mbaMission Admissions Consulting Reviews
    Number of reviews [239]      Average Rating:       (4.9/5)
Packages
    
    
    
    
    
    
mbaMission is a professional MBA Admissions consulting firm, specializing in helping business school applicants identify and showcase the strongest aspects of their candidacy in their applications. Their dedicated consultants work one-on-one with candidates to ensure their unique stories are presented in a compelling way that will make the admissions committees take notice.
  Reviews
Sort by:   date of publication  most helpful
Katharine Lewis - MBA Hourly Services
May 31 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: May 31, 2013 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  
This review is for:  Hourly Services   Consultant:  Katharine Lewis
I worked with Katharine Lewis of mbamission to apply to business school.

Services used: hour overall consultation (complementary through manhattan gmat) & hourly package (3 hours)

Overall Consultation: KLewis listened assertively to my story and was able to provide incredible advice on short term and long term ways I could improve my candidacy for business school. She provided insightful strategic advice for my overall plan, as well as tangible tactical things I could implement into my day to day.

Examples of the tactical advice: community service organizations I could join that aligned with my interests, advice on my professional direction (staying in my current career path/what sort of role I would move jobs for etc), and courses I could take at continuing study programs to complement/plug in weaknesses in my application.

Hourly Package:
- KLewis provided all the initial DIY materials that could allow me to hone in on exactly what to work on with her in our hourly sessions so that I could gain the most out of them. I opted for focused help on: resume and essay.

- Generally, her communication and responsiveness throughout the process was fantastic. I was consistently able to rely on her to respond to my questions throughout the process as well as trouble shoot queries and provide insightful helpful advice throughout. In addition, she researched the school and provided helpful advice on what they were looking for in a candidate.

- Essay, she provided incredible hands on advice on how to shape the essay so it aligned with my message as well as key edits to make it concise. Her understanding of my goals and what the bschool was looking for in a candidate made her advice incredibly valuable.

- Resume, This was where KLewis made the most impact for me. She was able to provide guidance that improved my resume substantially, making it have a clear tight message (getting it down to 1 page and culling any erroneous information) as well as changing the tone of the language to be focused much more on meaningful outcomes in my career as opposed to a task list as well as removing redundancy in messaging btw community svc to career to education entirely.

KLewis is a fantastic advisor.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Katharine will get you in!
June 01 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By shengnanx joined: June 1, 2013 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  
This review is for:  * School Packages   Consultant:  Katharine Lewis
The school package Katharine provided offered everything I needed from start to finish for my business school applications. The brainstorming session she held with me extracted my best qualities and experiences valued by business schools. She guided me through the processes and made sure my essays and short answer questions are free of any arrogant and application-killing words. However late and wherever she was, she would respond to my questions right away. And her answers are always helpful, insightful and to the point. She also made sure I am fully prepared for every stage of my interview.

Katharine is the one who goes the extra miles to help me. She would check in all the time to make sure I was on the right track and perform mock interviews with me however many times until I was ready. She is not only a superb consultant, editor and guide, but also a caring friend, career mentor and life counselor.

I highly recommend her!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Big Discounts
on mbaMission
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Wow...what a great decision to go with mbaMission!!!
June 11 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: June 10, 2013 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  
This review is for:  * School Packages   Consultant:  Angela Guido
When I decided to start the process of applying for MBA programs, I knew that I wanted to work with an admissions consultant that would encourage me, push me and be honest with me every step of the way. I have a “non-traditional” background, and so I also knew that I needed to put my strongest foot forward in my essays; I had to communicate my story convincingly and passionately, in a way that would make it hard for the Adcom to ding me. I spent a long time evaluating different admissions consulting services. There are so many consulting services out there, but as soon as I spoke with Angela Guido at mbaMission, I knew I’d found what I was looking for.

From the start, Angela struck the balance between providing an honest assessment of my chances at my target schools and enthusiastically motivating me to stretch for my dreams. Together, we carefully assessed which schools that would be the best fit. Then the real work started! Angela was awesome to work with during the initial brainstorming…she quickly got to the root of my best stories and experiences and together we decided on the most effective approach to highlight my best strengths in each essay.

When I finished drafting my first “failure” essay for one of my target schools and got feedback from Angela, I quickly realized that she would be a major asset throughout the process. She immediately could sense that I was holding something back in my essay…that I perhaps hadn’t fully owned up to my failure. It came as a surprise to me that working with Angela to perfect my failure essay actually made me realize there were aspects of the story that I hadn’t even faced up to after all this time!

Angela is without question a perfectionist, and she pushed me to be simultaneously economical with my words, and eloquent with my ideas. We went through so many drafts of my essays that I was practically dreaming the words in my sleep! But that’s what it takes to get into a top school today…its intensely competitive and working with Angela gave me the edge I needed to tell my story convincingly and passionately.

She worked me hard, and never settled for an average essay! There were so many times where I felt like I’d never get my ideas right, but she stayed positive and enthusiastic, especially in those moments! At the end of the process when I hit the submit button, I had no doubt that I’d been honest with myself and the adcom, and had done the very best possible job.

If you are thinking about starting the process for applying for an MBA at a top school, I strongly recommend mbaMission, and specifically Angela. In my personal opinion, the competition for spots at top MBA programs has become incredibly fierce, and the talent pool is global, and it was awesome having someone in my corner throughout the process. I have no doubt that working with Angela and having her challenge my ideas, push me in my writing, bringing the best out of each paragraph, sentence and word is what got me in the door with my target schools. I recently got the news that I have been accepted at Chicago Booth, and I know that Angela was a huge part of helping me find success in this very challenging process!

Thanks for everything Angela!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
mbaMission review from admitted Columbia student
June 12 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: July 4, 2012 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  
This review is for:  * School Packages   Consultant:  Angela Guido
When I initially began working with Angela, i had vague ideas about what I wanted to get out of an MBA, but what Angela really helped me with was translating my ideas into a concrete story with clear short term and long term goals. Instead of just creating the story for me, Angela asked questions that allowed me to develop the story myself and highlight what I was truly passionate about. After these initial brainstorming sessions, Angela's comments on my essay drafts were not just simple grammar corrections, but were rather insightful and challenged me in a way that resulted in strong, cohesive essays. My essays (and applications) would not have been the same without her help. I enjoyed working with Angela and would recommend her services to anyone!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Big Discounts
on mbaMission
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Jessica Shklar= Stanford GSB and Harvard Kennedy School
July 11 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: July 11, 2013 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  
This review is for:  * School Packages   Consultant:  Jessica Shklar
When I started my application process, I was uncomfortable with my lack of experience and my “unconventional” application. I was in the process of vetting several consultants when I spoke to Jessica for a free consultation. I was instantly sold. She offered me more insight into the application process during that thirty-minute phone call than the rest of the consultants that I had been vetting combined.

From the very beginning, Jessica was invested in me, my story, and perhaps most importantly, how to help me present the very best version of myself/story. I can honestly say that during EVERY step of the process, Jessica went above and beyond what was required of her. Her knowledge base, attention to detail, and just overall brilliance, helped me to create what I viewed to be a perfect admissions package. She was so personally invested in my story that as far as I was concerned, I was her only client. She immediately responded to my emails and was always available.

What makes Jessica so special is her palpable excitement and energy throughout the process—and her unbelievable concern for and investment in my success. If you are at all concerned about the potential costs, Jessica’s insider knowledge and familiarity with the process, to me, in many ways, was priceless.

Overall, though, the most important thing about Jessica is how remarkably clear it is that she is always giving you her very best in every aspect of her work. I can honestly say, that if you decide to hire Jessica, I am absolutely convinced that you will be hiring the best. I am happy to say that because of Jessica’s help I will be attending Harvard’s Kennedy School in the fall, and Stanford’s Graduate School of Business the following year.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Liza Weale, A+++
July 13 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: October 30, 2012 | 0 | 5 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  
This review is for:  Hourly Services   Consultant:  Liza Weale
Liza was tremendously helpful in my admission to my top school choice. I procrastinated greatly in writing my essays for Round 2 applications, and in the final 12 days before applications were due (also the week of Christmas/New Years), I sent an S.O.S. to mbaMission requesting tutor help, not expecting that any tutor would have capacity to help me.

When I was matched with Liza, I could not have asked for a better experience. Because I was paying extra for expedited turnaround, Liza got right down to business and helped me devise an action plan leading up to the final deadlines. I spent the next 10 days emailing back and forth with her, bouncing ideas and drafts around. Liza was 100% responsive, helpful, creative, committed, and genuine, and she was monumental in helping me refine my essays to perfection. She also made the process fun. Most notably, Liza kept in touch with me after I submitted my applications; she helped me prep for the interview, sent me a “thinking of you” note on interview day and on decision day, and when I was waitlisted, she stuck with me. Liza helped me strategize my efforts to tackle the waitlist process, which after three months, proved successful.

At the end of this process, not only have I gained admission to my top choice program, but I also feel like I have gained a true friend who is interested in my success. I highly recommend Liza to anyone looking for help, especially in a pinch, because you will not get better treatment or a better experience, or find a better friend, anywhere. Thank you Liza!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Big Discounts
on mbaMission
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Great service...great results...the best experience
September 05 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By addefta joined: November 21, 2012 | 10 | 6 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Some, but not all
This review is for:  * School Packages   Consultant:  Liza Weale
I decided late in life to pursue an MBA... I am 35 now, almost 36. However, I have strong reasons and my determination finally paid off.
My first choice was INSEAD and I knew I had only one bullet for this. So I tried my best, I had a 740 GMAT score after preparing for four intensive months, I had a not so well 111 TOEFL, and I decided to invest some money and hire a professional consultant for my application. I just wanted everything to be perfect, or the best application I could have.
After reading some reviews (thanks everyone who took the time to share experiences) I decided to go ahead with Liza. After all this work ended, I know that I had my best shot.
To get to the point, Liza helped me in a number of ways. Just to mention the most important:
1 - After I wrote my brainstorming document, we had a long Skype call in which she pointed out her opinion about what story I should use and we chose the stories for outline. Here I was impressed about her really read the document, although it was a little bit long. She really knew what my stories were and things went smooth. We chose the stories that best describe me, both professional and personal. This proved to me she is really engaged in this project of ours, I would say.
2 – By asking a lot of questions, she made me really get to the point. Every time she wanted me to explain why and how I did everything, what were my motivations, inner thoughts, etc. Really helpful.
3 – She really gave me confidence that my application shows the best of me, and it is done in a professional way.
4 – Always getting to the point, in her reviews she always squeezed my 200 words stories in 40 or 50, without sacrificing anything essential. This I appreciated very much because, as you can see, I kind of like to write a lot and not always the most essential part.
5 – After every essay was ready, she put everything together just to make sure we didn’t miss something important.
6 – The two-day response is for the “normal” times. In the last two days before my application deadline, I got my reviews even in a couple of hours. Really important and I appreciated that.
Now…after everything has been done… I got my answer from INSEAD. Unfortunately, dinged w/o an interview. I took this hit in full. I knew from the start that I wasn’t the “standard” candidate for INSEAD, my two main “problems” being my age and not a really international career (at least this I think). But, no matter the result, I am confident that I had my best shot. It just wasn’t meant to be. Liza was very sympathetic and I she did care for this result, as she proved me after that.
After that, I applied for IE and ask for help from Liza once again. I went with hourly rates, using her advice. Once again, she helped me to best summarize my application. She made a lot of extra effort, proving once again how much she cared about this “project”. IE accepted me and right now I have to decide between them and Warwick (which gave me a full scholarship). Even if Liza didn’t help me directly with Warwick essays, I found it much easier to put together my Warwick application based on the stories just drilled down with Liza. I am sure that those stories also contribute to my success with Warwick.
I found mbaMission site very useful, with a lot of very insight information – a must read. My interactions with them were very “light” as I was working directly with Liza and she helped me with every logistical issue.
Having experience only with mbaMission and Liza, I cannot compare with other company/consultant. I hope this review help for understanding what to expect when working with Liza. I am sure that, if I were to choose again, I would work again with Liza without the smallest second thought as she really exceeded my expectations in every aspect. I am very grateful to her, and to the reviewers that made me decide to work with Liza. If you have any other question I did not answer here, feel free to contact me directly and I would provide you further details. It is my pleasure to speak about Liza.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Angela Guido - All-In-One
July 21 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: July 21, 2013 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  
This review is for:  * School Packages   Consultant:  Angela Guido
To set the scene: It was mid-October. I had just taken the GMAT for the first time and was uninterested in repeating the ordeal. I had not yet opened an application much less determined to which schools I would apply. I also had neither a resume nor a solid narrative as to exactly why I needed to attend business school, yet I was adamant about applying in Round 2 - some 10 weeks later - and to some assortment of top tier schools no less. I realized quickly that I was ill-prepared.

Enter Angela.

Angela provided the necessary candor and experience to appropriately set my admissions expectations and to focus my list of schools. She diligently culled through my life story to help me develop my "why business school" narrative and accentuate my unique characteristics that set me apart from other applicants - both of which allowed me to gain a better sense of self. She aided my choosing appropriate essay topics (which is more difficult than one expects) and perfecting those stories through countless drafts. She instilled a greater confidence and speed in my writing, qualities that I had always lacked. She helped me pull together a resume from scratch in under 24 hours, coached me on interview questions, and answered countless paranoid e-mails. And when I was initially waitlisted at seemingly all of my schools, she enthusiastically motivated me to continue fighting for admission until I achieved just that.

The cost might be steep, but one is not gaining just an advisor in Angela. One is gaining a coach, a psychiatrist, an editor, a mentor, a confidant, a cheerleader, and a friend. And I truly needed all of those to have gained admission to a Top 5 school - my dream school, no less.

Thank you, Angela. I hope others will benefit from your exceptional, all-in-one skills as I did.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Big Discounts
on mbaMission
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Angela is the best!!!
July 21 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: May 11, 2013 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  
This review is for:  * School Packages   Consultant:  Angela Guido
Angela is incredible! I cannot thank her enough for all the assistance she had provided with my NYU Stern application. My deadline was May 15th. I started in late March and finished everything in less than two months. I would never have done this myself as I was also working full time and preparing for the GMAT in these two months. Angela was very patient, she worked with my schedule and helped me in every possible way.
 
With Angela's assistance, all my essays shaped up really well. She also helped me with my resume, work history, achievements and every other aspect of the application. With her assistance I was able to present myself at my best.

The initial brainstorming session was excellent. Angela pushed me to think out of the box to come with great ideas for my essays. She helped me to extract the hidden qualities in me which I never thought existed. Also she guided me to edit the essays and point out the mistakes. Being from a technical background my essays were initially looking very technical. She helped me to correct it in a way by avoiding all the jargons so that it look friendly to the adcom.

Because of my short timeframe I received a low GMAT score, a little below the mid 600s, which was not enough being an over represented demopgrahic, but i still decided to apply with the score. I'm proud to say that I got admitted in Stern even with the low score! I'm starting school this fall :) The main reason for this is because of the other aspects of my application, especially my three essays, for which I will give the full credit to Angela. She is very open and appreciates the good work but at the same time points out things that needs improvement.

If you are really serious in getting in to a business school and you don't have enough time to do your research/study for months and months, it is good to seek some professional help. You will be amazed to see how much difference it makes especially with somebody like Angela.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Never could have done it without mbaMission
July 30 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: July 30, 2013 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  
This review is for:  * School Packages   Consultant:  Susan Kaplan
I had started preparing my applications for the top MBA programs and thought I was in pretty good shape, until I asked mbaMission's consultant Susan to have a look at my file. Boy, am I glad I did that! Thanks to Susan's impressive experience and credentials, I was truly able to raise my game to the next level. She was more than helpful, and struck a great balance in bringing new ideas vs working with my owns ideas. I'd say working with someone with good experience to help you build your case for top schools through a second perspective is a must, but Susan really surpassed any expectation I had for this. Her dedication and enthusiasm made me feel that I was really getting my bang for the buck. I would strongly recommend her to anyone thinking of applying to an MBA program.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Big Discounts
on mbaMission
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community


mbaMission
Admissions Consulting
Big Discounts on Consulting
 
Learn more here