mbaMission Admissions Consulting Reviews
    Number of reviews [229]      Average Rating:       (5.0/5)
Packages
    
    
    
    
    
    
mbaMission is a professional MBA Admissions consulting firm, specializing in helping business school applicants identify and showcase the strongest aspects of their candidacy in their applications. Their dedicated consultants work one-on-one with candidates to ensure their unique stories are presented in a compelling way that will make the admissions committees take notice.
  Reviews
Sort by:   date of publication  most helpful
wonderful experience
January 24 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: June 16, 2011 | 1 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - school of my dreams
This review is for:  * School Packages   Consultant:  Helen Summers
I was a little nervous in singing up for mba missions start to finish package. Most reviews I had read were from those seeking entrance to top tier institutions, whereas I was just hoping to find somewhere that would accept me and needed help in everything from school selection to navigating the entire process. With the aid of my consultant, I was able to find a school that was a perfect fit for mend get accepted, which is no small feat given my prior record in academics. Emails were always promptly returned no matter the time. I couldn't be more pleased and believe it was a wonderful investment for person's in my position as well as those trying to get into an ivy league school.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
This is a must for all MBA Applicants (both part time and full)
January 25 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: January 25, 2012 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - got into all
This review is for:  MBA Application Boot Camp  
I was fortunate enough to take mbaMission's first ever "Constructing a Standout Application Boot Camp" this summer in Chicago.

To say it is money extremely well spent is an understatement. There are probably people out there that may not need this class to get them over "the hump," but for all of us mortals that have aspects of their applications to be worried about, this is THE CLASS to take. Get your GMAT score out of the way a good six months before your applications are due, and then focus on the application by taking this class.

My instructor was Angela Guido. Angela is a former Admissions Committee member at Chicago Booth that has made assisting MBA admissions candidates her life's work. She is EXTREMELY passionate about what she does, and there was not one point in the class where I thought, "I wonder if she really knows what she's talking about?" There is no question that you are getting exceptional advice from her. She manages to make the class fun, and even thought-provoking, which I did not expect. Applying to b-school forces you to put all your cards on the table, and I learned a lot about my strengths and shortcomings in so doing. Angela leads the way, but you also learn a lot from your peers in the class.

Here's what you get:

1. What admissions committees are looking for
2. Pitfalls that you must avoid
3. What about your and your experiences will standout to admissions departments
4. How to tell your "story," and make the admissions committees understand why they should give you a chance

The experience was invaluable, and in my opinion, it is every bit as important as taking a GMAT prep class.

5-stars. Bite the bullet, pony up the cash, and don't look back.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Big Discounts
on mbaMission
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Couldn't have done it without mbaMission
January 25 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: December 31, 1969 | | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - got into all
This review is for:  Hourly Services   Consultant:  Susan Kaplan
I started drafting my essays alone and took the free 30-minute consultation to ask for a few hints. I ended up using many hours of my consultant's time, Susan Kaplan. Susan was simply incredible: she really put her vast experience to profit by helping me transform my essays, with a turn-around time for her comments that was more than I could ask for. I could not have done it without her.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
mbaMission Boot Camp is excellent!
January 29 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: January 29, 2012 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Some, but not all
This review is for:  MBA Application Boot Camp   Consultant:  Angela Guido
After completing the MBA Application Boot Camp with mbaMission I was incredibly inspired and actually excited to continue with my business school applications. As someone looking for a career transition, I had many uncertainties about even applying. The course is a huge self exploration process and I left with a better sense of who I was, what I wanted, and where I stood as an applicant. As a result, I gained the strength and confidence I was lacking in order to persevere with the application process.

Consultant Angela Guido is absolutely fantastic! She has you do various exercises that pull out the qualities about yourself that you either forgot or didn’t realize existed, and helps you articulate these qualities effectively in the essay writing. She beats you over the head (with love) with the “show don’t tell” method of writing and once you get it, the essays instantly become easier and actually enjoyable to write as well as much more exciting! Angela has a wonderful “can do” attitude and is extremely knowledgeable, enthusiastic and supportive while still providing realistic expectations.

This has to be one of the best values out there in terms of MBA application consulting. You will see a huge improvement in such a short amount of time and will feel much more comfortable with continuing the process on your own if you are not able to afford additional consulting. You also get the benefit of hearing your classmates’ stories and goals which helps for your own essay ideas and defining your own goals while still getting a significant amount of personal feedback. The best of both worlds!

I highly recommend this workshop. It was a truly great experience that made all the difference.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Big Discounts
on mbaMission
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
mbaMission Boot Camp well worth it
January 31 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By bcool3784 joined: January 30, 2012 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Some, but not all
This review is for:  MBA Application Boot Camp  
The mbaMission Boot Camp came at just the right time in the process for me. Deadlines were about a month away, and I was beginning to worry about being behind in my preparation. The class was structured so that no matter where an applicant was in the process, it would be beneficial. The time the class required me to dedicate to the process was the perfect motivation for advancing my applications. Compared to simple essay reviews or reading books on my own, the class allowed me to progress my essays a tremendous amount for the time and price.

Angela taught the class in a very cooperative and interactive way, and this allowed me to both test out essay ideas and also learn from critiquing those in my class. She taught me how to craft my message into enjoyable stories with vivid details and a captivating structure. The most impactful lesson I learned was how to show the reader who I was and my accomplishments through examples rather simply telling about achievements and events.

This was a great class that jump started my applications and resulted in a great final product.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Great boot camp to get your applications started
February 04 | 2012

       By Anonymous joined: January 10, 2012 | 0 | 5 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Some, but not all
This review is for:  MBA Application Boot Camp   Consultant:  Angela Guido
I took the GMAT in early December 2011, and got a good enough score that I decided I would try to do one application for the Round 2 deadlines. I signed up for a 30-minute free consultation with MBA Mission, where I got some good feedback, and decided that I would sign up for the boot camp.

The boot camp is a great way to get started with your first b-school applications, particularly for those who are brand-new to the process and haven't been planning to go to b-school for the last five years. The instructor, in this case Angela Guido, answered basic questions like what are admissions committees looking for, how to shape your essays, and what to put on your resume.

This class is not going to magically transform you into a brilliant writer, but it may improve your storytelling abilities and it may help you find the right subject/event to share with the admissions committee.

The best value by far from the class is the essay review that the instructor provides, which included line edits as well as a 20-minute private conversation on the phone. Angela gave me very insightful comments, and helped me find the right direction for my essay. I ended up scrapping the essay that I shared with the class entirely, but am confident it was the right decision.

Angela gave excellent advice and direction, and she really helped make the class a comfortable, interactive one. I was nervous about the online format of the class, but she pulled all of us onto the microphone and got us to talk. It felt very close to a live class and I appreciated that.

Having attended some of mbaMission's free seminars, I noticed there was some overlap in content given in the class, which is understandable--most of the other students likely hadn't seen mbaMission's presentations before.

Overall, I would say this is a great deal for a great price. Once I finished the class, I approached the rest of the application process with much more confidence. It was a great way for me to begin my applications.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Big Discounts
on mbaMission
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
MBA Application Boot Camp - Best Choice!
February 06 | 2012

       By Anonymous joined: February 4, 2011 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Waitlisted
This review is for:  MBA Application Boot Camp  
I didn't expect to be such an active participant in mbaMission's MBA Application Boot Camp. It was surprisingly interactive with a lot of great exercises that showed you effective story telling techniques for your essays and how to build an outstanding resume. I learned what the admissions committees look for as well as what my strengths and weaknesses are in my application.

Angela is an exemplary consultant. She is upbeat, open, honest and extremely knowledgeable in this field. I was impressed with her ability to connect with all of the students in the course and respond to all of our questions thoughtfully and adequately. She always provided us individual constructive feedback especially in the end during our final one-on-one meeting. With her help, I left the course knowing precisely what more I needed to work on and with greater confidence.

Even though I don't plan to apply until Fall 2012, I feel got a solid start on the overwhelming process. This course truly exceeded my expectations. It was money definitely well spent. I would highly recommend this course to all MBA applicants.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Really, really helpful!
February 06 | 2012

       By MissEducation joined: February 6, 2012 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Some, but not all
This review is for:  MBA Application Boot Camp  
I signed up for the Application Boot Camp in August 2011, primarily to kick myself into gear for the application essay-writing process. Boot camp definitely got me started brainstorming ideas for essays, but, more importantly, the class provided me with a clear framework for developing a strong application narrative. Angela led the class with enthusiasm and a great sense of humor; she's super smart and "with it," and I found her really helpful in guiding my thinking about which stories to choose for the schools I applied to. I also left the class with a fully revised, ready-to-go resume, which was great to have on hand, ready to go during application time.

Overall, this class was a great way to start the process, and you get bang for your buck. I feel like I got the personalized benefits of one-on-one consulting in a collaborative, group setting. I also enjoyed the other people in the class, and I found their feedback on my work useful. One person in the class even set up an e-mail list for ongoing feedback and collaboration, which I thought was great. (Although I must admit I didn't use this forum because I felt on such solid ground after the class.)



- The extent to which the class enabled you to get a better sense of who you are, your accomplishments, and your future

- The usefulness of having 1:1 feedback on your work from a consultant
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Big Discounts
on mbaMission
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
It was a great help and experience
February 07 | 2012

       By masalaverria joined: February 7, 2012 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - got into all
This review is for:  * School Packages  
My experience with mbaMission consultant was a great one. Starting with the brainstorming document, I was able to get great stories to tell on my applications and bring out the best part of my personal experience. Once I decided on the schools that I wanted to apply to, I was able to go through the essay questions with my consultant and determine the best stories to tell in each one. Although the process was stressful at times, getting help from the consultant allowed me to time my application process, and not wait until the last minute.

I was recommended this company when I started the process, and would I definitely recommend mbaMission to anyone considering having a consultant help them in the admissions process.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
mbaMission is the BEST!!!
February 08 | 2012

       By IK joined: February 8, 2012 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - school of my dreams
This review is for:  * School Packages   Consultant:  Jessica Shklar
I cannot recommend mbaMission highly enough and specifically Jessica Shklar. I don't know if I could have gotten into HBS without her. To say that she was instrumental in my MBA application is a massive understatement - she literally transformed my application and my essays, made them come alive. I think the most difficult aspect of these applications is that no matter how much time, heart, and soul you pour into them, you still self-doubt and over-analyze. The amazing thing about working with mbaMission's extremely talented writers is that you can rest easy with the knowledge that you will really, truly submit your best possible application - you don't have to worry about whether you could have done something better. Not only do you get external affirmation from an expert who has read thousands of these essays, but you also will have fine-tuned it with her to the point where you feel happy with your application, and I think that this is critical to stay sane and happy throughout this process.

mbaMission, specifically Jessica Shklar, are by far the best consultants out there in my opinion. I have spoken to friends who have tried other consultants - the problem with others is that 1) they may not care as much or really give it their all...Jessica responded immediately to a million e-mails a day from me with depth, knowledge, and guidance, and every draft I got back was insightfully edited word-for-word (she entertained my debates and over-analysis of literally every single word); and 2) they are not professional writers in the way that mbaMission consultants are - Jessica is a brilliant, gifted writer who will bring your essays to life and make sure your story comes out comprehensively, compellingly, and powerfully enough to resonate with the AdCom. She framed so many of my essays into words that I was unable to get on paper myself. She has the ability to cut through a jumbled, non-sensical mess of words on the paper and say, "This is what you are REALLY trying to say. This is the crux of it, the meaning that is coming out. Try saying it this way instead..." Her suggestions every single time were so brilliant I counted my lucky stars that I had found her.

Jessica truly exceeded all of my expectations. I did not think that I could find a consultant who would be there for me as much as she was, through every single line, draft, and question. The best thing about her is that she is a straight-shooter - no bs, no nonsense, no sugar-coating. She tells you how it is and doesn't waste time. If your draft is no good, she will tell you, but then help you to improve it step by step. She will not rest or allow you to submit until you both are 100% happy with it. And she helps not just with the essays (though at essays there is no one better in my opinion), but also with the entire application, interviews, etc. Hire mbaMission and Jessica Shklar - best decision you will ever make if you want to get into the school of your dreams!!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Big Discounts
on mbaMission
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community


mbaMission
Admissions Consulting
Big Discounts on Consulting
 
Learn more here