Optimus Prep GMAT Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [51]      Average Rating:       (5.0/5)
Courses
Find by:  
    
    
    
    
    
 Optimus Prep Promo Code
Optimus Prep provides superior GMAT preparation with 99th percentile expert tutors at approximately  50% of the price of competitors! After analyzing several studies on the efficiency of all available tutoring options, we are convinced that we offer the best deal among all GMAT prep companies with a 70% probability of scoring over 700 points. Get the best price on Optimus Prep Courses

  Reviews
Sort by:   date of publication  most helpful
On Demand Course! A lot of useful GMAT tricks and tips!
March 24 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: March 24, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 120 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Optimus Prep On Demand Course | Location:   Online |
I found this video course with all the covered material to be great! All question types were explained in great detail from three different tutors. Each teacher went over his or her special field and showed valuable concepts and tips and tricks.

This helped me to gain knowledge I did not have before. I read the official guide before starting the course but it was of little help. In my opinion you need someone who knows the GMAT in and out and is willing to share his knowledge with you. I did not have a private tutor due to the high price though and found a recorded comprehensive video course to be a great alternative.

The CAT codes were also really good and allowed me to practice questions and get familiar with the test environment. I did between the lessons some more self-studying with the help of other books and this community.

I really can say that it was very helpful on my journey to a great GMAT score!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Great source to learn how to beat the GMAT test
September 04 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: September 4, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 70 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Optimus Prep On Demand Course | Location:   Online |
I enrolled at Optimus Prep on Demand course after I scored a 660 in my first shot at GMAT. I'm was much more confident for the exam day the second time around than I was at the first time. Couldn't recommend the course more! There were a lot of moments when I thought to give up and to concentrate on my job. I like to mention that I am an engineer so I was good in quant but verbal was not my cup of tea. I took the official GMAT before signing up for Optimus Prep On Demand. This was the best decision. Had I not found this company and their product offerings, I would not have improved my score. I studied by myself with OG books and did not perform as well as I would like. After watching the videos to my convenience and studying the material and taking regular tests on their site using the amazing test generator, I became confident in my work. I was able to watch the videos in my free time despite my full work and study course load. I increased my official score by 70 points and am well on my way to get admitted to the graduate school of my choice (fingers crossed). I would recommend this series to anyone! The course fits me quite well because it goes straight to the point, teaching you how to think logically. The videos are a good form to learn, as I often lose focus when reading something for too long.

Optimus can be useful because after each lesson there are practice tests to complete. The tests re-enforce the lessons. I am a native speaker and I thought the course would be useful but after using Optimus I purchased Aristotle Grail, which added more value now that my concepts are clear from Optimus. I found the CR videos pretty nifty as well, especially the pre thinking portions. The homework exercises are pretty good and reflect the difficult level of the actual exam. The adaptive nature of tests and also the practice tests is really something. There are around 6000 questions in the bank and the DIY test creation options for students are really great. You can choose to take the untimed tests for any section you want, and once you are confident, you can time your tests. There is an online error log which tracks what you are getting wrong, which you can cover using videos, clarify concepts and have a go at it again. Quant section can have more difficult exercises, but overall level is pretty good. The 9 GMAT CATs are just what you need when you are just a few weeks away from the actual thing.

Also, this course is good for the wallet, if you compare the other test prep companies and what they charge for their courses. Plus there is discount GMAT Club members can avail of and that knocks the prices off by half. I will recommend this course to everyone not just Non Native speakers since we cannot go wrong in the final exam.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Optimus Prep
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Very good on demand course!
September 05 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: September 5, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Optimus Prep On Demand Course | Location:   Online |
I took the on demand course of Optimus Prep and was very satisfied with the product. I wanted a self study option where I can get access to many questions, explanations and video lessons. That was exactly what the course was all about. I took many GMAT practice tests and followed the approach learning by doing. I liked the analytics software which told me where my weaknesses were. It was great that I could practice questions filtered among difficulty level. The support of Optimus Prep was also great and their live chat was always willing to help. The price is also fair if I compare them to other test prep companies. The course was great and I can really recommend it to others! I hope to score well when I take the GMAT in one week.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Optimus Prep - Liked the online lessons with Brajesh very much
September 09 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By marcyber9 joined: September 9, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 110 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Optimus Prep Private Tutoring | Location:   Online | Taught by:  Brajesh
After comparing many private tutoring options from various companies I decided to get the lessons from Optimus Prep. The main reasons were their professional and fast support and their affordable rate in combination with their great reviews. My tutor Brajesh was a true expert and scored very well on the GMAT. He had years of experience and my first lesson was very helpful. Before the lessons started I had to take a GMAT diagnostic test and Brajesh created an individual study plan to address my weaknesses. I also got access to Optimus Prep’s on demand course which was really helpful to practice the learned concepts. I had Magoosh before I came to Optimus Prep and really have to say that Optimus Prep beats them by far. The course was great because Brajesh had access to the course and was able to see how I perform. He adjusted the study plan constantly based on my performance in the on demand course. The lessons took about one full month and I concentrated on my studies. At the end I scored a 710!!! I am considering to also get their admissions consulting services and can recommend them to all other gmatclub members who are seeking for professional fair priced GMAT prep options!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Optimus Prep
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
On Demand Course - A lot of practice questions - Scored 720 points
September 09 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: September 9, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 120 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Optimus Prep On Demand Course | Location:   Online |
I am non-native speaker and till my school level, the medium of instruction was Hindi. So, in GMAT my weakest area was verbal. I prepared with standard study material such as Manhattan GMAT and Official Guide and even taken a local coaching to improve my verbal score. But I had a lot of doubt which remained as doubt.

I always believed in self-study instead of tutor, classes and all. After taking some MGMAT mock CATs, I realized that verbal score was not improving, and it was always vacillating between 28 and 32. My GMAT was just a few weeks away, and I thought of taking a GMAT prep test. It was a real bummer and scored 28 on verbal. I knew that I could not change 28 to 38 in 2 weeks’ time, but did not want to change the exam date either, so took advice from a few colleagues who had already gone with Optimus Prep on Demand, and I purchased that and started working on it.

I was simply blown away with the change in experience in transition from books to online video format. While traveling, I would take on a few videos and then a few on the way back. When I got bored, I would watch a movie or listen to songs. The ability to carry the study material and consume it in tiny chunks was of immense use to me. I am not used to study, so sitting for long hours was difficult. The material has been created in such a way that anyone can start studying and build pace on his own according to capacity. I am one of the slower learners and this style of material helped me.

The adaptive tests are highlight of this course, along with the CAT tests as they really tell you where you are respect to what is required of you. Within 2 weeks, I was able to observe a drastic change in my way of approach to answering questions. I don’t mean just the techniques, but an overall perception shift towards the GMAT, somewhat like Neo in the Matrix, I could "see" GMAT very differently than before and more holistically than before.
Once I went through a concept, I tried using the test Generator of Optimus Prep on Demand and practice a few questions related to the concept. After that, I reviewed my mistakes and updated the online error log. Few days later, I reviewed the concept in which I made mistakes, practiced more problems in the areas that I made mistakes in. Once I was confident, I moved on to the next concept and so on.

Most people focus majorly on the verbal, but this does not mean you can slack on quant. Once I went through the videos, I practiced a lot of tests and constantly checked that my level on quant was maintained. The quant in OG is way too easy, but with Optimus on Demand, the level is balanced. Thankfully, due to the adaptive nature of the tests I was able to hold on to my quant level, and focus on the verbal. Thank you Optimus, and now I move ahead to the next stage having scored a competitive 720.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Awesome GMAT course. Great materials. Great self-prep software!
September 10 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By mimimimi joined: September 10, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Optimus Prep On Demand Course | Location:   Online |
I wrote my GMAT exam in August and got 700. I would like to thank each and every one of you who shared their GMAT experiences on this forum and helped people like me to achieve the dream score. This forum has been very useful to me during my GMAT preparation and its even useful now in my applications. I would also like to thank Optimus on Demand team for helping me improve my verbal score from 27 to 36 and keep up with my Math scores, especially DS and probabilities.

I used OG and Powerscore, but my Verbal Scores wouldn’t budge beyond 32. It was clear to me in that I needed a change in strategy. I thought of taking a prep course but was not sure if it was worth it. I tried a big name that was highly recommended on this forum but that did not help either. Finally, I went to a few training centers to get detailed information on their courses and students. I felt Optimus was new and had a fresh approach to GMAT compared to the older prep companies who seemed to be strutting their old stuff. I started with their sentence correction on the On Demand course and though I struggled in the beginning, the tests showed that I was getting better.

I had thought that I knew all there was to know in SC, but after doing a few concepts, I realized that I was mistaken. I knew the concepts all right but I still had not learned how to apply them. For example, I had not realized the ways in which Verb-ing modifiers could be used till I went through the concept in the course. I then looked into MGMAT and I could find that the same thing was covered in MGMAT as well but somehow I did not understand it the same way. I felt the same as I went through Verb tenses and parallel structures etc. I felt that the Optimus on Demand course was a lot easier to comprehend than MGMAT. I found the CR course to be equally good. The prethinking approach is just awesome – makes CR questions very enjoyable. Their coverage on evaluate (I did get a few questions) is probably the most comprehensive that I have found in any book. The live sessions were excellent but they cover only the more challenging problems.
Personally, I feel that Optimus is more detailed in teaching both SC and CR. It teaches you the application, not just the rules. The RC content was also very helpful, and though I was good at math, I was not able to manage time earlier, but after practicing over thousands of questions in an adaptive environment, my confidence began to grow.

One other thing that I liked about their videos and the progress that others were making that I came to know on the live feeds was interactive. Overall, I would attribute my improvement from 32 to 36 to Optimus.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Optimus Prep
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Excellent Prep Course
September 11 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By sophiamia joined: September 11, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Optimus Prep On Demand Course | Location:   Online |
I had only a few weeks left for the actual GMAT and my verbal was stuck at 32-33 even after months of studying, though quant was going decent at 48. Also, though I did pretty neat in the practice problems, during full length tests I was suffering from repeatability issues. I realized that most of the times the main killer of my verbal score was RC. Sometimes my accuracy was as low as 50%.

I was going crazy about which materials to follow. I had already tried other courses such as Kaplan, MGMAT for RC and found them a bit unsuitable for my style of study. Since I am not a voracious reader, I had always struggled to comprehend a long or unfamiliar passage. I tried Aristotle RC and was extremely demotivated with my speed as well as accuracy as evidenced by the result of the tests in these materials. I used to think that with my convent education and a BTech would see me through but the test told me otherwise. At this time, all I could hope for was to get close to 700. Giving up was not something I was ready for, though a lot of people told me that I should focus on my career and current job, and I could get better returns.

So I reluctantly decided that I should buy a prep course some of the established companies. But after I saw the prices, I decided to look elsewhere. I saw that many people were recommending Optimus. I came across Optimus, through some posts in GMAT Club, quite late in my preparation cycle. I had completed OG and a few other materials like Aristotle and improved my accuracy to 75% in verbal but that was not sufficient.

Optimus has an extremely pragmatic approach of discarding wrong options, a technique that helped me to improve my score. Equipped with rigorous preparation through OG and Optimus and other resources I attempted GMAT again and I scored 740, 750 & 730 in the last 3 mock tests I tried. Concepts were explained like teaching kids at elementary level, so they are hard coded in your memory. Their approach to tackle questions was really strong, if practiced religiously you will overcome timing issues. Their approach digs the question really deep and there is a very little room left for errors.

One of the best things about the course is the focus on tests after learning the basics. The question generators have a lot of useful settings such as timed and non-timed, adaptive, and other forms of testing. Their question bank is humungous, nearly 6000 questions.
I am using this course since last month and I can surely tell you that it is the one of the best course for non-natives for improving the Verbal score. Course starts from the very basic and goes to the higher level, covering all the important topics of tested on the real GMAT.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Great instructor Brajesh!
September 11 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: September 11, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 120 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Optimus Prep Private Tutoring | Location:   Online | Taught by:  Brajesh
I am a non-native speaker with limited quant background, which led me to have multiple reasons to worry about my performance on the test. But within only few weeks of studying, the highly motivating Brajesh of Optimus Prep transformed my weakness into strength - I walked into the exam room with bubbling confidence in my abilities to reach a high score on my first attempt, and this is exactly what happened. Not only an extremely professional and gifted teacher, Brajesh is also a wonderful guy with whom I enjoyed spending every minute of our tutoring sessions. No doubt he is certainly one of the very best GMAT tutors out there. I was not in a very good state of mind regarding GMAT when I decided to go for a private tutoring. Canned classes was not helpful as they were not able to cater to my unique needs. Going to B school is part of a larger strategy, and I was ready to leave no stone unturned for that. I checked out the online tutoring rates and feedback and felt that Optimus was providing better value in both the areas. I signed on, and met Brajesh, who was going to be my guide on the journey.

Brajesh is highly organized and focused. He asked me to take the diagnostic test. After analyzing the test results he developed a lesson plan that identified my weak areas, and then applied a building block approach that allowed me to fully understand the root causes of my errors. He then taught me how to use the online test generator to decide how best to create tests which would sharpen the weak areas while keeping my level on my strong ones. As per his advice, I selected similar questions in both Verbal and quant which reinforced the lessons that I learned. The WebEx has virtual whiteboard where he could see and hear my thought process, then apply corrections. It is an incredibly easy and effective software to use, for learning purposes. Each lesson was recorded so I could watch the lesson over again to further solidify my understanding of the topics covered. In less than a month I was able to raise my score by 50 points (incidentally, this is advertised on the website on the CAT tests that were a part of the course. I practiced hard and regularly on the practice sections, covering more than 5000 questions, which is massive, and also discussed my progress with Brajesh. The combination of the powerful video series, my tests and feedback from Brajesh regarding my concepts helped me get to my target scores very quickly.

Once the GMAT was not an intimidating experience anymore, my score improved significantly and I got a 720 on my very first attempt. This would not have been nearly close to possible without the work with Brajesh and the great resources that Optimus provides. I highly recommend it to anyone who is in a similar situation as me!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Optimus Prep
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Great experience with Optimus Prep online prep (Tutor Justin)
September 12 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: September 12, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Optimus Prep Private Tutoring | Location:   Online | Taught by:  Justin Optimus Prep
I am a house wife with two toddlers to take care of. I worked in a full time job in a middle management role before my husband and I decided to have a family. It became impossible for me to continue with my demanding job after the birth of my twins and hence I decided to take a sabbatical for 3 years. After a break, I decided to get back to work and it wasn’t easy as the job market had changed and become even more competitive and dynamic than before. Forget the next level, even to get a break at the same level from which I had quit looked impossible. After much research and brain storming with my husband i decided to do a Management course from one of the Ivy League business schools in order to give my career a new flight. I then started to prepare for GMAT and hence wanted a lot of coaching in both, quant and verbal sections as none of these were strong enough to get a score of more than 700, a prerequisite to enter any premier management school.

I had heard great reviews about Optimus online prep school and decided to take the 34 hrs tutoring package from them, it was priced at reasonably and included GMAT on demand course. It made me extremely happy and content to know that I was getting a great deal at a highly lucrative price than any other prep institute could possibly offer. At Optimus, the best part was that all I needed was to get started and the rest was taken care of by my tutor Justin. I simply loved their approach which helped me gain confidence and beat GMAT with an exceptionally high score of 700, the score looked like a dream come true for someone like me who was out of both, books and jobs for a long time.

I could prepare for GMAT online from home while taking care of my babies. Ha! What could be better than that? I got personal attention from my tutor who fist understood my weaker and stronger areas through my performance in diagnostic tests and then shared with me my study plan that I just needed to follow to ensure success. The online tutoring, was extremely smooth and interactive, I could not believe that I could even write my questions, interrupt my tutor in case of any doubts and communicate freely with him, not just that since my Tutor himself scored at 99th percentile in his GMAT test, he shared his different experience while he took the GMAT preparation journey and that gave me immense confidence. Moreover these sessions were archived so that I could refer to them or review to lectures later at any time as per my convenience. I think 34 hours package was much more than I needed for me to set myself up for the exam. If I can do it then anyone can but not sure how many without Optimus.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Achieved a higher GMAT score through the help of Optimus!
September 13 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By claudibussi joined: September 13, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 70 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Optimus Prep Private Tutoring | Location:   Online |
I scored 720 in my GMAT and have to say that GMAT is an exam of strategy over intelligence. Don’t believe it, try taking a diagnostic test without strategizing about how to achieve your dream score and you will see for yourself. I took my first GMAT exam after preparing for only 15 days on my own and landed at a score of 650 and at a loss of my hard earned $225, the GMAT test fee. It was kind of funny that while taking the test everything looked right to me and I wasn’t able to figure out what went wrong in the test. I got very depressed with my performance and kind of gave up on my dream to study in one of the top Business schools, it looked impossible to me.

After a few days, I spoke to my long distance friend who was also appearing for GMAT and that opened my eyes. I got to know that he had already celebrated his victory over GMAT with a score of 740. I was rather unhappy and surprised to hear that as I was far more intelligent than him considering our performances at school where I always got better grades than him. During the course of our conversation, I discovered that he had prepared with the help of online tutoring from Optimus and that too with a full time job. I was surprised even more and rather happier as by now I had understood the tricks of the trade. The next day I enrolled at Optimus, they offered a wide range of tutoring models, I guess to suit different requirements of people all across the globe. Since I had already tasted the pudding, I chose for their 23 hour package which was only for $1860 and included the diagnostic tests as well.

On the very first day of our class, my tutor, Justin charmed me with his introduction and helped me regain my lost confidence. Justin was himself a management graduate from a premier business school and not only that he had scored at the 99th percentile. I couldn’t have asked for more, this was my opportunity to prepare for GMAT and target for score of anything above 710 in my next and final attempt at GMAT. I enjoyed the tutoring sessions, they were so interactive just like an in person learning environment. Justin and I maintained a two way communication and a great rapport. He shared his approaches and strategies while he prepared me for GMAT and that was like an icing on the cake. Justin covered all topics under the verbal and quant section and made me practice. These sessions were archived and this was highly beneficial as I saved these recordings in my phone and kept getting back re listening in free time at work or while traveling. This a game of strategy and Optimus is the best GMAT score strategist, get them.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Optimus Prep
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community


Optimus Prep Course Rankings
Overall Score Improvement
99 points
International Student Score Improvement
101 points
Verbal
100%
Quant
100%
Save $750
on Optimus Prep
+Up to $500 discount
+$250 bonus
Get Optimus Prep Promo Code