Optimus Prep GMAT Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [29]      Average Rating:       (5.0/5)
Courses
Find by:  
    
    
    
    
    
 Optimus Prep Promo Code
Optimus Prep provides superior GMAT preparation with 99th percentile expert tutors at approximately  50% of the price of competitors! After analyzing several studies on the efficiency of all available tutoring options, we are convinced that we offer the best deal among all GMAT prep companies with a 70% probability of scoring over 700 points. Get the best price on Optimus Prep Courses

  Reviews
Sort by:   date of publication  most helpful
On Demand Course! A lot of useful GMAT tricks and tips!
March 24 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: March 24, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 120 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Optimus Prep On Demand Course | Location:   Online |
I found this video course with all the covered material to be great! All question types were explained in great detail from three different tutors. Each teacher went over his or her special field and showed valuable concepts and tips and tricks.

This helped me to gain knowledge I did not have before. I read the official guide before starting the course but it was of little help. In my opinion you need someone who knows the GMAT in and out and is willing to share his knowledge with you. I did not have a private tutor due to the high price though and found a recorded comprehensive video course to be a great alternative.

The CAT codes were also really good and allowed me to practice questions and get familiar with the test environment. I did between the lessons some more self-studying with the help of other books and this community.

I really can say that it was very helpful on my journey to a great GMAT score!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Great source to learn how to beat the GMAT test
September 04 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: September 4, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 70 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Optimus Prep On Demand Course | Location:   Online |
I enrolled at Optimus Prep on Demand course after I scored a 660 in my first shot at GMAT. I'm was much more confident for the exam day the second time around than I was at the first time. Couldn't recommend the course more! There were a lot of moments when I thought to give up and to concentrate on my job. I like to mention that I am an engineer so I was good in quant but verbal was not my cup of tea. I took the official GMAT before signing up for Optimus Prep On Demand. This was the best decision. Had I not found this company and their product offerings, I would not have improved my score. I studied by myself with OG books and did not perform as well as I would like. After watching the videos to my convenience and studying the material and taking regular tests on their site using the amazing test generator, I became confident in my work. I was able to watch the videos in my free time despite my full work and study course load. I increased my official score by 70 points and am well on my way to get admitted to the graduate school of my choice (fingers crossed). I would recommend this series to anyone! The course fits me quite well because it goes straight to the point, teaching you how to think logically. The videos are a good form to learn, as I often lose focus when reading something for too long.

Optimus can be useful because after each lesson there are practice tests to complete. The tests re-enforce the lessons. I am a native speaker and I thought the course would be useful but after using Optimus I purchased Aristotle Grail, which added more value now that my concepts are clear from Optimus. I found the CR videos pretty nifty as well, especially the pre thinking portions. The homework exercises are pretty good and reflect the difficult level of the actual exam. The adaptive nature of tests and also the practice tests is really something. There are around 6000 questions in the bank and the DIY test creation options for students are really great. You can choose to take the untimed tests for any section you want, and once you are confident, you can time your tests. There is an online error log which tracks what you are getting wrong, which you can cover using videos, clarify concepts and have a go at it again. Quant section can have more difficult exercises, but overall level is pretty good. The 9 GMAT CATs are just what you need when you are just a few weeks away from the actual thing.

Also, this course is good for the wallet, if you compare the other test prep companies and what they charge for their courses. Plus there is discount GMAT Club members can avail of and that knocks the prices off by half. I will recommend this course to everyone not just Non Native speakers since we cannot go wrong in the final exam.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Optimus Prep
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Very good on demand course!
September 05 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: September 5, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Optimus Prep On Demand Course | Location:   Online |
I took the on demand course of Optimus Prep and was very satisfied with the product. I wanted a self study option where I can get access to many questions, explanations and video lessons. That was exactly what the course was all about. I took many GMAT practice tests and followed the approach learning by doing. I liked the analytics software which told me where my weaknesses were. It was great that I could practice questions filtered among difficulty level. The support of Optimus Prep was also great and their live chat was always willing to help. The price is also fair if I compare them to other test prep companies. The course was great and I can really recommend it to others! I hope to score well when I take the GMAT in one week.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
On Demand Course - A lot of practice questions - Scored 720 points
September 09 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: September 9, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 120 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Optimus Prep On Demand Course | Location:   Online |
I am non-native speaker and till my school level, the medium of instruction was Hindi. So, in GMAT my weakest area was verbal. I prepared with standard study material such as Manhattan GMAT and Official Guide and even taken a local coaching to improve my verbal score. But I had a lot of doubt which remained as doubt.

I always believed in self-study instead of tutor, classes and all. After taking some MGMAT mock CATs, I realized that verbal score was not improving, and it was always vacillating between 28 and 32. My GMAT was just a few weeks away, and I thought of taking a GMAT prep test. It was a real bummer and scored 28 on verbal. I knew that I could not change 28 to 38 in 2 weeks’ time, but did not want to change the exam date either, so took advice from a few colleagues who had already gone with Optimus Prep on Demand, and I purchased that and started working on it.

I was simply blown away with the change in experience in transition from books to online video format. While traveling, I would take on a few videos and then a few on the way back. When I got bored, I would watch a movie or listen to songs. The ability to carry the study material and consume it in tiny chunks was of immense use to me. I am not used to study, so sitting for long hours was difficult. The material has been created in such a way that anyone can start studying and build pace on his own according to capacity. I am one of the slower learners and this style of material helped me.

The adaptive tests are highlight of this course, along with the CAT tests as they really tell you where you are respect to what is required of you. Within 2 weeks, I was able to observe a drastic change in my way of approach to answering questions. I don’t mean just the techniques, but an overall perception shift towards the GMAT, somewhat like Neo in the Matrix, I could "see" GMAT very differently than before and more holistically than before.
Once I went through a concept, I tried using the test Generator of Optimus Prep on Demand and practice a few questions related to the concept. After that, I reviewed my mistakes and updated the online error log. Few days later, I reviewed the concept in which I made mistakes, practiced more problems in the areas that I made mistakes in. Once I was confident, I moved on to the next concept and so on.

Most people focus majorly on the verbal, but this does not mean you can slack on quant. Once I went through the videos, I practiced a lot of tests and constantly checked that my level on quant was maintained. The quant in OG is way too easy, but with Optimus on Demand, the level is balanced. Thankfully, due to the adaptive nature of the tests I was able to hold on to my quant level, and focus on the verbal. Thank you Optimus, and now I move ahead to the next stage having scored a competitive 720.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Optimus Prep
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Awesome GMAT course. Great materials. Great self-prep software!
September 10 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By mimimimi joined: September 10, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Optimus Prep On Demand Course | Location:   Online |
I wrote my GMAT exam in August and got 700. I would like to thank each and every one of you who shared their GMAT experiences on this forum and helped people like me to achieve the dream score. This forum has been very useful to me during my GMAT preparation and its even useful now in my applications. I would also like to thank Optimus on Demand team for helping me improve my verbal score from 27 to 36 and keep up with my Math scores, especially DS and probabilities.

I used OG and Powerscore, but my Verbal Scores wouldn’t budge beyond 32. It was clear to me in that I needed a change in strategy. I thought of taking a prep course but was not sure if it was worth it. I tried a big name that was highly recommended on this forum but that did not help either. Finally, I went to a few training centers to get detailed information on their courses and students. I felt Optimus was new and had a fresh approach to GMAT compared to the older prep companies who seemed to be strutting their old stuff. I started with their sentence correction on the On Demand course and though I struggled in the beginning, the tests showed that I was getting better.

I had thought that I knew all there was to know in SC, but after doing a few concepts, I realized that I was mistaken. I knew the concepts all right but I still had not learned how to apply them. For example, I had not realized the ways in which Verb-ing modifiers could be used till I went through the concept in the course. I then looked into MGMAT and I could find that the same thing was covered in MGMAT as well but somehow I did not understand it the same way. I felt the same as I went through Verb tenses and parallel structures etc. I felt that the Optimus on Demand course was a lot easier to comprehend than MGMAT. I found the CR course to be equally good. The prethinking approach is just awesome – makes CR questions very enjoyable. Their coverage on evaluate (I did get a few questions) is probably the most comprehensive that I have found in any book. The live sessions were excellent but they cover only the more challenging problems.
Personally, I feel that Optimus is more detailed in teaching both SC and CR. It teaches you the application, not just the rules. The RC content was also very helpful, and though I was good at math, I was not able to manage time earlier, but after practicing over thousands of questions in an adaptive environment, my confidence began to grow.

One other thing that I liked about their videos and the progress that others were making that I came to know on the live feeds was interactive. Overall, I would attribute my improvement from 32 to 36 to Optimus.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Excellent Prep Course
September 11 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By sophiamia joined: September 11, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Optimus Prep On Demand Course | Location:   Online |
I had only a few weeks left for the actual GMAT and my verbal was stuck at 32-33 even after months of studying, though quant was going decent at 48. Also, though I did pretty neat in the practice problems, during full length tests I was suffering from repeatability issues. I realized that most of the times the main killer of my verbal score was RC. Sometimes my accuracy was as low as 50%.

I was going crazy about which materials to follow. I had already tried other courses such as Kaplan, MGMAT for RC and found them a bit unsuitable for my style of study. Since I am not a voracious reader, I had always struggled to comprehend a long or unfamiliar passage. I tried Aristotle RC and was extremely demotivated with my speed as well as accuracy as evidenced by the result of the tests in these materials. I used to think that with my convent education and a BTech would see me through but the test told me otherwise. At this time, all I could hope for was to get close to 700. Giving up was not something I was ready for, though a lot of people told me that I should focus on my career and current job, and I could get better returns.

So I reluctantly decided that I should buy a prep course some of the established companies. But after I saw the prices, I decided to look elsewhere. I saw that many people were recommending Optimus. I came across Optimus, through some posts in GMAT Club, quite late in my preparation cycle. I had completed OG and a few other materials like Aristotle and improved my accuracy to 75% in verbal but that was not sufficient.

Optimus has an extremely pragmatic approach of discarding wrong options, a technique that helped me to improve my score. Equipped with rigorous preparation through OG and Optimus and other resources I attempted GMAT again and I scored 740, 750 & 730 in the last 3 mock tests I tried. Concepts were explained like teaching kids at elementary level, so they are hard coded in your memory. Their approach to tackle questions was really strong, if practiced religiously you will overcome timing issues. Their approach digs the question really deep and there is a very little room left for errors.

One of the best things about the course is the focus on tests after learning the basics. The question generators have a lot of useful settings such as timed and non-timed, adaptive, and other forms of testing. Their question bank is humungous, nearly 6000 questions.
I am using this course since last month and I can surely tell you that it is the one of the best course for non-natives for improving the Verbal score. Course starts from the very basic and goes to the higher level, covering all the important topics of tested on the real GMAT.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Optimus Prep
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
IMPROVED my verbal skills extremely with the course!
September 17 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By wayne36 joined: September 17, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Optimus Prep On Demand Course | Location:   Online |
I was not good with sentence correction, and I am a native speaker. Certain nuances always escaped me, under the pressure of time constraints. I followed the OG and Manhattan books on SC, and found both to be very useful, but still felt that something was lacking.

I came to know about Optimus Prep from some of my colleagues who had taken the on demand video series from Optimus, and felt really good about it. After some additional research, I decided that I needed a prep course with strong emphasis on verbal. The on demand course from Optimus Prep took my preparation to the next level. The SC concepts that I learned were crystal clear after going through this course. Two other things helped me a lot on SC. Firstly the fact that the course is very heavy on application. There are these application files that don’t teach you anything but to apply what you have learned.

The advantage in Optimus is that the course starts with basic level and moves to advanced level once you gain proficiency in the basic level. The adaptive tests and detailed analytics along with difficulty level question generators make it really convenient to gauge your levels. The topics can be then classified accordingly to the level of difficulty. Another major advantage that I found useful was that the video tutorials give me a clear picture of the concept and the concept directly sat in my mind whereas in MGMAT strategy guides, all the areas are on the same level and the concepts are not supported by enough examples as most of the examples seem to be pretty easy and not actual GMAT like questions. I strictly followed the Optimus process for getting maximum results out of the course.

Being from a background in which the medium of instruction during school was not English, I was able to improve tremendously from the approach and depth the Optimus course had to offer. I can surely say that the improvement in score wouldn't have happened without Optimus.

During my preparation time, I realized how good the verbal part of the on demand course is. Special mention for SC, because I think this is the best course which anybody can take and become comfortable with intricacies of SC- sentence structure, meaning and spotting the errors.SC is structured in very easy to understand mode . Moreover, the videos on SC are superb. In CR, structure and pre-thinking steps gives a solid understanding of the argument. I improved a lot in other sections too. The quant, especially the DS and inequality problems, which can really stump you and destroy your timing, were explained very nicely in the videos. After the lessons, the practice questions helped me fine tune and apply the learning.

In RC, solution technique for Inference question was amazing. I recommend everyone to try out the video series, because it gives you the points where you have to focus (even you have studied full and getting a good score in practice tests).

I would highly recommend this course to anyone who wants to improve their verbal skills in a systematic manner.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
GREAT DEAL
October 28 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: October 27, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 110 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Optimus Prep On Demand Course | Location:   Online | Taught by:  Jesse
I was very satisfied with this product! You get a lot of stuff for your price. If you compare their rates to other test prep companies such as Veritas or Manhattan you understand what I mean.

The features of the course were valuable. Although I noticed a few small bugs on the course it gave me everything I need to study for the GMAT: videos, explanations, questions, recommendations, quizzes, practice tests and tips and tricks even for the Integrated Reasoning section.

$299 is a fair price and I recommend you to give it a try as well. Their support team is also very friendly and replies within 24 hours if the live chat is not online. GREAT DEAL
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Optimus Prep
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
GOOD WAY TO ACE THE GMAT
October 28 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By AnnaEnot joined: October 27, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 90 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Optimus Prep On Demand Course | Location:   Online |
There are no good GMAT classes in my area and therefore I was more or less forced to take an online course for my GMAT preparation. I did some research on gmatclub.com and noticed that Optimus Prep seem to offer a good course. I liked that I could test without any risks for 7 days. During the trial period I was convinced that this course with all the included features will help me mastering the GMAT. The price of $299 for almost 200 hours of material is more than fair and so I bought the course and studied for 3 months for the GMAT. After the test date came closer and closer I also bought a few online private tutoring hours to get support from an expert. My tutor had access to my on demand course and always saw my practice test results. He identified my weaknesses and helped me to overcome them. Overall, I give 5 stars for this great course!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Huge GMAT score improvement for only $299
October 29 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By brithospoti joined: October 27, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 150 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Optimus Prep On Demand Course | Location:   Online |
I compared many online courses from the biggest test prep companies and decided to sign up for a 7 days free trial of Optimus Prep’s on demand course. Of course, I also liked the idea that I was able to test the product without providing any payment details.

I took a look and liked the interface and the way the course was structured. The video lessons gave me a quick understanding of all concepts and I was able to practice these concepts with the included thousands of questions and the customized GMAT quizzes. The adaptive system gave me recommendations what to study more intensively which helped a lot.

To make a long story short, I spent about 100 hours in two months for my GMAT prep and still the course had more and more questions I never saw before…I took my second GMAT attempt (the first I had before I bought the course) and was confident that I will improve by 50 or more points as Optimus Prep’s score improvement guarantee promises. I improved by whopping 150 points! Thank you guys for this great course for a fair rate…
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Optimus Prep
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community


Optimus Prep Course Rankings
Overall Score Improvement
102 points
International Student Score Improvement
99 points
Verbal
100%
Quant
100%
Save $750
on Optimus Prep
+Up to $500 discount
+$250 bonus
Get Optimus Prep Promo Code