Princeton Review Small Group Instruction Reviews
    Number of reviews [9]      Average Rating:       (4.2/5)
 
GMAT Pill discount code
 

The most personalized GMAT prep course ever created at The Princeton Review. Only 4 students per class, abundant extra help with office hours 7 days a week and a guaranteed score improvement. This 27-hour course focuses on both content and test taking-skills, offers the most realistic GMAT practice tests and comprehensive prep for the new Integrated Reasoning section of the exam.

Browse special deals available on Princeton Review.


My Princeton Review Experience for GMAT
December 31 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Sen90 joined: November 1, 2013 | 0 | 5 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 120 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Princeton Review Small Group Instruction | Location:  Bhopal, India | Taught by:  Merrily Tobin
When I decided to start preparing for the GMAT (at Bangalore) I looked at a lot of prep classes among which Princeton Review was the best. My experience at Princeton was excellent because of the following:

1. Excellent trainers who know the content well and can put it across to students very efficiently.
2. Trainers are helpful in clearing doubts and take interest in the student's performance.
3. Princeton Review Books (they provide their own books along with the Official Guide).
4. Their Online Portal where every student gets an account with a set of practice questions, full lenght Mock Tests (gear you for the Computer Adaptive tests) and online tutorials (very helpful for self study at home and for quick revision before the test).
5. Their lab and library where you could sit and do self study.
6. Booster sessions: Any student who crosses a 600 mark in any of the mock tests gets to have one on one sessions with the master trainers. These sessions are extremely helpful in identifying deficiencies particular to a student and then correcting them for a better score.

I would like to extend a special thanks to Merrily for helping me out very patiently, with a lot of interest to improve my Verbal score. I give full credit to Princeton Review for my 710 score. Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Princeton Review Classroom Coaching
December 09 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: May 27, 2013 | 1 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 110 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Princeton Review Small Group Instruction | Location:  Bangalore, India | Taught by:  Merrily Tobin
The Classroom Coaching that I attended at TPR for GMAT has definitely played a key role in me achieving a score of 710!

Best things about the overall package they offer are:

1) Their faculty especially for verbal is very experienced. The tutors have been in the GMAT training field for a long time and they know exactly what has to be taught to a potential GMAT test taker. They approach the training in a systematic and organized way so that you are well versed with the concepts that you have learned before moving on to the next topics. Also, the tutors are just not limited to queries been asked in the classroom - they are available to schedule any extra help sessions. One can tremendously improve their score just by being attentive and regular to the classroom.

2) The facilities TPR offers are really good. Their library is up to date with all the materials that you need for your GMAT preparation. You can also take up mock tests at the center at any time of the week. I had been taking practice tests even after 6 months of my completion of their classroom course!

3) Their course material unlike many other big brand materials has a very simplified approach to even the tricky topics. GMAT does not test you much on the depth of knowledge on a subject, instead you just need to know right approach to specific problems or questions. The course material provides basic guidelines and also very simple techniques which can get you to the right answer and take seconds to solve as compared to the traditional approach which can be very laborious.

Last but not the least - I would like to mention about their Booster sessions which offer unlimited one-to-one support. This has been instrumental in improving my score by atleast 70 points and helped me identify and correct the common mistakes that I was making. Verbal tutor Merrily Tobin has helped me understand the way questions on GMAT need to be approached and pointed out the errors I was making repeatedly and helped me avoid them by analyzing every single question in detail and identifying the root cause. This really helped me change the way I approached a GMAT question and get a score of 40 in verbal.

All the Best with your GMAT prep!


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save up to $350 on
The Princeton Review
"Our courses focus on more than just answers"
See The Princeton Review deals
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Very helpful & motivating Teachers
July 03 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By vivekjha84 joined: June 12, 2012 | 1 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 200 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Princeton Review Small Group Instruction | Location:  Bangalore, India | Taught by:  Merrily Tobin
Hi Friends,

I wish to give credit to Princeton review Indiranagar Branch Teachers & staff (Merilly & Asha) for my improved score. Keeping the fact that I had scored very poorly in my disgnostic test.

I had a demanding job. Plus, I have been working for the last 6 years which means being out of touch with studies (except technical) for quite a long time, which very much determines many things.

Despite these limitations, the teachers were very motivating & encouraging. The teaching, style, curriculam & the pattern of study keeps the student intact and motivated.

And I have no doubt that it was not possible without the motivation that I got from my Princeton teachers. I’m pretty sure I would have left the preparations had I not got the support from the teachers. Three months of this class has been very beneficial for me.

So, to sum up, I was not very sure if I would be able to manage the preparations. But Princeton Review was a big help for me. And I was able to improve my score in the actual test.


Thanks
Vivek.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
TPR review
September 14 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: March 26, 2012 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 90 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Princeton Review Small Group Instruction | Location:  Bangalore, India |
TPR is the best destination if planning to prepare for GMAT in Bangalore. The course curriculum is very focussed, and very precise and true to the real GMAT exam. The faculties are extremely well prepared, motivating and reachable.

I really liked the smoothness with which they take up the course from basic to advanced. Every question is well answered and every doubt is well cleared. The engagement in terms of study groups and online discussions helped a lot. One of the best things provided by TPR is the booster sessions. I.e, one on one meetings with the instructors, where they identify your weak areas and work on them, and all this, after the course ends.

The long list of TPR tests keep gear you for the Computer adaptive tests. I am a hard worker, but i really need motivation to perform well. TPR was just the right place to receive all the push and motivation I required. Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save up to $350 on
The Princeton Review
"Our courses focus on more than just answers"
See The Princeton Review deals
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
GMAT Prep
July 19 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: July 19, 2012 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 150 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
Princeton Review's GMAT Prep Course (Small group instruction) was super beneficial and helped me get a much higher score than when I had done self study. They teach you shortcuts, tips, and tricks that would be difficult to learn on your own. They touch on all subjects and numerous strategies for working the problems.

The instructors know their stuff, and are very open to answering questions after class. They make a lot of difficult concepts (especially math problems) easy to understand and digest.

Not only was I able to sign-up using a promotional offer, but I received 4 books; 1 written by the GMAT authors, 2 written by the Princeton review, and a course study/practice book. Plus, they give you additional online prep materials (pretty good deal for the price). It's pretty much all the materials you could possibly need to do well on the exam.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Princeton is the best. No doubt about it.
July 05 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: July 5, 2012 | 0 | 5 | non-native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Princeton Review Small Group Instruction | Location:  Bangalore, India |
Princeton is the best. No doubt about it. I believe a 770 score speaks for itself...

Princeton Review was perfect for me. I realize now that there is no way I could have crossed a 700 score studying by myself. My teachers were great in terms of the support which they extended to me (and still are extending to me...) and classes were fun (can't believe I'm actually saying that).

Their approach for worked like a charm and they had booster sessions to help me work on my weak areas. Another great thing about them is that they provided so much material to study from. I had a lot of support even when I was studying after I finished the course.
Being a non-native English speaker, I still managed to get a 45 on verbal and that's thanks to my teacher. I would definitely recommend Princeton Review to anyone who's looking for coaching.....


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save up to $350 on
The Princeton Review
"Our courses focus on more than just answers"
See The Princeton Review deals
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
GMAT prep - The Princeton way!
July 04 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: July 4, 2012 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 200 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Princeton Review Small Group Instruction | Location:  Bangalore, India |
Hello

Like any other 5-6 year IT professional I wanted to do my MBA but little did I know that it is a war-field in itself with the first hurdle being the GMAT. Attempting to give my GMAT without the help of any tutorial I tried my hand at a mock test.

When I took the pre-GMAT mock test I scored a 430. Disappointed and worried, I realized a need for a helping hand & was desperately in the look-out for a quality GMAT prep tutorial. I then found out about Princeton Review based out of Bangalore and got myself admitted there.

I have to say that this decision of mine definitely accelerated my GMAT prep process. The trainers at the tutorial are not only well-equipped to train the students but are also very friendly and helpful. The best part of the course are their booster sessions where every deserving student gets a chance to review his or her strengths and weaknesses with a master trainer for Verbal and Quant in one-to-one sessions. These sessions are definitely a 'booster' to your prep process in its true sense.

On completing the course with Princeton and taking offline help sessions from Merrily, Rohit and Vikram I managed to score a 730 in my GMAT. Yes, this definitely seems like an achievement to me to move from 430 to 730 and the trainers at Princeton deserve a major credit in this endeavor of mine.

The top strengths of the tutorial are

1.) Their course structure
2.) Their lab and library facilities
3.) Their prep-material and practice tests
4.) Their trainers, each of whom I have interacted with are friendly, approachable and 'they know their job'

I have also been a part of their ACS services and I can vouch these are top-notch as well.

Finally, if you are a candidate who is busy with work but still wants to do well in his or her GMAT then Princeton is the place to go to!

All the best..

Have fun!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Amazing Course
July 03 | 2012

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By rahulr2312 joined: July 3, 2012 | 1 | 5 | native speaker
Improvement: 180 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Princeton Review Small Group Instruction | Location:  Bangalore, India |
Princeton Review's course was a fantastic experience and without doubt pushed me past the 700 barrier when i wrote my GMAT.

They have excellent faculty and what puts them apart is their availability outside your normal classes, they are always ready to spend extra time with you to clear all doubts and have an excellent grasp of their respective fields.

Course Material is quite good and an added advantage of this course is that if you score 600+ on any of their mock tests you are eligible for unlimited one on one booster session before your exam date with their advanced tutors to hone your skill and make you fully prepared to crack the GMAT. They also provide a lot of help outside the syllabus with respect to preparation tips, dealing with stress , past GMAT experiences

Overall would give a lot of the credit of my 710 to princeton review


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save up to $350 on
The Princeton Review
"Our courses focus on more than just answers"
See The Princeton Review deals
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Not so good!!
June 10 | 2012

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By hitgmathard joined: February 1, 2012 | 27 | 4 | non-native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Princeton Review Small Group Instruction | Location:  Chandigarh, India |
I registered for the Princeton Review course in mid FEB/2010 and finished the whole course very soon as nothing new was there in the course what I didn’t knew! It was not a bit helping! (I’m not going to kind on anyone and this is really true, and it seems like the course is not designed for GMAT!) I had no other option than to join this course as this was near my city and opted for classroom course as I thought this will be helpful as classroom course will give me opportunity to interact better with tutor.

Teacher style:

No doubt that my Math instructor was helping, but he had limited knowledge of GMAT! He only knew what was there in the TPR manual and many a times he stumbled on OG questions! I was very much amazed when he said that this AD/BCE technique is not even given in OG, then I pointed out that sir you are wrong, this is given in the OG 12.

My verbal teacher was in the same boat, never showed interest in teaching, it seems as if she was doing time pass. She added nothing to my prior knowledge. When I asked queries about OG, she always said after that class or sometimes she will come back with this problem tomorrow. And that tomorrow never came. I needed the help on verbal section the most as it was my weaker section, but she couldn’t answer or guide me.
Instructors need to be trained regular and they need to be updated. Though I had opted for TPR’s one on one course, sometimes they made me to attend classes with some other students!

Quality of study material:

As I said above it seems like the course is not designed for GMAT! This is very much true. Not even a single question is nearer the real question. TPR manual, which they use for teaching is not good enough, very few problems are discussed in the manual. Those problems also non-representative of real GMAT problems! I got manual after a week as it was out of stock at that time!

Online Student Centre (OSC) which they give much emphasis has nothing to add. My OSC started after 7-8 days of joining the course!

Yes, if you are targeting for 600 on GMAT this is a course for you! If your target is higher you have to look for other options. I gave GMAT after completing TPR and scored miserably 540(Q48, V17, AWA 5). I’m not completely blaming TPR for my low score but they could have added good practice stuff for the hefty money they charge! If you need start from ZERO and wants to score up-to 600, this is course for you, otherwise look for another option.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.


Princeton Review Course Rankings
Overall Score Improvement
150 points
International Student Score Improvement
115 points
Verbal
80%
Quant
80%
Best Princeton Review GMAT Instructors
Merrily Tobin [Bangalore, India]
    
Save up to $350 on
The Princeton Review
"Our courses focus on more than just answers"
 
See The Princeton Review deals