Manhattan Prep GMAT GMAT Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [284]      Average Rating:       (4.8/5)
Courses
Find by:  
    
    
    
    
    
 
Manhattan GMAT
Manhattan GMAT provides students with the skills and strategies essential for success. There are higher standards for what defines a competitive GMAT score today. We have no magic formula, no silver bullet, no empty guarantees. Instead, we have three basic principles that separate us from other test prep: the best teachers, the most advanced learning approach, and a focus solely placed on the GMAT. Save $250-350 on Manhattan GMAT courses with GMAT Club

  Reviews
Sort by:   date of publication  most helpful
great GMAT prep
February 28 | 2012

       By Anonymous joined: February 28, 2012 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 50 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   New York (Manhattan), NY USA | Taught by:  Josh Braslow
I was very pleased with my final score and the improvement I'd made on the score I got at the beginning of the course. Classes were always fun. My instructor was very engaging and energetic. The materials were thorough and to the point. There are definitely no short cuts; you have to put in the time. But I actually enjoyed taking the 9 week prep class and studying for the exam. It was less daunting to prep as part of the course rather than solo.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
The best GMAT prep course/materials out there - but not for the faint of heart!
February 29 | 2012

       By L789 joined: February 29, 2012 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 180 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  MGMAT Live Online | Location:   Online | Taught by:  Tim Sanders
Disclaimer: Before I write my review, I'd like to say that I am in no way affiliated with Manhattan GMAT Prep.

In the fall of 2011, I signed up for the 9-week, live online MGMAT course after several recommendations from friends who had previously taken the course and used the MGMAT materials. Although I had scored pretty well on the SATs back in high school, I knew that the GMATs were a completely different beast. Thus, I knew it was crucial for me to commit to rigorous preparation for the GMAT exam - and Manhattan GMAT prep provided just that.

In my opinion, MGMAT is truly the best GMAT prep source out there. I was incredibly pleased with how comprehensive the course is and how great the test prep materials are. I was particularly impressed by the following:

1) The strategy guides: these are super helpful, especially Sentence Correction (treat this guide as your bible - memorize it from cover to cover), Word Translations and Number Properties. The best thing about these guides is that they really drill GMAT concepts into your head, so that your understanding of such topics as prime numbers and permutations is rock solid. For example, I went into my preparation thinking, "I know my perfect squares!" but MGMAT materials really teach you how to tackle various problems in a very systematic and strategic way (i.e. perfect squares have an odd number of factors, whereas other integers have an even number of factors).

2) Official Guide Tracker - the OG tracker tracks all of the different problems one has completed in the Official Guide and categorizes the problems based on problem type, correct/incorrect and the amount of time one has spent on each respective problem. This is especially useful to gauge one's strengths and weaknesses. Using this application, I was really able to hone in on my problem areas and work at them so that I could succeed on the exam.

3) MGMAT CAT exams - I cannot emphasize how important these CAT exams are. One of the biggest challenges of the GMAT is staying physically and mentally alert throughout the entire ~4 hour marathon (during my first two CAT exams, I started to zone out around 30 minutes into the Quant section). These CAT exams are not only incredibly similar to the actual thing, but are also great for building up one's stamina for dealing with the long battle known as the GMAT. My only issue with these exams is that they tend to focus pretty heavily on combinatorics and probability-type questions; however, on the real thing (I took the GMAT twice) I have -at most- encountered 1 to 2 combinatorics/probability type questions. So don't stress out if you're bad at these aforementioned problem types!

4) General strategies/study methods taught in class - one of the best parts about the MGMAT course is the strategy taught by the (super helpful!) instructors in class. For example, I was advised to go through all of my practice problems -both the ones that I did correctly and the ones I did incorrectly- so that I could really grasp concepts and figure out quicker ways to do the problems I had already done correctly.

After my dismal diagnostic score of 590, I was almost convinced that I was never going to score above a 700. However, after going through tons and tons of timed practice problems, reviewing the MGMAT strategy guides from cover to cover (multiple times!), and stimulating real test-day conditions with the MGMAT CAT exams, I was shocked to find a score that was 180 points above my diagnostic (you do the math). I think that MGMAT was crucial to my GMAT success; however, one must also devote a good amount of time to really study the MGMAT material in order to succeed on the GMAT.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Manhattan GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Smart instructor & well-structured program
March 15 | 2012

       By Anonymous joined: March 15, 2012 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 100 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   London, United Kingdom | Taught by:  Robert Wilburn
I completed the ManhattanGMAT program in London. After taking test classes with both Kaplan and ManhattanGMAT, I would MGMAT to have not only better educated and more engaging instructors, but also a more serious and advanced group of other students. The classroom courses were a good mix of lecture and examples and - at three hours - passed quite quickly. The online materials, particularly the practice tests, were incredibly valuable, as were the books that you received on each individual topic covered in the tests. After a couple additional months of study following the course, I scored above my target score on the first time taking the test, thanks in large part to the quality of the manhattan GMAT program. I would highly recommend it.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
MGMAT rocks
April 02 | 2012

       By GForce21 joined: April 2, 2012 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 80 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   San Jose (Milpitas), CA USA | Taught by:  Ron Purewal
I am very very happy with what MGMAT offers. I just got a 710
and I am satisfied with my score.

My fundamentals were strengthened after taking Ron Purewal's 9 week training, and I then went from 640 to 710 because of
1. the advanced DS + advanced SC workshops from Daniel Patinkin and Emily Sledge,
2. Ron's "Thu with Ron" which they give away for free !!

My confidence got a real boost after the advanced workshops because they teach you how to tackle hard problems and that makes the 600 level questions look easy.

MGMAT offers a complete package and I never looked at any other material - the strategy guides are excellent for strengthening your fundamentals, the instructors are top class, and the customer service is awesome. They really take care of students. I am also glad I got two 180 day extensions for online resources. I took the training months before and wasn't able to take the test immediately, so I had to delay taking the test and those extensions were very valuable.

Trust me ... If you really want to crack that 700 barrier you have to go with MGMAT.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Manhattan GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Great Resource For SC
April 06 | 2012

reviewer identity verified by membership
       By Anonymous joined: August 27, 2008 | 12 | 5 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  MGMAT Self-Study Toolkit | Location:   Online |
The MGMAT self study and single topic focused books are great. My biggest weakness has always been the SC & RC. With the help of the resources I was able to turn a 32-38 average verbal score to a 36-44 range on my practice tests. Unfortunately I underperformed during the actual test due to heavy construction on the roof of the building making it hard to concentrate, but the books were great and definitely helped. I would go as far to say the SC book is a must have for any one that is not in the top %ile for verbal. My only complaint would be the online question banks that you receive access to should be larger.
Was this review helpful to you?
   
1 Commented by bb on April 08, 2012
Thank you for the review. I see you only gave 3 stars for Quant but your review is positive - any reason in particular that you felt the material was not impressive enough? Are you re-taking the GMAT?
 
highly recommended
April 02 | 2012

       By Anonymous joined: April 2, 2012 | 3 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 150 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   San Jose (Milpitas), CA USA | Taught by:  Ron Purewal
I have been out of school for quite a few years so I needed to come up to speed pretty quick on the material. Initially, I tried studying on my own with a couple of the Manhattan GMAT books but wasn't progressing as fast as I liked.

Taking the class quickly turned that around. It forced me to stop making excuses for not studying and if you don't put in the work, you'll quickly fall behind.

I took my in-person class with Ron Purewal, who I believed scored 800 on the test. He was an excellent instructor. He would give us tips that were not in the Manhattan books but that help us solve the problems quicker. For example, he emphasized multiplying numbers a certain way to save time.

He was just fanatic about helping us ace the test. He answered pretty much every test question on the forums and showed the quickest way to derive the answers. On top of that, his Thursdays with Ron were very insightful.

I initially scored in the mid to upper 500’s on the Manhattan’s online test and ended up getting lower 700’s on both the Manhattan version and the real GMAT test. The biggest benefit of taking the Manhattan online tests for me was to get the timing down.

Your score is still up to you and how much effort you put into it but these guys can definitely save you time and help you get there. I highly recommend taking their classes, especially with Ron.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Manhattan GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Excellent Course
April 04 | 2012

       By jstrauss6 joined: April 4, 2012 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 60 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   New York (Manhattan), NY USA | Taught by:  David Braslow
The Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course drastically improved my test score and helped me achieve my goals for the GMAT. The course gave me excellent structure for studying for the test, the proper tools to study and critical strategies for solving all of the problems on the test. My instructor was smart and engaged the class well in discussions, providing simple and effective explanations for all of our work while teaching us to think about how to handle the problems.

The volume of information in the class and textbooks means that taking this course is a serious commitment. I spent at least 5 hours a week studying and reading the materials for the week's classes. With thousands of pages in review content, there is plenty of material to cover. The course will not teach you everything you need to know in the classroom. You will absolutely need to put in the time and effort to study.

The instructor that taught my course was fantastic and did a great job engaging with the class and working through problems thoroughly. He helped teach us multiple ways to attack and solve all of the different types of quantitative and verbal problems, which helped us understand the different ways to approach problems. He focused on helping us understand how to approach problems and identify methods to solve them instead of focusing on the different individual steps. While the work was sometimes tedious (I lost track of how many times I wrote AD BCE to begin working on Data Sufficiency problems), the detailed reviews and analysis of real GMAT questions helped me to quickly identify how to approach each problem. After reviewing the material on my own and doing many practice exams and questions, I was very comfortable taking the test on the day of my exam.

I found that putting in the effort yielded a significant improvement in my score. The course provided me with the tools and strategies that I needed to succeed on the GMAT. However, I did need to put in a lot of time and effort on my own to supplement the classroom work. If you are looking for a course where you can sit in a room, be spoon-fed content and then take the test immediately after, this is not the right course for you. If you are a highly-motivated self-starter who will put in the time and effort to study and want smart, engaging teachers who will help take you from a great score to an outstanding score, Manhattan GMAT is the place to go. My score rose from below the average grade of accepted students at the top business schools to above it thanks to this course.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Excellent
April 04 | 2012

       By dws joined: April 4, 2012 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 90 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  MGMAT Live Online | Location:   Online | Taught by:  Gilad Edelman
I enrolled in the Live Online course in December with plans of taking the GMAT in March and, if necessary, retaking it in April. My experience with Manhattan GMAT was excellent. My teachers (Gilad Edelman and Marc Fienberg) were great. They had a thorough understanding of the material presented in the course and were great at answering questions asked by students. The course is a lot of work, but it is well worth it if you are shooting for a top score.

What really made Manhattan GMAT great was not only the quality of the instructors, but also the extensive amount of materials provided to help you succeed. The study guides are very thorough and are great at explaining the concepts. Especially with the quant, these books were fantastic. The OG Archer they provide is also extremely helpful. It allows students to time themselves on official guide questions and records answers. Based off this data the system identifies strengths and weaknesses and allows one to study accordingly. It also provides answer explanations for all the math questions. My one issue with the Archer is that the questions in the supplemental verbal and quant guides do not have answer explanations in the Archer. This would have been very helpful as the answer explanations in the official guide are not particularly helpful.

All in all, I had a great experience with the course and would recommend it to anyone. In the end, I improved 90 points above my initial diagnostic test. If you are serious about getting a top score and are willing to put in the necessary effort to master the material, Manhattan GMAT should be at the top of your list for GMAT prep courses.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Manhattan GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Methodical Cirriculmn + Excellent Teaching = Results
April 22 | 2012

       By rchin7724 joined: April 6, 2012 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 110 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
I decided to sign up for MGMAT because I wanted to score in the 700+ range. Studying on my own was not yeilding the results I wanted, because I noticed that I was getting the same types of problems incorrect, without being able to truly analyze my weaknesses and create a systematic approach to improve. I was still able to recollect my basic quantitative and verbal skills, but MGMAT instruction and cirriculmn helped me improve my test taking strategy and timing for each problem. The MGMAT curriculum accurately categorizes the types of of quantitative problems into several topics, and by studying thoroughly each topic through the GMAT books, and the syllabus recommended problems, I was able to recognize the types of quant. problems immediately during the exam. This allowed me to quickly devise a strategy thus saving time spent on setting up the solution approach for each problem. The in class instruction was especially helpful for the more difficult problems because our instructor was able to extrapolate a simpler problem into a 700+ problem and explain the similarities and differences. This helped me understand how more challenging problems are phrased, and how to translate these problems into math. One particular example is for combinations/permutations & probability. I was never able to fundamentally grasp this topic until our MGMAT instructor gave us a hands - on example during class. After that, any such problem was easy!

I highly recommend MGMAT to those who are serious about their GMAT scores. There is a lot of homework during the course, and additional study time required prior to the exam, but I saw the results and was able to monitor how my score increased with each subsequent practice exam.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
An Organization That Cares About
April 10 | 2012

       By UvaChip joined: April 10, 2012 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 80 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   New York (Manhattan), NY USA | Taught by:  Tommy Wallach
Manhattan GMAT is really a first-class organization from top to bottom. A little bit about my history with the organization and then some of the highlights: I took a course back in summer of 2011 and took the GMAT once after the course and got a 660. I was disappointed in the result, but decided to step away and return to the GMAT in early 2012, when I signed up for a discounted 9-week course as a second-time student. Took the test 4 days ago and got a 740. Needless to say, I am pleased with the outcome.

A few highlights about the organization:

* Customer Service is Incredible: Every time I call this Company, someone very nice answers and helps me through whatever issue I have. I've almost never experienced such consistency with another Company.

* Online Platform: The whole OG Archer online question bank, Eluminate platform, and general "onlinenness" of the business is first-rate. I loved doing questions on the Archer so I could track progress and time, and I utilized a lot of the Thursdays with Ron.

* Charismatic and Nice Teachers: Really sets them apart, the fact that they screen teachers so heavily to get ones that are charismatic, that are smart, that are genuinely nice, and that really care how you do.

* Plethora of Prep Programs outside of the 9-week Course: I took advantage of everything I could. Thursdays with Ron. The Quest for 750 Workshops. I thought the fact that I had all of this at my fingertips was great, and as a 9-week student I got discounts.

* Overall Just Caring How You Do: I felt like the "discounted" nature of my second course showed they cared about MY outcome. They cared what I got. Plus, they have so many 1-on-1 assessments to really prep you for test day.

Overall, I am glad I never have to take the GMAT again (it's been a long 4 months), but if I had to do it all over again there is no doubt I would use Manhattan GMAT. I have already referred multiple friends. Hope this Helps and Good Luck!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Manhattan GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community


Manhattan Prep GMAT Course Rankings
Overall Score Improvement
103 points
International Student Score Improvement
89 points
Verbal
100%
Quant
100%
Save $350
on Manhattan GMAT
+$100 discount
+$250 bonus
Get Manhattan GMAT Promo Code