Comprehensive School Package Reviews
    Number of reviews [57]      Average Rating:       (5.0/5)
MBA Prep School
MBA Prep School’s faculty of admissions experts work with a select number of clients each year on a comprehensive or hourly basis. We also offer essay editing, resume editing, and mock interview consulting services.


Great people and great help!
March 04 | 2015

       By Anonymous joined: April 2, 2013 | 0 | 5 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Some, but not all
This review is for:  Comprehensive School Package   Consultant:  Esther Choy
Business school was the best decision I made in my life, and I know I could not have gone through the application process without Faisal Khan and Esther Choy. Not only did they teach me about the schools I was applying to, but they taught be a great deal about myself and how to portray myself in the best light. I learned how to tell the right stories in the right way, and this "story-telling" was integral to not only the admissions process, but also to the rest of my life." After school, I will be working as a management consultant, and I know I will use the skills I learned from Esther and Faisal, as well as the MBA degree that they helped me achieve. I highly recommend working with them. Oh, and they're awesome people too!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
MBA Prep School and Tyler Cormney = Significant ROI
March 03 | 2015

       By Anonymous joined: March 3, 2015 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Some, but not all
This review is for:  Comprehensive School Package   Consultant:  Tyler Cormney
Summary: Hire MBA Prep School and Tyler Cormney for personalized professional execution and a significant ROI.

Detail: I came across MBA Prep School and Tyler Cormney after reading Tyler's (and MBA Prep School co-founder Chris Aitken's) book "How to Apply for an MBA." In the least, I recommend buying the book and following the process. However, I also strongly suggest purchasing the services of MBA Prep School. Once you read the book, you will have a strong process/framework in mind, but by purchasing the services, you are able to focus purely on execution. Also, having Tyler's / MBA Prep School's personalized feedback on your hard work is crucial in taking your application to the next level.

On an individual level, Tyler is an extremely great coach. He puts in a ton of hours in order to stay on the customized schedules of his clients and to help them achieve perfect execution. His approach is direct and honest. He will help you sit down, self-reflect, and peel back the onion on your life and career experiences, and then help you highlight the most pertinent ones. That's the key to a good application. Most importantly, everything is always genuinely you; he just helps you make your application top-tier.

I strongly recommend MBA Prep School and I strongly recommend working with Tyler Cormney.

Results: I got into three of the four schools to which I applied. Two of those are ranked in the top 12. I received invitations to interview at all four. In addition to that, I earned significant scholarships (including one full-ride) at my schools. Paying a few thousand dollars to get over 15x back in scholarship is what Tyler and MBA Prep School can help you achieve, not just getting admitted.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save $100/School on Admissions Consulting Packages
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Review for Lorraine
February 03 | 2015

       By Anonymous joined: February 3, 2015 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - got into all
This review is for:  Comprehensive School Package   Consultant:  Lorraine Tong
After working with Lorraine at MBA Prep on my Harvard and Stanford applications this past fall, I was admitted to both schools round one, and I truly believe that success stemmed from my work with Lorraine. I have to admit, I was very skeptical about the concept of a consultant at the beginning of the business school process, but looking back, working with Lorraine was incredibly helpful and absolutely worth the time and investment. I come from a traditional background (consulting/finance), but received mixed messages from my introductory calls with a few different consulting firms about my chances to get into one of my top two schools. I ended up choosing Lorraine because from the very beginning, she was intelligent about the application process and the various business schools, she always asked the right questions, she was honest about the good and the bad, and she was invested not only in my application process but also in me as person.

During our time together, Lorraine was incredibly helpful throughout the planning/brainstorming, writing, and interview prep phases of the application process. Lorraine was very hands on and very engaged from her consultant seat, and that stems from the fact that she was genuinely interested in helping me position myself in the best way possible for success. I found Lorraine to be incredibly flexible and forgiving of unpredictable work schedules, and she was willing to work with shorter deadlines if it would help my application. Lorraine was also very patient—she was a great listener and always willing to put my needs first throughout this time consuming process, and I found this to help alleviate stress. Lorraine was also very knowledgeable on a wide range of topics thanks to her diverse career experience. This was one of the more helpful aspects of working with Lorraine—she helped tease out and think through exactly what I wanted to pursue career wise in life and more importantly, why. Lorraine was also willing to go above and beyond traditional consultant services—I would constantly get emails from Lorraine with articles on leaders in my career field of interest, industry studies that were relevant to my career goals, or blog posts about the schools I was applying to.

I felt like I had a fair critic, friend, and mentor with me along the way for every step of the application process, and I could not recommend Lorraine any more highly.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Esther and Faisal helped me overcome 100% dings to achieve 100% acceptance
September 22 | 2014

       By Immordino joined: January 5, 2013 | 1 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - got into all
This review is for:  Comprehensive School Package   Consultant:  Esther Choy
At 32 years old with a family and after a difficult 2013 MBA application season, I realized that it was now or never for getting into business school. In 2013 I applied to three northeast schools—Wharton (FT), Columbia (FT), and Stern (FT)—and was ultimately dinged from all three after interviewing at two and being wait-listed at one. I needed an edge to make sure that my next application season was successful and my last. While I spoke with several MBA admission consulting companies, after reaching out to Tyler Cormney of MBA Prep School and having my introductory interview with Esther Choy I knew I had found that edge with MBA Prep School.

After my initial conversation with Esther there were four reasons I selected MBA Prep School and especially Esther Choy and Faisal Khan to coach me for my 2014 application season:
• Their high historical success rate,
• Their school selection strategy aligned with my goals (i.e., diversify among top schools vs. go downstream with schools)
• They had the most collaborative and warm culture among the firms I interviewed (e.g., kicking off the essay writing process Esther said, “now the fun begins”—and she meant it!), and
• As a collaborative team, Esther and Faisal could provide a more rounded perspective regarding my application—Esther described it as getting both the “cup half full” and the “cup half empty” perspective.

While the application process was still a lot of work, it was a lot more fun than my previous go around and I felt more confident having a team supporting me in the process. I even looked forward to our update calls as the brainstorming process was so enjoyable. Some of the areas that Esther and Faisal helped the most were in the following:
• Capturing a compelling MBA vision,
• Brainstorming the most powerful story ideas to differentiate my vision and leadership strengths—with a team based model, this meant I got an extra “outside opinion” early in the process of writing an essay,
• Teaching me that stories can be used in many contexts beyond the most obvious ones and how to structure those stories for the most powerful effect,
• Providing editing recommendations, i.e., pointing out areas warranting elaboration, but especially for suggesting areas to remove content and details to make room for the most powerful story elements, and
• Providing guidance about selecting the most powerful recommenders among my pool of options.

However, beyond the more immediate goal of getting accepted to business school, I feel like working with Esther and Faisal has given me tools that will make me more successful in business. The experience has made me not only both a better writer, but also more able to communicate a compelling vision in broader contexts. Currently working in consulting, I foresee this having immediate benefits with:
• Communicating my personal vision and strengths to colleagues and clients,
• Pitching our company’s vision to clients to win projects,
• Developing compelling client recommendations that clients actually want to read, and
• Creating a more compelling individual performance narrative that allows me to earn a higher performance rating and achieve a more rapid promotion timeline.

Ultimately, I was accepted to all four schools I applied to—Wharton (EMBA), Columbia (EMBA), Kellogg (1Y FT), and Tuck (FT)—and even earned a sizeable scholarship from Kellogg. While I was expecting good things to come out of this application season, after my previous year’s application season performance, I was not expecting this level of success. That’s another of the many reasons I’m so thankful for Esther and Faisal’s help, guidance, and ability to make the process more fun that made this experience so successful and rewarding. If you’re looking to learn the tools that will make you more successful in the b-school application process and in business in general, look no further than Esther Choy and Faisal Khan at MBA Prep School.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save $100/School on Admissions Consulting Packages
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Highly recommend Chris Aitken!
September 12 | 2014

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
       By Anonymous joined: September 9, 2014 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Some, but not all
This review is for:  Comprehensive School Package   Consultant:  Chris Aitken
A good consultant is highly adept at helping with editing essays. A great one is so much more – he is a mentor, a coach, and a friend.

I can say, without reservation, that Chris is a fantastic admissions consultant. I would recommend him without reservation. With his help, I was overjoyed to get admitted to a top 5 school. But even if my application process had been unsuccessful, I would still recommend him.

Firstly – Chris genuinely interested in *you*. I interviewed 7 other admissions consultants before selecting Chris. Unlike others that simply delivered a ‘templatized’ pitch, Chris had done his homework into my background, and seemed genuinely interested in learning more about who I was on our call. This is critical because the more interested a consultant is in digging deep into your specific story, the better his ability and desire help you craft a unique message.

Secondly – Chris is approachable and balanced. Through the process, Chris helped draw out not only my strengths, but also my weaknesses. Because he’s just such a “good guy” it’s really easy to open up to him. This is absolutely crucial in developing an authentic, self-aware application.

Thirdly – Chris pushes you – hard. Applying to business school can be a physically exhausting and emotionally draining process. While Chris sympathizes with this, he doesn’t let you off easy. He pushes you to go through every aspect the MBAPrepSchool process (which in itself is great, by the way) and constantly drives you to conduct deeper research to better understand yourself and develop more specific messages.

Fourthly – Chris is aware and nuanced in his approach. A small but telling example – every time Chris came across a blog / article that he thought could help me – he’d email me its link. Another example - some admissions consultants conveniently told me that all of the schools were “pretty much the same”. Chris believed the exact opposite and drove me to understand the unique flavor of each school. Additionally, I’m an Indian applicant – and Chris, well, isn’t Indian. But his general awareness and ability to learn quickly was so high that this didn’t matter – indeed he served as an excellent bridge between my Indian mind-set and the culture of each of my US target schools. In an environment where you’re constantly trying to differentiate yourself from peers with similar backgrounds, while simultaneously trying to demonstrate fit with your target schools, these little things go a long way.

Finally, and most importantly – Chris is highly committed and always exceeds expectations. Despite my hectic international travel schedule, Chris always figured out a convenient time for us to speak. Most importantly, I never felt like I could not reach out to him because I was using ‘too much’ of his time. Quite the opposite – he pushed me to engage with him constantly and we spoke as often as I felt necessary. His turnaround time for feedback was consistently quick – responding to multiple essays within 12 hours. As admissions deadlines approached, I expected his availability to reduce drastically given the pressures of juggling with several clients simultaneously. This did not happen. I don’t know how he managed to do so, but he always made time for me. Chris never compromises in helping me put my best foot forward, even if it meant going beyond what was ‘contracted’. When things unexpectedly get tough, you want somebody that you can rely on in your corner no matter what. Chris is that person.

The obvious outcome of my interaction with Chris was that I was able to get into a ‘dream business school’. But on reflection, I realize this engagement has had a more lasting impact – through it I learned a lot about myself. This will not only help me through business school, but life as a whole!

Thank you Chris!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
TYLER IS THE BEST. You will NOT regret it.
August 05 | 2014

       By Anonymous joined: August 5, 2014 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - school of my dreams
This review is for:  Comprehensive School Package   Consultant:  Tyler Cormney
You think you can do it without a consultant. You think, ah that's expensive, I'll just do it myself. Well... bad idea.

The extra money you spend on Tyler's help, which will ultimately help you get into your dream school, is a drop in the bucket considering all the costs associated with b-school.

Tyler is a mix between an editing guru and a psychologist. He helps you narrow down what you want to do in life and mold all of your experiences into a compelling story. His customized schedule is perfect for someone, like me, who is working full time and trying to get all different aspects of the application not just done on time, but executed professionally.

I cannot recommend Tyler enough and hope everyone will use his expertise to show their best self to the admissions committee.

BTW - I got into my top two schools CBS & Sloan.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save $100/School on Admissions Consulting Packages
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Tyler is the best - great coach for MBA Admissions
June 29 | 2014

       By ananthram79 joined: September 20, 2012 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Some, but not all
This review is for:  Comprehensive School Package   Consultant:  Tyler Cormney
I worked with Tyler Cormney extensively during my application cycle for 2014 MBA admissions. I was in a situation where I had to do my application alongside my GMAT. Tyler understood my situation and supported me all along.

I chose to use MBAPrepschool’s complete package and applied to the top schools through Tyler’s help. MBAPrepschool’s online website with various sessions specific to the application cycle proved very useful and thorough. The website allows for revisits to guide through the essay writing process and to help prepare for interviews.

I found Tyler very knowledgeable, his memory and attention to details of his client's stories and application touch points are second to none. I found him very genuine in his approach and found him equally committed to my success in the MBA application process. His advice and tips for writing school specific essays are very effective. He expects you to do your homework on school specific information which in turn reflects your honest and genuine interests on the schools you apply.

Tyler is honest and direct and expects his clients to put in the required hard work necessary to come up with exceptional stories. As a coach, he supports you through the same kind of effort and commitment from his side to present your stories in the best possible way to the admissions committee.

Although, I had great essays through Tyler's continued guidance and my hard work, I was able to apply only in R3 and my GMAT let me down to a certain extent and I was able to gain admissions to some of my safety schools.

I will recommend Tyler to any prospective MBA student looking for a genuine honest coach equally committed to the applicant’s success. With your hard work and Tyler’s expert guidance – success in the MBA application process is one step closer.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
AMAZING!!!!
June 06 | 2014

       By socaldan10 joined: June 6, 2014 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - got into all
This review is for:  Comprehensive School Package   Consultant:  Tyler Cormney
I would first like to start by saying that I spoke with 4 different admissions consultants before picking Tyler at the MBA Prep School. From the start Tyler was very knowledgeable and supportive. He helped me with the school selection process, GMAT advice, and the entire application and essay process. Tyler's ability to help his clients define their candidacy and brand is invaluable. So much so that he actually helps you better define your future goals.

Moreover, Tyler's true talent lies in his ability to help you write your admissions essays. He is a true master at helping you tell your story in a way that the schools will love.

I would recommend Tyler and the MBA Prep School to everyone! They are not some big Admissions consulting firm that makes you feel like just another number. They take the time to get to know you and work beside you throughout the entire process.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save $100/School on Admissions Consulting Packages
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Exatrordinary Consultant
April 22 | 2014

       By Anonymous joined: February 3, 2014 | 2 | 1 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - got into all
This review is for:  Comprehensive School Package  
I worked with Daniel J. on my Stanford and LBS application and got into both schools! Daniel is an experienced and trustworthy consultant. He is very responsive (I usually get feedbacks to my essay drafts within 1 day), very good at story-telling (he always helps me see my own stories from a different yet much better perspective) and has a good sense of humor (very important too if you need to spend hours talking to your consultant every week!)

Daniel insisted on spending a lot of time going through my stories, experiences and strengths before I started to look at essay questions. This process turned out to be one of the most important steps in my MBA application because it helped me select my brightest achievements and also helped me to examine my past experiences (extremely important for Stanford applicants!)
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
When in doubt - work with Tyler Cormney
April 21 | 2014

       By Anonymous joined: February 22, 2013 | 6 | 1 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - school of my dreams
This review is for:  Comprehensive School Package   Consultant:  Tyler Cormney
I started applying to schools this past December. I spent a week trying to decide which admissions consultant to work with. To be honest, it was an easy decision.

I talked to most of the popular and mainstream consulting companies, including MBA Prep School. It was very obvious to me how different MBA Prep School's approach was to the admissions process than the other companies. I was floored by the overall attention to detail and level of organization and structure.

My honest advice to all those on the fence about choosing to work with an admissions consultant, is to go ahead and schedule the free 30 minute call that most of them offer. It is essential for you to get a feel of the process, and I can guarantee that you will not get as thorough a rundown or breakdown of the process, or as much value from that 30 minute call, than from MBA Prep School.

I chose to work with Tyler Cormney because of all the positive reviews he had on this site. It was a bit of a gamble, because I was very skeptical and I was investing a lot of money. I worked with Tyler to apply to 3 different schools: Rice, Duke and UT. The reason we chose these schools was because my GMAT was very low at the time: 620.

I found that Tyler is incredibly gifted at editing and helping others to craft their stories. He would always challenge me to produce top work and to trust the process first and foremost. I have to say, that following the process in such a detailed and organized manner, made the admissions process so much more achievable and easier to digest.

One of the beauties of working with Tyler is that you pretty much just have to fill in the blanks, and marvel as how your story starts to unfold. In other words, if you put in the work you will reap the rewards, and Tyler will guide you along the way. He truly teaches you how to think and come across as a top performer by highlighting your particular strengths for each stage of the admissions process: picking schools, crafting your story, doing school research, writing the essays, and interviewing. This might seem easy to do, but Tyler does seem to have a knack for helping you to convey yourself as an overall well rounded candidate, and also guides you to express your unique voice.

I have to say, that I would have not been able to get into to Duke without having worked with Tyler. This is not to diminish my merits, but I was truly lost before starting to apply for schools and was so overwhelmed and stressed by having to retake the GMAT. Tyler knew that I had very little time to finish the applications, under a month, so he readjusted my schedule so we could get the work done in time. Tyler was very fast and prompt when giving feedback and he helped calm my nerves more than once. But above all, I would say what I truly liked about working with Tyler, was that he was extremely honest; at all times I felt he cared about my progress and provided the necessary feedback/input I needed to build my profile adequately.

My results working with Tyler? Got admitted into Duke with a merit scholarship, waitlisted at UT and got admitted to Rice with a sizeable scholarship. If you are a highly qualified individual, working with Tyler would only help you get into the school of your dreams, like he did for me, and you might be able to get a scholarship.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save $100/School on Admissions Consulting Packages
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community


Best MBAPrepSchool GMAT Instructors
Tyler Cormney [USA]
    
Chris Aitken [USA]
    
Lorraine Tong [USA]
    
Save $100/School
on MBA Prep School Packages
- Start your free consultation now
- Fill out the form
Learn more