mbaMission Admissions Consulting Reviews
    Number of reviews [182]      Average Rating:       (4.9/5)
Packages
    
    
    
    
    
    
mbaMission is a professional MBA Admissions consulting firm, specializing in helping business school applicants identify and showcase the strongest aspects of their candidacy in their applications. Their dedicated consultants work one-on-one with candidates to ensure their unique stories are presented in a compelling way that will make the admissions committees take notice.
  Reviews
Sort by:   date of publication  most helpful
Liza Weale, A+++
July 13 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: October 30, 2012 | 0 | 5 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  
This review is for:  Hourly Services   Consultant:  Liza Weale
Liza was tremendously helpful in my admission to my top school choice. I procrastinated greatly in writing my essays for Round 2 applications, and in the final 12 days before applications were due (also the week of Christmas/New Years), I sent an S.O.S. to mbaMission requesting tutor help, not expecting that any tutor would have capacity to help me.

When I was matched with Liza, I could not have asked for a better experience. Because I was paying extra for expedited turnaround, Liza got right down to business and helped me devise an action plan leading up to the final deadlines. I spent the next 10 days emailing back and forth with her, bouncing ideas and drafts around. Liza was 100% responsive, helpful, creative, committed, and genuine, and she was monumental in helping me refine my essays to perfection. She also made the process fun. Most notably, Liza kept in touch with me after I submitted my applications; she helped me prep for the interview, sent me a “thinking of you” note on interview day and on decision day, and when I was waitlisted, she stuck with me. Liza helped me strategize my efforts to tackle the waitlist process, which after three months, proved successful.

At the end of this process, not only have I gained admission to my top choice program, but I also feel like I have gained a true friend who is interested in my success. I highly recommend Liza to anyone looking for help, especially in a pinch, because you will not get better treatment or a better experience, or find a better friend, anywhere. Thank you Liza!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Great service...great results...the best experience
September 05 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By addefta joined: November 21, 2012 | 10 | 6 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Some, but not all
This review is for:  * School Packages   Consultant:  Liza Weale
I decided late in life to pursue an MBA... I am 35 now, almost 36. However, I have strong reasons and my determination finally paid off.
My first choice was INSEAD and I knew I had only one bullet for this. So I tried my best, I had a 740 GMAT score after preparing for four intensive months, I had a not so well 111 TOEFL, and I decided to invest some money and hire a professional consultant for my application. I just wanted everything to be perfect, or the best application I could have.
After reading some reviews (thanks everyone who took the time to share experiences) I decided to go ahead with Liza. After all this work ended, I know that I had my best shot.
To get to the point, Liza helped me in a number of ways. Just to mention the most important:
1 - After I wrote my brainstorming document, we had a long Skype call in which she pointed out her opinion about what story I should use and we chose the stories for outline. Here I was impressed about her really read the document, although it was a little bit long. She really knew what my stories were and things went smooth. We chose the stories that best describe me, both professional and personal. This proved to me she is really engaged in this project of ours, I would say.
2 – By asking a lot of questions, she made me really get to the point. Every time she wanted me to explain why and how I did everything, what were my motivations, inner thoughts, etc. Really helpful.
3 – She really gave me confidence that my application shows the best of me, and it is done in a professional way.
4 – Always getting to the point, in her reviews she always squeezed my 200 words stories in 40 or 50, without sacrificing anything essential. This I appreciated very much because, as you can see, I kind of like to write a lot and not always the most essential part.
5 – After every essay was ready, she put everything together just to make sure we didn’t miss something important.
6 – The two-day response is for the “normal” times. In the last two days before my application deadline, I got my reviews even in a couple of hours. Really important and I appreciated that.
Now…after everything has been done… I got my answer from INSEAD. Unfortunately, dinged w/o an interview. I took this hit in full. I knew from the start that I wasn’t the “standard” candidate for INSEAD, my two main “problems” being my age and not a really international career (at least this I think). But, no matter the result, I am confident that I had my best shot. It just wasn’t meant to be. Liza was very sympathetic and I she did care for this result, as she proved me after that.
After that, I applied for IE and ask for help from Liza once again. I went with hourly rates, using her advice. Once again, she helped me to best summarize my application. She made a lot of extra effort, proving once again how much she cared about this “project”. IE accepted me and right now I have to decide between them and Warwick (which gave me a full scholarship). Even if Liza didn’t help me directly with Warwick essays, I found it much easier to put together my Warwick application based on the stories just drilled down with Liza. I am sure that those stories also contribute to my success with Warwick.
I found mbaMission site very useful, with a lot of very insight information – a must read. My interactions with them were very “light” as I was working directly with Liza and she helped me with every logistical issue.
Having experience only with mbaMission and Liza, I cannot compare with other company/consultant. I hope this review help for understanding what to expect when working with Liza. I am sure that, if I were to choose again, I would work again with Liza without the smallest second thought as she really exceeded my expectations in every aspect. I am very grateful to her, and to the reviewers that made me decide to work with Liza. If you have any other question I did not answer here, feel free to contact me directly and I would provide you further details. It is my pleasure to speak about Liza.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Big Discounts
on mbaMission
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Angela Guido - All-In-One
July 21 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: July 21, 2013 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  
This review is for:  * School Packages   Consultant:  Angela Guido
To set the scene: It was mid-October. I had just taken the GMAT for the first time and was uninterested in repeating the ordeal. I had not yet opened an application much less determined to which schools I would apply. I also had neither a resume nor a solid narrative as to exactly why I needed to attend business school, yet I was adamant about applying in Round 2 - some 10 weeks later - and to some assortment of top tier schools no less. I realized quickly that I was ill-prepared.

Enter Angela.

Angela provided the necessary candor and experience to appropriately set my admissions expectations and to focus my list of schools. She diligently culled through my life story to help me develop my "why business school" narrative and accentuate my unique characteristics that set me apart from other applicants - both of which allowed me to gain a better sense of self. She aided my choosing appropriate essay topics (which is more difficult than one expects) and perfecting those stories through countless drafts. She instilled a greater confidence and speed in my writing, qualities that I had always lacked. She helped me pull together a resume from scratch in under 24 hours, coached me on interview questions, and answered countless paranoid e-mails. And when I was initially waitlisted at seemingly all of my schools, she enthusiastically motivated me to continue fighting for admission until I achieved just that.

The cost might be steep, but one is not gaining just an advisor in Angela. One is gaining a coach, a psychiatrist, an editor, a mentor, a confidant, a cheerleader, and a friend. And I truly needed all of those to have gained admission to a Top 5 school - my dream school, no less.

Thank you, Angela. I hope others will benefit from your exceptional, all-in-one skills as I did.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Angela is the best!!!
July 21 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: May 11, 2013 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  
This review is for:  * School Packages   Consultant:  Angela Guido
Angela is incredible! I cannot thank her enough for all the assistance she had provided with my NYU Stern application. My deadline was May 15th. I started in late March and finished everything in less than two months. I would never have done this myself as I was also working full time and preparing for the GMAT in these two months. Angela was very patient, she worked with my schedule and helped me in every possible way.
 
With Angela's assistance, all my essays shaped up really well. She also helped me with my resume, work history, achievements and every other aspect of the application. With her assistance I was able to present myself at my best.

The initial brainstorming session was excellent. Angela pushed me to think out of the box to come with great ideas for my essays. She helped me to extract the hidden qualities in me which I never thought existed. Also she guided me to edit the essays and point out the mistakes. Being from a technical background my essays were initially looking very technical. She helped me to correct it in a way by avoiding all the jargons so that it look friendly to the adcom.

Because of my short timeframe I received a low GMAT score, a little below the mid 600s, which was not enough being an over represented demopgrahic, but i still decided to apply with the score. I'm proud to say that I got admitted in Stern even with the low score! I'm starting school this fall :) The main reason for this is because of the other aspects of my application, especially my three essays, for which I will give the full credit to Angela. She is very open and appreciates the good work but at the same time points out things that needs improvement.

If you are really serious in getting in to a business school and you don't have enough time to do your research/study for months and months, it is good to seek some professional help. You will be amazed to see how much difference it makes especially with somebody like Angela.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Big Discounts
on mbaMission
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Never could have done it without mbaMission
July 30 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: July 30, 2013 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  
This review is for:  * School Packages   Consultant:  Susan Kaplan
I had started preparing my applications for the top MBA programs and thought I was in pretty good shape, until I asked mbaMission's consultant Susan to have a look at my file. Boy, am I glad I did that! Thanks to Susan's impressive experience and credentials, I was truly able to raise my game to the next level. She was more than helpful, and struck a great balance in bringing new ideas vs working with my owns ideas. I'd say working with someone with good experience to help you build your case for top schools through a second perspective is a must, but Susan really surpassed any expectation I had for this. Her dedication and enthusiasm made me feel that I was really getting my bang for the buck. I would strongly recommend her to anyone thinking of applying to an MBA program.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
mbaMission Bootcamp is a MUST DO!
July 31 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By kristine123 joined: July 31, 2013 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  
This review is for:  MBA Application Boot Camp   Consultant:  Angela Guido
Here is the email I sent to Angela last week:
It's been a while since we saw you first in our GMAT class and then at the mbaMission application Boot camp. I hope this email finds you well =) I wanted to reach out and say hello as well as update you on what transpired regarding my MBA applications. My boyfriend and I are moving to Cambridge Thursday!! He was accepted to Harvard and I’m off to Sloan. We are both super excited and it couldn’t have turned out any better. Thank you for all your help and support! We definitely couldn’t have done it without your guidance in mabMission's Boot Camp!!! I’ve told everyone that asks about the application process about Manhattan GMAT as well as mbaMission. Both are great programs and I think my positive perception is attributed to my experiences with you. Just wanted to share the good news and say "Thanks" again!!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Big Discounts
on mbaMission
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Personalized insights and valuable overview in an intense package!
August 01 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: July 30, 2013 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  
This review is for:  MBA Application Boot Camp   Consultant:  Angela Guido
I felt like I was starting the MBA application process later than I should have, so I was looking for a push to guide my work and ensure that I would be able to put together solid applications. The boot camp sounded intense, but like it would get me on the right track while also providing personalized attention. I went for it and am very glad that I did.

Angela Guido was an extremely enthusiastic and knowledgeable consultant, and I never doubted that she knew what she was talking about or wasn't providing sound advice. But for me the best part was that the course was small so I really felt like I benefited from the personalized attention she gave to each of the participants' ideas and examples. I learned from her and the other participants breaking down the pros and cons of what I submitted, and from doing the same for the submissions of the other participants. At the end I had a one-on-one session to go over my essays and any other general questions with Angela, and that was really great. She wasn't afraid to provide honest feedback and criticism, and I am sure that the insights I gained from someone who knows the process so well will be extremely useful in improving how I approach the applications.

After the boot camp, I am very confident that I will be able to write more compelling essays, structure my CV appropriately, and focus my efforts on what's most important. To feel like this after a process that lasted less than a week is great, and exactly what I was looking for.

I'm still applying and not sure how everything will go, but I would highly recommend this course for anyone looking to kickstart their applications and quickly figure out how to approach the whole application process.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
MBA mission is totally worth it - Angela is one of the best out there!
August 20 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: April 8, 2012 | 4 | 5 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  
This review is for:  * School Packages   Consultant:  Angela Guido
The road to getting admitted to a top B school is very challenging and competitive and in the myriad of things to consider, prepare for and balance during the whole application process, its easy to feel completely buried and make wrong decisions. The best decision which I took during my MBA application was to take the services of MBA mission during my application process, even though I did not realize it when I took it. Like many students , I had full faith in my capabilities and with a 700 plus GRE score, I was not sure if I needed to take this service initially – but I am glad I did. At the end of it you will realize that the money you spend upfront was totally worth it and more.
I chose Angela Guido as my consultant and I consider myself very lucky to have worked with her and I am sure all her clients do. Angela is extremely professional, capable and creative with an outstanding professional profile. However, what is exceptional about Angela is that she truly connects with her clients and despite being extremely professional, you know that she truly cares about the quality of your work. However, one should only decide to work with Angela if they are ready to give in their best – because she settles for nothing but the best. Angela has a knack for bringing out the best in you through your stories. She is frank and will accurately point out the strengths and weaknesses of your candidacy. I am happy to say that I got into my target school, one of the top B schools in the country, thanks to having worked with Angela - working with her helped me think and express my stories in a way I would not have thought of otherwise. Like all good consultants out there she will not write any part of the essay for you – but will give you enough guidance to make you think in the right direction and deliver your best. Also, despite being a perfectionist, she will boost your confidence enough at the time you need the most. She is definitely one of the best admission consultants out there and I very much recommend her if you are serious about getting into your target schools!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Big Discounts
on mbaMission
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Jessica Shklar | mbaMission
August 27 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: March 25, 2012 | 1 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  
This review is for:  * School Packages   Consultant:  Jessica Shklar
I’ve worked with Jessica Shklar on applying to five top business schools this year and I’m extremely happy with results of our work. I got interview invites from every school and got admitted to MIT Sloan (my top choice). I honestly don't think I could have achieved this on my own - Jessica went beyond the terms of her contract in every possible way.

Immediately after I sent my initial brainstorming document, I noticed how thorough she was in learning my story and personality. With every email and phone conversation, Jessica was capturing more and more about my background up to the point that she knew me better than even my closest friends. By knowing my story, Jessica was able to suggest how to approach every essay. She not only analyzed what the schools wanted me to write for a given essay (something that you can find on every major admission consulting company website anyway), but also recalled specific stories from my background to create a strong and well-balanced application. Describing my whole life in 500 words was not an easy task, but after our brainstorming sessions I was never stuck in front of an essay prompt trying to write the first sentence. After every round of editing I was seeing how clear, concise and strong my essays were becoming, motivating and pushing me to keep improving even further.

Jessica was extremely helpful even with things that were out of my direct control. While working with my recommenders, Jessica was very professional and polite, but at the same time ensured that the recommendations were on topic and on time.

Most importantly Jessica made me feel that I was never alone and helped me to get through this stressful and anxious process. With Jessica on my side, I always felt certain that my application would make me a strong candidate and that I would finish everything on time. She gave me confidence that I had a shot at the top schools and this motivated me to apply harder work and produce the strongest application I could.

Besides being extremely grateful for Jessica being a true supporter in this process, I'm really impressed with her talent, vision, industry knowledge, and work ethic. Jessica never tried to alter my story or make me look like someone who I’m not. Instead, almost immediately after we started our work together, she provided me with suggestions on how to structure and present my own story in a way that even impressed me. Later, during my interview at MIT, I was pleasantly surprised how well Jessica was able to predict the aspects of my story that would be appealing to the admission committee.

Just a year ago, as I was reading all of these great reviews for Jessica, still wondered if hiring a consultant was the right thing to do. “Were these success stories coming from applicants that had a sure shot of getting in anyway?” I thought. “Given my background, do I even fit the profile of a strong candidate and thus, is hiring a consultant a right decision for me?”
After working with Jessica closely on applying to my top five schools, getting positive results and being admitted to my number-one choice program at MIT Sloan, I can clearly say that working with Jessica was not only the right decision, it was absolutely the best decision during my application process.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
An amazing learning experience
August 31 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: August 30, 2013 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  
This review is for:  * School Packages   Consultant:  Susan Kaplan
I still go back to my 1st draft and compare with my 9th draft. It make me laugh and I thank Susan again and again for drastically making my stories come to life. 'Do you really need to put that point across?', 'Write one point and delve deeper into that'... many such words of wisdom echo in my ears still. Susan you are awesome! It was just not a process of application but self-reflection. I will carry the experience throughout my life. As an applicant I appreciate Susan's turnaround time. I was pretty late in the process but Susan paced me up and bought me back right in the game. She strived to get my essays before 2 business days. As an applicant I was okay with my essays sometimes but Susan was not. So you imagine the level of perfection she demands. Her comments really pushed me to think deep and enhance my style of writing. I learned to write EFFECTIVELY.
Susan is the best! You will never go wrong in your decision.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Big Discounts
on mbaMission
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community


mbaMission
Admissions Consulting
Big Discounts on Consulting
 
Learn more here