mbaMission Admissions Consulting Reviews
    Number of reviews [238]      Average Rating:       (4.9/5)
Packages
    
    
    
    
    
    
mbaMission is a professional MBA Admissions consulting firm, specializing in helping business school applicants identify and showcase the strongest aspects of their candidacy in their applications. Their dedicated consultants work one-on-one with candidates to ensure their unique stories are presented in a compelling way that will make the admissions committees take notice.
  Reviews
Sort by:   date of publication  most helpful
Take it seriously, hire mbaMission
May 29 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: May 29, 2012 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - school of my dreams
This review is for:  * School Packages   Consultant:  Monica Okrah
Hey everyone – I wanted to share my thoughts and experiences with mbaMission because I had such a wonderful experience that everyone should hear it before they make the decision to hire a consultant.

When I was exploring business school, I wasn’t sold that I needed to hire a consultant. After I had a free consultation with Monica at mbaMission (as well as a number of the other top admissions consulting firms) it became clear to me that even though I was capable of handling the admissions process on my own, there is a tremendous amount of value in the service and that mbaMission was the best-in-class in the business.

From the other reviews below you can get a very good understanding of what’s included in the package (as well as through the mbaMission website) but I’ll highlight a few of the more important benefits:

- Deep understanding as to how to think like an admissions consultant

- Avoid any simple mistakes that may make you less attractive to the admissions boards

- How to properly showcase your story – we’re all very interesting people and have a lot to share, and it’s important to cohesively craft your set of essays to highlight who you are

I had purchased the comprehensive package and I got my money’s worth. I used over 50 hours of consulting time working through every part of my application including the essays, the application itself, the resume, and interview preparation and Monica was always upbeat, professional, extremely helpful, and very knowledgeable throughout the entire process. She was happy to continue to work with me until I was 100% satisfied with how I packaged my application and my work product showed it. Looking back, it would have been worth 2x the cost for the services that I received throughout.

In the end, with the help of Monica, I got the payoff that I had worked so hard for – I was accepted to HBS in the fall! If you want to maximize your chances of getting into your dream school, you’d be foolish if you decided to do anywhere else except hire Monica and mbaMission.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
mbaMission got the job done
June 06 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: June 6, 2012 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - got into all
This review is for:  * School Packages   Consultant:  Jessica Shklar
Jessica Shklar and mbaMission was a tremendous help to me in getting into my top B-schools. I applied in the R3 to HBS last year and got dinged. I decided that I needed to "up my game" this time around if I was to be successful.

I did preliminary interviews with 3 different organizations before settling on Jessica and mbaMission. What made the different in selecting them was the personal outreach that the principle at the organization, Jeremy, made to me. I was very happy with my decision. Jessica has great insight into the admissions process, gets drafts back quickly, and has great suggestions on how to improve essays. When I had trouble getting beyond superficial material, she really helped me dig deeper to draw out the details of my stories. She has terrific insight into the interview process and is really able to help you prep for the different questions that schools ask. She also would keep on me when I wasn't getting drafts to her quickly enough.

In the end, I got into all of the schools I applied to – HBS, Wharton, Sloan, and Kellogg. I would highly recommend using Jessica to anyone considering a consultant.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Big Discounts
on mbaMission
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
You get what you want and what you NEED
June 11 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By scamhi joined: June 11, 2012 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - school of my dreams
This review is for:  * School Packages   Consultant:  Akiba Smith-Francis
After hearing about this company at an MBA open house I was immediatly interested in hiring them to help me apply to school.

I have a different background than most MBA applicants. My work, life, and education experiences are completely different. They helped me compose the strongest application possible to each school- highlight my strenghts, show them off properly and show how big of an asset I could be to the schools I was applying to. When I had a major change in my life that affected the schools that I was applying to and the programs that I was applying for my advisor was flexible, understanding and willing to give me as much of her time as possible to ensure that my applications were great, got out on time and would be to a standard that was worthy of the schools that I was applying to.

Without the help of my advisor I would have been lost and would not gotten in to my prefered MBA program. The school packages are even better, they allow me to work through the entire application with my advisor, I even consulted with her on some of the short answer questions. The fact that she was there to help me answer the questions, the essays, which school to apply to and expecially Interview prep made it all the better. She was able to answer any questions I had about B-Schools and even some of the school I was thinking about. I recommend their services to anybody that I talk to.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Helen Summers- mbaMission Consultant
July 26 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By arutt25 joined: July 26, 2012 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - school of my dreams
This review is for:  Hourly Services   Consultant:  Helen Summers
Helen was great in helping me with the application process. She helped me target schools in my GMAT range and provided me with assistance in writing my application essays. Helen gave me constructive criticism and helped me learn how to enhance my resume to its fullest ability as well as how to construct and interesting and informative essay. She was very quick to respond to my inquiries and was very easy to contact and work with. The turnover time in between drafts and her critique was at the most 3 business days;she was very very efficient, yet gave me an very detailed criticisms. I would highly recommend her as a consultant .
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Big Discounts
on mbaMission
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Serious about bschool? Get Jessica from mbaMission!
August 18 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: August 18, 2012 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - school of my dreams
This review is for:  * School Packages   Consultant:  Jessica Shklar
I can't tell my business school application story without talking about Jessica Shklar from mbaMission. By helping me find my voice, Jessica gave me the tools I needed to articulately convey my 3-dimensional self to the Stanford admissions committee and secure admission.

Three days before I submitted a round 1 application, I had a crisis. My GMAT score, which I'd expected to be top notch fell below the Stanford average. I had to make a decision - apply round 1 or take it again and apply round 2. Deciding to give this my very best shot, I decided against submitting the round 1 application. My mentor suggested that in addition to working on retaking the GMAT, I reach out to Jessica to have her look at my essays. I am so glad that I did!

Jessica didn't 'spruce up' my essays for me. She compelled me to stop writing things I think the admissions team want to hear and instead focus on honestly telling my story in a colorful way that allowed a 360-degree view of my real self to shine through - embracing my personality, highlighting my core strengths, and being honest about my areas for development. Jessica is an enabler and a mentor. She provided me with tangible frameworks for honest self reflection and invaluable writing techniques to honestly tell my story. By focusing on harnessing my voice instead of superimposing that of another's, like most consultants do, Jessica guided me to produce the best application that I could. I was so impressed by how committed Jessica was - she always responded on time! Never a second late. In fact, her promptness, passion, and professionalism challenged me to give my application everything that I had. After I submitted my application, Jessica remained a refreshing source of counsel and support.

As soon as I got the interview notification, she was there for me providing me with concrete ways to structure my responses so that I don't just ramble or give in to nerves. This helped me feel confident during my interview - I could relax and be myself because I knew I was well prepared. Prospective students always ask me whether or not they should use a consultant. I always say the same thing - if Jessica can take you on board then YES YES YES!

Nothing compares to having a coach who will push you to be honest, focused, and articulate.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Looking for for that competitive edge? This is it!
August 20 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By OnMyWaytoMyMBA2015 joined: August 20, 2012 | 2 | 5 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Some, but not all
This review is for:  MBA Application Boot Camp   Consultant:  Angela Guido
The mbaMission Application Boot Camp exceeded my expectations. It completely changed the way I am going about writing my essays. It helped me truly understand what the admissions committees are looking for and taught me how to write compelling and vivid essays through storytelling. The boot camp helped me understand my strengths, identify my accomplishments, and ultimately get a better sense of who I am in order to build my essays.

Angela Guido is a great instructor. She has a passion for helping others and is an expert in getting the best out of everyone in the classroom. She has the unique ability to see things for what they are and help you turn them into a compelling story. She made me feel comfortable and confident about the application process. Angela created a comfortable environment to share and learn from my other 5 classmates. It was extremely helpful having other students to learn from and bounce ideas off of.

I am currently completing my applications and feel confident that Angela has put me on the right track. I would recommend this boot camp with Angela for anyone who is looking for a competitive edge in your application process and want to learn from the best.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Big Discounts
on mbaMission
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Boot Camp = B-School
September 10 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By redmartinicure joined: September 10, 2012 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - got into all
This review is for:  MBA Application Boot Camp   Consultant:  Angela Guido
Prior to the course I had invested almost $2,000 towards getting into b-school. How hard could essay writing be? I have ample experience and got a 6 on my GMAT essays.

Let the fantasy stop there. This course completely changed my perspective on b-school essays and really highlighted how unprepared I was, drawing attention to the nuances of the school's questions while at the same time providing the tools necessary to create a cohesive application.

Even if you feel organized and prepared, the ROI of this program should compel you to invest just to ensure you're on the right path and are truly sharing a UNIQUE, powerful story with your schools.

Angela's no-nonsense attitude allowed me to get direct feedback and focused more of my attention on where it counted - crafting an honest, genuine story for my schools.

While I am still applying and cannot tout acceptances, yet, I can certainly tell you that I would have been a direct-deny for both schools without this course.

Thanks, Angela!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
mbaMission got me into Haas
November 11 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By MJLarcher joined: November 11, 2012 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - school of my dreams
This review is for:  MBA Student Services   Consultant:  Jessica Shklar
Jessica from mbaMission got me into my dream school.

When I started applying to B School I had the standard (aka boring) profile of so many adequately qualified individuals. Jessica wouldn't let that stand. Over several sessions she coaxed relevant and interesting stories out of me that transformed me into the type of exciting MBA candidate I hoped to be. She helped me show that I was more than just a consultant.... I was traveler, a dreamer, and a person who plans to make a difference in this world.

She helped me tell my story in a way I never could have done on my own. Thank you Jessica. I'm loving it at Haas.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Big Discounts
on mbaMission
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
An Eye-opener for serious B-School aspirants
November 12 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By tprakash joined: September 11, 2012 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Some, but not all
This review is for:  MBA Application Boot Camp   Consultant:  Angela Guido
I took the mbaMission's application bootcamp in August and its a short, rigorous program that drivels down every generalist nitty-gritty of the application process into your head in a very short time. The class size was small so there was plenty of room for personal interaction.

Our instructor was Angela Guido whose extraordinary energy and depth of knowledge seemed a little intimidating at first, but she turned out to be extremely friendly and helpful. So in a nutshell, here's what you'll walk out with after taking this course -

1. Learn the factors that would help you pin down a healthy and balanced list of schools that you would want to apply to. Before knowing these factors, my choice of schools seemed pretty 'random'. Not only choosing a school for the right reasons very important in realizing your ambitions, but you're also able to convince the admissions committee a lot more convincingly that you're the right choice for them.

2. Learn how to write effective and powerful essays. Essays, of course, are the most important part of an MBA application and gives you an unlimited opportunity to shine. But its also the most slippery road down the path to a B-school. This course acquaints you with different kinds of essays and shows you how to brainstorm ideas, stories from your life etc. to create a powerful self-character and bring it across in the essays. Then there are numerous do-and-don'ts in the essays which can make or break an app. Angela conducted extensive practice exercises to help put us in ad-com's shoes and understand why what works, works and why what kills an app does so. This was very enlightening!

3. Learn the do' and don'ts of an effective resume, in a way similar to the essays.

4. An personal one-on-one essays analysis and critical feedback.

Ultimately, this course made me realize just how much work goes into preparing an surefire application but also gave me some very effective tools to work with. I've just started applying to schools and I use these tools everyday while preparing my applications.

The program could be a bit of a pinch in the wallet but I do believe that mbaMission are the best in what they do, and with Angela as the instructor I think it was worth the money. I would highly recommend this excellent program to anyone who is serious about getting into a top-10 B-School and wants a cheaper alternative to complete start-to-finish packages.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Praise for Application Boot Camp
November 12 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: November 12, 2012 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - got into all
This review is for:  MBA Application Boot Camp  
This class was very helpful in first understanding the expectations of the Admissions Committees, and how to put together a successfull application, including how to frame essays and write resumes. Angela provided examples and exercises that allowed us to think through some of the most critical questions, including what we hoped to accomplish through pursuing an MBA. She was also able to provide tailored feedback for each of the students, based on our backgrounds and goals in seeking an MBA.

The other benefit of taking this class was meeting other applicants, who were going through the same process. We were able to bounce ideas off of each other and review one another's essays.

Overall, this class provided a lot of help in preparing applications, and, even though it was only a couple hours on a weekend, made a big difference in the quality of my applications.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Big Discounts
on mbaMission
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community


mbaMission
Admissions Consulting
Big Discounts on Consulting
 
Learn more here