Optimus Prep Private Tutoring Reviews
    Number of reviews [14]      Average Rating:       (5.0/5)
 Optimus Prep Promo 
Code
Optimus Prep specializes in arranging and providing private GMAT tutoring to students of all levels around the world. From the very beginning of any course offered by Optimus Prep, the participating student receives individualized attention focusing on the unique strengths, weaknesses, and needs of that student. 

Private Tutoring Review
December 04 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: December 4, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 70 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Optimus Prep Private Tutoring | Location:  New York (Lower Manhattan), NY USA | Taught by:  Brajesh
I heard great feedback about Optimus test prep from one of my friends in the U.S while I was preparing for the GMAT test and was looking for a private tutoring option. There is a wide range of options offered by Optimus depending upon one’s needs. They offer private tutoring packages starting from an hour to 34 hours and are fairly priced between $120 and $3060. I enrolled in the 12 hours package and benefited a great deal by increasing my scores by 70 points.
They have an amazing faculty who make the GMAT prep a memorable and interesting experience. The faculties take the ownership of improving your scores and that’s why they even offer a 100% score improvement guarantee, which means that Optimus will refund all your money if there isn’t any improvement.

I had started scoring above 660 before joining Optimus and firmly believed that there is no way that I would not see a constant improvement if I practice diligently on my own for the test but soon I discovered that I was wrong. My scores had table landed and would not move. My score graph had become stagnant and I didn’t know what to do next. Then after much research I took the private tutoring package from Optimus. My learning process started as soon as I started to attend their online classes. It is highly commendable to see the way their trainers extend individualised attention to its students, they identify the strengths and opportunity areas of students and provide effective coaching and counselling on how to improve on them. Their folks demonstrate immense knowledge and command over the subject matter which shows in the way which they custom design the course for each of their students depending upon their ability.

I scored 730 in GMAT and am highly appreciative of Optimus. They are the veterans in GMAT prep.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Private tutoring with online self study course
November 26 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By sheetal1984 joined: November 26, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 110 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Optimus Prep Private Tutoring | Location:  *Online, USA | Taught by:  Justin Optimus Prep
Hey folks,

Being a MBA aspirant from Dubai who wants to study in the US (hopefully in one of the top 30 business schools) I had to choose between a few test prep companies claiming to be the best.

I took a free trial for the self study online course at Veritas and Optimus Prep. Both companies had good courses but I liked the on demand course of Optimus Prep more because it seemed to offer more for less money. The online private tutoring rates of Veritas Prep were the same as for face to face tutoring and therefore 3 times higher than the rate of Optimus Prep (optimus charged less for online tutoring than for “live” lessons) and there was no free trial hour at Veritas. I had my free trial hour at Optimus Prep and decided to enroll for the 34 hour package. My main weaknesses were in my verbal skills.
My tutor Justin gave me many tips how to overcome my weaknesses and told me which areas in the on demand course to study more intensively in my study plan. Moreover, he gave me many valuable time management approaches and finally I was really fast and know how to exclude obviously wrong answer choices. I simply avoided effectively stupid mistakes in my verbal part. My quant was way better and I scored always above 40 in all my practice tests.

The online lessons were given in webex which is great software in my opinion. The lessons were interactive and I was able to clearly hear and see Justin while he was explaining formulas and grammar rules.

Finally I took the GMAT and scored 680 (90 percentile, so I am in the top 10% of test takers worldwide) which is above my target score of 670. Thank you for your help, Justin!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Optimus Prep
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
34 hour private tutoring and a 720 score!
November 25 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: November 25, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 120 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Optimus Prep Private Tutoring | Location:  *Online, USA | Taught by:  Brajesh
I had nothing but good experiences from the beginning with this company. They were very fast in terms of replying to my emails. The service was excellent and helped me finding the best option for my needs which was to crack the 700 bench mark. My tutor Brajesh was simply brilliant and prepared an individual study plan for me based on my diagnostic test. The trial hour went well and I knew that Optimus is a great company although I didn’t hear about them before.


I studied verbal content in about 70% of my lessons with him and just 30% I spent for my quant. prep. The practice tests and online course was a perfect way to fine tune my knowledge. My last 3 practice tests were all above 700 points and I decided to go to the test center. Finally, my score of 720 made me really happy! Now I hope to get accepted to one of the best schools out there!!!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Private tutoring is the way to go…
November 09 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: November 9, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 90 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Optimus Prep Private Tutoring | Location:  *Online, USA | Taught by:  Brajesh
I took the 34 hour online private tutoring package and was very satisfied with the services of Optimus Prep. The tutor Brajesh is a very bright and experienced person who knows all the ins and outs of the GMAT.

He was able to explain all different GMAT related concepts in an easy way and was patient when I first had problems to follow him. The included on demand course was also a great tool to learn and to practice for the GMAT.

The software WebEx was used for our lessons and although I was not sure if online tutoring is really the right option for me, I changed my mind after the first free trial hour…It was perfect because I was able to meet him from home without traveling and even saved a ton of money compared to face to face lessons…

Overall, the package was very good and I can recommend Optimus Prep to anyone who wants to improve their score with the help of a private tutor
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Optimus Prep
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
GMAT private lessons online with tutor Brajesh
November 03 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: November 2, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 120 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Optimus Prep Private Tutoring | Location:  *Online, USA | Taught by:  Brajesh
I booked the 23 hours online private package, because I already prepared 4 months for the test by myself and just wanted to focus on special fields like reading comprehension and critical reasoning with a GMAT specialist. During my self-preparation I found out that had more problems with verbal part of the GMAT than with the quant part. I divided the 23 hours package into 20 hours verbal and 3 hours quantitative part.

My tutor Brajesh was a bright guy who answered all my questions in detail with a lot of patience. I liked his teaching style and also how he guided me through all online sessions. I took the GMAT two times and my final score was 670 (my target score after I scored 550 in my first attempt). Thank you to Optimus Prep and especially to Brajesh.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Thank you for your help!
October 31 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: October 31, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 150 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Optimus Prep Private Tutoring | Location:  *Online, USA | Taught by:  Brajesh
I would like to share my experience with Optimus Prep with you. First of all about my background: I am from India but live in USA. I am working in investment banking and therefore I have a strong quant. background. My verbal skills are not bad but by far not as strong as my quant. knowledge (I am an options day trader for stocks).

I want to apply for one of the very best MBA programs in the US and need a competitive GMAT score of 720+ for it. I compared most of the offers of the biggest tutoring or test prep companies and decided to take 23 hours of online private tutoring from Optimus Prep. The main reason was the price but they also replied very quickly and made a very professional impression on me.

Part of the package was their online adaptive course. After I completed my diagnostic GMAT test my tutor Brajesh told me where my main weaknesses were. I got a study plan and Brajesh told me which video lessons to watch before our first session. This was very helpful and the material covered not only the concept but it also showed how to apply the concept to the different GMAT question types. The online course was generally were helpful during the entire preparation because it gave me the chance to practice what I learned during the private tutoring lessons.

The live lessons with Brajesh took place via software called WebEx which is about like Skype but better suited for tutoring because Brajesh was able to share his screen with me. The lessons were very good and gave me a solid understanding especially of the verbal material. The rules for SC were clear and precise and helped me a lot to improve my accuracy here.

Brajesh told me to take further GMAT practice tests to get a feeling for the GMAT and to observe my progress. I improved in each of the diagnostic test and was finally able to score 150 points higher than in my first diagnostic test – only two months after I started with my prep!

I was very confident and went to the test center. My score was 720 and I am very happy that I reached my goal!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Optimus Prep
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Justin was a great online tutor! Thanks to Optimus Prep.
October 30 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: October 30, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 110 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Optimus Prep Private Tutoring | Location:  *Online, USA | Taught by:  Justin Optimus Prep
As an international student, Verbal section was my nemesis. Math was not much of a problem, though, but I kept scoring in 40-48 range and the variation was too much. Justin and I spend most of our time working on verbal, and improved it from late 20s to mid-30s. He started to build my confidence as well as my math and verbal skills. Not only he gave my all the useful strategies but also he created a customized study schedule for me. After two months, I successfully increased my verbal score as well as quant score by, totaling my overall score over 100 points.
Justin first spent time learning about my strengths and weaknesses and guided me through developing a strategy that would work for me. The most important thing Justin taught me was to approach the quant section with logic and problem solving instead of using purely Algebra or mathematics. This may seem like a simple thing to do but it took a while to get use to this. Justin also helped me develop strategies for each question that cater to my strengths and go around my weakness. Justin shared his knowledge of the different question types and taught me how to think from the perspective of the test makers. After studying with Justin I was able to develop a clear strategy for guessing, time management, multiple choice and data sufficiency problems. And on a deeper level for each type of question, for example how to approach a Data sufficiency Geometry question or numbers property question. After meeting Justin and learning from him, I felt like I had wasted a lot of time learning everything, when I should have been focusing on developing strategies that cater to my strengths and practicing problem solving, not solving algebra and math problems.
For Verbal I spent time over 70% of the sessions, but I think Justins approach to Reading Comprehension and Sentence Correction really improved my score more than the effort I put. He taught me how to use logic and reasoning to answer the questions and to focus on the why in the RC and to use reasoning for SC. I must have missed that in the MGMT guides. I’m sure I could’ve improved more on Verbal if I spent more time with Justin. I have wandered all over the place but could not locate the central idea. With Justin’s guidance I realized where I was going wrong. Comparing with other courses I have taken, his private online session is the best part of studying month. Justin was real with me and gave me the confidence and the tools to tackle the GMAT. He helped me develop a customized approach and was patient with me as I began to see and understand that test as he does. There is no doubt that Justin is a GMAT master. I appreciated his help and would give him a 5 star review! Having said all this, you still need to put in a lot of time and effort to get the score you want.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Always Very Fast Responses... Great Experience!
October 29 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By EricH84 joined: October 27, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 100 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Optimus Prep Private Tutoring | Location:  *Online, USA |
I wrote to many test preparation companies to find a tutor for my upcoming GMAT test, and Optimus
Prep was the first one that wrote me back. Actually, it took a few days before any of the others
contacted me, so it was easy to decide who to go with. I was already behind on my studying, only 4
weeks left, and I was afraid it was already too late. But Optimus Prep was able to set up tutoring times
with me immediately and they assured me that 4 weeks was plenty of time to get prepared if I
dedicated myself to it. So I took their advice and now I'm feeling very confident. I decided I wanted
more hours for the quant. part and less for the verbal, and they let me arrange my time however I
wanted instead of being stuck with hours for certain topics I didn't need. The tutors followed the same suit, focusing on areas where we identified I was weaker... though we covered everything to make sure.
What more could you ask for but quick and professional and focusing on my needs individually?
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Optimus Prep
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Review GMAT private tutoring package 34 hrs NY
September 18 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By melvinvin joined: September 18, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Optimus Prep Private Tutoring | Location:  New York (Manhattan), NY USA |
I chose Optimus Prep because a friend of mine was a former customer. He told me that they have good tutors and are not so expensive like others. I was also interested in Kaplan test prep but I read in the internet that their tutors are not the best. Since I tried to score above 700 to apply for some Ivy League schools I wanted to have the very best tutors. I contacted the customer support of Optimus Prep and found them to be friendly and helpful. They sent me a CAT code and I took a free diagnostic exam at home. The results were 590 which is slightly above average as I was told. I had learned some stuff by reading the books but was eager to improve my GMAT score with the help of a pro tutor.

My lessons took place in New York. I took the 34 hours package and later additional 10 hours. My tutor helped in every aspect of the GMAT, from concepts over time management strategies to Integrated Reasoning. I was very satisfied and took more and more of the included CAT codes. My GMAT Scores from the CAT codes came closer to the 700 bench mark. After my lessons were over I repeated the learned concepts and finally took my first real GMAT exam scoring a 710! I am more than happy that I achieved my goal after only two months of intensive learning!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
34 hours online private tutoring with Justin. Good investment.
September 15 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: September 15, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Optimus Prep Private Tutoring | Location:  *Online, USA | Taught by:  Justin Optimus Prep
I never thought I'd head to business school. And honestly, personal and online tutoring is the only way that I could have do it because I travel a lot due to work schedule. It was a load of money, I have quite a bit of my student loans so money doesn't come easy, but it was worth it.

After not having a stellar experience the other top GMAT course provider, I decided to get some private tutoring sessions. I took a few feedbacks from multiple sources and money wise and credit wise, Optimus seemed to be a good deal. The folks at Optimus have a structured approach to prepare the candidates for the tests, they start with diagnostic test. Once the diagnostic test scores are flashed on the system, the next thing they do is to share your study plan. It was very easy for me to figure out my strengths and areas of opportunity this time, unlike at the time of taking the GMAT test where everything as per me went well.

I hadn't taken math in a few years so we really had to start with the most basic concepts, and Justin was extremely patient and clear when explaining things to me. He was able to improve my score and most importantly my confidence in my ability to do math tremendously. The test taking strategies that Justin taught me have helped me in school as well. A great advantage of private online tutoring is that both the curriculum and schedule will be customized to fit the students’ needs. The adaptive tests, the CATs and the monster question bank kept me on my toes. Justin taught me how to make the best out of the question generator. It is a pretty nifty tool and cemented my concepts on what I followed from the videos. Once you take this course I believe you don’t need anything else. Lot of people buy everything and suffer from what I call hoarder problem, too much material and difficult to make a plan. I worked really hard and sometimes would bug Justin with queries at odd times in the night. But I would always get a prompt and helpful response. The money that I spent for the 34 hours online private tutoring is probably the best investment I have made till now. GMAT tutoring at Optimus is simply the best. Justin was extremely patient with me and tackled a head strong person like me very efficiently. I clarified my questions/ doubts multiple times with him and every time he answered my questions to my satisfaction without any reservations or hang-ups. He was helpful on content and on the motivation part - you know, the stuff that makes or breaks a test. Our schedule was kind of tight and he was willing to work with me as needed.

I would recommend Justin and Optimus Prep for the GMAT to anyone looking to improve their math and test taking skills in a short amount of time.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Optimus Prep
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community


Optimus Prep Course Rankings
Overall Score Improvement
106 points
International Student Score Improvement
111 points
Verbal
100%
Quant
100%
Best Optimus Prep GMAT Instructors
Brajesh [*Online, USA]
    
Justin Optimus Prep [*Online, USA]
    
Save $750
on Optimus Prep
+Up to $500 discount
+$250 bonus
Get Optimus Prep Promo Code