Optimus Prep Private Tutoring Reviews
    Number of reviews [29]      Average Rating:       (4.9/5)
 Optimus Prep Promo 
Code
Optimus Prep specializes in arranging and providing private GMAT tutoring to students of all levels around the world. From the very beginning of any course offered by Optimus Prep, the participating student receives individualized attention focusing on the unique strengths, weaknesses, and needs of that student. 

Solid GMAT prep for a fair price
August 20 | 2015

       By donPerignion joined: August 19, 2015 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 120 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Optimus Prep Private Tutoring | Location:  Online |
I opted for the online private tutoring package from Optimus Prep. I loved the personalized approach and all the interactive material that comes along with the package! For me, this is what really set it apart from other packages from similar companies. If only I had found Optimus Prep first, I could have saved so much time, energy, and mostly money! They offer practice tests and questions that can be sorted by type of question within the verbal or the quantitative sections, and the difficulty level at the same time. For example, I was having a really hard time with parallel structure, especially at the 700+ level. There is so much going on in the sentences at that point that I was getting lost in all of the false clues. My tutor helped me recognize this problem, and we sorted out questions and practiced together until I could recognize it in my sleep. This alone improved my verbal score by a huge percentage!

I finally scored a 720 after starting from 600. Thank you for your help
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Very Good Private Tutoring Offer
July 07 | 2015

       By Anonymous joined: July 7, 2015 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 150 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Optimus Prep Private Tutoring | Location:  Online |
I decided the private online tutoring was the best for me because I was having so much trouble with the bland textbook approach.

I’ve always been the type of learner that does best when someone is interacting with me, and I got exactly what I needed from Optimus Prep. The tutor was patient and knowledgeable, and definitely knew the GMAT inside and out.

We used the diagnostic tests that were adaptive, just like the real GMAT, to find my problem areas and gauge my improvement. I took the lesser package with 8 tests, and there were enough, but I would’ve still liked to have done a few more, but just for confidence-building really. There were also video lessons included on specific topics, all sorted out by verbal/quant, general topics and specific questions types. I watched them in my downtime between lessons with the tutor and they were a serious help in addition to the private lessons. I don’t have anything negative to say about the experience at all; I loved the adaptive approach that was always forming to fit my specific needs, and I wouldn’t change anything about my choice of purchase in the end.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Optimus Prep
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Could be a decent option
June 29 | 2015

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
reviewer identity verified by school email address
       By kchung3 joined: October 16, 2012 | 15 | 9 | non-native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Optimus Prep Private Tutoring | Location:  Shanghai, China | Taught by:  Brajesh
I signed up for lessons private tutoring with Optimus, after falling short of the 700 mark in my 2nd attempt. I picked Optimus solely because of the top reviews on GMATClub.

Through a couple sessions, my instructor was unable to work through and struggled with the same problems that I had trouble with. At the end, I had to ask for an instructor switch as I did not feel the instructor can help me get through the 700 mark. The new instructor was much better in terms of teaching and sharing tips on breaking through the 700+ mark.

While my experience with Optimus wasn’t too satisfactory, I believe it is a separate incident, and it still could be a decent option.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Awesome teacher!
May 07 | 2015

       By Anonymous joined: May 7, 2015 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 60 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Optimus Prep Private Tutoring | Location:  Online | Taught by:  Brajesh
Brajesh is an excellent teacher and was able to help me with my weakest sections, Quant and Sentence Correction. This was the first time I've taken the GMAT and I was able to score a 710 which is well within my target range. Based on the practice test I took, I would estimate that my score improvement was around the 60+ range. He was very patient with me and has an extremely good command of all subjects tested on the GMAT.

Would definitely recommend again for those first time writers looking to achieve their goals or for someone would like to improve their scores by a meaningful margin.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Optimus Prep
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Very Satisfied...
April 28 | 2015

       By Anonymous joined: April 28, 2015 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 90 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Optimus Prep Private Tutoring | Location:  Online |
First, I was not happy of paying about $2,000 for my GMAT prep. This is a lot of money and before researching the test prep rates I was not aware that this is such an expensive service…

Optimus Prep convinced me not only due to their lower rates but also due to the fact that they were the only company that offered a free trial hour. In the trial hour I discussed a GMAT concept of my choice with the tutor and was convinced that they can be of value for me.
The lessons took place online twice a week and I loved my tutor. She was very good at explaining complicated concepts in an easy way. The on demand course assisted me during my studies perfectly as I was able to practice exactly my weaknesses with the customized GMAT quizzes. I took 5 full GMAT practice tests and my tutor adjusted the study plan after each of them. It was really organized and I was lead through the lessons by my tutor.
Overall, the course was great and I scored 20 points above my target score of 650 (compared to my diagnostic test results of 560!)
I can recommend Optimus Prep to all gmatclub users and urge them to simply take the free and non-committal online trial hour to avoid any bad surprises. This is a fair offer!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
GREAT COURSE
February 26 | 2015

0 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
       By chillyboy joined: February 26, 2015 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 100 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Optimus Prep Private Tutoring | Location:  Online | Taught by:  Brajesh
I was looking for a private tutoring option in order to prepare for the GMAT and had come across various online tutoring options which seemed too expensive without any convincing performance record of their students. I was looking for an economic package and some best in class tutors to coach me and prepare for the test and that is when I came across Optimus Prep whose past record showed than most of their course participants had improved their scores by 110 points. They offered a lot of private tutoring packages at economic prices to choose from and I enrolled in their 12 hour private tutoring package.

I loved the structured way in which my tutors planned my GMAT prep, the first thing they made me do was to take a diagnostic test after which they designed a study plan for me based on my test performance. Optimus tutors themselves come across as GMAT experts, they share a lot of best practices and different test strategies. My tutors had scored in the 99th percentile on the GMAT and so were the scores of all other tutors at Optimus.

Learning from them already feels like studying in one of the premier business schools. Discussing doubts with tutors, following the study plan custom designed for me, taking diagnostic tests gave me a great training ground to prepare for the test and I finally scored 700 in the final test. I recommend Optimus Prep for all those aspirants, especially who are confused about what needs to be fixed in order to beat the GMAT.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Optimus Prep
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
12 hours professional guidance
February 19 | 2015

       By hanky joined: February 19, 2015 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 80 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Optimus Prep Private Tutoring | Location:  Online | Taught by:  Brajesh
The best thing about Optimus Prep is that they take the ownership of improving your scores at the test and that is clear with the way their most sorted out faculties who themselves have scored at the 99th percentile in the final test give individualized attention to the students. Their simulation tests are awesome and instil a lot of confidence in the test takers who see their scores improve after each session.

My tutor laid out a customized study plan for me based on my performance on their computer adaptive diagnostic test and the prime focus of my prep strategies was first to focus on my weaker arrears gradually moving towards the other test sections. I finally scored 670 on GMAT and can confidently say that it is imperative for one to seek an expert guidance while preparing for this world’s most prestigious test and Optimus Prep is definitely one such guide.
Was this review helpful to you?
   
1 Commented by Nassrinb on April 15, 2015
would you say their CAT tests are pretty accurate? Also, how many of their CATs did you take before attempting the GMAT?
 
Great service! Fully satisfied
February 16 | 2015

       By sebastian143 joined: February 16, 2015 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 110 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Optimus Prep Private Tutoring | Location:  Online | Taught by:  Brajesh
I was in a full time job that demanded from me a lot of extra hours almost every day, which forced me to schedule my GMAT with only a three month window to prepare for the test. Even after a month and a half of rigorous prep efforts there wasn't any noticeable improvement in my performance on the simulation tests.

My scores were stagnant for quite a few weeks and I had almost given up since I had no idea about where I was going wrong. That is when I enrolled in private tutoring with Optimus where my tutors made me feel extremely confident about being able to conquer my weaknesses and cracking the GMAT with a great score. Optimus Prep faculty laid out a study plan for me based on my test scores on their diagnostic test and concentrated most on my opportunity areas in quant as well as with the verbal section. They gave me different set of problems and discussed the approach in detail with me in each session.

Prepping for GMAT soon became a fun experience as I could see that my simulation test scores had started improving gradually. My session schedules were flexible on both, weekdays and weekends and hence I could easily manage time well as per my ad-hoc requirements at work. I had enrolled in a 23 hours private online tutoring package and that gave enough practice and prepping time under the guidance of my tutors who themselves had scored in the 99th percentile on the GMAT. I scored 700 on my GMAT and recommend you all to approach Optimus prep to structure and strategize your GMAT prep efforts.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Optimus Prep
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
THANK YOU FOR THE HELP
February 10 | 2015

       By Anonymous joined: February 10, 2015 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 160 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Optimus Prep Private Tutoring | Location:  Online | Taught by:  Brajesh
I am a commerce graduate and had got into a job soon after completing my college. Few years down the line, although I was doing fairly well in my career, it seemed almost impossible to beat the cut throat competition without a degree from an Ivy League school.

It was at that time that I decided to do a management course from one of the top business schools in order to get a big break in my career and for that I needed to score more than 700 on the GMAT. I took a few simulation tests and landed at a score of 560 which demotivated me as there was nothing more that I could have done to prepare for the test on my own.

I used to self-study for around four hours each day in spite of long working hours and yet there was no improvement in the simulation test scores. I researched on GC and other sites and found great reviews on Optimus Prep which encouraged me to enrol in their 34 hour package. I was extremely delighted to know that my tutors themselves had scored in the 99th percentile on the GMAT.

I was given a simulation test on the first day of my class and my tutor framed a customized study plan for me based on my performance in the simulation test. It helped me effectively manage my studies with a full time job as the classes were online, session schedules were flexible with even a weekend arrangement.

With every session I saw my scores elevate and I scored a 720 on my final test. Big thank you to Optimus Prep team.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
THANK YOU OPTIMUS PREP
January 26 | 2015

       By Anonymous joined: January 26, 2015 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 120 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Optimus Prep Private Tutoring | Location:  Online | Taught by:  Brajesh
I was very satisfied with Optimus Prep and my tutor Brajesh. The online lessons via Web Ex were really convenient and helpful. Brajesh explained all math formulas and rules in great detail in a non-complicated way. The rate was also more than fair compared to other companies.

The on demand course was particularly helpful and I was able to use it between the lessons as suggested. All questions I had were answered in my next lesson with Brajesh. This approach is very effective and combined with 9 practice tests I had enough time to prepare for the GMAT. I scored my target score at my first attempt. Thank you Optimus
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Optimus Prep
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community


Optimus Prep Course Rankings
Overall Score Improvement
105 points
International Student Score Improvement
105 points
Verbal
100%
Quant
100%
Best Optimus Prep GMAT Instructors
Brajesh [USA]
    
Justin Doff [USA]
    
Justin Optimus Prep [USA]
    
Save $750
on Optimus Prep
+Up to $500 discount
+$250 bonus
Get Optimus Prep Promo Code