MGMAT Guided Self Study Reviews
    Number of reviews [16]      Average Rating:       (4.9/5)
 
Manhattan GMAT
There are higher standards for what defines a competitive GMAT score today. We have no magic formula, no silver bullet, no empty guarantees. Instead, we have three basic principles that separate us from other test prep: the best teachers, the most advanced learning approach, and a focus solely placed on the GMAT. Save $250-350 on Manhattan GMAT courses with GMAT Club

Good Quant Concepts
January 30 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: May 23, 2014 | 4 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 50 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  MGMAT Guided Self Study | Location:  Online |
The Manhattan course is awesome for Quantitative section. As its reputation , the quant concepts are very nice and elaborate which you will never forget. The alternative approach to solve the problems which also acts as a time saver is good enough. And there are sufficient problems and exercise questions to apply those concepts.

The verbal section is also good. Coming to the sentence correction, since I am a non native speaker, the theory part is good but it needs to be substantiated with more practice and application questions. The concepts and the vocabulary for Sentence Correction is very elaborate and there are lot and lots of grammar rules. But not enough practise questions to apply those rules in real time GMAT questions.

The 6 CATs provided are very good for practise. But I felt that somehow the scores were inflated because in all my CATs I got a decent score of 650 , 680 but in my real GMAT the score was 580, very poor. So somewhere the score calculation might be wrong. But that's just my opinion.

Still I feel the quant of Manhattan is superb and the flash cards also. The most complex problems are solved in a very elegant way.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Backbone of your self-study regimen
December 29 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By ggggmmmaat joined: July 21, 2014 | 6 | 6 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  MGMAT Guided Self Study | Location:  Online |
I bought all of the MGMAT self-study books, although I only had enough time and energy to get through quant (my main problem area). There is A LOT of information to get through, so prioritize your weaknesses or commit to a LONG study period.

I suggest you combine these with the official question book and an overall GMAT strategy guidebook. I used GMAT Clarity, although I wasn't entirely impressed with it.

Read the MGMAT books to get a refresher on the math concepts, use the official question book to test (and re-test) your knowledge, and use the strategy guidebook to help you break down and organize the questions by concept.

The practice tests are harder than the actual GMAT, which is beneficial in my mind.

The true strength(s) of the self-study course are the strategies for educated guessing. Seriously, they are invaluable and they just might save you.

I can't imagine scoring a 740 on my first try without Manhattan. Highly recommended.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Manhattan GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
GMAT Self Study
March 20 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: February 19, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 100 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  MGMAT Guided Self Study | Location:  Online |
The MGMAT foundational books and strategy guides are excellent resources for anyone who would like to go at their own pace and prefers to teach themselves the GMAT material.

Personally, I needed foundations books for both Math and English in order to be in a position to start the study guides. The OG Archer and MGMAT CATs are also excellent to review your strengths and weaknesses. One area I feel MGMAT could significantly improve is their website functionality. The ability to view right/wrong answers with explanations, in aggregate should be a basic function of the website. I've used other study programs for financial designations, that were well ahead of MGMAT's site. That said, their answer video explanations on the OG Archer are priceless and for the price, it's a steal.

I would recommend the self study, OG Archer, and CATs to any friend.

Good luck!

Jon
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Very useful
January 08 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: July 2, 2012 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 30 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  MGMAT Guided Self Study | Location:  Online |
I think one sure way of getting a high score is by using Manhattan GMAT guides and regularly reading Ron Purewal's blogs. I learned a lot just by reading his blogs where he explains concepts with a lot of details.

The Manhattan GMAT books are comprehensive and I believe the verbal sections helped me a lot. I think the SC book is by far the best book in the market for cracking the SC questions in the actual exam.

The tests were pretty accurate and the explanations for the answers were useful. Though I think the tests are slightly harder than the real exam they were useful in that they motivated me to study even harder for the actual test! In the actual test I scored about 30 points more than the diagnostic test.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Manhattan GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
You don't need any other program.
November 12 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: March 29, 2013 | 2 | 1 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 190 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  MGMAT Guided Self Study | Location:  Online |
Thanks to Manhattan GMAT and Ron Purewal's "Thursdays with Ron" lectures, I was able to boost my score from a 580 to a 770. 9 books that Manhattan GMAT has to offer fill you in on the basics you need to ace the GMAT. If you need to refine your study plan even further, you can get the Manhattan Advanced GMAT Quant book and easily get accustomed to the patterns prevalent in Quant section of the GMAT.

If you have to choose one course, choose Manhattan. The books are amazing, and the instructors are more than happy to help you if you have any problems during your journey to the perfect score.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
strategy book & private tutor
September 08 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By jessicazml joined: September 8, 2013 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 40 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  MGMAT Guided Self Study | Location:  Online |
Hi
I have used private tutor from Manhattan in London. I am quite good in math but did poorly in verbal. After a few unsuccessful attempt I decided to give it a final try. My tutor is Marcus and he is really passionate and helpful. I had 5 hours total with him and we went through all the basic verbal principals. I think most importantly he guided me to develop an efficient game plan and directed me the areas to focus. I think all the drills and practice I did is quite helpful.

I think if you need some help in verbal, the Manhattan strategy book is critical but the private tutor is helpful in helping you identify your weaknesses. In the end I didn't do as well as I prepared, but I am fine with what I got 710 (Q51, V34) and very pleased with MGM's help.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Manhattan GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
710 -> 770
January 14 | 2013

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By mokwopa joined: January 11, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 60 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  MGMAT Guided Self Study | Location:  Online |
When I took the GMAT in 2006, I thought a single volume, all-in-one book was enough. And it was enough, at least to get a 710.

Fast forward to 2012. My previous score had expired, so I needed to retake the test. What I felt I lacked in my previous attempt was a focus on concepts, instead of just "tricks". Manhattan GMAT seemed to advertise more than any other prep program that it was "concept-focused". Not only was this true, but I think it had the perfect balance of concepts with strategies ("tricks") to make it the perfect prep program. Full disclosure: I consistently scored very high on the Verbal section, so I completely blew off studying the Verbal strategy guides and focused solely on the Quant section. I'm sure the Verbal was just as good, though. :)


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
630 --> 730!
January 11 | 2013

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By DB90 joined: January 11, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 100 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  MGMAT Guided Self Study | Location:  Online |
I spent about 4 months using the MGMAT books and self study method prepping for the GMAT. I scored a 630. During just a few hours with Chris over the course of the last 4 months, I was able to improve my score to a 730. I whole heartedly believe that his tutoring made breaking 700 possible. He had an excellent knowledge of the material, worked well with me specifically, was easily accessible, and was an excellent teacher / communicator. Without him, I remain convinced that I would have been struggling to break 650 and subsequently fighting to get into a my target grad schools. Thanks Chris and MGMAT.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Manhattan GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
740 - (Q48,V42)
January 11 | 2013

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: November 21, 2012 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 90 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  MGMAT Guided Self Study | Location:  Online |
I went to Manhattan GMAT because I had taken the GMAT twice and scored 650 both times with good verbal (95%) but poor quant (50%). I had one last shot at the GMAT before the admission deadline.

For my first 650 I had done quite a lot of preparation but on the day I misjudged the quant timing so I was not hugely surprised when I got this score. However, the second time I took the test I had worked very hard to learn all the mathematical principles, do hundreds of OG practice questions and focus on my timing. I was very disheartened to get a score of 650 again.

I called up MGMAT who put me in touch with Sarah. We booked a session right away. In all, I had three sessions with Sarah, two face to face and one online, and we focussed solely on quant.

I talked her through my approach and immediately she identified that I should modify my study technique so that I placed much more emphasis on reviewing in detail every question which I practiced. Previously, I had only reviewed the questions which I answered incorrectly. I had also not really understood that a good review involves understanding the principles of each question and critically thinking 'how could they have made this question harder?', 'what have I learnt from this?'. After my first session with Sarah, I reviewed every question whether I had answered rightly or wrongly.

Between our lessons I noticed the difference immediately. My review process became more sophisticated and I began to 'see' how to rephrase questions very quickly and understand the potential traps that each question presented.

Sarah also showed me that certain concepts such as prime factorisation could be used across whole ranges of questions. This seemed to unlock a lot of questions which I had been unable to do previously in the 2 minute time limit per question.

One critical point that Sarah taught me was the importance of strategic guessing. I had done very little of this in my previous attempts because it felt so unnatural to approach a question knowing that you were going to have to strategically guess. This really unlocked the quant section for me. In each question after 45 seconds if I was not certain that I could get to the answer in time then I would put all my energy into making the most intelligent guess possible. At first, I felt very uncomfortable doing this but after a while it made a significant difference to my practice test scores.

The day of my final test came and I incorporated everything that Sarah had taught me as well as all the principles that I had learnt in my practice reviews. I had to guess quite a few of the questions in the test but unlike before I actively narrowed down the potential answer choices. The final few questions of the test were quite challenging so I felt cautiously optimistic that the section had gone well.

Then came the moment of truth and 740 appeared on the screen. All the work had paid off.

I wouldn't have been able to do this without sessions with Sarah. She never promised that I would get over 700 or sell me something that she couldn't deliver on. Instead she gave me lots of encouragement and was very patient when I had any difficulties. Although I still had to do lots of work she made sure that I did the right type of work which would actually benefit my score. I'd recommend personal tuition even for a few hours to anyone who feels stuck with the gmat like I did. Now on to the next stage!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Manhattan GMAT: best GMAT prep materials
June 29 | 2012

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By luongthevinh joined: June 11, 2012 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  MGMAT Guided Self Study | Location:  Online |
To prepare for my GMAT, I used a variety of prep materials from GMAC, Manhattan Prep and other prep companies. I like the Manhattan GMAT series a lot for its focus on concepts. The explanations have sufficient substance to help learners grasp the concepts behind the questions. Other companies seem to lean towards elimination tricks, which work well for questions up to the 700 level but not beyond.

I have also found that the Manhattan GMAT series does not contain any serious typological mistakes, while than some books by other companies repeatedly contain frustrating typos. This is a small matter that can cause a lot of confusion to learners, especially in a timed testing environment. Manhattan GMAT's attention to detail makes a difference.

I attended two very workshops in Singapore conducted by Robert Wilburn. Those workshops helped me consolidate and further enhance things I had learned by that point.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Manhattan GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community


Manhattan GMAT Course Rankings
Overall Score Improvement
83 points
International Student Score Improvement
70 points
Verbal
100%
Quant
100%
Save $350
on Manhattan GMAT
+$100 discount
+$250 bonus
Get Manhattan GMAT Promo Code