Manhattan Prep GMAT GMAT Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [284]      Average Rating:       (4.8/5)
Courses
Find by:  
    
    
    
    
    
 
Manhattan GMAT
Manhattan GMAT provides students with the skills and strategies essential for success. There are higher standards for what defines a competitive GMAT score today. We have no magic formula, no silver bullet, no empty guarantees. Instead, we have three basic principles that separate us from other test prep: the best teachers, the most advanced learning approach, and a focus solely placed on the GMAT. Save $250-350 on Manhattan GMAT courses with GMAT Club

  Reviews
Sort by:   date of publication  most helpful
Manhattan GMAT class review
January 19 | 2012

       By Anonymous joined: February 1, 2011 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 50 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
I felt this course was not very helpful in terms of math. They did not provide adequate enough math problems to help solve the Advanced Math problems. It was not until recently that Manhattan GMAT provided the Advanced Math coursebook that I felt was more in line with actual math problems I saw on the real exam. Also, the Number Properties course was very useful.

Generally speaking, I believe each in-class course that is taught my Manhattan GMAT depends on who the instructor is, and what strengths the instructor has. I did not like my initial instructor bc he was very poor at explaining verbal explanations and so I switched into a different course and like my teacher MUCH better.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
9 Session Prep course
January 24 | 2012

       By Anonymous joined: July 18, 2011 | 0 | 5 | non-native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   Chicago-Wacker, IL USA | Taught by:  Keith Blume
The 9 session prep course is a very useful course if you are a person who needs a class atmosphere to study and need a robust study plan. The instructor i have is really knowledgeable. He move at a pace in which everyone can understand and tries to make the class interesting. You are free to ask any kind of questions and the best part is that if you answer right he will really appreciate you but even if you give the most wrong answer possible he will still find a way to appreciate you. More than that their 8 guide are really informative especially the Number properties, word problems and Sentence correction guides. You also get to pick one insider information of the college you wish to apply. They also have a post test review to see how well you performed and if you are happy with it. One the whole its the best class and worth every buck.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Manhattan GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
MGMAT Self-Study Prep!
January 24 | 2012

       By nutsngum joined: November 9, 2011 | 47 | 5 | native speaker
Improvement: 160 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  MGMAT Self-Study Toolkit | Location:   Online |
This is a great refresher course for people who have learned the basics of Math/Verbal techniques but need a good brush up.

MGMAT does an excellent job of summarizing key concepts that you'll need, then applying them to how you will see them on the GMAT. It covers enough topics to be comprehensive without going into too much detail you'll never need to know.

The best part about this program in my opinion are the CAT exams that MGMAT provides. The explanations that they provide to debrief your exam are outstanding, and really help ingrain the reasons as to why you got the question wrong, or how you could have approached it more efficiently.

I would highly recommend this program to those who are diligent with self-study and would like to work on their own schedules.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Broad Coverage - in depth
January 25 | 2012

       By Anonymous joined: December 5, 2011 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 120 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  MGMAT Live Online | Location:   Online | Taught by:  Avi Gutman
I used the MGMAT course to start studying for the GMAT. I found their guides and live classes to be extremely helpful. Their written guides cover each topic individually, while the classes go into OG specific problems related to that weeks topic.

The instructors are charismatic and engaging. I would highly recommend this course. If you don't want to take classes I would then suggest you at least get the guides from MGMAT.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Manhattan GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Excellent
February 08 | 2012

       By Anonymous joined: February 8, 2012 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 100 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   New York (Midtown Manhattan), NY USA | Taught by:  Gregg Lachow
Manhattan GMAT's program was extremely extensive and thorough. The program covers every question on the test that you could be asked. My instructor was extremely helpful and not only prepared me with the material, but also gave us additional study, test-taking and application tips. I would refer no other program but this one. Manhattan's customer service is also exceptional.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Great course!
February 08 | 2012

       By SeanVL320 joined: February 8, 2012 | 6 | 5 | native speaker
Improvement: 70 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   Bethesda, MD USA | Taught by:  Mark Porath
The Manhattan GMAT course was very thorough. You are given 15 books at the start of the course. The course is expensive, but it's worth the money. The instructor gives great test-taking strategy tips that are difficult to find in prep books. In addition, Manhattan's website has TONS of resources. All of the course books can be downloaded online. They have numerous practice problems. You can take six practice tests online. The OG Archer tool is fantastic (allows you to time yourself on real GMAT problems from the 12th Edition Official Guide and gives explanations, text and some videos online). You can run diagnostics on all of your question areas to identify weaknesses in specific areas.

Overall, they provide more resources than you need. Well worth the money.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Manhattan GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
The course for a strong GMAT score!
February 13 | 2012

reviewer identity verified by membership
       By Anonymous joined: March 13, 2009 | 3 | 1 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 70 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  MGMAT Self-Study Toolkit | Location:   Online |
I would like to highly recommend the Manhattan GMAT preparatory material as well as Kevin Shen for individual tutoring sessions to people looking to achieve a top GMAT score!

I was looking for a course because I wanted to improve my score as I was aiming to get a place in a top 10 business school. Initially I used another supplier so after an extensive research, I decided to go with the Manhattan GMAT self-guided study.

MGMAT provided me with extensive material on Quant and Verbal that helped me build a strong knowledge base for the exam.

Furthermore I cannot stress enough the value Kevin Shen, my instructor, provided in helping me achieve my target score. His help was critical in helping me improve my score in the range I was aiming for. Kevin has the ability to identify your areas of improvement not only in terms of knowledge but in terms of test-taking strategies. This in my opinion is very important for success in the GMAT!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
MGmat
February 09 | 2012

       By sivarangan joined: March 18, 2011 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   Greenwood Village, CO USA |
I have been using the Manhattan GMAT for all my preparation and practice. I am highly impressed with the course content and even more with their practice tests. I think they are definitely one of the top notch practice tests you can get. I am yet to take the GMAT and plan to do that in the next couple of months but wanted to share my review for folks who are just getting started. I also happened to take their live class here in Denver and I must say that the course instructor was very impressive. She had herself attended and ivy league school so that perspective was most certainly welcome. Further their instructors are all supposed to have scored in excess of 750 so you get some really smart people teaching you the ropes. I must say I haven't tried other preparatory course out there but going through course material never really felt i was lacking something. Good luck to everyone in their preparation.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Manhattan GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Great Structure and Support
February 19 | 2012

       By Shko1 joined: August 21, 2011 | 27 | 10 | native speaker
Improvement: 200 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   New York (Manhattan), NY USA | Taught by:  Ceilidh Erickson
I currently work at an Investment Bank so trying to study for the GMAT has been difficult. In addition to achive a successful score, you have to not just worry about studying and understanding the material but having strategies along the way. Manhattan GMAT provides great structure that has been proven in addition to the support and resources. They understand what is key asnd how you should look at the questions and test. This is important for a test taker looking to get a high score.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Manhattan GMAT is actually fun
February 22 | 2012

       By Anonymous joined: February 21, 2012 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 170 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   San Francisco, CA USA | Taught by:  Kim Cabot
I highly recommend Kim Cabot's class. She manages to make studying for the test fun - and I could go on about how much I despise the GMAT. Kim is a highly entertaining teacher and extremely intelligent.

Manhattan GMAT is very well organized and the handouts and online resources give its students a huge advantage over a student just studying from the Official Guide.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Manhattan GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community


Manhattan Prep GMAT Course Rankings
Overall Score Improvement
103 points
International Student Score Improvement
89 points
Verbal
100%
Quant
100%
Save $350
on Manhattan GMAT
+$100 discount
+$250 bonus
Get Manhattan GMAT Promo Code