Admissions Consulting Reviews
    Number of reviews [43]      Average Rating:       (5.0/5)
MBA Prep School
MBA Prep School’s faculty of admissions experts work with a select number of clients each year on a comprehensive or hourly basis. We also offer essay editing, resume editing, and mock interview consulting services.

Highly recommend Chris Aitken!
September 12 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: September 9, 2014 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Some, but not all
This review is for:  Admissions Consulting   Consultant:  Chris Aitken
A good consultant is highly adept at helping with editing essays. A great one is so much more – he is a mentor, a coach, and a friend.

I can say, without reservation, that Chris is a fantastic admissions consultant. I would recommend him without reservation. With his help, I was overjoyed to get admitted to a top 5 school. But even if my application process had been unsuccessful, I would still recommend him.

Firstly – Chris genuinely interested in *you*. I interviewed 7 other admissions consultants before selecting Chris. Unlike others that simply delivered a ‘templatized’ pitch, Chris had done his homework into my background, and seemed genuinely interested in learning more about who I was on our call. This is critical because the more interested a consultant is in digging deep into your specific story, the better his ability and desire help you craft a unique message.

Secondly – Chris is approachable and balanced. Through the process, Chris helped draw out not only my strengths, but also my weaknesses. Because he’s just such a “good guy” it’s really easy to open up to him. This is absolutely crucial in developing an authentic, self-aware application.

Thirdly – Chris pushes you – hard. Applying to business school can be a physically exhausting and emotionally draining process. While Chris sympathizes with this, he doesn’t let you off easy. He pushes you to go through every aspect the MBAPrepSchool process (which in itself is great, by the way) and constantly drives you to conduct deeper research to better understand yourself and develop more specific messages.

Fourthly – Chris is aware and nuanced in his approach. A small but telling example – every time Chris came across a blog / article that he thought could help me – he’d email me its link. Another example - some admissions consultants conveniently told me that all of the schools were “pretty much the same”. Chris believed the exact opposite and drove me to understand the unique flavor of each school. Additionally, I’m an Indian applicant – and Chris, well, isn’t Indian. But his general awareness and ability to learn quickly was so high that this didn’t matter – indeed he served as an excellent bridge between my Indian mind-set and the culture of each of my US target schools. In an environment where you’re constantly trying to differentiate yourself from peers with similar backgrounds, while simultaneously trying to demonstrate fit with your target schools, these little things go a long way.

Finally, and most importantly – Chris is highly committed and always exceeds expectations. Despite my hectic international travel schedule, Chris always figured out a convenient time for us to speak. Most importantly, I never felt like I could not reach out to him because I was using ‘too much’ of his time. Quite the opposite – he pushed me to engage with him constantly and we spoke as often as I felt necessary. His turnaround time for feedback was consistently quick – responding to multiple essays within 12 hours. As admissions deadlines approached, I expected his availability to reduce drastically given the pressures of juggling with several clients simultaneously. This did not happen. I don’t know how he managed to do so, but he always made time for me. Chris never compromises in helping me put my best foot forward, even if it meant going beyond what was ‘contracted’. When things unexpectedly get tough, you want somebody that you can rely on in your corner no matter what. Chris is that person.

The obvious outcome of my interaction with Chris was that I was able to get into a ‘dream business school’. But on reflection, I realize this engagement has had a more lasting impact – through it I learned a lot about myself. This will not only help me through business school, but life as a whole!

Thank you Chris!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
TYLER IS THE BEST. You will NOT regret it.
August 05 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: August 5, 2014 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - school of my dreams
This review is for:  Admissions Consulting   Consultant:  Tyler Cormney
You think you can do it without a consultant. You think, ah that's expensive, I'll just do it myself. Well... bad idea.

The extra money you spend on Tyler's help, which will ultimately help you get into your dream school, is a drop in the bucket considering all the costs associated with b-school.

Tyler is a mix between an editing guru and a psychologist. He helps you narrow down what you want to do in life and mold all of your experiences into a compelling story. His customized schedule is perfect for someone, like me, who is working full time and trying to get all different aspects of the application not just done on time, but executed professionally.

I cannot recommend Tyler enough and hope everyone will use his expertise to show their best self to the admissions committee.

BTW - I got into my top two schools CBS & Sloan.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Discounts on MBAPrep School Admissions Consulting
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Tyler is the best - great coach for MBA Admissions
June 29 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By ananthram79 joined: September 20, 2012 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Some, but not all
This review is for:  Admissions Consulting   Consultant:  Tyler Cormney
I worked with Tyler Cormney extensively during my application cycle for 2014 MBA admissions. I was in a situation where I had to do my application alongside my GMAT. Tyler understood my situation and supported me all along.

I chose to use MBAPrepschool’s complete package and applied to the top schools through Tyler’s help. MBAPrepschool’s online website with various sessions specific to the application cycle proved very useful and thorough. The website allows for revisits to guide through the essay writing process and to help prepare for interviews.

I found Tyler very knowledgeable, his memory and attention to details of his client's stories and application touch points are second to none. I found him very genuine in his approach and found him equally committed to my success in the MBA application process. His advice and tips for writing school specific essays are very effective. He expects you to do your homework on school specific information which in turn reflects your honest and genuine interests on the schools you apply.

Tyler is honest and direct and expects his clients to put in the required hard work necessary to come up with exceptional stories. As a coach, he supports you through the same kind of effort and commitment from his side to present your stories in the best possible way to the admissions committee.

Although, I had great essays through Tyler's continued guidance and my hard work, I was able to apply only in R3 and my GMAT let me down to a certain extent and I was able to gain admissions to some of my safety schools.

I will recommend Tyler to any prospective MBA student looking for a genuine honest coach equally committed to the applicant’s success. With your hard work and Tyler’s expert guidance – success in the MBA application process is one step closer.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
AMAZING!!!!
June 06 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By socaldan10 joined: June 6, 2014 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - got into all
This review is for:  Admissions Consulting   Consultant:  Tyler Cormney
I would first like to start by saying that I spoke with 4 different admissions consultants before picking Tyler at the MBA Prep School. From the start Tyler was very knowledgeable and supportive. He helped me with the school selection process, GMAT advice, and the entire application and essay process. Tyler's ability to help his clients define their candidacy and brand is invaluable. So much so that he actually helps you better define your future goals.

Moreover, Tyler's true talent lies in his ability to help you write your admissions essays. He is a true master at helping you tell your story in a way that the schools will love.

I would recommend Tyler and the MBA Prep School to everyone! They are not some big Admissions consulting firm that makes you feel like just another number. They take the time to get to know you and work beside you throughout the entire process.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Discounts on MBAPrep School Admissions Consulting
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Exatrordinary Consultant
April 22 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: February 3, 2014 | 2 | 1 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - got into all
This review is for:  Admissions Consulting  
I worked with Daniel J. on my Stanford and LBS application and got into both schools! Daniel is an experienced and trustworthy consultant. He is very responsive (I usually get feedbacks to my essay drafts within 1 day), very good at story-telling (he always helps me see my own stories from a different yet much better perspective) and has a good sense of humor (very important too if you need to spend hours talking to your consultant every week!)

Daniel insisted on spending a lot of time going through my stories, experiences and strengths before I started to look at essay questions. This process turned out to be one of the most important steps in my MBA application because it helped me select my brightest achievements and also helped me to examine my past experiences (extremely important for Stanford applicants!)
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
When in doubt - work with Tyler Cormney
April 21 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: February 22, 2013 | 6 | 1 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - school of my dreams
This review is for:  Admissions Consulting   Consultant:  Tyler Cormney
I started applying to schools this past December. I spent a week trying to decide which admissions consultant to work with. To be honest, it was an easy decision.

I talked to most of the popular and mainstream consulting companies, including MBA Prep School. It was very obvious to me how different MBA Prep School's approach was to the admissions process than the other companies. I was floored by the overall attention to detail and level of organization and structure.

My honest advice to all those on the fence about choosing to work with an admissions consultant, is to go ahead and schedule the free 30 minute call that most of them offer. It is essential for you to get a feel of the process, and I can guarantee that you will not get as thorough a rundown or breakdown of the process, or as much value from that 30 minute call, than from MBA Prep School.

I chose to work with Tyler Cormney because of all the positive reviews he had on this site. It was a bit of a gamble, because I was very skeptical and I was investing a lot of money. I worked with Tyler to apply to 3 different schools: Rice, Duke and UT. The reason we chose these schools was because my GMAT was very low at the time: 620.

I found that Tyler is incredibly gifted at editing and helping others to craft their stories. He would always challenge me to produce top work and to trust the process first and foremost. I have to say, that following the process in such a detailed and organized manner, made the admissions process so much more achievable and easier to digest.

One of the beauties of working with Tyler is that you pretty much just have to fill in the blanks, and marvel as how your story starts to unfold. In other words, if you put in the work you will reap the rewards, and Tyler will guide you along the way. He truly teaches you how to think and come across as a top performer by highlighting your particular strengths for each stage of the admissions process: picking schools, crafting your story, doing school research, writing the essays, and interviewing. This might seem easy to do, but Tyler does seem to have a knack for helping you to convey yourself as an overall well rounded candidate, and also guides you to express your unique voice.

I have to say, that I would have not been able to get into to Duke without having worked with Tyler. This is not to diminish my merits, but I was truly lost before starting to apply for schools and was so overwhelmed and stressed by having to retake the GMAT. Tyler knew that I had very little time to finish the applications, under a month, so he readjusted my schedule so we could get the work done in time. Tyler was very fast and prompt when giving feedback and he helped calm my nerves more than once. But above all, I would say what I truly liked about working with Tyler, was that he was extremely honest; at all times I felt he cared about my progress and provided the necessary feedback/input I needed to build my profile adequately.

My results working with Tyler? Got admitted into Duke with a merit scholarship, waitlisted at UT and got admitted to Rice with a sizeable scholarship. If you are a highly qualified individual, working with Tyler would only help you get into the school of your dreams, like he did for me, and you might be able to get a scholarship.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Discounts on MBAPrep School Admissions Consulting
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Tyler Cormney - the best of the very best!
March 03 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: October 13, 2012 | 0 | 5 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - school of my dreams
This review is for:  Admissions Consulting   Consultant:  Tyler Cormney
Tyler Cormney, the co-founder of MBA Prep School, is absolutely amazing, the best of the very best! No words can really describe how thrilled I am about our work together and the awesome results, but I will do my best. Not only did I get into the school of my dreams (and others I applied to), but also learned a lot about myself and what future life- and career choices I should pursue.

Coming from a finance background, and with some considerable weaknesses in profile, I knew I was up for an intense competition but wanted to get into a top program (think Harvard/Stanford/Wharton). Given my age and professional category, I didn’t want to leave anything to chance or have a single regret. For this, I needed THE best MBA admissions consultant, who would work as hard as I would and help me create absolutely rock-star applications. You have to have full confidence in your admissions consultant and in entrusting your fate in this process in her- or his hands. You can’t compromise on quality here – the process is just so competitive. You need someone who is as invested as you are in your success.

I first came across Tyler Cormney, and MBA Prep School while doing a thorough diligence and speaking to several consultants. His application philosophy, and the organized and comprehensive MBA Prep School application process, appealed to me a lot. Most of the consultants out there looked good on paper, and sounded encouraging. However, among all of them, Tyler really stood out by his unique background in both business (incl. Harvard Business School MBA) and creative writing training. Excellent track record and reviews written by his former clients, and a great impression from our introductory conversation (where he shared valuable insights and we connected on an interpersonal level), ultimately convinced me to embark on my “MBA application journey” with him. I signed on for a multi-school comprehensive package. This was the single best decision I made in the MBA application process!

As said, I had (very) high expectations, which Tyler instantly started exceeding. We spent weeks doing an extremely organized and comprehensive review of my background (in line with MBA Prep School methodology) and designing application strategy, which produced stunning material for the “real fun” later – essays, application forms, supporting recommenders, and interviews. Right away, I saw that I made a great choice. Tyler was extraordinarily responsive (still don’t know how he manages to turn stuff around and answer emails so quickly and so thoroughly!). He drew exactly the right information from me – often stuff I would not have considered important, but through his creative and experienced eyes, he saw how the dots connected into something powerful. From an “ocean” of content, step by step, week after week, we described the real “me” at my very best. It was completely personalized – nothing “cookie cutter” or “fitting into a template.” He got to know me inside out, remembered everything, pointed to connections and themes I didn’t see myself, and in the end I knew what my “story” had to be.

It quickly turned out Tyler is not (just) an “MBA admissions consultant,” or advisor. Tyler became way more than this – a confidante, a strategist, and really a friend. He was there to help on anything, and no matter what – incl. GMAT strategy and answering my last-minute frenetic emails at light’s speed. Already at that stage the Skype calls we had and emails we exchanged counted probably in hundreds, and their content could fill a new thick novel or memoir on MBA applications. Tyler keeps you on track with timing and process, sends emails reminding of upcoming deadlines, and I can’t even count how many times he “rescued” me by squeezing rush (and voluminous) work in his schedule to save. Whenever I needed something extra, he was there to help by making personal sacrifices and squeezing work into my mad schedule and deadlines. In fact, he over delivers both on timing and on quality. Working with him, you’re fully confident you’re with the best pilot and on a seat in the “private jet.” And I really, really admire his superhuman patience, kindness, and authentic friendliness!

What happened once we started work on the actual applications was simply a masterpiece. I had read reviews from excited clients about Tyler’s creative writing knowledge, and what I experienced first-hand was way greater than I had even expected. Having survived MANY revisions of outlines and “first drafts” (again – immense kudos to his incredible patience; you can tell by reading this review that I like to say it all...), we started producing applications, which evolved from decent in my first draft to extraordinary (after Tyler’s editorial suggestions and our countless Skype discussions). Whenever I thought my work was already great, and felt satisfied, Tyler proved it could be taken to the “next level.” When I opened a file coming back from him, I couldn’t help but say “woooow.” We never stopped until it was all perfect. And this applies to absolutely all items of my MBA application – essays, data forms, resume, guidance for my recommenders’, and absolutely every, tiniest detail. Upon submission, my applications were holistic, school-specific (Tyler knows the nuanced differences between schools) and presented an authentic 3-dimensional picture that I felt very proud of. At the interview stage, his help was just as fantastic, and the preparation equally brilliant. The call(s) from AdCom saying I was accepted are the ultimate proof!

It’s not only the quality Tyler guarantees, and the outstanding output which results from working with him, that makes him so special. It’s also the attitude, and the 1000% dedication in client’s success, like it was his own. It is my biggest pleasure to wholeheartedly recommend Tyler Cormney and want to say with total confidence that however gruelling the MBA application process might be, embarking on it with him makes it a completely different experience – to the point you can even enjoy it (I’m not joking). I’m heading to the business school of my many-year-long dreams, filled with joy and knowing it is due to TYLER that it happened.

THANK YOU TYLER, you are the best!!

- Top-3 MBA, class of 2016
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Great Experience with Chris Aitken and the MBAPrepSchool Platform
February 24 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: November 12, 2012 | 12 | 5 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - school of my dreams
This review is for:  Admissions Consulting   Consultant:  Chris Aitken
I interviewed several consultants and would recommend any MBA applicant to do the same. Ultimately the rapport and personal fit between you and the consultant is most important as you will spend a lot of time working together and will need to be comfortable opening up about your strengths and weaknesses.

I immediately appreciated Chris’ fair, honest feedback. He was comfortable being critical and asked a lot from me, but was always diplomatic when bearing bad news. For example, he convinced me to write the GMAT a second time, and rewrite essays numerous times.

I found the introspection necessary for strong essays difficult, but Chris asked the right questions to find great stories, recognize new value in my experiences, while rightly convincing me to disregard others. His advice was substantive, constructive, personalized, and actionable from day one.

It was also very important to me that Chris was always available to help, whether calling me from the airport after I sent him a stressed out email or pulling late nights as I put final pieces together last minute.

In addition to Chris’ consulting, the structure that MBA Prep School’s online platform provides was key to my success. They have effectively compartmentalized self-reflection, and turned the application into a step-by-step process that is much more approachable then staring at a blank word-doc.

Also, Chris was able to leverage the expertise of the rest of his team for their school specific experience, and varied creative writing styles to help me get into my dream school. Additionally, Chris opened his own personal network to help answer career focused questions I had.

Chris truly went above and beyond what I expected from a consultant, acting as a friend and mentor who was truly invested in my success. The value Chris provided far outweighed the cost. Because of Chris’ help I will be attending Columbia Business School, but more than that, conversations with Chris helped me identify and solidify my long-term goals such that I am confident that I will get the most out of my MBA experience.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Discounts on MBAPrep School Admissions Consulting
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Tyler Cormney
February 02 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: February 2, 2014 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - school of my dreams
This review is for:  Admissions Consulting   Consultant:  Tyler Cormney
I think Tyler really excels in many areas. The first thing is that he believes in you and can see a compelling story in everyone. While I was researching admissions consultants, I spoke to other consultants who quickly put me in a box and told me which schools were reach, match, and safety, based on taking my resume at face value. In contrast, Tyler saw the potential and stories hidden in my resume and pushed me to stretch myself. His faith in me and ability to look deeper was what convinced me to go with him, despite a higher sticker price than some competing shops.

Tyler is truly what I would call a coach or guide. He has interesting, creative ideas, but he really pushes you to develop your own. He is never prescriptive, and he strongly believes in presenting an authentic view of you. Don't sign up if you are just hoping to have someone tell you what to say. The essays that result after working with Tyler are rich and polished, but also to-the-point. Most importantly, they will be your own, with your unique voice and story.

Lastly, Tyler has a knack for making you feel like you are his only client. He remembers so much, and is very good at accommodating your schedule and needs. He will do what it takes to get the job done, and holds himself to a very high standard.

In the end, I was interviewed at a school that other consultants told me was out of my league, and accepted to two Top 10 schools that other consultants said were "reaches." I give Tyler my highest recommendation, and know that I absolutely made the right choice by choosing him.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Review for Tyler Cormney
January 23 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: January 23, 2014 | 1 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - school of my dreams
This review is for:  Admissions Consulting   Consultant:  Tyler Cormney
The business school application process can be daunting, including the process of choosing a consultant! Tyler stood out to me because of his extensive experience and more importantly RESULTS. Tyler came highly recommended by friends who were successful as a result of his help. During my initial consultation, I appreciated that Tyler was realistic about my candidacy. I felt like he saw possible pitfalls and solutions that other consultants missed.

I was not disappointed. In regards to my essays, Tyler was able to help me pick apart major events in my life and narrow in on an interesting theme, which I believe helped me stand out from the pack. Not only did he provide great advice on the application, but he also provided a much-needed push when I started to get worn-out. I felt like he was personally invested in helping me get into my dream school, Harvard Business School! Make an investment in Tyler. You will have the peace of mind of knowing that you are putting your best foot forward with your applications.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Discounts on MBAPrep School Admissions Consulting
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community


Best MBAPrepSchool GMAT Instructors
Tyler Cormney [USA]
    
Chris Aitken [USA]
    
Lorraine Tong [USA]
    
Save $100
on MBA Prep School
- On-Demand Video Tutorials
- MBA PrepTools
- Project Management Tools
Learn more