mbaMission Admissions Consulting Reviews
    Number of reviews [314]      Average Rating:       (5.0/5)
Packages
    
    
    
    
    
    
mbaMission is a professional MBA Admissions consulting firm, specializing in helping business school applicants identify and showcase the strongest aspects of their candidacy in their applications. Their dedicated consultants work one-on-one with candidates to ensure their unique stories are presented in a compelling way that will make the admissions committees take notice.
  Reviews
Sort by:   date of publication  most helpful
Katie Lewis
March 31 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By scottlanday joined: March 31, 2015 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - school of my dreams
This review is for:  * School Packages   Consultant:  Katharine Lewis
From the outset, Katie quickly uncovered my story, the kind of story that would wind up gaining me admission to Haas, Ross, and Fuqua. I was amazed at how fast Katie was able to paint my life story. Katie is the kind of consultant that genuinely gets to know who you are and how your story fits into each schools criteria. Katie's expertise shined in her essay reviews as she understood how to convey my story in the most impactful way. Katie was quick to respond to every email and was always available - even on the weekends during tight deadlines. I ended up applying to 8 schools (accepted at 3, WL at 2, dinged 3) and Katie made the daunting process seamless and empowered me with confidence. Katie was also excellent at mock interviews - each of my mock interviews was almost exactly what I experienced live at each school. If you are looking for the admissions consultant who is going to get to genuinely know you as a person, who is invested in your success, Katie is the person to do that and help make your dreams come true.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Great help for those without guidance
March 30 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By CANI joined: July 31, 2013 | 2 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - school of my dreams
This review is for:  * School Packages   Consultant:  Debbie Choy
Let me begin by providing some background about myself. I am an Engineer working in Healthcare sector in Nepal. I had a real tough time when I began the admission process, as I did not know how to present my candidacy in the right light.
That is where mbaMission came to the rescue. Debbie, my consultant, was really helpful in figuring out how to showcase my candidacy. She took the time to get to know me well then helped me in narrating events that highlighted my strengths. She was instrumental in creating my resume and essays.
In the earlier essays when I was still getting the hang of things we went through nine revisions, which shows her dedication to my candidacy. The mbaMission consultants are straight shooters and very upfront about what they do or do not do. Remember after all it is your application and you are responsible for it.
If you are looking to put your best foot forward in the application process they are the ones to go to. I was able to get into Wharton and they were instrumental in creating the application and the preparing for interview.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Big Discounts
on mbaMission
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Enjoyable experience with Jessica
March 30 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By austindz joined: March 30, 2015 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Some, but not all
This review is for:  * School Packages   Consultant:  Jessica Shklar
Bottom Line Upfront: when I was applying to MBA programs I just cared about peoples backgrounds, scores, and where they got into, so real quick: Decorated Army Officer (9 years), 3.7 GPA from West Point, 700 GMAT, dinged HBS, wait list Wharton, accepted Duke. Don't think I would have achieved the results (or would have had a much harder time) without Jessica.

I'm an Army Officer who wanted to go to a top tier business school through a program the Army has to send Officers to grad school. I didn't really know anything about business, and even less about business school, so I decided to get a consultant off a recommendation of several friends. One friend pointed me to Jessica, stating that she helped another Army Officer get into HBS. I signed up for the 3 school complete package.

I had already taken the GMAT and got a 700 (low for the schools I was applying to) and in my first meeting with Jessica she said I should work on getting that score up and to email her back in one year because I was starting the process WAY early, which really makes sense because again, I'm an Army Officer and I like to plan long term.

I was unable to work on my GMAT because I was in command and deployed, so a year later I emailed Jessica while deployed. She said she was looking forward to me recontacting her, and gave me a brainstorming document to work on. This brainstorming document covered a lot in your life- accomplishments, stories, awards, etc. We also briefly discussed my strategy for graduate school- that essentially I was competing against other military and I needed to make myself stick out compared to other military.

She helped me out tremendously with my resume. I've done a lot in my career, however, I didn't really know how to put it in terms that non-military people understood. This was actually the most difficult part of the entire application process for me. But we worked it out and put together a great resume that I am very proud of.

Next We had an online "workshop" with other students to talk about essays. We had to read essays before hand and talk about them. I found this really enjoyable and insightful and got to ask a lot of good questions. I was also very intimidated by the other participants- after all, I have no background in business and it seems like the other MBA applicants had a much better background than I did! I brought that up to Jessica and she said not to worry, that I had a strong background, was not at all outclassed, and in fact other applicants would probably be intimated by me. This really helped my attitude going forward. Thanks Jessica!

The essay process was hell. A lot of rewrites and edits. Typically when I gave something to Jessica I'd get it back in a day or two- even when she was on "vacation"! I truly poured my heart out into these essays and put together a very satisfactory product for both HBS and Wharton. I also felt that I was in total control of my product- Jessica suggested routes to explore and go down, and help me tighten up my bad grammar and take out parts that didn't belong, but she by no means dictated what I wrote. I also got to know Jessica and I really appreciated her insight and humor.

Duke was the last school for R1 applications, so naturally I did that essay last. Unfortunately, I didn't leave myself much time because it was right before a deployment. I had to force myself to sit down in front of my computer while staying in Waikiki Beach in Hawaii and write. The first product I sent to Jessica was horrible- and I knew it. However, we quickly talked, recovered, and knocked out what turned out to be my favorite essay.

Interviews were nothing to stress about. We talked a little bit about them, but I felt I was fine. The Wharton mock interview was very helpful, especially since I had to interview while in India.

Overall, I was disappointed in myself that I did not get into HBS and got wait listed for Wharton. I knew some peers that got in with similar scores as me (or lower) and I thought my essays were top notch. However, those schools are very competitive, may have been looking for something else, and plenty of my peers did not get into Duke, which is where I finally ended up getting admitted to. However, I don't think I even would have had a chance without Jessica's help, and more importantly, she gave me confidence and kept me on track when I needed it.

I'm very happy that I ended up at Duke and would pick it over Wharton anyways. For anyone starting the MBA application process, especially if they are military, I recommend a consultant, and I couldn't imagine a better one than Jessica Shklar.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
mbaMission consultant very helpful!
March 30 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: March 30, 2015 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Some, but not all
This review is for:  * School Packages   Consultant:  John Sisk
My mbaMission's consultant was incredibly helpful throughout all stages of my application process. I got into one of the top business schools despite having a GMAT score well below the school's average. My consultant, John, helped perfect my resume, essays, and short answers. I found our brainstorming sessions to be especially helpful in figuring out what was really important to focus on in my essays. He even helped with my interview prep. John and mbaMission made the application process much less stressful and gave me the confidence that I was approaching the applications in the right way. I sincerely believe I wouldn't have gotten into any schools I applied for if it wasn't for my consultant's help. I highly recommend John and mbaMission!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Big Discounts
on mbaMission
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Highly recommend - Katharine Lewis
March 30 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By rangers599 joined: March 30, 2015 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - school of my dreams
This review is for:  Hourly Services   Consultant:  Katharine Lewis
Talking to Katharine was a pleasure - from the first call, she listened to me to understand my story. She was able to pick up on small details in my life to mention in my essay that I didn't think of but that really added a lot to the overall story!

Her knowledge and familiarity with the top schools is far and away the most impressive of anyone I have talked to throughout this process (consultants, admissions officers, alumni). As an HBS alum and a Stanford GBS essay reader, she was already well prepared to be a successful consultant. But her contact with clients over the last few years has made her even more qualified – her clients made up 2% of the incoming HBS class last year! The fact that one out of every 50 students used her is the strongest testament I can see to her knowledge and skill.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Dan is the best!
March 30 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: March 30, 2015 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Some, but not all
This review is for:  * School Packages   Consultant:  Daniel Richards
I am so happy that I was able to work with Dan! Dan not only made the application process easier, but also kept me from over-stressing about the small things. I saw my writing improve by working with Dan and have applied these writing skills beyond my applications. I really don't think I would have been as successful in my application process without Dan. I appreciate how responsive Dan was throughout the process and I could tell that he really cared about helping his clients. From my small questions to larger essay reviews, Dan was there every step of the way. I would recommend Dan to anyone!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Big Discounts
on mbaMission
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Strongly recommended!
March 30 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: November 8, 2014 | 2 | 5 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - school of my dreams
This review is for:  * School Packages   Consultant:  Liza Weale
I had many friends who applied to MBA programs a year before I did, and most of them used a consultant. However, not a single one wanted to recommend their consultant to me as they did not find their consultants to be helpful or worth the cost. Eventually, I looked into mbamission and was matched up with Liza. I’ll be attending HBS next fall, and I’m really not sure if I could have gotten to this point without all of Liza’s help.
I purchased a 3 school start-to-finish package. It was worth the cost – it took over a year from first speaking to Liza to receiving the final decision from the 3rd school, and Liza was there to give guidance at every step of the way. The unlimited assistance was very valuable. Liza played a key role in everything from brainstorming my initial essay topics to helping fill out the short answers to preparing for the interviews. I had many questions along the way and Liza answered each question quickly and thoughtfully.
There are many reasons why I STRONGLY recommend Liza. Here are a few of them:
- Liza makes your essays better. Sounds obvious but most of my friends wouldn’t say that about their consultants. It’s not hard to tell someone what you don’t like about their essays or why you don’t think they’re good. I had several colleagues apply at the same time as I did and I saw the types of comments that they received from their consultants – no concrete ideas, no specific suggestions on how to improve the essays, just high level thoughts and a few grammar changes. Liza puts thought into every single sentence in your essay. Through the brainstorming, Liza got to know me so well that she was able to think of experiences from my past that I could reflect upon in specific places in the essays. She pushed me to make each essay the best it can be through 10+ iterations per essay.
- Liza is thinking about your applications even when you’re not. There were numerous times when I got emails from Liza with ideas even when the essays were in my court. I doubt there are many consultants out there that do that.
- Liza was always prompt in getting her comments back to me. Mbamission has a 2 day policy, and in a year of working with Liza, she was never late. Not once. As someone who works long hours, I can’t stress enough how helpful it was to know exactly when you would receive Liza’s thoughts. Liza also went above and beyond the hours she had to work. She was willing to have calls on weekends when work wouldn’t allow me to have weekday calls. She was willing to review my HBS post-interview reflection on a Saturday, because I interviewed on a Friday. None of my colleagues had consultants who were willing to do the same.
I got into my dream school and I couldn’t be happier. I highly recommend working with Liza if you’re serious about the MBA application process.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Love the mbaMission Boot Camp!
March 27 | 2015

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: March 27, 2015 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Some, but not all
This review is for:  MBA Application Boot Camp   Consultant:  Angela Guido
I took mbaMission's boot camp last summer and applied to schools this past winter. It was really a fantastic experience! Breaking it down...

There were three main reasons I took the boot camp:

1. I didn't know what an MBA essay should look / read like. I work in entertainment (TV production) and have some background in creative writing, but I wanted to make sure I was putting my best foot forward with these essays and wasn't coming across too vague or artsy.

2. I was really intimidated by the price tags I was seeing for one-on-one consulting services, and the boot camp seemed like a great deal!

3. I had the pleasure of meeting Angela at a couple of events through the Forte Foundation and knew that I had to jump at any opportunity to work with her in a small-group setting.

I really LOVED my experience with the boot camp! Another numbered list:

1. Right off the bat, you get a bunch of really wonderful written resources from mbaMission that help you brainstorm, identify and construct stories, polish your resume, and even work with recommenders.

2. The group is small enough that everyone participates, and you get the individual feedback that I feel like we're all hungry for. You get some feedback on your work during the call, and we had homework after the call that we reviewed individually with Angela. We had to draft an essay and list potential stories for other essay topics, and we got individual feedback on all of it. So awesome.

3. I learned what an MBA application should look like. There is a method to the madness and a structure that adcoms recognize and understand. Especially as a non-traditional candidate, I wanted to make sure that my application made sense to them and that I was communicating my skills and experiences in a way that they would understand. The methods I learned for essay-writing and resume polishing really helped with that.

4. This boot camp made me get my butt in gear! Angela makes you write during the boot camp, like live during the webinar. I was really nervous about the essays and was TOTALLY procrastinating, but I was forced to start writing in class, and it really helped make the essays seem less intimidating.

5. Angela is awesome!! Seriously, she's so great. She also knows a whole lot about storytelling and screenwriting, so if you don't have a lot of experience telling stories, she's an amazing asset. For me, as someone working in entertainment, was wonderful to work with someone who knows about my industry.

So, this is a long review, BUT I do want to tell you guys how my admit process is going so far. I applied to five schools (Stanford, Kellogg, Anderson, Stern, and McCombs) and have been accepted with significant scholarships to Kellogg and Anderson, have an offer from McCombs, and have an interview invitation from NYU.

For me, this workshop was the start to a months-long process of introspection and intense MBA application grind. And it was the RIGHT start to that process. This class touches on all aspects of your application, from understanding the adcom to building your goals, to of course essays and resumes, which are the main focus. I found it so valuable, especially since you do get individual attention from your instructor.

I hope this review was helpful, and good luck to you during your MBA journey!! You got this!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Big Discounts
on mbaMission
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Rachel Beck - mbaMission - made all the difference
March 23 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: March 23, 2015 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - school of my dreams
This review is for:  Hourly Services   Consultant:  Rachel Beck
Needless to say applying for business school is incredibly daunting. As a potential applicant I put years...years...into preparing a competitive profile and making sure I had all the measurables necessary to be considered at some of the best schools in the country (M7s). Yet those are the basics, everyone applying to those schools has 700+ GMATs and 3.5+ GPAs with incredible work experience while finding time to volunteer and make an impact socially.

That's where Rachel made all the difference in the world. I spoke with roughly a dozen advisers - using the free 30min consults they all offer - and you should too. But after you do, you'll come to the same conclusion I did - Rachel Beck will clearly make a difference in your applications. From the beginning I felt like she took the time to understand me, my background, and how my application and story could be different and make an impact with admissions committees. She helped me succinctly explain, and in the most effective way possible, describe the unique perspective I could bring to any MBA classroom (not an easy task for someone with a finance background, and even more challenging as I didn't work at a typical M7 feeder bank/hedge fund/PE shop).

Throughout the entire application process, she was incredibly responsive, efficient, and there to answer any questions I had along the way. She provided clear guidance and critiques to my essays and also provided amazing interview prep leaving me confident that I was fully prepared when I was called back for my interviews - of which there were many, given the incredible perspective and direction she provided on my applications.

Looking back, I know I would not have been as successful without her. She simply provided the insight I needed in order to understand what admissions committees were looking for and helped frame my individual story so that I could make the best impression possible.

I got into the school of my dreams and matriculate this fall, and it wouldn't have been possible without her.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Worth it!
March 20 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: March 16, 2015 | 0 | 5 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Some, but not all
This review is for:  * School Packages   Consultant:  Eric Hollowaty
I consulted with Eric Hollowaty on 4 schools, was interviewed at all 4, and was accepted at 2/4. When selecting my consultant, I requested someone who would be honest with me at all times (no sugar coating) but who also would be my cheerleader throughout the process, and I got all that and more with Eric. He asked questions that provoked me to dig deeper on essays and interview answers and empowered me to view my own experience in an MBA-conducive way. He frequently returned my essays on an expedited schedule without charge, and his comments were analytical, insightful and always improved my work. He made himself available to me on late nights and weekends, frequently at the last minute - whatever I needed to get the most out of his services. He was 100% dedicated to getting to know me, my industry, and my post-MBA goals. I would recommend anyone seeking to enlist a consultant speak with Eric before committing to another service or person.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Big Discounts
on mbaMission
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community


mbaMission
Admissions Consulting
Big Discounts on Consulting
 
Learn more here