Optimus Prep Private Tutoring Reviews
    Number of reviews [11]      Average Rating:       (5.0/5)
 Optimus Prep Promo 
Code
Optimus Prep specializes in arranging and providing private GMAT tutoring to students of all levels around the world. From the very beginning of any course offered by Optimus Prep, the participating student receives individualized attention focusing on the unique strengths, weaknesses, and needs of that student. 

Private tutoring is the way to go…
November 09 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: November 9, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 90 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Optimus Prep Private Tutoring | Location:  *Online, USA | Taught by:  Brajesh
I took the 34 hour online private tutoring package and was very satisfied with the services of Optimus Prep. The tutor Brajesh is a very bright and experienced person who knows all the ins and outs of the GMAT.

He was able to explain all different GMAT related concepts in an easy way and was patient when I first had problems to follow him. The included on demand course was also a great tool to learn and to practice for the GMAT.

The software WebEx was used for our lessons and although I was not sure if online tutoring is really the right option for me, I changed my mind after the first free trial hour…It was perfect because I was able to meet him from home without traveling and even saved a ton of money compared to face to face lessons…

Overall, the package was very good and I can recommend Optimus Prep to anyone who wants to improve their score with the help of a private tutor
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
GMAT private lessons online with tutor Brajesh
November 03 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: November 2, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 120 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Optimus Prep Private Tutoring | Location:  *Online, USA | Taught by:  Brajesh
I booked the 23 hours online private package, because I already prepared 4 months for the test by myself and just wanted to focus on special fields like reading comprehension and critical reasoning with a GMAT specialist. During my self-preparation I found out that had more problems with verbal part of the GMAT than with the quant part. I divided the 23 hours package into 20 hours verbal and 3 hours quantitative part.

My tutor Brajesh was a bright guy who answered all my questions in detail with a lot of patience. I liked his teaching style and also how he guided me through all online sessions. I took the GMAT two times and my final score was 670 (my target score after I scored 550 in my first attempt). Thank you to Optimus Prep and especially to Brajesh.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Optimus Prep
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Thank you for your help!
October 31 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: October 31, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 150 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Optimus Prep Private Tutoring | Location:  *Online, USA | Taught by:  Brajesh
I would like to share my experience with Optimus Prep with you. First of all about my background: I am from India but live in USA. I am working in investment banking and therefore I have a strong quant. background. My verbal skills are not bad but by far not as strong as my quant. knowledge (I am an options day trader for stocks).

I want to apply for one of the very best MBA programs in the US and need a competitive GMAT score of 720+ for it. I compared most of the offers of the biggest tutoring or test prep companies and decided to take 23 hours of online private tutoring from Optimus Prep. The main reason was the price but they also replied very quickly and made a very professional impression on me.

Part of the package was their online adaptive course. After I completed my diagnostic GMAT test my tutor Brajesh told me where my main weaknesses were. I got a study plan and Brajesh told me which video lessons to watch before our first session. This was very helpful and the material covered not only the concept but it also showed how to apply the concept to the different GMAT question types. The online course was generally were helpful during the entire preparation because it gave me the chance to practice what I learned during the private tutoring lessons.

The live lessons with Brajesh took place via software called WebEx which is about like Skype but better suited for tutoring because Brajesh was able to share his screen with me. The lessons were very good and gave me a solid understanding especially of the verbal material. The rules for SC were clear and precise and helped me a lot to improve my accuracy here.

Brajesh told me to take further GMAT practice tests to get a feeling for the GMAT and to observe my progress. I improved in each of the diagnostic test and was finally able to score 150 points higher than in my first diagnostic test – only two months after I started with my prep!

I was very confident and went to the test center. My score was 720 and I am very happy that I reached my goal!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Justin was a great online tutor! Thanks to Optimus Prep.
October 30 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: October 30, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 110 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Optimus Prep Private Tutoring | Location:  *Online, USA | Taught by:  Justin Optimus Prep
As an international student, Verbal section was my nemesis. Math was not much of a problem, though, but I kept scoring in 40-48 range and the variation was too much. Justin and I spend most of our time working on verbal, and improved it from late 20s to mid-30s. He started to build my confidence as well as my math and verbal skills. Not only he gave my all the useful strategies but also he created a customized study schedule for me. After two months, I successfully increased my verbal score as well as quant score by, totaling my overall score over 100 points.
Justin first spent time learning about my strengths and weaknesses and guided me through developing a strategy that would work for me. The most important thing Justin taught me was to approach the quant section with logic and problem solving instead of using purely Algebra or mathematics. This may seem like a simple thing to do but it took a while to get use to this. Justin also helped me develop strategies for each question that cater to my strengths and go around my weakness. Justin shared his knowledge of the different question types and taught me how to think from the perspective of the test makers. After studying with Justin I was able to develop a clear strategy for guessing, time management, multiple choice and data sufficiency problems. And on a deeper level for each type of question, for example how to approach a Data sufficiency Geometry question or numbers property question. After meeting Justin and learning from him, I felt like I had wasted a lot of time learning everything, when I should have been focusing on developing strategies that cater to my strengths and practicing problem solving, not solving algebra and math problems.
For Verbal I spent time over 70% of the sessions, but I think Justins approach to Reading Comprehension and Sentence Correction really improved my score more than the effort I put. He taught me how to use logic and reasoning to answer the questions and to focus on the why in the RC and to use reasoning for SC. I must have missed that in the MGMT guides. I’m sure I could’ve improved more on Verbal if I spent more time with Justin. I have wandered all over the place but could not locate the central idea. With Justin’s guidance I realized where I was going wrong. Comparing with other courses I have taken, his private online session is the best part of studying month. Justin was real with me and gave me the confidence and the tools to tackle the GMAT. He helped me develop a customized approach and was patient with me as I began to see and understand that test as he does. There is no doubt that Justin is a GMAT master. I appreciated his help and would give him a 5 star review! Having said all this, you still need to put in a lot of time and effort to get the score you want.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Optimus Prep
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Always Very Fast Responses... Great Experience!
October 29 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By EricH84 joined: October 27, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 100 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Optimus Prep Private Tutoring | Location:  *Online, USA |
I wrote to many test preparation companies to find a tutor for my upcoming GMAT test, and Optimus
Prep was the first one that wrote me back. Actually, it took a few days before any of the others
contacted me, so it was easy to decide who to go with. I was already behind on my studying, only 4
weeks left, and I was afraid it was already too late. But Optimus Prep was able to set up tutoring times
with me immediately and they assured me that 4 weeks was plenty of time to get prepared if I
dedicated myself to it. So I took their advice and now I'm feeling very confident. I decided I wanted
more hours for the quant. part and less for the verbal, and they let me arrange my time however I
wanted instead of being stuck with hours for certain topics I didn't need. The tutors followed the same suit, focusing on areas where we identified I was weaker... though we covered everything to make sure.
What more could you ask for but quick and professional and focusing on my needs individually?
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Review GMAT private tutoring package 34 hrs NY
September 18 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By melvinvin joined: September 18, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Optimus Prep Private Tutoring | Location:  New York (Manhattan), NY USA |
I chose Optimus Prep because a friend of mine was a former customer. He told me that they have good tutors and are not so expensive like others. I was also interested in Kaplan test prep but I read in the internet that their tutors are not the best. Since I tried to score above 700 to apply for some Ivy League schools I wanted to have the very best tutors. I contacted the customer support of Optimus Prep and found them to be friendly and helpful. They sent me a CAT code and I took a free diagnostic exam at home. The results were 590 which is slightly above average as I was told. I had learned some stuff by reading the books but was eager to improve my GMAT score with the help of a pro tutor.

My lessons took place in New York. I took the 34 hours package and later additional 10 hours. My tutor helped in every aspect of the GMAT, from concepts over time management strategies to Integrated Reasoning. I was very satisfied and took more and more of the included CAT codes. My GMAT Scores from the CAT codes came closer to the 700 bench mark. After my lessons were over I repeated the learned concepts and finally took my first real GMAT exam scoring a 710! I am more than happy that I achieved my goal after only two months of intensive learning!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Optimus Prep
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
34 hours online private tutoring with Justin. Good investment.
September 15 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: September 15, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Optimus Prep Private Tutoring | Location:  *Online, USA | Taught by:  Justin Optimus Prep
I never thought I'd head to business school. And honestly, personal and online tutoring is the only way that I could have do it because I travel a lot due to work schedule. It was a load of money, I have quite a bit of my student loans so money doesn't come easy, but it was worth it.

After not having a stellar experience the other top GMAT course provider, I decided to get some private tutoring sessions. I took a few feedbacks from multiple sources and money wise and credit wise, Optimus seemed to be a good deal. The folks at Optimus have a structured approach to prepare the candidates for the tests, they start with diagnostic test. Once the diagnostic test scores are flashed on the system, the next thing they do is to share your study plan. It was very easy for me to figure out my strengths and areas of opportunity this time, unlike at the time of taking the GMAT test where everything as per me went well.

I hadn't taken math in a few years so we really had to start with the most basic concepts, and Justin was extremely patient and clear when explaining things to me. He was able to improve my score and most importantly my confidence in my ability to do math tremendously. The test taking strategies that Justin taught me have helped me in school as well. A great advantage of private online tutoring is that both the curriculum and schedule will be customized to fit the students’ needs. The adaptive tests, the CATs and the monster question bank kept me on my toes. Justin taught me how to make the best out of the question generator. It is a pretty nifty tool and cemented my concepts on what I followed from the videos. Once you take this course I believe you don’t need anything else. Lot of people buy everything and suffer from what I call hoarder problem, too much material and difficult to make a plan. I worked really hard and sometimes would bug Justin with queries at odd times in the night. But I would always get a prompt and helpful response. The money that I spent for the 34 hours online private tutoring is probably the best investment I have made till now. GMAT tutoring at Optimus is simply the best. Justin was extremely patient with me and tackled a head strong person like me very efficiently. I clarified my questions/ doubts multiple times with him and every time he answered my questions to my satisfaction without any reservations or hang-ups. He was helpful on content and on the motivation part - you know, the stuff that makes or breaks a test. Our schedule was kind of tight and he was willing to work with me as needed.

I would recommend Justin and Optimus Prep for the GMAT to anyone looking to improve their math and test taking skills in a short amount of time.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Achieved a higher GMAT score through the help of Optimus!
September 13 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By claudibussi joined: September 13, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 70 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Optimus Prep Private Tutoring | Location:  *Online, USA |
I scored 720 in my GMAT and have to say that GMAT is an exam of strategy over intelligence. Don’t believe it, try taking a diagnostic test without strategizing about how to achieve your dream score and you will see for yourself. I took my first GMAT exam after preparing for only 15 days on my own and landed at a score of 650 and at a loss of my hard earned $225, the GMAT test fee. It was kind of funny that while taking the test everything looked right to me and I wasn’t able to figure out what went wrong in the test. I got very depressed with my performance and kind of gave up on my dream to study in one of the top Business schools, it looked impossible to me.

After a few days, I spoke to my long distance friend who was also appearing for GMAT and that opened my eyes. I got to know that he had already celebrated his victory over GMAT with a score of 740. I was rather unhappy and surprised to hear that as I was far more intelligent than him considering our performances at school where I always got better grades than him. During the course of our conversation, I discovered that he had prepared with the help of online tutoring from Optimus and that too with a full time job. I was surprised even more and rather happier as by now I had understood the tricks of the trade. The next day I enrolled at Optimus, they offered a wide range of tutoring models, I guess to suit different requirements of people all across the globe. Since I had already tasted the pudding, I chose for their 23 hour package which was only for $1860 and included the diagnostic tests as well.

On the very first day of our class, my tutor, Justin charmed me with his introduction and helped me regain my lost confidence. Justin was himself a management graduate from a premier business school and not only that he had scored at the 99th percentile. I couldn’t have asked for more, this was my opportunity to prepare for GMAT and target for score of anything above 710 in my next and final attempt at GMAT. I enjoyed the tutoring sessions, they were so interactive just like an in person learning environment. Justin and I maintained a two way communication and a great rapport. He shared his approaches and strategies while he prepared me for GMAT and that was like an icing on the cake. Justin covered all topics under the verbal and quant section and made me practice. These sessions were archived and this was highly beneficial as I saved these recordings in my phone and kept getting back re listening in free time at work or while traveling. This a game of strategy and Optimus is the best GMAT score strategist, get them.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Optimus Prep
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Great experience with Optimus Prep online prep (Tutor Justin)
September 12 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: September 12, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Optimus Prep Private Tutoring | Location:  *Online, USA | Taught by:  Justin Optimus Prep
I am a house wife with two toddlers to take care of. I worked in a full time job in a middle management role before my husband and I decided to have a family. It became impossible for me to continue with my demanding job after the birth of my twins and hence I decided to take a sabbatical for 3 years. After a break, I decided to get back to work and it wasn’t easy as the job market had changed and become even more competitive and dynamic than before. Forget the next level, even to get a break at the same level from which I had quit looked impossible. After much research and brain storming with my husband i decided to do a Management course from one of the Ivy League business schools in order to give my career a new flight. I then started to prepare for GMAT and hence wanted a lot of coaching in both, quant and verbal sections as none of these were strong enough to get a score of more than 700, a prerequisite to enter any premier management school.

I had heard great reviews about Optimus online prep school and decided to take the 34 hrs tutoring package from them, it was priced at reasonably and included GMAT on demand course. It made me extremely happy and content to know that I was getting a great deal at a highly lucrative price than any other prep institute could possibly offer. At Optimus, the best part was that all I needed was to get started and the rest was taken care of by my tutor Justin. I simply loved their approach which helped me gain confidence and beat GMAT with an exceptionally high score of 700, the score looked like a dream come true for someone like me who was out of both, books and jobs for a long time.

I could prepare for GMAT online from home while taking care of my babies. Ha! What could be better than that? I got personal attention from my tutor who fist understood my weaker and stronger areas through my performance in diagnostic tests and then shared with me my study plan that I just needed to follow to ensure success. The online tutoring, was extremely smooth and interactive, I could not believe that I could even write my questions, interrupt my tutor in case of any doubts and communicate freely with him, not just that since my Tutor himself scored at 99th percentile in his GMAT test, he shared his different experience while he took the GMAT preparation journey and that gave me immense confidence. Moreover these sessions were archived so that I could refer to them or review to lectures later at any time as per my convenience. I think 34 hours package was much more than I needed for me to set myself up for the exam. If I can do it then anyone can but not sure how many without Optimus.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Great instructor Brajesh!
September 11 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: September 11, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 120 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Optimus Prep Private Tutoring | Location:  *Online, USA | Taught by:  Brajesh
I am a non-native speaker with limited quant background, which led me to have multiple reasons to worry about my performance on the test. But within only few weeks of studying, the highly motivating Brajesh of Optimus Prep transformed my weakness into strength - I walked into the exam room with bubbling confidence in my abilities to reach a high score on my first attempt, and this is exactly what happened. Not only an extremely professional and gifted teacher, Brajesh is also a wonderful guy with whom I enjoyed spending every minute of our tutoring sessions. No doubt he is certainly one of the very best GMAT tutors out there. I was not in a very good state of mind regarding GMAT when I decided to go for a private tutoring. Canned classes was not helpful as they were not able to cater to my unique needs. Going to B school is part of a larger strategy, and I was ready to leave no stone unturned for that. I checked out the online tutoring rates and feedback and felt that Optimus was providing better value in both the areas. I signed on, and met Brajesh, who was going to be my guide on the journey.

Brajesh is highly organized and focused. He asked me to take the diagnostic test. After analyzing the test results he developed a lesson plan that identified my weak areas, and then applied a building block approach that allowed me to fully understand the root causes of my errors. He then taught me how to use the online test generator to decide how best to create tests which would sharpen the weak areas while keeping my level on my strong ones. As per his advice, I selected similar questions in both Verbal and quant which reinforced the lessons that I learned. The WebEx has virtual whiteboard where he could see and hear my thought process, then apply corrections. It is an incredibly easy and effective software to use, for learning purposes. Each lesson was recorded so I could watch the lesson over again to further solidify my understanding of the topics covered. In less than a month I was able to raise my score by 50 points (incidentally, this is advertised on the website on the CAT tests that were a part of the course. I practiced hard and regularly on the practice sections, covering more than 5000 questions, which is massive, and also discussed my progress with Brajesh. The combination of the powerful video series, my tests and feedback from Brajesh regarding my concepts helped me get to my target scores very quickly.

Once the GMAT was not an intimidating experience anymore, my score improved significantly and I got a 720 on my very first attempt. This would not have been nearly close to possible without the work with Brajesh and the great resources that Optimus provides. I highly recommend it to anyone who is in a similar situation as me!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Optimus Prep
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community


Optimus Prep Course Rankings
Overall Score Improvement
109 points
International Student Score Improvement
110 points
Verbal
100%
Quant
100%
Best Optimus Prep GMAT Instructors
Brajesh [*Online, USA]
    
Justin Optimus Prep [*Online, USA]
    
Save $750
on Optimus Prep
+Up to $500 discount
+$250 bonus
Get Optimus Prep Promo Code