MGMAT Live Online Reviews
    Number of reviews [44]      Average Rating:       (4.8/5)
Manhattan GMAT
There are higher standards for what defines a competitive GMAT score today. We have no magic formula, no silver bullet, no empty guarantees. Instead, we have three basic principles that separate us from other test prep: the best teachers, the most advanced learning approach, and a focus solely placed on the GMAT.

Review for Advanced Quant Workshop
April 17 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: April 16, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 40 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  MGMAT Live Online | Location:  Online |
Note: I did not provide a verbal score because the workshop was for quant only. My raw score improved 3 points in Quant--leaving me with a 740 overall. My quant percentile was not great, but was always going to be the weaker element for me.

I took this course about a week before taking the GMAT for the second time. Manhattan recommends allowing more lead time--and I think I could have benefited even more with more time--but it was still worth it. The class was great. It gave me a great framework for difficult problems that test number theory. We also worked on shortcuts to simplify long equations. We moved through content quickly but with adequate explanation to make sure all participants understood. The software was easy to use. I had studied on my own and wished I had taken this class sooner - definitely worth the money.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Great classes and very helpful instructors
December 15 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: July 8, 2013 | 0 | 5 | non-native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  MGMAT Live Online | Location:  Online |
The strategy guides were great and the instructors were very helpful. The online classes provided the structure I needed to keep myself on schedule. Seb and Chris made the classes fun as well as a great learning experience!

I believe the study plan played a major role in my score.

The archives of Thursdays with Ron was a great resource. Ron get you to approach the problems with the right attitude.

I also took the advanced workshops. The workshops were very useful as they pushed me beyond my comfort level.

Overall, it is the best investment you can make if you are aiming to score above 700. I got a 750 (V 41, Q 50).
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Manhattan GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Manhattan Gmat Review
December 07 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: December 6, 2013 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 30 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  MGMAT Live Online | Location:  Online | Taught by:  Abby Berry
I was told by friends and family that manhattan gmat can help people break the 700 barrier. and they can.
The books especially for verbal, are very comprehensive and have detailed explanations.

After reading the Sentence Correction books, you start to recognize patterns in sentences. This way you can eliminate 2-3 answer choices in a matter of seconds.

The books also help to keep you from getting confused when answering Critical reasoning questions. Critical reasoning can be dangerous if u change ur line of thinking based on answer choices. Manhattan Gmat teaches you how to keep on track.
The teachers are all very proficient in what they do, and i assume they must have a very good success rate.

I'm very pleased with how ive performed in my GMAT.
So i can definitely vouch for Manhattan Gmat.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Wow! Manhattan boosted my score 200 points
October 06 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By sks2qx joined: October 6, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 200 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  MGMAT Live Online | Location:  Online |
The Manhattan course I took from Joe Lucero and Tom Rose was incredible! My score went from a 550 diagnostic to a 760 on test day. The strategies taught by Manhattan are simply the best. In particular, I benefitted from the timing strategy, the critical reasoning diagramming, and the number properties guides. Moreover, they give tremendous personal attention to their students. Joe Lucero helped me create a study plan for my last two weeks that I think alone boosted my score 100 points. Definitely money well spent and I would whole heartedly recommend this course to anyone considering taking the GMAT! Thank you Joe and Tom!


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Manhattan GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Professional company committed to success
September 24 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: June 18, 2012 | 3 | 5 | native speaker
Improvement: 130 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  MGMAT Live Online | Location:  Online |
I was really pleased with my decision to go with Manhattan. The online course fit my need to do the course in the midst of a cross-country move and the fact that the courses are recorded made it easy to go back and watch. I did the bulk of my preparation after the course was over ;)

I was most impressed by Manhattan's offer of a free hour-long consultation after you take the exam and are not happy with your score. They are truly committed to their students' success.

The two things that would make the course even better is if they offered their individual coaching session discount to group class participants after their class was finished (not just during) and integrated the practice test and practice problem logs.

Overall though, very pleased and will continue to recommend it.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Very Strong Course
September 05 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: September 4, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 90 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  MGMAT Live Online | Location:  Online |
I think Manhattan does a really nice job. The course material is essentially exhaustive, I don't think there was anything I would have expected to cover that we didn't at least touch on in live class and wasn't fully covered in the curriculum. The course can slow down a bit at times (partially as a result of adverse selection from the type of people who takes GMAT classes) but the teachers in general did a great job coaching everything through the topics.

One thing in particular I liked was the results-oriented approach. I personally tend to prefer the algebraic approach to problems, but they consistently pushed us to recognize when back-end tactics would be faster. I never fully mastered that skill set but it definitely helped with my timing.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Manhattan GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Fantastic - 700+ Prep
September 03 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By scc113 joined: September 3, 2013 | 0 | 5 | native speaker
Improvement: 70 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  MGMAT Live Online | Location:  Online | Taught by:  Dmitry Farber
If you are looking to get above a 700 on the GMAT, Manhattan GMAT is definitely the company to choose. It is not the cheapest on the market, but certainly the best - and you receive a TON of resources. I have always had difficulty with standardized tests, and after using MGMAT Prep, I scored in the 98th percentile!

Very methodical organized instruction. Included with their live online classes and tutors are practice tests, practice problems, tips, application suggestions, etc. The company gives a real holistic overview of not just the GMAT, but the entire MBA application process.

Their customer assistance is fantastic, and it is so easy to tailor the tutoring sessions or self-studying schedule to your specific needs. Dmitry Farber is a fantastic tutor -- patient, personable, and very encouraging.

High high high recommendation!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
MGMAT Helped Me Hit My 700+ Target
August 13 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Elliott370 joined: August 13, 2013 | 0 | 5 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  MGMAT Live Online | Location:  Online |
I enrolled in the MGMAT Live Online course to facilitate my study while traveling for work throughout the week. I was extremely impressed with MGMAT from the moment I received my prep materials in the mail. The study materials are top notch and the amount of practice problems you are given access to is truly impressive. I enjoyed the online format and was impressed by how engaged the live classes kept me. I was called on to answer questions or provide explanations consistently, which helped keep my attention through the somewhat long class sessions. I continued my studies for an additional two months after my course ended, utilizing MGMAT's online tools and practice exams. All in all, I ended up exceeding my target score and am very pleased with my investment in MGMAT. My unofficial scores were Q:43 V:45 Total: 710
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Manhattan GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Great class while working
June 26 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By adasophia22 joined: June 26, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 120 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  MGMAT Live Online | Location:  Online | Taught by:  Kara Thornton
I have been out of college 2 years and was worried about starting to study again. I really liked Manhattan GMAT's study schedule. They were also realistic with studying and realizing most people are working. I took the class online and thought there would not be a lot of interaction but the two instructors did a good job with making sure we were answering questions online and through the microphone.

I think the best and most helpful part of signing up with ManhattanGMAT was an instructor looking over my practice scores and telling me what I should work on and giving different examples and suggestions than what was in the class and the online lectures.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Great experience
June 25 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: June 25, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 80 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  MGMAT Live Online | Location:  Online | Taught by:  Chris Gentry
I had a great experience using MGMAT's online 9 week course. Even though my class was virtual, I still felt that there was a sense of community in the classroom and that my teachers were invested in my success. I found the problems in class and the discussions to be very helpful, and the homework to be a good use of my time. The online practice tests and the analysis provided were the most useful tools in my preparation. I was able to track my progress and see what types of problems I consistently got right and wrong. On test day, I felt nervous but confident and saw how my hard work had paid off!


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Manhattan GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community


Manhattan GMAT Course Rankings
Overall Score Improvement
107 points
International Student Score Improvement
76 points
Verbal
100%
Quant
100%
Best Manhattan GMAT GMAT Instructors
Emily Sledge [USA]
    
Tom Rose [USA]
    
Avi Gutman [USA]
    
Save $350
on Manhattan GMAT
+$100 discount
+$250 bonus
Get Manhattan GMAT Promo Code