levels. The Quant problems are very difficult which also helped prepare me for test day. There are also plenty of practice problems provided both by Manhattan and MBA.com's Official Guide of problems. I found the online resources unrivaled with any other program. The online resources provide a platform for you to time yourself and plug in the answers to problems from the Official Guide and then synthesize all of the data to highlight weak and strong points. The online practice tests have similar tools, such as showing areas where you move too fast or too slowly, or where you need the most work. I found that incredibly helpful as I was able to focus on my problem areas for most of the course and then honed in on my strengths in the days before the exam. The IR sections are incredibly difficult on Manhattan GMAT, but again, they prepared me for test day and I received a score of 8. My instructor for the course (Abby Berry) was professional, energetic and had a genuine interest in each student. She tailored the course to fit the class's needs rather than following a rigid and generic structure which I found very helpful. Manhattan GMAT helped me bring my score to levels competitive with the averages of the top five business schools and I am very satisfied with my outcome. I would highly recommend this course.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Manhattan GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
The Best for a Reason!
July 09 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: July 8, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 90 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:  New York (Lower Manhattan), NY USA | Taught by:  David Mahler
Boy am I glad I signed up to take this course. Without a doubt, Manhattan GMAT is the best in the biz. Yea, it's pricey, but for a reason. Their instructors and curriculum are bar none the best. The best parts of the courses are the extremely detailed syllabus which was really helpful for me to review after the course along with a list of more challenging questions to tackle for those looking for an even higher score (700+). In addition, the material on their website is phenomenal. You get a whole suite of study materials including printable flashcards, workshops, "Archer" which keeps track of the problems you attempt in the Official GMAT Guide, and more! My only comment is that the practice tests seemed to be a little too difficult - I scored about 50 points lower on them than other practice tests I took, but then again I guess making it harder helped me get a great score on the actual test.

My instructor Dave Mahler, was excellent at keeping the class on track and was able to answer a myriad of questions I threw at him.

I highly recommend these guys if you're a high scorer looking to get into the top 20 b-schools!


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Awesome experience
July 07 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By alexhendricks joined: July 7, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 100 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:  New York (Lower Manhattan), NY USA | Taught by:  David Mahler
I was initially pretty hesitant to sign up for a GMAT prep class, since I tend to prefer one-on-one tutoring, but I felt like it was worth a try and if I wanted to supplement it with one-on-one, I could do that. I ended up not needing the additional prep since the class was so helpful.

The class is split pretty evenly between Verbal and Quant, but Reading Comp is only taught touched on during one class, so that's something to do more of on your own time. My instructor, Dave, was particularly helpful for Quant, providing tips on how to set up a problem properly to maximize time.

Given that the class is only 3 hours each week, the majority of work has to be done outside of class, so it's up to each individual to put in the work. The HW syllabus is great in that it builds on itself and the GMAT online Navigator provide really thorough explanations and difficulty scale for each of the problems. There are additional resources and drill sets that were great for the days leading up to the test to stay fresh without over-exerting.

I would recommend Dave as he was always available by email and after class for additional questions and therapy sessions (since a breakdown is almost inevitable in this process). He moved quickly but was always willing to go back and ensure the class got the basics.

In my personal experience, the practice tests are helpful for timing purposes but the problems are a bit harder than the actual GMAT (particularly the IR and Verbal sections).

Overall, great experience.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Manhattan GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Massive Score Improvement!
July 02 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By msharma550 joined: February 21, 2014 | 1 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 200 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:  Washington, DC USA | Taught by:  Marcus Hedahl
Washington DC - In Person Class Winter 2014 The GMAT is daunting, no one can deny this. One of the first things MGMAT does is make things manageable and segment the various areas of study. Once you know every possible area you can (and will) be tested on, it becomes easier to find your weaknesses and do targeted studying. 1000 hours of studying is not the same as 100 hours of very targeted prep. I had Marcus Hedahl as my teacher who was an excellent instructor and absolutely hilarious. I will say that I did not love the cold calling but suppose it did keep me engaged throughout a rather long three hour class (after work). The content was there but what was most beneficial to me is the information you cannot get from solo studying but only from someone who lives the GMAT. Marcus at one point told us his ridiculous score and the number of questions wrong he was able to get to still attain this score. Furthermore, he hammered in the point that it's not about getting every question correct but more so about getting those easy/med questions write and getting some (very few) of the harder ones. Against all odds I did well on the test. Not because I am some genius but because I strictly followed the syllabus, stayed focused in class, and dedicated a ton of time outside of class. If I took this class and did well there is no reason why someone else cannot do the same. Highly recommend it.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Excellent Course
June 26 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: June 26, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 190 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:  New York (Manhattan), NY USA | Taught by:  Ceilidh Erickson
The course was fantastic. It focused on teaching you how to beat the test efficiently and to best improve your score. My teacher did a great job of both explaining the "right" way to do a problem and then exploring other more efficient ways to do it. She gave us a lot of tips throughout the class about taking the test/time management/etc. With the 9 session class, you also get a free consulting session which was extremely helpful. Because Manhattan GMAT has very sophisticated tracking software, he was able to see exactly where I was going wrong and gave me very specific feedback/tips that very much helped my strategy and approach to the test.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Manhattan GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Excellent GMAT Prep
May 30 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: April 9, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 130 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:  Oakland, CA USA |
I took Manhattan's in-person class and I think it did wonders for my score! The class was not just informative, but interactive. My teacher, David, was very knowledgeable and personable. He really got the whole class involved. Speaking of which, the whole class was only about 7 of us so it was very easy to ask questions and get the attention we needed.

This class didn't include too much instruction, it was mostly targeted on highlighting common errors in approach to solving different problems and then discussing strategies to be faster and more accurate. I was happy to find that the class complemented the texts and gave a solid structure on how to work through them. This made my studying a whole lot easier. Plus, the online system for logging your accuracy and timing was super valuable information when trying to improve my score.

I'm typically a good test taker but the GMAT really required special training and I'm very satisfied with that provided by Manhattan GMAT. I actually recommended it to several of my friends!


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Manhattan GMAT
March 19 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: February 10, 2012 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 130 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:  Washington, DC USA | Taught by:  Mark Porath
I took the Manhattan GMAT class starting in the Fall of 2011. I definitely recommend this class.

In the class sessions, you’ll learn strategies for answering every type of problem on the GMAT. This kind of information is hard to learn via self-study, and I see some of my peers struggling with the GMAT because they didn’t take the class.

Manhattan provides everything you need to learn the concepts. It is up to you to make sure you master every problem type.

The secret to acing the GMAT is to MASTER every problem in the GMAC Official Guide. Manhattan has the OG Archer, which breaks down the Official Guide by question and sub-question type. Going over every single problem and then re-reviewing the ones that you missed was the secret to my success. Also, you have to take every practice test available – 6 Manhattan tests and 2 official GMAC tests. Review each test thoroughly, even the problems you answered correctly.

My practice test scores went as follows:

610 (Manhattan)
640 (Manhattan)
650 (Manhattan)
650 (Manhattan)
650 (Manhattan)
690 (Official GMAC)
720 (Manhattan)
700 (Official GMAC)

Official Score: 740

My practice scores shot up once I had mastered most of the OG material. Taking regular practices tests is also crucial so that you get a feel for your testing strategy. If I had been able to get to the OG quant and verbal supplements, I think I could have done even better.

Good luck to you all.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Manhattan GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community


Manhattan GMAT Course Rankings
Overall Score Improvement
104 points
International Student Score Improvement
106 points
Verbal
100%
Quant
100%
Best Manhattan GMAT GMAT Instructors
Josh Braslow [New York (Manhattan), USA]
    
Keith Blume [Chicago-Wacker, USA]
    
Gregg Lachow [New York (Midtown Manhattan), USA]
    
Save $350
on Manhattan GMAT
+$100 discount
+$250 bonus
Get Manhattan GMAT Promo Code