Comprehensive Service Reviews
    Number of reviews [64]      Average Rating:       (4.9/5)
Stacy Blackman

We have a unique and systematic process that provides clients with several layers of support, draws on extensive resources and ultimately, leaves no stone unturned in helping to craft winning application packages.


Caryn Altman got me into Kellogg & Haas!
April 16 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: June 19, 2011 | 18 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - got into all
This review is for:  Comprehensive Service  
There's no question in my mind Caryn Altman @ SBC helped me get into Kellogg and Haas (heading to the Bay area this fall!). With a mediocre GMAT score and no quant in my undergraduate transcript, she engineered a tailored, competitive application strategy that mitigated my weaknesses/accentuated my strengths. She's extremely strategic; she's extremely knowledgeable about the entire application process (Full Time, Part Time, etc.); and last but not least - she's extremely hard working and professional. Specifically, my essays were bullet proof after 6 to 8 rounds with her. She's straight forward and says it the way she sees it (it stung a few times, not going to lie!). But during an extremely stressful and confusing process, you need a trusted partner - someone who can guide you honestly and confidently. Working with Caryn was the best decision I made throughout my application process.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Great Experience with Stacy Blackman
April 09 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: April 9, 2014 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Some, but not all
This review is for:  Comprehensive Service   Consultant:  Lisa Anderson
From start to finish, the team at Stacy Blackman was as professional as they come. Esther Magna did a great job identifying my needs as an MBA applicant, and what consultant may be the best fit, rather than just randomly assigning me to the first available consultant. I also had the pleasure of having an introductory call with Lisa Anderson, my soon to be consultant, at no charge, just to see if we would work well together and I shared my goals and she shared her thoughts. I really appreciated the time they took to make sure that I was comfortable moving forward with the comprehensive service, because after all, it is an investment. I did move forward, and Lisa Anderson could not have been more professional. From day one she began taking some of the pressure off of the application process (I was also travelling extensively for work, and took the GMAT 3 times during the application process) and providing sound guidance on the best way to attack the essays, interviews, and applications. I was not the strongest GMAT/GPA (620/2.9 from top 25 US University - although after applying, I did increase to a 660 and notified schools), but had strong work experience and she helped me leverage this in the best way possible in the application. I'm happy to say I was accepted to Goizuetta and Tepper, and still on the waitlist at UNC. There is no doubt in my mind that I would have seriously trouble getting into these schools without Lisa and the Stacy Blackman team's help, and if I were to do this all over again, I would have hired Stacy Blackman earlier!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Stacy Blackman Consulting
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Extremly Satisifed with Stacy Blackman
April 06 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: January 19, 2014 | 6 | 7 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Some, but not all
This review is for:  Comprehensive Service   Consultant:  Lisa Anderson
When I first started researching MBA admission consultants, I had no idea of how I would go about making my choice. After a couple of free consultations I was still undecided until I spoke with Esther Magna at Stacy Blackman. Instantly we made a connection, she didn’t candy coat my weakness - BS from a state college, low GPA- rather she discussed the positives I had and how they should be promoted. Esther helped match me with my consultant Lisa Anderson. From the beginning Lisa was a great resource, very communicative and at times my own personal cheerleader. She helped guide me with school selection and was an adamant cheerleader for me through my three GMAT attempts.

I wrote all my own essays, but Lisa was there to not just help with grammar, but more importantly she kept me on task with what the question was asking. I have to admit that at times I strayed away from the question and she was extremely helpful in pointing me back in the right direction. Every time I sent her a draft she had it back to me in less than a day, usually I received back that same day.

I worked with her on applications to six schools. In the end I was waitlisted at two schools and received admittance to the other four, all of which offered me scholarships. Three of the schools gave me merit aid that amounted to full tuition and fees in either scholarships or fellowships or a combination of both. The fourth school gave me half tuition Forte Fellowship. I know that without Lisa’s and SBCs helping me to market myself to these schools I would not have received as many admission offers nor the substantial amount of financial aid that I was awarded. I highly recommend SBC; the amount of return is substantial for your investment.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Margaret Strother at Stacy Blackman
March 23 | 2014

3 out of 3 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: March 21, 2014 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - got into all
This review is for:  Comprehensive Service   Consultant:  Margaret Strother
The MBA admissions process was more stressful and time consuming than I could ever have imagined but I was extremely fortunate to work with Margaret Strother at Stacy Blackman. Margaret exceeded all expectations I had from an admissions consultant. She took a great deal of time initially to understand my background and help me to come up with a way to explain my experience in a way that would be attractive to business schools. She then had a clear strategy for structuring, planning and then writing each essay. I was absolutely delighted with all the essays I submitted. I had my parents read through them too and they were very impressed!

Margaret's assistance went far beyond my essays, however. She kept a check on every aspect of my application - who my referees were, what they were saying, how many alumni I had spoken to for each school, how many events I was attending and what I was saying at these events. Margaret was fantastic to work with and didn't stand for any nonsense - at one point she didn't like the sound of one of my referees and was absolutely adamant that I go out and fine another!

I feel very lucky to have worked with Margaret. Not only did I get into my first choice school, but I also feel I learnt a huge amount about myself throughout the application process. Margaret taught me a great deal about selling myself, my strengths and weaknesses, and what I needed to get out of an MBA. She helped me to refine my post-MBA targets and I feel better equipped to achieve those targets having worked with Margaret. I never expected that, in addition to my successful applications. Margaret is also a real pleasure to work with and I miss our Skype calls!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Stacy Blackman Consulting
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Margaret Strother
March 16 | 2014

3 out of 3 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: March 16, 2014 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - school of my dreams
This review is for:  Comprehensive Service   Consultant:  Margaret Strother
Margaret offered me exactly the kind of tips and advice I needed when applying to B schools. She was encouraging and supportive, but also realistic and pragmatic. She helped me identify programs that I was best suited for, which would add the most value to my post MBA goals.

European schools tend to have more essay-intensive applications and Margaret's copywriting background was very beneficial during the essay writing process. She worked with me to identify the most relevant details for each essay and present them in a manner that had the greatest impact.

I highly recommend Margaret's service for the MBA application process.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Thank you SBC - Great experience
March 10 | 2014

3 out of 3 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: December 1, 2012 | 12 | 5 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - got into all
This review is for:  Comprehensive Service   Consultant:  Margaret Strother
I worked with Stacy Blackman Consulting in 2013. My Consultant was Margaret Strother and I really enjoyed working with her over a span of five months. I was specifically interested in top European schools (only applied to Kellogg in US) and at first wasn't too sure about working with a consultant from North America. I was proven wrong over and over again by Margaret's depth of knowledge and SBC's overall support during some very tense moments of my life. Margaret and I worked closely to come up with stories that felt great to me and also positioned me as a unique candidate for my target schools. She was frank in her approach and extremely diligent in her reviews; I wrote and rewrote my essays upwards of 12 times in some instances. I was extremely impressed by Margaret's (and SBC) integrity in the whole process. It was made clear from the initial meeting that they weren't going to paint a nice but untrue story or do my work for me. While I didn't have "holes" in my application, I was considered an older candidate; Margaret was very clear on the limitations that my age might bring to my candidacy and overall application(s). However, she fully supported me all the way with even the smallest things on my applications, interviews, etc. that hadn't crossed my wildest imagination before! I was admitted to all three schools I applied to and eventually accepted the offer from IMD as it was my school of choice.
Overall, my experience in working with Stacy Blackman Consulting has been great and would not hesitate to recommend them to any interested candidate.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Stacy Blackman Consulting
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Great Service!!
February 27 | 2014

3 out of 3 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: August 19, 2013 | 22 | 9 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Some, but not all
This review is for:  Comprehensive Service   Consultant:  Esther Magna
With the help of SBC, I was admitted to one of the top MBA programs with full scholarships for the first year! I knew SBC could help me when I spoke to Esther for the 30-mins free consultation. As I had less than two years of work experience, Esther suggested creative ways to show my maturity and leadership abilities. I was then paired up with my primary consultant Meredith, who turned out to be a great fit for me in terms of personality, writing style and professional background. Meredith is flexible, extremely resourceful and responsive. We went through over 10 drafts of my essays and every time she was able to respond within a day or two. Meredith helped me identify my strengths and guided me to find the best stories to tell in order to bring out the uniqueness in my experience. I am extremely grateful that she was also there to calm down my nerves and advise me on my career plans. Thanks to SBC and Meredith, I will be heading to the Big Apple this summer!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
very good
February 22 | 2014

3 out of 3 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: February 22, 2014 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - school of my dreams
This review is for:  Comprehensive Service  
I contacted many different consulting groups, but SBC listened and answered my needs the most. SBC asked what I was looking for, realistically evaluated my chances of getting in, and came up with a few consultants to choose from. I interviewed each one and decided to work with Sherry Holland. From then on I had one point of contact, but I always felt that Sherry could use all of SBC’s large resources to support our ideas and help us move forward.
Sherry is extremely efficient, professional and fun. Sherry always answered my emails/calls within a day at most and I never felt I was waiting long for anything. Having worked in the admissions office and attended prestigious schools, Sherry knows what it takes to get you into your dream school! Sherry has helped me figure out what I really wanted to do with my life/career and which school to ultimately attend. Even when all was said and done, Sherry continued to reply to my emails with advice: I had not received a scholarship from my dream school, but we agreed it was worth asking again. She advised on how schools evaluate scholarships and looked over my “essay”. A few weeks later, I had received a scholarship! I will attend my dream school and the money I spent with SBC was worth it with or without the scholarship!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Stacy Blackman Consulting
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Stacy Blackman Review
February 18 | 2014

3 out of 3 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: May 4, 2010 | 4 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - school of my dreams
This review is for:  Comprehensive Service   Consultant:  Margaret Strother
I am an international applicant, an older candidate and a re-applicant. Though I had a decent academic profile and GMAT score, I was unable to secure admission in my initial attempts. I was desperate and had decided that this was going to be my last attempt at Full time programs.
I decided to look for a consultant, and decipher what it was I was doing wrong. After contacting a few firms, I liked SB for their prompt and detailed response. I also had a talk with Margaret, who was my primary consultant, and felt happy to work with her. She is encouraging and straight-forward. I also liked the fact that SB and Margaret have been working in this field for a number of years, so there was some history there. I had a clear idea of the schools that I wanted to apply to, in light of my interests and age and we started from there.
I had some basic ideas for the essays which we used, but our discussions really helped emphasize the human side of my stories. We also worked on my resume, and I think we went up to 8 or 9 drafts, before it got b-school ready. All of this was really helpful, because I was able to portray a complete picture of myself.
Working with her also ensured that I was completing everything way before the deadlines. This gave me sufficient time for school research and filling out the actual electronic application, things I had neglected previously. Overall, I was very happy with the quality of my applications, and was also quite prepared for my school visits and interviews.
Of the 4 schools I applied to, I got into 2, including my top choice. I will be joining an M7 program this year, and am very happy with the outcome.
Ultimately, a consultant cannot help you gain experience. You have to do it yourself, and depending upon your candidate profile, be realistic about where you should apply. But if you have done that properly, Margaret and SB can definitely ensure that your candidacy is highlighted in the best possible manner and make sure that all parts of your application package are perfectly developed so that your application is in the best shape it can be. My only regret, I should have worked with them earlier.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Stacy Blackman - Great Experience
February 11 | 2014

3 out of 3 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: July 8, 2013 | 1 | 2 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Some, but not all
This review is for:  Comprehensive Service   Consultant:  Maureen Capitolo
Maureen was truly the best MBA admissions consultant that I could have worked with. Her insights and perspectives were critical in helping me refine my application strategy, develop a good "story" (based on my past experiences and future plans), and write essays that best reflected my strengths and career vision. I insisted on applying to just 4 schools (all of which were dream schools) and decided to apply to all these schools in Round 1. Maureen worked with me round the clock to make sure that we achieved this goal. I never had to wait for more than an hour to hear back from her. I always got nervous before hitting the submit button on my applications and Maureen continued to be patient and helped me work through those challenging times. We managed to finish all of our applications on time.

Initially I was rejected from some of the schools I applied to and was disheartened. Maureen tried her best to keep me motivated.

I was fortunate enough to get into Tuck, an MBA program that is the best fit for me in so many ways. I have to say that Maureen deserves a lot of credit for helping me demonstrate to Tuck that I was a great fit for their program, her experience with that school made me very aware of how every single detail in application would be viewed by the admissions staff.

Finally, as a consultant I work to please my clients everyday, and that experience has helped me recognized that Maureen's level of customer service is hard to achieve without a strong passion for your clients' success.

I highly recommend that you work with Maureen. She is an invaluable resource for any MBA applicant.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Stacy Blackman Consulting
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community


Best Stacy Blackman GMAT Instructors
Margaret Strother [USA]
    
John Naom [USA]
    
Caryn Altman [USA]
    
Save on Stacy Blackman Consulting
One-on-one expert consulting
Customized to fit your needs
See Stacy Blackman Consulting Deals