Optimus Prep On Demand Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [29]      Average Rating:       (5.0/5)
 Optimus Prep Promo
 
Code
Our adaptive GMAT On Demand Course is the best rated GMAT course on GMAT Club. In more than 180 hours, we’ll cover all GMAT question types and review optimal solution processes. Verbal as well as quantitative concepts will be discussed in detail by GMAT expert tutors to establish an optimal GMAT preparation. IMPROVE BY 50 POINTS OR GET A FULL REFUND!

IMPROVED my verbal skills extremely with the course!
September 17 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By wayne36 joined: September 17, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Optimus Prep On Demand Course | Location:  Online |
I was not good with sentence correction, and I am a native speaker. Certain nuances always escaped me, under the pressure of time constraints. I followed the OG and Manhattan books on SC, and found both to be very useful, but still felt that something was lacking.

I came to know about Optimus Prep from some of my colleagues who had taken the on demand video series from Optimus, and felt really good about it. After some additional research, I decided that I needed a prep course with strong emphasis on verbal. The on demand course from Optimus Prep took my preparation to the next level. The SC concepts that I learned were crystal clear after going through this course. Two other things helped me a lot on SC. Firstly the fact that the course is very heavy on application. There are these application files that don’t teach you anything but to apply what you have learned.

The advantage in Optimus is that the course starts with basic level and moves to advanced level once you gain proficiency in the basic level. The adaptive tests and detailed analytics along with difficulty level question generators make it really convenient to gauge your levels. The topics can be then classified accordingly to the level of difficulty. Another major advantage that I found useful was that the video tutorials give me a clear picture of the concept and the concept directly sat in my mind whereas in MGMAT strategy guides, all the areas are on the same level and the concepts are not supported by enough examples as most of the examples seem to be pretty easy and not actual GMAT like questions. I strictly followed the Optimus process for getting maximum results out of the course.

Being from a background in which the medium of instruction during school was not English, I was able to improve tremendously from the approach and depth the Optimus course had to offer. I can surely say that the improvement in score wouldn't have happened without Optimus.

During my preparation time, I realized how good the verbal part of the on demand course is. Special mention for SC, because I think this is the best course which anybody can take and become comfortable with intricacies of SC- sentence structure, meaning and spotting the errors.SC is structured in very easy to understand mode . Moreover, the videos on SC are superb. In CR, structure and pre-thinking steps gives a solid understanding of the argument. I improved a lot in other sections too. The quant, especially the DS and inequality problems, which can really stump you and destroy your timing, were explained very nicely in the videos. After the lessons, the practice questions helped me fine tune and apply the learning.

In RC, solution technique for Inference question was amazing. I recommend everyone to try out the video series, because it gives you the points where you have to focus (even you have studied full and getting a good score in practice tests).

I would highly recommend this course to anyone who wants to improve their verbal skills in a systematic manner.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Excellent Prep Course
September 11 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By sophiamia joined: September 11, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Optimus Prep On Demand Course | Location:  Online |
I had only a few weeks left for the actual GMAT and my verbal was stuck at 32-33 even after months of studying, though quant was going decent at 48. Also, though I did pretty neat in the practice problems, during full length tests I was suffering from repeatability issues. I realized that most of the times the main killer of my verbal score was RC. Sometimes my accuracy was as low as 50%.

I was going crazy about which materials to follow. I had already tried other courses such as Kaplan, MGMAT for RC and found them a bit unsuitable for my style of study. Since I am not a voracious reader, I had always struggled to comprehend a long or unfamiliar passage. I tried Aristotle RC and was extremely demotivated with my speed as well as accuracy as evidenced by the result of the tests in these materials. I used to think that with my convent education and a BTech would see me through but the test told me otherwise. At this time, all I could hope for was to get close to 700. Giving up was not something I was ready for, though a lot of people told me that I should focus on my career and current job, and I could get better returns.

So I reluctantly decided that I should buy a prep course some of the established companies. But after I saw the prices, I decided to look elsewhere. I saw that many people were recommending Optimus. I came across Optimus, through some posts in GMAT Club, quite late in my preparation cycle. I had completed OG and a few other materials like Aristotle and improved my accuracy to 75% in verbal but that was not sufficient.

Optimus has an extremely pragmatic approach of discarding wrong options, a technique that helped me to improve my score. Equipped with rigorous preparation through OG and Optimus and other resources I attempted GMAT again and I scored 740, 750 & 730 in the last 3 mock tests I tried. Concepts were explained like teaching kids at elementary level, so they are hard coded in your memory. Their approach to tackle questions was really strong, if practiced religiously you will overcome timing issues. Their approach digs the question really deep and there is a very little room left for errors.

One of the best things about the course is the focus on tests after learning the basics. The question generators have a lot of useful settings such as timed and non-timed, adaptive, and other forms of testing. Their question bank is humungous, nearly 6000 questions.
I am using this course since last month and I can surely tell you that it is the one of the best course for non-natives for improving the Verbal score. Course starts from the very basic and goes to the higher level, covering all the important topics of tested on the real GMAT.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Optimus Prep
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Awesome GMAT course. Great materials. Great self-prep software!
September 10 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By mimimimi joined: September 10, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Optimus Prep On Demand Course | Location:  Online |
I wrote my GMAT exam in August and got 700. I would like to thank each and every one of you who shared their GMAT experiences on this forum and helped people like me to achieve the dream score. This forum has been very useful to me during my GMAT preparation and its even useful now in my applications. I would also like to thank Optimus on Demand team for helping me improve my verbal score from 27 to 36 and keep up with my Math scores, especially DS and probabilities.

I used OG and Powerscore, but my Verbal Scores wouldn’t budge beyond 32. It was clear to me in that I needed a change in strategy. I thought of taking a prep course but was not sure if it was worth it. I tried a big name that was highly recommended on this forum but that did not help either. Finally, I went to a few training centers to get detailed information on their courses and students. I felt Optimus was new and had a fresh approach to GMAT compared to the older prep companies who seemed to be strutting their old stuff. I started with their sentence correction on the On Demand course and though I struggled in the beginning, the tests showed that I was getting better.

I had thought that I knew all there was to know in SC, but after doing a few concepts, I realized that I was mistaken. I knew the concepts all right but I still had not learned how to apply them. For example, I had not realized the ways in which Verb-ing modifiers could be used till I went through the concept in the course. I then looked into MGMAT and I could find that the same thing was covered in MGMAT as well but somehow I did not understand it the same way. I felt the same as I went through Verb tenses and parallel structures etc. I felt that the Optimus on Demand course was a lot easier to comprehend than MGMAT. I found the CR course to be equally good. The prethinking approach is just awesome – makes CR questions very enjoyable. Their coverage on evaluate (I did get a few questions) is probably the most comprehensive that I have found in any book. The live sessions were excellent but they cover only the more challenging problems.
Personally, I feel that Optimus is more detailed in teaching both SC and CR. It teaches you the application, not just the rules. The RC content was also very helpful, and though I was good at math, I was not able to manage time earlier, but after practicing over thousands of questions in an adaptive environment, my confidence began to grow.

One other thing that I liked about their videos and the progress that others were making that I came to know on the live feeds was interactive. Overall, I would attribute my improvement from 32 to 36 to Optimus.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
On Demand Course - A lot of practice questions - Scored 720 points
September 09 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: September 9, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 120 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Optimus Prep On Demand Course | Location:  Online |
I am non-native speaker and till my school level, the medium of instruction was Hindi. So, in GMAT my weakest area was verbal. I prepared with standard study material such as Manhattan GMAT and Official Guide and even taken a local coaching to improve my verbal score. But I had a lot of doubt which remained as doubt.

I always believed in self-study instead of tutor, classes and all. After taking some MGMAT mock CATs, I realized that verbal score was not improving, and it was always vacillating between 28 and 32. My GMAT was just a few weeks away, and I thought of taking a GMAT prep test. It was a real bummer and scored 28 on verbal. I knew that I could not change 28 to 38 in 2 weeks’ time, but did not want to change the exam date either, so took advice from a few colleagues who had already gone with Optimus Prep on Demand, and I purchased that and started working on it.

I was simply blown away with the change in experience in transition from books to online video format. While traveling, I would take on a few videos and then a few on the way back. When I got bored, I would watch a movie or listen to songs. The ability to carry the study material and consume it in tiny chunks was of immense use to me. I am not used to study, so sitting for long hours was difficult. The material has been created in such a way that anyone can start studying and build pace on his own according to capacity. I am one of the slower learners and this style of material helped me.

The adaptive tests are highlight of this course, along with the CAT tests as they really tell you where you are respect to what is required of you. Within 2 weeks, I was able to observe a drastic change in my way of approach to answering questions. I don’t mean just the techniques, but an overall perception shift towards the GMAT, somewhat like Neo in the Matrix, I could "see" GMAT very differently than before and more holistically than before.
Once I went through a concept, I tried using the test Generator of Optimus Prep on Demand and practice a few questions related to the concept. After that, I reviewed my mistakes and updated the online error log. Few days later, I reviewed the concept in which I made mistakes, practiced more problems in the areas that I made mistakes in. Once I was confident, I moved on to the next concept and so on.

Most people focus majorly on the verbal, but this does not mean you can slack on quant. Once I went through the videos, I practiced a lot of tests and constantly checked that my level on quant was maintained. The quant in OG is way too easy, but with Optimus on Demand, the level is balanced. Thankfully, due to the adaptive nature of the tests I was able to hold on to my quant level, and focus on the verbal. Thank you Optimus, and now I move ahead to the next stage having scored a competitive 720.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Optimus Prep
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Very good on demand course!
September 05 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: September 5, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Optimus Prep On Demand Course | Location:  Online |
I took the on demand course of Optimus Prep and was very satisfied with the product. I wanted a self study option where I can get access to many questions, explanations and video lessons. That was exactly what the course was all about. I took many GMAT practice tests and followed the approach learning by doing. I liked the analytics software which told me where my weaknesses were. It was great that I could practice questions filtered among difficulty level. The support of Optimus Prep was also great and their live chat was always willing to help. The price is also fair if I compare them to other test prep companies. The course was great and I can really recommend it to others! I hope to score well when I take the GMAT in one week.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Great source to learn how to beat the GMAT test
September 04 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: September 4, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 70 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Optimus Prep On Demand Course | Location:  Online |
I enrolled at Optimus Prep on Demand course after I scored a 660 in my first shot at GMAT. I'm was much more confident for the exam day the second time around than I was at the first time. Couldn't recommend the course more! There were a lot of moments when I thought to give up and to concentrate on my job. I like to mention that I am an engineer so I was good in quant but verbal was not my cup of tea. I took the official GMAT before signing up for Optimus Prep On Demand. This was the best decision. Had I not found this company and their product offerings, I would not have improved my score. I studied by myself with OG books and did not perform as well as I would like. After watching the videos to my convenience and studying the material and taking regular tests on their site using the amazing test generator, I became confident in my work. I was able to watch the videos in my free time despite my full work and study course load. I increased my official score by 70 points and am well on my way to get admitted to the graduate school of my choice (fingers crossed). I would recommend this series to anyone! The course fits me quite well because it goes straight to the point, teaching you how to think logically. The videos are a good form to learn, as I often lose focus when reading something for too long.

Optimus can be useful because after each lesson there are practice tests to complete. The tests re-enforce the lessons. I am a native speaker and I thought the course would be useful but after using Optimus I purchased Aristotle Grail, which added more value now that my concepts are clear from Optimus. I found the CR videos pretty nifty as well, especially the pre thinking portions. The homework exercises are pretty good and reflect the difficult level of the actual exam. The adaptive nature of tests and also the practice tests is really something. There are around 6000 questions in the bank and the DIY test creation options for students are really great. You can choose to take the untimed tests for any section you want, and once you are confident, you can time your tests. There is an online error log which tracks what you are getting wrong, which you can cover using videos, clarify concepts and have a go at it again. Quant section can have more difficult exercises, but overall level is pretty good. The 9 GMAT CATs are just what you need when you are just a few weeks away from the actual thing.

Also, this course is good for the wallet, if you compare the other test prep companies and what they charge for their courses. Plus there is discount GMAT Club members can avail of and that knocks the prices off by half. I will recommend this course to everyone not just Non Native speakers since we cannot go wrong in the final exam.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Optimus Prep
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Great Program! 100% Recommendable!
September 03 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By miaterry joined: September 3, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Optimus Prep On Demand Course | Location:  Online |
The GMAT prep phase is one of the most intellectual and demanding experiences in one’s life. This journey can last for many months or just about a fraction of 2 to 3 months, if planned well in advance with the help of the GMAT guru ' Optimus Prep’. I already had built up my basics from the official sources. But to get the extra edge in the areas which I felt I lacked in DS and certain types of CR questions), I leveraged Optimus prep. The questions are challenging and thought provoking and the explanations are even better. The experts on Optimus Prep have reinforced the confidence and mindset needed to crack this test.

In addition to all this, I feel the best feature are the (newly launched) CATs. I scored a 730 on the actual GMAT and the range of my 9 CAT scores was 680-720. This gave me great confidence to go ahead and whip the GMAT! I started with my GMAT prep in the month of February by giving a pre prep assessment to base line my performance at the very start. I found that while I was fairly good at the math section, my verbal section was not strong and i could foresee spending hours of practice to target the much needed perfection.

Since I wanted to complete my prep in 3 months sabbatical that I had taken to prepare for GMAT, the next big task at hand was to choose my mentor to helper put a strong fight and land up at a great score of anything above 700. My research ended at Optimus where I found a whole plethora of prep tools like videos, wide range of books, online tutoring and the best amongst all was the online tests that one could customize to harness the weakest sections.

Learning through Optimus became fun...it looked like rewarding task to me. I used to take the test, see my scores and be ready with the next attempt after analyzing my areas of opportunities and reasoning shared with me after each test was over. I found myself glued to the books, videos after and before each test and to see the needed elevations in my scores after every single attempt. The adaptive tests containing a bank of 5500 questions and insightful analytics in addition to using the custom exam generator was very helpful.

There was a friend who too has opted for Optimus GMAT prep along with me and his weakest section was math. I could see him gaining confidence sooner than later resulting from the joint effort put together by Optimus and him. I scored 710 on GMAT and am very happy with my performance. Next step is going to be somewhat easier knowing that I am over the dreaded 700 hump. Optimus is a one stop shop. If you are looking for a customized platter of coaching to prepare for GMAT in easy to understand language with guidance at each step of your preparation that too in a stipulated time frame.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Optimus GMAT on Demand. All content covered. Final score 720.
September 02 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: September 2, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 80 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Optimus Prep On Demand Course | Location:  Online |
If someone asked me to summarize Optimus GMAT Prep, it would be simply do that in one word and that would be 'extraordinary'. I am on top of the world and anyone who scores 720 after an average academic endeavor at school and college would be. I was never a scholar and scored at an average scale or slightly above as long as I remember. i wanted to give a direction to my career.. Getting admitted to one of the top Business schools could be just the right start towards my journey of success and excellence. My search for a great online coaching institute ended at Optimus GMAT Prep.

I took the Optimus on Demand course which includes an extensive series of videos covering all the verbal and quantitative skills tested by the exam. The website also features extensive homework problems with detailed explanations and 9 adaptive practice tests. The Optimus on Demand package also includes the study books which complement the online materials. Overall, I think the Optimus on demand package is a great value and provides hours of study materials.

The wide range of videos, online coaching and simulation tests offered by Optimus prep suits the training needs of everyone by giving the option of customizing to the needs of all students. The books from Optimus are a good return on investment on top of which the videos, discussion forums complete the entire package.
You have a wide range of 5500 questions to practice from, as well as 9 CATs. The adaptive tests are highlights of the course, as one can train on several different training wheels.

The web-based instruction is a highly effective and efficient method of communication and instructions. Problem sets can be completed on your own time, additionally the ability to create your own exams by using the exam generator utilizing various parameters such as custom difficulty level, timing, and section or knowledge area is really something.

I'll list out some pros and cons below:

Pros:

- The 9 practice CATs were really useful. Helped me correct my timing issues, and build confidence as I saw my score go up from 640 to 700 during the CATs, and finally a 720 on the actual GMAT.
- Adaptive tests and custom exam generator was a hoot and a half!
- Quiz bank with over 5000 questions and live feeds on what others are doing.
- Gaming type level advances were fun
- The student interface is attractive and keeps track of your progress
- Multiple formats such as PC, Ipad phone etc. took care of the mobility issue
- Price factor of $499 with the GMAT Club discount

Cons:

- There were few initial web glitches which were sorted out in time
- Practice CATs are tougher than the real deal, which may be good in a way for some people.

Overall I think my money was well spent and I thank Optimus for giving me the best ROI ever!!!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Optimus Prep
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Very good & professional GMAT on demand course.
August 29 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By elenatia joined: August 29, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Optimus Prep On Demand Course | Location:  Online |
What really attracted me was honestly, the price. For $499, one could access 5000+ questions and detailed explanations covering Quantitative, Verbal, and I.R. which included 30 video lessons and 9 full GMAT simulations with formats ranging from PC, Mac, iPad and even iPhone. They guaranteed 50 points GMAT score improvement or full refund. They claimed that their system tracked and analyzed an individual’s performance at the lowest level, identifying one’s specific strengths and weaknesses and generating recommendations based on the performance. I took a feedback from some other people on GMAT Club who went for it, to validate such tall claims, was convinced by the feedback and I felt the quality was worth a try. I subscribed to the Optimus Prep GMAT on demand course and could not have been happier with it. As with all study programs, the extent to which your score improves is ultimately a function of the student’s effort and discipline. That being said, it is my opinion that if you work diligently with the Optimus Prep GMAT materials your scores will improve substantially. The study materials include all the information that one needs to score a 700+. I found the video instructors to be knowledgeable and professional. What I saw as especially helpful were the techniques Optimus Prep employed to approach different styles of problems. To be clear, you can learn to answer any GMAT problem if you master the Optimus Prep study material. Towards the end of my studying, however, I learned to more efficiently apply these techniques to the point where you could narrow your answer down to two possible choices, or even one, without even doing the problem. Essentially, it teaches you how the GMAT tries to trick you and makes you more aware of what trick answer choices look like. This dramatically improved my accuracy and timing issues. Compared to other online courses service Optimus Prep on demand holds a few considerable advantages. The online materials are way more comprehensive. In addition to 9 algorithmic adaptive practice tests, there were endless question banks, and exam generators with more than 5000 practice problems to reinforce the material that was covered in the videos. All in all I couldn’t be more pleased. After taking the course, I studied for another 5 weeks focusing on the techniques and earned a 700+ score. If you are in search of a product that will include everything from GMAT exam introduction all the way through advanced techniques for 700+ scores you want Optimus Prep on demand series.

Optimus Prep offers a wealth of options for you to learn and master all topics covered on the exam. From the extensive Optimus Prep strategy guides to the challenging CAT prep tests, students have access to a variety of different study tools to work on all topics tested on the GMAT. Based on my experience, I would confidently say that you will never get such value for money from any other established course in the market. I am on to the next step, and if I had to take the GMAT again, I would prefer to go with Optimus Prep on demand.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
My review about the On Demand Online Prep Course. Fantastic Program/Guide for self-preparation!
August 29 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By JuriB joined: August 29, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 100 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Optimus Prep On Demand Course | Location:  Online |
I can't say enough wonderful things about Optimus prep GMAT! I scored a 750 and was admitted to three Top 5 b-schools - none of which would have been possible without Optimus prep's excellent program. I would highly recommend Optimus prep to anyone heading down the b-school route.

During the on class room course I had taken earlier course, we were not reviewing the material, most of the time, we were just doing problems, they have a lot of resources to approach the problems and more interactive. I was aiming for 700+ and I found the level of the course was targeted more towards average GMAT scores, the explanations were slow and very detailed, I am a quick learner, and I was bored most of the time during the sessions.

Optimus prep's materials are the best; the online CATs alone are worth the fees. That said, you have to do the work on your own. Don't underestimate the amount of time and effort it takes to increase your score significantly. Everything you need is in Optimus prep's materials, but you are ultimately responsible for your own success.

Even if I had the materials, I wouldn’t have been able to put together the weekly lists of practice questions on my own. Optimus on demand tells you exactly how to fill those 15 hours a week spent studying. I wouldn’t say that the teaching is the strength of the course, and NOT because the web instructor great. They clearly have subject mastery and, more uniquely, are really personable and committed. They have a weird passion and enthusiasm for the GMAT, which is inspiring.

The web-based instruction is a very effective method of communication and instruction. Problem sets can be completed on your own time , additionally you can create your own exams by using the exam generator which has various parameters such as custom difficulty level, timing, section or knowledge area and you can also see what others are doing, which gives a sense of community .

The method of instruction focuses on "practicing" key concepts that are tested on the GMAT and learning the most time-efficient tips and tricks to solve these concepts, this is particularly helpful on the Data Sufficiency problems and Sentence Correction problems on the GMAT. Those two types of problems were my primary weaknesses when beginning the GMAT process, but Optimus prep GMAT helped me turn those weaknesses into strengths. Through consistent and disciplined practice of these problems, I was able to quickly recognize a concept and immediately decide which method to use in solving that particular problem.

Overall, Optimus prep GMAT is an enabler that will definitely help any MBA prospect set conditions for success on the GMAT. But at the end of the day, rolling up your sleeves and putting some good old fashioned elbow grease into studying the concepts that Optimus prep GMAT teaches you is still absolutely necessary to achieve the results that you want, but I would not be satisfied with my GMAT without taking the On Demand Online Prep Course.
I definitely think the course is worth the money and time investment. I've heard from many people that if you want the best in GMAT prep, then go with Optimus prep. If I had to pay the same price for a GMAT prep course, I would definitely choose Optimus prep all over again.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Optimus Prep
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community


Optimus Prep Course Rankings
Overall Score Improvement
113 points
International Student Score Improvement
106 points
Verbal
100%
Quant
100%
Save $750
on Optimus Prep
+Up to $500 discount
+$250 bonus
Get Optimus Prep Promo Code