Admissions Consulting Reviews
    Number of reviews [41]      Average Rating:       (5.0/5)
MBA Prep School
MBA Prep School’s faculty of admissions experts work with a select number of clients each year on a comprehensive or hourly basis. We also offer essay editing, resume editing, and mock interview consulting services.

Tyler is the BEST!
October 26 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: October 26, 2013 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - school of my dreams
This review is for:  Admissions Consulting   Consultant:  Tyler Cormney
I decided to choose Tyler to help me through the admissions process after reading multiple great reviews. I have to say that I have not been disappointed. I had a special case as I recently returned from abroad and went through a very difficult job change. I knew that I wanted to go for an MBA but it was very difficult for me to come up with a coherent and convincing story behind my application. Tyler was very patient, he worked with me tirelessly through the details of my education, career choices and life story. After we started working on my applications Tyler never accepted my essays until they were the absolute best that I could write. I also feel proud that I wrote all of them myself unlike some of my friends who used consultants to write theirs. It was a difficult process but at the end I felt great about the end product and it help me land again on solid feet in my career. I purchased Tyler's 6-school package, I applied to five, and I got admitted to Insead, Oxford Said, and Columbia. I have just been invited to Cornell to interview but as Columbia was my top choice I decided to withdraw my application from Booth and Cornell. Tyler never accepts 90% he will push you to your very limit but also make sure you deliver your very best. He is very patient and will do everything to help you along the way. I feel lucky that I chose Tyler to help me. He made a significant difference for me. Thank you Tyler.
I am starting Columbia in a few months. I can't be more excited!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Extraordinary consultant!
October 22 | 2013

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: August 15, 2013 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - school of my dreams
This review is for:  Admissions Consulting   Consultant:  Tyler Cormney
With little more than three weeks to apply to my three dream schools (Kellogg, Tuck, Yale SOM), I had very little room for error and no time to waste.

Insert: Tyler Cormney.

After a speed dating rotation (i.e. free 30-minute trials) with the most highly recommended MBA consultants available, I signed with Ty believing he could provide something I just could not get working on my own. I could not have been more right!

Ty is an extraordinary coach. From the moment I signed on, I felt that he was as invested in my success as I was. With such a tight deadline, it was invaluable to have a counselor whose feedback I trusted wholeheartedly. Ty’s advice is the product of having worked with hundreds of applicants, and I felt the value of it through every step of the application process.

As a “career switcher” into brand management, I specifically appreciated Tyler’s guidance in crafting a detailed career goals plan. He helped me identify my transferrable skills, coached me through informational interviews with professionals at various levels of their marketing careers, and even put me in touch with his own contacts!

In three short weeks, Tyler motivated me through his entire process of approaching MBA applications. When I finally pressed “SUBMIT”, I was confident that I had put the best “me” forward in my applications and I would have no regrets regardless of outcome.

As Ty has often reminded me, “It’s not where you begin, it’s where you finish.” In hindsight, I know exactly how different my application would have been with and without Tyler’s help. I feel so blessed to have made the choice I did to work with Tyler Cormney.


- Kellogg, Class of 2015 (with scholarship); admitted to Tuck and Yale SOM
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Discounts on MBAPrep School Admissions Consulting
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Chris - A fantastic guy
August 13 | 2013

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: August 13, 2013 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  
This review is for:  Admissions Consulting   Consultant:  Chris Aitken
Chris is a fantastic and marvelous guy. We had lengthy discussions on how to frame the answers and he never really bothered about the time we spent. In this process, he ensured that we come up with the best answers. He worked well beyond his role of an advisor and a consultant and helped me more as a friend and a well-wisher. Chris also prepared me well for the interviews and ensured that I give strong responses. In addition, his coaching was insightful and effective. It was great working with him and I really enjoyed the interaction. I applied in the third round deadline, yet due to Chris’s strong inputs, I was able to make it to my dream school. I would not hesitate to say that the credit for my admissions to Stanford, Yale and London Business School goes to him.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Great Experience - Highly Recommended
June 19 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: June 19, 2013 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  
This review is for:  Admissions Consulting   Consultant:  Tyler Cormney
I used Tyler Cormney this past year and only have the best things to say. As a someone reapplying for the second time, I knew the process well and just needed a knowledgeable external party who could take a look at my essays and general application. Tyler gave specific and actionable feedback with a very short turnaround. Initially I was hesitant to use a consultant given the costs but it was well worth it.

Tyler was responsive, friendly, professional, and most importantly, he genuinely cared about seeing me admitted. His feedback helped to tighten up my stories and improve the flow of my overall application. He also raised some bigger questions that I could later go back to and resolve myself. Overall, it was a huge value add and I would recommend him to anyone (at any stage of the MBA admissions process). I am thrilled to be heading to Stanford in the fall - thanks Tyler!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Discounts on MBAPrep School Admissions Consulting
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Great experience
May 08 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: May 8, 2013 | 1 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  
This review is for:  Admissions Consulting  
My initial conversation with Tyler definitely drew me to MBA Prep School. Unlike other consultations I had, Tyler was honest, forthcoming, and offered a lot of insight all within the free "15 minute call," which extended well beyond 15 minutes.

My consultant Daniel J's years of experience were definitely a plus and I trusted his opinions and suggestions - crucial in working with an MBA consultant. Daniel J was efficient and held nothing back - he was blunt which was exactly what I needed. He went well beyond just reviewing my drafts and instead coached me in starting to think strategically about my application as well as how to write creatively. I enjoyed working with Daniel J very much and will recommend his services to my friends.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
MBA Prep School
April 22 | 2013

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: April 22, 2013 | 1 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  
This review is for:  Admissions Consulting   Consultant:  Chris Aitken
I had interviewed a number of different MBA consultants to help with my application and ultimately decided on Chris and MBA Prep School. When we spoke, he came across as knowledgeable, experienced, and I thought our personalities would mesh well. Upon interviewing consultants, I actually think I undervalued this last characteristic, which for me proved to be most constructive in my process.

In addition to all of the prepared modules, videos, and frameworks that he had on his site to help me fill out my application, I found Chris to be most valuable in helping me to think through the purpose behind my application / candidacy, which I felt in the end.

For those who have not applied before, the business school application process can be wrenching not only from a time standpoint, but even more so from an introspection perspective. At least for me, it was the first time in my life where I really spent a ton of time thinking through whether this was something I wanted to commit a lot of time and money to doing. Through the written modules and our weekly conversations, Chris pushed me to dig deep into what mattered most to me, what I truly wanted to be when I grew up, and what experiences I’d had in my life that shaped who I was. It was in doing so that I was best equipped to reinforce my decision to apply and also fill out the best application possible.

After completing this extensive brainstorming marathon, Chris was helpful in picking out what he thought were the best stories and helping me to concatenate them into a cohesive story that formed the basis for my application and subsequent interview. In connection with this, he was able to help me identify the key parts of my story to reinforce during each phase of the process. I have no doubt that my application and candidacy was meaningfully better having worked with Chris and am very grateful for his counsel.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Discounts on MBAPrep School Admissions Consulting
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
MBA Prep School Tyler Cormney
April 19 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: January 20, 2013 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  
This review is for:  Admissions Consulting   Consultant:  Tyler Cormney
I engaged Tyler Cormney after a friend told me how instrumental Tyler was in his successful application to Stanford GSB. As a military applicant seeking to change career paths, I began the intensive application process with no working knowledge of the business world, and no concrete career goals. With Tyler’s coaching and the resources he created for MBA Prep School, I was able to break up the MBA application process into manageable parts and to establish clear deadlines and a personal work plan.

I appreciated the organized approach, which ensured each aspect of my application received my best effort, and over time I created a cohesive story for the adcoms. This seems basic, but it’s actually an incredibly difficult task when you’re juggling multiple business school applications.

Tyler worked with me through numerous video chat consults and used the step-by-step MBA Prep School plan to gradually bring my career goals into focus. By the time I was ready to draft my essays, I had a career path in mind that I was genuinely excited about. More importantly, I could articulate what I wanted to do, why it was important to me, and how an MBA was necessary to my achieving these career goals.

Tyler's personal character and commitment to my success showed during the essay drafting process. He always told me when an essay topic wasn't working, and advised that we start from scratch. He even helped me to power through when I was feeling a bit burnt out with the writing process. In short, Tyler accepted nothing less than my very best, even though it put him on the hook for many more revisions. Tyler won’t let up until you’ve done it right!

After being invited to interview by Wharton and waitlisted by Harvard, I was accepted and offered a $20K scholarship to the top-ranked MBA program that I will be attending this Fall. Tyler helped me present my very best self in each of my applications, and I doubt I would have received a valuable scholarship from a top 20 program without him. As such, I can confidently say that Tyler added value to my applications far in excess of what it cost to hire him. This process, though challenging and even painful at times, enabled me to discover my true career goals and develop an actionable plan to achieve them. I highly recommend Tyler to others, especially non-traditional and fellow military MBA applicants like myself!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Alex Leventhal Review
April 18 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: April 16, 2013 | 1 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  
This review is for:  Admissions Consulting   Consultant:  Alex Leventhal
Just thought I would share my experiences working with Alex Leventhal at MBAPrepSchool.

Coming from an engineering background and not having many friends who had applied to b-school, I knew that I really wanted a consultant to help guide me through the process. I contacted at least half a dozen admission consulting firms, but each time was disappointed in that I felt that either I was being handed off to a junior consultant, or I found myself in the middle of a spiel/sales pitch. Alex Leventhal was actually the last consultant I spoke to, and he instantly stood out. It was quite clear that he was experienced, smart and passionate, but at the same time didn’t feel the need to BS - he was realistic and honest in talking about my strengths, weaknesses and school choices.

I started off with a 4 school package, and was happy enough that I added another school later down the road. I ended up being admitted to 4 schools including my first choice INSEAD. Working with Alex was great and well-structured. We spent a good deal of time working on the foundation – background, leadership stories and career plans. I was quite amazed how creative the application turned out and how well we were able to connect the dots. We talked on Skype at least every week or whenever I needed to chat, and I found him to be quick (usually within 1-2 days) in turning around essay drafts.

Personally, what stood out most about Alex was that he was sincere and highly involved throughout the process. I have a natural tendency to over think and always critique the quality of my product. So many a times, I would be requesting Alex to review and edit the 6th or 7th drafts of an essay – he did so without question and was always helpful. However, he also kept me focused, and made sure that I was moving on when I went a bit overboard!

I would highly recommend Alex Leventhal. He knows what he’s talking about, and is really going to be working hard to get you to the b-school of your choice.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Discounts on MBAPrep School Admissions Consulting
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Lorraine Tong helped me get into Wharton!
April 11 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By gtw15 joined: April 11, 2013 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  
This review is for:  Admissions Consulting   Consultant:  Lorraine Tong
Should you apply in round 1 or round 2? If you still can’t decide after reading all the MBA blogs and forums, go with the round for which Lorraine still has capacity – she’s that good. Having applied to b-school on my own before, I’m certain Lorraine’s guidance and MBA Prep School’s systematic approach to the application process are what got me results this time around.

My background:
• Top 10 UG business school, 3.6 GPA, 710 GMAT
• Non-traditional career path at little-known companies, solid international exposure
• Limited leadership experience outside of work

Never would I have thought I could get into Wharton with those credentials. Applying to Wharton was Lorraine’s suggestion. I thought she was crazy, but I’m very glad I trusted her, as I’m going there this fall.

My favorite things about Lorraine:

1. She only takes on a few clients each round and is deeply invested in every one of their applications.

2. She can help clients find dimensions that are truly unique to them because she 1) spends a lot of time getting to know them, 2) listens well, and 3) has good instincts. She saw value in things that seemed very trivial to me but really captured who I am and probably made me more memorable to the ad com.

3. She has an uncanny knack for finding the common thread among seemingly unrelated bits and pieces. There were a lot of things I wanted to communicate to the ad com. Without a strategic approach, I would’ve come across schizophrenic. Lorraine helped me figure out my core identity, thus enabling me to weave the different components of each application into one compelling narrative.

4. Her diverse experiences (corporate/nonprofit/creative) and knowledge of many different industries translate into her ability to help clients 1) best position what they’ve done and, 2) clearly define what they want to do after b-school. I struggled with the latter, but under Lorraine’s guidance, I was able to transform a vague vision into concrete goals and articulate how an MBA could help me achieve them.

5. She gets the nuanced differences among top schools. The information I gathered on the schools were a lot to digest. Lorraine helped me isolate the unique characteristics on which each school prides itself, characteristics applicants must understand if they want to craft targeted applications that demonstrate fit, which is critical. If you work with Lorraine, you won’t be doing much recycling/copying & pasting.

6. Like a good personal trainer, she will motivate you until the very end, past writer’s blocks, burnouts and breakdowns, and the point where you just want to submit what you have and “get it over with.”

7. She is very understanding. As a former MBA student and seasoned consultant, she gets how exhausting it is to apply to school while working and how frustrating it is to sit in front of the computer for hours only to write two sentences. She kept me sane and focused when I wanted to pull my hair out.

8. She is punctual with calls and quick with feedback.

9. She is a cool person with a good sense of humor and a quirky personality. Very easy to talk to.

10. She loves what she does.

No Lorraine, no Wharton. I <3 Lorraine!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Tyler Cormney Review
April 09 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: August 22, 2012 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - school of my dreams
This review is for:  Admissions Consulting   Consultant:  Tyler Cormney
I truly do not believe that I would have received an acceptance letter to HBS without Tyler Cormney’s guidance. The toughest part of the application was putting together quality essays that hit on all the points I wanted to make while addressing the fit qualities that the schools deemed to be most important. I would have had no clue how to pick stories to tell in my essays or understand fit qualities of top-tier programs without Tyler’s support. Tyler was very helpful and knowledgeable about every step along the path to putting together a top-notch application. He was always available to answer any question, no matter how specific it was to my application, or general it was to each program. Tyler was genuinely interested in my success, which could be felt during our conversations and his devotion to the nitty-gritty aspects of my application.

The MBA Prep School videos that Tyler created for the benefit of his clients were all-inclusive, and allowed for much richer discussions when Tyler and I had one of our live meetings. I would absolutely recommend Tyler Cormney and MBA Prep School if you are serious about applying to a top-tier business school and believe, as I did, that you need help standing out in this incredibly ferocious competition.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Discounts on MBAPrep School Admissions Consulting
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community


Best MBAPrepSchool GMAT Instructors
Tyler Cormney [USA]
    
Chris Aitken [USA]
    
Lorraine Tong [USA]
    
Save $100
on MBA Prep School
- On-Demand Video Tutorials
- MBA PrepTools
- Project Management Tools
Learn more