Optimus Prep Private Tutoring Reviews
    Number of reviews [21]      Average Rating:       (5.0/5)
 Optimus Prep Promo 
Code
Optimus Prep specializes in arranging and providing private GMAT tutoring to students of all levels around the world. From the very beginning of any course offered by Optimus Prep, the participating student receives individualized attention focusing on the unique strengths, weaknesses, and needs of that student. 

I dedicate my success to you! Optimus Prep is recommendable
June 27 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: June 27, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 140 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Optimus Prep Private Tutoring | Location:  *Online, USA | Taught by:  Diego
“I don’t have the time”, was the usual response whenever I thought of preparing for GMAT. Every time I would hear of a colleague or friend getting admitted to Stanford or Booth, I felt a sharp tinge of envy combined with guilt. If they could, why couldn’t I? One fine morning I woke up and said to myself, “enough”! I will take the GMAT before the end of this year, no matter what. It felt good, as if I was taking charge, instead of life pushing me around.

The content was neither easy nor difficult, but I realized that it would be the same for most people. I read more about the test on the internet forums. The test strategies, some good experiences and some of the bad ones, the smokes and mirrors that the test maker applies to throw the test taker off his game. I came back to the same question. With my busy schedule and family commitments, where would I find the time to go through the vast course? From my past experience I knew that it is possible to improve performance by self-studying. However, I would say it is a million times easier and efficient to do it with a (good) tutor. Tutors know exactly how the test works and have figured out all the minute details of the test that and will probably tell you so that you don't have to learn it the hard, slow way. They will also teach you how to actually study for the test. Also academic studies prove private tutoring is the most efficient way to prepare for the GMAT.

My two concerns were cost and quality. I narrowed my list down to 4 companies and started looking into feedback on their courses. I went to a couple of demo classes in my locality and soon realized that batch sessions were not my cup of tea, I would need a private tutor who will analyze my learning style and structure the course so that it would force me to stick to a schedule. I found that Optimus prep had the most reasonable rates (almost half of what the others are charging!) compared to Veritas, Manhattan or Kaplan. In terms of quality, I was satisfied with the feedback. The tutor profiles are superb, with every tutor having scored at 99th percentile coupled with vast training experience, and a score improvement guarantee or money back policy didn’t hurt either.

I went with the 34 hours course (they have one with 23 hours as well) and the results were amazing. I was lucky that my tutor loved what he taught and that was contagious. He also helped me learn the most efficient ways to solve problems. By the time I was finished with the numerous exercises and the 16 GMAT tests that came with the package, I was very confident. I felt so proud of my decision when my score of 720 flashed on the screen. I am glad I sought professional help.

Thank you Optimus prep and most of all, my tutor.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Best decision I made! Optimus Prep tutor was great.
May 20 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: May 20, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 110 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Optimus Prep Private Tutoring | Location:  *Online, USA |
The Optimus Tutor is the best tool/mode I have come across when preparing for the GMAT. If I had known, I would not have wasted my time buying other material and spent hours doing useless self-study sessions. My biggest problem was verbal, as is common with non- native speakers. I needed help, and did not get a lot of help from any material especially after my scores crossed 600. Forums were of little help.

I took the time to describe exactly my weaknesses with the verbal section to that a plan of attack could be crafted. My tutor provided me with numerous handouts based on techniques promoted by Optimus Prep and supplemented techniques developed from him personally. These techniques break the structure of the problem so that the logic behind it can be understood. Techniques are geared to get to the best answer choices immediately.

The second major issue was the adaptive nature of the test. Wrong answer chains killed some of my scores and the instability of my performance was frustrating. There are times when a more thorough review is appreciated, particularly when answering a question wrong. While an explanation is provided, it is not always thorough. A major chunk of my 34 hours was spent in calming my nerve and strategizing like a pugilist preparing for his next bout. It paid off very well in the end. I was most satisfied with my experience with Optimus Prep course and my virtual sessions with my tutor.

I spent much less than my buddies who were also preparing, but with other companies. The IPad compatibility is extremely helpful for people with busy schedules, like me. Webex is a pretty robust and versatile software, which I was initially reluctant to use, but later came to love.

Initially I spent on the tutoring course, but that resulted in saving a lot of time saved by not running along paths which lead to worthless results. I addition to that, I did not have to wait for the tutor to respond to other students' question or fast forward a video session to get to material I actually wanted to learn. Feedback is also given in real-time. As soon as I answered a question I saw if I was right. If I got it wrong there was an explanation and a chance to learn from my mistake. No more flipping back and forth to the back of a prep book.

In weighing the cost and benefits, the time divided among the other students in a batch for face to face tutoring/batch tutoring reduces the benefits of a live classroom, taking into account the immense cost of such courses. Also, one loses focus when a topic which is not of vital importance is discussed leaving little room for the important stuff.

At the end the 34 hours spent with my tutor helped me make the most out of the additional 100+ hours I devoted to the study. I did finally cross that 700 barrier (scored 710), though I feel I could have done better if I had started with the Optimus tutor.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Optimus Prep
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Online Private Tutoring! In my opinion the best GMAT prep method!
April 28 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: April 28, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 160 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Optimus Prep Private Tutoring | Location:  *Online, USA |
I work full time 6 days a week and getting home to study at my time and pace was what I needed. The Optimus Online Tutor course fell right into my palm and helped me get ready for my GMAT. At the end of the day I studied an average of 2 hours on working days and 4 hours on my day off, and got the results I wanted.

Ironically, when I went to college, my parents recommended that I should stay in the dorm, far from home. The reasoning was that the college environment would be inspiring and focused and would enable me to get help from my peers and faculty whenever I needed it. I endorsed this method too, until my commitments forced me to change my approach. A major reason I turned to online tutoring is because of the convenience. I could sit at home or go to a library to do my coursework. This eliminated the need for driving, which saved time (and gas).

My decision to with Optimus had to do with primarily 3 factors:

I. MUCH better rates compared to other courses out there

II. My personal preference for Webex, which I am very comfortable with. Given that I travel a lot and usually have the iPad close to hand I thought this decision would maximize my study time while limiting my excuses.

III. Numerous practice assignments to keep me on my toes and 16 practice tests, which was good enough, and coupled with OG, I didn’t feel the need to use any other material.

But the USP turned out to be the individual attention and the customized plan that Artem chalked out for me. I was naturally comfortable with some of the study topics and not so comfortable with some of the topics. Time was not something I had much of, and strategizing was not something I was comfortable with, given the multitude of variables in the fray and the paucity of time.

My exam methodology I took during my school days was clearly not the right one to take into this test, and the tutor was instrumental in changing it into a more effective GMAT-focused method. The content is interesting and there are constant exercises and sample questions including random revision questions from previously covered areas of the course.

The time control element helped me prepare my nerves for the test. In the diagnostic test, I barely touched 500. But by the time Artem was done with me, I was touching 700’s easily. At this point I scheduled the test. After that I just revised the exercises, followed Artem’s advice and landed 730, which seemed like a hard target just 4 months ago.

I would recommend online tutoring to anyone who is serious about maximizing their preparation time. Group courses are useful, but tutoring allows you to learn at your pace and to focus on those question types which give you the most difficulty. It is the most efficient way to fix YOUR weaknesses. The GMAT is not difficult if you prepare correctly.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Took a Private Tutor in Chicago!
April 17 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: April 17, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 130 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
My tutor was a really big help for my entire GMAT preparation. He was patient and really focused. I could feel his passion for teaching and he told me that he stopped working in the consulting business because he prefers to teach young and eager students! We met in my apartment in Chicago. He was always on time and we were exchanging e-mails and text messages almost every day because he helped me with the included video course. What a great course these video lessons are!!! They cover all the stuff really from the beginning like for idiots.. ;-) I watched not all of the lessons because Daniel took a look on my diagnostic test and told me which exact videos I could skip. That helped a lot and made my 2 months of preparation more efficient as I did not lose time for concepts I was familiar with. The lessons with Daniel were really comprehensive and he showed me a lot of tricks how to avoid being trapped.

I achieved instant improvement in my practice tests and started to score around 700 after I took 5 tests. Since I am not a non-native the verbal section is my weak part. Math was Ok and I could study it with the video lessons by myself. Daniel and I spent most of our time improving my verbal skills, comparing all other course options I might have taken, his private tutoring was at the end the very best part of studying. Thanks again.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Optimus Prep
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Private GMAT lessons Online - Michael is a great tutor
April 13 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: April 13, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Optimus Prep Private Tutoring | Location:  *Online, USA |
I bought 34 hours of online 1:1 tutoring and would like to review the course. First of all, this course is not cheap! However, if you compare the costs to other packages of Veritas, Manhattan or even Kaplan (known to be not that expensive) it is absolutely reasonable and about 50% off.

Still, I expected the very best for such a price. I called Optimus Prep several times before I enrolled because I had some questions in general about online tutoring. To be honest I was not convinced if that it’s the best way to prepare but the rates for online tutoring are lower than for face to face lessons. That is not the case at other test prep companies where they charge the same amount for both options.

Optimus Prep replied to all my questions and offered a free and non-committal trial hour. That was fair and I accepted the offer! I had my trial hour with my new verbal instructor Michael. Before the trial lesson I did their diagnostic test. Michael had analyzed my results prior to our first free meeting and told me in the trial lesson not only what exactly my weaknesses are but also how he will approach them. It seemed very professional and organized and he told that I will get another tutor who will focus on my quant. weaknesses. During the trial lesson he also explained me some sentence correction rules that were really helpful and easy to follow. I was convinced and bough the 34 hour package after the trial lesson.

Michael recommended splitting the 34 hours in 25 verbal and 9 quant. hours because my verbal diagnostic results were much weaker. I agreed and we started with the lessons. Part of the course is the video course which is really comprehensive and helpful. Michael told me in advance which video lessons I could skip and which I had to watch. The same was true for my quant. tutor Robert. In quant. I had to watch the probability section and the lessons that cover absolute values. I observed my progress by taking regularly more practice tests. My score improved instantly and that was great for my motivation. Both tutors did a great job and I can recommend Optimus Prep to everyone who really tries to get a high GMAT score!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
GMAT Private Course 23 hours! My experiences with Optimus Prep
April 10 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: April 10, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 120 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Optimus Prep Private Tutoring | Location:  New York (Manhattan), NY USA |
I highly recommend my tutor Michael because:

To give a quick overview I increased my GMAT score by a total of 120 points compared to my first GMAT where I studied alone – from 580 to 700 points. My background is in Investment banking and I always had good grades in math in school so I expected I would do well in Quant. That was not the case as I struggled to improve my GMAT quant skills.

I worked with Michael on Quant concepts for the first 5 sessions a 3 hours. Then, I did 2 more sessions of verbal a 4 hours.
Michael analyzed my Optimus Prep GMAT practice test and developed my personal study plan. During our 5 sessions, we covered many different math problems and concepts while focusing more on the problem areas of course. The on demand course lessons I watched at home from the included video course helped a great deal! One important thing he taught me was to approach the quant section with logic and problem solving instead of using purely mathematics. That might seem simple is utterly important though.

Michael explained me for each question type a unique way how exactly to answer the questions in a given structure. It is crucial to think from the perspective of the test makers! Time management was another aspect we focused on while studying. My timing improved a lot and finally the time pressure was no issue at all.

Michael has helped me a lot because by analyzing my diagnostic test results we was able to clearly identify my weakness areas and then he used the 23 hours to eliminate these weaknesses. It was also very important and helpful for me to follow his tips and tricks outside my GMAT prep. He told me to read science fiction books and some magazines to improve my ability to read complex texts. This helped a lot in the RC part of the GMAT.

Michael’s help was the single biggest factor leading to my huge score improvement. I can recommend his private tutoring services and the course video in combination with the practice tests gave me the chance to optimally prepare for the GMAT. There is a huge difference to learn with the help of Michael or to study alone, believe me…

It is a long and rocky way to improve your score but once you made it, it is a great feeling!!!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Optimus Prep
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
New York Private Lessons with Optimus Prep - Awesome!
March 26 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: March 26, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 100 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Optimus Prep Private Tutoring | Location:  New York (Manhattan), NY USA |
Hi guys,

I took a private tutoring from Optimus Prep in New York. I found them on GMAT Club and they seemed to have a great offer compared to other test prep companies who charge much more for private tutoring. I think that having an own instructor is in deed the best way to prepare for anything.

I did their diagnostic test at home and scored a 610. It was Ok because I am out of school for 5 years and work in banking. Like most others, I need a 700+ scored to get into one of the leading MBA programs. I watched the online video course and found it a bit old-fashioned though very good in terms of content and comprehension.

This took a while as I did my studies part time next to my job. I did well in the quant part and struggled in the verbal part (like in school). My tutor gave me some tips what to read and how to improve my weak areas from the diagnostic test.

The lessons with the tutor were great. He scored a 760 on the GMAT and showed me the score report when I asked him for proof. He was very friendly and a good explainer. He told me the ins and outs and what to be aware of while answering questions. I did a lot of stupid mistakes at the beginning. The majority was avoidable and the more practice tests I did the better I became.

After 3.5 months of prep time I went to the test center and scored a 710. I am very happy with this score and will apply to some great Business Schools. Hopefully I will be accepted. Thanks a lot to Optimus Prep
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Online Private Tutoring Package....Michael is great!
March 26 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By michael555666 joined: March 26, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 110 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Optimus Prep Private Tutoring | Location:  *Online, USA |
I bought an online package from Optimus Prep and want to give it a positive review for the following reasons.

First of all, the software with which the online tutoring is given (WebEx) is really cool and easy to use. I saw my tutor, could hear him perfectly and when he made notes on the shared powerpoint slides it was shown in real time. This software really gave me the feeling as if I get “face to face” lessons. If you consider the much cheaper price then online tutoring is definitely worth at least to be considered! In my situation it was perfect because I live in a small city where no test prep company has a teacher.

My tutor explained me a lot of great techniques that helped me to answer tough questions in a fast way. I was introduced to about 30 different math and verbal concepts that can be applied to answer questions. Some great time management techniques were also really good and improved my timing tremendously. I learned methods how to exclude certain answer choices or how to quickly read a long and complicated text. What also was part of my lessons was to understand how the GMAT test makes think and how to try to trap you. It is very important to learn to avoid these traps.

Optimus Prep is a good test prep company and offers good and reliable services for fair rates.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Optimus Prep
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Thank you Optimus Prep! Great private online course....
March 20 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: March 20, 2014 | 1 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Optimus Prep Private Tutoring | Location:  *Online, USA |
I wanted to get a great private tutor to learn for the GMAT and compared several companies like Veritas, Kaplan or ManhattanGMAT. All had one thing in common: They were extremely expensive ;-)

I understand that these tutors are experts and that the costs for the GMAT coaching are only a fraction of the total MBA costs but how can they seriously charge $200 per hour for online tutoring?! Then, I found optimus-prep. That is still expensive but by far not as expensive as the others…

I liked that replied so quickly and had a live chat as the only company. I did a free diagnostic test and got a study plan based on my results for free even before buying anything. I had a good feeling with them and took the 34 hours online package.

The lessons took place via WebEx. I knew this software from my job and like it a lot. It is like having a real face to face meeting. The screen sharing feature is great and when the tutor wrote something down I saw it in real time. I could ask questions anytime and it was overall like face to face tutoring but by far cheaper!

The on demand course was also good. Very long and comprehensive, covering all math stuff I hated so much in school ;-) Nevertheless, I watched the videos and they prepared me really well for the lessons with my tutor. I liked the learning atmosphere because my tutor was not a nerd but a friendly and cool guy.

The practice tests were also very good. I took seven of them and constantly improved (except one time when I did horrible).
Next week I will do my GMAT and hope to score well. No matter how I will do, I can recommend this course to anyone looking for great tutors.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Online Private Tutoring 23 hours with tutor Jesse! Really good!
March 19 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: March 19, 2014 | 1 | 2 | native speaker
Improvement: 130 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Optimus Prep Private Tutoring | Location:  *Online, USA |
This is a review about my private tutoring package at Optimus Prep. I hope it helps you make a decision about which company to take for your GMAT prep. I took the 23 hours online course and got the included online video recordings as well. My diagnostic test was not so good. I scored only 570 while my target was in the 700 area. My tutor Jesse made a study plan based on these results and identified the quant. test part to be my main weakness.

I started watching the video lessons (Jesse told me which exact videos I needed to watch and which I could skip) and they were simply great! Extremely informative and easy to understand. The tutors in the videos did a great job, honestly.

With Jesse I discussed open questions and he helped me to apply the knowledge to real questions. I had some timing issues and in this area Jesse was valuable as well. My entire preparation took about 3 months in total (with interruptions due to my job) and I scored in my last diagnostic tests between 650 and 690. I decided to take 10 more hours of private tutoring before taking the real GMAT and Jesse helped me to optimize my test taking skills.

Long story made short, I scored 700 on test day and was really grateful. Thanks a lot to Jesse (he was the 3rd person I informed after my father and my girlfriend) and gmatclub. This community was really valuable and I have found great free stuff here…
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Optimus Prep
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community


Optimus Prep Course Rankings
Overall Score Improvement
123 points
International Student Score Improvement
128 points
Verbal
100%
Quant
100%
Best Optimus Prep GMAT Instructors
Diego [*Online, USA]
    
Save $720
on Optimus Prep
+Up to $470 discount
+$250 bonus
Get Optimus Prep Promo Code