myEssayReview Admissions Consulting Reviews
    Number of reviews [35]      Average Rating:       (4.9/5)
Packages
    
    
myEssayReview offers a dedicated and personalized essay-review service for B-School applicants. myEssayReview owner, Poonam Tandon, has reviewed over 5,000 essays written by both native and non-native English sepakers and helped many students get admitted to top schools with fellowships. No matter where you are located, myEssayReview can help perfect your essays, resumes, and letters of recommendations.
  Reviews
Sort by:   date of publication  most helpful
Poonam – I got accepted to Chicago Booth EMBA and LBS Dubai
January 23 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By Harryboy joined: December 7, 2014 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - got into all
This review is for:  Essay Review   Consultant:  Poonam Tandon
I read your blog on one of the Essay Review sites (I think it was GMAT club) and read reviews of some of the candidates who had availed your services in the past. I decided to give this a try and after exchange of few introductory emails and a phone call, I decided to give it a try.

I was a bit nervous when I started the process. But your debrief session and essay pointers email was an excellent starting point. I appreciate your effort in guiding me and directing my thoughts to formulate my own stories and write them on a piece of paper for you to have a look. I must appreciate your guidance, patience and hard work as you took a lot of effort in understanding my unique position and then bringing my own stories to light. Your edits on my essays transformed my thoughts into a stellar story. Ask me about the turnarounds!!! A turnaround time of 12/18 hours at the beginning was shortened to few minutes by the time we reached the deadline to submit the application. I must say that throughout the process you satisfactorily addressed all of my queries/concerns. A big thank you for all your support.

Poonam – your critique/edits to my essays, helped me got accepted to Chicago Booth EMBA and LBS EMBA Dubai. I’m very happy, and I still can’t believe it! Thank you so much for all your help through the application process. Thank you for your involvement, for challenging me and pushing my thinking and for all the prompt replies during late nights, weekends and thanksgiving holiday. We applied to 2 universities in 10 days and I got admitted in both– WOW that’s amazing.

Your support is highly appreciated, and I will always be willing to recommend people in my circle to avail your services.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
An expert who presents you professionally to the Ad Com
January 20 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By Mo2men joined: March 26, 2013 | 8 | 1 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  N/A
This review is for:  Multipe School Package   Consultant:  Poonam Tandon
I had several reasons for choosing myEssayReview services. The examples posted in the website show clearly that Dr. Poonam has a methodology to tackle each question. The website is not complicated like her competitors; it shows also how she is simple yet professional. Also, the prices were reasonable for me. Therefore, I have worked with her in 8 essays for 4 business schools.

From the beginning, I understood that Dr. Poonam does not accept the weak content. Her guidelines helped me to dig deeply in myself that brought the best out of me because she read my resume and know more abiut the candidate. She is really persistent in getting the best out of her students while sometimes the candidates are reluctant or in a rush to finish. I consider that the introduction is the most crucial point in the essay. Once, I get it, the essay starts flowing. She has many smart effective ways for engaging introductions. Her guidelines indirectly prepared me for the Ad Com interviews. She is professional in using the sentence structure and word choice that may eliminate some words to stick to word limits. Beyond my expectations, she trimmed my essays to the allowed word count without jeopardizing the content and the gist behind them. Also, she is highly committed to her rule of 24-48 hours turn around. No delay at all. Throughout the process, Poonam answered all of my queries in a professional and satisfactory way.


However, due to family issues, I decided not proceed this year. Therefore, I will deal with her again in next year, in case there is any change in the essays but I will add the resume review service. She understood me well and I’m comfortable when dealing with her. She cares about and treats the candidates as her students, not clients.

Thank you Dr. Poonam for partnering with me on my Applications. I enjoyed working with you.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Big Discounts
on myEssayReview
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
High quality consulting service with unbelievably quick turnaround time
December 20 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: August 9, 2013 | 0 | 5 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - got into all
This review is for:  Essay Review   Consultant:  Poonam Tandon
My main reasons for asking for help was the lack of native English reviewers and my doubts in quality of my essays at that time. I signed up for myEssayReview services only a couple of days before the application deadlines of 3 UK schools: LBS, Cambridge, and Oxford. I am thrilled to say that I have received admits from all of three of them. I will be attending Cambridge, that seemed to be a better fit for my goals and has also offered me scholarship. I couldn’t be happier.

To begin with, Poonam’s recommendations, guidelines and sample essays helped me to understand the missing elements in my essays and rephrase unclear parts. She recommended removing some unnecessary details of my draft essays and adding other relevant details which helped me organize and structure my essays effectively. Throughout the one week process, she satisfactorily addressed all of my questions and doubts. I must say her help with trimming down my essays was invaluable. She able to shorten 750 word essay by a third which is incredible. Her excellent knowledge of English language has immensely helped me in writing, proofreading, and finalizing my essays.

The turnaround time was unbelievably quick. We managed to complete five essays and a resume in just one week. Understanding the tight deadlines, she prioritized my application and managed to edit the essays and resume several times per day including weekend. I am very grateful for such effort and am sure it would have been hard to come by if I had worked with other consultants.

Poonam, I just want to say thank you so much for all your help and incredible pace of your work. It was a pleasure working with you. I am sure your other clients will be as happy with your services as I am!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
I am accepted into Booth… I couldn’t have asked for more
October 27 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By bodmba joined: October 26, 2014 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - got into all
This review is for:  Multipe School Package   Consultant:  Poonam Tandon
I signed up for myEssayReview to get some help on my essays with two weeks left on the application deadline. I am a re-applicant, and I applied only to Booth. I got all my application material in place except for my essays, which I felt needed some unbiased review. I ended up on GMAT club reading all the reviews and comparing different products, cost and services offered. After spending a few hours, I decided to go with Poonam and bought the school package from myEssayReview.

Within hours, I got an email from Poonam. I then emailed her my essays and resume; she reviewed them all and scheduled a phone call for the next day. We discussed on the plan and I mentioned about my concern on the tight deadline. Poonam assured me that the timeline was not that bad and that she had helped other folks with less than ten days left. After the initial one hour meeting, I was a lot more confident than I was before talking to her.

The best part of Poonam's review process is the critique she offers on the first round. The critique offers plenty of advice on areas you have to improve the essay or sometimes even to rewrite the essay. I had to rewrite a couple of my essays. Yes, initially it was tough to digest the fact that I had to rewrite two of my essays with only two weeks left. But it turned out to be a piece of cake with Poonam offering incredible advice and providing me the right direction. She helped me pick the right stories relevant to the context.

Poonam helped me understand what the Ad Com was looking for and provided me the motivation to take time to reflect on my achievements and to put my stories in a chronological order leading up to short term and long term goals. I am sure every one of us has a lot of stories through our experiences and accomplishments but choosing the right ones and presenting them in the right context is what makes the difference and Poonam is a Pro in helping you cherry pick your stories. Also, she did an excellent job in keeping track of the word limit and offering advice on the language (remember a Ph.D. in English and a teacher with 30 years of teaching experience).

I think the key lies in understanding the critique and incorporating the advice by bringing out and presenting the best in you. I was able to wrap up all of my four essays in nine days. I was impressed with how the essays shaped up.

And, yes I got admitted into Booth for Winter 2015, which wouldn't have been possible without Poonam's valuable services.

Poonam, I don’t think I can thank you enough for accepting to work with me on such a tight deadline. You have helped me wrap up the essays in nine days, which is incredible! I appreciate all the valuable guidelines and the comments you provided me to bring the best out of me and reshape my essays. I clearly see that I made the right choice by choosing myEssayReview. It was a wonderful experience working with you and thank you for helping me with my application and to get in to Booth! You are awesome and I wish you the all best in your future endeavors!

I highly recommend Poonam for anyone looking for help on their essays and you can clearly see the difference once the essays are finalized.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Big Discounts
on myEssayReview
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Thank you Poonam for your support!
October 22 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: January 23, 2014 | 2 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - got into all
This review is for:  Essay Review   Consultant:  Poonam Tandon
I chose myEssayReview because I was impressed with the reviews given in GMAT Club and the testimonials on the website. Also, the service is affordable; I found the other services very expensive. Besides providing valuable suggestions and modifications on the two essays for MSIS program that I had signed up for, Poonam reviewed my resume and strongly recommended making use of optional essay to explain my career gap when I had no idea to explain it. This made my application complete without which I could have spoiled my prospects myself by letting the Ad Com to imagine the worst about my career gap. Her suggestions about sentence structure resulted in more clarity which is the first and most critical aspect Ad Com would look for while evaluating the essays.

The best thing was I never had to take tension about word-limits because Poonam asked me to come up with story/content without worrying about word-limit. It was she who took care about trimming the essays without compromising on the story. Her modifications and suggestions had totally changed the look and style of my essays. She made them look so professional. Also, I would like to mention here that Poonam used to accommodate my requests regarding word choice even after drafting final copies of essays. She was always there to suggest words, if at all I was not satisfied with the selection of my words. Grammar correction was the primary reason for submitting my essays for review. And I am absolutely happy with the grammar of essays after review. Poonam was very particular about turn-around time for essay edits. I used to get edited drafts in less than 24 hours for all of my essays. Because of her strict timelines, I was able to submit my application before the deadline.

It was pleasure working with you Poonam jee. You made me feel as if I was interacting with a friend, rather than a consultant, throughout the process. I received admission in the school of my choice.

I am very happy & thank Poonam jee for the guidance and support.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Thank you, Poonam for all your help and guidance.
August 05 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: January 20, 2013 | 2 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - school of my dreams
This review is for:  Essay Review   Consultant:  Poonam Tandon
I got accepted into Booth Evening MBA for Fall 2014 quarter. With a 610 GMAT score, it’s like dream come true.

After my GMAT, I had very little time to submit my application to the business school (I was applying for 2 schools and had only 2 weeks’ time), and I was scouting for some good essay review services online. That is when I came across myEssayReview. There were excellent reviews and some of them who have had success with low GMAT score. I thought this was right for me.

While I had many of my stories ready well in advance, Poonam’s guidelines helped me get the flow of the story right and also eliminate any unnecessary content to be precise and to the point while submitting the essays to the business school. While I had my story content strong and solid, there was no proper structure and flow. The paragraphs and contents were haphazard and more often than not were completely out of place. Poonam helped me analyze my thoughts in their chronological order and worked through in creating an effective story and structure. Moreover, the initial kick-off call that I had with her helped me a lot in understanding how I should structure my thoughts and what I should include and what I should not.

Adherence to word limits was an area I was consistently worried about. I always ended up sending my first couple of drafts to her with at least 200 words more than the word limit. However, you had clearly asked me not to worry about the word count and instead get the story right. After the first essay, I strictly adhered to your advice and the result was fantastic.

Your sentence structure, choice of words, punctuation and grammar were spot-on. There were many instances when my sentence structure and grammar were incorrect and you did a detailed review of the essay to help me get the structure and grammar right without compromising on the story.

As I mentioned earlier, I was concerned given the short time as I had to submit my application within 2 weeks. However, you were extremely quick and always provided a turn-around of less than 12-16 hours. Despite time constraints, you were always there to satisfactorily address all of my queries/concerns throughout the process.

It was a pleasant and refreshing experience working with you, Poonam. I got accepted into Booth Evening MBA for Fall 2014 quarter I really appreciate your help and guidance in helping me go through the essays without which this would not have happened also. I will not hesitate to recommend you to my friends and colleagues.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Big Discounts
on myEssayReview
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
I am accepted by my dream school Sankt Gallen University . I couldn’t have asked for more.
July 10 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: May 23, 2014 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - got into all
This review is for:  Essay Review   Consultant:  Poonam Tandon
I decided to sign up for your essay review services after reading your blogs. I believed that you were not only an expert in editing, but also have expertise in the B- School applications With your guidelines, I observed that both the stories I firstly chose might be conflicted with each other, making each other less convincing. This was a key point in the correction. You helped me to connect the link between my passion, my past and current achievements, the MBA and Post MBA Goals, making them more systematical rather than fragmented.

You downsized my stories so quickly and so effectively that I was impressed. I really appreciate your work efficiency; it is an important lesson for me to learn. A role Model in this aspect. Thank you so much. Your work attitude, your principle of time management really encouraged me. I often forgot that you are a grandma, because you are still so hard-working, helping students to attend their dream-schools.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Thanks Poonam! Owe it all to you.
July 05 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By alishabeotra joined: July 5, 2014 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - school of my dreams
This review is for:  Essay Review   Consultant:  Poonam Tandon
I had availed Poonam's services for my application to the undergraduate programme at St Stephen's college last year. Later, in my first year, I decided that I wanted to apply to The University of Hong Kong's Economics programme. I didn't think twice before approaching her again for the second school. I just knew I had to get help from her for this.

And the result is here- I made the right choice!

I got an acceptance with scholarship from HKU last week. All the credit goes to her!

The best part about her services is the high level of professionalism, with an adequate blend of personal touch. She takes time to know the applicant's stories and perfectly combines them with the essays. This particular aspect showed me how passionate she is about her work.

I would give myessayreview a 5/5 and more, if I could! Thank you, Poonam. I couldn’t have done it without your help.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Big Discounts
on myEssayReview
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
myEssayReview , a dedicated one –person Company you can absolutely trust your essays with.
May 07 | 2014

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By vijaykumarp559 joined: January 14, 2012 | 6 | 7 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - school of my dreams
This review is for:  Multipe School Package   Consultant:  Poonam Tandon
I am very thankful to Poonam as I got admitted to my dream school. I had a wonderful journey with her throughout my application process.
After I was done with my GMAT, I spent at least 100 hours reading the reviews of various admission consultant services. I finally decided to sign up for a multiple schools package with Poonam because she is an AIGAC certified consultant whereas most of the other consultants are not. Pricing is also very reasonable compared to the other consultant firms. Most importantly, her success rate is on the higher side.
Initially, we both had telephonic and skype calls to brainstorm stories for essays (goals, accomplishments , background, mistakes, setback culture shock etc.) so that we would be ready for the right content when the schools would release essay questions. She sent me a framework/outline for every single essay we worked on that helped me put together my first drafts. With each edit she sent me, the essays kept getting better and better, and I was able to submit my best essays for every school. The essays always carried the right content to the essay prompts. Her guidelines and suggestions not only helped me choose the right content but also helped me find my own voice. I was glad that she never compromised on the content to get the allowed word-limit. The sentence structure was excellent and apt to the content. She always provided better words to showcase the content of my essays. Her editing was so perfect that she never even missed a punctuation mark: comma, semicolon, and colon etc. She perfectly followed the turn-around time ( 24-48 hours) and followed the best practice by informing me about her schedule in advance .
Poonam’s kindness and her dedication to work are exemplary. For one of my schools, I was just about to submit the application when I found out that it needed one extra essay about which I didn’t know earlier. It was a shocker for me because I had only 2 days left before the deadline. At that time, Poonam was about to board a flight to go on a one week vacation as per the schedule she had already informed me weeks in advance. Even during that crunch situation, she had sent me the edited essay from the airport because of which I was able to submit the application on time. This speaks a ton about her dedication towards her work and her concern for her students.
I am very thankful to Poonam as I got admitted to my dream school. I had a wonderful journey with her throughout my application process. Apart from essay writing, I have learned many things from her such as punctuality, following the schedule, loving own work etc. I will implement these qualities in my daily life and strive to become a better person.
I recommend Poonam to everyone who is very much willingly to have a bright future and an MBA admission.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
My essay review rocks!
May 04 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: March 25, 2011 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Some, but not all
This review is for:  Multipe School Package   Consultant:  Poonam Tandon
I always feared to sign up with a consultant until I met you. In fact, I thought that I wouldn’t find someone who would understand me and help me the way you did. I truly valued each moment of working with you. It was amazing to have someone who is more dedicated to my success than I was. Poonam you’re the best consultant I know.

You’re a master story teller. Before I signed up for school review, I didn't have any clue about how to deliver my story in the most compelling way. Your suggestion and guidelines on each essay’s first edit gave me enough information that helped me correct my mistakes and restructure my story.

Your structure for essays and recommendation letters were well defined and easy to follow. I think that you did a great job specifically with this part which on my hand helped me to write my essays quickly. I also noticed and appreciated your suggestion on recommendation letters. In fact, you nicely and smartly forced the recommenders to write a compelling recommendation by answering the questions asked instead of skimming through the questions.

I was particularly pleased that you always trimmed my essays down to word-limit and were still be able to picture the most important parts of my story. You helped me to understand that a long essay doesn’t always make a compelling essay. It’s all about structure and how to use words wisely. You chose the words concisely and smartly. Your use of grammar was impeccable. I had a friend read my essay and she couldn't find any grammar mistake (she’s very good in English grammar). ☺

I was especially impressed with your turn around. You’re the most dedicated person in turning around your edits and you have good time management skills. In fact, I am the bad one. ☺.

This week, I have received admit from Cornell with a scholarship. I have also interviewed with Wisconsin .

I received a full Consortium fellowship from U of Wisconsin which includes stipend and healthcare.

I decided to join the Badgers ( University of Wisconsin )

Thank you for your dedication, time and help. You helped me to believe that I can do it even with a below 600 GMAT score !!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Big Discounts
on myEssayReview
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community


myEssayReview
Admissions Consulting
Big Discounts on Consulting
 
Learn more here