Manhattan Prep GMAT GMAT Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [279]      Average Rating:       (4.8/5)
Courses
Find by:  
    
    
    
    
    
 
Manhattan GMAT
Manhattan GMAT provides students with the skills and strategies essential for success. There are higher standards for what defines a competitive GMAT score today. We have no magic formula, no silver bullet, no empty guarantees. Instead, we have three basic principles that separate us from other test prep: the best teachers, the most advanced learning approach, and a focus solely placed on the GMAT. Save $250-350 on Manhattan GMAT courses with GMAT Club

  Reviews
Sort by:   date of publication  most helpful
If you're going to do the GMAT, do it the right way!
November 25 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: May 27, 2012 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 100 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   Toronto, Canada | Taught by:  Avi Gutman
I tried to study for the GMAT on my own because I thought the course was way too expensive and not worth it. But I ended wasting my time and money, because I didn't even write the exam the first time. I was hovering around 580 and I couldn't get my score any higher. I postponed the exam for 6 months. I sucked it up and enrolled with MGMAT after thoroughly researching several prep courses and attending each of their trial classes.

I had Avi as my instructor and he was absolutely amazing! He was such a dynamic instructor, he was able to make the course material interesting and fun(?). He was able to explain concepts in multiple ways so that if you are stuck on one method, he could save you with another. Not only was he available after class to answer questions, he also responded to emails during the week within an hour! I thought was true dedication of an instructor that cared about my success!

In the end, I am really glad I enrolled with MGMAT. They helped me improve my score by 100 points! If you are serious about going to business school, which is $100k in tuition, then another few thousand bucks is nothing compared to the gains that you will reap in at the end.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Manhattan GMAT Prep - Great Resource
March 14 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By jgonsa joined: March 14, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   Toronto, Canada | Taught by:  Avi Gutman
I took the in-class 9 week session with Manhattan GMAT Toronto with Avi as my instructor. It was a great course that covered all the foundations to prepare for the GMAT. Avi was great at explaining concepts and really encouraging class discussions. He also was able to explain multiple ways of solving a problem. The concepts/tricks taught in class really help to prepare for the GMAT. I found the course material robust and there is an endless supply of resources for self study.

Overall I would recommend both Avi & Manhattan GMAT in preparing to face the GMAT. Anyone considering taking the GMAT no matter your skill level should consider taking this course.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Manhattan GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Excellent
April 29 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By mar0427 joined: April 29, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   Toronto, Canada | Taught by:  Avi Gutman
Took the course with Avi as my instructor. He is extremely knowledgeable and genuinely interested and excited in the material he teaches. His enthusiasm is contagious and he makes the material seem much more interesting than it is. He makes sure that you understand the basics and change the way you think when you see certain questions, which allows you to solve the question quickly. He is always available before or after class for some extra help if needed. I would highly recommend taking the course with him. I will be taking the GMAT in the near future, so I cannot comment on score improvement at this time.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Great Course, Great Instructor
June 26 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: June 26, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 80 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   Toronto, Canada | Taught by:  Avi Gutman
Manhattan GMAT and my instructor Avi were both fantastic. MGMAT is structured, provides great study tools and most importantly, utilizes a really effective approach to teaching. My instructor Avi, didn't simply review questions that were in the course book, but instead focused on teaching the underlying principles behind the questions. This helped me learn not to simply answer the questions, but to understand what was being asked and why the answers are what they are. Avi consistently went above and beyond by helping me assess my CAT scores and providing me with advice even after the course was over. He even replied to one of my emails while he was away on vacation in China.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Manhattan GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Avi Gutman - Toronto Tutor - MGMAT prep
September 09 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By hcoles joined: September 9, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 30 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   Toronto, Canada | Taught by:  Avi Gutman
I had the best experience with MGMAT and specifically my tutor Avi Gutman. I took both the prep class and added some private tutoring in lead up to my writing date.

I had written the GMAT once before and scored high 600s - but needed to break 700+. I had a miserable experience studying the first time.

Avi made the process interesting and engaging, and I actually understood the underlying themes and concepts - rather than being tied to formulas and cue cards! It was a great process, from registry to the end. Avi was super invested in each of the students in our prep class - he really made sure that you understood and were able to independently problem solve. He always stayed to answer any questions and responded to emails so patiently. Well worth the time and $.

I wrote recently and got my target score- just as planned! And I was easily the most relaxed kid in the test room. Can't recommend him and MGMAT enough.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Definitely Recommend Manhattan GMAT!
September 19 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: September 19, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 70 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   Toronto, Canada | Taught by:  Avi Gutman
I took the Manhattan GMAT 9-week course and I definitely recommend it to others who want do their best. After taking the course I scored 740. Avi, my instructor was really great. He knew how to tailor the course to what students were struggling with and identified the things that could take their scores to the next level. He was also really supportive after the course had ended which was really helpful when I was actually taking the exam. I've already recommended this to some of my friends because I'm convinced that the course is a much more efficient way to study!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Manhattan GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Manhattan GMAT - Best Decision for GMAT Takers
July 14 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By neiljain21 joined: July 14, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 100 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   Toronto, Canada | Taught by:  Avi Gutman
I took the Manhattan GMAT in-person class with Avi as well as some private tutoring in Toronto and would recommend him to anyone looking to improve their GMAT score. Avi's command of the material is unbelievable, but it is method of teaching that truly separates him from any other teacher I have ever had. In no time, he was able to identify my areas of weakness, shorten the time I spent on each question and improve my overall confidence going into the exam.

With Avi's help, I was able to score a 730 on the official GMAT test. He is continuously willing to help you with any questions, even after your class has ended. Overall, Avi is a great person and a fantastic teacher who truly makes the concepts interesting. I guarantee he will improve the score of anyone willing to put the effort into their preparation.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Avi Gutman
November 25 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: November 25, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   Toronto, Canada | Taught by:  Avi Gutman
I took the 9 week prep course with Avi in May 2014. Avi's ability to breakdown seemingly complex quant problems is extremely helpful if you are new to the types of questions on the GMAT. I think what helped me the most was the multi-approach that Avi employed to solve every quant problem that we discussed in class. Only when you see how a quant problem can be solved in multiple ways, will you step out of your comfort zone and approach these problems in a more strategic way under a time-restricted environment such as the GMAT.

I strongly recommend Avi to any student new to the GMAT.

thanks Avi!

Q49/ V38 -> 710
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Manhattan GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Avi Gutman and the 9 week prep course
April 11 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: January 16, 2011 | 18 | 4 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   Toronto, Canada | Taught by:  Avi Gutman
I took the 9 week course with Avi in Toronto. It was the best decision I made. Avi is all about working smarter on the GMAT, not working harder. I took the GMAT once back in 2011 and my approach was completely different - I treated the test as a test of content and studied super hard to memorize all the concepts and equations. I did well (710), but felt I could do better so signed up for the Manhattan course.

Avi right away addressed our approach and perspective on the GMAT, emphasizing that it was a test of strategy, timing, and discipline. He still stressed the importance of knowing the content, but also made it clear that strong content alone could not lead to the best possible performance on the GMAT. The content had to be executed well and that is where Avi added the most value well beyond the strategy guides and the online materials. He didn't simply regurgitate the material. In fact, he spent most of the valuable class time going over strategies and concepts that were not covered anywhere else. Avi is also extremely generous with his time, answering questions promptly via email and taking the time to go through various solution methods. The post-course assessment was critical to fine tuning my study plan and a pivotal moment as Avi assessed my strengths and weaknesses and quickly identified the most significant areas where I could achieve "quick wins". It really helped me focus my attention on what would make the biggest impact on my score, rather than trying to study everything. Without his advice, I would have wasted a lot of valuable time on things I should have ignored. Most of all, I appreciated his no-nonsense communication style - it is crystal clear and he cuts right to the chase to make the most of everybody's time, and further clarifies/answers follow up questions later.

From a 580 on my diagnostic CAT in late-January, I just finished my 2nd GMATPrep today with a 760 (Q48/V48). (I am writing the real exam in a week). I can say with confidence that I could not have achieved this without Avi's advice.

I'm not saying that it was a free ride - you definitely have to put in the work (do your homework!), but everyone is busy and Avi helped me focus on the right things to make my studies more effective - I feel like he amplified/maximized my potential. If your effort is there, Avi will definitely help you get the most out of it. How I do on test day will be up to me, but Avi got me to a place where I can approach the test with the confidence and the tools to succeed. Thanks Avi!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.


Manhattan Prep GMAT Course Rankings
Overall Score Improvement
103 points
International Student Score Improvement
90 points
Verbal
100%
Quant
100%
Save $350
on Manhattan GMAT
+$100 discount
+$250 bonus
Get Manhattan GMAT Promo Code