MBA Application Boot Camp Reviews
    Number of reviews [20]      Average Rating:       (5.0/5)
mbaMission
Throughout this four-session class, 12-hour course, we will guide you step by step through the process of creating a compelling MBA application that reveals your unique character and will inspire the admissions committee to grant you that coveted letter of acceptance.

Very Thoughtful Feedback with your Best Interest at Heart
April 30 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: April 30, 2014 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - school of my dreams
This review is for:  MBA Application Boot Camp   Consultant:  Angela Guido
Despite reading many bschool application prep books, I was surprised to find even more information and such thoughtful feedback on my application. Coming from an IB-background, I thought I was a number among my peers; however, with the help of this program, I was able to set myself apart. Angela gave me critical but thoughtful feedback on my essay answers and my resume. Also, I was able to gauge whether my answers were sufficient to the question or too overboard/extreme. The overall experience was quick, high impact and worth the dollars I spent. As a result, I received interviews at every school I applied and, eventually, got into my top choice school.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Boot Camp Success!
April 18 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: April 9, 2014 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Some, but not all
This review is for:  MBA Application Boot Camp   Consultant:  Angela Guido
I decided to take this class after I met Angela at an MBA women's event in SF. I was impressed by her wit and the clear handle she had on the admissions process, as evidence by the great advice she gave me when I was just loitering at her table. The online class definitely didn't let me down. It broke down the application process into manageable steps and gave clear instruction on each piece. At the end of it, I was less daunted by the application process. Plus, the one on one feedback gave me direction on exactly how to proceed. During class, Angela made sure that my classmates and I contributed not just to the flow of the course but also to one another's applications. I was able to use my classmates' feedback provided during class and after to improve my materials. Because I have some unique extenuating circumstances, I opted for a few additional consulting hours through mba Mission. While those hours really fine tuned my story, I felt that the overall value of the boot camp was superior. In fact, I recommended it to my best friend! Between the two of us, we got into Wharton, Yale, Kellogg (x2), Ross, Sloan, and Fuqua with plenty of merit scholarships to boot!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Big Discounts
on mbaMission
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Highly recommend the boot camp with Angela!
April 16 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: April 16, 2014 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - school of my dreams
This review is for:  MBA Application Boot Camp   Consultant:  Angela Guido
I found the boot camp with Angela to be a highly cost effective (and time efficient) way to work though the ins and outs of the application process. I had researched and spoken with a few different firms (free consultations/webinars) before signing up for the class. I felt much more confident about my application potential and roadmap after the boot camp. In particular, the process of deconstructing resume bullets to create a strong, concise resume was truly invaluable.

Angela was a great leader--she's very funny and engaging (important when the class is from 8-11 pm after a long work day). She does a fantastic job pulling all boot camp participants into the conversation. During the class, you're sometimes on the spot, which is great because it forces you to generate material immediately and seek feedback. Angela created a welcoming environment for all of us to learn from each other and from her.

The class also comes with a 1:1 consultation after the sessions, which was very useful. Angela gave me really good feedback, encouraging me but also pushing me to dig deeper on certain aspects of my stories.

In the end, I was admitted to Wharton, Kellogg, Yale, and Duke with scholarships.

P.S. I also highly recommend mbaMission's Complete Guide and their Insider Guides--they will save you so much time in your application research process.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
mbaMission Application Boot Camp was a great investment!
September 10 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: September 10, 2013 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Some, but not all
This review is for:  MBA Application Boot Camp   Consultant:  Angela Guido
I am so glad I have taken the mbaMission Application Boot Camp! It was an intimate class with only 5 students in it. During the allocated 9 hours our instructor, Angela, efficiently taught us how to re-structure our resumes and write compelling essays. We brainstormed and organized our ideas for the stories to use in the essays. I came in struggling with my essay writing skills, especially when it came to the creative "express yourself" essay to NYU. And I left this Application Boot Camp with unique ideas to incorporate in my NYU application and 4 friends that I am still in touch with. This was a great value for the money spent - 9 hours of face-to-face interaction with the instructor, 1 professionally critiqued essay and a 30-minute feedback session. I definitely recommend it.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Big Discounts
on mbaMission
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Personalized insights and valuable overview in an intense package!
August 01 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: July 30, 2013 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  
This review is for:  MBA Application Boot Camp   Consultant:  Angela Guido
I felt like I was starting the MBA application process later than I should have, so I was looking for a push to guide my work and ensure that I would be able to put together solid applications. The boot camp sounded intense, but like it would get me on the right track while also providing personalized attention. I went for it and am very glad that I did.

Angela Guido was an extremely enthusiastic and knowledgeable consultant, and I never doubted that she knew what she was talking about or wasn't providing sound advice. But for me the best part was that the course was small so I really felt like I benefited from the personalized attention she gave to each of the participants' ideas and examples. I learned from her and the other participants breaking down the pros and cons of what I submitted, and from doing the same for the submissions of the other participants. At the end I had a one-on-one session to go over my essays and any other general questions with Angela, and that was really great. She wasn't afraid to provide honest feedback and criticism, and I am sure that the insights I gained from someone who knows the process so well will be extremely useful in improving how I approach the applications.

After the boot camp, I am very confident that I will be able to write more compelling essays, structure my CV appropriately, and focus my efforts on what's most important. To feel like this after a process that lasted less than a week is great, and exactly what I was looking for.

I'm still applying and not sure how everything will go, but I would highly recommend this course for anyone looking to kickstart their applications and quickly figure out how to approach the whole application process.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
mbaMission Bootcamp is a MUST DO!
July 31 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By kristine123 joined: July 31, 2013 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  
This review is for:  MBA Application Boot Camp   Consultant:  Angela Guido
Here is the email I sent to Angela last week:
It's been a while since we saw you first in our GMAT class and then at the mbaMission application Boot camp. I hope this email finds you well =) I wanted to reach out and say hello as well as update you on what transpired regarding my MBA applications. My boyfriend and I are moving to Cambridge Thursday!! He was accepted to Harvard and I’m off to Sloan. We are both super excited and it couldn’t have turned out any better. Thank you for all your help and support! We definitely couldn’t have done it without your guidance in mabMission's Boot Camp!!! I’ve told everyone that asks about the application process about Manhattan GMAT as well as mbaMission. Both are great programs and I think my positive perception is attributed to my experiences with you. Just wanted to share the good news and say "Thanks" again!!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Big Discounts
on mbaMission
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Application Boot Camp = Admitted!!
January 25 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By sworland joined: April 10, 2012 | 1 | 5 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - school of my dreams
This review is for:  MBA Application Boot Camp   Consultant:  Angela Guido
My first attempts at essay writing on my own were dreadful because:

1) I didn't believe I had anything extraordinary to tell - I haven’t cured cancer, started a charity, mentored a child, lived in another country, or lost 100 lbs.
2) I couldn't answer the essay questions effectively - 400+ words of background information
3) The tone/voice of my essays was off the mark - It is SO easy to sound whiny, bossy, judgmental, or just plain boring.

I knew I needed help but didn't have the money to hire a 1:1 consultant. So I signed up for the 3-day mbamission Application Boot Camp held in Chicago in August 2012.

The class amounted to 9 hours of live instruction with five other students, a 1 hour pre-recorded class online, and 30 minutes 1:1 with the instructor to review practice essays and answer questions, which I used to discuss application strategy. I was initially nervous about not getting the personal attention of my instructor in a classroom setting. But the group is an added benefit because there are other people to bounce ideas, give feedback, and ask the questions you didn’t think of. But still small enough that your instructor gets to know you, your profile, and answer your personal questions.

Angela Guido is a fantastic instructor. You can tell she has a real passion for this and truly wants to help you succeed. She is intelligent, straight forward, and will tell you like it is. She also has an amazing ability to hear your story and twist it with a fresh perspective, or pull out some ‘a-ha’ that you didn’t initially see, so that you can craft a unique essay. And she will help identify the weaknesses and pitfalls of your writing style, so you can avoid these going forward on your own.

After the class, I was super motivated and applied to 4 schools in Round 1. I got interview invites to all 4, and accepted to 3 - Wharton, Kellogg, & Duke.

If you are SERIOUS about getting into a top 10 program, you are going to need some help. And this class is the best bang for your buck! DO IT!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Worth the money - just do it!!
November 12 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By carholland joined: August 29, 2012 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Some, but not all
This review is for:  MBA Application Boot Camp   Consultant:  Angela Guido
This class was absolutely worth the money, and more, beyond what it costs. Angela is engaging and friendly, yet no-nonsense.

The classes were engaging and went at a steady pace - I never was bored or felt overwhelmed. If anything I would suggest that they be harder sticklers about doing the homework (I didn't do mine....) because, like the rest of the class, the homework was extremely helpful as well!

During class we worked on everything from essay writing (whooaa before I took this class was I ever way off) to the resume to getting in the mentality of the AdCom. I've been complimented on my resume many times but it looked like a piece of garbage before I learned what we did in the class.

Totally would recommend these guys - just pony up the cash and do it, you won't regret it!


And I say I got into "some, but not all" of my schools, but I haven't heard back from the yet, so I don't know. But did this improve my application? 100%
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Big Discounts
on mbaMission
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
An Eye-opener for serious B-School aspirants
November 12 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By tprakash joined: September 11, 2012 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Some, but not all
This review is for:  MBA Application Boot Camp   Consultant:  Angela Guido
I took the mbaMission's application bootcamp in August and its a short, rigorous program that drivels down every generalist nitty-gritty of the application process into your head in a very short time. The class size was small so there was plenty of room for personal interaction.

Our instructor was Angela Guido whose extraordinary energy and depth of knowledge seemed a little intimidating at first, but she turned out to be extremely friendly and helpful. So in a nutshell, here's what you'll walk out with after taking this course -

1. Learn the factors that would help you pin down a healthy and balanced list of schools that you would want to apply to. Before knowing these factors, my choice of schools seemed pretty 'random'. Not only choosing a school for the right reasons very important in realizing your ambitions, but you're also able to convince the admissions committee a lot more convincingly that you're the right choice for them.

2. Learn how to write effective and powerful essays. Essays, of course, are the most important part of an MBA application and gives you an unlimited opportunity to shine. But its also the most slippery road down the path to a B-school. This course acquaints you with different kinds of essays and shows you how to brainstorm ideas, stories from your life etc. to create a powerful self-character and bring it across in the essays. Then there are numerous do-and-don'ts in the essays which can make or break an app. Angela conducted extensive practice exercises to help put us in ad-com's shoes and understand why what works, works and why what kills an app does so. This was very enlightening!

3. Learn the do' and don'ts of an effective resume, in a way similar to the essays.

4. An personal one-on-one essays analysis and critical feedback.

Ultimately, this course made me realize just how much work goes into preparing an surefire application but also gave me some very effective tools to work with. I've just started applying to schools and I use these tools everyday while preparing my applications.

The program could be a bit of a pinch in the wallet but I do believe that mbaMission are the best in what they do, and with Angela as the instructor I think it was worth the money. I would highly recommend this excellent program to anyone who is serious about getting into a top-10 B-School and wants a cheaper alternative to complete start-to-finish packages.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Praise for Application Boot Camp
November 12 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: November 12, 2012 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - got into all
This review is for:  MBA Application Boot Camp  
This class was very helpful in first understanding the expectations of the Admissions Committees, and how to put together a successfull application, including how to frame essays and write resumes. Angela provided examples and exercises that allowed us to think through some of the most critical questions, including what we hoped to accomplish through pursuing an MBA. She was also able to provide tailored feedback for each of the students, based on our backgrounds and goals in seeking an MBA.

The other benefit of taking this class was meeting other applicants, who were going through the same process. We were able to bounce ideas off of each other and review one another's essays.

Overall, this class provided a lot of help in preparing applications, and, even though it was only a couple hours on a weekend, made a big difference in the quality of my applications.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Big Discounts
on mbaMission
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community


Best mbaMission GMAT Instructors
Angela Guido [USA]
    
mbaMission
Admissions Consulting
Big Discounts on Consulting
 
Learn more here