Hourly Services Reviews
    Number of reviews [18]      Average Rating:       (4.8/5)
Stacy Blackman

Partner with one of our consultants to work on whatever aspect of your applications you choose.


Esther Magna is great!!
April 10 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: January 21, 2014 | 0 | 5 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Some, but not all
This review is for:  Hourly Services   Consultant:  Esther Magna
I completed a mock interview with Esther Magna before interviewing with several top schools and found it extremely helpful. Her insights into both the interview process, as a whole, and the criteria used by the specific schools for which I was preparing were invaluable. I know that I felt more at ease going into my interviews after having done a "trial run" with someone who was helpful and friendly but still felt more formal than just rehearsing with a friend. I took the notes from our conversation with me on all of my interviews and wove Esther's constructive criticism into my planned responses. I was accepted to a few of my dream schools and even offered a generous monetary fellowship at one of them. I highly recommend Esther for mock interviews and/or general consulting re: the admissions and interview process. She is a fantastic resource!!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Successful application
April 08 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: April 8, 2014 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - got into all
This review is for:  Hourly Services  
I worked with Aliceson at Stacyblackman and I am thrilled to say that with her help I have been accepted to my dream school (H/S).
As an International student with a non-traditional background, I was somewhat unsure about the entire process and had many questions. When we were first matched together, Aliceson took the time to understand the different aspects of my profile and answer all my preliminary questions.
She guided me through the process and encouraged me to focus on one aspect of my application at a time. She was extremely accessible and through her honest feedback, challenged me to reach further. From our initial chat to my mock interview, she encouraged me to focus on what made me unique rather than trying to fit into a certain mold.
With her great support, I successfully built an application that clearly reflected my personal story and background. I recommend Aliceson and Stacy blackman consulting to anyone looking to apply to business school . This scary journey gets easier when working with someone with experience and a great knowledge of the schools you are applying to.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Stacy Blackman Consulting
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Margaret at SBC
March 25 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: January 11, 2013 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Some, but not all
This review is for:  Hourly Services   Consultant:  Margaret Strother
B-school apps can be challenging, frustrating, scary, and overwhelming. At the end of the day, it really helps to have a professional by your side to guide your thought process as you think about the topics for your essays, and the overall strategy for each school. I worked with Margaret at SBC, and can say from the bottom of my heart that she did a great job in steering me in the right direction. While I didn't get into my first choice school, I ended up in a top-20 school with a FULL FELLOWSHIP, which means my entire tuition was paid for (I didn't apply for any fellowships, but was rather selected based on my application, which was a ridiculously nice surprise). As I look back, I remember second guessing the essay topics for the B-school. It seemed they were too cheesy, too personal. Margaret didnt let me stray and reassured me in every revision of the essays. I can honestly say that without Margaret I would not have written these essays and who knows whether I would have gotten the same result. If I had to do anything differently, I would have been a bit more creative and brave with the topics I chose for other B-schools. At the end of the day, SBC and Margaret were there for me to guide my own options, they could only work with what they had. SBC won't make up ideas for you, won't write the application for you, so you really have to be determined to stand out and show the school who you really are with how you write your application. SBC will however guide your thinking as you write the essays, focus the topic on important factors that we tend to skip over but the admissions committee really care about, and help you understand which topic, in which manner makes your application the strongest. Thank you Margaret and thank you SBC!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Hourly Services - Review
March 23 | 2014

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Yamini73 joined: March 23, 2014 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - school of my dreams
This review is for:  Hourly Services  
When I started my MBA application process, I realized that I needed customized services suited to my requirements. I decided to purchase the hourly service from Stacy & Blackman and selected Jed Sturman as my coach. I want to share that I had an absolutely amazing experience with Jed. He provided valuable strategic feedback on my essays and helped me strengthen my strategy for the MBA process. Jed helped me focus on the strong aspects of my career so far and also provided insight into what colleges actually look for. I really appreciate his professionalism, his quick responses, and his eagerness to walk that extra mile. I got admitted to a college of my choice with a generous scholarship. I would highly recommend his services.

- Yamini
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Stacy Blackman Consulting
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
great service
February 12 | 2014

3 out of 3 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: February 12, 2014 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - got into all
This review is for:  Hourly Services  
I was given a choice of consultants to work with, and chose Sherry given her experience in MBA admissions. We had an initial conversation so I could introduce my goals and she could explain the process. Most of the help I needed was with essays so the remaining interactions were mostly through email as I sent essay drafts and she provided comments.

I probably wrote 50% extra on most essays throughout the process. While this was more work than I expected, it undeniably created a better application as Sherry would select examples / topics that better fit with my overall application. Sherry was very fast yet thorough at revising, so relatively less time was reduced from my account and draft turns were very quick. We also had time to have a mock interview and revise my resume.

The biggest impact was having each aspect of an application articulate and cohesive to the overall application "story." I recommend this service to anyone who has not worked in MBA admissions. It was a hit to my wallet for sure... but I was accepted to all four schools I applied to, including a top-20 and two scholarship offers, as a < 3.0 GPA / < 700 GMAT even though I thought my chances were slim/not good at three of the schools.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Very effective use of time and money
February 03 | 2014

3 out of 3 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Cutterbird joined: February 3, 2014 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - school of my dreams
This review is for:  Hourly Services  
I purchased the hourly service at Stacy Blackman and used two different consultants for five hours each. Both of them were very experienced and helpful. I found it effective to gather two points of view and had them work on similar themed essays for two different schools. They both pushed me and challenged me and definitely got me a lot further than I would have gone on my own. Ultimately I was admitted to one of the two programs but don't attribute that to better service or insights by the one consultant. It showed me if anything what a crapshoot the process is and reinforced the notion of applying to more than one school. By the way the one I was admitted to is known to be more competitive. I highly recommend Blackman after working with their team. They added true value and I truly wonder if I could have been successful without their expertise. Don't really think I could have asked for anything more in an admissions service.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Stacy Blackman Consulting
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Valuable Guidance
July 06 | 2013

4 out of 4 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By ArsenalMrG joined: March 13, 2013 | 2 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  
This review is for:  Hourly Services   Consultant:  Sarah Chandler
I had some reservations about working with an admissions consultant. I spoke with a few friends and all had mentioned Stacy Blackman consulting.

At first, I reviewed the blog which is a great resource for essay tips. I then took a 30-minute call with a Principal of the company. I remember wrapping up that call in amazement. I could not believe how much we covered in such a short time. It was an eye-opening experience.

It was August, so I felt like I was a little late in the game. I had a limited budget so I opted for the Hourly Services. Sarah ensured that we maximized the time we had together. She proved most valuable in helping me craft my story. Her questions uncovered great examples from my past that I would have otherwise overlooked. The strategy document that she put together helped me lock down my target schools and what strengths I would highlight.

What made the difference to me was that I truly felt Sarah was my coach. She supported me every step of the way with great encouragement. She understood the coaching style that I would best respond to and executed it to perfection. I can't imagine putting my essays together without her guidance.

Even if you're not willing to splash the cash for the comprehensive services, I found value in working with her on an hourly basis.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Pretty bad customer service with attitude
June 25 | 2013

0 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: December 3, 2009 | 21 | 6 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  
This review is for:  Hourly Services   Consultant:  Esther Magna
I was waitlisted by one of my top choice schools. As I have to go back to school this year, I was eager to find help and support. Through referral, I chose Stacy Blackman for my waitlist support.

My first connection was with Esther Magna (she is the just contact person, not my consultant). She was nice over the phone. Since I had question regarding service fee and all other stuff, I emailed her afterwards. After a few email exchanges, she got annoyed and her tone sounded very angry. In one email, I felt like I got yelled at. But I was confident with the consultant she recommended and there was a lot of good reviews for the consultant, so I still chose Stacy Blackman.

After I paid the fee, she disappeared and I never heard a word from her. To me, I have contacted a few consulting services, and none of them are like her customer service. Just a piece of advise, if you are not patient and nice enough, people can feel it and the only harm is to the company you work for.

Maybe Stacy Blackman is great, but she needs to pick the right person to represent the company.

Regarding the consultant I work with, I have nothing but good about him. Patient, smart, and dedicated. My experience will be so much better if I only worked with my consultant from the minutes I signed up.
Was this review helpful to you?
   
[1]
Get a Special Discount
on Stacy Blackman Consulting
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
SBC saved me after Round 1 shut out!
April 19 | 2013

3 out of 3 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: April 19, 2013 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  
This review is for:  Hourly Services   Consultant:  Andy Pelletier
Working without professional guidance, I went 0/5 on my round 1 applications last year. I was clearly doing something wrong and needed help. I have an unconventional background and I simply wasn't telling my own story effectively. I contacted six consulting companies and decided to go with SBC.

I cannot believe how lucky I was to be paired with Andy. He helped me to understand why certain anecdotes or stories would be ineffective--or worse, potentially detrimental --to my application. The most valuable aspect of our partnership was Andy's ability--based on his vast experience critiquing countless essays--to tell me when the angle I was pursuing simply wasn't working. When that happened, I'd come back the next day with another idea, and he'd explain why that didn't work either and we would work through it together. Eventually, I was able to produce something that really clicked. We both knew when It hit it.

Whenever I sent Andy a draft, his turnaround was crazy fast; he must check his email every minute on the minute. He has a gift for intuitively understanding what I was striving to accomplish, and clearly providing ideas around better ways to do it. And yet, Andy is somehow capable of delivering his critiques in a good-natured, positive way. In the end, I gained admission to Chicago, Tepper, Columbia, and NYU. After my shutout from round 1, I'm not just relieved, I'm thrilled!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Haas-bound and couldn't have done it without Andy & SBC
April 03 | 2013

3 out of 3 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: August 23, 2010 | 1 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Some, but not all
This review is for:  Hourly Services   Consultant:  Andy Pelletier
The MBA application process - with the help of my excellent SBC consultant Andy Pelletier - was incredibly revealing and rewarding in terms of self-discovery - regardless of the school I ended up choosing. With Andy's probing, pushing, and constructive criticizing, I learned so much about myself and the person I want to become - which not only helps me personally define my goals and a pathway to get there, but also helped immensely with crafting my applications.

I did the hourly service, and Andy was attentive and timely. He responded to my drafts very quickly (usually less than 1 hour, including off-hours and weekends). His advice was effective & efficient - he always started high level with what messages/themes are most valuable to get across to AdCom, then dove deeper to help me organize my thoughts around that central message.

I am on the young end of the MBA spectrum, so I wasn't really sure if an acceptance anywhere this year was feasible (I was half expecting to have to reapply next year). Clearly Andy's help worked, as I got into Berkeley Haas (one of my top choices!!) and received a $100k Forte Fellowship to Cornell Johnson! I am also on the waitlist at MIT Sloan, and Andy quickly and thoroughly helped me craft a campaign to improve my chances of getting in off the waitlist.

Andy legitimately wants you to succeed. I would definitely recommend working with Andy Pelletier at SBC on your MBA admissions applications!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Stacy Blackman Consulting
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community


Best Stacy Blackman GMAT Instructors
Bill Chonis [USA]
    
Margaret Strother [USA]
    
Dawn Clare [USA]
    
Save on Stacy Blackman Consulting
One-on-one expert consulting
Customized to fit your needs
See Stacy Blackman Consulting Deals