Stacy Blackman Consulting Admissions Consulting Reviews
    Number of reviews [163]      Average Rating:       (4.9/5)
Packages
    
    
    
Stacy Blackman

We have helped thousands of MBA applicants reach their business school goals, and we can help you, too.

  Reviews
Sort by:   date of publication  most helpful
SBC and Margaret brought me a Life Changing Opportunity
January 30 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: January 30, 2015 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - got into all
This review is for:  Comprehensive Service   Consultant:  Margaret (SBC)
The application process was a very expensive one for me with the prep courses, GMAT materials, tutors, etc., but the best decision I ever made was deciding to work with Stacy Blackman and with Margaret Strother in particular. In a process that requires you to uncover your personal weaknesses, goals, strengths, and dreams, Margaret was incredibly easy to talk to and knew exactly what to do with the information that I was telling her, which was incredibly important because I had no idea what to do with it. There were bumps in the road, and weaknesses that we had to address, but Margaret helped me to develop a strategy that made my strengths as strong as possible. With her help, I was accepted to the Fuqua School of Business at Duke University, my first choice school. In our last meeting, we talked about this being a "life-changing opportunity", and I'm certain that it's one that I never would have had without Margaret's help.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
SBC gave me the Admissions Officer perspective
January 30 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: January 30, 2015 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - got into all
This review is for:  Comprehensive Service   Consultant:  Lisa (SBC)
Working with Lisa and SBC has been a truly great experience. From day one she was able to break down the daunting process of putting together an MBA application into smaller tasks, thereby reducing my stress level considerably. Her guidance allowed me to concentrate on putting together the best application possible. She helped me to discover and focus on the unique and positive aspects of my background and experiences that would appeal to admissions committees. Whenever I found myself stuck, she always had a different perspective that helped me to find a solution. She was always readily available via email and phone whenever I needed her advice. With her help I was able to gain admissions to the University of Texas, SMU, and Duke, the only three schools I applied to. I would not hesitate to recommend Lisa and SBC to anyone looking for a professional admissions consultant.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Stacy Blackman Consulting
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Wharton Admit, thanks to Blackman Consulting
January 28 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: January 28, 2015 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - school of my dreams
This review is for:  Comprehensive Service   Consultant:  Paul (SBC)
I am extremely grateful to my consultant Paul and everyone at Stacy Blackman Consulting for guiding me through every stage of the business school admissions process with knowledge, strategy, kindness and patience. Thanks to them, my dream of attending Wharton will be a reality later this year. I grew up outside the United States and have a very unusual background for business school. I did not have friends to ask about the process and was becoming confused by the discussions in the forums. Paul helped guide me, answered all of my questions and spent many many late nights reviewing essays and advising on strategy. The practice session for the Wharton group interview was excellent. I gained so much from this application process, including of course, my admit! I learned a lot about myself and credit the team at Blackman for helping me with the self-discovery!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
SBC and Lisa- Exceeded Expectations
January 28 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: January 28, 2015 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - got into all
This review is for:  Comprehensive Service   Consultant:  Lisa (SBC)
I have the highest recommendation for Lisa and SBC. I could not have asked for more during my application to an EMBA program. In completing research on the internet I knew SBC was a top notch support service for MBA applicants. Even with the strong reviews of SBC, Lisa exceeded all of my expectations. I had a low college GPA and barely met work requirements to be considered by schools that I desired to apply. In short, I considered myself a reach candidate for elite schools. Lisa rounded my applications using the SBC process perfectly and did an outstanding job in interview prep so that I could highlight my strengths and market myself as an asset to each program. Her help paid off, I was admitted at 2 of my dream schools. Thanks to her help, I was able to choose between my dream programs and will now be alumni of an elite school. Outside of the results, Lisa was a great person to work with. I felt like we were a team and she was just as eager to hear the results of each school as I was. Further, she was glad to help with any questions that I had and talk through each aspect of the process in detail. Again, I am extremely happy with the results we achieved, supported significantly by Lisa. I will gladly provide a recommendation on her behalf to anyone requiring an MBA consultant.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Stacy Blackman Consulting
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Second Chance Reapplicant Success Story
January 27 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: January 27, 2015 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - got into all
This review is for:  Comprehensive Service   Consultant:  Lisa (SBC)
Words really can't say express how thankful I am to Stacy Blackman Consulting and particularly to my consultant, Lisa Anderson. Without Lisa's guidance, encouragement and help, I am convinced I would not have gotten into business school. The entire application process was daunting and given my sub par GMAT and GPA, I was not feeling confident that I could even get into business school. I owe so much to Lisa from that very first phone call, she was able to build me up and actually made the entire process fun. She was very organized, professional, prompt and always available for anything I needed. I was constantly amazed at the quick turnaround for all my emails and calls. She challenged me and always gave me great constructive criticism so that I was able to present myself in a polished and compelling manner. She really believed in me and I don't think I would have ever received this much attention or hands on treatment anywhere else. Thank you so much for giving me this second chance!!!!!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
HBS admit, thanks to Caryn, SBC
January 27 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: January 27, 2015 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - got into all
This review is for:  Comprehensive Service   Consultant:  Caryn (SBC)
I talked to a few admissions consultants before deciding on SBC and Caryn. They all looked at my list of school and told me to have more 'realistic' expectations. They told me that given my demographic and background, I had a slim chance of being admitted to my dream schools. SBC was different. I could tell SBC really believed in me, and was committed to helping me craft my story in a way that set me apart from other applicants. Caryn's marketing background was a key success factor in our work together, as she had a good sense of how to best position my application and bring the most out of both my professional experience and extracurricular involvement. Given my ambitious list of schools, we started working extremely early (I'm talking a year before applications were due, early). And after all was said and done, I got in to HBS. I am so incredibly excited for this opportunity, and as much as I am proud of myself for successfully making it through the application process, I have to say, I could not have done it without Caryn.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Stacy Blackman Consulting
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Duke Admit, Thank you Sherry and the SBC Team
January 26 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: January 26, 2015 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - got into all
This review is for:  Comprehensive Service   Consultant:  Sherry (SBC)
I am ecstatic that I have been accepted to my first choice program - Duke! Just a few months ago, I was reading numerous testimonials from admitted MBA candidates on the Stacy Blackman website wondering if I would be lucky enough to be accepted to a top program. With a GMAT score 640, I knew I had a slim chance and I had to win over admissions committees with my essays, recommendations and interviews. Sherry, my consultant worked relentlessly with me to PERFECT my applications. I asked a lot questions and Sherry was always available to answer my questions promptly and thoroughly. Sherry was incredibly meticulous, sincere, knowledgeable and diligent -- She was my MBA bible. The MBA application process is quite overwhelming and much more complex than I had imagined. With her help, I was able to navigate the process with ease and confidence. She reviewed my essays with a fine tooth comb each and every time (and I had over 10 drafts) and she pushed me to dig deeper and further to pull my thoughts together. Sherry and the team know what qualities and personal traits admissions committees are looking for in a candidate and this allows them to help you hone in on your best attributes and let you shine on your applications. This has been one of the most exhausting, and yet exhilarating and reflective journeys of my life and I am grateful for my success. Thank you again Sherry and the team!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Experience of the team is unparalleled
January 26 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: January 26, 2015 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - got into all
This review is for:  Comprehensive Service   Consultant:  Margaret (SBC)
Honestly, after working with Stacy Blackman Consulting for the past months, I cannot in a million years imagine going it alone. I am so thankful that I had in Margaret an expert partner, who helped me and had my back at every turn. When I think about the most valuable aspects of my experience, there are really two that stand out: Number 1) Guidance in marketing myself. What I learned from Margaret was that I was trying to recite the details of my background like a resume, rather than telling my story in a more strategic way. So I would say "I told job A then job B, then decided to go to school" instead of explaining who what how and why! She grilled me and grilled me and got me to answer real questions about myself that went far beyond just what I did. It completely altered the way I viewed my applications. Number 2) Review layers. I had several sets of eyes on each one of my applications. Margaret guided the entire show but we always had other weighing in at different times and that was really valuable. Capturing different perspectives and opinions in a very organized way was awesome. I am very happy that I hired Margaret at Stacy Blackman and had the support of their expertise behind me. They have been in the biz longer than anyone and I do think that says a lot.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Stacy Blackman Consulting
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Exceeded Expectations
January 26 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: January 26, 2015 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - school of my dreams
This review is for:  Comprehensive Service   Consultant:  Jed (SBC)
I worked with Jed Sturman on a 4-school comprehensive package and was accepted to one of my top choices: Yale SOM. Jed was extremely thorough in his approach and helped me craft my non-traditional background into a unique and marketable story. It was truly a pleasure working with him and I highly recommend his services. I explored several different consulting services, and SBC seemed the most professional from the outset. Jed, worked with me to set up a reasonable work schedule and helped me stick to it. His insights into school selection were also valuable. He wanted to me to apply to some safety schools, but I choose not to. Thankfully I will be attending Yale SOM!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Best Decision: Meredith and SBC
January 23 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: January 23, 2015 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - got into all
This review is for:  Comprehensive Service   Consultant:  Meredith (SBC)
Because I had a lot of friends at business school, I felt I had a good handle on the admissions process and initially decided to go it alone. I was VERY skeptical that paying someone to help me could top the advice I would get from a very tight friend who was super smart and knew me well. I worked solo on two applications round 1 and then fairly late in the game, three weeks before my round 1 deadlines, decided to throw in two more. Because I had so little time, and the final two felt like stretches, I caved and hired Stacy Blackman Consulting. BEST. DECISION. EVER. Why? Well, first of all, I was successful. I applied to two more competitive schools and got in. However, of the first two that I applied to on my own, I received one admit and one rejection. Not just that...it was so much harder doing it on my own as I had no idea whether I was approaching things in the right way. So, I was extremely stressed, burned out...basket-case.... It MAY be possible to ask friends, weed through all the info available online, read books, review websites and replicate the expertise I got from the team at Stacy Blackman but who has time for that? Plus I had a hard time knowing what info was actually quality - there is so much junky, BAD information available online. When I was solo, I always questioning, and ultimately I know now that I did make some pretty big mistakes in the way I approached my essays. I also want to say that the interview support I received from Stacy Blackman was nothing short of stellar. Bill, who helped with the interview prep, gave me some very simple exercises to help me focus my answers, and it transformed the experience for me. A lot of the questions I practiced were very similar to the ones I was asked. AND I felt relaxed and in control during my real things. So - YES I am grateful, no longer a skeptic and just on top of the world. Thank you to Stacy Blackman Consulting and to Meredith.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Stacy Blackman Consulting
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community


Save on Stacy Blackman Consulting
One-on-one expert consulting
Customized to fit your needs
See Stacy Blackman Consulting Deals