mbaMission Admissions Consulting Reviews
    Number of reviews [225]      Average Rating:       (5.0/5)
Packages
    
    
    
    
    
    
mbaMission is a professional MBA Admissions consulting firm, specializing in helping business school applicants identify and showcase the strongest aspects of their candidacy in their applications. Their dedicated consultants work one-on-one with candidates to ensure their unique stories are presented in a compelling way that will make the admissions committees take notice.
  Reviews
Sort by:   date of publication  most helpful
Liza Weale/mbaMission
July 01 | 2013

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By DCMBACandidate joined: May 14, 2013 | 1 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  
This review is for:  * School Packages   Consultant:  Liza Weale
The entire MBA application process was scary and overwhelming to me; I came from a non-traditional background and I didn't see myself as a strong MBA candidate. I was struggling with my GMAT score and knew I had to compensate with the rest of my application. However, this was difficult to do when I lacked the confidence to emphasize my skills in my resume and essays. In my head I would downplay my accomplishments and couldn't really find what was “special” about me in reviewing my resume and professional experience.

With this in mind, I decided to sign up for mbaMission's services to help me with the process. It seemed like a good investment from reading other's reviews and knowing that there was one specific school that I was interested in. I knew that it would also help keep me on track with editing/writing my essays and help me avoid submitting my applications last minute.

I had an initial phone consult with Liza Weale and found her to be extremely friendly and encouraging; I already felt more confident about myself after speaking to her for 30 minutes. Her friendliness did not mean she was not direct with me; she told me where I needed to improve and how I needed to adjust my thinking. After filling out a basic questionnaire of my accomplishments and descriptions of my work and personal experiences, Liza helped me find a common thread/theme that would set me apart from other applicants. If it had not been for Liza I would have been blind to these positive experiences and traits.

I went through several drafts of each of my essays. As many other reviewers have said- mbaMission's consultants do not write your essay for you; you have to put in the work yourself. What they will do is help you think differently about what you are trying to say and make sure you think about what you're writing from the perspective of AdComm. Throughout the essay writing process Liza was always prompt and thorough in her advice. I often had follow up or random questions, and I never hesitated to reach out to her for advice; I never once felt that she was annoyed or impatient with me.

Once I received an interview invitation, Liza conducted a mock interview with me. She was extremely honest with her feedback and I felt well prepared before my interview.

Overall, I can say that working with Liza was the best decision I made in the MBA application process. It was one of the most worthwhile investments I have made- not only for the edge I gained with my application, but for the encouragement, support and confidence she gave me (and the confidence is really a long term benefit). I felt like she was my biggest cheerleader throughout the process; whenever I felt down or discouraged, she was there to support me and keep me positive. It was also her encouragement that made me attempt the GMAT one more time- resulting in a significantly higher score than my previous attempts (and more in line with my practice scores) and likely my acceptance into my first choice MBA program.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Happy with Daniel Richards @ mbaMission
December 03 | 2013

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: August 27, 2013 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - school of my dreams
This review is for:  * School Packages   Consultant:  Daniel Richards
I signed up with mbaMission because it was recommended by my GMAT course - Manhattan GMAT. Previously, I did not know anyone who had done an MBA so I was unsure of the entire process and Daniel's advice was very beneficial when it came to filling out my application. He made the process for me a lot less stressful.

Certainly, his advice for my resume and my application essays was extremely valuable. I was also writing my gmats at the same time as trying to manage resume revisions and essays - we developed a good work-back schedule to accommodate all so that I could apply for first round at my first choice school (which I did receive an offer of admission from).

Additionally, I could email him whenever I wanted and he always got back to me within 1 day for questions (e.g. interview support, open house etiquette, etc.)

I greatly appreciated his candid remarks and I would certainly recommend his services. In particular, the word count for my essays was very limited, so having Daniel read over my essays and ensure there was a concise storyline that exemplified my own skills/strengths was very good. It is difficult to find a family member or friend who will read through your MBA essays over and over with a critical eye.

Overall, I am really happy I chose mbaMission. I only gave 4 stars out of 5 because I would say that the prices are very expensive, though there is true value to mbaMission and their consultants. If I had to do it over again, I would still chose to move forward with mbaMission.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Big Discounts
on mbaMission
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Eh... it was okay
March 26 | 2014

1 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: March 18, 2012 | 21 | 9 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Some, but not all
This review is for:  MBA Student Services   Consultant:  Katharine Lewis
I hired mbaMission for a 2-school package and I don't feel like I received the full value I paid for. My consultant was helpful in crafting my initial story but after that, the edits were much more superficial. I ended up asking a close friend to read my essays, and he provided the type of valuable feedback I was seeking from my admission consultant.

If the services were cheaper, then I don't think it would have been as big of an issue but for the thousands of dollars I paid for, I was expecting a lot more substantive feedback. I know it may sound like I am unhappy with mbaMission's services because I was not admitted to the 2 schools I applied for but that is definitely not the case. Even if I was admitted, my opinions on the value of the service I paid for would have remained the same.
Was this review helpful to you?
   
[1]
Liza Weale is a MBA LIFE SAVER!
January 12 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: November 28, 2011 | 0 | 5 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - school of my dreams
This review is for:  * School Packages   Consultant:  Liza Weale
I can't say enough great things about mbaMission and Liza Weale. mbaMission not only helped me get into the school of my dreams but it also helped my husband to be get into the school of his dreams as well.

Liza is just simple amazing. When you are speaking with her, she is completely focused on you and your goals. She is extremely responsive via email whenever you have any questions - which is a big deal for me. She is also adaptive and customizable in her approach. For example, she had given me some advice about how to take one of my essays. I decided to go against it and do something completely different and she was not only supportive but still extremely helpful.

To me, this whole process of writing your applications is extremely vulnerable so you want someone who is invested as much as you are and cares about you. Liza is exactly that.

Even when I got into schools, you would think that they would be done the process but Liza was just excited for me as I was for myself about getting in. She is even helping me look into writing programs because I want to improve my writing before I attend school.

Overall, I don't say I enjoy the process of writing MBA application but Liza made it manageable and made it so much easier.

Her greatest strength is her ability to coach you through the process.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Big Discounts
on mbaMission
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Expensive but worth it?
January 13 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: May 29, 2013 | 2 | 5 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Some, but not all
This review is for:  Hourly Services   Consultant:  Rachel Beck
Admission consultants are expensive. Probably too expensive. But I got to the point where I had read so many books, blogs and school website that I wasn't sure which way was up anymore and needed a little bit of help. I used the hourly service because I wanted someone to confirm that I was going in the correct direction and to help refine my essays to make them as clear and articulate as possible. Rachel did just that (mostly because I told her that's what I wanted). I would recommend getting a very good handle on the process before shelling out the cash for a consultant. Figure out where your weakness are in the apps and then ask someone for help with that. Be careful that they don't take away from your voice though (Rachel was good but many consultants walk the line). She tells you everything in a very honest way. If you like that kind of talk, Rachel is the lady for you.

Good luck!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
mbaMission Review
January 15 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: January 15, 2014 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Some, but not all
This review is for:  * School Packages   Consultant:  Angela Guido
I worked with mbaMission, in particular Angela Guido, from the beginning of my MBA application process to the end. Angela turned out to be a great resource for me, even before I began writing my essays. She really helped me to think through the major events and stories in my life, and, through her probing, allowed me to see them from various angles that could add to my application. As for the essays, Angela’s biggest value-add was helping me dig into my past to arrive at the real root of the answers to the questions the schools were asking. From there, she helped me frame the big picture response to ensure that the themes I wanted to highlight came through.
Almost as useful as Angela’s feedback was being on a strict timeline with deadlines. Dual-tracking multiple applications with a full time job meant I needed to continuously work on my essays. Because mbaMission has a two-day-turnaround policy, I was forced to work on my essays as soon as they were returned to me in order to get them back to Angela quickly. This allowed me to get through many iterations of my essays, in a short timeframe, until I was confident in the final product. One area where I thought Angela could have been more helpful was in her specific comments in my essays. Sometimes she would highlight a piece of an essay she wanted changed, but she didn’t always give concrete guidance on how to best accomplish what she wanted to see.
Aside from Angela, I found mbaMission’s materials to be very useful. Their guides for the various schools helped me to develop my “Why [School]” essays, while giving me insight into the differences between MBA programs. Furthermore, their interview materials were great and left me feeling very prepared.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Big Discounts
on mbaMission
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Satisfied and grateful
June 10 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: October 22, 2013 | 16 | 10 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - school of my dreams
This review is for:  * School Packages   Consultant:  John Sisk
This was my second time to the application rodeo. Three years ago, I applied and got dinged everywhere. I took some time off the applications process, got a new job and decided this year was the year I needed to go to school.

After 7 years post-undergrad, I felt I had a lot of stories and trouble finding the right ones. I also have non-traditional background and non-traditional career goals. On top of that, I had low GMAT and GPA. With all of these factors, I wanted to pony up for a consultant and find someone who would be a trusted advisor throughout the process.

I had my initial consultation with Rachel who, given my needs for editing support and career vision, recommended John.

John has a direct and efficient working style which I appreciated. "I'm going to take a hammer to your first draft." Go right ahead, John!

Early in the process, John picked up on an old career goal - something I thought was irrelevant. In our discussions, John showed how I could reposition a previous career goal into a strong foundation for my essays. In fact, I still use this repositioning in my networking. John's prior experience in Stern's career center really paid off here.

From the smallest grammatical detail to the larger picture we were trying to paint, John was incredibly supportive. I credit this with his journalist background. I felt strong investment from him in getting to know me and the experiences that shaped me and would make my a strong candidate for an MBA.

In researching other consulting firms, I felt mbaMission's personal touch and full-time model right for me. With other firms, I felt like I would be paying someone to walk me through a template process. With mbaMission, I felt John me truly customized service focusing on areas where I needed work and support in areas I knew I could handle on my own (interview prep). I was also weary of working with someone who was admissions consulting part-time or had a full-time day job.

In the end, I applied to four programs - all top 15 - and was accepted to two including my top choice. Profound thanks to John and mbaMission!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
A Critical Jumpstart
March 14 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: March 14, 2012 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Some, but not all
This review is for:  MBA Application Boot Camp   Consultant:  Angela Guido
I'm a busy lady and I decided to do this whole MBA thing last-minute - and woefully underestimated how much time and energy it would take.

I took the Boot Camp course to get oriented in the process and understand how I should be approaching the application, essays in particular. The course did that and more - it actually forced me to start in on actual essay work, which got me moving far ahead of when I would have started otherwise, and really motivated me once I understood how seriously I needed to take the essays - i.e. just being a "good writer" doesn't get you terribly far, it's really a specific writing craft that takes a lot of thought, time and revision - this course certainly prevented me from shortchanging it.

Angela is simply fantastic - she's the reason I actually took the course content to heart. I am skeptical of services like this and she was immediately credible, authoritative and clearly passionate about helping people do the very best they could with these apps. She sold me on the service and I used mbaMission for even more help subsequently.

I think this course gives you the tools you need to pull off the most important written aspects of the application well. I have gotten interviews at both schools I applied to (decisions havent come out yet) - they were extremely competitive and this program gave be very sound footing towards a real shot at both.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Big Discounts
on mbaMission
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
wonderful experience
January 24 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: June 16, 2011 | 1 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - school of my dreams
This review is for:  * School Packages   Consultant:  Helen Summers
I was a little nervous in singing up for mba missions start to finish package. Most reviews I had read were from those seeking entrance to top tier institutions, whereas I was just hoping to find somewhere that would accept me and needed help in everything from school selection to navigating the entire process. With the aid of my consultant, I was able to find a school that was a perfect fit for mend get accepted, which is no small feat given my prior record in academics. Emails were always promptly returned no matter the time. I couldn't be more pleased and believe it was a wonderful investment for person's in my position as well as those trying to get into an ivy league school.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
This is a must for all MBA Applicants (both part time and full)
January 25 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: January 25, 2012 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - got into all
This review is for:  MBA Application Boot Camp  
I was fortunate enough to take mbaMission's first ever "Constructing a Standout Application Boot Camp" this summer in Chicago.

To say it is money extremely well spent is an understatement. There are probably people out there that may not need this class to get them over "the hump," but for all of us mortals that have aspects of their applications to be worried about, this is THE CLASS to take. Get your GMAT score out of the way a good six months before your applications are due, and then focus on the application by taking this class.

My instructor was Angela Guido. Angela is a former Admissions Committee member at Chicago Booth that has made assisting MBA admissions candidates her life's work. She is EXTREMELY passionate about what she does, and there was not one point in the class where I thought, "I wonder if she really knows what she's talking about?" There is no question that you are getting exceptional advice from her. She manages to make the class fun, and even thought-provoking, which I did not expect. Applying to b-school forces you to put all your cards on the table, and I learned a lot about my strengths and shortcomings in so doing. Angela leads the way, but you also learn a lot from your peers in the class.

Here's what you get:

1. What admissions committees are looking for
2. Pitfalls that you must avoid
3. What about your and your experiences will standout to admissions departments
4. How to tell your "story," and make the admissions committees understand why they should give you a chance

The experience was invaluable, and in my opinion, it is every bit as important as taking a GMAT prep class.

5-stars. Bite the bullet, pony up the cash, and don't look back.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Big Discounts
on mbaMission
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community


mbaMission
Admissions Consulting
Big Discounts on Consulting
 
Learn more here