Admissions Consulting Reviews
    Number of reviews [44]      Average Rating:       (5.0/5)
MBA Prep School
MBA Prep School’s faculty of admissions experts work with a select number of clients each year on a comprehensive or hourly basis. We also offer essay editing, resume editing, and mock interview consulting services.

Review for Tyler Cormney
January 23 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: January 23, 2014 | 1 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - school of my dreams
This review is for:  Admissions Consulting   Consultant:  Tyler Cormney
The business school application process can be daunting, including the process of choosing a consultant! Tyler stood out to me because of his extensive experience and more importantly RESULTS. Tyler came highly recommended by friends who were successful as a result of his help. During my initial consultation, I appreciated that Tyler was realistic about my candidacy. I felt like he saw possible pitfalls and solutions that other consultants missed.

I was not disappointed. In regards to my essays, Tyler was able to help me pick apart major events in my life and narrow in on an interesting theme, which I believe helped me stand out from the pack. Not only did he provide great advice on the application, but he also provided a much-needed push when I started to get worn-out. I felt like he was personally invested in helping me get into my dream school, Harvard Business School! Make an investment in Tyler. You will have the peace of mind of knowing that you are putting your best foot forward with your applications.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Tyler is worth it!
January 16 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By mik789 joined: December 10, 2013 | 3 | 6 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - school of my dreams
This review is for:  Admissions Consulting   Consultant:  Tyler Cormney
I come from a fairly traditional/over-represented background (2 years of banking, 3 years of private equity) and I was concerned about my chances of being accepted into HBS or Stanford. After interviewing 7 different admissions consultants, I selected Tyler for a couple reasons: (1) some of my close friends had used him in the past and had nothing but great things to say [and had also gotten accepted], and (2) I felt like Tyler would be someone that could help me create a unique, personal narrative unlike some other consultants who like to squeeze all their clients into a pre-determined mold.

Regarding point 2, I would say that Tyler has exceeded my already high expectations. Tyler guided me through a step-by-step process to bring out my most relevant / interesting / unique stories and helped me craft them into powerful narratives in my essays. He is disciplined, responsive, and in particular, his attentiveness almost made me feel like I was his only client.

If you come from an over-represented background and care about crafting a unique story that still represents who you really are, PICK TYLER!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Discounts on MBAPrep School Admissions Consulting
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Transforming experience with Esther Choy and Faisal Khan at MBAPrepSchool
January 06 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By sense824 joined: August 2, 2013 | 2 | 1 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Some, but not all
This review is for:  Admissions Consulting   Consultant:  Esther Choy
I’d like to start by saying that I am very hesitant to refer to Esther Choy and Faisal Khan as admission consultants. I see them more as mentors and partners that are indispensable in my quest to gain admission to top MBA programs.

Almost everyone who chooses to go through the grueling MBA admission process is motivated, disciplined, and has a successful track record. What differentiates one candidate from another is the way he/she conveys messages. Esther and Faisal helped me to build a compelling and genuine story throughout this process.

Esther started off the process by story mining, refining, and more refining. She constantly pushed me to look beyond the norms and examine myself more thoroughly. I ended up learning more about myself than I ever did. At the same time, she was very careful with not putting words in my mouth, so what I presented to the admission committee was truly my voice.

The next step was to put together an engaging story that resonates. This was where Esther’s gift in storytelling and Faisal’s incredible writing skills came in. Esther started with the basics such as the structure of stories and the art of what to leave out, which made an ordinary event sounded much more interesting and engaging.

While Esther taught me how to communicate effectively, Faisal focused on how to communicate more efficiently. I was amazed by Faisal’s ability to cut down a lengthy essay to something that was very concise without losing its character. The essays demonstrated truly who I am rather than a façade tailored to the MBA admission. Their guidance was instrumental in helping me to convey a powerful message to the admission committee and securing a position at one of the top MBA programs.

However, an acceptance letter from a top MBA program is hardly the most valuable thing that I’ve gained through working with Esther and Faisal. I’ve learned through this process how to communicate effectively and efficiently, and how to connect to my audiences through powerful storytelling. This is something that will benefit me for the rest of my career.

I would highly recommend Esther and Faisal to anyone who is seeking a transforming experience, and who is looking far and beyond the MBA admission process.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Tyler is the BEST!
October 26 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: October 26, 2013 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - school of my dreams
This review is for:  Admissions Consulting   Consultant:  Tyler Cormney
I decided to choose Tyler to help me through the admissions process after reading multiple great reviews. I have to say that I have not been disappointed. I had a special case as I recently returned from abroad and went through a very difficult job change. I knew that I wanted to go for an MBA but it was very difficult for me to come up with a coherent and convincing story behind my application. Tyler was very patient, he worked with me tirelessly through the details of my education, career choices and life story. After we started working on my applications Tyler never accepted my essays until they were the absolute best that I could write. I also feel proud that I wrote all of them myself unlike some of my friends who used consultants to write theirs. It was a difficult process but at the end I felt great about the end product and it help me land again on solid feet in my career. I purchased Tyler's 6-school package, I applied to five, and I got admitted to Insead, Oxford Said, and Columbia. I have just been invited to Cornell to interview but as Columbia was my top choice I decided to withdraw my application from Booth and Cornell. Tyler never accepts 90% he will push you to your very limit but also make sure you deliver your very best. He is very patient and will do everything to help you along the way. I feel lucky that I chose Tyler to help me. He made a significant difference for me. Thank you Tyler.
I am starting Columbia in a few months. I can't be more excited!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Discounts on MBAPrep School Admissions Consulting
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Extraordinary consultant!
October 22 | 2013

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: August 15, 2013 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - school of my dreams
This review is for:  Admissions Consulting   Consultant:  Tyler Cormney
With little more than three weeks to apply to my three dream schools (Kellogg, Tuck, Yale SOM), I had very little room for error and no time to waste.

Insert: Tyler Cormney.

After a speed dating rotation (i.e. free 30-minute trials) with the most highly recommended MBA consultants available, I signed with Ty believing he could provide something I just could not get working on my own. I could not have been more right!

Ty is an extraordinary coach. From the moment I signed on, I felt that he was as invested in my success as I was. With such a tight deadline, it was invaluable to have a counselor whose feedback I trusted wholeheartedly. Ty’s advice is the product of having worked with hundreds of applicants, and I felt the value of it through every step of the application process.

As a “career switcher” into brand management, I specifically appreciated Tyler’s guidance in crafting a detailed career goals plan. He helped me identify my transferrable skills, coached me through informational interviews with professionals at various levels of their marketing careers, and even put me in touch with his own contacts!

In three short weeks, Tyler motivated me through his entire process of approaching MBA applications. When I finally pressed “SUBMIT”, I was confident that I had put the best “me” forward in my applications and I would have no regrets regardless of outcome.

As Ty has often reminded me, “It’s not where you begin, it’s where you finish.” In hindsight, I know exactly how different my application would have been with and without Tyler’s help. I feel so blessed to have made the choice I did to work with Tyler Cormney.


- Kellogg, Class of 2015 (with scholarship); admitted to Tuck and Yale SOM
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Chris - A fantastic guy
August 13 | 2013

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: August 13, 2013 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  
This review is for:  Admissions Consulting   Consultant:  Chris Aitken
Chris is a fantastic and marvelous guy. We had lengthy discussions on how to frame the answers and he never really bothered about the time we spent. In this process, he ensured that we come up with the best answers. He worked well beyond his role of an advisor and a consultant and helped me more as a friend and a well-wisher. Chris also prepared me well for the interviews and ensured that I give strong responses. In addition, his coaching was insightful and effective. It was great working with him and I really enjoyed the interaction. I applied in the third round deadline, yet due to Chris’s strong inputs, I was able to make it to my dream school. I would not hesitate to say that the credit for my admissions to Stanford, Yale and London Business School goes to him.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Discounts on MBAPrep School Admissions Consulting
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Great Experience - Highly Recommended
June 19 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: June 19, 2013 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  
This review is for:  Admissions Consulting   Consultant:  Tyler Cormney
I used Tyler Cormney this past year and only have the best things to say. As a someone reapplying for the second time, I knew the process well and just needed a knowledgeable external party who could take a look at my essays and general application. Tyler gave specific and actionable feedback with a very short turnaround. Initially I was hesitant to use a consultant given the costs but it was well worth it.

Tyler was responsive, friendly, professional, and most importantly, he genuinely cared about seeing me admitted. His feedback helped to tighten up my stories and improve the flow of my overall application. He also raised some bigger questions that I could later go back to and resolve myself. Overall, it was a huge value add and I would recommend him to anyone (at any stage of the MBA admissions process). I am thrilled to be heading to Stanford in the fall - thanks Tyler!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Great experience
May 08 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: May 8, 2013 | 1 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  
This review is for:  Admissions Consulting  
My initial conversation with Tyler definitely drew me to MBA Prep School. Unlike other consultations I had, Tyler was honest, forthcoming, and offered a lot of insight all within the free "15 minute call," which extended well beyond 15 minutes.

My consultant Daniel J's years of experience were definitely a plus and I trusted his opinions and suggestions - crucial in working with an MBA consultant. Daniel J was efficient and held nothing back - he was blunt which was exactly what I needed. He went well beyond just reviewing my drafts and instead coached me in starting to think strategically about my application as well as how to write creatively. I enjoyed working with Daniel J very much and will recommend his services to my friends.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Discounts on MBAPrep School Admissions Consulting
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
MBA Prep School
April 22 | 2013

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: April 22, 2013 | 1 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  
This review is for:  Admissions Consulting   Consultant:  Chris Aitken
I had interviewed a number of different MBA consultants to help with my application and ultimately decided on Chris and MBA Prep School. When we spoke, he came across as knowledgeable, experienced, and I thought our personalities would mesh well. Upon interviewing consultants, I actually think I undervalued this last characteristic, which for me proved to be most constructive in my process.

In addition to all of the prepared modules, videos, and frameworks that he had on his site to help me fill out my application, I found Chris to be most valuable in helping me to think through the purpose behind my application / candidacy, which I felt in the end.

For those who have not applied before, the business school application process can be wrenching not only from a time standpoint, but even more so from an introspection perspective. At least for me, it was the first time in my life where I really spent a ton of time thinking through whether this was something I wanted to commit a lot of time and money to doing. Through the written modules and our weekly conversations, Chris pushed me to dig deep into what mattered most to me, what I truly wanted to be when I grew up, and what experiences I’d had in my life that shaped who I was. It was in doing so that I was best equipped to reinforce my decision to apply and also fill out the best application possible.

After completing this extensive brainstorming marathon, Chris was helpful in picking out what he thought were the best stories and helping me to concatenate them into a cohesive story that formed the basis for my application and subsequent interview. In connection with this, he was able to help me identify the key parts of my story to reinforce during each phase of the process. I have no doubt that my application and candidacy was meaningfully better having worked with Chris and am very grateful for his counsel.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
MBA Prep School Tyler Cormney
April 19 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: January 20, 2013 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  
This review is for:  Admissions Consulting   Consultant:  Tyler Cormney
I engaged Tyler Cormney after a friend told me how instrumental Tyler was in his successful application to Stanford GSB. As a military applicant seeking to change career paths, I began the intensive application process with no working knowledge of the business world, and no concrete career goals. With Tyler’s coaching and the resources he created for MBA Prep School, I was able to break up the MBA application process into manageable parts and to establish clear deadlines and a personal work plan.

I appreciated the organized approach, which ensured each aspect of my application received my best effort, and over time I created a cohesive story for the adcoms. This seems basic, but it’s actually an incredibly difficult task when you’re juggling multiple business school applications.

Tyler worked with me through numerous video chat consults and used the step-by-step MBA Prep School plan to gradually bring my career goals into focus. By the time I was ready to draft my essays, I had a career path in mind that I was genuinely excited about. More importantly, I could articulate what I wanted to do, why it was important to me, and how an MBA was necessary to my achieving these career goals.

Tyler's personal character and commitment to my success showed during the essay drafting process. He always told me when an essay topic wasn't working, and advised that we start from scratch. He even helped me to power through when I was feeling a bit burnt out with the writing process. In short, Tyler accepted nothing less than my very best, even though it put him on the hook for many more revisions. Tyler won’t let up until you’ve done it right!

After being invited to interview by Wharton and waitlisted by Harvard, I was accepted and offered a $20K scholarship to the top-ranked MBA program that I will be attending this Fall. Tyler helped me present my very best self in each of my applications, and I doubt I would have received a valuable scholarship from a top 20 program without him. As such, I can confidently say that Tyler added value to my applications far in excess of what it cost to hire him. This process, though challenging and even painful at times, enabled me to discover my true career goals and develop an actionable plan to achieve them. I highly recommend Tyler to others, especially non-traditional and fellow military MBA applicants like myself!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Discounts on MBAPrep School Admissions Consulting
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community


Best MBAPrepSchool GMAT Instructors
Tyler Cormney [USA]
    
Chris Aitken [USA]
    
Lorraine Tong [USA]
    
Save $100
on MBA Prep School
- On-Demand Video Tutorials
- MBA PrepTools
- Project Management Tools
Learn more