MBAPrepSchool Admissions Consulting Reviews
    Number of reviews [60]      Average Rating:       (5.0/5)
Packages
    
    
Where GMAT Prep Ends, MBA Prep School Begins. Featuring on-demand video tutorials, MBA PrepTools, project management tools, private campus forums, up-to-the-minute school news feeds and members-only private events.
  Reviews
Sort by:   date of publication  most helpful
Helped me reach my goals!
July 01 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: June 13, 2015 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Some, but not all
This review is for:  Comprehensive School Package   Consultant:  Tyler Cormney
I begin my MBA this fall at the right school for me, and I have Tyler Cormney and Claudia Ruegg to thank for helping to get me there. What mattered most was maintaining my voice throughout the application, not becoming a cookie cutter applicant lost in the stack. I achieved that. Tyler and Claudia excel at digging deep to discover, build upon, and project your unique voice. I cannot say enough positive words about my experience working with them.

I contacted Tyler on the recommendation of a friend attending a top five B-School who had also used his services. Feeling that my application was weak, I had just made a frustrated decision to pull back my Round 1 submission. I knew working with Tyler and Claudia was the right move after our first conversation. Tyler laid out a straightforward path to meet Round 2 deadlines that covered every aspect of the application. I specifically liked his use of Asana as a collaboration tool. His Harvard MBA and Claudia’s Stanford MBA provided two unique perspectives. Tyler’s creative writing education helped tremendously in telling my story. Both Tyler and Claudia excelled at helping me identify strengths and link experiences to desired qualities. Claudia in particular made me feel as though I was talking to a longtime friend, allowing me to open up. The final product was a much higher quality than I could have produced myself.

Tyler and Claudia have no doubt helped me get closer to my goals. If you have any desire to strengthen your application, I urge you to give Tyler a call. You will certainly not regret it.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Master Strategist
June 02 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: May 27, 2015 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - school of my dreams
This review is for:  Comprehensive School Package   Consultant:  Tyler Cormney
In light of my average GPA and a below-median GMAT score, my expectations were not high that I would be accepted into a top business school. Just to have a chance of acceptance, I needed an expert like Tyler Cormney who could help me craft my strengths, top accomplishments, and best leadership stories into a cohesive and compelling application. Tyler helped me sharpen my career goals, worked with me on the best essay strategy, advised me on how to get incredible results from my recommenders, and coached me through a mock interview. I say with complete confidence that if it hadn't been for Tyler, then I would have not been given a full scholarship to a top 5 ranked business school!!!!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save $100/School on Admissions Consulting Packages
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Unequivocally Recommend Chris Aitken & MBA Prep School
April 29 | 2015

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By rolyat421 joined: February 4, 2014 | 53 | 24 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - school of my dreams
This review is for:  Comprehensive School Package   Consultant:  Chris Aitken
If you are fortunate enough to have the opportunity to work with Chris Aitken during your MBA application process, I unequivocally and wholeheartedly recommend you do so. Working with Chris was one of the most transformational experiences I've gone through thus far in my life. Not only did our time together end in my eventual acceptance to my dream school, Stanford, but also I've emerged the other end more confident, more directed in my career, and better equipped to take full advantage of the opportunities that will be available to me when I matriculate this fall.

I reached out to Chris in February as a hopeful Round 1 applicant. At that point, I had yet to take the GMAT and was only a few years out of college. I was also well aware that, as someone with no GMAT score to benchmark from, vaguely defined career goals, limited work experience, and relatively lackluster post-college extracurricular activities, my dream of attending Stanford rightfully seemed preposterous. And that is exactly what many other consultants told me.

But not Chris. While he was always realistic about my chances and never gave me false hope, when I told him I believed I could achieve this, at no point did he doubt or discourage me. Even come July when I started questioning my candidacy, Chris supported me not with lofty words, but with practical, insightful advice that helped me grow and gain the confidence I needed to continue forward.

Chris is the kind of consultant who truly cares about the individuals he works with. Yes, he has all the qualities that may seem obvious to look for -- he never worries about the amount of time you spend working together, turns around strategic guidance and essay suggestions inconceivably fast, and truly knows how to help you craft your best application while remaining true to your unique voice and story. But Chris is so much more than just a consultant. He is a true friend who continues to give me guidance long after my Stanford deposit has been submitted. He sends me articles that he thinks I will find interesting, invites me to lunch when I'm in town, and continues to give his insightful perspective into my career choices. He is truly invested in the outcome of my life, and not just my applications. I feel fortunate to have him in my corner.

For those of you just beginning the MBA application process, I am jealous of the transformational journey you have ahead. I sincerely believe that Chris Aitken and the MBA Prep School team are the best possible people to take that journey with. They not only helped me reach my MBA goals, but also helped me unlock my true potential. I am forever grateful for their support and cannot recommend them enough.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Great Experience with Esther and Faisal
April 19 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: March 16, 2015 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Some, but not all
This review is for:  Comprehensive School Package   Consultant:  Esther Choy
After an initial tough round applying to an MBA, I am grateful to have had Esther and Faisal as my advisors the second time around. Esther has been invaluable in helping me find my voice within my applications and be a better storyteller within my interviews. All the while Faisal consistently encouraged and supported me throughout process as he meticulously polished every aspect of my application. I have thoroughly enjoyed the experience and have gained invaluable skills that I will continue to use throughout my career. I am happy to say I will be attending one of my top choices this fall!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save $100/School on Admissions Consulting Packages
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Chris Aitken is the real deal -- attending MIT Sloan this fall
April 17 | 2015

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: March 5, 2014 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Some, but not all
This review is for:  Comprehensive School Package   Consultant:  Chris Aitken
Nothing but good vibes and kudos for Chris Aitken. I applied to 4 schools, was accepted into 2, and ultimately selected MIT Sloan because of the school’s strength in tech and entrepreneurship. A year ago, the mere thought of getting accepted into a “Top 5” was a pipe dream and yet here I am. Chris was absolutely instrumental in my application process – no doubt I wouldn’t have had such success without his coaching.

I was referred to Chris through my work colleague who had been worked with him and was accepted into a couple of top business schools the previous year. Before enlisting with Team Chris, I held a few introductory calls with other b-school consultants. From my initial calls, it was evident that Chris had just the right amount of realism and idealism. I felt that this approach really fit me. I never liked hearing that I could “do anything” but also didn’t appreciate people who saw me as anything less.

I started working with Chris in August 2014 and since I intended on applying Round 1, I was already fairly late to the process. For folks with busy work schedules, hiring Chris is a must. The cost of a great consultant / coach such as Chris more than outweighs the amount of time saved trying to figure everything out on your own. Although I was late to the process, Chris created a work plan for me and led me through the vast online resources at MBA Prep. We did a ton of brainstorming and planning upfront, which paid off big time down the road. Chris challenged me to think critically about my story and helped me put my best foot forward for each application. Although I have a fairly traditional background (banking/PE), he helped me discover many “hidden gems” that I didn’t even know existed. Throughout the entire process, Chris was very engaged, hands-on, and detail-oriented. Chris genuinely cared to see through my success.

The application process is brutal and time-consuming but with the right coaching and advice, it can be strangely insightful. In many ways, the process acts as a professional “life check.” Looking back, I would say the numerous hours of conversations I’ve had with Chris helped me truly understand what I wanted to do with my career. I consider Chris to be a good friend and life coach. I’ve been fortunate to work with him and would absolutely recommend his coaching.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
A fantastic experience and a great investment
March 26 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: December 17, 2014 | 2 | 5 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Some, but not all
This review is for:  Comprehensive School Package   Consultant:  Tyler Cormney
I worked with Tyler Cormney on four separate school applications to top-5 programs. I was admitted into two schools, both of which offered scholarships, and I have no doubt that Tyler's understanding of the nuances of business school admissions was what earned me those scholarships. For starters, I consider Tyler's services one of the greatest investments I have ever made.

However, I gained much more from working with Tyler than admission and scholarship money. Tyler is exceptionally sharp, and one of his most valuable abilities is to piece together experiences that you share with him to paint a complete picture. He is so good at doing this that I can almost guarantee that you will learn something about yourself by working with Tyler that you didn't know before. Maybe you hadn't connected the dots, maybe you hadn't thought about your own experiences from someone else's perspective, or maybe you had forgotten things. Tyler helped me perform a performance review of my life, and I emerged much more knowledgeable about who I am and what I am good at. This is the real goldmine that will help take me where I want to go. Admittance is only the beginning.

I have already recommended Tyler to several friends, and I urge everyone to consider hiring Tyler. The service could pay for itself many times over, and you will emerge from the experience more knowledgeable about yourself.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save $100/School on Admissions Consulting Packages
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Me + Tyler Cormney = HBS Bound!
March 23 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: March 11, 2014 | 4 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - school of my dreams
This review is for:  Comprehensive School Package   Consultant:  Tyler Cormney
Where do I even begin? Let's start here: I'm going to HBS in the fall and Tyler Cormney played an integral role in making that dream happen. He is professional, personable and, as they might say in Boston, wicked smaht. It's possible my experiences with Boston thus far have been limited to my HBS interview and watching Good Will Hunting, but I digress.

Tyler is uniquely qualified within the admissions consulting world because he has both a Harvard MBA and a Master's in Professional Writing from USC. This means he has the business acumen to understand your experience and recognize which parts of your background are truly differentiating factors, and the writing chops to craft your story and make your essays really sing.

I was initially torn on whether or not to even hire an admissions consultant for my application process. The service seemed to be overpriced, and many of the consultants I screened before Tyler did nothing to convince me otherwise. Once I got on the phone with Tyler, my opinion changed completely. Based only on a small handful of biographical questions, Tyler was able to connect several seemingly disparate parts of my background and tie them all together into a coherent and powerful story. This type of brilliance became commonplace over the six months Tyler and I worked together.

Tyler is also remarkably patient and calm - two qualities that come in especially handy when dealing with nervous business school applicants. After submitting the applications for my top two schools, I was completely buried at work and had to put the rest of my applications on hold. I eventually found myself in the unenviable position of needing to put together an entire application, from scratch, in less than two weeks. When I got back in touch with Tyler, he told me not to worry and sent me a few ideas he had been working on while I had been away. I spent the next several days trying to execute on the themes we had discussed, but just couldn't get the application materials where we wanted them. At this point, we had less than a week before the deadline. It would have been so, so easy for Tyler to either a) throw up his hands and say the materials were good enough, or b) push that application back to round 2. Instead, he buckled down with me, shortened his turnaround times for new drafts, and helped me polish the materials all the way up until the application deadline. I was accepted to this top 5 program as well.

I honestly can't recommend Tyler Cormney enough. He is the best investment I have ever made, and I consider him a good friend.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Outstanding admission consulting
March 22 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: October 2, 2013 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - school of my dreams
This review is for:  Comprehensive School Package   Consultant:  Tyler Cormney
I was referred to Tyler Cormney from a friend, and am grateful for his recommendation. I could not have selected a better admissions consultant on my own. Tyler combines a structured framework and invaluable insights throughout the entire process. Most importantly, Tyler helped me to build a personal brand, one that I could articulate both on paper and in my interviews.

Through Tyler, I developed skills that not only allowed me to get in to a top-10 business school, but abilities that I can rely on when interviewing for the competitive internships and full-time positions that I will seek as a part of my program.

Tyler Cormney is well worth your investment, one that will likely pay off immediately. I received multiple merit scholarships, and gained admission to my first choice school.

Don't wait to hire Tyler, I was one of his last clients to sign up and would certainly have regretted missing the opportunity to work with him. I plan to personally refer him to any applicants I know in the future.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save $100/School on Admissions Consulting Packages
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Tyler Cormney and Faisal Khan - Dynamic Duo
March 21 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: December 4, 2013 | 0 | 5 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - school of my dreams
This review is for:  Comprehensive School Package   Consultant:  Tyler Cormney
Tyler Cormney and Faisal Khan helped me create the perfect application package. I got into my dream school (Top 5 B-School). They pointed out strengths in my background, which I was not even aware of and guided me to focus on writing about the perfect stories for my essays. Their initial data gathering process is instrumental in making sure your application stands out in a pool of other qualified individuals. They will push you to get the best out of you.

I have an engineering background and they were mindful of ensuring that technical/industry jargon was translated into something that a lay person would understand.

The mock interview conducted as part of the process was very close to the real thing. Tyler made sure that I was articulating my strengths clearly and I used the questions to my advantage.

I highly recommend MBAPrepSchool and specifically Tyler Cormney and Faisal Khan!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Tyler Cormney – A Must Hire!
March 09 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: June 4, 2012 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - school of my dreams
This review is for:  Comprehensive School Package   Consultant:  Tyler Cormney
Over the past year, Tyler has been more than just a MBA consultant. He has been a friend, mentor, and life coach and I absolutely could not have navigated the daunting application process without his help. Tyler has a unique approach that pushes applicants to discover their strengths and areas of improvement and he was absolutely instrumental every step of the way. From building my brand, to developing my career goals, to ultimately crafting my application story, Tyler never stopped pushing me to reach beyond my limits.

For busy professionals, hiring Tyler is a no-brainer. I could always count on him to turn around drafts quickly and thoroughly and he was extremely accommodating around my crazy work schedule.

I highly recommend Tyler. He is the reason I was accepted into Harvard Business School and awarded a full merit scholarship at Chicago Booth and I can honestly say I wouldn't be here today if it weren't for his help and guidance. Do yourself a favor and make the investment today.

- HBS Class of 2017
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save $100/School on Admissions Consulting Packages
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community


Save $100/School
on MBA Prep School Packages
- Start your free consultation now
- Fill out the form
Learn more