Princeton Review GMAT Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [14]      Average Rating:       (3.9/5)
Courses
Find by:  
    
    
    
    
 
GMAT Pill discount code
Did you know The Princeton Review:  
  • Offers small group instruction in 41 states and 21 countries.
  •    
  • Offers courses not only for the GMAT, but also for the SAT, ACT, GRE, LSAT, and MCAT.
  •    
  • Offers one of the most generous test prep guarantees in the market: After taking a course, if a student's score does not improve, he or she can either take retake the course for free or receive a tuition refund.
  •    
  • Offers FREE test prep strategy sessions led by dynamic instructors and admissions experts. Events are held at convenient locations around the country.

    Browse special deals available on Princeton Review.

  Reviews
Sort by:   date of publication  most helpful
My Princeton Review Experience for GMAT
December 31 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Sen90 joined: November 1, 2013 | 0 | 5 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 120 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Princeton Review Small Group Instruction | Location:   Bhopal, India | Taught by:  Merrily Tobin
When I decided to start preparing for the GMAT (at Bangalore) I looked at a lot of prep classes among which Princeton Review was the best. My experience at Princeton was excellent because of the following:

1. Excellent trainers who know the content well and can put it across to students very efficiently.
2. Trainers are helpful in clearing doubts and take interest in the student's performance.
3. Princeton Review Books (they provide their own books along with the Official Guide).
4. Their Online Portal where every student gets an account with a set of practice questions, full lenght Mock Tests (gear you for the Computer Adaptive tests) and online tutorials (very helpful for self study at home and for quick revision before the test).
5. Their lab and library where you could sit and do self study.
6. Booster sessions: Any student who crosses a 600 mark in any of the mock tests gets to have one on one sessions with the master trainers. These sessions are extremely helpful in identifying deficiencies particular to a student and then correcting them for a better score.

I would like to extend a special thanks to Merrily for helping me out very patiently, with a lot of interest to improve my Verbal score. I give full credit to Princeton Review for my 710 score. Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Princeton Online
December 11 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: March 19, 2013 | 30 | 8 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Princeton Review GMAT Self Prep Kit | Location:   Online |
The staff was nice on the phone with the sign up and they sent the books on time, but the quality of the course was not great. I mostly signed up because of a partner discount. Much of the quant was GRE overlap and some did not pertain to the GMAT really.

The online platform is hard to maneuver and I eventually went to another course book/set of guides to get me though my study. I would not recommend. Other course have better laid out lessons, the lessons are short and scattered and you need to have the books with you at all times to follow along. I didn’t like this, I thought that it was not user friendly and the content was not really reflective of the test.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save up to $350 on
The Princeton Review
"Our courses focus on more than just answers"
See The Princeton Review deals
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Princeton Review Classroom Coaching
December 09 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: May 27, 2013 | 1 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 110 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Princeton Review Small Group Instruction | Location:   Bangalore, India | Taught by:  Merrily Tobin
The Classroom Coaching that I attended at TPR for GMAT has definitely played a key role in me achieving a score of 710!

Best things about the overall package they offer are:

1) Their faculty especially for verbal is very experienced. The tutors have been in the GMAT training field for a long time and they know exactly what has to be taught to a potential GMAT test taker. They approach the training in a systematic and organized way so that you are well versed with the concepts that you have learned before moving on to the next topics. Also, the tutors are just not limited to queries been asked in the classroom - they are available to schedule any extra help sessions. One can tremendously improve their score just by being attentive and regular to the classroom.

2) The facilities TPR offers are really good. Their library is up to date with all the materials that you need for your GMAT preparation. You can also take up mock tests at the center at any time of the week. I had been taking practice tests even after 6 months of my completion of their classroom course!

3) Their course material unlike many other big brand materials has a very simplified approach to even the tricky topics. GMAT does not test you much on the depth of knowledge on a subject, instead you just need to know right approach to specific problems or questions. The course material provides basic guidelines and also very simple techniques which can get you to the right answer and take seconds to solve as compared to the traditional approach which can be very laborious.

Last but not the least - I would like to mention about their Booster sessions which offer unlimited one-to-one support. This has been instrumental in improving my score by atleast 70 points and helped me identify and correct the common mistakes that I was making. Verbal tutor Merrily Tobin has helped me understand the way questions on GMAT need to be approached and pointed out the errors I was making repeatedly and helped me avoid them by analyzing every single question in detail and identifying the root cause. This really helped me change the way I approached a GMAT question and get a score of 40 in verbal.

All the Best with your GMAT prep!


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Very helpful & motivating Teachers
July 03 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By vivekjha84 joined: June 12, 2012 | 1 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 200 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Princeton Review Small Group Instruction | Location:   Bangalore, India | Taught by:  Merrily Tobin
Hi Friends,

I wish to give credit to Princeton review Indiranagar Branch Teachers & staff (Merilly & Asha) for my improved score. Keeping the fact that I had scored very poorly in my disgnostic test.

I had a demanding job. Plus, I have been working for the last 6 years which means being out of touch with studies (except technical) for quite a long time, which very much determines many things.

Despite these limitations, the teachers were very motivating & encouraging. The teaching, style, curriculam & the pattern of study keeps the student intact and motivated.

And I have no doubt that it was not possible without the motivation that I got from my Princeton teachers. I’m pretty sure I would have left the preparations had I not got the support from the teachers. Three months of this class has been very beneficial for me.

So, to sum up, I was not very sure if I would be able to manage the preparations. But Princeton Review was a big help for me. And I was able to improve my score in the actual test.


Thanks
Vivek.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save up to $350 on
The Princeton Review
"Our courses focus on more than just answers"
See The Princeton Review deals
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Princeton Review course review (BALI NAGAR, Raja Garden)
December 26 | 2012

5 out of 5 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By tish joined: December 26, 2012 | 1 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Princeton Review Private Tutoring | Location:   New Delhi, India |
Guys,

This is my first post, and I wanted to write this especially for people who are looking to take guidance from Princenton Review Gmat course. This happened with a month back (at PR'S Bali Nagar branch in Delhi), and I would never want somebody else to experience this. Below is an email I wrote to Princeton Review, and following was Princeton Review's reply.

Hello to team Princeton Review,

I have been following Princeton Review for a long time for academic help in different phases of my life. I have always been a firm believer about the services offered by Princeton Review. It was only because of this reason that I joined your Gmat coaching center in Delhi (BALI NAGAR, RAJA GARDEN). But unfortunately except your content (which was also very BASIC), there was nothing much to gain here. The verbal tutor (SAPNA DUDEJA) initially showed a keen interest on bringing me on board but then the tutor gradually failed to even stand up as a dependable, cooperative, & a knowledgeable faculty.

I spend Rs. 26000 on one-to-one verbal tuition only--but I was only given 2 classes (one-to-one) while the rest I was suggested (rather pushed by the verbal tutor) to move into a group as it was convenient for her. All this was washed in mere 14 days. The verbal tutor had last comments in the following manner: "Your classes are over! You will have to pay more to get more no. of hours here."

I am not writing this because I want to make a point but rather because it is about a student's future which is on stake here. I will never want anybody else to suffer the way I suffered.

Moreover Princeton Review is a big and a dependable name; your services do not match the essence here, at all.

Sorry about that.

Thank you.


PRINCETON REVIEW'S REPLY


Thank you for contacting the Princeton Review.

We have assigned your inquiry to a representative who will be getting back to you shortly.

To help track your inquiry we have generated a reference number. Your ticket code is LTK12129070248935X. Please use this code in any further communication.

Respectfully,

The Princeton Review Team

Guys they never got back to me. Anyhow I wasn't expecting much from them after this sour experience. Yet an apology or some kind of consideration would have been great.

Tish.

(Do message me in case you have any further questions from me.)
Was this review helpful to you?
   
[1]
TPR review
September 14 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: March 26, 2012 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 90 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Princeton Review Small Group Instruction | Location:   Bangalore, India |
TPR is the best destination if planning to prepare for GMAT in Bangalore. The course curriculum is very focussed, and very precise and true to the real GMAT exam. The faculties are extremely well prepared, motivating and reachable.

I really liked the smoothness with which they take up the course from basic to advanced. Every question is well answered and every doubt is well cleared. The engagement in terms of study groups and online discussions helped a lot. One of the best things provided by TPR is the booster sessions. I.e, one on one meetings with the instructors, where they identify your weak areas and work on them, and all this, after the course ends.

The long list of TPR tests keep gear you for the Computer adaptive tests. I am a hard worker, but i really need motivation to perform well. TPR was just the right place to receive all the push and motivation I required. Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save up to $350 on
The Princeton Review
"Our courses focus on more than just answers"
See The Princeton Review deals
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
GMAT Prep
July 19 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: July 19, 2012 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 150 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
Princeton Review's GMAT Prep Course (Small group instruction) was super beneficial and helped me get a much higher score than when I had done self study. They teach you shortcuts, tips, and tricks that would be difficult to learn on your own. They touch on all subjects and numerous strategies for working the problems.

The instructors know their stuff, and are very open to answering questions after class. They make a lot of difficult concepts (especially math problems) easy to understand and digest.

Not only was I able to sign-up using a promotional offer, but I received 4 books; 1 written by the GMAT authors, 2 written by the Princeton review, and a course study/practice book. Plus, they give you additional online prep materials (pretty good deal for the price). It's pretty much all the materials you could possibly need to do well on the exam.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Excellent Private Tutoring
July 17 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: July 17, 2012 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 80 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Princeton Review Private Tutoring | Location:   San Diego (North), CA USA |
As an attorney who works full time, the private tutoring offered by Princeton Review was exactly what I needed. My tutor was willing to meet with me from 7:30-10:30 pm to work around my schedule. Having a very firm grasp on verbal but needing a serious brush up in math after not taking a math class in 10 years, the private tutoring allowed me to work at my pace and skill level and focus on areas in which I needed the most help.

Jason is a fantastic tutor who is able to understand a person's specific learning styles and caters to those styles. He is patient and friendly. The tutoring process was useful and for the most part I felt I got my money's worth. The main criticism I had was that I was taking the test just before the new version was released, but the online tools still only had 5 practice tests of the old version while offering nearly a dozen new version practice tests.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save up to $350 on
The Princeton Review
"Our courses focus on more than just answers"
See The Princeton Review deals
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Princeton is the best. No doubt about it.
July 05 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: July 5, 2012 | 0 | 5 | non-native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Princeton Review Small Group Instruction | Location:   Bangalore, India |
Princeton is the best. No doubt about it. I believe a 770 score speaks for itself...

Princeton Review was perfect for me. I realize now that there is no way I could have crossed a 700 score studying by myself. My teachers were great in terms of the support which they extended to me (and still are extending to me...) and classes were fun (can't believe I'm actually saying that).

Their approach for worked like a charm and they had booster sessions to help me work on my weak areas. Another great thing about them is that they provided so much material to study from. I had a lot of support even when I was studying after I finished the course.
Being a non-native English speaker, I still managed to get a 45 on verbal and that's thanks to my teacher. I would definitely recommend Princeton Review to anyone who's looking for coaching.....


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
GMAT prep - The Princeton way!
July 04 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: July 4, 2012 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 200 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Princeton Review Small Group Instruction | Location:   Bangalore, India |
Hello

Like any other 5-6 year IT professional I wanted to do my MBA but little did I know that it is a war-field in itself with the first hurdle being the GMAT. Attempting to give my GMAT without the help of any tutorial I tried my hand at a mock test.

When I took the pre-GMAT mock test I scored a 430. Disappointed and worried, I realized a need for a helping hand & was desperately in the look-out for a quality GMAT prep tutorial. I then found out about Princeton Review based out of Bangalore and got myself admitted there.

I have to say that this decision of mine definitely accelerated my GMAT prep process. The trainers at the tutorial are not only well-equipped to train the students but are also very friendly and helpful. The best part of the course are their booster sessions where every deserving student gets a chance to review his or her strengths and weaknesses with a master trainer for Verbal and Quant in one-to-one sessions. These sessions are definitely a 'booster' to your prep process in its true sense.

On completing the course with Princeton and taking offline help sessions from Merrily, Rohit and Vikram I managed to score a 730 in my GMAT. Yes, this definitely seems like an achievement to me to move from 430 to 730 and the trainers at Princeton deserve a major credit in this endeavor of mine.

The top strengths of the tutorial are

1.) Their course structure
2.) Their lab and library facilities
3.) Their prep-material and practice tests
4.) Their trainers, each of whom I have interacted with are friendly, approachable and 'they know their job'

I have also been a part of their ACS services and I can vouch these are top-notch as well.

Finally, if you are a candidate who is busy with work but still wants to do well in his or her GMAT then Princeton is the place to go to!

All the best..

Have fun!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save up to $350 on
The Princeton Review
"Our courses focus on more than just answers"
See The Princeton Review deals
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community


Princeton Review Course Rankings
Overall Score Improvement
143 points
International Student Score Improvement
130 points
Verbal
80%
Quant
80%
Save up to $350 on
The Princeton Review
"Our courses focus on more than just answers"
 
See The Princeton Review deals