mbaMission Admissions Consulting Reviews
    Number of reviews [409]      Average Rating:       (4.9/5)
Packages
    
    
    
    
    
    
mbaMission is a professional MBA Admissions consulting firm, specializing in helping business school applicants identify and showcase the strongest aspects of their candidacy in their applications. Their dedicated consultants work one-on-one with candidates to ensure their unique stories are presented in a compelling way that will make the admissions committees take notice.
  Reviews
Sort by:   date of publication  most helpful
Great experience with mbaMission
August 24 | 2015

       By Anonymous joined: August 24, 2015 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  
This review is for:  Hourly Services   Consultant:  Daniel Richards
I had an incredible experience with mbaMission. When I first signed up with the company, I was just looking for someone to just proofread my essays. They paired me with a former grad of my target school (Columbia) named Dan Richards. Dan was really great - he thoroughly went through my essays not only scanning for content and delivery but also in helping to think in the eyes of the admissions officer. He also spent time prepping me for the interview. While I'd say that the interview was informal in nature, it was definitely helpful having the formal prep time - and Dan was able to prepare me for a number of the questions that were asked. Throughout the entirety of the experience, Dan was always informative, professional, and punctual. All in all, was a great experience and outcome. I would highly recommend to all.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
You should choose Angela.
August 14 | 2015

       By Anonymous joined: August 12, 2015 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  
This review is for:  * School Packages   Consultant:  Angela Guido
Angela was a great teacher and friend while I prepare the application. I applied for about ten schools, and Angela tried her best to help me prepare all schools. I am from Asian country, and I strongly recommend Angela to all candidates including international students who are not good at English. Angela has several years of working experience in Korea, so she understands Asian culture very well and cares international student well. She perfectly understood what I intended to say and write even though my English was poor, and taught me right direction. I can definitely say that her experience and careful advice will be very helpful.
Preparing my essays and resume, I talked a lot to Angela and could know myself better. She helped me to make simple, but powerful resume. I had fixed and changed my resume eight times while discussing about my performance and resume with her, and I was satisfied with my resume. It was focused on my real contributions and performance in my companies. I had received consulting from local consultant before I met Angela, and Angela’s advice was much much much greater and more useful than that of a local consultant in my country.
Angela was a wonderful essay teacher. She advised me to show myself genuinely with better expression. We talked a lot about my experience, and I could find my strengths and weaknesses that I did not realize. I could understand better about myself, find good topics, and write good essays using my strengths and even weaknesses. I usually wrote and revised one essay at least five times while discussing about it with her. She sent back my essay and resume very quickly, usually within one and half day from I sent my essays and resume to her. When I received back my essays, they were filled with reviews and questions written in red.
When I prepared interviews with six interview invitations, I also received great care from Angela. My English conversation was poor. However, she encouraged me, kindly corrected my errors, and taught me how to speak more logically with my words. It worked great.
My time zone was different from Angela's, but there was no difficulty in preparing my applications with her. She sacrificed herself even on weekend when it was urgent, and I always received what I needed on time.
I could get admissions from several schools including top ten schools that I dreamed, and I know that Angela contributed a lot. Her effort and insight was the best, and I sincerely recommend Angela.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Big Discounts
on mbaMission
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
John Sisk
August 12 | 2015

       By deepk08 joined: August 12, 2015 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  
This review is for:  Hourly Services   Consultant:  John Sisk
For my MBA application, I consulted with John on a hourly basis and he provided excellent guidance on my essays and resume.
John gave me great advice on how to improve my resume and make my essays more focused. Additionally, John was very prompt as I could email him whenever and he always got back to me within a day.With John's help, I got admitted to the MBA program of my choice. To anyone considering mBA mission I would highly recommend John Sisk because he is very knowledgeable and he will help you get into your dream business school
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Highly Recommend working with Liza
August 10 | 2015

       By Anonymous joined: August 10, 2015 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  
This review is for:  Hourly Services   Consultant:  Liza Weale
Liza was extremely helpful as an MBA Admissions consultant and I truly enjoyed working with her! From the moment we first spoke for my 30-minute free consultation, I knew that she had a very practical and straightforward approach. She made the process easier to navigate and helped me throughout my entire application process. Liza really helped me elevate my essays and application to the next level and played a critical role in helping me get accepted into my top school (Haas).

Liza’s help throughout the application process was extremely thorough and she was very fun to work with. Given the pressure of the application process, I appreciated the thoughtfulness, consideration and help that Liza gave me. Her feedback and comments were very pertinent and easy to understand, which ensured I had the best possible essays and overall application. Liza also significantly improved my resume and made sure that the key items of my experience and background were properly highlighted for the Admissions committee.

I highly recommend working with Liza to help you get into your top choice schools! She is extremely helpful, insightful, and truly cares about the candidates she works with! I am very thankful for all the support, experience, and guidance!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Big Discounts
on mbaMission
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
AMAZING consultant - Monica Okrah
August 10 | 2015

reviewer identity verified by school email address
       By Anonymous joined: January 23, 2015 | 11 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  
This review is for:  * School Packages   Consultant:  Monica Okrah
I decided to hire a consultant because writing was my weakness (I had done poorly in some classes in college due to my inability to complete decent enough papers on time). On top of that I was also hoping to apply to 7 schools with only 2 months left till the Round 2 application deadlines, so I was looking to add some structure to the process that would help me avoid feeling overwhelmed. I bought a two-school package and selected the toughest applications from those 7 for Monica. Here are all the ways in which she helped me:

1) Monica helped me structure the writing process. She explained the number of drafts i would need to go through to write good essays, as well as how much time she needs to get her comments and edits back to me. I planned my essay writing around that, leaving enough time for multiple drafts before the deadline. The number of drafts is not limited by mbaMission so while some essays i finished in just 3-4 drafts, other essays took me 7-8 drafts! Realizing that i would go through so many drafts lowered my stress about the first few drafts - they did not need to be perfect. I knew i just had to put some thoughts on paper and move forward in baby steps. In the end, I had some seriously good essays!

2) Monica helped me move forward when I was stuck. A few essay topics (I am looking at you, MIT Sloan!) were really confusing and hard to relate to my own experience. I felt stuck, but I knew that I had to quickly find a way to proceed in order to complete the applications by the deadline. Monica helped me think through some ideas and find themes to my essays that could relate to my experience. At other times she suggested how to re-structure my story to make it more interesting to read.

3) Monica helped me improve my essays by asking me very good questions about the details of my stories. When i expanded on some of those details, my stories came to life.

4) Monica provided moral support and for me this was the most important part! A few times during the process i panicked and doubted myself. I thought that i should apply to some lower ranked schools instead of the top schools i was targeting. I had some flaws in my background (a lower GPA, and no brand name employment). Monica told me that it was OK, and that I did not have to be perfect to make it into a top school!!! She praised my unique accomplishments since undergrad, and assured that admissions could forgive a few mistakes if the rest of the application is solid. She helped me write the optional essay to explain the circumstances. Her kindness helped me move forward.

From the beginning my own application strategy was clear to me - I knew what in my background I wanted to highlight, and what i needed to explain in my applications.
Of course I knew my stories better than Monica or anyone else, so my best essays were the ones for which I had my own creative idea. I worked with Monica on telling this story better and became a much better writer throughout the process. Just learning from Monica how to write and tell my story was worth the money. I learned more from working with Monica than in all my college writing classes!!!

I mostly used the same essays that i worked on with Monica for all schools, (adjusting them slightly to school specifics). I applied to 7 top schools, interviewed at 5 and got accepted at 3. I am starting at my dream M7 school in the fall.

Overall Monica was AMAZING to work with and I am very grateful for her hard work and for her kindness. I highly recommend her! She will be your biggest cheerleader!!!!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
John Sisk - MBA Consultant Review - HIGHLY RECOMMENDED
July 29 | 2015

reviewer identity verified by school email address
       By Anonymous joined: July 29, 2015 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  
This review is for:  Hourly Services   Consultant:  John Sisk
I used John during the essay & short answer portion of my application process. He was very diligent and thorough with his feedback and insights on building the best narrative that would draw the attention of the AdComm. John would not only edit my essays but also offer ideas on the structure of my story to make it efficient and effective. He was very timely in his responses as we worked through 3-4 versions of each essay. From the first draft to the final submission, I saw an incredible improvement in my story that I honestly would not have achieved otherwise. Highly recommended and worth the investment.


responding within 48 hours
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Big Discounts
on mbaMission
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
THE Best!
July 27 | 2015

       By Anonymous joined: June 20, 2015 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  
This review is for:  * School Packages   Consultant:  Liza Weale
Liza is hands down one of the best admissions consultants out there. I am sure there are many out there who know there stuff, what sets them apart though is the attitude and approach. If you are aiming for a top tier business school, I assume you must have done your homework and scoured the internet for content, the information is out there, what you need throughout this process is a partner and cheerleader, and Liza is that and more! Her guidance on approaching your story and essays is spot on, she really invests in getting to know you and so along the way you get accurate advice that works specifically for you. She adds so much positivity and energy to the process, I honestly felt she believed in me and my story. I spoke to many admissions consultants before finally deciding to go with Liza, and I am glad I made the call! I got into 2 of the 3 schools I applied to (2 of the best b-schools out there!). I was very lucky to have had a partner throughout the process who pushed me to produce the best that I could. She is responsive and will never leave you hanging. Liza continued to help me after we received the acceptance and walked me through the decision process to choose the right school for me. I can't recommend her enough. THANK YOU LIZA!

International student, non-US undergrad, GMAT under 700.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Great writer.
July 15 | 2015

       By Anonymous joined: December 5, 2014 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  
This review is for:  * School Packages   Consultant:  Helen Summers
I didn't know about MBA consulting service till I went to a conference in September and encountered a different MBA consulting service company. I did my research and decided to go with mbaMission.

I would say Helen's biggest asset would be her ability to play with words. I am not a writer, so I needed a lot of help on my essays. I knew what I was trying to convey, but somehow I couldn't translate onto paper. Helen was able to make my story to the point, add more color, and make it flowed.

I paid a little more for the 5 schools package because I wanted to play it safe and have a range of schools. However, some of the schools have similar essay prompt, and you can probably do okay with 3 schools package.

Thanks Helen!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Big Discounts
on mbaMission
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Katharine Lewis Review
July 15 | 2015

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
       By Anonymous joined: April 28, 2015 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  
This review is for:  * School Packages  
I first consulted Katy over the summer as I was debating whether or not to take the GMAT again (my score was significantly below the average) and apply to business school this past fall. I’m on the younger side of applicants and was on the fence about applying this year, but had been sponsored by my company to attend. Katy was very honest and rationale, laying out the pros and cons for me to consider. I decided to apply this fall anyways, despite not having enough time to retake the GMAT for a higher score and not being able to apply Round 1 due to work commitments. It was definitely a risky move given I aspired to apply to only top 10 schools without a “safety”, though Katy was 100% supportive of what I wanted to do.

Over the course of the next few months, Katy not only helped me lay out a detailed timeline to draft and complete my applications in order to accommodate my crazy work schedule, she also took the time to really get to know me personally, which substantially helped the development of my story. Through our brainstorming sessions and consistent email exchanges, she enabled me to really self-reflect and think about what has made me who I am today that I had otherwise not thought of before. This was instrumental to getting to the root of my goals, why I want to go to business school, and ensuring that I applied both professional and personal examples from my life to ground my applications.

As I began to write my essays, Katy was incredibly responsive and thorough in her feedback as I iterated on drafts and even went back to the drawing board over a few weeks. She was very honest and challenged me when needed, and at other times told me not to change a thing. I would not have been able to apply to the schools I did without her help and guidance. She made me feel at ease when I was feeling the pressure, and helped me think logically about the fact that I could always reapply given my age.

To my surprise I went 5/5 in my interviews, including at three of the top 5 schools. Katy was incredibly helpful with my interview prep and ensuring that I kept true to myself so that I was not nervous or robotic come interview day. Though now the results are not exactly what I was striving for, I can happily say I was genuinely myself in my applications and on interview day, and that I still was admitted to two schools with scholarship funding, and waitlisted at two, despite my GMAT score and potentially more junior experience. Since, I have been admitted off the waitlist to HBS, where I will be attending this fall.

Katy was extremely helpful in navigating the waitlist process, and staying proactive. She was instrumental in helping me get to where I am now, especially with regards to personal and professional development through the application process.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Choosing the mbaMission School Package was the best decision!
July 11 | 2015

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
       By acr joined: July 9, 2015 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  
This review is for:  * School Packages   Consultant:  John Sisk
Working with John Sisk of mbaMission made my application process manageable and extremely less stressful. John was a complete joy to work with. He is a kind, positive and intelligent person who is able to give constructive feedback in the best possible way. He made himself available to me by email and phone and I always felt like I could candidly ask him any questions. I’m glad I chose the full school package since it was able to give me unlimited hours to work with John editing my application as well as the chance to work practice for interviews. John was able to help me craft my story in the best way possible. I honestly wouldn't have been able to get into business school without John's help. I highly recommend working with mbaMission and specifically with John!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Big Discounts
on mbaMission
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community


mbaMission
Admissions Consulting
Big Discounts on Consulting
 
Learn more here