mbaMission Admissions Consulting Reviews
    Number of reviews [181]      Average Rating:       (4.9/5)
Packages
    
    
    
    
    
    
mbaMission is a professional MBA Admissions consulting firm, specializing in helping business school applicants identify and showcase the strongest aspects of their candidacy in their applications. Their dedicated consultants work one-on-one with candidates to ensure their unique stories are presented in a compelling way that will make the admissions committees take notice.
  Reviews
Sort by:   date of publication  most helpful
Looking for for that competitive edge? This is it!
August 20 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By OnMyWaytoMyMBA2015 joined: August 20, 2012 | 2 | 5 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Some, but not all
This review is for:  MBA Application Boot Camp   Consultant:  Angela Guido
The mbaMission Application Boot Camp exceeded my expectations. It completely changed the way I am going about writing my essays. It helped me truly understand what the admissions committees are looking for and taught me how to write compelling and vivid essays through storytelling. The boot camp helped me understand my strengths, identify my accomplishments, and ultimately get a better sense of who I am in order to build my essays.

Angela Guido is a great instructor. She has a passion for helping others and is an expert in getting the best out of everyone in the classroom. She has the unique ability to see things for what they are and help you turn them into a compelling story. She made me feel comfortable and confident about the application process. Angela created a comfortable environment to share and learn from my other 5 classmates. It was extremely helpful having other students to learn from and bounce ideas off of.

I am currently completing my applications and feel confident that Angela has put me on the right track. I would recommend this boot camp with Angela for anyone who is looking for a competitive edge in your application process and want to learn from the best.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Boot Camp = B-School
September 10 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By redmartinicure joined: September 10, 2012 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - got into all
This review is for:  MBA Application Boot Camp   Consultant:  Angela Guido
Prior to the course I had invested almost $2,000 towards getting into b-school. How hard could essay writing be? I have ample experience and got a 6 on my GMAT essays.

Let the fantasy stop there. This course completely changed my perspective on b-school essays and really highlighted how unprepared I was, drawing attention to the nuances of the school's questions while at the same time providing the tools necessary to create a cohesive application.

Even if you feel organized and prepared, the ROI of this program should compel you to invest just to ensure you're on the right path and are truly sharing a UNIQUE, powerful story with your schools.

Angela's no-nonsense attitude allowed me to get direct feedback and focused more of my attention on where it counted - crafting an honest, genuine story for my schools.

While I am still applying and cannot tout acceptances, yet, I can certainly tell you that I would have been a direct-deny for both schools without this course.

Thanks, Angela!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Big Discounts
on mbaMission
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
mbaMission got me into Haas
November 11 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By MJLarcher joined: November 11, 2012 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - school of my dreams
This review is for:  MBA Student Services  
Jessica from mbaMission got me into my dream school.

When I started applying to B School I had the standard (aka boring) profile of so many adequately qualified individuals. Jessica wouldn't let that stand. Over several sessions she coaxed relevant and interesting stories out of me that transformed me into the type of exciting MBA candidate I hoped to be. She helped me show that I was more than just a consultant.... I was traveler, a dreamer, and a person who plans to make a difference in this world.

She helped me tell my story in a way I never could have done on my own. Thank you Jessica. I'm loving it at Haas.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
An Eye-opener for serious B-School aspirants
November 12 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By tprakash joined: September 11, 2012 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Some, but not all
This review is for:  MBA Application Boot Camp   Consultant:  Angela Guido
I took the mbaMission's application bootcamp in August and its a short, rigorous program that drivels down every generalist nitty-gritty of the application process into your head in a very short time. The class size was small so there was plenty of room for personal interaction.

Our instructor was Angela Guido whose extraordinary energy and depth of knowledge seemed a little intimidating at first, but she turned out to be extremely friendly and helpful. So in a nutshell, here's what you'll walk out with after taking this course -

1. Learn the factors that would help you pin down a healthy and balanced list of schools that you would want to apply to. Before knowing these factors, my choice of schools seemed pretty 'random'. Not only choosing a school for the right reasons very important in realizing your ambitions, but you're also able to convince the admissions committee a lot more convincingly that you're the right choice for them.

2. Learn how to write effective and powerful essays. Essays, of course, are the most important part of an MBA application and gives you an unlimited opportunity to shine. But its also the most slippery road down the path to a B-school. This course acquaints you with different kinds of essays and shows you how to brainstorm ideas, stories from your life etc. to create a powerful self-character and bring it across in the essays. Then there are numerous do-and-don'ts in the essays which can make or break an app. Angela conducted extensive practice exercises to help put us in ad-com's shoes and understand why what works, works and why what kills an app does so. This was very enlightening!

3. Learn the do' and don'ts of an effective resume, in a way similar to the essays.

4. An personal one-on-one essays analysis and critical feedback.

Ultimately, this course made me realize just how much work goes into preparing an surefire application but also gave me some very effective tools to work with. I've just started applying to schools and I use these tools everyday while preparing my applications.

The program could be a bit of a pinch in the wallet but I do believe that mbaMission are the best in what they do, and with Angela as the instructor I think it was worth the money. I would highly recommend this excellent program to anyone who is serious about getting into a top-10 B-School and wants a cheaper alternative to complete start-to-finish packages.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Big Discounts
on mbaMission
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Praise for Application Boot Camp
November 12 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: November 12, 2012 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - got into all
This review is for:  MBA Application Boot Camp  
This class was very helpful in first understanding the expectations of the Admissions Committees, and how to put together a successfull application, including how to frame essays and write resumes. Angela provided examples and exercises that allowed us to think through some of the most critical questions, including what we hoped to accomplish through pursuing an MBA. She was also able to provide tailored feedback for each of the students, based on our backgrounds and goals in seeking an MBA.

The other benefit of taking this class was meeting other applicants, who were going through the same process. We were able to bounce ideas off of each other and review one another's essays.

Overall, this class provided a lot of help in preparing applications, and, even though it was only a couple hours on a weekend, made a big difference in the quality of my applications.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Worth the money - just do it!!
November 12 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By carholland joined: August 29, 2012 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Some, but not all
This review is for:  MBA Application Boot Camp   Consultant:  Angela Guido
This class was absolutely worth the money, and more, beyond what it costs. Angela is engaging and friendly, yet no-nonsense.

The classes were engaging and went at a steady pace - I never was bored or felt overwhelmed. If anything I would suggest that they be harder sticklers about doing the homework (I didn't do mine....) because, like the rest of the class, the homework was extremely helpful as well!

During class we worked on everything from essay writing (whooaa before I took this class was I ever way off) to the resume to getting in the mentality of the AdCom. I've been complimented on my resume many times but it looked like a piece of garbage before I learned what we did in the class.

Totally would recommend these guys - just pony up the cash and do it, you won't regret it!


And I say I got into "some, but not all" of my schools, but I haven't heard back from the yet, so I don't know. But did this improve my application? 100%
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Big Discounts
on mbaMission
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Without her I would no be in school
January 15 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: November 27, 2012 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - school of my dreams
This review is for:  * School Packages   Consultant:  Angela Guido
Angela helped me extensively throughout the application process. She is a very realistic person and gives you her honest opinion right from the start, which I greatly appreciated.

I did not have a good enough GMAT score for McCombs. My GMAT was way below the average GMAT score of the entry class. However, with Angela's creative skills she aided the build up of my resume and application that got me my acceptance at the University of Texas at Austin.

Angela works very hard and expects the same amount of effort from her client. She cares a lot about the people she's working with and treats their work as if it were her own. She will continue to encourage you to rework your applications, essays and resume until it meets and exceeds the expectations of the admissions officers at any Business School.

I believe that without her input and help I would not have gotten my acceptance.

THANK YOU ANGELA!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Absolutely worth the investment
January 23 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: January 23, 2013 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - school of my dreams
This review is for:  Hourly Services   Consultant:  Rachel Beck
Overall, mbaMission was unbelievably helpful throughout the application process. I applied to three schools, and for each I was slightly above average with my GMAT score, but well below average with respect to my GPA as an undergrad. Because of this I felt it was really important for my candidacy that my essays be clear, and stand out.

I worked with Rachel Beck, and she was amazing when it came to guiding my personal experiences into a clear and concise story, communicating exactly why I need to go to business school. Rachel was very easy to work with and didn’t sugarcoat anything, giving essential feedback whenever was necessary.

I applied to these three schools in round 1, and to be perfectly honest, my biggest fear was that I’d shoot for the stars, miss, and have to scramble to apply the following round to a few schools I wasn’t nearly as excited about. Without mbaMission, and Rachel’s guidance in particular, something tells me that fear would have spun into reality.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Big Discounts
on mbaMission
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Application Boot Camp = Admitted!!
January 25 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By sworland joined: April 10, 2012 | 1 | 5 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - school of my dreams
This review is for:  MBA Application Boot Camp   Consultant:  Angela Guido
My first attempts at essay writing on my own were dreadful because:

1) I didn't believe I had anything extraordinary to tell - I haven’t cured cancer, started a charity, mentored a child, lived in another country, or lost 100 lbs.
2) I couldn't answer the essay questions effectively - 400+ words of background information
3) The tone/voice of my essays was off the mark - It is SO easy to sound whiny, bossy, judgmental, or just plain boring.

I knew I needed help but didn't have the money to hire a 1:1 consultant. So I signed up for the 3-day mbamission Application Boot Camp held in Chicago in August 2012.

The class amounted to 9 hours of live instruction with five other students, a 1 hour pre-recorded class online, and 30 minutes 1:1 with the instructor to review practice essays and answer questions, which I used to discuss application strategy. I was initially nervous about not getting the personal attention of my instructor in a classroom setting. But the group is an added benefit because there are other people to bounce ideas, give feedback, and ask the questions you didn’t think of. But still small enough that your instructor gets to know you, your profile, and answer your personal questions.

Angela Guido is a fantastic instructor. You can tell she has a real passion for this and truly wants to help you succeed. She is intelligent, straight forward, and will tell you like it is. She also has an amazing ability to hear your story and twist it with a fresh perspective, or pull out some ‘a-ha’ that you didn’t initially see, so that you can craft a unique essay. And she will help identify the weaknesses and pitfalls of your writing style, so you can avoid these going forward on your own.

After the class, I was super motivated and applied to 4 schools in Round 1. I got interview invites to all 4, and accepted to 3 - Wharton, Kellogg, & Duke.

If you are SERIOUS about getting into a top 10 program, you are going to need some help. And this class is the best bang for your buck! DO IT!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Super-friendly, super-precise, hugely iterative process but expect improvements each time.
January 29 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: May 10, 2010 | 2 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Some, but not all
This review is for:  * School Packages   Consultant:  Liza Weale
I worked with Liza from MBA Mission on 3 schools, and although I don't have a reference to compare my experience against, I do think that I couldn't have come up with such spot-on essays without Liza's help.

The process, I felt, was a very very involved one. There were many many iterations for every essay, and I'm talking 11 on an average and sometimes even 15 or 16. Liza worked with me very closely on them.

To sum up the process, we'd talk a bit about all the essays before we started to tackle writing them. We'd go through every question, and Liza would ask me questions (a lot of them) that really helped me search my life for relevant stuff that we could use. Liza would then tell me what she thinks about it – whether it's good enough or not, and why. She'd force me to seach harder and harder if she thought the story wasn't strong enough until I came up with something really strong.

Then, once we are settled on stories to write, the iteration begins. I'd come up with crap, and Liza would fix it. That would go on for 10-15 iterations until I had something awesome in hand. Liza was super-friendly, super-patient, and super-supportive through all the rejects – that actually helped a lot!

To sum it up, I'd recommend Liza very strongly. You can definitely count on her to bring out the best in you and then write it in a very compelling fashion.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Big Discounts
on mbaMission
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community


mbaMission
Admissions Consulting
Big Discounts on Consulting
 
Learn more here