Princeton Review GMAT Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [18]      Average Rating:       (3.9/5)
Courses
Find by:  
    
    
    
    
 
GMAT Pill discount code
Did you know The Princeton Review:  
  • Offers small group instruction in 41 states and 21 countries.
  •    
  • Offers courses not only for the GMAT, but also for the SAT, ACT, GRE, LSAT, and MCAT.
  •    
  • Offers one of the most generous test prep guarantees in the market: After taking a course, if a student's score does not improve, he or she can either take retake the course for free or receive a tuition refund.
  •    
  • Offers FREE test prep strategy sessions led by dynamic instructors and admissions experts. Events are held at convenient locations around the country.

    Browse special deals available on Princeton Review.

  Reviews
Sort by:   date of publication  most helpful
The Princeton Review Jayanagar Bangalore: Helped me score 730 :)
October 11 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By pavamana_nr joined: October 11, 2014 | 1 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Princeton Review Small Group Instruction | Location:   Bangalore, India | Taught by:  Merrily Tobin
Math: The course consisted of explanations of the Math concepts tested by GMAT divided into different topics. Review Material was comprehensive on the content. In the class room, questions were worked out and the approach to be used for each question type was discussed e.g. When to plug in, split approach for DS etc. Importantly, solving GMAT math problems was made to seem like a fun activity in class.

Verbal: Lessons in the verbal review comprise of different types of approaches to be used for each question type on the GMAT. SC: The common and rare correction types were separate, good list of idioms that can come in handy etc. My SC accuracy was near 100% most of the times. RC: Different approaches to working passages of different kinds followed by the techniques to be used for each kind of question on the passage. CR: Working the argument by finding the flaw, line of reasoning etc.

Other things of note: Online drills and tests were very helpful in my preparation. Homework schedule, if one sticks to it, is comprehensive enough as a study plan. Class timings were convenient. Teachers very much knowledgeable and approachable.

Boosters: Students are eligible for booster sessions if they score a 600 on one of the online tests during the course. I took the Verbal boosters where Merrily Tobin was my teacher. Although I went in for these sessions with hardly a week before my GMAT, these sessions helped me a lot in time management on the test, RC and CR accuracy.

I scored a 630 on the first practice test before the course started and ended up with a 730 (M:50,V:40,IR:7,AWA:6) on my actual GMAT after the course. I owe a big chunk of my success to The Princeton Review and the awesome teachers there- Dr.Ramya, Bodhana and Merrily :)
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
My Worst experience with Princeton
October 03 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By amatya joined: October 1, 2014 | 1 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Princeton Review Small Group Instruction | Location:   New Delhi, India |
Hi Friends,

By this post, I want to warn all those who are planning to join Princeton review by telling my story to all of you.I planned to take coaching for gmat exam from the begining of May 2014 and I joined Princeton review Raja Garden center there.After two classes I felt the quality of their pedagogy is decreasing day by day because they just finished sentence correction topic in one class of 2 hours and many other important topics in quant in the same manner.In the end of June they informed all the students of the batch that Princeton Raja Garden center franchisee has been cancelled and we can wait till end of july until they sort things with the head office and meanwhile they wont take any classes.Meanwhile waiting for 15 days with incomplete course I mailed their faculty to please atleast take some doubt classes but he refused always by the end I straight away asked them will you able to complete our course or shift to other branch of Princeton .Finally they told me to visit the south ex branch of Princeton review.When I visited them I was shocked to know that the standard class duration for each class was 3 hours and more than 12 classes were scheduled for both quant and verbal where as in Raja Garden branch the class was just of 1.5 hours and total number of classes were just 6-7 hardly.
Now come the turning point in my story , most of the students of Raja garden center shifted there at South Extension branch, the quant faculty of South Ex branch no doubt was awesome and taught us very well.However the verbal faculty that was provided to us was also not that bad that faculty taught us sentence correction very well and even critical reasoning too very well but due to some reasons that faculty has left the princeton and this was another twist in the story.After this a lady south Indian faculty arrived for us to cover the remaining portion of the syllabus at that time we were left with Reading comprehension only but she came and started with critical reasoning again and what she taught was exactly opposite of the other 2 verbal faculties have taught us, she started CR to show her superiority and show that the other faculty has not taught us well and she was quite successful in that.She said she will discuss CR with again and just release what you all learnt from ur previous faculty.After that in next class she did the same with SC in one class she showed that all concepts that we were taught by other faculty were wrong and she will do all things again in doubt session.Before she came to teach us my accuracy in CR and SC were 85%+ but after applying all her techniques that she gave us in that one demo my accuracy got declined simultaneously.Whenever I requested her for the doubt session she said I will give you but she never did ,when I insisted her she said mail me your doubts and when I mailed her she did not replied to any of my doubts when I asked her to reply she said the validity of your course was 6 months and it has expired now so I cant help you but when I told her the course validity is not yet over the course is valid till November end she said that will reply you and please post your mock scores to me in the mail as well irrespective of which company mocks you took, but when I mailed her my Kaplan prep score she said she will take only princeton mock scores and will address their doubts only.However she had discussed Manhattan test and veritas tests doubts with students in class but now she had problem in discussing Kaplan test doubts.After all these troubles I scraped my gmat exam yesterday with a pathetic score with verbal 17 only where as in my first diagnostic my verbal score was 19 (without even studying).I thanks princeton review 3 verbal faculties for ruining my ambition of gmat, but don't worry I wont leave you so easily.I will take a legal advice and then take action against you.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save up to $350 on
The Princeton Review
"Our courses focus on more than just answers"
See The Princeton Review deals
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
My experience with TPR
September 22 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By gayathriudhay joined: May 3, 2012 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 100 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Princeton Review Small Group Instruction | Location:   Bangalore, India | Taught by:  Merrily Tobin
Hi!

My experience with Princeton Review was Fantastic.
The apparent strengths of TPR are the teaching methods, course content, lab & library facilities, and the qualified trainers. Also, I found the Trainers updated with the test contents, & formats and constantly working on teaching methods to help students go through the changes, if any.
In my view, what puts TPR apart is the availability of trainers outside classrooms and their sincere effort to focus on every student.
Both my tutors Merrily & Rohit were there for me throughout my GMAT prep. They spent so much extra time with me that without any doubt pushed my GMAT score in my second attempt (from 520 to 670). Especially I found each of Merrily’s classes as well as booster sessions Energy packed and motivating.
Booster sessions were definitely more than just a technical discussion, very useful, as they helped me identify the flaws in my thought process. Apparently to approach GMAT questions, it is critical to know the weakness than the strength.
I wasn’t either a fast learner or a quick thinker. So I took more than 4 months after finishing all my classroom sessions to take my first GMAT test. Then my second attempt was 3 months after that. Both my tutors did not deny once when I asked for an extra help throughout my prep. Merrily would come to the centre just for my Booster session though there were no other classes scheduled for her that day. Tutors’ faith in my ability instilled a responsibility on me to give my best. Each booster session was a real confidence booster. Moreover, after my second attempt (with 670), when I approached Merrily for help with my third attempt, she readily accepted. May be I was lucky to have found the right coaches to start working on my dream career.
I would highly recommend TPR for all those looking for real help with GMAT prep.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Amazing experience. Very cost effective.
September 18 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By varunmb joined: March 7, 2013 | 10 | 5 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 100 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Princeton Review Small Group Instruction | Location:   Bangalore, India |
I joined for gmat classes at Princeton review in December 2013. My classes were taken be Sonal(verbal) and Asma(quant). These classes gave me a thorough grounding in all the concepts needed for the GMAT. After gaining all basic training in verbal and quant, I was put for booster sessions around FEB. I think this structure of the course is very effective. It caters to the individual needs of each student.
My verbal boosters were taken by Merrily and quant by Rohit Maiya. Unlike the basic class which gives you all the relevant skills for GMAT, the boosters specifically identify where we are going wrong and corrects them.
In verbal boosters, Merrily would make me redo the questions which were answered wrong or which took more time. She would analyse the thinking process which went into solving the questions and gave detailed feedback which helped me correct the approach. The common mistakes I was making in verbal were-
1)In CR I was not deconstructing the argument and was not able to identify patterns. I was giving more time in selecting the answers than deconstructing the argument. But the answer choices confuse you more. Once I started identifying patterns and started predicting answers before reading the answer choices, I started getting around 90% of the CR questions right from 50%
2) In SC there were many areas I was going wrong in. My approach was corrected to a large extent. I was also thought when to give up and move on.
3) I was made aware of the time killers. Some of the questions just cannot be answered. I became aware of such questions which helped me immensely in the real GMAT.
4) In RC I was taking more time in reading the passage. I stared giving more time to important stuff and skip the details. Also predicting what the sentence is going to say by reading the first 3 or 4 words was of immense help in putting the sentence in w.r.t the main idea of the passage.

Quant boosters too improved my skills immensely. Rohit always asked me to work smart not hard. He would come up with different approaches to the same problem which would save time and effort. This approach of trying out different methods of solving a problem helped me immensely in improving my Quant score which had stagnated. I was really bad in plugging-in, arithmetic and Geometry, which were made a lot easier by Rohit.
And I gave my first GMAT on April 11th. The mistake I did was I didn't go for any boosters for about 20-25 days before the test. This was a major mistake. I just concentrated on studying more and more material which was there on the net.
In the end I didn't apply any approach and scored a 610(q45,v27).
This was a terrible score considering I had scored 740 in two of the GMATPREP s.
I had lost complete hope in my ability. That's when Merrily motivated me a lot. TPR had done everything from giving me classes, to boosters to additional tests , library of books etc. I didn’t expect them to do more. But merrily had not lost hope in my ability. She asked me to take rest for 4/5 days and asked me to come for boosters. She analyzed that I had completely strayed away from the approach in Sc, Cr and Rc. I took about 4/5 verbal boosters in a month and was back on track. I scored a 690 (q49,v34) on May 22. It is considerably better score than 610.
I am thoroughly satisfied with Manya group gmat classes. They tailor the course according to the students needs and abilities.
I was quite satisfied with my score of 690. Recently I realized I can give one more try as the score will not go lower even if I score less. But I really hope to cross the 720-730 this time. I recently attended a sc workshop conducted by merrily. The questions we solved were the once which will propel the score to 700+. The questions are also representative of the recent trends in GMAT which is moving away from pure grammar and towards meaning in SC.
Hope to cross the elusive 700 this time when I take my GMAT on sept 2nd. I thank TPR for being a constant companion in my GMAT journey.

P.S- I gave my GMAT again on Sept 2nd and I have scored a 710(Q49, V38).
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save up to $350 on
The Princeton Review
"Our courses focus on more than just answers"
See The Princeton Review deals
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
My Princeton Review Experience for GMAT
December 31 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Sen90 joined: November 1, 2013 | 0 | 5 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 120 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Princeton Review Small Group Instruction | Location:   Bhopal, India | Taught by:  Merrily Tobin
When I decided to start preparing for the GMAT (at Bangalore) I looked at a lot of prep classes among which Princeton Review was the best. My experience at Princeton was excellent because of the following:

1. Excellent trainers who know the content well and can put it across to students very efficiently.
2. Trainers are helpful in clearing doubts and take interest in the student's performance.
3. Princeton Review Books (they provide their own books along with the Official Guide).
4. Their Online Portal where every student gets an account with a set of practice questions, full lenght Mock Tests (gear you for the Computer Adaptive tests) and online tutorials (very helpful for self study at home and for quick revision before the test).
5. Their lab and library where you could sit and do self study.
6. Booster sessions: Any student who crosses a 600 mark in any of the mock tests gets to have one on one sessions with the master trainers. These sessions are extremely helpful in identifying deficiencies particular to a student and then correcting them for a better score.

I would like to extend a special thanks to Merrily for helping me out very patiently, with a lot of interest to improve my Verbal score. I give full credit to Princeton Review for my 710 score. Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Princeton Online
December 11 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: March 19, 2013 | 31 | 8 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Princeton Review GMAT Self Prep Kit | Location:   Online |
The staff was nice on the phone with the sign up and they sent the books on time, but the quality of the course was not great. I mostly signed up because of a partner discount. Much of the quant was GRE overlap and some did not pertain to the GMAT really.

The online platform is hard to maneuver and I eventually went to another course book/set of guides to get me though my study. I would not recommend. Other course have better laid out lessons, the lessons are short and scattered and you need to have the books with you at all times to follow along. I didn’t like this, I thought that it was not user friendly and the content was not really reflective of the test.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save up to $350 on
The Princeton Review
"Our courses focus on more than just answers"
See The Princeton Review deals
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Princeton Review Classroom Coaching
December 09 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: May 27, 2013 | 1 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 110 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Princeton Review Small Group Instruction | Location:   Bangalore, India | Taught by:  Merrily Tobin
The Classroom Coaching that I attended at TPR for GMAT has definitely played a key role in me achieving a score of 710!

Best things about the overall package they offer are:

1) Their faculty especially for verbal is very experienced. The tutors have been in the GMAT training field for a long time and they know exactly what has to be taught to a potential GMAT test taker. They approach the training in a systematic and organized way so that you are well versed with the concepts that you have learned before moving on to the next topics. Also, the tutors are just not limited to queries been asked in the classroom - they are available to schedule any extra help sessions. One can tremendously improve their score just by being attentive and regular to the classroom.

2) The facilities TPR offers are really good. Their library is up to date with all the materials that you need for your GMAT preparation. You can also take up mock tests at the center at any time of the week. I had been taking practice tests even after 6 months of my completion of their classroom course!

3) Their course material unlike many other big brand materials has a very simplified approach to even the tricky topics. GMAT does not test you much on the depth of knowledge on a subject, instead you just need to know right approach to specific problems or questions. The course material provides basic guidelines and also very simple techniques which can get you to the right answer and take seconds to solve as compared to the traditional approach which can be very laborious.

Last but not the least - I would like to mention about their Booster sessions which offer unlimited one-to-one support. This has been instrumental in improving my score by atleast 70 points and helped me identify and correct the common mistakes that I was making. Verbal tutor Merrily Tobin has helped me understand the way questions on GMAT need to be approached and pointed out the errors I was making repeatedly and helped me avoid them by analyzing every single question in detail and identifying the root cause. This really helped me change the way I approached a GMAT question and get a score of 40 in verbal.

All the Best with your GMAT prep!


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Very helpful & motivating Teachers
July 03 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By vivekjha84 joined: June 12, 2012 | 1 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 200 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Princeton Review Small Group Instruction | Location:   Bangalore, India | Taught by:  Merrily Tobin
Hi Friends,

I wish to give credit to Princeton review Indiranagar Branch Teachers & staff (Merilly & Asha) for my improved score. Keeping the fact that I had scored very poorly in my disgnostic test.

I had a demanding job. Plus, I have been working for the last 6 years which means being out of touch with studies (except technical) for quite a long time, which very much determines many things.

Despite these limitations, the teachers were very motivating & encouraging. The teaching, style, curriculam & the pattern of study keeps the student intact and motivated.

And I have no doubt that it was not possible without the motivation that I got from my Princeton teachers. I’m pretty sure I would have left the preparations had I not got the support from the teachers. Three months of this class has been very beneficial for me.

So, to sum up, I was not very sure if I would be able to manage the preparations. But Princeton Review was a big help for me. And I was able to improve my score in the actual test.


Thanks
Vivek.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save up to $350 on
The Princeton Review
"Our courses focus on more than just answers"
See The Princeton Review deals
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Princeton Review course review (BALI NAGAR, Raja Garden)
December 26 | 2012

6 out of 6 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By tish joined: December 26, 2012 | 1 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Princeton Review Private Tutoring | Location:   New Delhi, India |
Guys,

This is my first post, and I wanted to write this especially for people who are looking to take guidance from Princenton Review Gmat course. This happened with a month back (at PR'S Bali Nagar branch in Delhi), and I would never want somebody else to experience this. Below is an email I wrote to Princeton Review, and following was Princeton Review's reply.

Hello to team Princeton Review,

I have been following Princeton Review for a long time for academic help in different phases of my life. I have always been a firm believer about the services offered by Princeton Review. It was only because of this reason that I joined your Gmat coaching center in Delhi (BALI NAGAR, RAJA GARDEN). But unfortunately except your content (which was also very BASIC), there was nothing much to gain here. The verbal tutor (SAPNA DUDEJA) initially showed a keen interest on bringing me on board but then the tutor gradually failed to even stand up as a dependable, cooperative, & a knowledgeable faculty.

I spend Rs. 26000 on one-to-one verbal tuition only--but I was only given 2 classes (one-to-one) while the rest I was suggested (rather pushed by the verbal tutor) to move into a group as it was convenient for her. All this was washed in mere 14 days. The verbal tutor had last comments in the following manner: "Your classes are over! You will have to pay more to get more no. of hours here."

I am not writing this because I want to make a point but rather because it is about a student's future which is on stake here. I will never want anybody else to suffer the way I suffered.

Moreover Princeton Review is a big and a dependable name; your services do not match the essence here, at all.

Sorry about that.

Thank you.


PRINCETON REVIEW'S REPLY


Thank you for contacting the Princeton Review.

We have assigned your inquiry to a representative who will be getting back to you shortly.

To help track your inquiry we have generated a reference number. Your ticket code is LTK12129070248935X. Please use this code in any further communication.

Respectfully,

The Princeton Review Team

Guys they never got back to me. Anyhow I wasn't expecting much from them after this sour experience. Yet an apology or some kind of consideration would have been great.

Tish.

(Do message me in case you have any further questions from me.)
Was this review helpful to you?
   
[1]
TPR review
September 14 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: March 26, 2012 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 90 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Princeton Review Small Group Instruction | Location:   Bangalore, India |
TPR is the best destination if planning to prepare for GMAT in Bangalore. The course curriculum is very focussed, and very precise and true to the real GMAT exam. The faculties are extremely well prepared, motivating and reachable.

I really liked the smoothness with which they take up the course from basic to advanced. Every question is well answered and every doubt is well cleared. The engagement in terms of study groups and online discussions helped a lot. One of the best things provided by TPR is the booster sessions. I.e, one on one meetings with the instructors, where they identify your weak areas and work on them, and all this, after the course ends.

The long list of TPR tests keep gear you for the Computer adaptive tests. I am a hard worker, but i really need motivation to perform well. TPR was just the right place to receive all the push and motivation I required. Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save up to $350 on
The Princeton Review
"Our courses focus on more than just answers"
See The Princeton Review deals
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community


Princeton Review Course Rankings
Overall Score Improvement
136 points
International Student Score Improvement
123 points
Verbal
80%
Quant
80%
Save up to $350 on
The Princeton Review
"Our courses focus on more than just answers"
 
See The Princeton Review deals