Manhattan Prep GMAT GMAT Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [281]      Average Rating:       (4.8/5)
Courses
Find by:  
    
    
    
    
    
 
Manhattan GMAT
Manhattan GMAT provides students with the skills and strategies essential for success. There are higher standards for what defines a competitive GMAT score today. We have no magic formula, no silver bullet, no empty guarantees. Instead, we have three basic principles that separate us from other test prep: the best teachers, the most advanced learning approach, and a focus solely placed on the GMAT. Save $250-350 on Manhattan GMAT courses with GMAT Club

  Reviews
Sort by:   date of publication  most helpful
Great tutor, helped me to break through the 700 mark!
June 07 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By kchung3 joined: October 16, 2012 | 15 | 9 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 50 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT Private Tutoring | Location:   Hong Kong, China | Taught by:  Sarah Ryan
I signed up for MGMAT’s private tutoring services after failing 10-20 point short of breaking the 700 mark. Since I have gone through most of the materials and tests myself and consider myself pretty well-versed at them, I was looking for guidance more on my approach and mindset than the actual content.

On our first session, Sarah stated a very important point that shifted my mindset. She mentioned that GMAT emphasizes on one’s decision making skills as much as it does an individual’s knowledge on the materials. GMAT is a test against perfectionist; to do well on the test, one has to be able to give up questions, the same way a good executive decline projects with only average return, and make educated guess, as what business owners do daily. This has a profound impact on my approach to the test – instead of thinking giving up/ guessing questions as a last resort, I now think of that as one of my testing strategies to preserve my mental energy for other questions.

Another great point that Sarah made was on my problem solving approach in quant. She mentioned GMAT wants us to simplify problems and to break them down, not to make things bigger. Therefore, think factorization, not multiplication. This single twist in my approach has helped me in numerous questions, especially in DS.

On top of that, Sarah taught me some techniques on making an educated guess. And it is also helpful to go through my approach on each question with her, so that she she can pinpoint any concept mistakes or point out ways to fine tune my approach.

Overall, I believe working with Sarah is significant in raising my score through the 700 mark. I will definitely recommend her to anyone looking into GMAT private tutoring.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Manhattan GMAT 9 Session Online Course
May 18 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By oa7 joined: May 18, 2015 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   Pickering, Canada |
Amazing course so far. A lot of materials are provided with excellent explanations on understanding key concepts to succeed on the GMAT. So far, both my instructors are explaining concepts on how to succeed on the GMAT with regards to time allocation. Dejan is spending a lot of time in answering questions and providing feedback on areas to focus on. For example, he said skipping every 3rd question on the GMAT is an effective strategy as you can still score in the 700s with completing all questions (making sure easy questions are not missed). Furthermore, they often have easy and hard (trap) examples and spend time explaining how a question that appears to be hard is actually easy if you re-organize the question.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Manhattan GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Avi Gutman and the 9 week prep course
April 11 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: January 16, 2011 | 18 | 4 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   Toronto, Canada | Taught by:  Avi Gutman
I took the 9 week course with Avi in Toronto. It was the best decision I made. Avi is all about working smarter on the GMAT, not working harder. I took the GMAT once back in 2011 and my approach was completely different - I treated the test as a test of content and studied super hard to memorize all the concepts and equations. I did well (710), but felt I could do better so signed up for the Manhattan course.

Avi right away addressed our approach and perspective on the GMAT, emphasizing that it was a test of strategy, timing, and discipline. He still stressed the importance of knowing the content, but also made it clear that strong content alone could not lead to the best possible performance on the GMAT. The content had to be executed well and that is where Avi added the most value well beyond the strategy guides and the online materials. He didn't simply regurgitate the material. In fact, he spent most of the valuable class time going over strategies and concepts that were not covered anywhere else. Avi is also extremely generous with his time, answering questions promptly via email and taking the time to go through various solution methods. The post-course assessment was critical to fine tuning my study plan and a pivotal moment as Avi assessed my strengths and weaknesses and quickly identified the most significant areas where I could achieve "quick wins". It really helped me focus my attention on what would make the biggest impact on my score, rather than trying to study everything. Without his advice, I would have wasted a lot of valuable time on things I should have ignored. Most of all, I appreciated his no-nonsense communication style - it is crystal clear and he cuts right to the chase to make the most of everybody's time, and further clarifies/answers follow up questions later.

From a 580 on my diagnostic CAT in late-January, I just finished my 2nd GMATPrep today with a 760 (Q48/V48). (I am writing the real exam in a week). I can say with confidence that I could not have achieved this without Avi's advice.

I'm not saying that it was a free ride - you definitely have to put in the work (do your homework!), but everyone is busy and Avi helped me focus on the right things to make my studies more effective - I feel like he amplified/maximized my potential. If your effort is there, Avi will definitely help you get the most out of it. How I do on test day will be up to me, but Avi got me to a place where I can approach the test with the confidence and the tools to succeed. Thanks Avi!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Excellent Prep
March 11 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By enjayyy joined: March 11, 2015 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   New York (Manhattan), NY USA | Taught by:  Jonathan Schneider
I completed the 9-course prep class and then studied independently for 3 months. I needed the prep course because as I am still in college I didn't exactly understand what the GMAT was testing. If you're someone who needs structure or needs a study partner, its highly recommendable to take the course, otherwise I 100% recommend purchasing the books. I know I wouldn't of scored a 700 on my GMAT without them. I recommend learning the ins and outs of every one of their workbooks including the foundations. After you thoroughly understand the concepts, go through the official GMAT review books testing yourself with time constraints and referencing the Manhattan GMAT review books while reviewing problems. Everyday make sure to allocate time to not only quant but all aspects of the verbal because the verbal is something where practice makes perfect since its not as conceptual. For quant make sure to recognize where you can use the Manhattan GMAT shortcuts because they will save you a lot of time on game day.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Manhattan GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Great Course (760 49Q / 46V 8 AWA 6.0 IR)
March 05 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By al79philly joined: September 27, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   Philadelphia, PA USA | Taught by:  Abby Berry
Manhattan provided a great deal of value. I was able to score a 760 on my first attempt at the exam. Abby Berry was an excellent teacher and the timelines are laid out well. In addition to the classwork, you get access to the online interact sessions, which provide a second chance to review items where you need extra help. The books are well laid out and provide a lot of practice. GMAT Navigator is an excellent tool to track your progress against the official guide. I only took the test once, but I think they give you access to the materials for 18 months from when you sign up, which seems very fair. Customer support response time is excellent. I wanted access to their advanced quant book and sent an email on a Sunday afternoon. I received a response within an hour.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Manhattan Prep is the best GMAT prep around
March 03 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: March 3, 2015 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 50 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  MGMAT Live Online | Location:   Online | Taught by:  Chris Brusznicki
Manhattan Prep was the best decision I made. They give you so many resources to help improve your GMAT score. My online instructors were so nice and willing to help. They taught me strategies that helped me immensely on test day. I attribute my 710 total score to Manhattan Prep.

They really take the GMAT apart piece by piece. Not only do they review each section of the GMAT, but they even review how the test is scored. They dive deep into specific question types you will face. The instructors were extremely knowledgeable and very willing to answer any and all questions. If I had to do it all again, I would choose Manhattan Prep every time.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Manhattan GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Couldn`t have achieved 720 without MGMAT!!!
February 20 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By mserek joined: March 25, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 100 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   Prague, Czech Republic | Taught by:  Stacey Koprince
I had 9 week online courses with Stacey Koprince and she was immensely helpful during the sessions and even until my 3rd re-rake. She was always sharing excellent, spot on advices and articles with me. And Ron, another guru of GMAT highly contributed to my success. His videos lifted my scores from 620 to 720; he boosted my verbal from 28 to 39. I had one tutoring session with him that helped me shift my focus to my weaknesses. Also MGMAT CAT Exam questions were top quality. After you master these tests, you can be sure to beat the gmat comfortably. I can`t be more thankful to MGMAT for their extraordinary service, top quality exams and books.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Manhatten GMAT Review
February 20 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By jmg2088 joined: February 20, 2015 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 150 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   Austin, TX USA | Taught by:  Liz Moliski
Liz Moliski of Manhattan GMAT was one of the best overall instructors I have ever had. Unlike most people who have the ability to score 780+, Liz not only understands the topics tested but also has the ability to explain them to the basic levels. Additionally, Manhattan GMAT was one of the most comprehensive programs available. They provided the books, classroom instruction, online resources and even online interactive instruction to really give you bang for your buck (which, however, is on the higher end). All products were of the highest standards. I would highly recommend this fantastic program to anyone trying to get into the top schools.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Manhattan GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Manhattan GMAT
February 13 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: February 13, 2015 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 160 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  MGMAT Live Online | Location:   Online | Taught by:  Joe Lucero
My review of Manhattan is best summed up in three words - 540 to 700. I improved over 160 points from my initial practice test to the day I got my official score from the test center. The instructors, curriculum and materials all work in concert to help you get the score you want.

One word of warning though - Manhattan GMAT is not a silver bullet. Raising my score from the 50th percentile to the 90th percentile took months of hard work and consistent study, but Manhattan gave me to the tools and resources to be able to execute the study plan that allowed me to get the score I needed to get into a top 10 program.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Good Quant Concepts
January 30 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: May 23, 2014 | 4 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 50 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  MGMAT Self-Study Toolkit | Location:   Online |
The Manhattan course is awesome for Quantitative section. As its reputation , the quant concepts are very nice and elaborate which you will never forget. The alternative approach to solve the problems which also acts as a time saver is good enough. And there are sufficient problems and exercise questions to apply those concepts.

The verbal section is also good. Coming to the sentence correction, since I am a non native speaker, the theory part is good but it needs to be substantiated with more practice and application questions. The concepts and the vocabulary for Sentence Correction is very elaborate and there are lot and lots of grammar rules. But not enough practise questions to apply those rules in real time GMAT questions.

The 6 CATs provided are very good for practise. But I felt that somehow the scores were inflated because in all my CATs I got a decent score of 650 , 680 but in my real GMAT the score was 580, very poor. So somewhere the score calculation might be wrong. But that's just my opinion.

Still I feel the quant of Manhattan is superb and the flash cards also. The most complex problems are solved in a very elegant way.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Manhattan GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community


Manhattan Prep GMAT Course Rankings
Overall Score Improvement
103 points
International Student Score Improvement
89 points
Verbal
100%
Quant
100%
Save $350
on Manhattan GMAT
+$100 discount
+$250 bonus
Get Manhattan GMAT Promo Code