Optimus Prep Private Tutoring Reviews
    Number of reviews [29]      Average Rating:       (5.0/5)
 Optimus Prep Promo 
Code
Optimus Prep specializes in arranging and providing private GMAT tutoring to students of all levels around the world. From the very beginning of any course offered by Optimus Prep, the participating student receives individualized attention focusing on the unique strengths, weaknesses, and needs of that student. 

Review GMAT private tutoring package 34 hrs NY
September 18 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By melvinvin joined: September 18, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Optimus Prep Private Tutoring | Location:  New York (Manhattan), NY USA |
I chose Optimus Prep because a friend of mine was a former customer. He told me that they have good tutors and are not so expensive like others. I was also interested in Kaplan test prep but I read in the internet that their tutors are not the best. Since I tried to score above 700 to apply for some Ivy League schools I wanted to have the very best tutors. I contacted the customer support of Optimus Prep and found them to be friendly and helpful. They sent me a CAT code and I took a free diagnostic exam at home. The results were 590 which is slightly above average as I was told. I had learned some stuff by reading the books but was eager to improve my GMAT score with the help of a pro tutor.

My lessons took place in New York. I took the 34 hours package and later additional 10 hours. My tutor helped in every aspect of the GMAT, from concepts over time management strategies to Integrated Reasoning. I was very satisfied and took more and more of the included CAT codes. My GMAT Scores from the CAT codes came closer to the 700 bench mark. After my lessons were over I repeated the learned concepts and finally took my first real GMAT exam scoring a 710! I am more than happy that I achieved my goal after only two months of intensive learning!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
34 hours online private tutoring with Justin. Good investment.
September 15 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: September 15, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Optimus Prep Private Tutoring | Location:  *Online, USA | Taught by:  Justin Optimus Prep
I never thought I'd head to business school. And honestly, personal and online tutoring is the only way that I could have do it because I travel a lot due to work schedule. It was a load of money, I have quite a bit of my student loans so money doesn't come easy, but it was worth it.

After not having a stellar experience the other top GMAT course provider, I decided to get some private tutoring sessions. I took a few feedbacks from multiple sources and money wise and credit wise, Optimus seemed to be a good deal. The folks at Optimus have a structured approach to prepare the candidates for the tests, they start with diagnostic test. Once the diagnostic test scores are flashed on the system, the next thing they do is to share your study plan. It was very easy for me to figure out my strengths and areas of opportunity this time, unlike at the time of taking the GMAT test where everything as per me went well.

I hadn't taken math in a few years so we really had to start with the most basic concepts, and Justin was extremely patient and clear when explaining things to me. He was able to improve my score and most importantly my confidence in my ability to do math tremendously. The test taking strategies that Justin taught me have helped me in school as well. A great advantage of private online tutoring is that both the curriculum and schedule will be customized to fit the students’ needs. The adaptive tests, the CATs and the monster question bank kept me on my toes. Justin taught me how to make the best out of the question generator. It is a pretty nifty tool and cemented my concepts on what I followed from the videos. Once you take this course I believe you don’t need anything else. Lot of people buy everything and suffer from what I call hoarder problem, too much material and difficult to make a plan. I worked really hard and sometimes would bug Justin with queries at odd times in the night. But I would always get a prompt and helpful response. The money that I spent for the 34 hours online private tutoring is probably the best investment I have made till now. GMAT tutoring at Optimus is simply the best. Justin was extremely patient with me and tackled a head strong person like me very efficiently. I clarified my questions/ doubts multiple times with him and every time he answered my questions to my satisfaction without any reservations or hang-ups. He was helpful on content and on the motivation part - you know, the stuff that makes or breaks a test. Our schedule was kind of tight and he was willing to work with me as needed.

I would recommend Justin and Optimus Prep for the GMAT to anyone looking to improve their math and test taking skills in a short amount of time.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Optimus Prep
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Achieved a higher GMAT score through the help of Optimus!
September 13 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By claudibussi joined: September 13, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 70 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Optimus Prep Private Tutoring | Location:  *Online, USA |
I scored 720 in my GMAT and have to say that GMAT is an exam of strategy over intelligence. Don’t believe it, try taking a diagnostic test without strategizing about how to achieve your dream score and you will see for yourself. I took my first GMAT exam after preparing for only 15 days on my own and landed at a score of 650 and at a loss of my hard earned $225, the GMAT test fee. It was kind of funny that while taking the test everything looked right to me and I wasn’t able to figure out what went wrong in the test. I got very depressed with my performance and kind of gave up on my dream to study in one of the top Business schools, it looked impossible to me.

After a few days, I spoke to my long distance friend who was also appearing for GMAT and that opened my eyes. I got to know that he had already celebrated his victory over GMAT with a score of 740. I was rather unhappy and surprised to hear that as I was far more intelligent than him considering our performances at school where I always got better grades than him. During the course of our conversation, I discovered that he had prepared with the help of online tutoring from Optimus and that too with a full time job. I was surprised even more and rather happier as by now I had understood the tricks of the trade. The next day I enrolled at Optimus, they offered a wide range of tutoring models, I guess to suit different requirements of people all across the globe. Since I had already tasted the pudding, I chose for their 23 hour package which was only for $1860 and included the diagnostic tests as well.

On the very first day of our class, my tutor, Justin charmed me with his introduction and helped me regain my lost confidence. Justin was himself a management graduate from a premier business school and not only that he had scored at the 99th percentile. I couldn’t have asked for more, this was my opportunity to prepare for GMAT and target for score of anything above 710 in my next and final attempt at GMAT. I enjoyed the tutoring sessions, they were so interactive just like an in person learning environment. Justin and I maintained a two way communication and a great rapport. He shared his approaches and strategies while he prepared me for GMAT and that was like an icing on the cake. Justin covered all topics under the verbal and quant section and made me practice. These sessions were archived and this was highly beneficial as I saved these recordings in my phone and kept getting back re listening in free time at work or while traveling. This a game of strategy and Optimus is the best GMAT score strategist, get them.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Great experience with Optimus Prep online prep (Tutor Justin)
September 12 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: September 12, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Optimus Prep Private Tutoring | Location:  *Online, USA | Taught by:  Justin Optimus Prep
I am a house wife with two toddlers to take care of. I worked in a full time job in a middle management role before my husband and I decided to have a family. It became impossible for me to continue with my demanding job after the birth of my twins and hence I decided to take a sabbatical for 3 years. After a break, I decided to get back to work and it wasn’t easy as the job market had changed and become even more competitive and dynamic than before. Forget the next level, even to get a break at the same level from which I had quit looked impossible. After much research and brain storming with my husband i decided to do a Management course from one of the Ivy League business schools in order to give my career a new flight. I then started to prepare for GMAT and hence wanted a lot of coaching in both, quant and verbal sections as none of these were strong enough to get a score of more than 700, a prerequisite to enter any premier management school.

I had heard great reviews about Optimus online prep school and decided to take the 34 hrs tutoring package from them, it was priced at reasonably and included GMAT on demand course. It made me extremely happy and content to know that I was getting a great deal at a highly lucrative price than any other prep institute could possibly offer. At Optimus, the best part was that all I needed was to get started and the rest was taken care of by my tutor Justin. I simply loved their approach which helped me gain confidence and beat GMAT with an exceptionally high score of 700, the score looked like a dream come true for someone like me who was out of both, books and jobs for a long time.

I could prepare for GMAT online from home while taking care of my babies. Ha! What could be better than that? I got personal attention from my tutor who fist understood my weaker and stronger areas through my performance in diagnostic tests and then shared with me my study plan that I just needed to follow to ensure success. The online tutoring, was extremely smooth and interactive, I could not believe that I could even write my questions, interrupt my tutor in case of any doubts and communicate freely with him, not just that since my Tutor himself scored at 99th percentile in his GMAT test, he shared his different experience while he took the GMAT preparation journey and that gave me immense confidence. Moreover these sessions were archived so that I could refer to them or review to lectures later at any time as per my convenience. I think 34 hours package was much more than I needed for me to set myself up for the exam. If I can do it then anyone can but not sure how many without Optimus.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Optimus Prep
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Great instructor Brajesh!
September 11 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: September 11, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 120 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Optimus Prep Private Tutoring | Location:  *Online, USA | Taught by:  Brajesh
I am a non-native speaker with limited quant background, which led me to have multiple reasons to worry about my performance on the test. But within only few weeks of studying, the highly motivating Brajesh of Optimus Prep transformed my weakness into strength - I walked into the exam room with bubbling confidence in my abilities to reach a high score on my first attempt, and this is exactly what happened. Not only an extremely professional and gifted teacher, Brajesh is also a wonderful guy with whom I enjoyed spending every minute of our tutoring sessions. No doubt he is certainly one of the very best GMAT tutors out there. I was not in a very good state of mind regarding GMAT when I decided to go for a private tutoring. Canned classes was not helpful as they were not able to cater to my unique needs. Going to B school is part of a larger strategy, and I was ready to leave no stone unturned for that. I checked out the online tutoring rates and feedback and felt that Optimus was providing better value in both the areas. I signed on, and met Brajesh, who was going to be my guide on the journey.

Brajesh is highly organized and focused. He asked me to take the diagnostic test. After analyzing the test results he developed a lesson plan that identified my weak areas, and then applied a building block approach that allowed me to fully understand the root causes of my errors. He then taught me how to use the online test generator to decide how best to create tests which would sharpen the weak areas while keeping my level on my strong ones. As per his advice, I selected similar questions in both Verbal and quant which reinforced the lessons that I learned. The WebEx has virtual whiteboard where he could see and hear my thought process, then apply corrections. It is an incredibly easy and effective software to use, for learning purposes. Each lesson was recorded so I could watch the lesson over again to further solidify my understanding of the topics covered. In less than a month I was able to raise my score by 50 points (incidentally, this is advertised on the website on the CAT tests that were a part of the course. I practiced hard and regularly on the practice sections, covering more than 5000 questions, which is massive, and also discussed my progress with Brajesh. The combination of the powerful video series, my tests and feedback from Brajesh regarding my concepts helped me get to my target scores very quickly.

Once the GMAT was not an intimidating experience anymore, my score improved significantly and I got a 720 on my very first attempt. This would not have been nearly close to possible without the work with Brajesh and the great resources that Optimus provides. I highly recommend it to anyone who is in a similar situation as me!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Optimus Prep - Liked the online lessons with Brajesh very much
September 09 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By marcyber9 joined: September 9, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 110 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Optimus Prep Private Tutoring | Location:  *Online, USA | Taught by:  Brajesh
After comparing many private tutoring options from various companies I decided to get the lessons from Optimus Prep. The main reasons were their professional and fast support and their affordable rate in combination with their great reviews. My tutor Brajesh was a true expert and scored very well on the GMAT. He had years of experience and my first lesson was very helpful. Before the lessons started I had to take a GMAT diagnostic test and Brajesh created an individual study plan to address my weaknesses. I also got access to Optimus Prep’s on demand course which was really helpful to practice the learned concepts. I had Magoosh before I came to Optimus Prep and really have to say that Optimus Prep beats them by far. The course was great because Brajesh had access to the course and was able to see how I perform. He adjusted the study plan constantly based on my performance in the on demand course. The lessons took about one full month and I concentrated on my studies. At the end I scored a 710!!! I am considering to also get their admissions consulting services and can recommend them to all other gmatclub members who are seeking for professional fair priced GMAT prep options!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Optimus Prep
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Optimus Prep Online Lessons - Perfect
September 01 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By KathiB45 joined: September 1, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 110 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Optimus Prep Private Tutoring | Location:  *Online, USA | Taught by:  Justin Doff
I have been an avid reader on this forum for a long time and thought would help fellow GMAT takers. I prepared for my GMAT while working full time and thus needed a tutor who could REALLY give personal attention to my queries and performance. I tried a couple of so called legends for their GMAT classes and really did not feel comfortable in a big class of 25 students. I did not get the attention I needed

My timing was an issue. I took a lot of time on harder SC and CR's (fully underlined confusing sentences and inferences/boldface for that matter). When I tried to speed up in any type of 700 level questions or seemingly difficult questions, I made mistakes. My weakest area was SC but I had no clue how to improve it, even after doing a ton of practice questions.

Everyone endorses their own materials, but the most important thing was that I worked with a set of strategy guides that would enable me to fill in the holes in my performance, and perhaps improve my overall confidence and time management. I was strongly advised against making full tests the focus of my study, in the beginning, by Justin. He made sure that I had a firm grasp of all the basic content, and that I had a useful strategy (or better yet, several useful strategies) for every problem type. You won't get this from simply taking CAT exams or working through the OG.
Justin recommended that I spend a few weeks studying and doing practice problems before you attempt any more CATs. Then take them about once a week (or less often, if I decided to retake later than June. Making sure that I don't take a new CAT until I had thoroughly studied the last one. What was doing well? What wasn't working? What was going to do differently next time?
These were the key questions Justin helped me answer every time, through the 34 hours private tutoring I was offered.

You can spend hours and hours learning all of the rules, but you will never score well on the GMAT by doing so. The thing is, once you move past 600-level SC problems, grammar rules no longer help you. You must be able to intuitively pick the answer. At the 700 level, questions usually focus on meaning. Give yourself some time to work through it, but keep your work balanced. You don't want to get one skill far ahead of the others. For instance, if you get really good at SC, the test will give you really hard CR & RC, and that won't go well if you haven't also practiced those topics extensively.

A tutor provides expertise, experience, and encouragement. They do not provide "answers," but rather assist in problem solving, in getting answers. The challenge is to focus on assignments within the context they are assigned.

Justin was just the kind of person that I required.
I completed the test, scored a decent 700, and am preparing for essays. Thank you, Justin & thank you Optimus!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Great GMAT Online Private Tutoring Lessons
August 30 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: August 30, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 100 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Optimus Prep Private Tutoring | Location:  *Online, USA | Taught by:  Brajesh
I am a non-native and needed some specialized help on GMAT Prep. I have looked around and found that the big companies offer very expensive online private tutoring. I check out Optimus Prep and they had an affordable program. I wanted to see if anyone could recommend me a great online private tutor and also see if Optimus Prep is right for me. I got several positive feedbacks at GMAT Club regarding Optimus Prep private tutoring. I have been studying for the GMAT for more than two years on and off. Most recently I was scoring high 500 and a max of 680 in the OG practice tests in August. I had not studied for more than 2 months and wanted to crack the GMAT in the next 3 months. I have tried Manhattan, Newton and e-gmat and I wasn’t been able to advance much and always find myself in the 600´s plus or minus 50. My target score is 720+. I tend to score above the 40´s in Quant but usually in the 25-30 range in verbal.

Here is what I got in the private tutoring package:

- 23 hours of online private tutoring
- A private tutor who scored 750+ in the real GMAT
- Individual study plan
- Great test taking strategies
- GMAT simulations
- 24/7 support
- Flexible schedule (weekends and evenings are possible)
- On Demand Video course with 5500+ questions & adaptive test generators
- Many practice questions

My tutor Brajesh did a great job in identifying my personal weaknesses from the diagnostic test and created an individual study plan to eliminate them. Online private tutoring at Optimus takes place via an e-learning software called WebEx.The tutor shared his screen the connection was in real time. If he wrote down something it appeared at the same time on my computer. I could ask questions anytime and the lessons were as effective as face to face lessons.

The Video on demand course (worth $1000) came free with the 23 hours coaching option, and it was immensely helpful. It was perfectly suited because it covered all concepts from A-Z and seemed especially produced for non-natives or people who are out of school for years. I simultaneously learnt how to use these concepts to answer all question types of the GMAT. Brajesh was of tremendous help here. It doesn’t make sense to practice a lot of GMAT questions without having the general knowledge from the previous step. I was ultimately able to learn how to exploit my full potential by implementing test strategies like time or stress management.

To give myself the best possible shot of your goal I took many timed sections and for three weeks did a ton of analysis which was aided by the impressive analytics provided by the web page of the on demand video forum. I kept an error log (again provided in the site) so that I could hammer away at my weaknesses and shed light on all of those dark corners. That last week before the exam I slowed down and just did a maintenance amount of work to stay ready for the exam. I scored 730, which was something I had hoped for, all thanks to Optimus!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Optimus Prep
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
I dedicate my success to you! Optimus Prep is recommendable
June 27 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: June 27, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 140 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Optimus Prep Private Tutoring | Location:  *Online, USA | Taught by:  Diego
“I don’t have the time”, was the usual response whenever I thought of preparing for GMAT. Every time I would hear of a colleague or friend getting admitted to Stanford or Booth, I felt a sharp tinge of envy combined with guilt. If they could, why couldn’t I? One fine morning I woke up and said to myself, “enough”! I will take the GMAT before the end of this year, no matter what. It felt good, as if I was taking charge, instead of life pushing me around.

The content was neither easy nor difficult, but I realized that it would be the same for most people. I read more about the test on the internet forums. The test strategies, some good experiences and some of the bad ones, the smokes and mirrors that the test maker applies to throw the test taker off his game. I came back to the same question. With my busy schedule and family commitments, where would I find the time to go through the vast course? From my past experience I knew that it is possible to improve performance by self-studying. However, I would say it is a million times easier and efficient to do it with a (good) tutor. Tutors know exactly how the test works and have figured out all the minute details of the test that and will probably tell you so that you don't have to learn it the hard, slow way. They will also teach you how to actually study for the test. Also academic studies prove private tutoring is the most efficient way to prepare for the GMAT.

My two concerns were cost and quality. I narrowed my list down to 4 companies and started looking into feedback on their courses. I went to a couple of demo classes in my locality and soon realized that batch sessions were not my cup of tea, I would need a private tutor who will analyze my learning style and structure the course so that it would force me to stick to a schedule. I found that Optimus prep had the most reasonable rates (almost half of what the others are charging!) compared to Veritas, Manhattan or Kaplan. In terms of quality, I was satisfied with the feedback. The tutor profiles are superb, with every tutor having scored at 99th percentile coupled with vast training experience, and a score improvement guarantee or money back policy didn’t hurt either.

I went with the 34 hours course (they have one with 23 hours as well) and the results were amazing. I was lucky that my tutor loved what he taught and that was contagious. He also helped me learn the most efficient ways to solve problems. By the time I was finished with the numerous exercises and the 16 GMAT tests that came with the package, I was very confident. I felt so proud of my decision when my score of 720 flashed on the screen. I am glad I sought professional help.

Thank you Optimus prep and most of all, my tutor.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Best decision I made! Optimus Prep tutor was great.
May 20 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: May 20, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 110 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Optimus Prep Private Tutoring | Location:  *Online, USA |
The Optimus Tutor is the best tool/mode I have come across when preparing for the GMAT. If I had known, I would not have wasted my time buying other material and spent hours doing useless self-study sessions. My biggest problem was verbal, as is common with non- native speakers. I needed help, and did not get a lot of help from any material especially after my scores crossed 600. Forums were of little help.

I took the time to describe exactly my weaknesses with the verbal section to that a plan of attack could be crafted. My tutor provided me with numerous handouts based on techniques promoted by Optimus Prep and supplemented techniques developed from him personally. These techniques break the structure of the problem so that the logic behind it can be understood. Techniques are geared to get to the best answer choices immediately.

The second major issue was the adaptive nature of the test. Wrong answer chains killed some of my scores and the instability of my performance was frustrating. There are times when a more thorough review is appreciated, particularly when answering a question wrong. While an explanation is provided, it is not always thorough. A major chunk of my 34 hours was spent in calming my nerve and strategizing like a pugilist preparing for his next bout. It paid off very well in the end. I was most satisfied with my experience with Optimus Prep course and my virtual sessions with my tutor.

I spent much less than my buddies who were also preparing, but with other companies. The IPad compatibility is extremely helpful for people with busy schedules, like me. Webex is a pretty robust and versatile software, which I was initially reluctant to use, but later came to love.

Initially I spent on the tutoring course, but that resulted in saving a lot of time saved by not running along paths which lead to worthless results. I addition to that, I did not have to wait for the tutor to respond to other students' question or fast forward a video session to get to material I actually wanted to learn. Feedback is also given in real-time. As soon as I answered a question I saw if I was right. If I got it wrong there was an explanation and a chance to learn from my mistake. No more flipping back and forth to the back of a prep book.

In weighing the cost and benefits, the time divided among the other students in a batch for face to face tutoring/batch tutoring reduces the benefits of a live classroom, taking into account the immense cost of such courses. Also, one loses focus when a topic which is not of vital importance is discussed leaving little room for the important stuff.

At the end the 34 hours spent with my tutor helped me make the most out of the additional 100+ hours I devoted to the study. I did finally cross that 700 barrier (scored 710), though I feel I could have done better if I had started with the Optimus tutor.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Optimus Prep
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community


Optimus Prep Course Rankings
Overall Score Improvement
117 points
International Student Score Improvement
116 points
Verbal
100%
Quant
100%
Best Optimus Prep GMAT Instructors
Diego [*Online, USA]
    
Brajesh [*Online, USA]
    
Justin Doff [*Online, USA]
    
Save $750
on Optimus Prep
+Up to $500 discount
+$250 bonus
Get Optimus Prep Promo Code