MGMAT Live Online Reviews
    Number of reviews [49]      Average Rating:       (4.8/5)
Manhattan GMAT
There are higher standards for what defines a competitive GMAT score today. We have no magic formula, no silver bullet, no empty guarantees. Instead, we have three basic principles that separate us from other test prep: the best teachers, the most advanced learning approach, and a focus solely placed on the GMAT.

Great experience with the exception of CAT exams
August 19 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By rss92 joined: July 13, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 130 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  MGMAT Live Online | Location:  Online | Taught by:  Brett Kimball
Overall I had a great experience with Manhattan GMAT. I took a 9-week, online class with Brett Kimball, and actually enjoyed attending class sessions. He did a great job tailoring the class material to our level. I was very nervous about the "online" nature of the class beforehand, because I've never been great at learning off of a computer. However, the software MGMAT uses for the online sessions is truly fantastic, and I had no trouble remaining engaged in the course.

The course materials were incredibly comprehensive. I've heard of other people studying for the GMAT mix and matching materials from a variety of test prep companies, but I felt that I was 100% prepared with the materials that Manhattan GMAT made available.

One of the most worthwhile features of Manhattan GMAT, for me, were all the materials on the website. GMAT Navigator is a great program for answering prep questions, and the tools to analyze results/progress are really helpful. In addition, the online workshops are great for a deeper dive into a concept at your own pace. I especially liked the one for the Integrated Reasoning section. The question banks were also really helpful, as I was able to really ascertain what my mistakes were in regards to specific topics, and I was able to note what to make sure not to do when I saw those types of questions again. Finally, I found the online forum to be really helpful, especially since the instructors are very active in answering questions.

However, I feel that MGMAT could definitely improve its CAT exam experience, specifically with the Quant section. I found MGMAT's CAT exams' Quant section to be much harder than the real thing, and I ended up having a severe confidence issue with the test because of it. I probably ended up studying much harder and for the wrong topics because of the difficulty gap. I also wasn't able to practice timing properly as I was struggling so much with the difficulty level. I would have really appreciated if MGMAT would have been more upfront about the difficulty level of their exams, especially since I have heard of many people feeling the same way about their CAT Exams as I did. Otherwise, if MGMAT does not want to let its students know that its CAT exams aren't fully accurate, then they should fix the types of questions generated to make them more representative of the actual test. As a testament to this difficulty gap, my best score on a MGMAT CAT was a 720, but on the real thing I scored a 770 (which was comparable to my GMATPrep scores).

Overall, I wouldn't have been able to score as well as I did without the class and resources Manhattan GMAT provided. However, I do feel the inaccurate difficulty of Manhattan GMAT's CAT exams did hurt me in some way. Regardless, I do highly recommend Manhattan GMAT, but advise that when doing their CAT exams you keep in mind this point about difficulty.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Fantastic Course! Bit pricey but worth it
August 05 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By viini joined: August 5, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  MGMAT Live Online | Location:  Online | Taught by:  Ryan Starr
I took the Live Online course in preparationg for my first (and only) time taking the GMAT. The class was great - the teachers were engaging and they cover a lot of material. Manhattan GMAT itself has a lot of resources on the website: PDFS, flashcards, practice exams, forums, bonus questions, etc.. They honestly had more resources than I could use and I found the books and the timed practice exams extremeley helpful. I'm very satisfied with the course and my GMAT score - I took the GMAT 3 weeks after my class ended.

Overall, definitely consider taking a course with Manhattan GMAT - it's extremeley pricey (the only reason I'm giving 4 stars instead of 5) but it's worth it in the end.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Manhattan GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Great Results from Manhattan GMAT Live Online
July 14 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: July 14, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 180 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  MGMAT Live Online | Location:  Online | Taught by:  Joseph Martin
I took the Manhattan GMAT Live Online 9-session course and was extremely satisfied with the results--a nearly 200 point improvement from my diagnostic score. I have a full-time job and live in an area not very close to an in-person Manhattan GMAT course, so the live online course was a great option for me and fit well into my schedule. I also found that no quality was lost in taking the course online (rather than in-person). The instruction quality was great, the instructors were engaging and required participation, we were able to ask questions in real time, and practiced getting in an answer in the right time frame. The only improvements I can think of for the course would be a bit more time focused on strategic and effective guessing (when necessary) and the Integrated Reasoning section. But overall, I thought the course was excellent and highly recommend!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Manhattan GMAT Online Course
July 11 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: July 11, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 160 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  MGMAT Live Online | Location:  Online | Taught by:  Josh Braslow
The Manhattan GMAT online course was a fabulous experience. I am not a natural standardized test taker and this course improved my score tremendously. Over the course, my practice scores improved drastically over the previous score and I ended up getting a great score overall. To put it in perspective, I scored a 570 on my first practice test and scored well over 700 on the actual test. The course really breaks down each part of the test and makes it easy to track and attack performance on each section. It would be very hard to study "smart" without taking the course. The Manhattan resources allow you to customize studying and break it down into manageable chunks. I would recommend this course to anyone interested.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Manhattan GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Well designed, precise and easy to grasp
July 10 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By mauryamodi joined: July 10, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 20 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  MGMAT Live Online | Location:  Online |
I was hitting a wall at around 700 when I started watching Manhattan lecture videos. Manhattan's lecture videos are very well organized and is very precise and is designed in such a way, that you would easily grasp what they try to convey.

The best part I liked was that I could pause the videos, replay those areas which I needed to review and take my own time to take good notes.

I loved spending every hour on this and I was able to bump up my score to 720. I would recommend everyone to watch these videos as soon as they start preparing for GMAT so that they can build a solid fundamental base.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Review for Advanced Quant Workshop
April 17 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: April 16, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 40 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  MGMAT Live Online | Location:  Online |
Note: I did not provide a verbal score because the workshop was for quant only. My raw score improved 3 points in Quant--leaving me with a 740 overall. My quant percentile was not great, but was always going to be the weaker element for me.

I took this course about a week before taking the GMAT for the second time. Manhattan recommends allowing more lead time--and I think I could have benefited even more with more time--but it was still worth it. The class was great. It gave me a great framework for difficult problems that test number theory. We also worked on shortcuts to simplify long equations. We moved through content quickly but with adequate explanation to make sure all participants understood. The software was easy to use. I had studied on my own and wished I had taken this class sooner - definitely worth the money.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Manhattan GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Great classes and very helpful instructors
December 15 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: July 8, 2013 | 0 | 5 | non-native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  MGMAT Live Online | Location:  Online |
The strategy guides were great and the instructors were very helpful. The online classes provided the structure I needed to keep myself on schedule. Seb and Chris made the classes fun as well as a great learning experience!

I believe the study plan played a major role in my score.

The archives of Thursdays with Ron was a great resource. Ron get you to approach the problems with the right attitude.

I also took the advanced workshops. The workshops were very useful as they pushed me beyond my comfort level.

Overall, it is the best investment you can make if you are aiming to score above 700. I got a 750 (V 41, Q 50).
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Manhattan Gmat Review
December 07 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: December 6, 2013 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 30 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  MGMAT Live Online | Location:  Online | Taught by:  Abby Berry
I was told by friends and family that manhattan gmat can help people break the 700 barrier. and they can.
The books especially for verbal, are very comprehensive and have detailed explanations.

After reading the Sentence Correction books, you start to recognize patterns in sentences. This way you can eliminate 2-3 answer choices in a matter of seconds.

The books also help to keep you from getting confused when answering Critical reasoning questions. Critical reasoning can be dangerous if u change ur line of thinking based on answer choices. Manhattan Gmat teaches you how to keep on track.
The teachers are all very proficient in what they do, and i assume they must have a very good success rate.

I'm very pleased with how ive performed in my GMAT.
So i can definitely vouch for Manhattan Gmat.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Manhattan GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Wow! Manhattan boosted my score 200 points
October 06 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By sks2qx joined: October 6, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 200 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  MGMAT Live Online | Location:  Online |
The Manhattan course I took from Joe Lucero and Tom Rose was incredible! My score went from a 550 diagnostic to a 760 on test day. The strategies taught by Manhattan are simply the best. In particular, I benefitted from the timing strategy, the critical reasoning diagramming, and the number properties guides. Moreover, they give tremendous personal attention to their students. Joe Lucero helped me create a study plan for my last two weeks that I think alone boosted my score 100 points. Definitely money well spent and I would whole heartedly recommend this course to anyone considering taking the GMAT! Thank you Joe and Tom!


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Professional company committed to success
September 24 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: June 18, 2012 | 9 | 7 | native speaker
Improvement: 130 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  MGMAT Live Online | Location:  Online |
I was really pleased with my decision to go with Manhattan. The online course fit my need to do the course in the midst of a cross-country move and the fact that the courses are recorded made it easy to go back and watch. I did the bulk of my preparation after the course was over ;)

I was most impressed by Manhattan's offer of a free hour-long consultation after you take the exam and are not happy with your score. They are truly committed to their students' success.

The two things that would make the course even better is if they offered their individual coaching session discount to group class participants after their class was finished (not just during) and integrated the practice test and practice problem logs.

Overall though, very pleased and will continue to recommend it.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Manhattan GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community


Manhattan GMAT Course Rankings
Overall Score Improvement
108 points
International Student Score Improvement
67 points
Verbal
100%
Quant
100%
Best Manhattan GMAT GMAT Instructors
Emily Sledge [USA]
    
Tom Rose [USA]
    
Avi Gutman [USA]
    
Save $350
on Manhattan GMAT
+$100 discount
+$250 bonus
Get Manhattan GMAT Promo Code