Optimus Prep GMAT Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [79]      Average Rating:       (4.9/5)
Courses
Find by:  
    
    
    
    
    
 Optimus Prep Promo Code
Optimus Prep provides superior GMAT preparation with 99th percentile expert tutors at approximately  50% of the price of competitors! After analyzing several studies on the efficiency of all available tutoring options, we are convinced that we offer the best deal among all GMAT prep companies with a 70% probability of scoring over 700 points. Get the best price on Optimus Prep Courses

  Reviews
Sort by:   date of publication  most helpful
Good product, optimal for self-studying
November 24 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
       By Anonymous joined: November 24, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 120 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Optimus Prep On Demand Course | Location:   Online |
Hi,

Hereby, I would like to review Optimus Prep’s online on demand course. I took this course and found generally very helpful and easy to use. I was able to study anywhere where I had an internet connection and liked features like the customized quizzes or the adaptive nature of the system.

Pros

- Much content
- Score improvement guarantee
- Adaptive
- Recommends what to study
- Practice tests and many practice questions
- Glossary
- Great support

Cons

- There are some courses with even more video lessons
- A few tiny bugs (most fixed though)

Overall, I give 5 of 5 stars for this course. The price is more than fair and the product has a free trial access for all interested users.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
GMAT On Demand Platinum Package
May 27 | 2015

       By Anonymous joined: May 27, 2015 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 120 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Optimus Prep On Demand Course | Location:   Online |
I bought the Platinum package from Optimus Prep because I wanted the extra hours given with the private tutor. I didn’t have access to a tutor in person near where I lived, and I’ve tried online tutoring before for other tests so I was open to the idea.

I wanted the tutor because I was skeptical of the idea of the on demand by itself. But I was surprised at how well the videos were done and how helpful they were all alone. They explained the different questions types for the quantitative and verbal sections and were broken down into a course that was easy to follow and always there for review.

I’m glad I got the tutor anyway, as he was able to help me with specific questions. I’m sure for some people the on demand videos are enough, but I benefit a lot personally from the one on one time with a tutor. It didn’t matter that the meetings were remote. My tutor shared all the documents and information that we needed, and we had a real-time chat window a lot like skype but with a “whiteboard” we could both see and write on. It was a great experience and helped me improve so much.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Optimus Prep
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
On Demand Course! A lot of useful GMAT tricks and tips!
March 24 | 2014

       By Anonymous joined: March 24, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 120 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Optimus Prep On Demand Course | Location:   Online |
I found this video course with all the covered material to be great! All question types were explained in great detail from three different tutors. Each teacher went over his or her special field and showed valuable concepts and tips and tricks.

This helped me to gain knowledge I did not have before. I read the official guide before starting the course but it was of little help. In my opinion you need someone who knows the GMAT in and out and is willing to share his knowledge with you. I did not have a private tutor due to the high price though and found a recorded comprehensive video course to be a great alternative.

The CAT codes were also really good and allowed me to practice questions and get familiar with the test environment. I did between the lessons some more self-studying with the help of other books and this community.

I really can say that it was very helpful on my journey to a great GMAT score!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Just Great! Optimus Prep On Demand Course!
August 26 | 2014

       By Anonymous joined: August 24, 2014 | 3 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Optimus Prep On Demand Course | Location:   Online |
I would highly recommend taking Optimus GMAT to prepare for the test. My experience with Optimus has been nothing but positive. I chose to take the online course with, the course provided excellent study materials, ranging from in-depth study guides/videos, an online bank of question analysis, and online generator. The quality of the instructors cannot be beaten - their enthusiastic attitude was very encouraging, and they shared useful tips and strategies that made studying much easier and also kind of fun! Overall, this was an excellent guide to getting the score you want.

I would imagine that the course is great for people who need to brush up on basic math skills and are weaker in verbal and need to learn certain tricks and tips to bring up their verbal scores. Personally, I have a fairly strong command of math principles, but struggled to apply them appropriately to questions in a 2 minute time frame. I also have very strong verbal skills. Consequently, taking a survey course (and thinking that would get me the score I wanted), was a complete waste of time. If you're very strong in math or verbal, I would highly recommend self-directed study rather than wasting your time covering topics that are already a strength for you.

The course is adaptive and recognizes your knowledge level by the amount of correct answers you give. You can build as many own customized GMAT practice tests as you wish (you can also practice only certain GMAT concepts in these practice tests), 9 full GMAT practice tests, 5000+ questions with explanations, the course gives you instructions and recommendations on how to proceed and which areas to study again. The Test generator provides you with multiple parameters to create your test with such as timed/untimed, adaptive/non-adaptive, section type, difficulty level etc. These parameters, if used intelligently, can vastly enhance your test taking skills as you will realize that taking the GMAT consists of two parts: the content awareness and the strategy of test taking. Two people with similar command over the content will score differently if their focus on strategy is different.

If you elect to study on your own, I would highly recommend the Optimus GMAT materials. The study guides are very helpful, and the online CAT tests are great (and you have 5 or 6 of them to practice on). With a strict schedule and homework each week, I liked the structure and it motivated me to take the test and stay committed to the exam. I highly recommend the course, especially the live online version.

On top of the videos and reading the manuals, I spent at 12-15 hours a week on practice questions. To get the most of the class, you need to complete practice questions and track your progress. The analytics the course offers really helped me understand the areas where I was weak, and focus my attention for my attempt.

I compared several courses before making my investment, and I am very happy of my choice in going with Optimus.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Optimus Prep
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Excellent On-Demand Prep Course
August 25 | 2014

       By Anonymous joined: August 25, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 140 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Optimus Prep On Demand Course | Location:   Online |
I'm very satisfied with my Optimus prep experience. I decided on the on-demand video format because I live in a city that does not offer the in-person classes, and I'm so happy I went with it. The course is very well structured and extremely organized, and really builds upon your knowledge in a logical manner. I've always been apprehensive about online courses, feeling that I'd get the most bang for my buck if I was physically in a classroom. I found the instructors I spoke with were very caring and helpful, and on many occasions the instructors wouldn't hesitate to spend an extra few minutes past the half hour time slot to finish up a problem I had trouble with whenever I needed to touch base with them.
The Optimus materials are just excellent. I had written the GMAT once prior to this course and received a score of 620, which I was unhappy with. I had previously tried out one prep book from another company, and when I started with the Optimus videos, I was completely amazed by how detailed and coherent the information was. The Number Properties and Sentence Correction videos, in particular, were very impressive. All of the videos really offered many unique and effective strategies, such as back solving and number picking, I had never previously heard well of, and really seemed to touch upon everything. I was amazed at how easily digestible the information was presented.

What I also loved about the course is the adaptive feature and that it recognizes the competency level by the amount of correct answers. One can build as many own customized GMAT practice tests as you wish, you can also practice only certain GMAT concepts in these practice tests, 9 full GMAT practice tests, over 5000 questions with explanations, the course gives you instructions and recommendations how to proceed and which areas to study again. The various test generator functions are a great value add for practicing strategy for the real test. I felt that the practice exams were on par with level of difficulty of the actual exam, so that was excellent preparation. I chose to use the detailed study organizer excel, so each day had scheduled reading that I could choose to stay on top of. I felt my heart pound as I saw my unofficial score at the Pearson testing center... 760 99th Percentile. Thank you Optimus prep for bringing a big smile to my face. Big leap from my earlier score. I had many friends recommend various GMAT prep classes, but in the end decided to do Optimus prep GMAT. I could not have been more pleased with my choice. The videos were fantastic and feedback (analytics) was beneficial. I exceeded my target score by 30 points and have Optimus GMAT to thank. Without the on-demand prep, I would not have been able to score as well as I did. I highly recommend the Optimus GMAT program to anyone interested in taking a prep course.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Absolutely Satisfied with the Optimus Prep On-Demand Course
August 27 | 2014

       By gmatch32 joined: August 27, 2014 | 1 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Optimus Prep On Demand Course | Location:   Online |
At first I was hesitant that the absence of a live instructor would make the learning process more difficult. However, I was quickly proven wrong. Optimus Prep On-Demand includes a range of different learning materials to help you through the course content via your preferred learning style. The vow factor is the adaptive nature of the course. The format of the course design and practice is almost like that of a game. You get credits for achievements such as a cup award icon for answering 25 DS or 50 SC questions, or moving to level 2 in the course. You also get constant motivation in form of live feeds of your peers who are completing certain feats in the course. If you don’t have a study group, this takes care of the loneliness that a test taker often faces in the absence of a support group.

Each lesson was clear and understandable, even though it challenged me greatly on some of the practice problems! However, the exposure to difficult questions and thinking will excel anyone's score due to the fact that the Test Makers try to trick you. The On-Demand course also had everyday laid out for me so I always knew what was next. The adaptive nature of the tests is really great and helped keep my level up. Without question, when I found myself having time I could sit down and know exactly what I needed to accomplish. For a busy person who wasn't sure if I could attend a class 4 hours away from my home, the On Demand course was the right choice for me. I will be taking the GMAT test for the first time after this course, and with all the tips and exposure I have learned so far, I am expecting big things from me!

After going through the Optimus On-Demand course, I can recommend it to anybody who has limited time and resources to prepare for the test. The course content is excellent. It is divided between Quantitative, Verbal, Analytical and Integrated as expected on real test. Each section is sub divided into major components and is complemented with skill builder sections, reviews and section quiz. Most importantly, I really admire the way Optimus instructors explains the logic behind the questions and aid with useful tips to approach the questions strategically and in timely manner. The people at Optimus have re-engineered their site such that it allows you to build as many own customized GMAT practice tests as you wish (you can also practice only certain GMAT concepts in these practice tests), 9 full GMAT practice tests, 5500 questions with explanations and the course is so intelligently designed it gives you instructions and recommendations how to proceed and which areas to study again. This helps shed light on intricacies and highlights the necessary skills for success on GMAT. After going through the Optimus On- Demand course, I can recommend it to anybody who has limited time and resources to prepare for the test. All in all, I am one satisfied client and am sure there are thousands other like me.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Optimus Prep
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
My review about the On Demand Online Prep Course. Fantastic Program/Guide for self-preparation!
August 29 | 2014

       By JuriB joined: August 29, 2014 | 2 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 100 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Optimus Prep On Demand Course | Location:   Online |
I can't say enough wonderful things about Optimus prep GMAT! I scored a 750 and was admitted to three Top 5 b-schools - none of which would have been possible without Optimus prep's excellent program. I would highly recommend Optimus prep to anyone heading down the b-school route.

During the on class room course I had taken earlier course, we were not reviewing the material, most of the time, we were just doing problems, they have a lot of resources to approach the problems and more interactive. I was aiming for 700+ and I found the level of the course was targeted more towards average GMAT scores, the explanations were slow and very detailed, I am a quick learner, and I was bored most of the time during the sessions.

Optimus prep's materials are the best; the online CATs alone are worth the fees. That said, you have to do the work on your own. Don't underestimate the amount of time and effort it takes to increase your score significantly. Everything you need is in Optimus prep's materials, but you are ultimately responsible for your own success.

Even if I had the materials, I wouldn’t have been able to put together the weekly lists of practice questions on my own. Optimus on demand tells you exactly how to fill those 15 hours a week spent studying. I wouldn’t say that the teaching is the strength of the course, and NOT because the web instructor great. They clearly have subject mastery and, more uniquely, are really personable and committed. They have a weird passion and enthusiasm for the GMAT, which is inspiring.

The web-based instruction is a very effective method of communication and instruction. Problem sets can be completed on your own time , additionally you can create your own exams by using the exam generator which has various parameters such as custom difficulty level, timing, section or knowledge area and you can also see what others are doing, which gives a sense of community .

The method of instruction focuses on "practicing" key concepts that are tested on the GMAT and learning the most time-efficient tips and tricks to solve these concepts, this is particularly helpful on the Data Sufficiency problems and Sentence Correction problems on the GMAT. Those two types of problems were my primary weaknesses when beginning the GMAT process, but Optimus prep GMAT helped me turn those weaknesses into strengths. Through consistent and disciplined practice of these problems, I was able to quickly recognize a concept and immediately decide which method to use in solving that particular problem.

Overall, Optimus prep GMAT is an enabler that will definitely help any MBA prospect set conditions for success on the GMAT. But at the end of the day, rolling up your sleeves and putting some good old fashioned elbow grease into studying the concepts that Optimus prep GMAT teaches you is still absolutely necessary to achieve the results that you want, but I would not be satisfied with my GMAT without taking the On Demand Online Prep Course.
I definitely think the course is worth the money and time investment. I've heard from many people that if you want the best in GMAT prep, then go with Optimus prep. If I had to pay the same price for a GMAT prep course, I would definitely choose Optimus prep all over again.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Very good & professional GMAT on demand course.
August 29 | 2014

       By elenatia joined: August 29, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Optimus Prep On Demand Course | Location:   Online |
What really attracted me was honestly, the price. For $499, one could access 5000+ questions and detailed explanations covering Quantitative, Verbal, and I.R. which included 30 video lessons and 9 full GMAT simulations with formats ranging from PC, Mac, iPad and even iPhone. They guaranteed 50 points GMAT score improvement or full refund. They claimed that their system tracked and analyzed an individual’s performance at the lowest level, identifying one’s specific strengths and weaknesses and generating recommendations based on the performance. I took a feedback from some other people on GMAT Club who went for it, to validate such tall claims, was convinced by the feedback and I felt the quality was worth a try. I subscribed to the Optimus Prep GMAT on demand course and could not have been happier with it. As with all study programs, the extent to which your score improves is ultimately a function of the student’s effort and discipline. That being said, it is my opinion that if you work diligently with the Optimus Prep GMAT materials your scores will improve substantially. The study materials include all the information that one needs to score a 700+. I found the video instructors to be knowledgeable and professional. What I saw as especially helpful were the techniques Optimus Prep employed to approach different styles of problems. To be clear, you can learn to answer any GMAT problem if you master the Optimus Prep study material. Towards the end of my studying, however, I learned to more efficiently apply these techniques to the point where you could narrow your answer down to two possible choices, or even one, without even doing the problem. Essentially, it teaches you how the GMAT tries to trick you and makes you more aware of what trick answer choices look like. This dramatically improved my accuracy and timing issues. Compared to other online courses service Optimus Prep on demand holds a few considerable advantages. The online materials are way more comprehensive. In addition to 9 algorithmic adaptive practice tests, there were endless question banks, and exam generators with more than 5000 practice problems to reinforce the material that was covered in the videos. All in all I couldn’t be more pleased. After taking the course, I studied for another 5 weeks focusing on the techniques and earned a 700+ score. If you are in search of a product that will include everything from GMAT exam introduction all the way through advanced techniques for 700+ scores you want Optimus Prep on demand series.

Optimus Prep offers a wealth of options for you to learn and master all topics covered on the exam. From the extensive Optimus Prep strategy guides to the challenging CAT prep tests, students have access to a variety of different study tools to work on all topics tested on the GMAT. Based on my experience, I would confidently say that you will never get such value for money from any other established course in the market. I am on to the next step, and if I had to take the GMAT again, I would prefer to go with Optimus Prep on demand.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Optimus Prep
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Great GMAT Online Private Tutoring Lessons
August 30 | 2014

       By Anonymous joined: August 30, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 100 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Optimus Prep Private Tutoring | Location:   Online | Taught by:  Brajesh
I am a non-native and needed some specialized help on GMAT Prep. I have looked around and found that the big companies offer very expensive online private tutoring. I check out Optimus Prep and they had an affordable program. I wanted to see if anyone could recommend me a great online private tutor and also see if Optimus Prep is right for me. I got several positive feedbacks at GMAT Club regarding Optimus Prep private tutoring. I have been studying for the GMAT for more than two years on and off. Most recently I was scoring high 500 and a max of 680 in the OG practice tests in August. I had not studied for more than 2 months and wanted to crack the GMAT in the next 3 months. I have tried Manhattan, Newton and e-gmat and I wasn’t been able to advance much and always find myself in the 600´s plus or minus 50. My target score is 720+. I tend to score above the 40´s in Quant but usually in the 25-30 range in verbal.

Here is what I got in the private tutoring package:

- 23 hours of online private tutoring
- A private tutor who scored 750+ in the real GMAT
- Individual study plan
- Great test taking strategies
- GMAT simulations
- 24/7 support
- Flexible schedule (weekends and evenings are possible)
- On Demand Video course with 5500+ questions & adaptive test generators
- Many practice questions

My tutor Brajesh did a great job in identifying my personal weaknesses from the diagnostic test and created an individual study plan to eliminate them. Online private tutoring at Optimus takes place via an e-learning software called WebEx.The tutor shared his screen the connection was in real time. If he wrote down something it appeared at the same time on my computer. I could ask questions anytime and the lessons were as effective as face to face lessons.

The Video on demand course (worth $1000) came free with the 23 hours coaching option, and it was immensely helpful. It was perfectly suited because it covered all concepts from A-Z and seemed especially produced for non-natives or people who are out of school for years. I simultaneously learnt how to use these concepts to answer all question types of the GMAT. Brajesh was of tremendous help here. It doesn’t make sense to practice a lot of GMAT questions without having the general knowledge from the previous step. I was ultimately able to learn how to exploit my full potential by implementing test strategies like time or stress management.

To give myself the best possible shot of your goal I took many timed sections and for three weeks did a ton of analysis which was aided by the impressive analytics provided by the web page of the on demand video forum. I kept an error log (again provided in the site) so that I could hammer away at my weaknesses and shed light on all of those dark corners. That last week before the exam I slowed down and just did a maintenance amount of work to stay ready for the exam. I scored 730, which was something I had hoped for, all thanks to Optimus!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Optimus Prep Online Lessons - Perfect
September 01 | 2014

       By KathiB45 joined: September 1, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 110 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Optimus Prep Private Tutoring | Location:   Online | Taught by:  Justin Doff
I have been an avid reader on this forum for a long time and thought would help fellow GMAT takers. I prepared for my GMAT while working full time and thus needed a tutor who could REALLY give personal attention to my queries and performance. I tried a couple of so called legends for their GMAT classes and really did not feel comfortable in a big class of 25 students. I did not get the attention I needed

My timing was an issue. I took a lot of time on harder SC and CR's (fully underlined confusing sentences and inferences/boldface for that matter). When I tried to speed up in any type of 700 level questions or seemingly difficult questions, I made mistakes. My weakest area was SC but I had no clue how to improve it, even after doing a ton of practice questions.

Everyone endorses their own materials, but the most important thing was that I worked with a set of strategy guides that would enable me to fill in the holes in my performance, and perhaps improve my overall confidence and time management. I was strongly advised against making full tests the focus of my study, in the beginning, by Justin. He made sure that I had a firm grasp of all the basic content, and that I had a useful strategy (or better yet, several useful strategies) for every problem type. You won't get this from simply taking CAT exams or working through the OG.
Justin recommended that I spend a few weeks studying and doing practice problems before you attempt any more CATs. Then take them about once a week (or less often, if I decided to retake later than June. Making sure that I don't take a new CAT until I had thoroughly studied the last one. What was doing well? What wasn't working? What was going to do differently next time?
These were the key questions Justin helped me answer every time, through the 34 hours private tutoring I was offered.

You can spend hours and hours learning all of the rules, but you will never score well on the GMAT by doing so. The thing is, once you move past 600-level SC problems, grammar rules no longer help you. You must be able to intuitively pick the answer. At the 700 level, questions usually focus on meaning. Give yourself some time to work through it, but keep your work balanced. You don't want to get one skill far ahead of the others. For instance, if you get really good at SC, the test will give you really hard CR & RC, and that won't go well if you haven't also practiced those topics extensively.

A tutor provides expertise, experience, and encouragement. They do not provide "answers," but rather assist in problem solving, in getting answers. The challenge is to focus on assignments within the context they are assigned.

Justin was just the kind of person that I required.
I completed the test, scored a decent 700, and am preparing for essays. Thank you, Justin & thank you Optimus!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Optimus Prep
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community


Optimus Prep Course Rankings
Overall Score Improvement
107 points
International Student Score Improvement
101 points
Verbal
100%
Quant
100%
Save $750
on Optimus Prep
+Up to $500 discount
+$250 bonus
Get Optimus Prep Promo Code