mbaMission Admissions Consulting Reviews
    Number of reviews [361]      Average Rating:       (5.0/5)
Packages
    
    
    
    
    
    
mbaMission is a professional MBA Admissions consulting firm, specializing in helping business school applicants identify and showcase the strongest aspects of their candidacy in their applications. Their dedicated consultants work one-on-one with candidates to ensure their unique stories are presented in a compelling way that will make the admissions committees take notice.
  Reviews
Sort by:   date of publication  most helpful
Angela got me into my dream school!!!!
May 22 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: November 7, 2012 | 41 | 2 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  
This review is for:  * School Packages   Consultant:  Angela Guido
I worked with Angela from mbaMission this year and I have to say my experience was an EXCELLENT one!! I’m extremely happy with both the result and the process!

My background is 3.10 GPA / 710 GMAT / 3 years of work experience in a field that is not common for MBA applicants. I wasn’t one of those typical superstars on paper and to be honest, before I worked with Angela, I wasn’t confident about (and sort of intimidated by) getting into top schools. But I had big passion for my professional dream and for getting into my dream school!!

Angela did a tremendous job of guiding me to realize what is unique about me and express my uniqueness and passion through every aspect of my applications. Honestly, I don’t think I could have gotten into my dream school (Johnson at Cornell Univ.) if it wasn’t for Angela!

Here are some highlights of why I think Angela was GREAT!

-Angela REALLY cared about my success!
I wanted to work with a consultant who I can truly trust and who cares about me getting in to my dream school. With Angela, I never felt like it’s a business, but I really felt like we were a team!! From the initial free consultation, she focused on making sure that we’re a good match. She even introduced me to a couple of other consultants to compare and made sure that I was comfortable making this commitment. Throughout the process, she was very generous with her time, and she was there every time I needed support and expert advice, and she took time to reply to tons of my crazy paranoid questions! (She replied very quickly. Sometimes within 10 minutes..!)

On top of that, Angela’s personality was just amazing! While I was on 4 months painful wait list, I was almost giving up... but Angela never gave up and kept encouraging me to fight till the end!! I kept sending updates to the school and I got accepted after a long wait!!!

-Expert in story telling!!
Angela was amazing at helping me see my unique stories and tell them in absolutely effective way.
We did very thorough brainstorming sessions (both general and school specific) for my stories. During the session, Angela asked many profound questions about my life events and as I thought hard of answers to those questions and we discussed them, I started clearly seeing MY STORY of upbringing, passion, goals, setbacks, why MBA, and why now, and my story became very cohesive and it just made sense. If there were any fluffs or BS in an essay, Angela didn't hesitate to point out and asked more questions to help me clarify. Every word and every sentence in my essays became well though of and very clear. By the time I applied, I was really confident and excited about my story and application! The process of brainstorming was very rewarding; Angela helped me REALLY get to know myself in depth, owe my own success, define what is unique about me, clarify my goals, and above all be confident about talking about myself and my story!

-Expert in admission process!
I had 100% trust in her expertise and I knew following her guidance and advice would give me a great result! I was placed on a waitlist (which had 10% conversion rate to admit last year) and it was very critical for me to have a strategic wait list plan. Angela gave me a guidance of what admission officers were looking for and what additional materials (some of the ideas were just outside of box that I couldn't have thought of by myself!) to send and when to send them. I followed her guidance and I did get off the list after 4 months!! Stressful waitlist process was manageable thanks to her!!

These are just a few examples but Angela truly had such a great impact on my life and I cannot thank her enough for her service!! I STRONGLY recommend her to anyone, especially for those who not only really want to get into their dream schools but ALSO want to get the most out of this application journey!! Now, looking back, I absolutely enjoyed this process and learned so much all thanks to Angela! It was a GREAT Investment!!!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Angela is the best!
May 24 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: January 7, 2013 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  
This review is for:  * School Packages   Consultant:  Angela Guido
Angela is inarguably the best. I had talked to 7 different consultants before making the decision, and only Angela pointed out the concerns that I had - since I've been working in various industries for 5 years and already got a graduate degree, my biggest challenge is to select the best materials for my application. Plus going to business school is an ad hoc decision, so we did four applications in less than a month. Were it not for her, I wouldn't have been able to do it at all, not to mention in a timely and effectively fashion.

Angela is very good at spotting your strengths and weaknesses during the brainstorming. A few times I even had this feeling that she has known me for a long time and to some extent, she knows me better than I know myself - at least she gave me some awesome essays ideas that never came to me. She is also very good at pushing you to think hard until you figure out something that both of you are happy with. Trust me that she has high standards and will never let it pass unless she truly feels comfortable with the products. For one essay, after writing two different versions of 12 drafts, I decided to give in, but she told me that I could do better. Brainstorming that essay was a rewarding experience. Eventually, by putting my whole life in it, I managed to finalize the 17th draft. Due to the time pressure, Angela dropped almost everything to help me edit that essay until everything is in place for submission. Even though I didn't end up going to that school, working with Angela on that essay has been my favorite application experience - it helps me obtain a better knowledge about myself.

Angela has also been helpful in many other ways. After the application, I emailed her a couple of times for advice on books, b-school life, etc, she is super responsible and resourceful. She even put me in touch with another client in HK, since both of us would be going to the same school. Guess what, we quickly bonded and decided to be roomies!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Big Discounts
on mbaMission
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
100% HIT Wharton & Harvard
May 25 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By boubi joined: June 24, 2006 | 130 | 4 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  
This review is for:  * School Packages   Consultant:  Jessica Shklar
Jessica,

As I am preparing to head toward my target school, I want to seize the opportunity to publicly thank you.

-Thank you for the incredible support you gave me above and beyond your professional duties!
-Thank you for giving me the power to believe in myself in the good as well as in the bad times.
-Thank you for the faith you placed in me and for building-up my self-confidence by uncovering the qualities and abilities that set me up apart as a truly competitive candidate.

You played a critical role in my admissions at Wharton and Harvard and I realize that none of those accomplishments would have been possible without you.

I had the chance to work with you and I could write a whole essay explaining how potent an asset you are…but most reassuring to me is that I now know that I have someone like you by my side and that I can count on you at any time.


THANK YOU
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Katy Lewis
May 28 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: March 13, 2013 | 11 | 9 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  
This review is for:  * School Packages   Consultant:  Katharine Lewis
I strongly recommend Katy Lewis at mbaMission. From big picture brainstorming down to nitty gritty essay edits, Katy was always prompt and helpful in our interactions. I bought the 1-school package and only applied to two schools in their 2nd rounds. Though she didn't have direct experience with either of the two schools I applied to, her experience with a top ad com helped tremendously in creating an effective application.

I decided on working with Katy directly after my free consulting session with mbaMission because she made me feel like I had a workable story. In another session with another agency, the consultant oversold the service and didn't shy away from being slightly condescending in an effort to show how she could be useful.

I appreciated that Katy was candid in her feedback about which ideas or experiences I should use in my application. This is probably because she has plenty of experience reading applications and we had a mutual interest in creating a successful application. I liked the brainstorming process at the beginning because a) I got my experiences and goals on paper b) it gave Katy a solid perspective on how I view myself and the foundation of my story and c) we constantly referenced my brainstorming document when answering essay questions. I think she is in high demand because of her credentials, but I took the liberty of asking any questions I had about the application process when I had them. She was very responsive even in the thick of application season in the fall.

I've already referred my girlfriend who is currently a client. mbaMission is cheaper than many of its competitors in a market where they can mercilessly price gouge. Don't take my word for it. Scan Jeremy Shinewald's book to get an idea of how systematic their approach is.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Big Discounts
on mbaMission
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Angela at mbaMission is fabulous!
May 29 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: June 25, 2012 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  
This review is for:  * School Packages   Consultant:  Angela Guido
I first met mbaMission and Angela Guido through a free thirty-minute consultation referral from Kaplan. I was skeptical of using a consultant for two reasons – I was unsure how helpful a consultant could actually be and hiring a consultant is expensive. Well, after the first thirty minutes Angela had revamped my entire resume, helped articulate my goals, and revised my list of target schools to include much tougher programs, all during the free consultation. In the end, I was accepted to both of the Top-10 programs that I applied to. It was the best money I’ve ever spent for all of the reasons below.

• To me, there was nothing particularly impressive about my background when I began the application process. I assumed I had mediocre “paper stats” including a 3.2 GPA from a relatively unknown undergrad business school and a 700 GMAT score. I also had six years of experience in a field that wasn’t particularly sexy to an adcom. Brainstorming with Angela helped me realize that I have an extremely unique set of experiences that make me a much more competitive applicant than I originally thought.

• Angela helped me utilize my personal and professional experiences in my application. Without Angela’s assistance, I would have completely overlooked my leadership experience with several volunteer organizations and personal experiences that helped mold my passions. Brainstorming with her allowed me to uncover valuable stories outside of just my professional experience.

• While some consultants may push applicants to apply to safer programs to boost their acceptance stats, Angela did just the opposite. I thought I had a very small chance of getting into a Top-10 program. I was going to apply to Kellogg as my stretch school with other target schools in the 10-25 ranking. She encouraged me to apply to Booth and Kellogg in R1 and to save the other schools for R2 if I need them. As a Chicago native, getting into local schools would be that much more challenging.

• No one in my personal network has gone to business school. My personal resources were limited when it came to application knowledge and advice. It was emotionally rewarding to have someone to call and ask all of the minor questions and encourage me throughout the process. Angela was incredibly vested in my process and application. She genuinely wanted to see me succeed. She was my first phone call when I got invited to interview and when I was accepted.

• Angela has mastered the art of storytelling. Applying to MBA programs is a unique process in which you have to show the adcom all of your impressive accomplishments without sounding like a braggart. This is incredibly challenging and quite easy to get wrong. Angela helped mold my story using my own voice. Some schools have cut back on word counts to where you now only have one main essay with others less than 200 words or even a PowerPoint presentation. It’s quite hard to communicate an entire story in less than 200 words.

• Each of my essays went through at least five drafts before being complete. One essay in particular went through about seven drafts and neither Angela nor I loved it because it was a bit dry and lacked my personality. We eventually scrapped it and started over from scratch using a completely different story. It turned out to be my favorite essay. It’s important to note that consultants do not do any of the work for you. They ask insightful questions to pull stories from your own experiences and edit the essay as many times as it needs, but it’s still your own stories and work in the application.

• Even after several drafts of each of the essays, Angela helped me to review the entire application as a whole to ensure a solid theme was communicated. After applying to several programs, it’s easy to overlook something that needs to be included with each application.

• It was also incredibly useful to have someone keep me on schedule to submit multiple applications in Round 1. Angela responded well before the allotted timeframe and helped to lay out an efficient timeline including all areas of the applications.

• Angela also helped me to formulate my long-term goals. When I began the application process, I knew that I wanted to do management consulting immediately after graduation, but I couldn’t articulate why or what I wanted to do afterwards. Based on my experience and interests, she helped me discover a realistic career path that has now become my elevator pitch for b-school. She gave me the confidence that my long-term dream is not only attainable, but I am already on a successful path to achieve it.

• Thanks to Angela, next fall I will be attending my dream school, Booth, which I wouldn’t have even applied to without her help or encouragement.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Katharine Lewis - MBA Hourly Services
May 31 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: May 31, 2013 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  
This review is for:  Hourly Services   Consultant:  Katharine Lewis
I worked with Katharine Lewis of mbamission to apply to business school.

Services used: hour overall consultation (complementary through manhattan gmat) & hourly package (3 hours)

Overall Consultation: KLewis listened assertively to my story and was able to provide incredible advice on short term and long term ways I could improve my candidacy for business school. She provided insightful strategic advice for my overall plan, as well as tangible tactical things I could implement into my day to day.

Examples of the tactical advice: community service organizations I could join that aligned with my interests, advice on my professional direction (staying in my current career path/what sort of role I would move jobs for etc), and courses I could take at continuing study programs to complement/plug in weaknesses in my application.

Hourly Package:
- KLewis provided all the initial DIY materials that could allow me to hone in on exactly what to work on with her in our hourly sessions so that I could gain the most out of them. I opted for focused help on: resume and essay.

- Generally, her communication and responsiveness throughout the process was fantastic. I was consistently able to rely on her to respond to my questions throughout the process as well as trouble shoot queries and provide insightful helpful advice throughout. In addition, she researched the school and provided helpful advice on what they were looking for in a candidate.

- Essay, she provided incredible hands on advice on how to shape the essay so it aligned with my message as well as key edits to make it concise. Her understanding of my goals and what the bschool was looking for in a candidate made her advice incredibly valuable.

- Resume, This was where KLewis made the most impact for me. She was able to provide guidance that improved my resume substantially, making it have a clear tight message (getting it down to 1 page and culling any erroneous information) as well as changing the tone of the language to be focused much more on meaningful outcomes in my career as opposed to a task list as well as removing redundancy in messaging btw community svc to career to education entirely.

KLewis is a fantastic advisor.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Big Discounts
on mbaMission
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Katharine will get you in!
June 01 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By shengnanx joined: June 1, 2013 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  
This review is for:  * School Packages   Consultant:  Katharine Lewis
The school package Katharine provided offered everything I needed from start to finish for my business school applications. The brainstorming session she held with me extracted my best qualities and experiences valued by business schools. She guided me through the processes and made sure my essays and short answer questions are free of any arrogant and application-killing words. However late and wherever she was, she would respond to my questions right away. And her answers are always helpful, insightful and to the point. She also made sure I am fully prepared for every stage of my interview.

Katharine is the one who goes the extra miles to help me. She would check in all the time to make sure I was on the right track and perform mock interviews with me however many times until I was ready. She is not only a superb consultant, editor and guide, but also a caring friend, career mentor and life counselor.

I highly recommend her!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Wow...what a great decision to go with mbaMission!!!
June 11 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: June 10, 2013 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  
This review is for:  * School Packages   Consultant:  Angela Guido
When I decided to start the process of applying for MBA programs, I knew that I wanted to work with an admissions consultant that would encourage me, push me and be honest with me every step of the way. I have a “non-traditional” background, and so I also knew that I needed to put my strongest foot forward in my essays; I had to communicate my story convincingly and passionately, in a way that would make it hard for the Adcom to ding me. I spent a long time evaluating different admissions consulting services. There are so many consulting services out there, but as soon as I spoke with Angela Guido at mbaMission, I knew I’d found what I was looking for.

From the start, Angela struck the balance between providing an honest assessment of my chances at my target schools and enthusiastically motivating me to stretch for my dreams. Together, we carefully assessed which schools that would be the best fit. Then the real work started! Angela was awesome to work with during the initial brainstorming…she quickly got to the root of my best stories and experiences and together we decided on the most effective approach to highlight my best strengths in each essay.

When I finished drafting my first “failure” essay for one of my target schools and got feedback from Angela, I quickly realized that she would be a major asset throughout the process. She immediately could sense that I was holding something back in my essay…that I perhaps hadn’t fully owned up to my failure. It came as a surprise to me that working with Angela to perfect my failure essay actually made me realize there were aspects of the story that I hadn’t even faced up to after all this time!

Angela is without question a perfectionist, and she pushed me to be simultaneously economical with my words, and eloquent with my ideas. We went through so many drafts of my essays that I was practically dreaming the words in my sleep! But that’s what it takes to get into a top school today…its intensely competitive and working with Angela gave me the edge I needed to tell my story convincingly and passionately.

She worked me hard, and never settled for an average essay! There were so many times where I felt like I’d never get my ideas right, but she stayed positive and enthusiastic, especially in those moments! At the end of the process when I hit the submit button, I had no doubt that I’d been honest with myself and the adcom, and had done the very best possible job.

If you are thinking about starting the process for applying for an MBA at a top school, I strongly recommend mbaMission, and specifically Angela. In my personal opinion, the competition for spots at top MBA programs has become incredibly fierce, and the talent pool is global, and it was awesome having someone in my corner throughout the process. I have no doubt that working with Angela and having her challenge my ideas, push me in my writing, bringing the best out of each paragraph, sentence and word is what got me in the door with my target schools. I recently got the news that I have been accepted at Chicago Booth, and I know that Angela was a huge part of helping me find success in this very challenging process!

Thanks for everything Angela!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Big Discounts
on mbaMission
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
mbaMission review from admitted Columbia student
June 12 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: July 4, 2012 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  
This review is for:  * School Packages   Consultant:  Angela Guido
When I initially began working with Angela, i had vague ideas about what I wanted to get out of an MBA, but what Angela really helped me with was translating my ideas into a concrete story with clear short term and long term goals. Instead of just creating the story for me, Angela asked questions that allowed me to develop the story myself and highlight what I was truly passionate about. After these initial brainstorming sessions, Angela's comments on my essay drafts were not just simple grammar corrections, but were rather insightful and challenged me in a way that resulted in strong, cohesive essays. My essays (and applications) would not have been the same without her help. I enjoyed working with Angela and would recommend her services to anyone!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Jessica Shklar= Stanford GSB and Harvard Kennedy School
July 11 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: July 11, 2013 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  
This review is for:  * School Packages   Consultant:  Jessica Shklar
When I started my application process, I was uncomfortable with my lack of experience and my “unconventional” application. I was in the process of vetting several consultants when I spoke to Jessica for a free consultation. I was instantly sold. She offered me more insight into the application process during that thirty-minute phone call than the rest of the consultants that I had been vetting combined.

From the very beginning, Jessica was invested in me, my story, and perhaps most importantly, how to help me present the very best version of myself/story. I can honestly say that during EVERY step of the process, Jessica went above and beyond what was required of her. Her knowledge base, attention to detail, and just overall brilliance, helped me to create what I viewed to be a perfect admissions package. She was so personally invested in my story that as far as I was concerned, I was her only client. She immediately responded to my emails and was always available.

What makes Jessica so special is her palpable excitement and energy throughout the process—and her unbelievable concern for and investment in my success. If you are at all concerned about the potential costs, Jessica’s insider knowledge and familiarity with the process, to me, in many ways, was priceless.

Overall, though, the most important thing about Jessica is how remarkably clear it is that she is always giving you her very best in every aspect of her work. I can honestly say, that if you decide to hire Jessica, I am absolutely convinced that you will be hiring the best. I am happy to say that because of Jessica’s help I will be attending Harvard’s Kennedy School in the fall, and Stanford’s Graduate School of Business the following year.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Big Discounts
on mbaMission
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community


mbaMission
Admissions Consulting
Big Discounts on Consulting
 
Learn more here