mbaMission Admissions Consulting Reviews
    Number of reviews [236]      Average Rating:       (4.9/5)
Packages
    
    
    
    
    
    
mbaMission is a professional MBA Admissions consulting firm, specializing in helping business school applicants identify and showcase the strongest aspects of their candidacy in their applications. Their dedicated consultants work one-on-one with candidates to ensure their unique stories are presented in a compelling way that will make the admissions committees take notice.
  Reviews
Sort by:   date of publication  most helpful
Jessica Shklar: A++ consultant for the non-traditional MBA applicant
October 22 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: October 22, 2014 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  No
This review is for:  * School Packages   Consultant:  Jessica Shklar
Jessica Shklar is someone you absolutely need on your team throughout your MBA application process. Although I only applied to one (top 10) school, got an interview, but in the end, was not accepted, there's nothing I would change about my decision to work with Jessica and mbaMission.

I must admit, I was quite intimidated by Jessica initially! She has a very impressive professional and academic background, understanding of the nuances of each school/program, and communicates with an incisiveness I would equate to Sheryl Sandberg's. Having worked with her the last 6 months, I can attest to her caring, genuine and down to earth nature, and consider myself very lucky to have had Jessica as my MBA consultant this year.

Jessica made a stressful period manageable - she was available to speak anytime, answered emails nearly immediately and was never late (but typically early) for her promised turnaround period. She provided unbiased opinions and advice, which was extremely valuable during a process requiring intense self-reflection, and was very supportive when I received the news I was not accepted.

For anyone like me - on the younger side for the average MBA applicant, not a banker/consultant, previous work experience doesn't fit many 'career tracks' or appear on drop down lists, might not project the most self-confidence or take ownership for all your professional accomplishments (yet) - working with Jessica will not only boost your odds at acceptance to a top MBA program, but also strengthen your ability to clearly, present your background and 'story' to potential employers, mentors, and/or colleagues...

After explaining the projects I'd led professionally over our brainstorming call, I sent my first CV and essay drafts to Jessica. She quickly responded with feedback, encouraging me to take more ownership for the accomplishments I described on our call, in my writing. She helped tweak my language and portray my experiences in a new light that anyone could relate to or understand, while never completely revising or editing the original content.

Jessica's guidance on how to best present my professional/academic background, and explain my short/long term career ambitions, has been extremely beneficial professionally and personally - I now take ownership for my work, confidently embrace my non-traditional path, and recently landed a dream job because of it.

Had I not worked with Jessica, I highly doubt applying to bschool and not being offered admission, would've been nearly as productive of a process in the end.

You absolutely won't regret your decision to invest in a consulting package with Jessica Shklar...even if you don't get in :)
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Eric Hollowaty - mbaMission - High ROI
October 20 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: October 20, 2014 | 0 | 5 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - school of my dreams
This review is for:  * School Packages   Consultant:  Eric Hollowaty
I would highly recommend Eric Hollowaty to any serious mba candidate. My background is in finance and investment management so storytelling doesn't come easy to me. Eric was able to provide key insight and feedback into my essays that absolutely transformed them. Eric was always timely with his feedback, more often than not he was early in his responses. Eric's strength is his ability to focus on the details that matter. We spent a considerable amount of time brainstorming and that certainly translated into time savings down the road as I applied to multiple schools. In the beginning, I didn't think you could see the value of buying multiple schools but I was proven wrong. Though there were some overlap in my essays, we still spent a ton of time refining them to be school specific. I don't believe I could have been successful with my target schools without Eric's help.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Big Discounts
on mbaMission
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Happy I did it
October 07 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By gijoe4727 joined: April 6, 2014 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - got into all
This review is for:  * School Packages   Consultant:  Adam Grossman
my profile.

-investment consultant for five years - I serve billionaire families
-undergrad - 3.8 GPA at loyola university - double majored in econ and finance
-GMAT score #1: 570
-GMAT score #2: 650
- I am a big bro for big brother big sister
- i had good letters of recommendation from my boss and two well respected clients

i hired adam from mbamission, because i knew i had to craft a unique story. my demographic is a dime a dozen, so i needed to stand out.

i hired adam to help me with my kellogg essays. the process was what i expected. i did all of the work, but asked the right questions, which forced me to improve my work. once we were almost done he helped me word smith.

i was admitted to kellogg and booth, though adam only helped with the kellogg essays.

i enjoyed the process. i learned a lot about myself and how to craft a story and ask smart questions (adam, did a great job at this).

yes, it was stressful, but i would be worried if it wasn't.

i would possibly recommend the service. it depends on the applicant and if they can afford to shell out $4k.

if you have any questions. please feel free to contact me.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Admitted to Booth and Kellogg Part Time
October 03 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: January 3, 2011 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - got into all
This review is for:  Hourly Services   Consultant:  Angela Guido
I was admitted to the part time programs at Booth and Kellogg. My GMAT was 80 percentile, so I knew that the qualitative components of the application would need to be top notch.

I did a FREE 30 minute consultation with Angela Guido. I specifically chose her because she is a Booth alum and is very familiar with the Chicago MBA landscape. She also had great reviews and a reputation for story telling. After going through the application process, I now believe that story telling is the #1 most important aspect of a successful MBA application. A quality story and personal brand can absolutely compensate for weaknesses in other areas of your application...and this is something that you have 100% control over.

General Experience:

I was surprised by the amount of ground we covered in 30 minutes and the high quality feedback that Angela provided in such a short time. I had three pages of useful notes by the end of the call. This wasn't a session to upsell me on services, this was quality conversation for 30 minutes straight and I felt that Angela genuinely wanted to help me.

Angela knows her stuff and was immediately able to identify areas of concern in my overall application package. She was super easy to talk to and made me feel comfortable despite the fact that I was exposing myself for constructive feedback.

I feel like I was set on the right path and was given useful feedback to use immediately. I'm confident that she could add extensive high quality feedback through a regular consultation package after seeing what she can do in 30 minutes.

Immediate Value Gained:

The most valuable feedback I got was on my resume. Moving from showing responsibilities to showing impacts and how to do this. This was sort of a wake up call for me overall and translated into viewing the components of my overall application in a completely different way.

Angela also gave me a lot of feedback on areas of my experience to highlight that would resonate with the adcoms of both schools.

I felt like it was a great use of 30 minutes because I was able to takeaway very specific pieces of feedback and was able to apply general feedback to the overall application.

I would recommend Angela to anyone going through the MBA application process.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Big Discounts
on mbaMission
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Could not have gotten into a top 5 school without her!!
September 29 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: January 21, 2013 | 0 | 5 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Some, but not all
This review is for:  * School Packages   Consultant:  Jessica Shklar
Background: 730 GMAT; 4 years experience at a boutique investment bank; 3.4 GPA at a state school

When I decided to apply to business schools in the first couple months of 2013, I reached out to a few MBA application consulting firms for free consultations, and I immediately clicked with Jessica Shklar from mbaMission. During our 30-minute call, she was able to point out parts of my resume that I was understating and suggested a few schools that she thought would be good fits for me.

I signed up for mbaMissions start-to-finish package and once essay questions began to be released, my first brainstorming session with Jessica was a complete success. Even though my brainstorming document was about half the length of typical clients, she was able to ask all the right questions about my background and experiences to piece together a coherent and compelling "story" for me that I never would have thought of on my own.

After that call, I reviewed my notes and began drafting my first essay. Upon submitting my first draft, Jessica promptly reverted back to me thorough and extremely helpful comments while also making sure that I continued to write in my own voice by always being open to discuss any questions or concerns. She also kept me on track and periodically checked in on my progress given that the two schools I was applying to (HBS & Booth) had relatively earlier deadlines. Even my recommenders had nothing but compliments for her style of input. Once the time came to submit my applications, we did one final review of the entire application for each school, including all the short answers, and I was very proud of the applications I was able to produce.

If you are looking for someone that will truly make the grueling application process enjoyable and less stressful, please give Jessica a call, as she was always genuinely invested in my success all the way from school selection to essay drafting to interview prep and even post-admission advice. There was no way I would’ve gotten into Booth without her wonderful advice.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Worth Every Penny
September 29 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: September 16, 2014 | 4 | 5 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - got into all
This review is for:  * School Packages   Consultant:  Rachel Beck
First off, I 100% recommend mbaMission to anybody who is serious and dedicated to getting into a top MBA program. The start-to-finish consulting service was clearly organized, professional, and very thorough. You absolutely get your money's worth.

With that being said, I was lucky enough to work with Rachel Beck who is not only a phenomenal writer but a fantastic story-teller. Right off the bat she was able to draw out pieces of my history and string them together into a cohesive and comprehensive story illustrating who I am and where I want to go. The entire process took a lot of soul-searching, but if you are willing to put in the time, you will absolutely reap the benefits of a clear and all-encompassing application.

Rachel was fantastic to work with and I could genuinely see that she cared about me and my future. All emails, inquiries, and drafts were promptly responded to. She also followed up at various times during the application process to check on my progress. Most important, though, was that she gave me honest feedback that helped craft a strong application about my goals going forward. She let me know what was going to work and what was going to face-plant. I'm a born critic, and have no problem calling anybody out if they are slacking or not putting in 100%. I can say with utmost certainty that Rachel put everything into helping me succeed. She is the type of person that strives to help others anyway possible. Needless to say, I was pleasantly surprised how much effort she put into the entire process, start to finish.

I wholeheartedly would recommend Rachel for anybody seriously contemplating a top B-School. If you are looking for a consultant with strong writing skills, an honest opinion, and a very hard work-ethic, then Rachel is your girl!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Big Discounts
on mbaMission
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Highly Recommend Daniel Richards
September 23 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By nkn13 joined: September 23, 2014 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - got into all
This review is for:  * School Packages   Consultant:  Daniel Richards
I signed up with Dan in May for a three school package, unsure if I would be a great candidate for top 10 business schools. By September I had gotten into my top choice (and a top 10 business school). I highly recommend Dan for several reasons.

First, he is extremely knowledgeable and helps de-mystify the process for you. I had done my research on schools through forums and blogs but I still had a lot of questions and Dan was willing and able to answer all of them. He also helped me set a schedule to keep me on track and get my applications done on time. In fact, I was able to get my application to my top school submitted one month before I had planned! This definitely helped my chances since I was applying to a rolling admissions school.

Additionally, my essays would not have been nearly as strong without his help. He knows what the admissions committees are looking for. Several times I figured my essays were good enough but Dan would push me to keep re-writing until I had an excellent essay. He definitely will tell it like it is and provide honest feedback which you might not get if just a friend or family member is reviewing your essays.

Furthermore, Dan really helped me articulate my story and journey to getting an MBA. He was able to help me determine which parts of my story to highlight that would make me a unique and strong applicant. Dan helped me weave this story into my responses during our mock interview which ultimately allowed me to nail my actual interview. I had done several behavioral interviews before, but the MBA interview is different and Dan was a great coach.

I truly would not have been as strong of a candidate without Dan’s help. He played a critical role in my applications and interviews.

For those who are hesitant due to the price of the services – this is a small price to pay compared to the tuition of business school. Spend the money now to give yourself the best shot of getting into the schools you want. You won't regret hiring Dan and mbaMission!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Valuable resource during daunting process
September 18 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: September 18, 2014 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - school of my dreams
This review is for:  * School Packages   Consultant:  Jessica Shklar
I'm really grateful to Jessica and mbaMission for helping me craft the most compelling story and for being great support during the incredibly difficult MBA admissions process. Jessica helped me understand my strengths and weaknesses as an MBA candidate, and she gave an objective opinion every time. Now that I'm in the first couple weeks of business school, I am finding that the consulting sessions are still paying dividends. The resume that I'm now using to get internship opportunities has been edited and crafted with Jessica's help. But most importantly, I continue to use the narratives Jessica helped me uncover now that I'm looking for internships.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Big Discounts
on mbaMission
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Daniel Richards - mbaMission
September 11 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By law2123 joined: September 11, 2014 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - got into all
This review is for:  * School Packages   Consultant:  Daniel Richards
Dan is fantastic. First off, even before I had engaged him as a paid client he gave me very honest feedback about what I could expect and whether or not the schools I was considering were right for me both in terms of fit and the strength of my application. I also love how rather than holding your hand to craft an “ideal” cookie-cutter application for the schools you’re applying to, he puts a bigger focus on helping you to tease out what your own compelling story really is. His feedback was always insightful and his easygoing manner made him a pleasure to talk to and work with. Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
mbaMission - John Sisk
August 11 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: August 11, 2014 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - school of my dreams
This review is for:  Hourly Services   Consultant:  John Sisk
I was a fringe candidate applying to a top business school. The bottom line is that I would not have been accepted without the help of mbaMission, and specifically John Sisk. He single-handedly improved my application by advising on my resume, essays, and anything else I needed. He also helped me develop my personal story, which is a must for admissions departments. Although expensive, I view it as a necessary investment for anyone pursuing an MBA at a top business school. I enthusiastically recommend John and his services. The service is unparalleled and the quality of his advice holds weight with top business schools.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Big Discounts
on mbaMission
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community


mbaMission
Admissions Consulting
Big Discounts on Consulting
 
Learn more here