Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [173]      Average Rating:       (4.8/5)
 
Manhattan GMAT
There are higher standards for what defines a competitive GMAT score today. We have no magic formula, no silver bullet, no empty guarantees. Instead, we have three basic principles that separate us from other test prep: the best teachers, the most advanced learning approach, and a focus solely placed on the GMAT. Save $75 on Manhattan GMAT courses with GMAT Club

MGMAT Review (Q49/V40/IR8)
October 23 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By japnasethi joined: January 9, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 120 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:  San Jose (Milpitas), CA USA | Taught by:  Ron Purewal
I studied the GMAT starting in Feb/March; enrolled in the course starting in April and finished in June. Took the GMAT once in August after 1.5 months of intense self-studying and improvement. I didn't do as well on the CATs through MGMAT but I was within 10 points. I took a class because I just needed a routine schedule to get into the mode of studying while at work and I also like being able to contact an instructor for any questions. Ron was pretty laid back although he had some quirks about him. But the material was pretty useful. I found that the examples used in class weren't as hard as ones in the practice CATs. I am an engineer so i thought the MGMAT math wasn't so bad but I found MGMAT's math CATs to be harder than what they made you practice during the course. When I took the actual GMAT, I thought the math was extremely easy, so I guess its good to have a training course thats harder than the actual test. On the other hand, I did pretty well on Verbal portion of MGMAT's practice CATs, but I found the actual GMAT to be much harder, in both SC and CR, so that was a throw-off and I didn't get as good of score as I was getting on my practice tests. Lastly, the IR section was insanely easy on the real GMAT compared to the MGMAT practice IR. Markedly large difference. All in all, my score is pretty good and much better than when I started studying in the beginning so using the MGMAT materials definitely boosted my score and understanding of the test.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Wonderful effort from Manhattan
October 23 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: September 15, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 30 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:  Hyderabad, India |
Manhattan GMAT is doing a great job in helping students ace GMAT. The techniques they use are exceptional. Especially the verbal part. For non natives, I think it would be good to say that, Every one must must first get the concepts cleared with Manhattan
for verbal preparation. Manhattan GMAT is doing a great job in helping students ace GMAT. The techniques they use are exceptional. Especially the verbal part. For non natives, I think it would be good to say that, Every one must must first get the concepts cleared with Manhattan
for verbal preparation. Thank You so much Manhattan
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Manhattan GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Worth It
October 13 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: October 13, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 120 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:  New York (Manhattan), NY USA | Taught by:  Jonathan Schneider
I took Manhattan GMAT because I'd heard primarily through word of mouth that it is the best GMAT course out there, and I was definitely satisfied with both the course and my resulting GMAT score (740). The course was laid out very well, and I felt like I always knew exactly how and what to study. There was more material to work with and study than I could process, which I thought was a good thing. I was fortunate enough to achieve my target score on my first attempt, and I honestly do not think I would have been able to do that without the structure and the materials that came along with the Manhattan GMAT Course. Also, Jonathan was a great instructor. He was very insightful and had an answer to every question asked throughout the 9 week course. Most importantly, he was very engaging and approachable. I would definitely recommend this course.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Great Course to Add Structure to Studying
October 13 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: October 13, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 110 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:  New York (Manhattan), NY USA | Taught by:  Jonathan Schneider
I decided to take the GMAT pretty late in the game, so I figured I needed a course to keep my attention focused. Manhattan was highly recommended and I have to agree.

I started at a 590 on my first practice, I and got a 700 on my first real exam. The key for me was just diving into the types of problems I was missing and learning everything I could about those topics in particular. This is generally how we were taught to study.

I wish I had done a better job of keeping up with the homework and structure set by the course, as I think it definitely helps to learn the same things at home as in class


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Manhattan GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Highly Recommend the Course
October 11 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: October 11, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 100 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
Manhattan GMAT is the company to sign up with if you're aiming for a 700+ score. I signed up for the in-person class option and had Jonathan as an instructor (who I would highly recommend). The course does a fantastic job keeping you on pace and provides many insightful pointers to help maximize your likelihood of success on test day (many of which you won't find using just the books). Jonathan in particular did a great job helping keep the class engaged with what most would consider pretty dry subject matter. The practice tests are also extremely helpful given the structure of the test will be new for most. I definitely felt like it was worth the cost and that it had a positive impact on my score (scored 740).
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Excellent Manhattan GMAT Prep Course
October 09 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: October 9, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 140 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:  San Francisco, CA USA |
The Manhattan GMAT course was an excellent choice! I was deciding between a number of options, including Kaplan, Princeton, and private tutoring with a 790 scorer. The cost of the Manhattan GMAT course was in between the other two options, and I was convinced by the fact that they have only 99% instructors and by the excellent reviews they had on every review website I looked at. The decision was a very good one. There was a good variety of course times in San Francisco to fit my schedule. The instructor I chose ended up being an excellent teacher. He was very knowledgable about the GMAT, including key tips and tricks about timing, educated guessing techniques, etc. Plus, he was very patient and adept involving everyone in the learning process, and keeping the style and content with a good mix to get the most out of the content. Outside of the classroom, Manhattan provides some awesome prep resources online, available with the course. I used almost every resource, including recorded tutoring sessions, live tutoring sessions, free MBA consultation through MBA Mission, all of the practice exams and practice problems, and the useful diagnostics tools for the both the exams and the official GMAT practice problems (Official GMAT 13th Edition). Great experience, and got a 740 out of it, improved from 600 at the beginning of the course!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Manhattan GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Great Prep
October 09 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: October 9, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 160 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
I decided to sign up for Manhattan GMAT because my sister used this program and had great results.

I took the 9-week session and the depth that Ron Purewal explains each question helped me understand the core fundamental of each problem and alternative ways to solve a problem. The prep material that Manhattan provided was also very complete and had tons of practice problems for review.

After the 9-week course, I signed up for private tutoring with Jake Nicholson. He helped me develop a systematic approach to each problem, which allowed me to avoid careless mistakes and to logically think through each problem, no matter how complex it was.

My 1st practice test score from not knowing anything about GMAT was in the mid-500's. From my 1st official GMAT to my 2nd, I improved my score from 680 to 720. I am very happy with my score and highly recommend Manhattan GMAT for anyone who is preparing for the GMAT!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Jonathan Schneider is the best GMAT instructor you can have
October 09 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: October 9, 2014 | 1 | 5 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 160 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
I took the 9-week class on Wednesday nights which Jonathan Schneider taught. The entire class felt like they clicked with him right away. He is the kind of instructor who gets it. He doesn't go too slow or too fast. He just teaches at a perfect pace.

In my study group of 3, we started with 550-600 in our diagnostic test. Throughout the class, we all made progress and got around 650. All three of us kept getting 630-670 until the end of the class.

Jonathan recommended we took our tests 3-4 weeks after the end of the class, which we did. As expected, we got 660-680. Unsatisfied with those scores, we kept working, and signed up for the test a month later. All three of us had full-time jobs so that was a big commitment. We sent our breakdown and practice test assessments to Jonathan who gave each of us a detailed path to success. I believe this is really where he added a ton of value. He specifically told us what to work on and what not to work on. This made our lives a lot easier. A week later, 2 of us got our first 700+ on a practice, the third one got a 690.

We kept going, refining our weak spots, and finally took our tests 7-8 weeks after the end of the class. We got 710, 720 and 730 respectively, which we were happy with.

The takeaway is Jonathan is an extremely competent in-class instructor who spends time answering questions after hours (almost 24/7) and will be as good as it gets in class. But most importantly, he will spend the time to sit down and reflect on a study plan and give you a detailed strategy as to what you need to tackle to get a great score.

The three of us took the test twice, but we all felt like we would have gotten an even better score had we taken it a third time. It was just a matter of time until we got a 750+.

Jonathan set us up so we would succeed slowly but surely. We didn’t see it for weeks (and some nights we felt pretty desperate) but in the end it all worked out, and this is all thanks to him. Then again, it happened to the three of us, and the only two things we had in common were busy lives and Jonathan Schneider. It’s no coincidence. Jonathan Schneider is the man.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Manhattan GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Manhattan GMAT Course Review
September 16 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By hermest joined: September 16, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 130 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:  Chicago-N. LaSalle, IL USA | Taught by:  Dan Bartz
I was very nervous going into my GMAT studying - not knowing if I had the ability to score very well and not knowing if I could even get back into intense studying after being out of college for five years. After scoring a 570 on the initial practice test, I knew I had my work cut out for me, but Manhattan GMAT was such a helpful program. My in-class instructor, Dan Bartz, was so knowledgeable about all of the topics we covered. He was so great at teaching us what we needed to know to be able to do well on the GMAT, and he also did a great job preparing us mentally for the test. He was very good at engaging everyone in the classroom, and I often times was surprised when class was over, as it seemed time had flown by! The materials provided by Manhattan were also fantastic. All of the books explained each subject area so thoroughly, but in an easy-to-understand, not-too-technical manner. The online materials were just as helpful, as well. What I also really appreciated was the post-exam assessment I had with Haakon Brown (a long discussion following my first attempt at the official GMAT). Having an MGMAT instructor break down my weak and strong areas and provide me with a study plan for my next attempt at the test was great, but what I found most helpful was the way Haakon was able to help me get in the proper mental state - since I found the GMAT to be such a psychological grind (both while studying and while actually taking the test), it really gave me the confidence I needed! I ultimately scored a 700 on my second attempt at the GMAT, and I know I would not have come close to that without having taken Manhattan's GMAT review course, and I can't thank the company - and the instructors who helped me - enough!


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Gotta Put In The Work
September 15 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By wwnegley joined: September 15, 2014 | 0 | 5 | native speaker
Improvement: 140 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:  Washington, DC USA | Taught by:  David Chong
I started the MGMAT 9-session course in September 2013 and took the exam in August 2014. To be frank, I didn't really start studying until ~July 2014. The punch-line is this: you MUST do the homework. While I will say I benefited from the class, I did myself a huge disservice to not put in the hours WHILE I was taking the class. That said, the MGMAT books and web system are so strong that I was able to refresh much of what was taught in the class, and advance beyond. Wait until you're in a position to truly dedicate several months, then take the course, and plan on taking the exam a few weeks later. Good luck.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Manhattan GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community


Manhattan GMAT Course Rankings
Overall Score Improvement
105 points
International Student Score Improvement
105 points
Verbal
100%
Quant
100%
Best Manhattan GMAT GMAT Instructors
Josh Braslow [New York (Manhattan), USA]
    
Keith Blume [Chicago-Wacker, USA]
    
Gregg Lachow [New York (Midtown Manhattan), USA]
    
Save $350
on Manhattan GMAT
+$100 discount
+$250 bonus
Get Manhattan GMAT Promo Code